2023 Tesla Model Y now in Malaysia – Standard Range RM199k, Long Range RM246k, Performance RM288k

Tesla is now officially in Malaysia, the brand being launched earlier this morning at an event in Pavilion Kuala Lumpur. Its entry into the market is led by the Tesla Model Y, with the mid-sized SUV going on sale here in the three specification forms revealed via the online configurator last week.

The three Tesla Model Y variants available for the Malaysian market are:

• Tesla Model Y Standard Range RWD – RM199,000
  • Tesla Model Y Long Range AWD – RM246,000
  • Tesla Model Y Performance AWD – RM288,000

The Standard Range RWD is covered by an eight-year/160,000 km battery and drive unit warranty, while the Long Range AWD and Performance AWD come with an eight-year/192,000 km battery and drive unit warranty, whichever comes first. All prices are inclusive of sales and service tax (SST), with 100% import/excise duties and road tax exemption. Online orders, with a non-refundable RM1,000 fee, began last week.

In addition, there are cost add-on options you can specify for the car:

• Black, silver or blue paint – RM5,000
  • Red multi-coat paint – RM10,000
  • Black/white interior – RM5,000
  • 20-inch Induction wheel upgrade – RM10,000
  • Enhanced Autopilot – RM16,000
  • Full Self Driving – RM32,000

Buyers will have the chance to get up close with all three Model Y versions physically, and for a good while at that, because they will be on display at the Centre Court, Pavilion Kuala Lumpur from today until October 31.

All three trims (Standard Range RWD, Long Range AWD and Performance AWD) will be on show from 10am to 10pm daily throughout the three month-plus duration of the showcase, for public viewing and ordering. The company added that the first deliveries of the Model Y to Malaysian customers will begin in early 2024.

Designed and built as Tesla’s first mass-market electric SUV, the Model Y competes against the likes of the BMW iX1 and BMW iX3, Mercedes-Benz EQB, Hyundai Ioniq 5 and Kia EV6. For the Malaysian market, the Model Y is only available as a two-row 5 seater at present.

Tesla doesn’t officially reveal its battery kWh sizes, preferring to differentiate by range instead. As for charging times, the Model Y, operating at peak efficiency of 250 kW, can charge up to 120 km in just five minutes with a Tesla Supercharger. For the latter, the first of the 10 Supercharger stations planned so far for Malaysia, an eight-bay station located at Pavilion Kuala Lumpur, is set to begin operations in the near future. The network is ready, but is awaiting energy commission (ST) approval.

Here’s a brief run-through of what you can expect to find on the Model Y variants on offer.

Tesla Model Y Standard Range RWD – RM199,000

Tesla Model Y – RWD (Gemini wheels)

The entry-level Model Y in Malaysia is the Model Y Standard Range RWD. Power goes to the wheels via a single rear motor. The battery used is a LFP type battery, offering the car a maximum range of 455 km (WLTP cycle). Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 6.9 second and a 217 km/h top speed. As standard, the RWD comes equipped with 19-inch Gemini wheels, but 20-inch Induction wheels are available as a RM10,000 option.

Tesla Model Y Long Range AWD – RM246,000

Tesla Model Y – Long Range AWD (Induction wheels)

The Model Y Long Range AWD, which as its suffix suggests features two motors, one on each axle. The battery used on this one is a NMC type battery, and provides the variant with up to 533 km (WLTP) of travel range. It’s faster to the century mark from standstill at 5.0 seconds, but top speed is identical to the RWD at 217 km/h. Acceleration Boost, which drops the acceleration time to 4.5 seconds, is available as a cost option; it’s purchasable in the app after you get the car, not upon ordering.

Tesla Model Y Performance AWD – RM288,000

Tesla Model Y – Performance AWD (Uberturbine wheels)

The top of the rang Model Y variant is the Performance AWD, which also uses a NMC type battery but sacrifices some range (up to 514 km, WLTP) for better performance. It can hit 100 km/h from nought in just 3.7 seconds, on to a top speed of 250 km/h. It comes equipped with 21-inch Uberturbine wheels, performance brakes, a carbon fibre spoiler, aluminum alloy pedals and a lowered suspension, among other things.

Tesla Model Y – Black Interior

Tesla Model Y – White Interior

As standard, the Model Y comes with Basic Autopilot, but Enhanced Autopilot (which has navigate on Autopilot, auto lane change and autopark) is available as a RM16,000 cost add-on option.

In terms of interior, all three variants get black vegan leather interior (upgradable to black and white for RM5,000), a panoramic glass roof with UV and infrared protection, a 15-inch central touchscreen display, a dual wireless charger and four USB Type-C ports.

Also standard fit is a 13-speaker premium audio system with a subwoofer and two amplifiers, power-adjustable front seats, heated front/rear seats, heated steering and an AC system featuring a HEPA filter system with Bioweapon Defence Mode. In terms of storage, it has a 854 litre rear boot and a 117 litre ‘frunk’ (under the bonnet, where the engine in a ICE vehicle would be).

Five colours are available for the Tesla Model Y, and these are Solid Black, Pearl White Multi-Coat, Midnight Silver Metallic, Deep Blue Metallic and Red Multi-Coat. Pearl White is the only colour that is included in the Model Y’s price. Black, silver and blue will cost an extra RM5,000, while opting for red increases the spend by RM10,000.

Incidentally, Tesla will also be present at the paultan.org Electric Vehicle Expo (EVx) 2023, which is happening this weekend from July 22-23 at the Setia City Convention Centre (SCCC), so if you’re keen to check out the Model Y, head on over to the event.

GALLERY: Tesla Model Y Long Range AWD

GALLERY: Tesla Model Y Performance AWD

GALLERY: Tesla Model Y

Learn more: ,

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Nurul Izzah on Jul 20, 2023 at 11:41 am

Anwar menang, Tesla mari

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 13
    • Isaac on Jul 20, 2023 at 12:08 pm

Better than Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
    • John Gagal on Jul 20, 2023 at 4:15 pm

Direct selling cheaper price method by Tesla is the way to go!

Kesian AP kroni melingkup. Takde lagi skim cepat kaya.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
      • Balinese style roasted belly bacon on Jul 20, 2023 at 5:07 pm

Do not forget the fifty one percent dirt princess entitlement ownership still applies.

• John Dough on Jul 21, 2023 at 10:18 am

BMW and Mercedes Malaysia must be PANICKING. Their dealerships are essentially run and given to cronies to this day, which account for their sky high profit margins vs what the car actually costs.

Tesla is american and they will walk away the moment anything under table occurs or stipulations that they must sell through cronies like Merc’s C&C etc. plus being direct to customer is one key selling points. cuts out the middlemen whereby at the end of the day the midddleman is just increasing the end price.

at 200K for a model y with a good statewide charging network no reason to buy a 300k c200 with meager 200hp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • The Truth About Mercedes Malaysia on Jul 21, 2023 at 12:59 pm

Not only that, Mercedes dealer discounts soon to be removed and to be under retailer agency model as fixed price model like in Australia
          as once dealers is gone based on this brand, if you buy online I’m not sure how they would fix it, probably outsource it, it is hardly to take experience to test on mercedes before buying cars. There is no longer see if it accommodates your needs, cannot ask questions and no gain insight into additional features which will be very scary due to thieves, misrepresentation of mechanical soundness, implied options, errors and omissions, body work or disrepair, and many more things if you buy car from online. I prefer to buy in person.

Also, since there is no discounts, surely Mercedes sales will lose to other rivals. Even in Australia, Mercedes dealers also do legal action over fixed-price business model over a new fixed-price business structure. The outcome could set a precedent for all new-car buyers in Australia that will also removing the ability of customers to negotiate a deal and drive a bargain and no discounts too. Not only that, this will are beginning to exploit a loophole in Australian regulations and also not deemed anti-competitive under Australian law. So with the same fixed pricing structure would be deemed illegal if individual car dealers representing one automotive brand were to collude on prices. Even Honda now in Australia, are hardly sell to the customers because of this.

Mercedes quality is declining same can be said in global worldwide and no longer proves as luxury brand. Complaining spare parts that mercedes owners need to wait even longer and Mercedes aftersales in Malaysia is terrible. Even Mercedes owners already reply to Mercedes Malaysia HQ but seems no action taken. Many already fed up driving Mercedes and now shifted to so many brands already

Mercedes spec models is more like poor specs that we got but Mercedes global wide have but also hearing from people anywhere also somehow that Mercedes are removing specs as well. Mercedes here sells poor spec but come here make price more overpriced. That’s why you can hardly see Mercedes new models on the road in Malaysia compare to other brands based on latest models in Malaysia.

Mercedes Malaysia seems are heading towards failure company. Mercedes Malaysia are also not really important for unsatisfied owners who are facing problems as ongoing issues. While BMW and Lexus (Lexus is CBU) have already beats Mercedes. Audi and Volkswagen are making comeback and to beat Mercedes soon. Same can be said for Tesla that Tesla will also kill sales for Mercedes

Do you see it on the road at all? Ok here’s another brand, if comparing with BMW, Drive the whole day and look how many for W206 C Class vs and how many G20 3 Series, based on the road, the despite 3 Series facelift launched later than W206 C Class as brand new. Everywhere you see 3 Series G20 LCI than C Class W206 as both are CKD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • jjean on Jul 21, 2023 at 10:44 am

The AP system has killed Malaysia’s auto industry compared to our neighboring countries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Mmg stuju bang. B4 Tesla msuk Msia ni, harga mcm waknat je. Bior mmpos kroni2 ni, musibat je dorg tu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 20, 2023 at 6:16 pm

Anwar menang, orang kaya untung ye
      Anwar menang, warga B40 hanya dapat shitty Axia E
      #TolakPH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 63
      • But why should we vote for PN again when Abah and his PN politicians have already suffered us for jacking up prices for all products including fuels, – Emergency declaration for bad reasons for staying in power, PN politicians are traitors but wanting power to stay longer and Not caring for the poor and middle but only cares for rich but only cares for mercedes but not all brands
        #TolakPN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 12
      • rempits will bring down beautiful Malaysia on Jul 20, 2023 at 8:08 pm

bodoh rempit. Tesla is not a cheap car for the common masses like Proton and Perodua are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • hazri on Jul 20, 2023 at 11:44 pm

PN gomen, orang kaya untung ya, dapat beli mercedes and alphard.
        PN gomen, warga b40 nak beli axia pun semput.
        #UndiPH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 21, 2023 at 4:34 pm

Anwar gembira, rakyat sengsara
          Anwar di Sg Buloh, rakyat sorak kali sepuloh
          Nak keta harga berpatutan
          Undilah Perikatan
          Diingatkan janji PH dulu
          Kata nak turun harga lepas jadi tok penghulu
          Tapi dah 31 bulan kerajaan
          Janji hanya tinggal angan
          #TolakPH
          #UndiPN
          #UndiBossku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
          • But why should we vote for PN again when Abah and his PN politicians have already suffered us for jacking up prices for all products including fuels, Emergency declaration for bad reasons for staying in power, PN politicians are traitors but wanting power to stay longer and Not caring for the poor and middle but only cares for rich but only cares for mercedes but not all brands. Also don’t forget BN will not support PN again as PN actually against royalty while PN also making racism to all by making all Malaysians are very scared. PN have made so many empty promises to all Malaysians

#TolakPN
            #TolakMuhyiddin
            #UndiAnwar
            #UndiBossku
            #UndiPH

• Thanks to Najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Finally! The game changer is here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 68
    • Elon Fanboi on Jul 20, 2023 at 12:03 pm

Rich toys is here.

• lithium on Jul 20, 2023 at 3:12 pm

So no one is bother about spare parts and lack of service center just becos it is Tesla? If it was any other brand there will be tons of comment on this… kinda bias :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 34
  • EV fanboy on Jul 20, 2023 at 12:04 pm

Very unlucky those bought Grey imports. It’s way cheaper now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Isaac on Jul 20, 2023 at 12:08 pm

Better than Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • Sohai on Jul 20, 2023 at 12:27 pm

Mahal giler….kena org kaya baru mampu beli kereta elektrik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 17
  • EV Car Mafia on Jul 20, 2023 at 12:31 pm

Another “airasia” that promotes add-ons? Oh Well ..What’s new, BMW has add-ons for map updates.

• Recond sellers all now can lelong their Teslas

• hazri on Jul 20, 2023 at 2:08 pm

i bet owner of byd now crying. good pricing tesla, make grey importer decrease their price, and make other ev company think more about pricing, and offer good service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 54
    • MASAMI on Jul 20, 2023 at 4:06 pm

Sorry to let you know, even if same price as BYD, I will still choose BYD. Did you now see the report from Japan. BYD is the best and safest. For me I put my family’s safety first so BYD blade is the only choice for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 22
      • bydftw on Jul 20, 2023 at 6:41 pm

you will? then after you actually owned safety byd then revisit.

its darn good to have some company disrupt the pricing instead of releasing something more and more expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • hazri on Jul 20, 2023 at 11:54 pm

oh sorry, i thought people buy byd because of the price. not because of technology. about safety, i cant say tesla or byd is safer, 50/50. can you share the link report from japan? as far as i concern, tesla not very good in japan because have to decrease their price in order to compete with nissan & toyota. thats why grey importer here import tesla from japan because it cheaper.

• Winner Ong on Jul 20, 2023 at 2:12 pm

Go and test lah if got money don’t give rubbish commen here this car is for middle class rich only so don’t park near my BMW and Range Rover. Parking jauh jauh sikit jangan scratch my car ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • KYOHEI on Jul 20, 2023 at 4:08 pm

Of all the luxury car brands you choose BMW and Range rover, the worst of the worst?? hahaha. R u the stupidest middle class person on earth for choosing the most unreliable and most outdated car brands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
      • hazri on Jul 20, 2023 at 11:39 pm

you have to understand, maybe she or he is the founder of cosmetic product timbang kilo. majority drive bmw or range rover. want to look luxury but no class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • Disagree with you. Otr, can see merc drivers acting like showing off and acting like gangster unlike those drivers from bmw and range rover but yeah drivers from Range Rover almost same attitude as merc drivers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • 4.7L V8 SUV on Jul 20, 2023 at 9:03 pm

Range Rover is easy to spot anywhere in MY, “lower class rich” badge of pride. BMW, even I did own a few.

• Mike Tee on Jul 20, 2023 at 2:22 pm

Is the reported 10,000 bookings in four days credible?

Seems a little excessive given that is SG Tesla sales for 10 years. Our population is only 6x SG *AND* our GDP-PC is 7x less.

• whysof on Jul 20, 2023 at 6:38 pm

for first appearance in foreign country, yes.
      you try launch something and try get 10 orders?

• 4GR-FSE on Jul 20, 2023 at 2:25 pm

You are not just owning an EV, you are owning a Tesla with the whole ecosystem.. kudos to the launching

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
    • Civic Type L(ol) on Jul 20, 2023 at 9:07 pm

Or, Tesla own you, drowning you into their ecosystem, just like Apple

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Ruslan Bahari on Jul 20, 2023 at 2:27 pm

LoL the list of options, once ticked to male the car more competitive to the present competitors, puts Tesla on the high price bracket. The brouhaha of the sub-200k was all smokescreen.

• rm300k for 500bhp, with auto pilot on Jul 21, 2023 at 11:24 pm

where else can you find this kind of deal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • You dont really need the extra’s. Unless going for looks then you have overpriced paint and wheels.

200K base already comes with Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Keep/centering etc etc, essentially does 80% of autopilot features,
      Way better than what BMW or Merc offers at this price point, where they’re still stuck on AEB in 2023 lmao.

Save for navigate with autopilot, auto lane change, or traffic light recognition for FSD which In my opinion these are parlor tricks and not really worth the extra 16K or 32k for FSD

• Bieight8 on Jul 20, 2023 at 2:35 pm

GG lah byd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • Hope they have improved the fit and finish of the car’s overall structure as you can compare the build quality similar to Proton cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • omegle on Jul 20, 2023 at 3:39 pm

No mention of any safety features?

• it has everything with the 200k base , even adaptive cruise control as standard. plus airbags count should be 6 minimum, as well as the standard safety systems.

its basically understood that those things are standard so they dont mention it.
      In the US its federally required that those things are standard.

• Tanah Merah on Jul 20, 2023 at 5:42 pm

Price option for other colour is quite high !
    Mazda special colour did not charge that much and it’s a lot nicer ( the colour)

• Electrified on Jul 30, 2023 at 12:08 am

Because the colour need to be mix with electric mixer machine.

• Too bad for those that already bought grey import used Model Y at 400k+.

• Teslover on Jul 20, 2023 at 7:08 pm

So cheap mate, I’m buying one for each of my 2 sons, wife and daughter, me self and me dog too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Does anyone know if its true that Tesla no longer has ultrasonic parking sensors which means you no longer get audible beeps as you approach an obstacle?

Saw some videos of Tesla Vision (supposedly replaces ultrasonic sensors) and it doesn’t beep anymore.

• James Tan Kia Hou on Jul 20, 2023 at 9:20 pm

Finally Tesla will available in Malaysia. But now I see this photo Tesla Model Y is still using old HW3 camera part and Ultrasonic sensor. Is made in China. Maybe I need waiting new version and Gigafactory with another country build this car . If Tesla can build Gigafactory at Malaysia , it so better can be first Gigafactory at ASEAN countries and 7th Gigafactory in the world. Next time will be cheaper price to buy this car. Now I still L license, next time I get P license and save more money to buy this car be my daily car . But first Tesla must build more Supercharger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • James Tan Kia Hou on Jul 20, 2023 at 9:23 pm

Finally Tesla will available in Malaysia. But now I see this photo Tesla Model Y is still using old HW3 camera part and Ultrasonic sensor. Is made in China. Maybe I need waiting new version and Gigafactory with another country build this car. If Tesla can build Gigafactory at Malaysia, it so better can be first Gigafactory at ASEAN countries and 7th Gigafactory in the world. Next time will be cheaper price to buy this car. Now I still L license, next time I get P license and save more money to buy this car be my daily car But first Tesla must build more Supercharger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • syarp on Jul 20, 2023 at 10:02 pm

everyone so happy eh,battery alone can cost a bomb ,unless can use everyready AA kekeke

• Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Ahmad Zakir bin salehudin on Jul 26, 2023 at 2:26 pm

Berminat warna putih