First Tesla Supercharger station in Malaysia located at Pavilion KL – eight charging bays in B1 parking area

Not long to go before Tesla makes its official debut here, with the electric vehicle brand due to be launched in Malaysia tomorrow, July 20. Ahead of that, we’ve happened to come across the first of the Tesla Supercharger stations, which is in Pavilion Kuala Lumpur, during a visit to the mall earlier today.

Located in the basement parking area the mall, the indoor station consists of eight Superchargers, which are presumably V3 units, offering up to 250 kW of DC fast charging each. The units are as yet not in operation, with the area cordoned off, and a Tesla model (which is likely a Model Y) under wraps sitting in one of the bays. Interestingly, the bays are clearly marked “Tesla charging only.”

The Pavilion station is one of the 10 stations planned for the initial phase of the brand’s entry here. Nine other stations are listed as future locations, although these are in general areas, with no specifics. Five of these will be in the Klang Valley, at Dengkil and Petaling Jaya in Selangor, and at Bukit Jalil and two other locations in KL.

In the northern region, Tesla Superchargers will be eventually available in Ipoh and Perai in Penang, while the southern region will have two locations, in Negeri Sembilan and Iskandar Puteri, Johor.

These locations were revealed alongside the activation of the Tesla Malaysia country page and Tesla configurator for Malaysia in Malaysia last Friday. The latter saw bookings being opened for the Tesla Model Y, which is available in three specifications, Model Y RWD (RM199,000), Model Y Long Range AWD (RM246,000) and Model Y Performance AWD (RM288,000). More on the brand when it makes its debut tomorrow.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Why not the V4 charger? Are we a dumping ground for them?

• Dah Menang Semua on Jul 19, 2023 at 8:19 pm

Good place to start
      Good number 8

• Darren on Jul 20, 2023 at 1:22 am

We will soon be charging ground for Sinkie EV. Look at their electricity price vs our much cheaper after conversion, they will come in droves and suck our subsidised electricity just as they had done the previous decades with our petrol.

• haha…
    myvi will take the spot…

• Why Tesla only on Jul 19, 2023 at 7:27 pm

alibaba no sells universal charging connector for all EV cars?

I Come – I See – I Copy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • lolpanda on Jul 20, 2023 at 8:37 pm

i believe Tesla will come with Type 2 connectors here (like it does in Europe and Australia) so it’s not a issue of adapters/connectors.

it’s likely the charging station can recognise if a vehicle plugged-in is not a Tesla and won’t start charging.

• Piplup on Jul 19, 2023 at 9:49 pm

Will there be risk? So high voltage in a already super stuffy and hot carpark

• komarad on Jul 20, 2023 at 2:07 pm

https://paultan.org/2023/03/20/kpkt-ev-charger-guideline-proposal/

• Winner Ong on Jul 19, 2023 at 11:03 pm

Tesla is Rolls Royce of EV but BYDee is the Perodua but for me I burn petrol no need to wait like loser charging car. I see so many loser think look cool charging I only can laughing BCOS my BMW and Range Rover is class so don’t park near me drop my class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • mengkeong on Jul 20, 2023 at 8:39 pm

Rolls Royce is the Rolls Royce of EV (Spectre).

but also, i have no idea what you’re talking about and can’t make sense of your comment.

• I tot bomba says no charging in basement.
    I wonder how much Tesla save bypassing the AP gangs. RM40k? Per car?
    Car importers should separate the AP cost from the car they sell so consumers know.

• Squid on Jul 20, 2023 at 9:46 am

Tesla is suddenly the game changer for the automotive industry here. The domino effect will even change the ICE market…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • KPKT under local govt ministry proposed guidelines says NO basement chargers!
    https://paultan.org/2023/03/20/kpkt-ev-charger-guideline-proposal/

• “TESLA Charging Only”
    I don’t believe this. At the end, any cars also can park there.

• modelwai on Jul 20, 2023 at 8:46 pm

Tesla is popular in the US despite having lousy build quality mostly because of their massive charging network.

Americans drive long-distance a lot more than we do (and much greater distances too) so a massive charging network is a big selling point.

That’s nice to have but not entirely necessary in Malaysia. EVs are coming in with over 500km WLTP range which even at highway efficiency, should get you from KL to Penang without stopping in between.

Cars with ~350-400km range at most you’ll need to make 1 quick stop at a DC charge point (you don’t need to charge to 100% so a 15min stop is all it takes, go toilet and buy some snacks and you’re ready to go).

Of course more charging points are a plus, but that’s a matter of supply vs demand overtime.

• why gov favour tesla on Jul 21, 2023 at 12:14 am

gov bend backwards to tesalla, no need AP, can install basement chargers. why double standards?