Tesla Malaysia officially launching on July 20 2023

Tesla Malaysia’s Instagram account has come online at @teslamotorsmys. We can also report that Tesla will be launching in Malaysia on July 20, 2023.

Plenty in the industry speculated a sales launch in Malaysia by year end, but it happening so far ahead of speculation is a testament to how fast the EV automaker executes. We first got news of a potential Malaysian market launch when the local holding company was renamed in October 2022.

Then in March 2023, MITI minister Tengku Zafrul announced the BEV Global Leaders initiative and its first approved applicant Tesla Motors which would allow it to sell cars in Malaysia without the usual AP rules.

As part of the BEV Global Leaders initiative, Tesla Malaysia must install at least 50 units of DC fast chargers with minimum charging power of 180 kW, and at least 30% (15 units) of these chargers must be open for the public to use, allowing usage by electric cars from other brands.

By May 2023, some Tesla components had already been registered with SIRIM, and Tesla Malaysia held its first walk-in recruitment day in June 2023, which saw long queues of over 6,000 hopeful candidates applying for sales and service jobs.

We expect Tesla Malaysia to offer the Model 3 and the Model Y just like other ASEAN markets, which are basically the only Tesla models currently available in right hand drive. The latest versions of the Model S and Model X are left hand drive only.

You can follow the @teslamotorsmys account to keep up with the latest news on Tesla Malaysia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• All so syok…. later Tesla announce only building data centre here….
    And probably hiring a grille designer since we have an entire workforce of a company specializing in designing grille.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
    • Tesla..A Clear n Present Danger on Jul 03, 2023 at 5:08 pm

I saw a video in USA where rows n rows of Teslas r parked ,some abandoned,in the freezing cold for delay in spare parts.
      Some tesla owners also r left in a lurch when they need a system upgrade that cost a bomb.
      If u want this rich mans toy..be forewarned..it is for the rich only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • paulaner on Jul 04, 2023 at 10:04 am

im in California and what you on about. Model 3 is like the American Myvi, its everywhere and cheap here. and system upgrades are free you dimwit lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
        • Poor af on Jul 06, 2023 at 12:15 am

You meant Silicon Valley’s Myvi? Because American Myvi is definitely ford f series.

• Namzie on Jul 10, 2023 at 2:36 pm

Probably the reason for the comment is that the cheapest Tesla here will cost over 20K USD more than the cheapest Tesla available in the US. It will also cost five times the cost of the cheapest MyVi available and more than double the price of the sedan ranges for Japanese cars.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 03, 2023 at 5:30 pm

Malaysia now taxing the poor and rewarding the rich.
      Anwar gembira, rakyat sengsara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
      • Newme on Jul 08, 2023 at 9:25 pm

What is wrong with that? One should reward the hardworking people and not lazy bumps.

• Mike Tee on Jul 11, 2023 at 11:37 am

T20 contributed 85% of income tax collected in 2022, M40 contributed 14%. Another 40% basically paid nothing.

Personal income tax made up 19% of LHDN collection. Corporate tax (aka the rich) 55% and remaining 26% from RPGT, stamp duties (the “rich”) and taxes on cooperatives.

Budget 2023 reduced taxes for M40, increased taxes for T20 (“rich”). Let’s be fair here

Let’s be fair here

• Twitter? on Jul 03, 2023 at 12:36 pm

Ironic there’s an Instagram page first and not Twitter.

• Say no to Elon products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
    • Jaafar on Jul 03, 2023 at 3:51 pm

Starlink is good provides internet access on the most remote location on earth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Mike Tee on Jul 11, 2023 at 11:47 am

Buy based on what fits your needs and not who made it. Life is too short to hate

• How do we register ourself for the launch?

• Tesla..A Clear n Present Danger on Jul 03, 2023 at 5:02 pm

KW,u blind kah? U didnt see 6000 hopefuls lining up for half a dozen tesla jobs?
      Get your umbrella ready.The worlds richest dude dont give a damn if u rot in the rain or heat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
  • 4.7L V8 SUV on Jul 03, 2023 at 7:26 pm

Over glorified brand. Wide variety of tech rather than a car focused business. Subpar product hanging on solely powertrain & software breakthrough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Matti on Jul 04, 2023 at 3:44 am

First world pricing, third world build quality

• American’s work fast and efficient not like the the majority of Malaysians drag out work

• Finally a car for the rich to “save the environment” and “jimat minyak”.

• Mike Tee on Jul 11, 2023 at 11:40 am

Based on the comments here, another reminder that *every* Tesla comes with sentry mode, 24 hours 360 degree recording.

Do not key Teslas to quench your hatred for the brand or Elon. You will have to pay for it and most probably get into trouble with the law.

Just continue chatting BS on PT.org using an anonymous name. It’s safer