Tesla Malaysia officially coming with car sales, service centre and superchargers – Tengku Zafrul

It’s official then, Malaysians will soon be able to buy Tesla electric cars direct from Tesla Motors. This announcement was made by MITI minister Tengku Zafrul on his social media platforms today.

According to Tengku Zafrul, Tesla will establish an office here together with Tesla Experience and service centres as well as a supercharger network. He added that the entry of Tesla was facilitated by MITI through the BEV Global Leaders initiative and Tesla is the first applicant of this initiative by MITI.

Tesla operates on a direct to consumer sales model without involving the use of dealers. Tesla Experience centres are just a place where you can learn more about a Tesla, but you will have to place a booking online, and you will take delivery of the car when your stock has been allocated.

Since Tesla does not work with any shareholding partners in any country that it operates in, the entry of Tesla into Malaysia could also mean that some concessions could have been made with certain requirements like franchise APs, which could have been granted as part of the BEV Global Leaders initiative.

We first reported on the possibility of Tesla entering Malaysia last month when checks with SSM revealed that Tesla Services Sdn Bhd had been renamed to Tesla Sdn Bhd, with a revised nature of business spelling out specifically wholesale and retail of new motor vehicles, and maintenance and repair of motor vehicles. Tesla Sdn Bhd’s shareholding 100% belongs to Tesla International BV.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Now Singaporean and Thais can’t laugh at Malaysian for not having Tesla sold here in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • PH Supporter on Mar 01, 2023 at 2:46 pm

Tesla see Mesia now under PH will become country only for the rich so now they dare come. Previous gomen only caring for society. This new gomen only cares for us rich.
      Welcome Tesla!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
      • ahmad huzaifah on Mar 06, 2023 at 7:49 pm

my likes are double all your dislikes!!!!!!
        If malaysians can buy mercedes BMW or audi or porsche or ford mustangs or volvos, you can say that for malaysia, money is not a serious issue. so expect that teslas can be available and I have seen a few of them before this news They make most of the car brands I mentioned in Malaysia. New tech adaptation is good here! Malaysia is a promising choice. hoyahoi!

• Yes, finally! It’s game on for EVs in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • No Free Lunch on Mar 01, 2023 at 1:26 pm

Padan muka Kroni AP cannot get a single alibaba share on Tesla Sdn Bhd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Sotomayor on Mar 01, 2023 at 11:25 am

Is that a P3 announced by Government?

• Robinhood on Mar 01, 2023 at 11:30 am

The T20 now got no money to buy your Tesla. Thanks for your increase in income taxes. Probably you bring in Tesla to serve your gang only! Another useless minister. Pls bring in affordable EV ok!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • Mike Tee on Mar 01, 2023 at 11:33 am

Great news! For those who are against EV, remember first adopters are paying for poorer battery tech, poorer motor tech and bigger depreciation and laying the market for charging network to be viable. No chicken (EVs on the road), no egg (charging network)

You should thank early adopters rather than calling them all sorts. Your sub-RM100k EV in 2033 will in all likelihood be superior to a RM300k EV from 2023

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Tesla, welcome abroad to Malaysia!

• Mantap terbaik kjaan Madani PH BN. Better Nation

• noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo….

• keyboard warrior on Mar 01, 2023 at 12:56 pm

Thank you, next

• No Tesla no battery car long live ICE on Mar 01, 2023 at 1:15 pm

Tesla so many problem and recalls… And self driving is problematic.. and locks you in the car and you can’t unlock to get out .. too many known issues and owning a poor built quality Tesla is totally not worth the money

Not to mention battery production is more damaging to environment..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • TeslaFan on Mar 01, 2023 at 1:20 pm

yaaay

• James KWON on Mar 01, 2023 at 1:47 pm

Finally, at last the King of EVs coming to Malaysia. good to see no more substandard China EV. BMW, Mercedes, Porsche and Hyundai will have a good run when Tesla comes in officially.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • tesla on Mar 01, 2023 at 2:04 pm

only for those t20 group the roadtax will kill all you
    if not redesign the road tax structure a model 3 long range rwd will cost u 2.3k++ road tax

• Not all T20 but more of the top half of T20 can afford these cars..

Bottom half T20 are like urban poor, just driving P1 P2 Toyota or Honda. Income macam T20 but live like M40 in city area..

• with a few recent incidents that Tesla run out of control, I will be concerned if I see a Tesla is running close to me :(

• Doubt they’ll offer FSD on Malaysian roads… but I’m sure someone will figure out a way to enable it via some software unlock.

• Bieight8 on Mar 01, 2023 at 3:30 pm

GG lah those recond cars sellers

• James on Mar 01, 2023 at 5:08 pm

Finally! Been waiting for ages

• Zafrul Thief on Mar 02, 2023 at 7:08 am

Last thing we need is more cars on the road here, congestion is already nuts. Why didn’t they make Tesla setup a factory here before allowing them in? The guys face is why Zafrul, making Najib look like an amateur.

• Sohai on Mar 04, 2023 at 3:22 pm

One step behind Thailand. Well done…

• ahmad huzaifah on Mar 06, 2023 at 7:43 pm

I like but people are still laughing at me for it. My relative took a close look at it and wasn’t impressed. for me I think its not a problem but design wise I somehow would agree that is kinda ugly. Proton could make better EV models than this. I hope these batteries and motors in each tesla can survive Malaysian weather.

this should be enough motivation for proton to make their own EV cars. They already had this tech, but they still didn’t make it for some reason.

• @NotBruceWayne on Mar 07, 2023 at 4:50 pm

Wham BaM Tesla Cam Mesia coming soon