Tesla Malaysia won’t sell you a Model S or Model X because they’re no longer available in right hand drive

Tesla Model S facelift

When Tesla Malaysia is finally up and running, it will most likely start with sales of the Tesla Model 3 sedan and Tesla Model Y SUV, which is the same line-up as our neighbours Singapore and Thailand.

However, it will probably stay that way for a long time as it appears Tesla has decided to scrap right hand drive plans for its larger, more expensive cars the Model S and Model X.

This even includes first world right hand drive countries like UK and Australia, where Tesla has taken bookings. Bookings will be refunded and credits will be offered towards the purchase of a Model 3 or Model Y. In countries like UK however, Tesla will happily sell you a left hand drive if you really want one.

To be clear, this refers to the latest Tesla Model S and X updates that includes the triple motor Plaid version. Previous versions of the Tesla Model S and Tesla Model Y were available as a right hand drive and we even leased a Tesla Model S in Malaysia for almost 3 years and published a review.

As a result of this, we think sales of right hand drive Taycans will probably go through the roof, as if it isn’t already that way to begin with.

If you want a Tesla Model S or Tesla Model X now, your best bet will be the classifieds, where there are a few grey import Teslas available.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Keyboard warrior on May 17, 2023 at 12:27 pm

I think because of both Model S and Model X are due for replacement. And i believe Malaysians won’t spend so much money on ‘non-established’ brand

• PlainBS on May 18, 2023 at 8:27 am

So come here for wat? Shiok sendiri ahh this Permaidani gomen?

• Winnie The Pooh on May 23, 2023 at 6:59 pm

Idk about the non established part, BYD is a complete no name china brand and somehow selling so well since launching here. Same for geely boyue, at least that one got proton “name” but still.

• Time to replace them with a new model?

• New model won’t come in RHD version too?

• If profitable sure will expand globally.
        This looks like stock clearance LHD old models.

• Yee Long must be here on May 17, 2023 at 2:23 pm

new replacement models RHD version must waits for tesla indonesia factory plant

• Keyboard warrior on May 17, 2023 at 8:25 pm

There is no such Tesla indonesian plant. That rumour has been buried 6 feet under

• If Tesla doesn’t want to sell RHD versions, then this is okay. There are enough alternatives available: Taycan, E-Tron, etc.

• This is fine. The Model S and Model X are more like hobbies for Tesla. Their bread and butter remains the Model Y and to some extent the Model 3 as well (3 has fallen behind Y in recent years due to the SUV/crossover craze).

• Old models, too expensive to sell here

• ROTI CANAI on May 17, 2023 at 8:10 pm

tengok harga dulu