Tesla car prices in Malaysia when purchased through official channels – can Thailand pricing be a clue?

Now that we know that Tesla is officially coming to Malaysia, Tesla will suddenly be on the purchase consideration of many who have not considered a car from the American brand before this.

It’s understandable of course. First you have to have to get through mental barrier of the idea of using an electric car as a daily driver instead of an internal combustion engine car, with concerns of battery range and the availability of chargers being the primary deterrent.

Then, even after you have accepted that an electric car could be your next car, there’s the concern of aftersales support for Tesla cars in Malaysia. The closest official service centre right now is in Singapore, and owners from the Greentech leasing program have been sending their cars back to Hong Kong for major work.

Grey import Tesla buyers have so far been maintained by third party workshops run by enterprising Malaysians such as Exotic Mods, who seem to have been doing a good job so far. I have never heard of an unrepairable Tesla based on my lurking in Tesla owner groups.

How much will officially imported Malaysian Tesla buyers pay for their cars? Fully imported electric cars are currently exempted from import duty and excise duty. The only duty they will have to pay is 10% SST.

So it’s logical that Tesla Malaysia official imports might be cheaper than the grey import Teslas currently on sale because the grey importer’s profit margin would be out of the picture. But how much could they be priced at? Perhaps we could take the pricing of Teslas in our northern neighbour Thailand as a guideline.

The following is the price of the Tesla Model 3 and Y in Thailand, which are the only Tesla models currently on sale there (no Model S and X yet):

• Tesla Model 3 SR+ – THB 1,759,000
  • Tesla Model 3 LR – THB 1,999,000
  • Tesla Model 3 P – THB 2,309,000
  • Tesla Model Y SR+ – THB 1,959,000
  • Tesla Model Y LR – THB 2,259,000
  • Tesla Model Y P – THB 2,509,000

At today’s exchange rate, this is how much the above prices would be in Malaysian ringgit:

• Tesla Model 3 SR+ – RM225k
  • Tesla Model 3 LR – RM256k
  • Tesla Model 3 P – RM296k
  • Tesla Model Y SR+ – RM251k
  • Tesla Model Y LR – RM290k
  • Tesla Model Y P – RM322k

If you add on 10% as a buffer for SST, could this is be what Tesla cars could be priced at in Malaysia?

• Tesla Model 3 SR+ – RM247k
  • Tesla Model 3 LR – RM281k
  • Tesla Model 3 P – RM326k
  • Tesla Model Y SR+ – RM276k
  • Tesla Model Y LR – RM319k
  • Tesla Model Y P – RM354k

What do you think of the potential pricing, would you be attracted to purchase a Tesla in Malaysia? If yes, what model and variant would you be looking at? Cruise around with the family in a Long Range Model Y, or hoon around in a Model 3 Performance? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• paanjang16 on Mar 01, 2023 at 12:29 pm

Tesla is like the Apple of the BEV market so it definitely will not be cheap. Will sell with a premium price like Apple for sure. Still many will gladly buy as the glamour and prestige of driving a Tesla is like showing off that you have an iphone eventhough a Tesla is overrated and overpriced like Apple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 39
    • No Free Lunch on Mar 01, 2023 at 1:31 pm

Simply compare the Tesla direct price vs the Kroni AP price here. What a hell loads of insane fat profit sucking up local buyers. So glad Tesla allowed to operate here on full ownership basis without the madness of Kroni AP interference nonsense craps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • hang tesla on Mar 02, 2023 at 6:08 am

You must thank mahatir for that…

AP and excise system has been sucking Malaysians dry for 50 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Potential Buyer on Mar 02, 2023 at 6:24 am

Now imagine if BMW or Mercedes or other brands in Malaysia run like Tesla, consumer direct to manufacturer.

Tesla dont have franchise AP so its a special arrangement/exemption for them. Probably because Tesla won’t do biz with Malaysia style, ie: sell rights selling to a crony backed company like Sime Darby, UMW.

So remember there is a crazy profit margin on BMW and etc in Malaysia sold buy official channels compared to other countries like the US.

Essentially since Tesla is selling direct to consumers, we can enjoy the “actual” price the mfg sells for.

Will definitely cannabilize 3 series sales and C-class sales at 250K, especially in 1-2 years when we have a complete charging network.

• Hello brader Model 3 and Y is like the Myvi of the United States lol, especially in west coast it’s everywhere, 35k USD only. Model S and X are the premium ones

• Muzzy Ariff on Mar 25, 2023 at 7:11 pm

Hahahaha. Where in the US can you get model 3 for $35. Conned by Elon’s speech?

• Autobahn Luthfee on Apr 09, 2023 at 7:24 am

In usa bmw 335/340i also consider cheap cars already.. most will just lease it for 4 yrs and keep changing to newer model unlike here, price to north 300k to 500k and keep it till it breaks down

• Bring them on. Sounds really kayangan with the fanciest gadget produced by the biggest market value auto manufacturer, I may buy Tesla EV and kiss Merz good bye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Tesla will never be able to compare with legacy auto manufacturers on the luxury side of things, at least the way things are right now. Teslas are chocked full of tech but their build quality is notoriously bad — panel gaps, paint quality, steering wheel falling off, etc., and this is not even touching on FSD failures yet. They command a high price point because of their tech, not because they’re “luxurious”.

Tesla coming into Malaysia is great for EV adoption and infrastructure renaissance, however. I hope they can give other manufacturers a kick in the butt to buckle up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • azhar on Mar 06, 2023 at 4:40 pm

Their built quality has improved a lot especially units coming from shanghai

• Potential EV buyer on Mar 01, 2023 at 12:55 pm

Wow I was hoping around Rm200k.
    If starting price Rm250k, I guess byd not DOA after all. Rm100k difference in starting price.
    Kinda sad it will be out of reach even for many middle and upper income families. Maybe their next model will fix that ?

• Elon Fanboi on Mar 01, 2023 at 12:59 pm

Haha, brand EV lain bungkuslah lepas ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • I want to buy a TESLA on Mar 01, 2023 at 1:03 pm

Great news indeed. Would love to get Model 3 if it come fully loaded with Tesla’s tech. Question is, will they install supercharger in Sabah & Sarawak. Hopefully they can install supercharger along the Pan Borneo Highway. Distance between major town is easily 250-300km in Sarawak.

• kckfen on Mar 01, 2023 at 1:46 pm

what happen to the USD25k Tesla hatchback? Not coming?

• Correct me if I’m wrong. Currently there is 7% VAT tax and 2% excise tax for tesla sold in thailand. So shouldn’t the price in malaysia be just ~1% higher than thailand?

• Correct me if I’m wrong. I think currently tesla sold in thailand includes 7% VAT tax and 2% excise tax. So price in malaysia with 10% SST should be almost the same.

• afmgt on Mar 01, 2023 at 2:02 pm

Ada typo bros;

Tesla Model Y LR THB RM319k

• Recond tesla kepishangan la kalo msuk ni. Selama ni bermarajalela letak arga yahudi

• Bieight8 on Mar 01, 2023 at 3:34 pm

They should bring in those that are made in Berlin not those made in China…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Tesla on Mar 01, 2023 at 3:41 pm

Tesla Model 3 SR+ with Enhanced Autopilot. Long range additional 130km is nice but SR+ is enough for Penang to KL. FSD will be a long time coming.

• Kambeng on Mar 01, 2023 at 3:44 pm

If I’m not mistaken, electric vehicles are subject to reduced but present import & excise duties in Thailand, unlike in Malaysia. So one would expect the Malaysian prices to be lower, prices of electric vehicles that are currently on the market in both countries seem to reflect this.

• anonymous on Mar 01, 2023 at 3:46 pm

for anyone interested, i suggest you go through the complaints about these cars defects. makes even honda malaysia look good lol.

• Danride on Mar 01, 2023 at 3:53 pm

AP holders will markup at least RM80k per car. So the real value of Tesla Model 3 SR+ shoud be – RM333k instead of RM247k

• Tesla y long range will be a good choice

• If I am a T20 and can afford it, I definitely will. With all the talk of targeted fuel subsidy and T20 is not one of its beneficiary, I feel Tesla is coming at the right moment.

• Hasif Mk7 on Mar 02, 2023 at 12:37 pm

Wow. A Model 3 Performance for that price?

• Crony First on Mar 02, 2023 at 2:09 pm

You’ve forgotten to add the AP cost.

• Frederick on Mar 02, 2023 at 2:47 pm

Tesla MY Long Range

• Drake on Mar 02, 2023 at 10:10 pm

Myvi still king. Cheap maintenance, easy to park, got built in Smart Tag.

• apamau on Mar 02, 2023 at 10:45 pm

we r not sure how much tax in Thailand. but if you use HK price if would be much more cheaper than Thailand.

• CODMAN on Mar 03, 2023 at 12:31 am

Maybe there will be no taxes for electric cars

• Mohan Nair on Mar 04, 2023 at 10:47 am

The 25k nextgen platform vehicle is coming out of the the Giga Mexico plant right across the border from Texas. We are also getting a Lithium refining plant at Corpus Christi.

All this and more was announced at Investors Day here at Austin TX.

• HOkia on Mar 05, 2023 at 1:16 pm

American cars are not very widely known for their quality. If those legacy luxury brand were to come up with similar tech for their fully electric cars, Tesla will be in for a rough ride. It’s just a matter of time.

The interior finishes and refinement in assembly of Tesla is still questionable, especially at that price point.

• frogprince on Apr 09, 2023 at 8:04 am

I guess the whole world has a diff idea that makes Tesla the most expensive Auto company. Rough ride?

• Still anytime better than entry level Merc beemer or even crv and cx5

• Ze Shark on Mar 06, 2023 at 9:37 am

BEV without charging infrastructure, hum.
    Tesla, no.
    Tesla without extensive service infrastructure, hell no.

• Clueless Newbie on Mar 09, 2023 at 7:36 am

What are the common problems with Tesla? Are their batteries expensive to change?

• Exspitts on Apr 08, 2023 at 8:12 pm

watch Electric Viking, read history of Tesla, Elon musk and failure of GM Volt. You will get a clearer picture of EV today. Strange , no one mentioned Vietnam’s Vin EV

• ICE4life on Apr 09, 2023 at 11:27 am

Seems like nobody care to mention how much is the cost of battery replacement if it’s over warranty.
    Where is the fun driving a silent BEV vs a V8 ICE ?! Will continue driving a real car !!!

• jerry on Apr 10, 2023 at 7:57 am

Tesla warrant the battery for 8 years. I know that for a fact because I own one. If you drive it for 8 years it owes you nothing!

• Until the police are alerted because u driving v8. If u drive fast in an EV no one will notice and certainly neighbors wont complain

• jerry on Apr 10, 2023 at 7:48 am

I am a ex-Malaysian….I own a M3SR+ since 2021. I can tell you it’s a no brainer to own one. To date I had not spend a single cent on maintenances. Where I am it electricity cost 8 cents a KwH during off peak. Your government is screwing all of you with your pants on….just saying!

• LG Eng on Apr 27, 2023 at 12:55 pm

Base version of the Tesla Model 3 will be 190k in Malaysia. 283hp, 5.8s 0 to 100kmh and 225kmh top speed

Feel.sorry for the existing owners of BYD. German 2.0 category will be decimated overnight.