Tesla Model Y priced from RM199,000 on Tesla Malaysia configurator – book now with RM1,000 fee

The moment every electric car enthusiast in Malaysia has been waiting for is here – the Tesla configurator for Malaysia has been activated. And with it, the pricing for the Tesla Model Y has been revealed ahead of the brand launch on July 20 2023.

The Tesla Model Y is available in three specs. The following are the prices:

• Tesla Model Y RWD – RM199,000
  • Tesla Model Y Long Range AWD – RM246,000
  • Tesla Model Y Performance AWD – RM288,000

All prices above are inclusive of SST.

In addition, these are the pricing for upgrades you can add on:

• Black, silver or blue paint – RM5,000
  • Red multi-coat paint – RM10,000
  • Black/white interior – RM5,000
  • 20″ Induction wheel upgrade – RM10,000
  • Enhanced Autopilot – RM16,000
  • Full Self Driving – RM32,000

You can order one now for a non-refundable RM1,000 fee. Estimated delivery is in early 2024.

Tesla Model Y Buyer’s Guide

The Tesla Model Y is a compact SUV that competes with the likes of the BMW X3 and the Mercedes-Benz GLC. In terms of other EV competitors, it goes against the BMW iX3 and the Mercedes-Benz EQC.

Tesla doesn’t officially reveal battery kWh sizes, preferring to differentiate by range instead, thus we don’t have very clear answers on what the Model Y’s battery size is between models. What we do know is it uses a 400V electrical architecture.

Tesla Model Y RWD – RM199,000

Tesla Model Y – RWD (Gemini wheels)

The most affordable Model Y in Malaysia is the Model Y Standard Range RWD. Power goes to the ground through a single rear motor. The battery used is a LFP type battery. Max range is claimed to be 455 km (WLTP). The 100 km/h sprint can be done in 6.9 seconds. The top speed for the RWD is 217 km/h. It comes with 19 inch Gemini wheels, but you’re allowed to upgrade to 20 inch Induction wheels for RM10,000.

Tesla Model Y Long Range AWD – RM246,000

Tesla Model Y – Long Range AWD (Induction wheels)

Next step up is the Model Y Long Range AWD. The 100 km/h sprint can be done in 5.0 seconds, on to a top speed of 217 km/h. Max range is 533 km (WLTP). The battery used is a NMC type battery. The wheels option is the same as the Model Y RWD, which is 19 inch upgradable to 20 inch. Acceleration Boost is available for purchase, which will drop the 5.0 seconds acceleration time to 4.5 seconds. We don’t have pricing for Acceleration Boost in Malaysia as it’s purchasable in the app after you get the car, not upon ordering.

Tesla Model Y Performance AWD – RM288,000

Tesla Model Y – Performance AWD (Uberturbine wheels)

The top of the range is the Tesla Model Y Performance AWD, which is the most expensive Tesla you can buy in Malaysia right now. It can hit 100 km/h in a blistering quick 3.7 seconds, on to a top speed of 250 km/h. Range is 514 km (WLTP). The battery used is a NMC type battery. It also gets 21 inch Uberturbine wheels, performance brakes, a carbon fiber spoiler, aluminum alloy pedal and a lowered suspension.

Tesla Model Y – Black Interior

Tesla Model Y – White Interior

In terms of interior, all three variants get black vegan leather interior (upgradable to black and white for RM5,000), panoramic glass roof, a 15 inch centre touch display, a dual wireless charger and 4 x USB C ports, a 13 speaker premium audio system with 1 sub and 2 amps, power adjustable front seats, heated front and rear seats, heated steering, and the AC has a HEPA filter system with Bioweapon Defence Mode.

In terms of storage, it has a 854 litre rear boot and a 117 litre ‘frunk’ (under the bonnet where the engine would be).

Here’s a recap of the pricing:

Five colours are available for the Tesla Model Y – Solid Black, Pearl White Multi-Coat, Midnight Silver Metallic, Deep Blue Metallic and Red Multi-Coat. Pearl White is the only colour that is included in the Model Y’s price. Black, silver and blue have a surcharge of RM5,000, while red is the most expensive colour with a RM10,000 surcharge.

For the Malaysian market, the Model Y is only available as a two row 5 seater for now. In some countries, there is a three row 7 seater upgrade option. In terms of safety, the Tesla Model Y is one of the safest SUVs in the world with perfect 5-star rating from both NHTSA and Euro NCAP.

What is the size difference between Model 3 and Model Y?

Is the Model Y just a jacked up Model 3 with a taller roof? Many might assume so but the Model Y is actually quite a bit bigger than the Model 3, as you can see from the table above. It is 72 mm wider, 181 mm taller, and 57 mm longer. Wheelbase is just a little longer at 15 mm.

What is the size difference between Model Y and X3/GLC?

From the dimension comparison we can see that the Model Y, BMW X3 and GLC have similar lengths and wheelbases, but there are slight differences in width and height. The BMW X3 is the tallest among the three, while the Tesla Model Y is the widest.

Can a Tesla really drive itself? Will it work in Malaysia?

All Tesla cars include Autopilot, which allows it to steer, accelerate and brake automatically for other vehicles and pedestrians within its lane. There’s also other driver assistance features such as emergency braking, collision warning and blind-spot monitoring.

You can pay RM16,000 to upgrade to Enhanced Autopilot which adds Navigate on Autopilot, Auto Lane Change, Autopark and Smart Summon which is supposed to allow your parked car to come find you anywhere in a parking lot by navigating complex parking situations. It’s not known if Smart Summon will work in Malaysia.

Of course the actual “self driving” is a package called Full Self-Driving or FSD, which is currently in Beta. You will have to pay RM32,000 for this. In its current form, everything still requires active driver supervision and do not make the vehicle autonomous. FSD will continue to evolve and be upgraded through over-the-air software updates. For it to become truly autonomous, it will still require regulatory approval.

Other Tesla features

There’s also Sentry mode, which uses the cameras around the vehicle as a dashcam, so there’s pretty much no need to buy a dashcam when you have a Tesla.

You also get the Tesla Mobile app (now available in Malaysian app store), which allows you to remotely control and monitor your Tesla with Phone Key keyless driving, range & charging status, climate control, live GPS location and more.

Tesla Warranty in Malaysia

Tesla cars are covered by a Basic Vehicle Warranty which is 4 years or 80,000 km, whichever comes first.

Then there is also a Battery & Drive Unit Warranty which covers the is much longer. For the RWD model, it is covered for 8 years or 160,000 km, whichever comes first, with minimum 70% retention of battery capacity over the warranty period. For the LR AWD and Performance AWD models, it is covered for 8 years or 192,000 km, whichever comes first.

How to order a Tesla in Malaysia?

Just head onto the Tesla Malaysia configurator, choose which model you want as well as any options and click continue to payment. What’s due today will only be a deposit payable through your card, though do note it is non-refundable. Estimated deliveries will start in early 2024.

Other than the base vehicle price and options you add on above, for total costs you’ll have to account for a RM500 delivery & admin fee, a RM200 number plate fee, and the RM1,000 non-refundable order fee. As you can see above, my “dream Model Y” with red paint and black and white interior comes up to RM303k, then with the misc fees it becomes RM304.7k.

For hire purchase financing, there’s a built in calculator as well, and AmBank as well as Maybank has been linked as reference. Tesla provides a 2.35-2.4% flat interest rate estimate. For the Model Y above with a 10% downpayment, they quoted me a RM5,079 per month estimated monthly installment for 5 years and RM3,786 per month for a 7 year loan.

Are Tesla cars tax-free in Malaysia?

At the moment, buyers will enjoy full import and excise duties exemption for newly registered CBU Tesla EVs along with 100% road tax exemption. The prices still include SST, which is only exempted for CKD EVs like the Volvo XC40 BEV, C40 BEV and Mercedes-Benz EQS at the moment.

Tesla owners may also claim individual income tax relief of up to RM2,500 on expenses related to the cost of installation, rental, purchase, including hire-purchase equipment or subscription fees for EV charging facilities, for the assessment year of 2023.

When will the Tesla Model 3 be launched?

No word on that at the moment, so sedan fans will have to wait. We’re speculating that this may be something to do with the fact that “Project Highland” which is an update to the Tesla Model 3 is coming soon.

In any case we think there will be plenty who will take up the Model Y given that the market is trending towards SUVs and the Model Y was the world’s best selling car in Q1 2023.

GALLERY: Tesla Model Y

Learn more: ,

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• JJTan on Jul 14, 2023 at 8:36 am

Never expected that you can get a base model, Tesla Model Y RWD less than RM200K, thought that they gonna price their cars more than RM400K.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 2
    • Madani made it happened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 14
    • Civic Type L(ol) on Jul 14, 2023 at 10:14 am

It’s finally here (in MY automotive). You buy a completely capable hardware, but you have to add more money to fully use something you already own. That’s f*ed up. It’s a matter of time before we have to subscribe to use an a/c.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
      • Muthu on Jul 16, 2023 at 8:46 pm

Well, you’re paying for the full self-driving software in this case. So, it’s not much different from having a phone that is capable of many things, but some apps charge you money for additional features.

• Tahniah rakyat Madani on Jul 14, 2023 at 10:38 am

Correcto. becuz we got a superb PHBN govt, Huge Kudos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
      • FreakingAnnoyed on Jul 14, 2023 at 1:23 pm

PHBN govt owns Tesla? We own one of the biggest company in the world? Even BMW follow this subscription model. So kudos to PHBN also? Pls don’t everything also goreng politic in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Afeeq Hasan on Jul 14, 2023 at 12:06 pm

Wait till croynism taxes start being implemented to protect Proton.

Best years to buy electric cars for reasonable prices, in a few years your only option will be tin kosong Proton and Perodua rebadged cars.

• Time for AP holder grey importer to sell other EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • John Gagal on Jul 14, 2023 at 10:12 am

Padan muka kroni-kroni AP takde lagi kaut untung atas angin!

Buka gerai jual burger je lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • ERIKO on Jul 14, 2023 at 8:59 am

Hancur BMW and Mercedes. Game over for all European brands. Great news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 27
    • Ramesh on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:36 am

Volvo, Hyundai, Kia battery car overpriced here too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 25
      • That’s because the build quality of all 3 of those brands today are superior to Tesla. I know, hard to believe right? Malaysians think Tesla is so cool cos of the branding but almost nobody has actually sat in one. And their opinion of Volvo/Korean cars are from 10-20 years ago.

Go sit in a Tesla and you’ll notice how empty it is, and feel the quality – then go compare with Volvo/eGMP Hyundai-Kia cars, you will notice how much better materials these guys use vs tesla and why they are priced higher.

Don’t just read around comments here – countless international comparison reviews will give you a better idea.

Tesla’s strength has never been in quality cars. After so many years they’re still sitting at the bottom half of Consumer Report’s reliability rating.

Their strength is their fancy software and the supercharger network (which was closed off to others until end of last year they opened up access to other manufacturers)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 7
        • not a fan of tesla on Jul 14, 2023 at 4:57 pm

some are experienced coach/automotive builders. some are fancy tech makers.

i’d put my money and my life on experienced builders. iX1 over this flims’Y’ plastic, anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • IbookedTESLa on Jul 14, 2023 at 11:18 pm

somehow they got the highest safety rating in all the testing? hmm wonder why

• Civic Type L(ol) on Jul 15, 2023 at 8:04 am

Bcos, safety rating is just 1part of car construction. Tesla quality and reliability is one of the worst according to Consumer Report.

• plsbrain on Jul 15, 2023 at 8:18 am

countless times Tesla has been under scrutiny for safety issues from software to recent steering wheel coming off while driving on the Model Y. this is what ppl mean when they say Tesla has poor reliability.

it’s easy to make a few cars which will be tested in a lab for safety ratings…trying to reproduce consistent quality at a mass scale is something else.

but perhaps a simpleton doesn’t understand that concept. not sure if links are blocked in comments so just go google Business Today’s report on Model Y Steering Wheel Falling Off…and the countless other times they received safety warnings

• jimmyehyang on Jul 14, 2023 at 10:38 pm

what the..i just found out tesla’s supercharger network is now open to all – really no reason to buy a tesla anymore. overrated cars.

• tailinngong on Jul 15, 2023 at 12:23 am

to be honest those who can afford to buy is just a toy to em..mostly deep pockets probably got few cars at home already…this just another toy…where they care about reliability, maintenance, etc…this toy is not for normal rakyat

• Holder on Jul 14, 2023 at 6:29 pm

Mercedes is not worth and already game over. But BMW, and also Volkswagen and Audi, not really. BMW, Audi, Volkswagen and Tesla already beats Mercedes for almost all aspects. Quality for mercedes also loses to rivals and many other brands

• komarad on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:01 am

BYD or Tesla? which one is better?

• Ground europe passenger on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:08 am

Wow 19/20 inch rim tyre, Malaysia “good condition” road can cater?

• Civic Type L(ol) on Jul 14, 2023 at 10:34 am

The US road also in “good condition” in most states. Yes, they suffer from it. Watch Engineering Explained Ytube channel, His Model 3 got stranded because of a pot hole, and no shop carry that tyre size other than Porsche dealer. He ended up change to a smaller aftermarket wheel with easily available tyre size.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Afeeq Hasan on Jul 14, 2023 at 12:09 pm

I live in the US and if it can work here it can work anywhere else. Do you think Tesla doesn’t sell 19/20 inch rims in the Northeast USA with its winters ruining the road? Look at Michigan roads.

Malaysian roads are pretty good actually.

• lolpanda on Jul 14, 2023 at 2:55 pm

size of the rim doesn’t really matter. regardless of rim size, the profile of EV tyres are generally 45 and above.

you can even use 22″ rims on a 45 profile tyre and you’ll still have plenty of buffer for bumpy roads.

• Walanon sejati on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:15 am

Anwar menang, Tesla mari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 15
  • DonkeyKong on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:18 am

Just a few posts earlier there’s an ad about G-Mart selling the model Y starting from RM268k LOL. G-Mart must be cursing and swearing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • They updated the price already, starting from rm180k now.

• TeslatotheMoon on Jul 14, 2023 at 11:56 am

Imagine their profit margin at 268k last week they advertise…now 180k….padan muka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Yes I noticed that too. Shows how much G-mart was trying to make. We should boycott them. Greedy people. Buy from car company directly better and safer.
      G mart malu wei. We saw thier profit margin

• Untung Manyak Wang on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:22 am

why disabled 7 seats option?

• Mike Tee on Jul 14, 2023 at 12:44 pm

Seems to be a region wide decision. Not available in CN/HK/SG/TH/TW/AUS either

• Peppa on Jul 14, 2023 at 1:30 pm

The 7 seats option is stupid. You cant put anyone back there!

• Ben Yap on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:26 am

tesla is better than BYD. Tesla = Tell Elon Stop Looking Absurd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • Mouun's Moon on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:30 am

Grey imports sweating profusely in the corner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Wow. I thought the price would be higher. Other brands are in great danger.

• ROTI CANAI on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:37 am

the reCONMEN cry now, say tak nak to overpriced reCON cars

• LatukBandar on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:43 am

Tesla Thailand long range has almost more than 100km more than Malaysia. That is alot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • What’s the default colour?

• And that “Nai-ro” have the audacity to sell at RM257k.

• tricycle on Jul 14, 2023 at 10:07 am

This is just wow. Incredible. Lucky for those vying for these EV cars.

Too bad, EV does not suite my driving style.

Nevertheless it is a bargain. Go and get it folks. Super good deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • It does not suite 99 percent Msian driving style and road and favilities too. 1 percent buy it for play play only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • MASAMI on Jul 15, 2023 at 1:43 pm

Go play with you small gugu la. play play play..what nonsense

• Mike Tee on Jul 14, 2023 at 10:12 am

Booked! Expected Q1 2024

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • 4GR-FSE on Jul 14, 2023 at 10:22 am

grab one before the government revise the tax on EV.
    BMW and Merc are sweating their pants now, a base Tesla for the price of the cheapest BMW (218i) and even cheaper than A200. In US, the people see Tesla as the same league with Merc, BMW, Audi and Volvo.

Hyundai and Kia also feeling the heat now. Recond dealers are panicking..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Civic Type L(ol) on Jul 14, 2023 at 11:02 am

Lol you really bought into the hype of tech influencers. Just look at that interior, tell me how that in the same league as Merc, BMW, Audi & Volvo. Even in performance standpoint Porsche EV is ahead of them. Tesla rank 19 out of 24 brands in US annual Consumer Report for 2022. Tesla is that bad in US.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
      • Peppa on Jul 14, 2023 at 1:33 pm

Yah. But Tesla hype is on the same level if not higher than those brands you mentioned

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • lolpanda on Jul 14, 2023 at 2:32 pm

As a former Model 3 owner I will tell you that most Tesla owners will acknowledge the fit and finish is average and probably worse than some Japanese makes. They are infamous for build quality issues up till today; but the software is great.

Interior is very basic and the quality of materials leave much to be desired. Luxury brands have much better material quality.

Truth be told, the Ioniq 5 I test drove has superior build quality and nicer interior materials than my Tesla. Don’t believe me? Get on YouTube and search for ‘Model Y vs Ioniq 5’ reviews globally.

The price IS inviting but once you drive what the Germans and Koreans have in their EV line-up today – you’ll go “hmmm…what’s all the hype with Tesla about?”

Note: I traded-in my Model 3 for an iX1 and it’s a huge improvement in quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
      • T1B20 on Jul 14, 2023 at 3:01 pm

thank you for saying this! i’ve always been saying Tesla does a lot of PR work and stunts but the cars are seriously average quality.

not sure why ppl even compare with BMW / Merc when it can barely compete with the Korean brands.

• IbookedTESLa on Jul 14, 2023 at 11:16 pm

yea, not sure why so many stupid people buying tesla right? Model Y best selling car at around USD 45K ..so many people who can afford this expensive car still so stupid..wonder WHY..hmm why BMW cant sell more car? HMMM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • logictech on Jul 15, 2023 at 8:06 am

don’t get the basis of your sarcasm. because Tesla has a larger charging network in US which previously wasn’t open to others – and it’s also cheaper than luxury brands.

it’s like asking why are there more Hondas than BMWs on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Civic Type L(ol) on Jul 15, 2023 at 9:17 am

Model Y is slice of only 5% EV sold in US since tesla existence. GM is no.1 EV sold in US Q1 this year followed closely by Ford. That was in their homeland. Globally they do even worse. Especially since competition from Chinese EV maker.

• trianboat on Jul 15, 2023 at 1:37 pm

@logictech

Honda and BMW aren’t same category

• Teslasux on Jul 16, 2023 at 12:14 am

Saying Gm sell the most ev car is just plain stupid and out of this world. Model y outsell so many ev and petrol car that are even cheaper than model y. So why go pay more money for a worse car? Like train boat said Honda and bmw is not even in the same category to compare with, why more Honda? Because they are cheap.. u too dumb to know this fact?

• wangdin on Jul 16, 2023 at 2:47 pm

i think the point wangdin is trying to make is that tesla isn’t in the same category as the likes of Audi, BMW, Merc either.

it’s predominantly a software company with average hardware. watch Mat Watson’s new video on the Model X (which is supposed to be a higher spec model) and you’ll see why.

• Teslasux on Jul 17, 2023 at 12:33 pm

Very hard to compare Tesla with BMW and Mercedes. The price is so different in others country.
            So we just compare Malaysia BMW , Mercedes and Tesla.
            At Tesla price points, which model of BMW is more attractive ? You can say bmw and mercedes interior is more luxurious but their performance and features and software cant even compare. The car from BMW that can compare to tesla is around RM400k to 500K+ .. N bmw n Mercedes in Malaysia also full of problems so i got no confidence in their EV product.

• David on Jul 17, 2023 at 10:31 am

Problem is car depreciate over time, so better buy well known one with lowest price possible. Even you need parts for repair one day, the damage wont be so much for you right.

• okie. the price war has started now.

waiting for model 2.

• recode on Jul 14, 2023 at 10:33 am

any indication if the 7-seater option will be available in the future?

• McFadden on Jul 14, 2023 at 12:44 pm

To all the bird nest soup eaters here this car ain’t made for you just buy Dolphin or Good Cat leave this to the Salmon or Trout lovers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr on Jul 14, 2023 at 12:47 pm

Nice one Elon! Even in base spec it has a lot of kit. A lot more worth it compared to the kosong spec A200/218i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • trianboat on Jul 15, 2023 at 1:38 pm

218i not really bad and at least looks nicer inside and have better handling and feel sporty and better quality than A200

• The more the merrier. Wish they also release Model 3 but we take what we can get.

• In your face KIA & HYUNDAI!! You have been ripping us tooo much! Come on Kia Niro is 270k, EV6 is 300k bermaz is so damn greedy one.

Mazda mx-30 (with 199km range) is RM200k too ! Lulsssss what a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 18
    • wangdin on Jul 14, 2023 at 3:09 pm

Niro is indeed overpriced; but what’s wrong with Hyundai?

the Ioniq 5 is priced similarly in other markets and is globally recognised as a better option vs the Model Y.

kita je yang syok tesla because baru nak masuk malaysian market. in markets where tesla are mature, nobody is lifting it up on a pedestal like we do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Nobody is lifting Tesla like a god here. They are lifting it up due to a quite affordable entry level price not like korean cars here!

So you yourself lifting up Hyundai like a god is okay? Not syok sendiri meh? Did I say Tesla Model Y is the best EV in the planet? Everybody is talking about price here buddy!

FYI Ioniq 5 in other countries are priced below the Model Y.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • incorrect. Ioniq 5 and Model Y both have a starting price of US$47K and both max out around US$56-57K

wangdin is right – in most markets the Model Y isn’t the best rated EV in its class. go do some research, it’s not that hard. i don’t think he is lifting anyone up – he’s merely inferring why ppl think Hyundai can’t price their car similarly or above a Tesla when it is indeed the better car.

Tesla price lower then it’s a “in your face!” situation? it’s priced lower because the quality of the car only commands that price.

a BYD is priced even lower – so i should say “in your face tesla!” ? such a juvenile mindset

• Get your fact right – Ioniq5 is indeeed cheaper than Model Y in other market! PLease get your research right.

In most markets the Ioniq5 isn’t the best rated EV in its class too. go do some research, it’s not that hard (I can say the same too for Ioniq 5.. no?)

“Ioniq5 indeed the better car” – I think this is only in your mindset. Not others, otherwise Model Y wouldn’t be the Best Selling car in the world in the 1stH. Outselling all ICE too FYI..
            Many reviews in youtube & articles still choose Model Y over the Ioniq 5 too. Where in the world did you do your research? lulx

BYD Atto 3 Priced lower because it is not in the same segment as the Model Y. Later on Tesla also got some more lower priced EV coming ie Model 3 etc.. Dont you know this? Maigoddd!!! And BYD always has a lower price in all countries too so it is already expected.

Come back stronger okay!

• john is otak batu on Jul 14, 2023 at 1:42 pm

sooner or later Tesla will flood our market with cheap EV in order to beat the Chinese domination . Let the may have begin!!!

• Peppa on Jul 14, 2023 at 4:29 pm

I hope so. Seeing chinese evs in the flesh just give me sick in the stomach

• LuBodoh on Jul 14, 2023 at 5:02 pm

How can Tesla dominate when consumers are getting smarter?? After readingg the Nikkei BP report from Japan where they tore apart A BYD seal and Model 3 and found out that BYD is years ahead of Tesla. Now Japan will use BYD platform as a guide to build all future EV in Japan.China is really far ahead of others especially in EV engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • BYDnambawan on Jul 14, 2023 at 7:57 pm

bro you copy and paste your same comment about BYD and Nikkei BP into every EV article on PT is it?

Are you from BYD PR team?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Piplup on Jul 14, 2023 at 2:13 pm

All the sour comments, i know i know, you guys just can’t afford it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • tailinngong on Jul 14, 2023 at 8:38 pm

you are right majority rakyat cant afford….those can buy is just a toy for them to play play ..maybe they already have few luxury cars at home ….so this just another toy..

• Dontsohaila on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:24 pm

so cheap, who cannot afford..

• Their autonomous-driving software still need lots of work and won’t be compatible with the conditions of Malaysia road quality. It’ll only bring more harm than good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Foolhardy on Jul 14, 2023 at 3:01 pm

What’s the Personal Identification Number in the Tesla Booking Form? I thought was the ic but all entries, be it numbers or letters made in the box rejected. My conclusion is the booking form is a hoax.

• JoSelley Siow on Jul 14, 2023 at 4:10 pm

Axia in singapore rm250k, then 5x price tesla from rm1 million ??

• lannngongngong on Jul 14, 2023 at 5:05 pm

those can afford to buy is just a toy to them…probably they got few cars already…this is just another toy..haha

those cant treat this as toy better dont touch….

• Ur moms car on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:00 pm

Recond dealers are sweating
    No more RM300k+ tesla model y

• taingong on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:13 pm

far too long rakyat here had been treated like fools…its about time rakyat get cheaper cars and stop all cronism and bullshits

• Bieight8 on Jul 14, 2023 at 11:06 pm

GG lah those recond tesla…

• niadruob ynohtna on Jul 15, 2023 at 1:09 pm

Can we expect Model 3 entry for MYR169,000.00 and long range for MYR189,000.00?

• jojoba on Jul 15, 2023 at 3:39 pm

everyone here talk about other EV overprice an tesla cheap but real buyer don’t see our pasar comments la they will watch many different international review and know which car is worth their hard earn money.

those who can afford not so free come here bash here and there – they already enjoying an EV of their choice happily.

you all wanna bash other brands and say they overprice and now tesla is here to “save us all”..byd even cheaper ma – didn’t see a lot of you buy also. i 200% confirm less than half of us here can afford a tesla even if they sell at RM200K but talk so much.

real buyers paid RM300K for kimchi EV6 you like to bash. but at the end of the day, that person is driving a nice EV and had the money to actually buy one so they can enjoy..and you still bashing here in the comments in a common car like everyone else.

not sure what kind of mentality this is…sour grapes.

• Short Circuit on Jul 16, 2023 at 2:12 am

Bolded Preve ha ha ha

• Commonsr on Jul 17, 2023 at 5:41 am

Still a rich ppl. Not for common rakyats.

• Autodriver on Jul 17, 2023 at 8:23 am

Hope in future car journalists can find out what type of battery technology the EV car used. If not mistaken Model Y standard range is LFP while Performance is Lithium. Some news said Long Range might switch to LFP. LFP battery density is lesser than Lithium and slower in charge however it is safer, longer lifespan and less degradation compared to Lithium.

• Why the price low , because skip AP holder profit according to news.

• Joe McKay on Jul 19, 2023 at 5:15 am

1) Anyone knows where will the service center be? Available in all states?
    2) HW4 or HW3?
    3) Is Wall Connector available for sale in Malaysia?

• Tok Janggut on Jul 20, 2023 at 1:26 pm

Tesla is like an iPhone for EV car. When he price is under expectation, it disrupt the EV market

• Raj Kumar on Jul 20, 2023 at 3:57 pm

The roadtax per year post 2025:

Tesla Model Y RWD – 220KW = RM2,583.00
    Tesla Model Y Long Range AWD – RM6,375.00
    Tesla Model Y Performance AWD – RM6,735.00

https://www.carbase.my/tool/ev-road-tax-calculator

• buvan on Jul 28, 2023 at 9:25 am

i want to book a tesla. where is your showroom Pls?

• How much the car insurance will cost?