Mercedes-Benz EQS500 4Matic CKD in Malaysia – 696 km EV range; faster; RM50k less than CBU; RM649k

Having previously confirmed that locally-assembled (CKD) EQ models would be coming our way, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has now announced the first of these all-electric vehicles, with the EQS 500 4Matic being officially unveiled today at the company’s production facility in Pekan, Pahang, ahead of a mid-March market debut. Present at the event was the minister of international trade and industry Tengku Datuk Seri Utama Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz.

As indicated in January, the EQS 500 takes over the electric flagship role from the EQS 450 + AMG Line, which arrived last July as a fully-imported model. Despite having more in the way of output, the CKD variant is RM50k cheaper than the 450+, rolling in at RM648,888 (on-the-road, without insurance) compared to the RM698,888 that was asked for the CBU model. According to MBM, the significant reduction is brought about by a change in specification as well as zero sales tax from going the CKD route.

As its numerical designation suggests, the dual-motor, all-wheel drive EQS 500 has 449 PS (443 hp, or 330 kW) and 828 Nm in the way of output, significantly more than the 333 PS (329 hp, or 245 kW) and 568 Nm available on the rear-wheel drive EQS 450+. This offers the new variant a 0-100 km/h time of 4.8 seconds, getting it to the century mark faster than the 450+, which manages the same sprint in 6.2 seconds. Top speed is similar to the 450+ at 210 km/h.

The EQS 500 has the same 396 volt lithium-ion battery as found on the EQS 450+, but with a slightly higher usable energy capacity of 108.4 kWh, compared to the 107.8 kWh (120 kWh gross) on the 450+. This has no bearing on charging times, which are similar, with AC charging (Type 2 connection) at up to 11 kW getting the battery from a 10-100% state of charge (SoC) in 10 hours. Meanwhile, DC fast charging (CCS2 connection) at up to 200 kW gets the unit from a 10 to 80% SoC in just 31 minutes.

The higher output – and similar battery capacity – means that some sacrifice is made in terms of operating range, with the EQS 500 offering up to 696 km of WLTP-rated travel distance on a single charge compared to the 782 km offered by the EQS 450+.

Specification-wise, the EQS 500 continues with almost all of the equipment present on the 450+, including adjustable Airmatic air suspension with selective damping, rear axle steering (up to 10 degrees) and Dynamic Select.

It does however replace the AMG Line kit of the CBU version with an Electric Art line exterior. This brings about more chrome trim elements and introduces a new 20-inch five-spoke alloy wheel design in place of the 450+’s 21-inch multi-spoke AMG unit.

Otherwise, the list remains pretty much the same. The Electric Art interior found on the 450+ continues on, with the main change being that of the upholstery, the Nappa leather now presented in a black/space grey scheme compared to the black/Balao brown on the CBU car.

As before, there’s black fabric headliner, velour floor mats, anthracite line-structure lime wood trim elements and an anthracite open-pored line structure lime wood centre console as well as 64-colour ambient lighting.

Likewise, the Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) Hyperscreen display, which measures 141 cm wide and consists of three separate displays – a 12.3-inch instrument cluster, a 17.7-inch central OLED touchscreen and another 12.3-inch OLED touchscreen for the front passenger.

The MBUX system features Mercedes me connect services, over-the-air update support, augmented reality for navigation and Android Auto and Apple CarPlay support on top of various media functions. Like on the 450+, there’s also MBUX Interior Assistant for both the front and rear as well as a Burmester 3D surround sound system.

Elsewhere, the Comfort seats continue, with those at the front being powered and equipped with heating, ventilation and memory functions. At the back, a Rear Seat Package Plus offers electrically-adjustable seats, luxury head restraints (also for the front seats), seat climate control and a comfort armrest. The rear also gets wireless mobile device charging and an MBUX tablet.

As standard, the EQS comes with Driving Assistance Plus Package (includes AEB), Active Distance Assist Distronic (adaptive cruise control), Active Lane Keeping Assist, Active Steering Assist (semi-autonomous driving), Pre-Safe (with impulse side support), evasive manoeuvre support, Active Parking Assist, a Parking Package with 360-degree camera and Urban Guard vehicle protection.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• good car on Feb 15, 2023 at 11:36 am

finally, something else to read besides the axia.
    Where we can spend out T20 income on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • GT-Line on Feb 15, 2023 at 12:17 pm

Money pit machine…lolz. Rather get Axia even expensive than tis

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
    • Malaysian T20 not American T20,
      Less than 0.2% @ this price range here.

• malaya dick-dockers association club on Feb 15, 2023 at 4:05 pm

our dream car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 52
      • Isaac on Feb 15, 2023 at 6:19 pm

M – Must
        E – Aware
        R – There
        C – Can
        E – Have
        D – Disappointed
        E – Experience
        S – Runnings

B – Probably
        E – Spending
        N – Money for
        Z – Sleeping at Workshop In and Out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Kraft on Feb 16, 2023 at 8:39 am

Benz of Dream => Benz of Nightmare

• question bosku on Feb 15, 2023 at 11:37 am

why the centre console needs to be so wide and thick? How am I supposed to put my hands on my lady friends?

• i got the answer on Feb 15, 2023 at 1:17 pm

I know why bos. because this car designed for old married couple, where the husband want to sit far far from the wife.

• Sick&Tired on Feb 15, 2023 at 1:42 pm

You mean your imaginary “lady” friend? Don’t worry, there is still space to play with yourself.

• Slayer on Feb 15, 2023 at 3:40 pm

Such a manwhore

• stick on Feb 16, 2023 at 1:54 pm

if you got short hand probably your another organ is also short

• GT-Line on Feb 15, 2023 at 12:17 pm

Money pit machine…Not as reliable…Quality issues

• Holder on Feb 15, 2023 at 12:28 pm

Audi e-tron GT is better than this EQS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Downgrade electric distance range…sigh!

• anonymous on Feb 15, 2023 at 1:09 pm

i know looks are subjective but the ICE S-Class is so much better looking than this bloated mess. i get that they wanted to optimize aerodynamics but i just can’t help but think, for the amount of money i’m going to spend, i kind of want something that’s a looker.

• Sick&Tired on Feb 15, 2023 at 1:43 pm

This car is absolutely hideous!! Saw one in real life and I thought it was a BYD!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Beg Your Differ on Feb 15, 2023 at 1:56 pm

BYD make you butthurt? because you cant accept the fact BYD bringing affordable electric cars to the masses? butthurt?

• Sick&Tired on Feb 15, 2023 at 8:04 pm

What’s up with your fascination with butts? Did someone shove something up your butt?? Pls seek medical help instead of posting online.

• Actually, it’s a Geely, not BYD…

• EuropeInflation on Feb 15, 2023 at 2:10 pm

649k?? hahaha. only sohai will pay for Europe’s sohai inflation by buying european cars. They fight with god Russia and we supose to support it with our money?? Pigi mati la mercedes

• “god Russia”? What religion is this?

• EuropeanInflation on Feb 22, 2023 at 11:19 am

Typo bro. Good Russia. Not God. But tbh, God is suporting Russia again the evil U S A and NATO which is the world terrorist the kills Muslims globally, killed Japanese, Killed Vietnames etc.. USA is syaitan and we must support Russia. Orang puting spreads lies everyday about middle east, palestine, china, russi etc. Semua tipu.

• Mother russia on Apr 03, 2023 at 7:03 am

Putin?

• Hi, anyone aware that Mercedes quietly increased the price of C200 & C300? @Anthony do u guys receive any info regarding the price increase?

• bananaleaf on Feb 15, 2023 at 2:38 pm

ringgit is like old days banana leaf money. de-valued

• EuropeInflation on Feb 15, 2023 at 4:33 pm

Don’t be sohai and naive la @bananaleaf. Its not ringgit doing poorly. Its Europeans economy dying due to high cost of manufacturing without good russian’s gas. We should stop buying European products because it’ll be a waste of our money. Why should we pay for their stupidity?

• otak cetek on Feb 16, 2023 at 9:44 am

stop buying european cars? haha for the E5 (Elite 5% rich people) they dont feel the little extra lah. You see people like ROsmah and Najib, to the 100k is like duit sedekah.

• Ground europe passenger on Feb 15, 2023 at 3:10 pm

Roughly equivalent to 13 biji axia av. Real affordable buyer won’t comment in this B40 website. Only some fake T20 who maybe account just enough to pay the down payment come to blow water.

• Air Asia owner on Feb 15, 2023 at 3:31 pm

According to DATA.GOV.MY’s data updated for 2019…
      A mere salary of 14K a month gets you into the T20.
      But yet I cant afford this car.

I think this kind of car better suited for E5 (Elite 5%)

• i'm happy on Feb 15, 2023 at 4:22 pm

shocked to just realized I’m also T20, according to that website.

• Keyboard warrior on Feb 15, 2023 at 3:44 pm

And for that money you still don’t the bells and whistles other markets gets. The E Tron GT and Taycan are way better specced than this abomination. Curious about the upcoming i7

• CarFella on Feb 15, 2023 at 10:27 pm

Superficial comment though… as long as you do not name the features you are missing and/or can be found on competitors’ cars. What are the “bells and whistles” this car is missing against EQS in other markets? What do you believe Porsche Taycan or Audi e-tron GT have specced above EQS?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Only typical ah pek 35-60 years old will buy this
        Design for EQS also nothing special than Taycan and e-tron GT
        But reliability for benz getting lousy than Taycan and e-tron GT

• Susukotak on Feb 15, 2023 at 4:46 pm

Please calculate roadtax

• Sohai on Feb 15, 2023 at 5:43 pm

Waaah free one Axia after CKD

• Only typical ah pek 35-60 years old will buy this
    Design for EQS also nothing special
    But reliability for benz getting lousy

• Kraft on Feb 16, 2023 at 8:41 am

Aside this kind of design looks terrible,
    Interior looks cheap
    Quality looks cheap
    Material also looks cheap

• black/Balao brown leather is better looking.

• Don’t buy any ckd mercedes models, include ckd eqs, you will regret

• Potato on May 14, 2023 at 1:22 pm

Looks like the 2012 Civic