The Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) with a point-to-point method of measuring travel time and distance for detecting speed limit violations is expected to commence pilot testing in June this year, New Straits Times has reported.
The pilot AWAS project is intended to replace the static camera setup currently in use, and the artificial intelligence (AI) equipped system will monitor two routes. The first is from the Genting Sempah tunnel to the Gombak rest stop on the KL-Karak Expressway, and from the Senawang toll plaza to the Simpang Ampat toll plaza in Alor Gajah on the North-South Expressway.
Motorists could be detected at toll plazas if they arrive earlier than the estimated travel time, transport ministry secretary-general Datuk Jana Santhiran Muniayan told Berita Harian.
“The system, installed at toll plazas, will record travel time based on distance. For example, if a driver travelling from Jalan Duta, Kuala Lumpur, to Tanjung Malim, Perak, arrives earlier than the estimated time, their vehicle’s licence plate will be detected, and a summons will be issued automatically,” he said.
The system, powered by artificial intelligence, can detect if a driver has stopped at any location to extend their travel time in an attempt to evade detection. “This means drivers cannot escape being detected if they exceed the speed limit, as the system measures both distance and time,” Jana said.
The statement by the transport ministry secretary-general echoes the statement made by transport minister Anthony Loke in January.
“We don’t want drivers to slow down just in front of the camera, but (slow down) within a certain distance. Let’s say between point A and point B, we want to know how long the driver takes. If he uses less time than he should, it means he is speeding and will be subject to action,” Loke said at the time.
A company has been appointed to conduct the proof-of-concept process for the system without any financial impact on the government, Jana added.
Two highways – the KL-Karak Expressway and the Menora Tunnel along the North-South Expressway north of Ipoh – are the first to receive the point-to-point AWAS camera system, as these have been identified as high-risk areas. Speed camera calibration at the Menora Tunnel commenced January 15, and the speed cameras along the highway near the tunnel will be operating in both northbound and southbound directions.
This is cruelty and anti liberty and freedom.Next election voting for a more democratic gomen.
It’s called law idiot.
Go US and hug trump then. No loss to Malaysia without you
Anwar menang rakyat senang
Finally some sensible
Speeding detection
Anyone don’t like this system kindly like this status. so that we can know who to vote.
Our paid highway is so jam. Wasting of investment. Dont know whose idea.
Great! All drive like tortoises
woi, mau emergency pangsai pun kena saman ka? Stop mana-mana pun kena saman? Ini macam sudah kena tipu la apa AI you all pakai?
Seriously? Our roads have tons of other more important issue to solve and they decide to b3 first world in this only?
Try solving poor traffic management, public transport, potholes, red lights offenders, bribery riddled puspakom and other enforcement agencies, non functioning traffic light sensors, poor road markings and poor lighting…..all of these are major contributors of road traffic accidents.
Fatty Hook Kia, how to know if I go full straight, stop for toilet, stop for meal, stop for sleeping? If certain routes are congested, I still can fly at other part of the journey to cover the time lost! Use your brain to think first before announce, do not use your ass!
fYI in between these AWAS pillars has neither RnR petrol station or interchange junction so do you wants to jeopardize your life by stopping at emergency lane just to delay your journey time after over speeding?
But looking at the later on implementation its say from Senawang to Simpang Ampat for this route there’s 2 hentian along the highway.. So still like very pelik..
We speed because we want to facilitate traffic, to reduce the time being on the road so other additional road users at another point of time are less likely to come into congestion. see how good we are. meanwhile gov only want to punish people only
Wah..play so big meh, tak kan i drive my lambo same speed as the slow myvi mah..xde maruah
I thought new gov against AES, oooo that was when they are opposition
when too much idea it will create stupid idea. Jana this for ur info
Dei point2point bila mau hapuskan toll ??????? Sibuk nak buang duit rakyat bukan duit from your restoran atuk u. Pi ikat semua kereta speed to max 110km samakan harga road tax untuk semua kereta. Beribu lubang kat jln² pi repair dulu all.
I dont trust AI … Yes, both AI
Later all lorries hog at 100kph how to overtake? Overtake at 110? Takes damn long time then?
I really would prefer a system that will allocate speed limit according to car and road tax you pay. Bigger safer car, you pay more road tax you should be allowed to drive faster. That is why in the first place you buy a big car instead of a kancil
Obviously they are only after for easy money. There are so many trucks that drive so recklessly, switching lane as they wish, going above 90kmh, or hogging the right lane. This is way more hazardous than say, people driving a car at 120kmh or 130kmh.
At the end of the day, what kind of enforcement has been implement towards those trucks? Apart from some useless announcement that we never see them being enforced.
We should have an AI to gauge all politicians who has achieved from rag to rich in such a short time.
Earlier i thought after winning GE the PH government is going to dismantle Awas speed trap..instead PH under MOT expands the system with more lethal trap….. They should publish minimum and maximum traveling timeframe at each toll plaza.
Why need this to detect point to point? The TnG card already recorded the time enter and exit.
I agree with these rules, but the national speed limit should be increased to at least 120 km/h or 130 km/h. Driving too slowly (110 km/h) can make drivers sleepy and may increase the risk of traffic incidents.
I’m agree with these rules, but the national speed limit should be increased to at least 120 km/h or 130 km/h. Driving too slowly (110 km/h) can make drivers sleepy and may increase the risk of traffic incidents.
many dark areas in the N-S highway are super dark and not lit. Gomen should take initiative to install more solar street lamps for the N-S highway first. Money where it would benefit the Rakyat, not punishing Rakyat with stupid quick-money making schemes like speed traps. PRIORITIES ARE ALL WRONG. I think next GE we all know what todo.
Hi, Pm
Please be note that, our road offten had accidents is most of the transportation lorries and lorries, plus
the motorcycle youngster.
Is not fix the speed trap will settle the problem.
Thanks for your concerns.
Easy , ,from gombak inbound, in front of damn ai camera,, drive 80kmh. . afterwards 300kmh. .and take a break/sleep at RnR. . and drive 100kmh. .after senawang and simpang ampat inbound,, lari 300kmh. . rabbit – tortoise strategy. .also safe as well. .you can rest, prevent micro sleep, your car can rest after belasah as well. . That’s why vin diesel salute me
Read the article again. you can’t do that because the AI system will know if you take a break.
So, no freedom in life?
EASY ADVICE TO ALL DRIVERS TO REMAIN SPEED ON 110KM/H ON ALL LANE AND NOT MORE THAT 110KM/H LET THE HIGHWAY BECOME JAM. THAT THIS BECOME VIRAL AND THIS POINT TO POINT RULES WILL BE REMOVED.
FIRST OF ALL (G) NEED TO UNDERSTAND SOME DRIVERS ON ROAD ARE ACTUALLY NOT ELIGIBLE TO DRIVE BECAUSE OF THEIR ATTITUDE ON ROAD IS SO RECKLESS, SOME DRIVERS DRIVE EXTREMELY SLOW ON SPEED LANES.
IF MAXIMUM SPEED LIMIT IS 110KM/H MEANS ALL CARS SPEED LIMIT CUT SYSTEM SHOULD EXIST AND RULES OF INSTALLATION OF THE SYSTEM SHOULD BE EMPHASIS BY GOVERNMENT.
ACTUALLY THIS RULES OF POINT TO POINT IS NOT IMPORTANT. ROAD CONDITION SHOULD BE UPGRADED AND THERE IS A LOT OF POT HOLES ON ROAD AND BUMPY ROAD SHOULD BE RESURFACE, STREET LIGHTS SHOULD BE UPGRADED, THREE LANE ROAD SHOULD BE UPGRADED, AND SO ON.
INVESTMENT ON COUNTRY IS ACTUALLY IMPORTANT RATHER THAN WASTING MONEY ON ALL THIS SYSTEMS WHICH CAUSE TROUBLE TO COUNTRY POPULATION. SUMMONS SHOULD BE DONE AND SUMMON RATE SHOULD BE INCREASE TO MAKE PEOPLE DRIVE ON SPEED LIMIT. MAKE ALL SUMMON RATE DOUBLE, DO NOT PROVIDE DISCOUNTS, MAKE RULES AND REGULATIONS TIGHT SO DRIVERS DRIVE WITH PROPER MANNER ON ROAD. THANK YOU.
Why install new system then get a company to operate? No payment does not mean no gain. Why not train govt staff?
Arrive earlier then the allocated time at the next toll, you’ll get summons….arrive later also may get you summons.
If your got a punctured tyre and you need to change the tyre by the roadside resulting in arriving later than the allocated time, will the AI assume you try to cheat the system and summons you? Or what about when your passenger suddenly got sick (mabuk kereta) and about to puke, you stop by the roadside for awhile to let them get better…kena saman jugak ke?
After this, at every toll plaza after touch n go, need to display car plate number and time of arrival at the next toll plaza so that driver can know the time that they should arrive at the next toll plaza.
This initiative is so out of place. Please la, the speed limit was set more than 30 yrs ago, our cars performance has progressed so far. Surely this will make the highway segment jam like mad, all move like tortoises
With the AWAS map being circulated, what bugs me is that being early or coming later than estimated AI time can cause you to get saman. AI also can halucinate, better let humans press the print saman button than automate to AI fully. Humans have better empathy in certain conditions of delay/emergency/accident from point-point. Normal blk kampung if AI estimate 3 hours, but family pitstops always add extra 1 hour, eventually get saman. Major accident, all cars get saman. Haha