AES speed cameras in Malaysia updated – AWAS setup gets new pole design, now less visible to drivers

The current Automated Enforcement System (AES) cameras found on highways in Malaysia are being updated to the Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) with new hardware, and an example of the new equipment has been found to be installed along the KM17.2 of the ELITE highway towards the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA).

This particular setup is the Ekin Spotter, a modular roadside furniture ensemble that can be tasked with different functions through the installation of various modules. In this application as a speed camera, the Spotter is observed to be outfitted with a speed sensor, white flash strobe, and a surveillance camera module.

Also available for the Ekin Spotter are modules for city and beacon lighting, audio speakers, antennas as well as WiFi hotspots. According to the Ekin website, the Spotter is capable of high-quality surveillance, day and night, and is capable of monitoring large areas and recording high-resolution video.

The Ekin Spotter is also able to monitor changes in its surroundings “using its own sensor technology”, and can notify a central system in the event of unusual condition changes such as increased temperature, humidity, tampering, or unauthorised door entry, according to the company’s website.

In June last year, the Malaysian government stated its intention to install more AWAS cameras as it has been found to be very effective, with over 99% compliance recorded, according to the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS).

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express mixed feelings about the updated AES speed camera system; many believe it is now intentionally less visible to catch drivers unaware, leading to increased revenue through fines rather than improving road safety. Several users emphasize that visible warning signs and camera notices could serve as effective deterrents, aligning with practices in Europe and South Korea to promote discipline and awareness. There are concerns about the cameras' ability to differentiate vehicle types or monitor various offenses beyond speeding. Some critics see the system as primarily a profit-making tool, accusing authorities of exploiting the cameras for revenue rather than safety, while others advocate for better enforcement and education. Overall, sentiments range from skepticism about the transparency and motives behind the new setup to calls for visible warnings and fair enforcement.

• Kariayam on Aug 07, 2024 at 2:58 pm

So is the point of these system to reduce accidents or the point of these is to generate more profit? Surely if the speed camera is more visible and noticeable drivers are willing to slow down right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 8
    • kumbang basi on Aug 07, 2024 at 3:55 pm

I guess enforcement agencies has got their priorities wrong. They want to punish instead of improve road safety.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 6
      • Kerajaan Madani on Aug 07, 2024 at 9:42 pm

We punish and enslave the rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
        • Mike Tee on Aug 08, 2024 at 12:13 pm

If you don’t break the law, they cannot “enslave” you. Check yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
          • Dah Menang Semua on Aug 08, 2024 at 2:12 pm

How many AES need to install?
            Best enforcement gotta
            Starts with education
            And deploy polices

• Jason on Aug 09, 2024 at 6:59 pm

You are so naive, u believe to a non feeling stick than human hahaha

• Annuar on Aug 09, 2024 at 2:24 pm

Every country of the world also need to punish those who breaks the law. Is Malaysia any different? You think no speed cameras in Singapore or in Japan? You mean education failed in Singapore and in Japan? Maybe your brain failed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Sambil menyelam minum air.There should still be signboards telling speed trap area

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • Kamal Bachtiar on Aug 08, 2024 at 10:58 am

I just came back from Europe. I drove in Switzerland, Italy & UK. I received a summon from Switzerland gomen yesterday. They sent direct to my hse address. Either I pay CHF 40 or €42.55 or go to courts.. The speed limit was 50 km/hr and I drove at 53km/hr according to the data recorded by their laser camera. In Switzerland they don’t give you any warnings abt speed cameras. Only speed limits are displayed by roadside. I also drove in Italy but they don’t give a damn about speed limits.. if you drive slow pple will honked at you!. I also drove in UK before coming back to Msia. In UK there’s no tolls so you can drive free from the south, Wales to Inverness in Scotland. But on all motorway esp. M6 there’s lots of gantries where they install speed cameras. If you drive over the speed limits you will get the summons before even you reached home in Msia. Drivers should be aware of the speed limits when you drive. It’s not the gomen faults if you drive over the speed limit. You have to pay the fines if you don’t obey the laws! Thats it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
    • Observer on Aug 07, 2024 at 4:49 pm

none of the two points you mentioned. it is there to prevent commuters from driving beyond the speed limit. not visible = discipline all the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 22
    • Mike Tee on Aug 08, 2024 at 12:13 pm

Don’t care either way. Don’t speed.

They should do average speed control over the entire national highway network. Time in and time out on tolls, take the average speed, saman immediately. On sections without tolls, blanket speed cameras coverage

The Chinese (China) are the worst drivers. Before blanket coverage of CCTVs and speed cameras, I feared for my life as drivers drove on the limit and weaved in and out of traffic. Go to China now and they are all disciplined, they are “disciplined” into being so but it works.

• Hantu Raya on Aug 08, 2024 at 11:29 pm

So many butt hurt undisciplined drivers.

• ROTI CANAI on Aug 07, 2024 at 3:38 pm

All the problems in this country and they come out with solutions for non issues.
    Existing aes cameras I only see drivers slowing down at the cameras and continue to fly after that
    Also Will this catch rempits or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • Auto upgrade b full become a fool on Aug 07, 2024 at 9:44 pm

You think rempits display legible number plates? That if they even have a legit registration number

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Driving Opposite Traffic on Aug 08, 2024 at 9:50 am

Has anyone (mat rempits) try going against traffic or not?Does this thing catch?

• Nobita on Aug 08, 2024 at 11:30 am

Our Authorities should learn from how China install Speed Reminder directly link to Car Radio.

• Plain BS on Aug 07, 2024 at 3:40 pm

Dafuq is the PH Gomen?! AES was originally setup so that its super visible and the point is to AVOID GETTING FINES, which is why approaches will have large signboards warning about the cameras!!!

Has this Perverted H Gomen perverted the intention of AES and now using them to make more money from rakyat?! This gomen is real sicko!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 8
    • Kerajaan Madani on Aug 07, 2024 at 9:46 pm

We can make meta issue formal apology to PMX what can be more perverted than that?

• there’s a solution to not being slapped with a speed ticket. always stick to the speed limit! speeding at 200kmh will get u reached destination fast but that also can kill u or someone. better late than sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • Plain BS on Aug 08, 2024 at 11:54 am

The solution is already there, for AES cameras to be very visible, as that can give warning to drivers. It is not always easy to keep within speed limit for tricky stretches which is why AES is here but that should be to warn, not to punish drivers. This hidden AES is gone the wrong intention now.

• Need to install this in huge numbers ….both highway & federal roads. make it more intelligent to also be able take picture or videos for dangerous driving too. Without enforcement, M’sia are crazy road users and drive dangerously.Tail gating closely…zig zagging…racing on public both cars, bikes & lorries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
  • Budak Kampung Madani on Aug 07, 2024 at 4:06 pm

Just use Waze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Jauh dari mata, dekat di hati enforcement

• Ben Yap on Aug 07, 2024 at 5:09 pm

the old system has 99% compliance which means government earn less from summon. so they use less visible pole design so that they can earn more from drivers. it is not meant to achieve the remaining 1% compliance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • tricycle on Aug 07, 2024 at 5:23 pm

Not as bad as in the UK highway. Use waze to warn us. This is still better then saman ekor, where you can’t see where the police is hiding.

Saman ekor type is a lot in the US. The only way to avoid then was to use the radar detector for USD200 per piece. That was then, now not sure how much.

AWAS,AES better, because we don’t loose our money. Saman Ekor is bad, because we cannot track the camera.

• There is no such thing as saman ekor in the US. Highway patrol will straight away chase and stop you if you were caught speeding. If you safely arrived without getting caught, there will be no saman coming to your address

• Lets See on Aug 08, 2024 at 11:55 am

But with hidden AES camera this is simply an automated saman ekor.

• newme on Aug 07, 2024 at 5:31 pm

This MOT has done so many useless thing.

1. Unlimited darkness tint at the rear window. Drivers need to see to see what’s ahead via the rear window of the car in front to prepare for slow down or braking. Total blackout of this window is dangerous.

2. Physical roadtax and driver’s license. How much can they actually save? It’s creating unnecessary problem to the people. What about old people without smartphone? or phone with flat batt?

3. Automatic upgrade of motorbike license. Don’t we have enough problem with these people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • ROTI CANAI on Aug 07, 2024 at 6:45 pm

disagree with no.2, its really convenient and safer that we do not have to bring out the physical license. however its troublesome if we have to travel overseas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
      • Gomorrah on Aug 07, 2024 at 9:19 pm

Still have to carry IC right or safer not to carry going by this logic?

This is another method of overreach by this government. Since when does MOT need to know where/when/why you are going overseas? Home ministry knows right…they issue the passports and control entry and exit from this country. Why MOT want to sibuk? Just issue the physical licence lah if people decline and want digital version, their choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Auto upgrade b full become a fool on Aug 07, 2024 at 9:49 pm

Disagree with no. 3. Suicide is a form of controlling the problematic population

• Safe driving uncle on Aug 07, 2024 at 9:52 pm

You’re supposed to follow at safe distance. If you’re looking at the car in front of the one you’re following that’s too close and you’re a bad driver like to kiss behind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • opmanmy on Aug 08, 2024 at 8:32 am

Yea, the unlimited darkness tint is brainless. We can’t see what’s infront. Boleh!

• Lets See on Aug 08, 2024 at 11:57 am

Not MOT but all blame solely on useless Mentri Loke

• The main purpose of having AES should be aimed at reducing accidents, if the driver ignores it, enforce the law strictly. Now, the “clever” ministry wants to hide it and use it for income generation. But suka suka give discount for the fine! Bila nak tukar mentaliti?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Gomorrah on Aug 07, 2024 at 9:20 pm

Kontrak bro, tengok siapa dapat kontrak…

• Income from selling number plates not enough

• Lets See on Aug 08, 2024 at 12:00 pm

Not MOT but all blame solely on useless Mentri Loke. He been going around finding ways to make more money (ie more samans, weekly every 2 days new fancy plate series gets bidded, this hidden AES now).

• EX PH supporter on Aug 07, 2024 at 7:01 pm

This gomen after they removed diesel subsidies they already lost many supporter. They use rakyat to generate more income to fund their future project (to song lap monies). This new aes is one of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Bajib on Aug 07, 2024 at 8:56 pm

Why less visible to people?..dont want people to see so can saman them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Time to mark every pole on waze.

• Cases on Aug 07, 2024 at 9:42 pm

Let me give you an example from South Korea: all public surveillance cameras are installed with signs explaining their purpose. For example, traffic enforcement, speed enforcement, traffic flow, crime prevention, etc.

On the highway, if there is a speed camera, you will be informed several times that there is a camera ahead. Cameras are installed in accident prone areas in the hope that drivers will slow down and avoid accidents.
    Other methods than cameras are also used. Transverse grooves are dug into the road to create vibrations and sounds. With the right spacing and depth, they can create the notes of a familiar song to get drivers’ attention.

In accident prone sections, cameras read a vehicle’s license plate at the beginning and show the average speed of the vehicle for the section at the end. If the average speed exceeds the speed limit, you’ll receive a ticket.

Protecting people’s lives and safety is why we pay taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Jetblast on Aug 07, 2024 at 10:19 pm

Need to implement minimum speed limit also. Too many idiots driving at 90kmh or lower at the 110 area causing much inconvenience to others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Fully agree. Bloody drivers going 70kph in the middle lane in 110kph zone when left lane is empty. Going 70kph will cause more inconvenience and possibility of accidents at the back rather than him going 100kph

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • makmak on Aug 08, 2024 at 8:26 am

Sometimes I dragged my feet when driving to my in-laws’s house.

• San Chin on Aug 07, 2024 at 10:43 pm

Isn’t awareness shld be more visible to serve as deterrent de meh? How come say one thing do the other way? Lol

• Crony on Aug 08, 2024 at 12:03 pm

That is PH style lor. Say no to corruption but they are king of corruption.

• fabian on Aug 07, 2024 at 11:04 pm

save the money and implement average speed limit on closed highway like north south highway.

• komarad on Aug 08, 2024 at 8:39 am

yeah should have large digital daily speed limit signs like 80km/h when traffic is heavy and 130km/h when less traffic at north south highway…

• Harun on Aug 08, 2024 at 12:17 am

More on making money

• Pole too thick for strippers…

• Owh Why Gov. on Aug 08, 2024 at 7:44 am

If don’t want people to speed, only sell car with max speed limit 90km/h only. Solve problem than installing money grabbing camera.

• Dunno what 7 u say on Aug 08, 2024 at 7:51 am

No worries. Wait for 80% saman discount

• So many negative comments here. Try asking yourself the most basic question – why are you driving over the speed limit in the first place? Granted, you might go to 120, 125 when overtaking, but in 99% of your drive, you should be within the 110 km/h limit. If you’re driving within the limit, a visible or non-visble AES pole wouldn’t be a problem for you. If you choose to constantly drive above the limit, don’t come crying here about being fined. Far too many entitled brats on this page !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • alibaba on Aug 08, 2024 at 11:52 am

seriously, no 1 knows butterfly effect? ppl driving smooth speed, suddenly appear this shyt and must apply heavy brakes, it coz rear car brakes and so on, tat’s y highway is so jam nowadays.

• Mike Tee on Aug 08, 2024 at 12:20 pm

Adding on the the average speed controls on the entire highway system and blanker speed cameras where there are no tolls.

All Malaysian airports (except KLIA, seems to be in control) should also install those smart CCTVs where if you stop for more than 4 minutes at drop offs and pickup, you get a saman immediately. Many use those areas as PARKING. Unless you’re a bus, in which case you drop elsewhere, there is no reason you need more than 4 minutes in those areas.

• It is the sign board alert driver they have reached the camera zone and slow down. Not Camera itself. Hideous pole may prolong the slow down time.

• morgan singh on Aug 08, 2024 at 1:57 pm

looks like the private com gave shares to some ministers so that all can get the money

• Frank on Aug 08, 2024 at 4:48 pm

When are they going to stop buses and big trucks speeding. Express buses tailgating always over their speed limit. In and out of traffic lanes.

• Wanda Waka on Aug 08, 2024 at 5:31 pm

Agreed. Also wondering do 110kmh speed limits implied to these buses and big trucks? Cause at the back of this big2 vehicle clearly showing 90kmh max for highway. AES going to differentiate it or remain the same for all vehicles size?.. hmmmm..

• Murad z. on Aug 08, 2024 at 9:37 pm

Gomen should also focus on commercial vehicles especially lorries, trailer , bonded trucks and tankers. I’ve been on a north-south highways often and noticed these giants drove beyond their speed limits. Infact some up to 120km/h . Don’t any monitoring from enforcement.

• Bla bla bla… If accident happens there, can motorists/driver/civilian get the footage from there?.

• Disciple of Jesus on Aug 10, 2024 at 6:55 pm

Invisible speed trap, diesel subsidy tarik, income tax coming after you, etc. all are small punishments only, never mind lah. The biggest punishment (get disappeared) is still for Christians who share Gospel to Malays like Raymond Koh.

• Ravendra on Aug 14, 2024 at 11:08 am

Hi Paul. I have a question. Can AWAS or AES differentiat types of vehicles. I genuinely would like to know sir.

• Ramzi on Aug 23, 2024 at 1:06 pm

Does this camera only detect speeding or other offences? Such as Trucks in the fast lane or dangerous drivings e.g using phones etc? Because its really required nowadays.

• LokeL on Jan 27, 2025 at 1:50 pm

Last but not least .
    New system = new vendor = new kickbacks = new concession .