Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Proton and Chery partnership?

Advertisement

A few days ago there were rumours on Proton partnering up with Jinhua Young Man Automobile for it’s maiden entry into the Chinese market.

Yesterday, industry sources were quoted to say Proton would be tieing up with Chery Automotive Co Ltd to produce cars in China. Sources report that Proton Managing Director Syed Zainal Abidin was in China last month and visited Chery’s factory. The source also said the Gen2, Wira and Savvy will be the first cars which Proton would assemble in China for the Chinese market.

Production will begin with a capacity of 50,000 cars a year and it could be increased to 200,000 a year in 3-4 years depending on response and whether Proton has enough models in it’s line-up.

Chery Automobile recently launched it’s first car the Chery A520 in the United States through Visionary Vehicles and is surrounded by a controversial shroud for it’s Chery QQ minicar, which is a completely 100% rip-off of the Chevy Spark, just one of the many acts of vehicle piracy in China.

All rumours from anonymous industry sources so far. Nothing official from Proton.

21 Comments »

1. kody said,

February 21, 2006 @ 5:24 pm

Wahlaueh…

WTF, core market also unable to defend then still want to enjoy piece of cake in China. Time will tell P1 will sink or rise… over 20years tech still want to sell oversea.

2. catborg said,

February 21, 2006 @ 6:23 pm

it’s better find another ‘GOOD’ and ‘BerETIKA’ punya partner..
    if with Cherry.. I doubt! .. it gonna give proton a BAD reputation image = Supporter of piracy!.. Dont be STUPID PROTON CEO!
    And heck!.. getting worse in malaysia that already had many europe Car Maker investor…
    The good side is China is superbig market. But HOW much we can guaranty that our car not be pirate by them? Savvy pirated version = ( name it here)

3. Ah-Ba said,

February 21, 2006 @ 7:24 pm

Just wait & see, Proton sure kena bully by Chery.

4. HatukNgkau said,

February 21, 2006 @ 7:55 pm

Lepak… just sit, wait and see… no official confirmation yet wat…

5. mystvearn said,

February 21, 2006 @ 8:04 pm

There are better car makers over there other than Cherry. Looks like its a win to cherry and lose to proton

6. Initial D said,

February 21, 2006 @ 9:35 pm

so its proton 0-1 chery. yeah, i agree that chery n other china auto companies are KING of pirates. but wat to do, i think they(proton) oso can’t get any interesting parties , mayb except chery. so, gotta go for it lo, u think proton wan to let history repeat itself meh, like the one with VW.

7. edwin2 said,

February 22, 2006 @ 12:59 pm

ARE U SURE ….!!!!

Suddenly I keep reading proton is partner with VW, then Mit, then comp ABC, then Comp DEF, the comp GHI, then comp JKL, then then then….

wah… suddenly Proton is a diamond !! are U sure

8. rexis said,

February 22, 2006 @ 5:06 pm

Chevy become Chery. Savvy become Sarry, hahaha.

Proton is a diamond hanging price or a overnight nasi lemak begging for other people to buy?

9. rexis said,

February 22, 2006 @ 5:07 pm

Infact i found that Sarry sound better then Savvy! O_o” If Chery end up cloning proton and become better then proton….

10. flizzardo said,

February 22, 2006 @ 5:21 pm

i think everyone wants to steal CAMPRO’s technology from proton!

11. flizzardo said,

February 22, 2006 @ 5:29 pm

maybe should partner with Geely merie! or HONGda!

12. Joe v2.0 said,

February 22, 2006 @ 6:29 pm

i do believe that paul has stated that this is still to be considered as rumors..

just wait n see laa..

13. HatukNgkau said,

February 22, 2006 @ 9:34 pm

flizzardo said,
    February 22, 2006 @ 5:21 pm

i think everyone wants to steal CAMPRO’s technology from proton!
    =============================================

steal a 16-year old tech? hahaha… hahahaaha…. hahahahahhahaaaaa!!!

14. thetruth12 said,

February 23, 2006 @ 11:07 am

Proton JV a pirated car manufaturers? Wow great maybe next time we will get a cheaper Proton with Chery rebadge in Malaysia lol… Chery the counterfeit well this is what the management capable of cooperating a thief leading the corrupts lol syabas this could improves M’sia r/ship with China… Just imagine we r like the Kia bankrupted in Korea in Malaysia rebadge NAZA lol well Proton becomes Chery. They should use cherry as their logo… and called it a national car…as long as Malaysian contents in the counterfeit car has 60% above canlah..

15. thetruth12 said,

February 23, 2006 @ 11:12 am

Jinhua Young Man hahaha… their partner sounds like a gigolo company hey hey great a sugestion on the JV co name Pro Young Man hahaha lol

16. thetruth12 said,

February 23, 2006 @ 11:20 am

ProYoungManChery? Sounds good

17. Proton Updates: Q3 Profitable » said,

February 28, 2006 @ 1:55 am

[...] As for the international markets, Proton is also close to finalising a collaboration for car assembly in China, is seeking for a new partnership in India, and has just launched the new Proton Savvy in a few countries including Australia, the UK, and Brunei. [...]

18. mycar_stolen said,

March 8, 2006 @ 4:54 pm

dont buy new Proton value your money.your very hard earn money.

19. Proton to announce tie-up with Chinese firm this week » said,

March 21, 2006 @ 12:18 pm

[...] Previously there were rumours on tie-ups between Proton and Chery, as well as Proton and Jinhua Young Man related to car assembly in China. [...]

20. Proton and Chery discussing two-way partnership » said,

March 30, 2006 @ 3:10 pm

[...] More developments on Malaysia-China automotive industry relations. Previously there were rumours on Proton’s involvement with Jinhua Youngman and Chery. Jinhua Youngman was believed to have entered a deal with Proton to assemble Proton CKD kits in China and rebadge them as Jinhua cars. [...]

21. Proton signs pact with Chery and Jinhua » said,

May 24, 2006 @ 11:05 am

[...] Proton targets 100,000 cars for the export market by 2008. Partnerships with Chinese and Indian companies will allow it access to more markets and hopefully help it achieve it’s 100,000 cars target. Related Posts: Proton and Chery discussing two-way partnership Proton to announce tie-up with Chinese firm this week Proton and Chery partnership Proton and Jinhua Youngman Automobile in partnership [...]

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: 2007 Mazda CX-7 Crossover Production Begins
next post: Citroen C-Triomphe based on Citroen C4