Proton back in red, puts Indonesian plant on sale

Proton Holdings Bhd is back in the red again, with a Q1 2006 loss of RM58.65 million on RM1.42 billion revenue, higher than the corresponding quarter last year, where Q1 2005 losses were RM12.35 million on RM2.05 billion revenue. RM58.65 million is almost quadruple the amount lost in Q1 2005.

Proton Holdings Bhd said the losses were due to declining car sales and a lack of fresh model line-up. Q1 2006 sales were 32,200 cars, compared to Q1 2005 sales of 44,367, a drop of 27 percent. While cost cutting measures have been implemented and have been bearing fruit, promotional and marketing costs have risen, expected since Proton introduced a new model recently, the Proton Satria Neo.

In overseas markets, The Jakarta Post reports that PT Proton Edar Indonesia is in negotiatons to sell off it’s USD24 million plant in West Java to PT Bajaj Auto Indonesia. Initially Proton planned to rent the plant to the PT Bajaj Auto, but now it is in talks for a sale. Because of AFTA, new tax rates between Proton and Indonesia has rendered the plant an ineffective asset to keep. PT Bajaj Auto Indonesia manufactures two and three-wheeled motorized vehicles from India in collaboration with Kawasaki.

Other than PT Bajaj Auto Indonesia, Indonesian Kia Carens and Kia Big Up assembler PT Kia Mobil Indonesia and a Shanghai-based automotive company had also shown interest in the USD24 million plant.

[ UPDATE: Proton says Indonesian plant not for sale! ]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• assimo (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 11:48 pm

Actually i don't no how to comment about this issue, but all proton problems will effect us, the rakyat will suffer if proton loss…no way to run…like Pak Lah said,he will never let proton down/close!..merdeka again!

• dav.kk (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:00 am

Ahhh sign,

they no used to seal that badly leaking tank anymore. Let it burst of put the tank for auction, at least rakyat get back some money,

Got one old saying is " is time to let it go, no point keeping anymore"

Hope the Goverment will learn from this wise word

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:08 am

want to save one tree sacrifice the whole jungle…the tree some more stupid.

now think 22 years suffering of Proton..do you want this also happen to youir kids…Proton is going down and say bye2 to Perdana Replacement Project…

• bobdbuilder (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:13 am

It is not surprising that Proton is bleeding. To be frank, there is nothing much our angel Syed can do. Its a bit to late to stop the rot now. Things are just beyond his control as the downtrend cycle, dictated by market force, has begin. Anyway, Its payback time for Proton after sucking so much blood is the last 20 years. I hope the blood Proton vomit out isn't black.

In Indonesia, as usual, the investment is clearly a bad business decision. A decision made, maybe, with ulterior motive in mind. Somebody is sure to profit from the investment.

Can any body out there confirm whether the sale of the plant for USD24 million is a loss or gain for Proton?

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:14 am

You deserved this proton. Want us to scrap car. Still selling carburretor and still selling saga, wira and iswara. Why perdana replacement model. Just close this car line and make a total new model. I ain't interested in replacement models. Make something new alltogether.

• clutch_plate (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:15 am

hehehe… proton car has beaten by bajaj? hohohoho… :) looks like the proton is now more worst in new management rather than old one.

• szw (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:16 am

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:17 am

who say Proton CANT CLOSE SHOP….they are going down…

prepare for celebration…no such carmake will survive..

p/s Please dont buy Proton…they have desease…

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:25 am

if proton is closing down, this would be the BIGGEST present for all rakyat (and for next year 50th Independent Day) after we all suffering for over 2 decades. Proton workers not rice eat? dont worry, you can work at oversea carmakers who invested manufacturing/ assembly plant here. afterall, we rakyat all happy.

• dav.kk (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:41 am

Paul

I think you interested on this news
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/9…

People willing to steal a 12 year old nissan sunny and not PROTON (lol)

• rexis (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:42 am

O.o" Proton back in red? Oh no, neo tak laku? Oh no, gov going to burn rakyat money on proton again…

And also, REMEMBER THIS, it is gahmen themselves who sink proton, not the rakyat, we hv been pretty supportive all these years(we are the milky cash cows, moo~), just the monkeys up there only know about peanuts and more peanuts.

• kt71 (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:48 am

They never interested to cure their disease, they suck our own countrymen money for nourishment to keep surviving. It's actually a parasite of our country. But dont blame any body, we are the one who elected them to rule us !!!

• rexis (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:49 am

dav.kk thanks for reminding me that my 13-year-old Wira is pretty safe parking on the street. Just hope that after today no angry mob will turtle my wira just becoz she has a proton moon and star on it..

• rexis (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:57 am

"loss of RM58.65 million on RM1.42 billion revenue"

Does this mean proton sold RM1.42 billion worth of stock but still loss RM58.65 million after deducting all the expenses? Just to make sure! ^_^

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 1:03 am

its one quite hard to die one lah.. lots of ailments alredi….but its getting there… we are all cheering for your pain-staking journey there (to the mortuary).

lets see what medicine G will give them in the Budget.. sure got one..

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 2:30 am

malaysian market is a small market. Hyundai sells 2 million cars worldwide and what about in their home country. Proton has wrong strategy. Car sold in Malaysia is more expensive than those overseas with less specifications than the overseas cheaper proton. Also they are subject to tax when they export and also more specs and shipping costs yet cheaper? Only proton play this games. A real company will act like a company and not do this childish behaviour because this character only makes them make Malaysian consumers angry and degrade car quality in Malaysia. Standardise quality and make Malaysia cars cheaper than UK coz no export tax and shipping fees. If proton try make better cars, their exports can be more than local market. They obviously treat their local market very badly. When that happens, you won't succeed overseas as you have a bad attitude. When you have that attitude, you won't succeed.

• pendek (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 2:31 am

medicine???

give her formaline, (its used in dead people, to keep it fresh)

its look alive, smells alive – but deep inside its stinking dead

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 2:57 am

Look at CNN news on proton. Surely won't publish in Malaysia news.

http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/fortune_ar…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 3:05 am

loh.. if proton treat their local market badly so protest loh.. how? by not buying proton car.. they've survived this long because people in bolehland keep buying them.. that's why loh.. so who to blame? our proud proton owner… i think if earlier we've change our malaysian consumer by educate them to demand more quality from proton and boicot their cars untill they've improve it then proton would have to play along…. shame on u

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 3:06 am

Formaline oso no use, go & die, then rots and straight to hell…. but pity oso, bcoz there's so much people's money go wasted… it could be spent to better purpose (such as build nuclear reactors for power)…

told ya, their new products suck!!… stupid planing!!… now need to wait somemore for new models, by that time sure poton kena bailout la.. waste more money… anyway I am happy, booked a new vios last month, noway gonna spend it to u poton!!.. but I have made a patriotic contribution, more 75% the price of the car goes to gov… they may use it to pay gov staff's bonuses…

• Monchichi (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 4:04 am

At the end of the day, those doubts will transfer to us Brothers… EPF…happy to support anyway!

• dk (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 4:07 am

Really stupid. Foreign car owners would go through lengths to ensure that their investments in plants overseas are long term and they are not even Asean. All the people at proton should be sacked. How the hell do they expect people to accept the reason that AFTA is the cause of them selling the plant in Indonesia. They should know in the first place what effects AFTA has.

• J (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 4:21 am

You guys no need to make Proton worry of losses. It's easy for Proton, they will just ask G to help, and G will take our hard earn EPF money to rescue :)

EPF dividend interest will be reduced, and retirement age to withdraw EPF money will be prolonged.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 4:29 am

Why Proton always BUY and SELL something but LOST????

As a business man point of view Proton is not doing BUSINESS but Charity……

Too bad for the Rakyat!

Siapa lagi sokong.

Proton CEO sokong…….

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 4:40 am

Today is a victory against Datuk Aishah, No car scrapping policy. Instead her idea has been SCRAPPED. She should be SCRAPPED from her position cause she is also getting old. You said it Datuk Aishah, old things must scrap to make room for new. So you should be scrapped first as the saying goes to lead by example!!

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 4:47 am

Paul Tan: How come yahoo news figure is abit different? Can clarify that?

http://au.biz.yahoo.com/060831/17/v8oq.html

• DAN (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 4:48 am

this proton run by this stupid is a big loos to Malaysia.

no wonder anti corruption cant do nothing cos there make a clean exchange from the business out there.

people who bring out our country money is by them not Malaysians people, is this stupid that only know how to do a monkey business!!.

is u n your gran children money, future money so don happy about it. is something in behind!! .

is this the way proton do business ! i think all of us also can do my be better then them!.

even our own country cant do well dont expect can do furthermore!.

monkey ..monkey …..business!!!>……ha….HA…..!

• johanbey (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 5:05 am

volvolover,

thanks for the enlightening article, indeed its sad to have foreign press stomping all over our national car maker like that but truth is truth. m'sian are always shadowed from reality all the time, with slogans like "malaysia boleh", in actual fact we are like a big PR campaign, all talks, load of hot air, but zero in delivery. i dont hope proton fail but i dont want it to succeed for the wrong reason with the wrong way. Perodua should be promoted to the 1st national car status as it shown it has the maturity to play in the industry on a global scale. I just hope when Pak Lah say he wont let Proton fail, he didnt mean it too seriuosly. just as the article in Fortune stated, why perodua, naza, air asia can flourish but not proton, mas or other glc?

the other day, i was looking at a proton promo booth at alamanda, not only the neo puts me off when i realised even a 5ft 5 person like feel like a giant in it, with my forehead hitting the roofline every time i try to adjust a proper sitting position, the sales man acutally ask me if im govt servant or working in glc, as the merdeka discount would varies from 2k(normal) to 4k(govt servant). i laughed and walkaway thinking how shitty can it get to be a non-bumi/govt servant/glc link citizen in msia. its just sad hows things are running around the country after half a century old, but the malayan govt was formed longer than that. its just sad to know we can do so much more but hindered with all this backward, lazy, dependent thinking, while we claim we can be like a european country by 2020? just another 15years? and we can be like jeremy clackson, changing world class cars whenever you feel like it. lets pray and hope for a miracle.

Happy Merdeka!

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 5:37 am

Well, i guess the road is ending for Proton soon. Perhaps, we wouldn't get the chance to see the Perdana Replacement, ya. I really pity the Proton employees, as we all know what would happen to them if Proton closes down. It's not even their fault. They are just earning a living like all of us do. Okay, back to the topic. Good luck Proton, coz you'll BE NEEDING IT!!!

• DAN (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 6:01 am

Good luck Proton, coz you’ll BE NEEDING IT!!! .talk cock dont no nothing.

blood sucking!.

• Dogster (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 6:03 am

Aihhh. Kesian really :(

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 6:15 am

Johanbey, unfortunately we have more leechers and think thank as old as our independence. To hope for a miracle is, for me, is wasting time. In fact, I think what we need to do is to change our mindset. The attitude. All of us. All these years, most of us majority of the citizen) only knows to be spoon fed. We compromise things too much that we sacrificed what we really need. Changing the government won't neccessarily will save Proton ailness. It won't neccessarily reduce car prices. What we should is to make our voices heard. Not through some Ketua Bahagian or through some political driven people. But thru our action. We should speak for ourselves.

It has proven out here that Syed Zainal alone cannot do the miracle for Proton. He cannot do it all by himself. Perhaps, Proton in deeper s**t than we all thought. I'm still waiting for them to make a major changes in the management and the whole system in Proton. All of them need a MEGA changes. From the top to the root. Something has to be done in order for them to survive. Other wise, most Malaysian will have to send them off for departure…..with a BIG SMILE! =)

But still, it is sad to see the end of the day for Proton. But I also think government should stop bailing out all the GLCs be in it in the national interest or not. They all should walk by themselves, not lead by others.

"KERANAMU MALAYSIA" – (sure or not?)

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 6:26 am

Errkk…it should be think-tank. My bad. Hehe…

"We cannot be in a state of denial that we are producing quality cars, because the fact is we are not," he says. "We need to be brave enough to accept that. We have to face reality. We must no longer behave like the national car. We cannot behave like we will be protected forever."

Quoted from Fortune. I wonder if the people under SZ realize and admit this.

• avanza (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 6:38 am

Can someone put proton out of its misery so that we can all have cheaper cars?

• deepvalley (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 6:44 am

Fellow all enlighten rakyat, let's make it death short and quick. Endure for a while with used car and soon we will be truly MERDEKA. Just like the advertisement on Animal Planet:

"When the buying stops, the suffering will stop too. So please support the movement and save the rakyat"

Proton ~ R.I.P, please for god sake.

• deepvalley (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 6:45 am

Fellow all enlighten rakyat, let's make this quick and simple for them. Soon we will be truly MERDEKA from Proton. A copy quote from Animal Planet:

"When the buying stops, the suffering will stop too. So please support the movement and save the rakyat"

Proton ~ R.I.P, please for god sake.

• deepvalley (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 6:53 am

when the buying stop, the suffering will ease too so please support this movement and save ourselves.

Proton, R.I.P ~ for god sake!

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 6:58 am

Johanbey: there is many reasons where proton is not doing well. If I were to list all of them, probably need few pages. Maybe Government will bail them out, maybe not. I will comment about it when I am free.

• SamGan (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 7:16 am

It's obvious that proton faces a hostile market in Malaysia. This is the fruits of mistreating the public for 20+ years. Proton, as you have sowed, you reap the Grapes of Wrath.

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 7:42 am

I respect Syed Zainal has admited and recorgized the problem. But, the root is too deep, how many people inside proton or GLC can think like him, will admit problem and not asking for help from G? It is too late for proton, people already fed up with their high price and low quality car, we only want to support proton in good reason, but that's has no good reason for us to continuely support them. All I can say, it is time for you to go, it is time for us to stop suffering.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 8:00 am

oh, they forgot to mention the thai investment….oh i meant 'charity'.

who needs to see perdana replacement model, its just a rebadge with cheaper materials. there are so many better cars out there. if syed zainal were to recognize the problem then he would have folded the company instead of trying to prolong profit for proton.

its already understood no amount of staff change in proton can help proton's situation. good luck . thai harder la.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 8:15 am

PRO TON NOT PRO

Period

I think I'll go Dota today. Time to pawn some noobs.

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 8:22 am

Look at the below sites :-)

volvolover said,

September 2, 2006 @ 12:09 am

Proton’s cash reserves from RM3 billion 3 years ago is now less than RM900 million. Looks like proton is going bankrupt if government is not bailing them out.

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.jsp?id=co…

volvolover said,

September 2, 2006 @ 12:12 am

http://www.hucknalltoday.co.uk/ViewArticle2.aspx?…

Accident in the UK involving a proton. Read the article and it says it’s the first fatal accident we have here. Malaysia boleh!! The first death accident in this area is a proton!! It has many accidents before at this stretch, no deaths. First time death accident here is a proton!! Does this make Malaysia proud? You decide!!

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 8:52 am

Guys, what makes u all think that if Proton closes, all CBU and CKD cars are going to be affordable??? I'm sure the government will again find some sort of way to make those cars unaffordable to an average Malysian….

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:04 pm

yea, most readers's would be asking what the hell is a proton satria. and make a mental note to avoid sitting in one of those or buying anything from that company.

i expect the gman to bail them out by forcing most msians to buy proton with that ridiculous policy. only way to avoid it is for everyone to buck up and avoid buying products that are not worth the money. we do that with everything and why not cars like proton.

merdeka from wat is what i would ask myself.

• malayman (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 10:30 pm

whoa you ppl talk like someone puts a gun to your head and forces you to buy a proton la…haha dam funny…

what suffering you going through? bought a proton and now starving by the roadside ar? haha…emotional nonsense la.

ok la fine protn screwing up big time… but i would rather hope that things get back to shape than have a rebadger like naza or perodua as my national car maker. so far in their existance have they come up with their own designs for cars or even have the capabillty to produce engines?

yes proton screwed up.. but they screwed up trying to do something for the country..that will get my respect anytime!

you suffered? dont joke la! looking for easy way out by bashing them….

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 11:19 pm

US$ 24 million plant, better keep it.

• DAN (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 1:35 am

[malayman said,

September 2, 2006 @ 2:30 pm

yes proton screwed up.. but they screwed up trying to do something for the country..that will get my respect anytime!

you suffered? dont joke la! looking for easy way out by bashing them…. ]

………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Do u know a thing!.

Is 20 years to prove n support by all of us ,now n after what there prove , play around whit our Malaysians TeX money?. give us a low quality?, export a quality car to outsider whit low price then we have here!.

what income there generate to our country instant of loos more then there earned! , what u get of respect from it!, what a notional pride we get from other country n what a pride there give to us!.

is this a proud that bring our name to a word? that u proud of , that there did it a monkey business?.

this not a way to bring our name to a world that we cant stand a loss that to heavy!.

we have a right to voice up cos is our n your money , our national money, Malaysians money!

prove it ! n how many time there did it!.

u dont no nothing whit a tiny thing!. MOnkey business that u proud off?.

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 1:45 am

well said DAN

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 3:58 pm

this afta issue not plan overnite,many many years back,oredi know it existence,dunno why proton build yhis cikarang plant,very very lousy,bad,planning,imagine just becos ppl want to buy few thousand of your wira as taxi,you rush over and build us24 million plant,dreaming you will sell few hudred thousand wira taxi there. any normal buisnessman will know,we export to them 1st,untill one day,the volume too many,jusify to set up a plant there,then only consider and with this afta asian tax of 5%,used our port klang lah,after all,indonesia is so near.

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 4:06 pm

we should control our hunger in order to feed others,we should empty our pockets so to give it to others,we should drive expensive,low quality proton cars so others can drive cheaper,more quality proton,…sound soooo religious lah,we malaysian.hehe!

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 7:59 pm

how not to lose money!buy agusta for 200 over million euro,sell it for 1 euro and said is a mistake,build a us 24 million plant in cikarang,jarkarta,and discover not practical,buy a lotus uk,not profiting after so many years,not learning much too from lotus,a lot of wrongful decision lah,not that we malaysian got no capable corporate head turner,just try TONY FERNANDEZ!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 12:41 am

P1 back in red, later into coma, and eventually sleep permanently!

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 1:48 am

I like that Joe Ooi!! I like the way you put it!! :-) :P

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 2:02 am

got 20 years protection also back in red. basically gave really one pathetic company. back in red is ok. but they still giving such crap cars. forget about coma, it need to be put down. how they expect to catch up. it'll just be a long slow death.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 6:47 am

oranglulu said, "we should control our hunger in order to feed others,we should empty our pockets so to give it to others,we should drive expensive,low quality proton cars so others can drive cheaper,more quality proton,…sound soooo religious lah,we malaysian.hehe!"

In other word, we "poor and ugly" Malaysian consumers not only have to enrich "rich and famous", but also have to subsidize any car exported by P1!

"Patriotic and national icon" – indeed this is so call "the most disgrace and outright disservice to the rakyat"!