New 2007 Honda CR-V Revealed

After a few spyshots including some showing the new CR-V fully undisguised, Honda has put out an official announcement that the car will make it’s debut this month at the 2006 Paris International Motor Show. For now, specifications and official photos from Honda have been released. Let’s take a look at the all-new 2007 Honda CR-V!

[UPDATE: The new 2007 Honda CR-V has been launched in Malaysia! Click here to read my report on the launch!]

[UPDATE #2: Read my 2007 Honda CR-V Test Drive Report!]

The new 2007 Honda CR-V has taken on a somewhat crossover-like body profile with this new model, looking at the side window silhouette which gives the whole roof a slight coupe-ish look to it, even though it doesn’t really slope down like a coupe roof. The SUV has a cabin forward design. The new 2007 Honda CR-V has less ground clearance than before at 185mm unladen weight clearance, perhaps making it less feasible to go offroad now than before with the old CR-V which had 205mm ground clearance. The spare tyre has been moved into the car, while the previous 2nd generation CR-V had the option of putting it in the car or hanging it on the tailgate. The car is more car-like in character now, with a lower (by 35mm) center of gravity, a wider by 30mm track and larger 17 inch wheels, with 18 inch as an option.

The new 2007 Honda CR-V has Trailer Stability Assist (TSA) to help with towing stability, which is up from 1,500kg to 1,600kg on the petrol model, and from 1,500kg to 2,000kg on the turbodiesel model. In addition to TSA, you also have Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA). Passive safety measures include dual SRS front airbags, dual side airbags for front seat passengers, full length curtain airbags, and optional active front headrests. The new 2007 Honda CR-V also has Active Front Lighting (AFS) which turns the low beam High Intensity Discharge (HID) headlamps in the direction the vehicle is turning, to enhance driver’s view of the road ahead at night. The new 2007 Honda CR-V also includes Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), a radar-controlled cruise control function which maintains a set distance to the vehicle in front and Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), which predicts collisions and warns the driver, before applying strong braking and retracting the front seatbelts if the situation becomes critical. Both ACC and CMBS are optional depending on equipment trim level.

The chassis is a monocoque, which rides better as compared to a ladderframe, and now features up to 58% high tensile steel content. Honda estimates a Euro NCAP 5-star rating for occupant protection, 4-stars for child protection and a 3-star pedestrian rating through their own testing, but official tests have not been done yet.

One major change with this new model is the adoption of the new R-series engine instead of the 2nd generation K-series engine. From the B20, to the K20, and now the R20. The R20 engine is also featured in the new 2nd generation Honda Stream, and is basically a long stroke version of the R18 engine that made it’s debut in the 2006 Honda Civic 1.8 litre model. The R20 is a SOHC i-VTEC engine, making 150PS at 6,200 rpm and 190Nm of torque at 4,200rpm. The engine is particularly fuel saving at cruising speeds because of Honda’s use of a drive-by-wire throttle. During low load conditions, the pumping losses caused by the small throttle butterfly opening are avoided by letting the throttle butterfly open wider than it normally would. To offset the larger amount of air coming in, the intake valve timing is delayed. This reduces pumping losses up to 16 percent. More details on the Honda R-Series engines here. There is also a turbodiesel option – a 2.2 litre turbodiesel i-CTDi engine that makes 140PS. Transmission options are either a 6-speed manual or a 5-speed automatic. There was a CVT option to pair with the R20 engine in the Stream, but it was for front wheel drive applications only.

We’ll get to see the new 2007 Honda CR-V at the 2006 Paris International Motor Show, and sales will begin in January 2007.

Click any of the photos in this post for a larger version.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• asimo (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 11:36 am

im the first one to say WOW!!..cool

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 11:43 am

Haha…just now I thought I was the first. Hehe…

Anyway, this CR-V, so the center grill is goin to make to production huh? It looks odd. But I guess after some times I will get use to it. But I still don't like the side profile. The rear-side window feel like Ssanyong Staviv to me. I was like, eewww…

What do you reckon the price will be, here in Boleh-land?

• Paul Tan on Sep 04, 2006 at 11:52 am

i don't get the weird hexagon shape at the tailgate.

• V8 (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 11:56 am

they add moustarche on this new CR-V…don't like the side window design, looks like bapok from behind, not that much sportive looking…others seems ok as expected. preety good but not too impressive.

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 12:18 pm

Paul, ya la. Why did they do that? What's the rational? But I like the interior. Seems quite spacious for 5 tall person. They bring the continuity of the new Civic dashboard design into this CR-V. Are they going to use it for all new models?

• kenfresh (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 12:20 pm

Looks over-designed. Design rule of thumb: Less is more.

Such a beautiful LexusRX-like headlamp made ugly by the gaping second grille in front.

Severe imbalance in design at the back, looks like a cross between a Stavic, XC90, X-trail and Santa Fe. A little bit from each.

Weird.

What's weirder is that I dont mind driving/owning it. Maybe it's the interior.

• i'm run (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 1:20 pm

I just love the way Honda designed their stering… very nice.

• albagmane (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 3:21 pm

well i have a postive view towards the new crv… at least there are lots of improvements compared to the previous one… love the body shape and design… brilliant job done from HONDA!!!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 3:48 pm

I think the new CR-V is look like New Honda Stream with higher position and modified both front and rear bumper. The Interior is so-so, just sad to see such move from Honda.

Honestly, I prefer the new Mitsubishi Outlander 2006 and it is much better and Value for Money compare to CR-V. Check this out:
    http://outlander.jp/ or http://www.outlander.com.sg/

Siapa Sokong?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 4:05 pm

I think Honda move the spare tire from the back to bottom got three reasons.

1) The Tailgate open swing direction has been change from side to upper: Due to inconveniences found on previous model especialy when loading at the back.

2) To Cost down and weight reduction:The rear Door structure can be simplified and some metal bracket or reinforcements can be deleted.

3) To change it to Crossover image.

Siapa Sokong?

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 4:56 pm

Too much details going on front, back and side. Quite messy. Volvo XC90 still rules even with its dated design.

• KY (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 4:57 pm

very nice interior, with so-so exterior.. but a 2 tonne car would probably cancel out most of the fuel saving features of the engine. Diesel don't come cheap these days.

• clutch_plate (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 5:22 pm

So hard to refused… really cool features! :)

• HMMaster (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 5:31 pm

the back is not that nice

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 5:34 pm

The side-rear profile looks like Stream – And I don't really like that curving window at the D-pillar.

The hexagonal 'bump' is really odd. Maybe to add a few ml more of bootspace. Haha.

I think the first thing that aftermarket modders going to do is cover up that moustache with a sportier front bumper. The moustache airflow vent looks so deliberately opened up by Honda!

Lovely interior though.

Did they do a major shuffling in the design team? Recruited some new Koreans, maybe?

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 5:36 pm

The new CR-V takes time to appreciate. I mean, the window shape really tries to trick your mind by making it seem like the rear bodywork is slimmer than it is.

The rear bumper floor is also lower to facilitate loading, which is clever.

But overall it's a little weird and oddly proportioned to me. Being a Honda I'd imagine the new CR-V to be a sportier car to look at and drive

• pablopabla (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 5:38 pm

The best looking Honda CRV todate! Perhaps because I like curves :)

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 5:40 pm

Yeah, whats up with that Superman logo-like shape embossed on the tailgate?

Maybe like the window area, its visual trickery to make the rear look slimmer or something. Reminds me of the turtle tail on the Savvy

• kitman (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 5:41 pm

at first i too thought the front looked funny but after seeing so many spy pics and the official pics i have to say it's getting better and better. the side profile and the rear looks good. overall more classy than the outgoing model.

not a bad job and honda is trying to be more innovative – lucky not just another evolution of the current model. honda is back at making revolutionary car design rather than bland oh another suv thingy (like the new rav4).

give it time and the new design will grow on you ….. kinda like the old bug eyed civic where everyone cried ugly and now it's one of the best civic design :)

• redragon (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 5:51 pm

Not my cup of tea, sorry. I used to own a first and a 2nd gen CR-V but I don't think I'll ever buy this one. D pillar from Stream, back looks like volvo XC 90 ( except that oddly embossed hexagon ) front reminds me of the Predator!!!! Like the interior though.

• drM (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 7:03 pm

these japanese people are very good..

• karheng (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 7:08 pm

Guess i'll still have to wait for Nissan to come out with a newer version of the X-Trail before I make any decisions to purchase an SUV.

If anyone of you are reading this, please take a pick..

Nissan X Trail or Subaru Forrester?

CRV's design cues are questionable. I wouldn't want to be seen in one of those.

Any suggs?

• pirate (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 7:32 pm

Imagine this new CR-V without the 'moustache'…wouldn't it looked like 1st gen CR-V again?

Yet still, there are better ways to newly-refresh a model without resorting to that "cleft lip" look!

Like another guy said earlier, did Honda take in some Korean SUV designers?

• toron (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 7:43 pm

The styling of my current CRV is better.

I think Mazda is now more stylish than Honda. Best example is upcoming Mazda CX-7 Crossover. http://www.mazda.com.au/cx%2D7/index.html
    Can you see the combination of Nissan Murano & Toyota Harrier on CX-7 body?

• yytellmey (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 8:11 pm

the interior looks awsome!

nice….!!

• chemist (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 8:30 pm

hopefully when the body colour comes up with black,the mustoche will kinda disappear,luv the curve !!

• chemist (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 8:35 pm

hopefully when the body colour comes up with black exterior, the mustoche will disappear, luv the curve,feels like cayyene

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 8:43 pm

I love it. Wow!!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 9:01 pm

cant believe that thy copy the stavic/rexton front and side profile…its a hedious design la…

• kancildriver (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 11:12 pm

the rear reminds me of sony cd player…….

• w_lighter (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 11:13 pm

One word,

Eeewwwwww…….

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 11:38 pm

should add a spoiler there..

• DtG (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 11:53 pm

cut and paste design…. front grille = the damn freakin ugly Kyron grill…. side profile = ciplak-ed X5…. rear end = uglified XC90…. cacat

• shaif (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 12:54 am

I feel current CRV looks the best especially in brownish colour.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 1:17 am

Looks kinda weird in between a SUV or coupe….

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 3:00 am

Haha karheng, X-trail is a decent buy.

If Forrester, I think better go for the bad-ass STi version, cuz Subaru's STi badges are what keeping Subaru alive today.

It's like picking between a C-class, or an Evo 7 (not too wide price gap between the two). The pure driving fun or the sleek, decent SUV?

As for this Honda, sometimes pictures don't do justice. Maybe I'll grow to like it after some time – esp once it hit the roads.

Just like the Chris Bangle's work in BMW. Everyone bashed him for the revolutionary 7-series design. But BMW was adamant that they needed to shed that 'too-predictable-styling' image (maybe Honda's like that now too?). Today Chris is having the last laugh.

• szw (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 4:53 am

its still a crv , muahahaha !

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:18 am

Good design and interesting interior finishes!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:19 am

But, ahem, the front "mustache" look like belong to Hitler!

• drebar (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:28 am

CR-V has been my dream car and I've been planning to get one, the very moment I can afford a car worth more than RM100k. Even if they stick with the current design (which i think is the best design – simple and nice) until next year, I will still get it…. until I see this new 2007 CR-V.

CR-V to me has always been the car-next-door. you know… it has the luxurius feel, yet it's a family car, and will not make you look out of place anywhere. it looks like a decent SUV for a decent man with a decent life.

i'm seriously planning to get it until this design come around…the front grill is a big turn off…it looks like a cousin of FIAT Multipla… lol… the car looks like it was disfigured..

the rear is alright…except…well…everyone will wonder what that hexagon embossed there for??? a flat rear would have done the job nicely…

and the interior… i only don't like the steering… becos it the Civic steering!! argghhh… (fyi..i don't like civic..sorry..this is a very personal view)

lol… a decent design would have done the job… this is so far Honda's worst design!! Over the past 10 years…Honda designs has been very good… and they hardly get out of date… but this design spoils it all…

i'd get the Accord instead now… damn those designers working on CR-V!!! you ruined my favourite car!!! :((

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:38 am

It is definitely the big improvement from previous CRV, it is getting bigger side to compete with RAV-4, but the new 2007 Mitsubishi Outlander is not bad too, which is based on the Evo platform. BTW, the CRV front looks odd, like a hole, or a mouth to me. The sterring is really nice, very sportage, still better than the old one.

• silverfish (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 9:09 am

How do you spell ugly?

Because my god is it wrong on many levels. The front is hideous and looks like they couldn't stop designing it. The side profile looks like a mish-mash between a Ssangyong Stavic (certainly the world's ugliest car, ever) and a Volvo XC90. And then the back doesn't seem to go with the rest of the car.

This truely must be the work of a commitee, whereby they have all these different design ideas and decided to stick it all in one car.

But then, this being a Honda, it will of course be jam-packed full of nifty features and clever gadgets. And of course, it will be a very good car and more reliable than the sun.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 9:11 am

feels comfortable to drive. are those seats standard or optionals only.

well, the crv doesnt really stir the blood that much. but its a good car.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 6:25 pm

In the movie Tokyo Drift, you can see that Bow Wow's character's VW Touran van had embossed fist on the doors much like the Superman crest on the CR-V's tailgate!

• claxxion (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 10:46 pm

err.. i dont like it..

first, why got a bid lubang infront? so ugly..

then the side windows like the stream.. thumbs down!

rear is uglier than the current crv

overall its ugly.. pity those future buyers..

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 10:12 am

i love MDX more than this ugly SUV.

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 1:54 am

volvo tail light?,well i think is cool,but 1st generation is my preferences,oldman lah,love old things.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 9:50 am

well i use to own a 2nd generation crv b4 i moved on to a large sports saloon..well….i seriusly think the design is passable..it seems like companies like honda and bmw who design some of the most nicest cars on the road seem disilussion of sorts on their 4wd replacements….im surely not eagerly waiti for it or the bmw x5….is just doesnt move on the benchmark sets by its predcessor in design…as for the engine..well people who buy thr crv ..at least in this part of the world can live wit its fuel consumption though some do feel the pinch..i just dun understand why honda's reverting back to sohc….yes i know mercedes plays wit shoc an even 8 valve engine just like wat honda did wit the city…but this a high end model..well…at least here and i dun undersatnd why i should pay so much for a sohc engine where i can get dohc or even quad cam engines fer less..yes i know there are the benefits but believe me..i have talked to many people who are put of by it!…mercedes can get away wit it coz well they are MERCEDES..but i think honda's gettin a bit too optimistic for my liking coz they seem to be dictatin the engine we use…just like the civic 1.8….sohc has impressive features but the question for the lay man who cant diffrent shade the number of valves…is this daylight robbery?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:11 pm

It's a handsome car this, although the front end and the rear windows could use a less offensive design approach… :P

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:15 pm

I'm deeply in love with its fresh and futuristic interior!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 10:50 pm

Emm.. I think i saw the interiot design a bit same with one of the honda cars be4… is it same with acura RDX? Just curious… And i think Acura SUV is more better with 2.4 i-VTEC turbo.. damn fast…

Visit www.acura.com and search for RDX model and see the interior design.. the dash board is almost the same including the steering whell but only the meter is not the same..

If i have money i want the Acura RDX for performance and style.. Why Acura are not in Malaysia.. Even Lexus is coming in…

• owaief1 (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 7:13 am

this car is seriously ugly… the interior kinda looks like the old model???!!!

• jeric168 (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 6:51 am

this CRV view from front should be allright…but side and rear view a bit kuku…not like SUV anymore

• keta_ku (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 3:04 pm

the car look ok to me, but the back window looks ugly…:(

• bpkid (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 2:08 am

hate the front. so damn ugly.

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 26, 2007 at 9:28 am

rav4 sstill looks better.

• Varun on May 29, 2010 at 3:37 am

I wanna have this car, ahhhh but its too costly……this is my dream car :)
    I hope one day i will get this one.