2007 Honda CR-V launched in Malaysia

2007 Honda CR-V

After a month of “Run” teaser campaigns, Honda Malaysia has finally launched the new 3rd generation Honda CR-V with an all-new engine here in Malaysia. Honda says the new CR-V offers a sedan-like driving experience, and judging from the way it looks so close to the ground, Id say it must be so. Read my report on the launch after the jump.

[UDPATE: Added new photos from press kit & launch]

CR-V

Honda expects this edition of the Honda CR-V, third in its generation to make waves in the local SUV segment, targeting to sell 3,600 units year here, three times the amount that the 2nd generation sold in 2006. This would increase Honda’s hold on the SUV market from 11% to 30%.

The main focus of the CR-V here is combination of an SUVs utility with the driving experience of a sedan. Honda achieves the sedan-like driving experience using a few methods. Firstly, it has a lower center of gravity than the outgoing model, now lowered by 35mm. Its track has also been widened by 30mm. Theres also the G-CON body, or G-Force Control, while its main purpose is for crash safety, its rigidity also helps with the overall driving experience of the car. This is thanks to the usage of strong and lightweight high tensile steel comprising of up to 58% of the body. The suspension system uses MacPherson struts for the front, and Reactive Link Double Wishbone for the rear suspension.

Only a single variant is available, featuring safety features such as dual i-SRS front airbags, active headrests, anti-lock brakes and electronic brake distribution. The CR-V managed a 5 star score in the NHTSA crash test. There is also ample trim level, including cruise control, dual zone climate control, a 6-disc in-dash changer with MP3 and aux input, and steering wheel-mounted audio controls, however the seats are fabric, not leather. The boot features a double-deck load shelf, allowing you to organize your storage easily. The upper deck can hold weights up to 10kg, and can be removed to configure the boot into a single storage area. The boot can be extended into the cabin by folding down the 40:20:40 rear seats. The tailgate is now hinged at the top and opens upwards using hydraulics. The tailgate is also the lightest in the SUV segment.

CR-V Boot

The interior features a stylish gear lever mounted at the front console for easier reach. The sporty steering wheel has adjustable tilt and rake, tilting 2 degrees and 30mm towards the driver. Storage space is abundant, with 20 storage areas. Here are some: split golf compartment, multi-use compartments in center console, door, floating arm rest, front seat back pockets, etc. The front screen has a cabin forward design, enhancing the feel of spaciousness.

CR-V Meter Panel

The meter panel features two dials showing speed and engine RPM, and in the middle you have a multi purpose display showing numerous information from the fuel computer such as remaining range in km, current fuel consumption in km per litre, average fuel consumption as well as the trip meters.

The new 2007 Honda CR-V features a new engine from the R-series, which first debuted as a 1.8 litre in the 2006 Honda Civic. The CR-V has a 2.0 litre version of this engine with an i-VTEC SOHC valve train, and is mounted pretty low in the engine bay to help with the center of gravity. You can view photos of the engine bay below. The usage of an SOHC engine is more suited to an SUV or MPV application due to a torque curve that has more power lower down. You get 150 PS at 6,200rpm and a maximum torque of 190Nm at 4,200rpm. The engine is mated to a 5-speed automatic gearbox featuring 2 overdrive gears for better fuel economy during high speed cruising. The 4WD system powers only the front wheels during normal conditions, switching to all-wheel drive mode when additional traction is needed.

crv_engine_low.jpg
The new R20 i-VTEC SOHC is mounted pretty low in the engine bay.

CRV Engine

To help improve fuel consumption, the new Honda CR-V has 10% reduction in wind resistance over the 2nd generation model, thanks to its more aerodynamic body. The CR-V also uses an electric power steering. This improved air flow also helped with interior ambiance, with sound levels in the interior now lower by 3dB thanks to an improved wiper and side mirror design, as well as noise and vibration absorption materials applied to floor, ceiling, side panels, and cargo area.

This new third generation Honda CR-V was a success in the USA when it debuted, selling 20,000 units within the first month alone. The model sold in the USA is the 2.4 litre variant, powered by the K24A found in our local Accord 2.4 litre.

In Malaysia, it will be offered in three variants – Nightback Black Pearl, Alabaster Silver Metallic, Opal Beige Metallic, Sparkle Gray Pearl and Bronze Silver Pearl. It goes for RM147,800. There is also two Modulo packages which brings the retail price up to RM155,160 for the Premium package and RM151,820 for the Standard package. If you are a Modulo Privilege Card Holder, you get a discount – RM154,200 for the Premium package and RM151,300 for the Standard package. The Standard package includes a front aero bumpre, rear aero bumper, tailgate spoiler, and a running board. The premium package includes a different tailgate spoiler, running board, and door visors.

Now Honda, where’s the new Stream?

Thanks for reading, and enjoy looking at all the other photos in this post. I will be uploading full sized photos soon, so you may use them as wallpapers or for whatever other purpose you wish.

CR-V Front

first and 2nd gen cr-v

Abalaster Silver Metallic

Bronze Silver Pearl

Nighthawk Black Pearl

Opal Beige Metallic

Sparkle Gray Pearl

2007 Honda CR-V Modulo

CR-V Modulo Specs
Click to see full Modulo specs

Front Aero Bumper

Rear Aero Bumper

Grille

Bumper garnish

Door visor

Fog light

Running board

Side step

Tailgate spoiler

CR-V Launch Photos

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 11:37 pm

thank to you la Paul after frequent viewing and observing the pics, now can accept the design. but who want cheap slightly outdated crv , can buy now with modulo bodykits somemore.

are you at the launched?

• Paul Tan on Mar 08, 2007 at 11:47 pm

something is wrong with my photos, hold on while i fix them.

• kinwawa (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 12:07 am

ya….waiting for the photos…Thanks Paul!

• motherker (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 12:19 am

PAUL,

"The Standard package includes a front aero bumpre, rear aero bumper, tailgate spoiler, and a running board. The premium package includes a different tailgate spoiler, running board, and door visors."

theres a typo…

the premium package includes the aero bumpers… not the standard package…

u can check it out at honda malaysia's official website…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 12:22 am

Where's the 3rd row seat? Cannot see.

• motherker (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 12:34 am

maibatsu_thunder,

"Where’s the 3rd row seat? Cannot see."

u kidding ah?

CR-V is only a 5-seater lah…

it never had 3rd row seats…even in previous 2 generations, it was only a 5 seater….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 12:51 am

One of my friends neighbor book it in February and he get the car starting this march earlier then the official launch. I think he told me seeing it on the saturday at 3rd of march. It's a beauty but the owner a bit regret, coz at that value you can get a 2.5L X-trail… with nismo bodykit, adjustable absorber and even nismo sport rim. Paul tan can you compare this new Honda CRV with the now on market X-trail spec and value? Thx man. But i like the CRV diesel engine in Europe spec. more economical for a vehicle like this.

Ane one more, is the 4×4 system can be manual adjust to 2 wheel or just Auto mode all the time?

• Infinitt (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 1:11 am

Nice meter, box, seat bla2 all interior parts except the front bumper.

• motherker (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 1:15 am

Infiniti,

u check out the modulo AERO bumper for the CR-V!

looks quite cool!!

• Xoomie (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 2:20 am

Paul, it would be cool if you could post pictures of the old & the new CRV side by side (front, rear & side ) so, we all could visualise on the size.

: )

• Paul Tan on Mar 09, 2007 at 2:21 am

xoomie: how to do that, the scale wouldnt be correct.

• ACES (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 2:28 am

……well looks ok.. but still.. Something bugging me about the overall design especially the awkward front grille even with that modulo kit. Whatever, i have no doubt that this car will sell though. Personally, i would choose new Mitsubishi Outlander over this new crv though Mitsu is much more expensive becoz of extensive equipment list for high spec trim level.

• Cire (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 3:04 am

What's with the thick D pillar that almost mimicked the ugly Stavic? It bogged down the smooth looks of the CRV. The front ends still holds the distinctive CRV look, with protruding bumpers.

Like it was made to be, its a town/street run-about vehicle, or country-run-about vehicle? Whatever it is, the 4wd is meant to be on the road, and not as versatile as the Nissan X-trails. The new X-trails have the euro look, and looks more robust than this lady-liked CRV..more likely to be a 120K suv than the 150plus suv as it is priced now.

• J (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 3:23 am

For those who had not seen the real thing … please go and take a look before criticise la (to be fair)

I seen it during the launch, it is much nicer than we imagine previously (by just looking at pictures). It beats the older CRV 100 miles.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 3:27 am

i jus say it in ampang,sorry to say the design is terrible,specially the rear, its such an eye sore,bt quality inside is very good,i can see it selling well , n taking customers aways from accord and camry

• AzaniLaiho (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 3:29 am

the most important is the new CR-V offers a sedan-like driving experience!

what a tech..

• toxicboy (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 3:31 am

it's an awesome car..nice aerodynamics. except for the D pillar..

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 4:09 am

the rear really has that volvo suv xc90 feel… the modulo kit is more nice, looks more to a harrier now with the kits on…

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 5:46 am

A great improvement for CR-V. Nice one.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 6:04 am

still couldn't accept the the 2nd front grille(lower)

from the rear, the shape looks like some Volvo V70, V50 albeit CRV higher

side view, XC90

Priced too high! doubt many would shy away and get a X-Trail!

Toyota had RAV4(latest) but had only seen less than 10 on our road, might bcoz of its pricing Rm203K! same 5 seaters too!

• blazerSST (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 6:19 am

The only thing that comes to mind is the Ssanyong Kyron and that is an ugly car.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 7:15 am

Yeah, the D pillar looks similar to the Stavics and the brake lamps look as if they were carbon copied from the Volvo XC90. Waiting for the new stream though, now thats a nice fresh design.

• s60t (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 7:19 am

Interior looks good. The front still looks odd. I wonder why we would need a 4WD that is lower. I suppose most people who buy the CRV don't actually use the 4wd function or even mild offroading. If that is the case why not wait for the new stream. It offers 5+2 seats,versatile carrying capacity and looks better. If you need the 4WD, then I'll agree with the comments that an Xtrail 2.5L with selectable 2wd/4wd is a better buy.

• ICER (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 8:03 am

My dream car….

But dun know when can buy….?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 8:04 am

Eh? Thought earlier the text said CR-V is now a 7seater? Paul u changed it?

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 8:07 am

Paul, do you have the HP number for this new R series 2.0 engine?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 8:23 am

Fine looking car with its space age design. I will need some time to digest this weird design. This would sell more than Toyota's Rav4 which I believe is in the 200K range. RM140K for this is reasonable.

But for those who wants a powerful SUV, I heard that Hyundai Tucson V6 2.7 is going for RM140K right now.

• Paul Tan on Mar 09, 2007 at 9:16 am

150 PS at 6,200rpm and a maximum torque of 190Nm at 4,200rpm

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 10:19 am

not bad

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 5:37 pm

your dream car eh…buy when you are sleeping lah..

try I'm very sure you will buy ur dream car in your sleep ;p

ICER said,

March 9, 2007 @ 12:03 am

My dream car….

But dun know when can buy….?

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 5:40 pm

Seems like Honda M'sia opted not to bring in the 2.4L variant which is available in the Thailand market. Paul, do you know if this CRV is CKD or CBU Thailand?

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 6:19 pm

Pretty neat design.

Looks more muscular and ready for the wilderness too.

Would defiitely look menacing on the street with the Modulo package.

Well done, Honda.

• volvolover (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 6:23 pm

I would give it good marks if it had leather seats and wood panelling. Why car manufacturer so stingy one? Put abit more features and it will sell like hot cakes. They could easily absorb the cost, lose a bit in profit margin but increase many more times in sales, they would earn more money.

• motherker (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 9:45 pm

Mayonaise,

its a CKD!!

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 10:45 pm

well the design is unique …nothin ive ever seen before good job!! n kudos to honda !!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 12:48 am

CKD? No wonder the price is so low compared to the rest. A very big gap against the likes of Rav4.

• nmh (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 5:48 am

finally a CRV with a proper tyre size 4 suv…before this is like an SUV using car tyre…like in movie 'are we there yet'. But still im not satisfied with the design

• narrowband (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 7:47 am

Design is definitely abit uncommon at certain angles, for me. However, admittedly, that aside, it's a good car inside and it's a Honda. Wouldn't mind having one if I could afford – would prefer it in black though, as that would help 'suppress' some of the 'weirdness' in the design.

• madewla (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 8:43 am

i went to honda today, and i have to say the new CRV is totally cool beans! now, if only i can get rid of this stupid accord with busted oxygen sensor thats probably going to make my wallet scream bloody murder.

• hoss (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 5:27 am

paul tan i would like to ask what is the color for the last 2 pictures
    http://paultan.org/gallery/d/4748-3/DSC_0051.JPG http://paultan.org/gallery/d/4758-3/DSC_0053.JPG

is it BRONZE SILVER PEARL ???

I've tested drive this Brand new CR-V ~ very impressive! and i think it can beat all those Toyota RAV4, Nissan X-TRail, Naza Sorento, Suzuki Vitara and those vehicle around RM150K.

• hoss (Member) on Mar 13, 2007 at 2:44 am

Paul can post more photos CR-V with BRONZE SILVER PEAL and Nighthawk Black Pearl in color ? wanna compare see which color is more elegant

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:10 am

Hi Paul,

i heard that the sales of this new CRV is quit good?few months for waiting list?

so u din get it a test drive?

• jafrazier (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 3:17 pm

Hi, I'm wondering if this BRONZE SILVER PEARL color is available anywhere in the US? I really love this color and want to get it if possible, but it seems they aren't doing that here? Does anyone know more?

Thanks

• raymond1100 (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 4:47 pm

hi all, this car can’t hold the body at slope.
    eg.
    1. up hill, during traffic jam if you want to hold the car using the “D” gear the car still slip down hill

2. down hill, if you want to reverse up “using R gear” the car still continue move forward

• i goin to get this New cr-v on May. I will make it full payment no loan.

• xin wei on Oct 30, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Firstly people nowadays prefer or rather get the Honda CRV reasons because of the offers they provide and the quality. For example the Honda CRV make it to the top 10 most sold cars in malaysia. Why people would want to buy the Honda CRV when they can get the Suzuki Grand Vitara which costs almost RM30,000 cheaper.The features that the Suzuki Grand Vitara offers is almost the same as the Honda CRV and moreover the shape and design is nice and attractive.But if u ask me i would spend the money and get the Honda CRV because of the name tag and the quality. Futhermore, the Honda CRV can be very solid for a long run. I have an uncle whom owns a 1st generation Honda CRV and is still working well.

• Has any body checked Captiva- 7 seater. They claim 20 more features than cRV

• Hysteric on May 01, 2010 at 10:53 am

Change to MazdaCX-7 this yrs…. 2010 Or Tiguan…..VW