2007 Proton Savvy Facelift Launched!

DSC_0049

This morning’s event was a double launch by Proton. Launched together with the new 2007 Proton Waja facelift was the long awaited Proton Savvy facelift, which were shown to the public first at the A1 Grand Prix held recently. Just yesterday we read about when the Proton Savvy facelift would be launched in Malaysia as it was launched earlier this month in Taiwan already, and today we finally get it in Malaysia!

The new facelifted Proton Savvy features a new front grille which is of a honeycomb mesh design instead the horizontal bar design on the previous edition. On the rear, you have the newly redesigned rear which removes the “Waja nose” beak butt design. Coincidentally Proton removed the same beak-like Waja nose from the Proton Waja itself! A rear spoiler is also now standard on all models, to help balance out the awkward curve of the C pillar. The wheels are now 14 inch wheels for the mid-line model, and the high-line model now sports newly redesigned 6-spoke 15 inch wheels. Tyres used are Goodyear Eagle NCT5 tyres, which seems to be the industry standard for stock tyres these days. None of them Sime stuff, thankfully. Plastics on the interior have been improved, especially the steering wheel which is much nicer to touch. If you don’t believe me, check it out in the showroom. It’s better, but don’t expect something fantastic and you’ll be happy.

Most importantly, the newly introduced high-line variant which only comes with in AMT (Automated Manual Transmission) form now features dual SRS airbags for the driver and passenger. It is also equipped with anti-lock brakes (ABS), as well as seat belt pre-tensioners. The alarm system is also equipped with an engine immobilizer. In addition to the existing colours, the new facelifted 2007 Proton Savvy gets two new colours added to it’s line-up: Energy Orange and Genetic Silver.

The following are the on-the-road prices for the new facelifted 2007 Proton Savvy:

2007 Proton Savvy Facelift Medium-line 5 M/T: RM40,240.00
2007 Proton Savvy Facelift Medium-line AMT: RM43,182.00
2007 Proton Savvy Facelift High-line AMT: RM45,841.00

Future things to look forward to: Proton says it will be introducing more new models this year in conjunction with Malaysia’s 50th anniversary. The new models are expected to be launched in the middle and end of this year, said Proton M.D. Syed Zainal Abidin.

oldsavvy.jpg
This is how the old Savvy’s front grille looked like.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:46 am

wow! dis is wat i call a facelift.. in luv wit d silver 1.. savvy has got attitude! style! personality!

proton.. make few variants of dis lar.. 4×4 like sx4..

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:47 am

it has got balance n fairness.. when d front loses its beak, d rear too.. lol

• ularsawa (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:50 am

not bad at all. proton has been addressing feedbacks from the public at least. although, i prefer the non-FL front grill.

savvy over a kelisa anyday. its different.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:58 am

Ha what they change? Fugly…..

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:09 am

really have a mix feeling on design…well not really like it,

it need to put some excitement on it, crosser style maybe, and maybe put embossed body colored p r o t o n name on its blank 5th door (previously waja nose)

good to get rid of front tiny v nose on the grille., but big mistake chunk v waja nose,

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:22 am

good job proton, the facelift finally lifted the bad savvy look…

heheeheh

• avanza (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:46 am

What is Proton doing facelifting the Savvy in 1.5 years since launching ??? Car makers usually give a facelift after 2 or 3 years. Was it because the original was just too UGLY?

In contrast, they facelifted the Waja after 6 year!

And coming out with 3 hatchbacks after the Waja when hatchbacks have not been shown to be very popular is totally poor business judgement.

This company really does not know what they are doing!

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:56 am

wat? in conjunction of Malaysia Year 2007 proton baru release more new cars ah? if there is no Malaysia Year 2007 then proton will keep selling their old cars lor???

the rear still look like a DEAD FISH to me… i don think this company really know how to do automobile business… the seats are still disgusting with the lame colors, while the taiwan version has better looking ones… such a stupid move again…

proton – the worst car company in the world!

• ICER (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 3:58 am

Oh My God!

Really become Potato liao…:D

• Joe Cole (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 3:58 am

im loving it…na na na…………………..

COOL

rgds

Joe

• ICER (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 4:04 am

This one call facelift?

It make me feel no face leave when show to foreign people…. :S

• andylkw2004 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 4:05 am

what is this??

monster car from MARS?? hehe…

eh, pls dun waste money..

• gowin (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 4:46 am

As long as proton give us more quality n value, i beleive it still got supporter n market , lthought a lot of people already mark" fail" to it!!!

• happymeal (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:06 am

prefer the first savvy 'waja-beak-crap' rear hatch triangle… it adds to the character of the car… now it looks so plain and simple… like no effort whatsoever to make the rear nice.

they should at least offer driver airbag for stick shifter line. price is really high for a 74bhp car…

and that grey interior….eewww… it looks so industrial pvc plastic. the 1st gen 2 tone black n biege is actually better…again, adds character to the car… looks like if i were to get a savvy, i will have to get the pre-owned models.

what is happening to proton design studio…suddenly their designs are worse!! subjective matter though :)

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:12 am

since waja nose deleted which is good, what left is a piece of un used land,

put the logo back on the center as logo become center piece like gen 2

or

if put logo upward like now, the center boot lid should mount reg. plate.

those the reason why the rear still looks 'tak kena' 'whats wrong'. BELIVE ME. …..anyway savvy is not my choice,

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:29 am

hmm…i still will go for the old one. instead of totally replacing the front design mebbe the shud have left the nose but only replace the bars with the mesh? n yes, not the back looks too boring, bring the license plate up! better have bare bumper than bareback.

shud make the wing a bit longer! its quite short to ofset the slope. and also put the lips n skirts as standard, baru ada gaya!

inside not bad la…heard amt got lots of probs, is that true? orange colour looks nice but i think i still prefer in on the gen.2 instead

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:36 am

just my luck, buying mid line M before price slash for 42K!

• transformer (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:41 am

looklike P1 is preparing for the new 2007 year as many foreign makes would launch their baby to share P1 pie…..

wait another few month, M'sian could see better offers as others makes launches new babies and P1 stock still pilling up….

you can't facelift and wait for consumer to buy…

you have to launch new more attractive and value for money products..

P1, pls face the reality !

• mattyboy (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 6:39 am

Well 2 very different stories for today face lifts – the Waja seemed to be a change for the sake of change and answered non of the question we asked – yet here we are with the Savvy where they have taken customer feedback and turned it into more rounded product.

Well done Proton, more product development along these line please (did I really just say that?!?)

• feez98 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:27 am

hmmm… dont know wat 2 say… seems all the same as previos year…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:31 am

Good, at least improvement in safety aspect by providing air bag and ABS!

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 8:47 am

Ok, its ok. I mean for the time being, because there are a long time the market waiting for the facelift. So it does, it's time to waiting for the all new models. August 2007 right? We will see.

Nice interior upgraded, seem that Proton focus on the safety this time, airbags, seatbelts and ABS. Better quality than before. People still don't like it? Nevermind, it's a 1.2 engine car, don't expect much as Lexus interior.

Exterior also have major facelift, front and back. For me, it's still ok to praise, at least they 'heard' what people were condemn before. People still don't like it? So modify it, design your own bodykit. It's easy nowadays.

So, this facelift Savvy is acceptable, although not satisfied. The result, average. It suit for all.

I really want to see the head turner 'bikin' this to Savvy Sport Turbo version !

(Turbo, 16" rims, wide bodykit, sporty interior,..bla3. Oh, my goodness.)

• aesthari (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:02 am

LOL, just like the Waja, doesn't look any nicer, except for the tailgate, but, Proton sure is showing signs of change. At least it's now adding safety features as standards to the cars. Hope that it can improve more, this is the way it should be.

• offroader manix (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:28 am

Airbags and abs are really good for Proton in developing a safer cars.

M'sia have a high % on proton cars on the road…….the fatalities will be lower now…………

But this model doesn't attract buyers…..? Do you know it ?

SIGH !.

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 11:32 am

for any proton, actually the most needed is the unseen part,

-TUNABLE VALVETRAIN- (what other maker name it in various letters or short form)

this will push proton closer to the par of other maker,

• StingRayINC (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:37 pm

Sigh wat facelift is that???? if they are a group of human plastic surgeon, they will be a lot of uglier people in the world. HELLLO…….DO YOU KNOW HOW TO DESIGN OR NOT????? IF NOT,,,,, DUN CALL IT A FACELIFT, CALL IT A UGLY COSTUME PARTY INSTEAD……STOOOOPEEED……

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 6:32 pm

Why they still not change the color of interior to darker gray or black?

But at least they change the rear, and has standard airbag and abs..

• darkbrother (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:11 pm

proton so dumb, only now wanna put abs n airbag.

been driving amt for almost 25k km now..so far no problem.

enjoying every time driving it…

• h2k (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:16 pm

they actually transplanted the old savvy grille into the facelifted waja grille…talk about cost savings in redesign

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:19 pm

I noticed that the new facelifted 2007 Waja has ABS and Airbags as STANDARD. Soon u'll seen the Gen.2 facelift adopting these features as STANDARD also. Now thats what it should be all along, Proton!! Consumers nowadays are getting SMARTER. As for the new front grille and rear hood parts. I'm getting them for my current Savvy soon.

• motorhead (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:41 pm

As a performance driver, i am not interested with facelifts only.

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 8:17 pm

proton, stop wasting the precious resources to produce junks for the humans… ur lack of MARKET INTELLIGENCE and car business is not suitable for you… mr CEO, please stop ur patrotic act in proton and waste all these resources… wat u do will only bring the worst to the company and our citizens!

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 8:36 pm

Y y'all believe dat proton will launch new model?

Any new model dat supposedly to be launched this year are upgrade/facelift model.

Dat proton style of biznis.

this waja facelift done to clear waja stock so that they can launched new model.

savvy facelift is to capture CNY festive spirit cos kancil/kelisa replacement will be launched this march.

proton probably will launched Gen2 sedan n satria facelift

nape,x pcaye?

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 8:42 pm

tired of savvy front ugly bumper?

convert it to daihatsu esse

they r both have rounded front bumper

nape, xpcaye?

• ozone (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 1:53 am

personally i like savvy coz its catchy n bold design, fresh look of front face n rear lamp….but the poor interior design (very conventional design) n its quality plus poor execution on d ergonomic site of it…(head clearence bla bla)…i know sometimes its hard for the designer to come out with design they wanted…since the compny go for the low cost option..btw this is some of savvy's photoimposed i made using photoshop, how it will look like if we change the position of exhaust+plate no+emblem..

http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/8242/savvyrear…

• peYno (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 3:50 am

ayahh..kelisa replacement will be launched mid of this year la… another tin milo product from perodua.. compressed avanza.. half cut from front of naza sutera, back from kenari

• peYno (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 3:54 am

mits27 said,

January 20, 2007 @ 10:32 am

Why they still not change the color of interior to darker gray or black?

But at least they change the rear, and has standard airbag and abs..

==========================

bro..the interior color already changed to gray color … anyway i still prefer old version wan V shape at the back..looks funky n sleek…facelifted wan looks too plain

• peYno (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 3:56 am

Joe Ooi said,

January 19, 2007 @ 11:31 pm

Good, at least improvement in safety aspect by providing air bag and ABS!

===================

savvy, rigid body + airbag… could be the safest car among its class

• Dogster (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 8:37 am

Hey, this is a nice face lift. Front abit plain.. back better than previous but they should try putting the logo in the "kotak"… Interior ok. but if one gets the h-mod, cant change the disgusting evo like stearing wheel…

• Dogster (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 9:21 am

Hey hey did anyone try the signal bars? whether our asian fingers can reach????

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 9:41 am

#

peYno said,

January 20, 2007 @ 7:50 pm

ayahh..kelisa replacement will be launched mid of this year la… another tin milo product from perodua.. compressed avanza.. half cut from front of naza sutera, back from kenari

tin milo car wont win any award la.

perodua have strict quality assurance coz they have tie up with daihatsu

cannot sebrg kuar low quality keta like proton

savvy n waja are old model design according to carspyshot forum.

i really agreed…

• antaras (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 10:59 am

The ABS and SRS airbags SHOULD be there in the first place… Face lift? ok, at least they are trying to make it look better but still, it won't sell. 1 word… UGLY.

• peYno (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 3:34 pm

haroldz said,

January 21, 2007 @ 1:41 am

tin milo car wont win any award la.

===============================

bro..i was thinking like tat too, trained TOYOTA QC should be good QC output…but it is not as expected..so many claims like happened to vios n myvi…even Toyata has recall their cars in US due to QC(steering problem).. i think it is just ur perseption n mindset

• peYno (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 3:40 pm

antaras said,

January 21, 2007 @ 2:59 am

The ABS and SRS airbags SHOULD be there in the first place… Face lift? ok, at least they are trying to make it look better but still, it won’t sell. 1 word… UGLY.

====================

u r malaysian rite??? look is subjective..

if u think ur gf so cute…don't think other ppl think the same too..prrrfthhh

• peYno (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 3:48 pm

haroldz said,

==============================

wan more thing…u can't judge the car just becoz its tie up with daihatsu or Japanese company… the main factor of QC is where the car assembled from…for example…vioas assembled in Thainland and vios assembled in Malaysia (umw)..eventhough both company got TOYOTA QC and under same brand..but the quality level of both comp. is different..

product from thailand is much better than malaysia wan…

QC

its not a matter about"under japanese or european company"…but it is about malaysian workers mentality

• ICER (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 5:16 pm

But Proton QC + parts + design is the worst in Malaysia…

No improvement at all since proton establish untill now.

• peYno (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 5:27 pm

tat y i prefer vios n honda made in thailand one..prrfthh

anyway ICER..u still comparing saga wira waja infamous power window prob..with new gen of proton savvy n neo ..come on la bro…change ur mindset la.. i used to be proton basher too

• ozone (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 6:30 pm

support ur local product :)

• J (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 7:20 pm

I wonder what will be the new models to be introduced by mid of this year ?

Anyway, I will wait to see …

Face lifting current models is just wasting time … bec people has lost confident in it :)

• carenthusiast (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 8:25 pm

The new Savvy's front grille design is actually a lot more better compared to the old one. A big improvement in terms of design except for the rear. The rear looks more 'empty' now at the boot door. The spoiler helps a lot too because without it, the Savvy looks like a 'hunchback'!

Not sure about the build quality…

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 11:31 pm

carenthusiast said,

January 21, 2007 @ 12:25 pm

The new Savvy’s front grille design is actually a lot more better compared to the old one. A big improvement in terms of design except for the rear. The rear looks more ‘empty’ now at the boot door.

———————————————–

just on design point of view, i agree there a sense of -emptiness- exist after the the elimination fo V rear nose, the badge moved up ward, well…..there is always a solution proton can look into, the photo shows how the porsche 928 deal with -emptiness- by putting name stamping on its rear,

http://porsches.chat.ru/images/Porsche_928_11.jpg

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 12:04 am

Ah this is more like it! At least they listen to what people want. For once.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 2:27 am

Car prices drop like a stone, check this out!!!

http://www.chinapress.com.my/content_new.asp?dt=2…

Sorry no time to translate

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 3:18 am

NeedGoodcar,

If you want to wait aaa wait for another 10 years… at that time you can get Current SLK for less than 100K….

Very sadistic, I still remember there was a joke that truly describe Malaysian….

The joke sounds more or less like this…

FAQ at a showroom for

Typical chinese will ask … how fast this car can go???

– where u wanna go? do you live in Ipoh working in KL?? wanna use highway speed limit is 110 only..

Typical malay will ask…. what about the fuel consumption???

– The road is already congested, KL always jam, so fuel consumption is not an issue because in traffic jam your car is no longer a car… it is a refrigerator…

wanna low consumption and travel faster get a bike…

Typical Indian will ask how many can carry???

– Stupid answer…. wanna carry more? get a lorry made in India last 20 years… very cheap, very big….

Thousands Appologiessssss

People!!! grow up… Proton bashers & supporters… give a brilliant idea..

Why not paultan make a column for ideas or design concept…

I'm also bored with current car design, no matter Vios, City or others all plasticky and lame styling.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 3:24 am

Actually, I like this facelift design more than the previous one… With this new design, I'm starting to like the Savvy.

I went to a Proton showroom in Taman SEA just now. Checked out the facelift Savvy… I must admit, the overall build quality has improved a lot! Can't say the same thing for the facelift Waja though, that one was RUBBISH!

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 3:26 am

peYno, I bet ICER has never drive a new proton, I went to COE and I have tested the Savvy. The handling is superb compared to MyVi, it suits my driving style aggressive and defensive… no jump Q in front of me… watch out if you see me..

• ICER (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 3:51 am

Oh GlowJ… You know me meh? You know I don't have Proton meh?

Remember Proton own Lotus, one of the best handling design company….

If handling worst, no point having Lotus.

But the design, Lotus can't help meh? Lotus also develop own enjin but nothing help Proton.

However, the QC + parts + design consist of handling?

Without governmant protect, It close already.

Try look into 2nd hand car market, the 2nd hand price drop the most is proton if compare to other car company. It mean that Proton no market value.

Beside, export model equipment much more better than Malaysia model + more cheaper than Malaysia price if convert back. How come the Proton own by Malaysian don't bring any benifit to Malaysian.

Do you agree?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 4:24 am

bashers i tell u ah , even if have bad english oso stil bash!! its no barrier at all!

cmon…..thrs noting new in ur questions above ,been asked million of times,been answered million of times,unless u test drive only thn u know,otherwise no verdict should be concluded

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 4:57 am

e-nabilll I agree with you… experience it yourself… then give a comment.

I have been to LMG remember the "hydroxene" car, The finishing is horrible, it is a nightmare. the fan is directly driven by the engine crank shaft. the gaps are covered by stupid plates, and until now I still do not see it on the road.

and ICER I did met our former Datuk Seri Dr Mahathir, I've asked him why he choose to venture into car manufacturing instead other industries? He said the fastest way for Malaysia to grow is thru investment in fast moving industry such as car manufacturing.

If Malaysia didn't start to produce our own car, I believe most of us don't even have a chance to drive a car. As for ICER, Toyota, Honda Nissan and all Japanese also was protected by their government once upon a time ago. They were protected against Ford and other manufacturer. So because of that, Toyota finally can emerge as a new global player in automotive industry nowadays.

If you want a cheap car, it is possible if Proton can produce and sell 1 million cars worldwide. I suggest ICER read the history and understand not memorize it for the sake on final paper…

I have MBA thou..

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 4:59 am

Mayonaise, WAJA looks like it was done by a no brain designer living under coconut shell….

the front grille looks like BBQ Grille!!! Wargh Wargh Warghhh

• milkysusu (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 5:41 am

The face-lifted SAVVY is absolutely a big improvement compared to the previous one and I have to admit that I have become more fond of it.

I just went to have a look at PROTON showroom at AUTOCITY. I still remembered when the SAVVY was launched in 2005, it is quite hard to be swallowed with its weird face and back which looks the same. Many people at that time immediately bashed the SAVVY for its ugliness and shortage of space n go for MYVI. It is kinda weird because SAVVY is categorized in supermini class whereas MYVI is categorized in Mini-MPV class and yet people in Malaysia still compared them head-to-head.

Anyway, people at PROTON really take public's feedback about its design n remove the WAJA-front grille on the back. Now, it is really a good-looker (looks is subjective) and I see no reason that this SAVVY will not sell well esp with its high-line version which come with dual-SRS airbags and ABS too. The use of high strength steel and material combined with its safety feature will definitely make this car score well in Crash Test (Just wonder when will PROTON test the SAVVY in EURO NCAP if it wants to promote its safety to the public). It looks GREAT when it is fitted with AEROKIT and if you get the headlamp smoked. And the Ah-BENG SAVVY featured in the post before also looks GREAT and it is a true pocket rocket in Malaysia.

Interior wise, the complexity of color used in the previous one had gone. It is now more upmarket with a complete grey scheme which looks great for me. Quality wise, there is improvement but the plastic used is hard as always with all those sub-RM50k cars, be it MYVI or GETZ. Their plastic is all lack of the SOFT factor. You have to fork out a big sum of money to get this feature from other more upmarket car I guess. :)

This SAVVY is definitely the best buy of the supermini in Malaysia. Keep on the good work, PROTON! ( But what actually happened to the WAJA facelifted version which looks like Chinese make car????)

• hush (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 6:07 am

the front grille looks weird to me, but its better than the pre-facelift version. overall, its sleeker. i luv it….

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 6:34 am

#

peYno said,

January 21, 2007 @ 7:48 am

haroldz said,

==============================

wan more thing…u can’t judge the car just becoz its tie up with daihatsu or Japanese company… the main factor of QC is where the car assembled from…for example…vioas assembled in Thainland and vios assembled in Malaysia (umw)..eventhough both company got TOYOTA QC and under same brand..but the quality level of both comp. is different..

product from thailand is much better than malaysia wan…

QC

its not a matter about”under japanese or european company”…but it is about malaysian workers mentality

i agreed wit u in tis issue.

same like ISO management. Every company wan2 have it but only on papers not in practice.

When audit come, just show the good things then belanja auditors makan besar after dat.

Come AFTA, proton really gonna struggle against other car makers.

so dun buy new model yet cos early batches usually have many problems.

BTW, after the audit, how come the government nvr take action against former proton management..?

Kroni ka?

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 6:46 am

haroldz,

I dun no la… previous management spending Proton's money acquiring world most problematic company MV Agusta, so until now nobody dare to fork out the issue.

Somebody out there who is familiar with court please do some thing here…

And old issue, our vendor quality is really poor. Ever UMW, Honda, Proton and Perodua share the same vendor. No wonder they all have the same level so call 'quality'.

No wonder all info about Malaysia new model easily leaks into Brother's shop

• khimfoh (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 7:41 am

I love the metallic orange colour of the 07 Savvy. The front grille looks nice however the rear looks awful. I own an 05 Savvy and thinking of going to COE and flick the 07 Savvy grill.

165/60/R14 tyres for the 07 Savvy…Sheesh…Proton used have listen to some of Savvy owners have opt for 185/60/R13.

• NEUSS64 (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 8:30 am

The facelift is nice, better then the before design.. Proton is taking action in such short period for a facelift but still par, and yet Proton does respones to the public, and that is a good sign.

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 10:24 am

i can always say a lot of bad thing about the proton,

BUT …the car body design of proton, like waja(not the recent facelift) gen 2, the neo, well including savvy aaaand even the hated lmmst saga ( tank look)

,,all are at least in 'composure', compated to the korean or even some japenese,

i would compare how the audi penned their car, …nothing too radical or over do oversized headlight, simple unbusy line with nicely propotion, not too carried away with something too fashionable, yet…..the 'thud' solid is how they look. i presume proton designers have at least this kind doing. …not bad bad proton!

lastly proton need to hold their spanner and rachet, get ready to lover down real 'campro' into the engine bay, thus it gives a huge smile to everyone,(my serious advice) ,…..thank you.

• antaras (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 5:43 pm

peYno said,

January 21, 2007 @ 7:40 am

u r malaysian rite??? look is subjective..

if u think ur gf so cute…don’t think other ppl think the same too..prrrfthhh

=============================================

hahaha… chill dude… chill dude… Don't have to drag along part of my family in there. Like you said, look is subjective. I didn't mentioned that your mother is the perfect mom, k? "prrrfthhh"… So chill dude… As in your comments on Malaysian or not… hmmm… I don't know bout you but I've long felt that Proton been given far more CHANCES and RESOURCES to produce better cars or in this case better looking cars. I'm merely talking bout the statistics here. How often do you find a Malaysian agreeing that Savvy is a good looking car. Better than the pre-facelifted design doesn't mean it's good looking now.

• peYno (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 6:45 pm

antaras said,

January 22, 2007 @ 9:43 am

. I’m merely talking bout the statistics here. How often do you find a Malaysian agreeing that Savvy is a good looking car. Better than the pre-facelifted design doesn’t mean it’s good looking now.

=====================

tat y i asking u msian or not..coz msian has poor taste about car ..

ugly looking car in malaysia, it doesn't mean ugly looking car in oversea globally.. if u ask european, japanese ,advance country ppl which has good looking car (savvy or myvi) the result wud be different tahn survey in malaysia..

pity malaysian taste

• newblogger (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 7:03 pm

Any different from the previous one???

• antaras (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 7:13 pm

ahhh… i see. That, we will have to see how the face-lifted Savvy sale globally. hmmm… but on your comment regarding Malaysians' taste, I've no comment on that. If the Savvy does sell better elsewhere than in Malaysia, perhaps the Savvy was meant for international market rather than locally. Maybe Proton should make some cars according to Malaysians' taste? hahaha… ok ok.. this is getting nowhere. I just hope Proton will come out with better looking "face-liftsssss" rather than the other way round like the Waja… that's a complete joke…

• peYno (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 7:27 pm

antaras said,

January 22, 2007 @ 11:13 am

ahhh… i see. That, we will have to see how the face-lifted Savvy sale globally. hmmm… but on your comment regarding Malaysians’ taste, I’ve no comment on that. If the Savvy does sell better elsewhere than in Malaysia, perhaps the Savvy was meant for international market rather than locally. Maybe Proton should make some cars according to Malaysians’ taste? hahaha… ok ok.. this is getting nowhere. I just hope Proton will come out with better looking “face-liftsssss” rather than the other way round like the Waja… that’s a complete joke…

=============

it not necessary…just take a look honda … selling well in SEA and america but not in Japan… Japanese don't like honda design and it ranking 5th place top manufactuerer in Japan … nowadays, manufacturer must meet global taste

japanese like Toyota Bb ,kenari, boxy design..but not msian ppl

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 7:38 pm

maybe the conclusion is that we malaysian GENERALLY have bad taste. i apologise if the statement hurts anyone. but face it with an open heart, it is true.

always trying to act we are the best but with third world mentality make us look like malaysian are from a smallville. we are far no better than our neighbour who are kiasu, kiasee and kiamsiap.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 7:49 pm

aisay, still no rear power windows (even the tiara has them) and i think they also removed the front passenger side vanity mirror to cut cost. what cheapskates!!

• peYno (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 8:03 pm

hahha..i u ..malaysian taste..

rear power window is everthing for them

prrrfthhh

• oversight (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 8:11 pm

i think proton has been eletrochraged a little bit; that's why they come with minor facelift. if they have been more electrocharged maybe they will come out with something powerful. who knows. LOL…. XD… just using my physics knowledge.

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 8:34 pm

i agreed malaysian have bad taste in car shape n styling

we can only dream n drool to have nice looking car cos the price is SOO CHEAPP!

check out carspyshot forum.

they say waja n savvy r old looking model.

even TOP GEAR r having a good time laughing at 'your 1st lotus'.

hehehe

but it's a good thing dat proton ACTUALLY listen to the feedbacks.

• antaras (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 9:55 pm

Anyway, I'm interested in the term "malaysian taste" you guys are mentioning. Is it becoz Malaysian owns bad looking cars or is it local manufacturer produces bad looking cars?

• stupe (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 11:17 pm

seriously, 15 incher on a 1.4…

proton seems to equate power to the size of the rim. I'm still surprised that PV6 aren't shod with 20 inchers.

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 11:39 pm

the answer is if there is no supply there is no demand and vice – versa. the 'malaysian's taste' statement was cohesive to our smallville culture and mentality.

some laughed and criticised about savvy though, but never refer to the fact to bring in new case but the old case. why are we malaysian is as stubborn as the buffalo at our paddy field? come on, the top gear review was the old remark, why don't we just put some updated feedback. some even dare to bring the power window argument. pls. are you still in mars or pluto? hello? pls. come back to earth…

the problem with this car now is not the design or the build quality. it is a good car but the sound proofing is awful. the looks maybe subjective to some but still the question is do you marry your wife for the looks, is it?

pls. have an open mind, love your enemy just as you love yourself. test drive the damn bloody car before you open the bad breath mouth la. sigh! talking to bunch of lemmings.

• toritori (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 11:43 pm

No wonder, doomsday click nearer to twelve…

Previously,

some said "time will tell… after a year sure parts will falling apart",

some said "sure die one when accident because no ABS and Airbag",

some said "stupid WAU/Ultraman design, Malaysian not creative at all"

some said "it is a rojak car, designed by Korean not Malaysian"

some said "junk car, very expensive maintenance, cost a bomb",

Now,

some said "no rear power windows"

some said "rear too plain and still ugly"

some said "disgusting color and cheapskate,"

some said "no Malaysian Taste"… I wonder what is Malaysian taste

perhaps it should looks like Goreng Pisang.

I have been driving the compact car for 18 months now and I believe

there are many out there like me enjoying the compact car, just leave the

politics alone. See it as a product in whole.

• antaras (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 12:41 am

true… perhaps i should test drive the car. Maybe this is another case of Fiat Multipla…

• peYno (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 12:53 am

u hvnt test drive the car yet??

proven..u r typical malaysian who love "japanese caror any comp tie up with japanese car" prrrfthh

• antaras (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 1:11 am

hahaha… peYno, nope. Actually I'm not just any typical Malaysian who only loves japs car. "prrrfthh" I like European cars too. Well, like i said, maybe this is another Fiat Multipla and I REALLY hope it is.

• ys (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 2:04 am

my goodness… what is those design engineer during in the office?????

come on guys… be more creative ….

i would say lousy design with "ZERO" creativity..

no wonder this turtle has no market in malaysia

who cares if it save fuel… no style means u cant drive it out on saturday night..

• peYno (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 3:15 am

ys

anything to be proud if u get best selling car title in MALAYSIA (3rd wolrd contry)??

• peYno (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 3:19 am

ys said,

January 22, 2007 @ 6:04 pm

my goodness… what is those design engineer during in the office?????

come on guys… be more creative ….

i would say lousy design with “ZERO” creativity..

no wonder this turtle has no market in malaysia

who cares if it save fuel… no style means u cant drive it out on saturday night..

====================

ppl more care about FC nowadays

no style???.. only from your point of view (malaysian taste)

suzuki apv selling well in Indonesia but in malaysia avanza does better than apv…

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 3:37 am

I wanna share something with u guys. I already own this car for 1 and a half years.

I work in a japanese company. Once, i took a Japanese colleague for a ride in my Savvy (yes, he is Japanese living in Japan, and comes here once in a while for business trips). He can't believe me when i said that my car has only a 1.2 engine. Coz, he thought its 1.5.

When we arrived at our destination, he took a glance at the front of my car, and commented that it looks stylish. So, i told him to look at the rear end (the 'Wau' shape), and ask him: "But, the rear looks ugly, rite?" He said: "Hmm… not ugly, but it looks different". He said that if this car were in Japan, he would take it out on a Saturday nite spin anytime. Well, that's his opinion though. Just something to share with u guys.

• peYno (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 3:46 am

nizam80, tats the differnt btw advance country ppl taste and malaysian ah beng taste..prrrfthhh

ore mo nihon de 6 nen kan sundeimashita… nihon jin no konomi (kuruma no koto) yoku wakatteimasyo

kewl

• peYno (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 3:53 am

wat american say about savvy…

enjoy this
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=DwIrvWSfpVM&mode=r…

• Celicazz (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 7:37 am

I agree that the car looks weird,

but, I didnot agree when one say that we'll die if there's no airbag or ABS…

I am a mech eng student, I read Iacocca's book (do you know who he is?) and a car is safe enuff with seatbelts strapped on and airbags are not necessary since it also has it's own drawbacks…

I dont wanna hear stupid comments… that's all…

• Celicazz (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 7:44 am

…and there's also people saying about the Top Gear's review,

well, in the 8th season, Savvy are nearly get onto the Cool Wall, except for the fact that it bears the 'Savvy' name, at first, Jeremy thought it as looking cool…

Being snobby brit, he finds his way of saying the car wont fit on the Cool Wall…

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 9:18 am

well, like it or not we stuck wit savvy.

those who can afford it, mod it 2 ur taste.

those who cant, live (drive) wit it.

every country has diff taste in car.

we r more terpengaruh wit japs car (proton+mitsubushi anyone??)

euro car design veli elegant (konon like their art taste)

american prefer big engine (bigger is better!)

maybe we all tired of previous proton models which full of defect n problem.

we have a place to critic, express n condemn, so we do it ramai2.

who know y'al cant blog after tis….

some said u buy car like u married a girl..

s long s pretty, just marry her….

i wonder how he felt after 10yrs?

hehehe

soreee, im 2 young to get married!!

:ppp

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 10:14 am

jeremy-

-laugh at proton

-smack the kelisa

-say evo is …boring

-tail happy car is fun

-ok with jag infact the m6 batter

-hate rusty jaguar (james may)

-alfa is ugly

-korean is crap

-no lexus,

-over tehno bmw.

-rolls royce ugly.

+love range rover

+cant resist jags (not dramatic change on new xkr)

+like astons

……..

• Joe Cole (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 10:51 am

THIS IS THE BEST CAR IN THE WORLD!!!

DESIGN BY LOTUS N VERY2 CHEAP….

CONGARTS PROTON N LOTUS!!

SIMPLY AWESOME

5 STSRTS CAR

• oversight (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 5:30 pm

peYno said,

January 22, 2007 @ 7:46 pm

nizam80, tats the differnt btw advance country ppl taste and malaysian ah beng taste..prrrfthhh

ore mo nihon de 6 nen kan sundeimashita… nihon jin no konomi (kuruma no koto) yoku wakatteimasyo

kewl

————————————————————

ara,ara mukatsuke na omae wa! nihongo o hanasu, nihon de doko ni sunde imashita ka? ii na

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 24, 2007 at 12:00 am

hmm.. savvy new grille seems more favourable.. y not do a photoshop chop on it.. savvy grille on waja's nose.. sharper headlamps.. foglights.. more stylish front bumper to suit restyle grille.. new rear lamp replacing d c*ck like rear lamp.. 1st gen rear lamp is find.. y not try peugeot + bmw + merc lamp?? hehe.. steering wheel looks cheap wit its aluminium like northern hemisphere.. side profile looks nicest n most consistent on a waja but i'm sure its getting boring throughout d yrs.. maybe a more daring side skirts or door handles.. i'm sure quite number of us miss theophilus chin's (hope i spell it right) photoshop. hmm.. n other talents also.. maybe shuld share some photoshop chops ere also.. like www.carspyshots.net.

other car makers usually improve cars quality, drivability, safety, economy upon new facelifts.. versions.. hope proton pratice this too..

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 24, 2007 at 7:17 am

toritori,

Typical Malaysian always finding other people faults even there are no faults, they will create their own version. Power windows is not necessary for other countries. Besides how many times we usually use the rear windows? beside that the car is fully air-conditioned? I think only smokers and of course it would be the driver will lower down their power windows. I think those who require power windows at the back has a smoking school children…. Wargh wargh wargh

protonGL!! jeremy is a typical Englishman… of course he will support their product, not like Malaysian busy arguing our own products….

By the way anybody know this?

All of us are fooled by government subsidies on fuel…

Please calculate this

Price petrol per barrel worldwide = USD60.00

Processing fees per barrel = USD10.00

PRICE IN TOTAL PER BARREL = USD70.00

(Exchange rate: USD1.00 = RM3.70)

Means: USD70.00 x RM3.700 = RM259.00 per barrel (in total)

Note: 1 barrel = 200 Liters…

Kira balik… RM259.00 / 200 Litres = RM1.295 (per Liter)

per litre is only RM1.295 and not RM1.92 …

No such thing as gov subsidy.. US70 for petrol and the possessing fees

is fixed by worldwide…

Any government servant please answer this….

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 24, 2007 at 10:01 am

face lift on the current ugliest car in the world in my book at least is nothing worth noting.

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Jan 24, 2007 at 10:06 pm

LOL, then why are you here commenting if you are not taking note? (scratching my head puzzling)

• coolandy (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 1:17 am

GlowJo said,

January 23, 2007 @ 11:17 pm

toritori,

Typical Malaysian always finding other people faults even there are no faults, they will create their own version. Power windows is not necessary for other countries. Besides how many times we usually use the rear windows? beside that the car is fully air-conditioned? I think only smokers and of course it would be the driver will lower down their power windows. I think those who require power windows at the back has a smoking school children…. Wargh wargh wargh

protonGL!! jeremy is a typical Englishman… of course he will support their product, not like Malaysian busy arguing our own products….

By the way anybody know this?

All of us are fooled by government subsidies on fuel…

Please calculate this

Price petrol per barrel worldwide = USD60.00

Processing fees per barrel = USD10.00

PRICE IN TOTAL PER BARREL = USD70.00

(Exchange rate: USD1.00 = RM3.70)

Means: USD70.00 x RM3.700 = RM259.00 per barrel (in total)

Note: 1 barrel = 200 Liters…

Kira balik… RM259.00 / 200 Litres = RM1.295 (per Liter)

per litre is only RM1.295 and not RM1.92 …

No such thing as gov subsidy.. US70 for petrol and the possessing fees

is fixed by worldwide…

Any government servant please answer this

I am no government servant. First of all, you should not spread rumours like an idiot does. You can google and check how many litres there is in a barrel. You can also check to find out how many % of each barrel can be refined into gasoline. How about additives in the gasoline? You think they are free of charge.

If you are a man, go do your homework and come out with the answers. Redeem yourself before I take out the big fat cane and whip your buttocks 10x for getting an F.

• toritori (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 2:20 am

coolandy said,

If you are a man, go do your homework and come out with the answers. Redeem yourself before I take out the big fat cane and whip your buttocks 10x for getting an F.

——–

Hey,

Whatever "GlowJo" posted might not be accurate in his/her calculation but I don't think he deserved to be labeled as an "idiot". You been talking like bullies or does this ego of you canning someone buttocks 10x for getting "F" makes you a "wise" person.

If you are the same "coolandy" in www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/ with the thread posted "SAVVY AMT made me look like a FOOL!" , I don't think your credibility is as good as others and what are you insinuating? I can too labeled you as a rumours monger.

Everyone is pressure about the fuel price hike, I am no mathematician we have our own crude oil and my personal point of view, our fuel price can be lowered… but if you gonna say "our fuel is the cheapest compare to others" than I have no comments.

Give someone and yourself a chance to learn.

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 5:35 am

hi, i still new here. just for comment the old savvy rear look as daihatsu charade aura if u remember the cars. i love to have one the savvy cars but the price is to high for me. what ever is i love to have one savvy cars coz i always falling love with this cars in my eyes so cute one. thank you.

• mosfet (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 7:41 am

i luv it

i might get one in near future

gud job proton

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 9:14 am

its so damn ugly and is proven a fail effort to push proton sales in most supposely big markets of protons.

and im not saying me taking note of it. but rather potential buyers. coz it still looks just as bad as it did and not many potential buyers will be swayed by this minor face lift to an ugly car. which bring you back to the point there isnt much potentials buyers to begin with. outside of malaysia.

• coolandy (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 7:12 pm

totori,

I am sorry if I upset you. At the same time, it saddens me that you did not use the opportunity to give the correct answers. You seem more angry at the person pointing out the mistakes instead of person making the mistakes.

If it is subjective things like colors or styles, I can accept it but if someone talks about non-subjective things, they'd better be prepared.

Yes, redeem yourself. Don't let false and misleading info spread. OK, I withdraw the world idiot and hide my big fat cane. Please propose substitutes.

Have a nice and cool day

• toritori (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 8:58 pm

coolandy,

I am not angry, you don't need to apologize and this is a public site,

so we agree and disagree with someone's opinion and we don't labeled

neither do we punish anyone here.

I don't even know who is "GlowJo" neither he/she knew me. I stand

where I stand and I don't care supporter or non-supporter because

he/she might been mislead, mis-calculate and anyone can comment

with respect and correct his/her comment in a polite way.

You don't need to be sad too, I DID NOT post the question and I got

"F" for my maths, that's why I keep quite. As you were saying "GlowJo"

got it wrong then you must have the correct answer to share, right?

Or, perhaps someone out there can shed some light.

We point out if there is an error (no obligation and free will) and what

I am saying we have our own "oil" in our soil (income) and I believe the

petrol we pump can be at lower price. This personal opinion is a very

simple analogy from a person like me which scored "F" for maths.

I guess "GlowJo" is a rakyat too, he got his/her rights to voice out but

maybe the calculation posted was wrong or he/she got it from somewhere

in the net that was misleading. Coupled with his/her unpolished words

I don't think he/she is spreading lies that is why in the footnote he/she said

"…Any government servant please answer this" and paultan.org required

registration to avoid anonymous post.

You too have a nice day ahead and

thanks for the cool input.

Peace

p/s Paul sorry for the off-topic. Thanks

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 9:24 pm

Still the same thing. public perception and impression still a major obstacle to handle.

People hear Proton first thing they ask is power window. Power window is a very low tech item be a vendor or a non vendor item. Though vendors can be blamed but strictly speaking vendors whom contracted by Proton are considered Proton as well.

In oil and gas industries like Shell; even though offshore contractors are not Shell people, if one of the contractors got injured during offshore though it may be a contractor problem, Shell indicative performance factor will drop. Why is this? it is because contractors working for Shell are also considered Shell people.

Though it is abit off topic but the fact remains. Once bitten twice shy.

Proton will need to go alot further than just facelifting cars that is countlessly long overdue. It is still amazing to have a iswara from the 1985 chassis running till this day with countless facelifts so called upgrades.

At the end of the day sales figure will determine whether this will work or not. The Iswara used to be the cashcow. Will the Savvy be the next cashcow? They'll need to be in the next couple of months coz Perodua Viva rumoured to be launched in March to replace the Kancil and Kenari. 600cc, 800cc & 1000cc with airbags and motor flip side mirror.

EON these days don't just sale Proton. Nowadays they sell Isuzu's and Mitsubishi's. I think they see something that we don't.

• faizulamin (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 5:26 am

i wanna that 6 spoke sport rims! huhuhuhu! mine is standard savvy sport rim la.. hey proron, can change 1 to 1 kah?

• andylkw2004 (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 5:03 pm

i cannot accept that Goverment should protect proton..

ok.. if proton still a newcomer on car manufacturer industry, then goverment should protect them… but.. almost 20years from now.. what had been done..

QC is worst.. supplier chain is even worst..

pls improved on these 2 fields before can produce goods cars.

i think proton shoulds change their supply chain .. should directly deal with the supplier without agents. Then they can cost down & compete..

if wan to survive just change the proton top management only..hehe

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Sorry guys, that's why I asked for explanation from any government servant who do the calculation. I got the email from my friends working with Oil & gas industry. He said our oil is actually one of the best quality in the world, what we did is process our oil to A1 jet fuel and then selling it abroad. later the money will be used to buy other oil from Gulf Countries. What I am mad is the statement is always "our fuel price is one of the lowest in the world". Why the government don't calculate based on our GDP? so that we could compare apple to apple. do you understand tori tori?

Imagine this what do you say if u work in London with a salary 4000 pound and spend 400 pound for fuel? compared to working in malaysia with a salary 4000 ringgit and spend 300 pound for fuel?

Do your own calculation la tori tori bcoz u r smarter than me…

• coolandy (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 5:36 pm

Earlier on, I was kinda joking and sarc a little it and some got offended. Now it seems I wasn't too far off the track.

So GlowJo would not calculate and la tori tori avoided the problem? Hmmm. Forrest Gump would have googled allright and come up with the answers.

Here are the tips again.

1 USD = RM3.60

1 BBL = USD60

How many US gallons in a barrel?

How many liters in a US gallon?

How many % of crude yield gasoline?

Please don't tell me you all are mentally challenged!

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 7:40 pm

usually 55 us gallons in a barrel

1 US gallon = 3.7854118 liters

51.4% crude yield gasoline, the rest why don't we take count?

55 x 3.7854118 x .514 = 107.013591586 liters gasoline in a barrel.

and assume 51.4% the price of a barrel is the price of gasoline, thus

of course 48.6% percent of the barrel can be yield into other products

(refer california energy website)

0.514 x US60 = US30.84= RM111.024

So, RM111.024 divided by 107.013591586 is equal to

RM/liter = 1.0374756921486659054444942363398

In the rough calculation I have mentioned about processing fees which included the fees for additives etc etc.

That's why the rough figure should be around RM1.29 per liter.

And from the calculation, we could roughly figure out how much those companies in Malaysia has forked out profits with excessive margin.

comprendre?

Thank you

"Mentally challenged guy"

• ICER (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 7:43 pm

Government still protect Proton like protect baby who still learn to walk…

Already 20 years old, still don't know how to walk smoothly… damm shame la.

Even P1 & P2 also use local supplier, why both quality difference a lot?

Is that P1 supplier is P1 own kar?

Now still can see New Proton WIra sell here… So funny…How many years Proton Wira sold till now.. The design & performance still unchange but can say also performance drop…

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 7:46 pm

Guys, we are arguing just for knowledge sharing I have no intention to annoy anybody directly nor indirectly…

I have been to 1st world countries, most of them are so called sincere in their daily business. Not like china laaa….

My stuff stuck at their custom yard, to get my stuff out I have to pay a quite so called handsome shake hand money…

I do not want our government turns to one more hungry government like C****.

Sorry once again to those who may concern.

Sincerely

"Smartass guy"

• toritori (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 8:21 pm

coolandy said,

…tori tori avoided the problem?

Aiyo, you still don't my point

1) I did not post the calculation question

2) I scored "F" for my maths, F = FAIL

Anyway, below is the best I can put it to you and it is my personal

point of view ONLY, so anyone who read this please don't take my

words for it, it is just a layman comparion and I got "F" for maths.

Z is the number of farmers working in a farm, planting corns as food.

Mr.Boss, selling raw water to them so that they can survive by

watering their corns.

For each month, Mr.Boss sell a barrel of raw water digging from

own backyard with grade A fertilizer in it but it is not suitable

for plantation, so Mr.Boss sells it to overseas with the price of

X+Y value, then import another barrel of raw water with Y value

for distribution to Z farmers.

So, with my "F" maths, I got

X+Y – Y = X

So with this X value, Mr.Boss expand and develop it in other areas

like machineries, storage space, etc for good and to prepare well

in other sectors, just in case another downturn in business.

In the other hand, Z farmers still paying the same Y value for raw

water which some can't afford it because the price for fertilizer and

seeds to plant corns, food and other neccessity is also going up

at the same time too.

In other words, it is kind of out-of-balance situation and it is hard

for the farmers to carry-on daily life. That's why I said…

"the price can be lowered"

So Glowjo, Coolandy, ForestGump, Smartass Guy and Mentally

Challenged Guy it is just opinion, comments, keep down the temper,

forgive, forget and afterall we all farmers… hehehe

FYI what we argue here is not about the maths…it is about

basic sense and balance in life.

Cheers

:)

• peYno (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 8:29 pm

ICER said,

January 27, 2007 @ 11:43 am

Already 20 years old, still don’t know how to walk smoothly… damm shame la.

Now still can see New Proton WIra sell here… So funny…How many years Proton Wira sold till now.. The design & performance still unchange but can say also performance drop…

====================================

why u need to compare P1 and P2…???

P1 is car manufacturer..manufactured dan designed in P ..whereas P2 just assemble a japanese car……..u should compare P2 with naza or toyota assembly factory in Thailand… i believe toyota in thailand quality much better than perodua eventho both r under same Brand

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 11:16 pm

ICER said,

January 27, 2007 @ 11:43 am

Already 20 years old, still don’t know how to walk smoothly… damm shame la.

============================================

ICER! Go and pop up the hood, 1996 Wira used carburetor, 2000 used

injection system from Japan 2002 onward combination of local and Japan.

Read Toyota & Hyundai history, they are like P1 too being protected for more that 30 years. P1 has only begun their R&D in 1994. Their full fledge R&D only started after 1998. That was what I recalled from R&D open day last 2 years. And compare their manpowersize, they are 20 times bigger than P1, so that's why P1 could not able to produce new model every year.

I have friends working with P2, they said P2 are not allowed to make major change. Like MyVi, look at the original design from Toyota Sirion/Daihatsu Boon. Their tailgate design much much better then MyVi. They are just like a slave la or prisoner…

• coolandy (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 11:54 pm

Thanks for trying. First of all, I am not in the least upset; full of JEST, yes.

A simple google on "How many litrers per barrel etc" would return the following

I Petroleum Barrel = 42 US Gallons = 159 Litres

30 – 50% of crude can be refined into Gasoline = High price products

The rest are a lot cheaper, including base oil and tar etc = Low price products

Therefore I barrel = 159 liters

If I barrel of crude = USD60 x 3.6 = RM228

The crude alone costs 228/159 = RM1.43

So if you are the towkay and only 50% of the crude can result in petrol, how much do you think i litre of gasoline costs? Don't forget about refining, additives, transportation, evaporation etc cost and you will start to get the real picture.

As for me, I wouldn't settle for anything less than RM2.80

Have a nice and cool day.

Thanks Paul for your understanding.

• coolandy (Member) on Jan 28, 2007 at 12:04 am

GlowJo

How can?

55 x 3.7854118 x .514 = 107.013591586 ???????

Adooooi, sorry have to give you F. You maths teacher must be sad. The way you calculate, are you sure the customs people songlap your money?

Jangan mare, have a cool weekend.

• pkimalaysia (Member) on Jan 28, 2007 at 12:41 am

i think this new savvy is smart+stylo+affordable.but i dont like the rear back seat of savvy,the back roof nearly touch your head,its not good 4 bigger person..the amt is cool,just 4 lady nak eksen mcm pandai bwk kte manual..

• ICER (Member) on Jan 28, 2007 at 2:59 am

peYno said,

why u need to compare P1 and P2…???

P1 is car manufacturer..manufactured dan designed in P ..whereas P2 just assemble a japanese car……..u should compare P2 with naza or toyota assembly factory in Thailand… i believe toyota in thailand quality much better than perodua eventho both r under same Brand

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

GlowJo said,

ICER! Go and pop up the hood, 1996 Wira used carburetor, 2000 used

injection system from Japan 2002 onward combination of local and Japan.

Read Toyota & Hyundai history, they are like P1 too being protected for more that 30 years. P1 has only begun their R&D in 1994. Their full fledge R&D only started after 1998. That was what I recalled from R&D open day last 2 years. And compare their manpowersize, they are 20 times bigger than P1, so that’s why P1 could not able to produce new model every year.

I have friends working with P2, they said P2 are not allowed to make major change. Like MyVi, look at the original design from Toyota Sirion/Daihatsu Boon. Their tailgate design much much better then MyVi. They are just like a slave la or prisoner…

To peYno & GlowJo,

Didn't you see I mention the quality of supplier?

P1, P2 even Naza, this 3 company using local supplier!

From the car their made, a big quality diferrence.

But Proton part quality is the worse among 3 company… Why their part quality can't improve? QC problem? like that so easy become QC of P1..

I also have friends wrk with P1, they said P1 QC very lose and easily pass the low quality part. => like that I better become supplier of P1 and easy earn money from P1.

Suddenly you compare P1 with Toyota & Hyundai …Haha. P1 & Toyota just look like nyamuk compare with gajah!

Please compare with local manufacture…P2 & Naza la…

If you want compare with Toyota.

Did P1 using any ISO? I say nope…. But if you refer Toyota System, TS:16949…Does P1 have a similary system as Toyota…?

The answer is Nope.

Because P1 mana ada good system same as Toyota. But did P1 willing to develop it? Already 20 years old liao… don't have good system meh.

P1 R&D begun 1994, mean P1 R&D have 10 years more experience..but what outcome from R&D..? Any new technology from P1 R&D? Campro engin only ar? Any development else? Can they develop?

Answer will be nope?

• Aalloonngg (Member) on Jan 28, 2007 at 8:26 am

In my opinion, I think this car has an image that projects amazing attitude. First impression = very convincing. (Perhaps it is like judging a book by its cover.) If one looks at it, likes it, wants to buy it,,, then go ahead. ABS: very useful & important. SRS: a big bonus. AMT: also a bonus. ;)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 1:47 am

ICER,

Compare Toyota with P1? … Huh, huh, …….

Toyota have "steely jaw" vs. P1 has "soft crab shell"!

• peYno (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 3:19 am

Toyota only Juara Kampung in SEA
    http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/404726
    only 3rd world ppl in Malaysia will still think toyota is the most reliable japanese cars… prrrfthhh

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 7:55 pm

peyno mate,

your discovery frm lowyat forum is so conflicting with this http://used-cars.autos.yahoo.com/consumerreports/…

so who is speaking the truth?

but based on total sales of toyota in EU, North America and Japan already the numbers speak for themselves. if its not reliable, i doubt consumers will go back like Pepsi motto 'Ask For More'.

• antaras (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 1:55 am

from WIKI… "It(TOYOTA) is also the world's eighth largest company by revenue. Many independent analysts believe Toyota will become the world's largest automaker in the 2007 calendar-year, by reaching a stated goal of producing 9.4 million vehicles, or at least no later than 2008." Lexus are also sub of Toyota and they are the best selling luxury cars in North America. Surely those meant something rite? Anyway, dudes… can you guys please give the numbers thingy a rest? All those numbers and barrels are giving me bad dreams! :D chill aight?

• andylkw2004 (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 4:06 am

everybody need to struggle include Proton…

juz sum time, proton is over protected by government.. & people become lazy & Quality control become worst.

maybe proton should merged with TOYOTA QC department in order to gain back their bussiness..

all they have to do is managed their 3Q, 3 quality of management, supplier quality chain & quality control on parts.

proton can't improved as long as 3Q not improved..

meanwhile for R & D side,proton should be independat already.. but still no improvement.

TOYOTA corp already become 1 of the major player in car industry coz their managed 3 Q well.

proton top management such as CEO, Director should resign & hired for the foreign CEO to saved proton again..

government should be free thinker that proton managing director suppose had the right key person & not just focussing on the managing director is just for the malaysians citizens only..

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 9:36 am

the second savvy its fast drop the price to be lower….even after one year used. plan to get 2nd hand one. will get half price such as new one.

• ys (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 4:53 pm

er…quite comment for car like savvy have no 2nd hand value. try to drive a tiara, juara or savvy to second hand car deller and ask for the buying price then you will just continue to drive these stupid car. Buang longkang.

we, consumer, sometimes must be smart when choicing a car.

PROTON?? sorry man, i rather buy a second hand nissan.

• peYno (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 9:51 pm

nowadays.. even kancil and wira hv no 2nd value.. coz so many new models come out, 2nd hand ..still a 2nd hand..no matter savvy, kancil or wira

• coolandy (Member) on Feb 05, 2007 at 6:20 am

If I had known that Savvy with Airbags and ABS will be launched one month before I bought the myvi, I would have waited.

• SuperSuckers (Member) on Feb 07, 2007 at 9:55 pm

Aiyohhh, where did they find the calculation eh??? Straightforward mathematics? Is it simple like that eh? Want to take soil sample for makin a platform also at the sea cost about RM 60,000.00 daily (rough figure). My last visit to the refinery also sparks some curiosity to the worker there… even Malaysian oil is exported to outsider coz it is very quality and we buy from other country to suits the cost here..hmmm…they say things differently lahhh…to believe which side the man in the business of makin the oil or the man in their daily life see things from rumours spreading in the internet…(I’m just a 3years experienced driller on MV…)

• v (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 11:33 pm

albagmane…

do u realize sumthing………more than 80% cars on the road are proton cars….how bad they are, the malaysian are continuosly support them…juz people like u'll damage the credibility of a giant company of m'sia. b +ve … if everyone giving ideas on better car design/engine instead of condem them, im sure ,they'll make better ……..

• xxrrxx2002 (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 12:54 am

I really don't understand the mentality of some who love to bash proton anytime, anywhere, anyhow (just by stupid assumptions and herd-like mentality- does this mean all P2 supporters are a herdy-lot?). I'll always prefer a Proton against a P2 car. For me, it's all about feel. Myvi doesn't feel adequate, at times, it feels cheap and outdated, a Savvy on the other hand is well-built, although not as spacious as the Myvi, (which btw, only differs by the slightest of margin), is more up-to-date in its technology and design. Myvi owners may argue, but I have my points too, you know?