Mercedes-Benz S400 BlueHybrid officially unveiled!

Mercedes-Benz S400 BlueHybrid

So you’ve got the moolah and want to make a green statement. Other than rigging up your large bungalow’s roof with plenty of solar panels, how else can you show how much you’re into the whole save the environment movement? Your car of course. The Prius is too plebian and the LS600h is too Japanese. Here comes the boys at Stuttgart to the rescue with the Mercedes-Benz S400 BlueHybrid.

The Mercedes-Benz S400 BlueHybrid is based on the S350 but adds an electric motor and also the first application of a lithium ion battery in a production car, for a combined NEDC fuel consumption of 7.9 litres per 100km (up by 2.2 litres per 100km compared to the S350) and emissions of 190g/km.

Because of the high-voltage electric components that have been added to the car, Mercedes-Benz engineers have added what they call a “7-stage safety concept”.

1) All wiring is colour coded and marked with safety instructions.
2) Comprehensive contact protection via insulation and newly developed dedicated connectors.
3) Battery is enclosed in high-strength steel housing. Battery cells are bedded in a special gel to dampen any knocks. Battery has a blow-off vent, a rupture disc and a separate cooling circuit. Battery conditions are continuously monitored for safety.
4) Separation of battery terminals, individual safety-wiring for all high-voltage components. In event of malfunction, the entire high-voltage system is switched off.
5) Active discharging of high-voltage system when ignition is off.
6) During accident, high-voltage system is quickly switched off within fractions of a second.
7) Continuous monitoring for short circuits.

The 3.5 litre V6 from the S350 now runs on the Atkinson cycle and is tuned to produce 279 horsepower (via a new cylinder head, different pistons and a modified camshaft and cam control) and is aided by an electric motor rated for 20 horsepower and a starting torque of 160Nm. Combined torque output for the petrol engine and electric motor is 385Nm, the equivalent of a conservatively-tuned 4.0 litre engine, so you could say the S400 deserves its badge.

Unlike other petrol-electric hybrids which typically use a CVT transmission, the S400 BlueHybrid uses the 7G-TRONIC seven speed automatic transmission. The electric motor also functions as a device for brake energy regeneration for the lithium ion battery, and a starter for the combustion engine, allowing start-stop ability for further fuel savings. The start-stop function is switched off in Reverse gear to prevent it from repeatedly turning on and off during maneuvers such as parking.

Look after the jump for a hi-res gallery of the S400 BlueHybrid.

PHOTO GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz S400 BlueHybrid
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:84]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 11:33 am

Not a bad looking hybrid

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 11:47 am

Lovely…

• azrai (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 12:04 pm

Blue..

• engdau (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 12:15 pm

Wow…wow…wow… Nowadays, almost all car manufacturers have come out with their respective Hybrid or electronic cars. These technologies are improving over time. A Ha…. How about the the engine run partly by using water? Suddenly, it becomes so quiet. From my understanding, that’s one car co located in Johor with their acclaimed “LMG Light Pick-Up” using the water for its engine. Now, dying already…..?…..

Until now, Honda Malaysia has yet to release the revised pricing for their Honda Civic Hybrid despite a drop in the excise duty and import tax started from Sept 1, 08.

Personally, it’s great to own a hybrid car. However, consumers are more conscious on the maintenance cost to own a hybrid car. Charging and replacement of hybrid battery and etc.

I’m observing how far the technology has improved over time. May be, I can own this type of car. Just may be another 15 to 20 years away from now.

• ask82 (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 12:43 pm

I guess by 2012,HYBRID Tech in Auto will be mainstream.All manufacturers will have their solutions plus the fact by 2014,Mechanics and Technicians will be able to install on gasoline based cars and you know like customization and engine fitting and upgrades of engines nowadays.I it will be like adding an AC to the car or installing a new music player.THIS tech is moving fast.

• mct (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 3:01 pm

This hybrid electric motor are way to small compare to the size of the car
    even the civic hybrid have a more powerful motor and honda claim it is for assit only such small sedan(compare to s class ) also used as assit ,this big size sedan used that small electric motor for what ???

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 9:01 pm

Nice meter panel

• ragnahse (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 9:28 pm

off topic….
    http://sg.news.yahoo.com/afp/20080918/tap-malaysia-transport-taxi-0193655.html

talks about malaysian taxi service rated worst among 23 countries…n these taxi drivers must be shown who;s te real boss…sigh..damn fools…

• pekan (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 10:29 pm

great!

btw they just rolled out S500 today. the first assembled in pekan plant. quiet a simple ceremony.

all i can say is the ground clearance is much higher than the usual S Class and the OTR price is RM1.5 million.

sigh.. i’ll just stick to my kancil.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 5:12 pm

finally, a hybrid car that doesnt look too ugly

• justin (Member) on Sep 20, 2008 at 1:24 am

electric motor has a flat torque curve i.e. able to produce a constant torque from idle. should be good for a car of this size

• Altezzar (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 11:49 am

yawnn…..old new……. Lexus LS600H is far more advance the Merc.
    7G gearbox pllsss……..Lexus uses 8 Speed……