VIDEO: Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk6 Driving Shots

Golf GTI

We’ve already seen photos of the Mark 6 Golf GTI (which Volkswagen calls a concept BTW), but there’s nothing like watching a car in motion, looking at how its wheels spin, how the sky plays tricks on its shiny paint, and most importantly listening to its engine note. Look after the jump for over 4 minutes of video footage of a red Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk6 being put through its paces in the countryside.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mac_labuan (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 6:49 am

1st ….nicelooking car..hope 2 c in malaysia soon…

• ignas (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 7:57 am

2nd….but still gonna be costly here…

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:05 am

i just CANT WAIT for this!!…

• rosdi (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:50 am

There goes my money for Mini Cooper……

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 2:12 pm

i really wonder what are the improvements over the Mk5, especially since the “5” was already such a complete car.

• pepper (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 2:39 pm

I guess the price won’t be over 250k.. So i think it’s still a value-for-money car.. Such a gorgeous car !!!

• droll (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 3:33 pm

i don’t know, guys. i have my reservations about the front. looks kinda “gay” (and i don’t mean happy) for the lack of a better word!

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 3:49 pm

The rims only suit MK5
    BTW, is it GTI only come with 3 doors only or comes with an option with 5 doors? Anyone?
    I’m prefer 5 doors (such as a previous saloon Skyline GTR then, but available in Japan only!)

• tikus (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 4:21 pm

At Bolehland will cost your arm and leg. Only rich can enjoy it normal rakyat just see it at showroom window…( See only, dont get).Keep on buying Protong, Rakyat .

Malaysia Boleh,NAP Boleh.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 4:44 pm

tikus said,

October 20, 2008 @ 4:21 pm

At Bolehland will cost your arm and leg. Only rich can enjoy it normal rakyat just see it at showroom window…( See only, dont get).Keep on buying Protong, Rakyat .

Malaysia Boleh,NAP Boleh.
    ———————————————————-

do you actually believe that without the current high tax rates on imported cars, everyone can actually afford to buy one of these cars?

you definitely need a new maths teacher.

• aki_zz (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 6:27 pm

looks like a toned down scirocco to me…

• shianghorng (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 8:02 pm

Purchase more Proton!

Crash and Die real soon.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 8:08 pm

aki_zz said,

October 20, 2008 @ 6:27 pm

looks like a toned down scirocco to me…
    ———————————-
    who cares, i want one anyways

• szw (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 8:31 pm

not my cup of tea.
    i rather have the scirocco which looks way better and it cost almost the same too…
    scirocco is lighter , better fuel economy all dat crap…
    y GTi ?
    but if i have the money for cars this size , i will pick a 135i w/o hasitate…
    one of the best handling hatch on the market…

• droll (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:05 pm

oh and by the way, those seat fabrics….sheesh, they look like something straight out of Mr. Bean wardrobe’s!

oh wait, Mr Brown of Mind Your English also comes to mind. arrrrghhh!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:48 pm

haizzz…… i dun wan this car bcoz if i had this car, i will go bankrupt due to too many “saman” for exceeding speed limit far beyond…. i wont be able to control my-self with this machine….

• hamster (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:26 pm

get the 1.4 TSI then… :-p

• csv (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:13 am

i’ll take the previous one, nicer seat and design, pretty damn complete like someone said. but we’ll see how this new generation ups the notch on a already fantastic car.

• tikus (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 8:51 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

So you know that’s the tax rate for CBU Car then ? Pls do find out.And let me know…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:13 pm

szw said,

October 20, 2008 @ 8:31 pm

not my cup of tea.
    i rather have the scirocco which looks way better and it cost almost the same too…
    scirocco is lighter , better fuel economy all dat crap…
    y GTi ?
    but if i have the money for cars this size , i will pick a 135i w/o hasitate…
    one of the best handling hatch on the market…
    ————————————————————-
    gti has 5 seats, bigger boot. i do hope the next gti will also be around rm200k, the wald versions were expensive

• aki_zz (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 11:31 pm

the seat fabrics follows the mk1 golf gti seat pattern. that is why it looks like that. i hope it is an option, i’d rather have leather seats although in malaysia it means hot bottoms, hehe

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:19 pm

i prefer the tartans

• generix (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 1:30 am

hehey… what we have here??
    the new mk6…

sumthing is not rite with this mk6 compared to the mk5. maybe the new scirocco have taken the lime light from the mk6.

but i still love the golf gti.. it is my dream machine

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 5:26 am

i am getting really bored with Golf GTi variant now… nothing excel