SEAT Ibiza ECOMOTIVE does 2.9L per 100km

SEAT Ibiza ECOMOTIVE

SEAT claims that its SEAT Ibiza ECOMOTIVE is the most “ecological” car in its segment. The car driven by Austrian long-haul specialist Gerhard Plattner’s 1.4 litre TDI engine (with a peak output of 80 horses) travelled a distance of 1,562km across Spain, France and Germany on a single tank of fuel.

The exact amount used was 45.53 litres, calculated from topping up the fuel to the same level after the drive and measuring how much fuel went in. The car travelled under the supervision of the International Police Motor Corporation and cruised along at speeds of up to 110km/h along motorways in Spain and France. 1,562km from 45.53 litres is about 34.3km per litre, or about 2.9 litres per 100km. That model Ibiza’s rated fuel consumption was 3.7 litres per 100km, so 2.9 litres is impressive.

Remember the Nissan Lightfoot Quest? In that competition, a 1.6 manual Grand Livina was claimed to have managed just a little over 36km per litre of petrol, which is slightly more than this advanced turbodiesel engine manage. So is the basic 1.6 litre engine without any variable valve timing in the Nissan more fuel efficient than Volkswagen’s 1.4 TDI? It makes the Nissan results a little more than hard to believe.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• CFA28 on May 06, 2009 at 2:58 am

To me, the Nissan test is not very credible and to date, the feat cannot be repeated. In order to be credible, the feat must be able to be repeated, else, its just luck or perhaps, cheating such as shutting of the engine will goiing downhill.

I am the first – HA

• [quote comment="236017"]To me, the Nissan test is not very credible and to date, the feat cannot be repeated. In order to be credible, the feat must be able to be repeated, else, its just luck or perhaps, cheating such as shutting of the engine will goiing downhill.

I am the first – HA[/quote]

agree!

• anonymous on May 06, 2009 at 3:58 am

[quote comment="236017"]To me, the Nissan test is not very credible and to date, the feat cannot be repeated. In order to be credible, the feat must be able to be repeated, else, its just luck or perhaps, cheating such as shutting of the engine will goiing downhill.

I am the first – HA[/quote]

yay, give yourself a cookie

• Andrew on May 06, 2009 at 4:01 am

If you compare the car weight, Nissan's result can be believed (taken with a spoon of salt). Remember this is European car with heavy body and full of safety equipment, Nissan GL is just a lightweight vehicle with basic safety equipment and a "questionable" body strength. Car to car, most of european car is 100kg+ heavier than ours. Besides, Nissan light foot challenge didn't go beyond 100km/h.

• littlefire on May 06, 2009 at 4:23 am

Yup, if i not mistaken the Nissan challenge most of them drive the Max is 80km/h..

I have seen them driving around highways before, even the lorries went past them easy…

I think it can be done, it just about patient… For the VW is a very good result as they need to speed up 110km/h and also a lot of challenging road situation + also their body weight are more heavier than the Japs…

Anyway Nissan didn't claim as official result, just a competition. If it is, we sure see it in world record…

• sixspeed on May 06, 2009 at 4:31 am

This car weighs only 1084 kg, Grand Livina weighs 1256 kg so there goes that theory…

Plus this is a 3 cylinder -diesel- engine with special low rolling resistance tires and specially optimized aerodynamics, none of these advantages apply to the Nissan. I like Nissan but there was something seriously dodgy about those Lightfoot Challenge results.

• LAmborghini666 on May 06, 2009 at 4:51 am

nissan is lying, no doubt about that, if the livina is really so efficient, why havent the nissan of japan or europe done anything similiar, then whats the point of having nissan diesels

• S-Vee-Four on May 06, 2009 at 5:27 am

the car looks good leh, why no one comment about the nice front of the car?

• DorLin on May 06, 2009 at 5:32 am

wowww.. look like Gen 2 CPS!!!!

• Some comment simply accused Nissan. That's competition and never recognized as official and of course they do anything to ensure more mileage achieve in the competition AND never in real life.

I never turn off AC just to get more mileage and for long distance Nissan Livina really economical, even less than 10 sen per km. BUT l don't like to contain myself to be light foot merely to get more mileage.

Maybe paultan can arrange FC COMPETITION among MPV.

• Aniki on May 06, 2009 at 7:03 am

the nissan challenge is an unfair and not realistic result… d winner jack up one side to allow d more petrol to go in and then after travel to the finish line they pump in normally… so the actual fuel consumption should be higher… in order to make a realistic result the organiser should drain out all the petrol and refuel with let say 40-50 liter of petrol… when finish the journey drain out the remaining petrol and measure how much petrol left…

• driving at 50kmh is different from 110 kmh…the wind resistance is so much more. but nissan result is cheating bcos if u drive 50kmh at plus highway…u are endangering other's lives…not practical

over here..seat proves that the mileage can be achieved in practical driving conditions.

• Black Dog on May 06, 2009 at 8:05 am

Nissan's result is not convincing. The 1st & 2nd is so much difference. Hard to believe.

• pontiac lovers on May 06, 2009 at 8:37 am

nice great job.. damn u nissan

• aiya, its a competition, no one said it was official, we should just take the results as a "unlikely possibility"

other than that, Nissan's car generally do give good mileage.

this seat on the other hand is nice…..

• normal_user on May 06, 2009 at 4:46 pm

Even a prius can only do 5L/100km & Civic Hybrid 6L/100km over practical driving conditions.

Then why is there so much hype about hybrids? We should go for diesel.. But its helpless considering our stone-aged Govt policy.

• Automotive_Critics on May 06, 2009 at 4:48 pm

Switch to NGV is better solution for this argument. Both Nissan and Seat are cheating. Call for cheapest NGV conversion in Town. Loc Bangi.

• bmpower on May 06, 2009 at 5:52 pm

I don't believe both!.

but i do not believe in seat more than nissan.

Seat just so desperate just like others euro car. They are facing carpocalypse now. To sell or to bankrupt. That's all about.

• jamsbong on May 06, 2009 at 6:01 pm

I find those news of TDI engines making incredible fuel efficiency is bias. Why? Just look at the conditions, The car that made these incredible numbers did it by travelling on relatively smooth road with no hills and constant speed.

We know that a car requires lots of power to accelerate and looses it all again when braked. So if such conditions is minimise i.e. driving constantly in a freeway, the car then only has to deal with drag. Drag is a function of Velocity^2. Put that into sense it means if you drive at 140km/h you need twice as much power as compared to driving at 100km/h. Thus by driving just a bit slower, you'll save heaps of fuel.

A Hybrid can achieve their quoted 5L/100km at normal congested city driving. for a fair competition lets compete in city driving, TDI vs Hybrid and we'll see who will win.

• Aniki on May 06, 2009 at 6:16 pm

ya… convert to NGV is the best solution… now my milege is 7cents/km… if convert to petrol means 3.88L/100km… or 25.71km/L…

• Aniki on May 06, 2009 at 6:18 pm

oh my previous milege is 9.05km/L or 11.05L/100km or 20cents/km…

• CFA28 on May 06, 2009 at 6:27 pm

only problem with NGV is that u lose a lot of boot space. Other than that, have long waiting queue but if u time the fueling time early in the morning or later at nite, its ok.

But the boot space is a major issue. Just look at the so-called airport limo for Waja, have more than 3 bahs, sorry, wont fit it cos of the gas tank.

• Automotive_Critics on May 06, 2009 at 6:58 pm

[quote comment="236164"]only problem with NGV is that u lose a lot of boot space. Other than that, have long waiting queue but if u time the fueling time early in the morning or later at nite, its ok.

But the boot space is a major issue. Just look at the so-called airport limo for Waja, have more than 3 bahs, sorry, wont fit it cos of the gas tank.[/quote]

There is various choice of NGV tank these day's. Look to factory fitted NGV tank for new accent. It's small and space saving. Try to drop by many NGV shops but please keep in mind things won't change unless sacrifice at least a bit.

• The winner definitely has 'cheated' to win by switch off aircond most of the time, lesser load save fuel. And Nissan Malaysia didn't care to clear the doubt but instead use it for marketing gimmick. and there could be a lot of downhill driving for this Seat Spain to Germany test too.

Fuel consumption test is always bias in some way, winner gets the price, automaker gets the pride. Take those as a guideline for your next car purchase would be more appropriate than to find out which has the lowest consumption. The lowest consumption is bicycle.

• gen2lama on May 06, 2009 at 8:30 pm

[quote comment="236142"]Switch to NGV is better solution for this argument. Both Nissan and Seat are cheating. Call for cheapest NGV conversion in Town. Loc Bangi.[/quote]

agreed ….1+ year on NGV……so so economical….RM9.00 for240km…..refilling? so far so good…even sometime faster than petrol pum

so if nissan can do 36km per litter…….petronas NGV station cannot cari makan maa…

• gen2lama on May 06, 2009 at 8:39 pm

[quote comment="236164"]only problem with NGV is that u lose a lot of boot space. Other than that, have long waiting queue but if u time the fueling time early in the morning or later at nite, its ok.

But the boot space is a major issue. Just look at the so-called airport limo for Waja, have more than 3 bahs, sorry, wont fit it cos of the gas tank.[/quote]

HEEEHHE just saw one innova last week…using 2 small tanks installed on spare tyre compartment…..so still have the 3rd row….

use thulebox for extra luggage

space is not a major problem for me..still can bring stroller with my gen2

• Black Dog on May 06, 2009 at 8:57 pm

[quote comment="236181"][quote comment="236142"]Switch to NGV is better solution for this argument. Both Nissan and Seat are cheating. Call for cheapest NGV conversion in Town. Loc Bangi.[/quote]

agreed ….1+ year on NGV……so so economical….RM9.00 for240km…..refilling? so far so good…even sometime faster than petrol pum

so if nissan can do 36km per litter…….petronas NGV station cannot cari makan maa…[/quote]

Petronas cannot cari makan?? Are you joking?? The long queue for NGV has been going on for upteen years but Petronas never bother to equip more stations with NGV. Try ask any NGV owner or taxi driver, you will know. Spending 30 minutes just to queue for NGV! It's a BIG JOKE!

• tokmoh on May 07, 2009 at 8:28 am

[quote comment="236189"][quote comment="236181"][quote comment="236142"]Switch to NGV is better solution for this argument. Both Nissan and Seat are cheating. Call for cheapest NGV conversion in Town. Loc Bangi.[/quote]

so if nissan can do 36km per litter…….petronas NGV station cannot cari makan maa…[/quote]

Petronas cannot cari makan?? Are you joking?? The long queue for NGV has been going on for upteen years but Petronas never bother to equip more stations with NGV. Try ask any NGV owner or taxi driver, you will know. Spending 30 minutes just to queue for NGV! It's a BIG JOKE![/quote]

Then ask all taxi to convert to nissan lor.

• gen2lama on May 07, 2009 at 4:26 pm

[quote comment="236189"][quote comment="236181"][quote comment="236142"]Switch to NGV is better solution for this argument. Both Nissan and Seat are cheating. Call for cheapest NGV conversion in Town. Loc Bangi.[/quote]

Petronas cannot cari makan?? Are you joking?? The long queue for NGV has been going on for upteen years but Petronas never bother to equip more stations with NGV. Try ask any NGV owner or taxi driver, you will know. Spending 30 minutes just to queue for NGV! It's a BIG JOKE![/quote]

i've been using ngv for more than a year…so far dont have to q for 30 minutes….just look at petronas UPM station…..how long the q? there r many more to come…around pasar borong selangor (equine) both petronas will be ready for ngv (but dont know when)…

now i can balik kg almost every week…..very cheap maaa….fill full tank (RM9) at UPM can last till Tol Air Hitam johor…and there is one NGV station just 1 km from the tol…..still no many people use NGV there so i dont have to q….

next – NGV MPV…..

• Andrew on May 07, 2009 at 9:01 pm

[quote comment="236142"]Switch to NGV is better solution for this argument. Both Nissan and Seat are cheating. Call for cheapest NGV conversion in Town. Loc Bangi.[/quote]

How many miles can a full tank of NGV go? I wonder…

• Aniki on May 07, 2009 at 11:16 pm

yaya… if u got all the data in ur gps u can easily find a NGV station without any problem… normally i went to some fav station to refill… if long queue then go for the other 1…

• Luqman on May 07, 2009 at 11:47 pm

[quote comment="236158"]I don't believe both!.

but i do not believe in seat more than nissan.

Seat just so desperate just like others euro car. They are facing carpocalypse now. To sell or to bankrupt. That's all about.[/quote]

Where do you get these informations ? The big losers in the current recession is Toyota. They announced the first ever losses in the company history, together with temporary closure of 12 assembly plants and 13 parts factories. Sales of the iconic Prius are 50% down in the USA.

Sales in the USA: Toyota 37% down, VW 14.4% down

• gen2lama on May 08, 2009 at 12:31 am

[quote comment="236507"]yaya… if u got all the data in ur gps u can easily find a NGV station without any problem… normally i went to some fav station to refill… if long queue then go for the other 1…[/quote]

will be getting my gps very soon…free from proton..

luckly all my fav station dont have too many users. and with the current petrol price….the number of ngv user wont increase drasticly…heehehe

to Andrew, my 65ltr tank can last 220km..but i'm planing to add 1 more small tank..more km …