Nissan Lightfoot Quest Competition Results

small_logo_nissan.jpgThe Nissan Lightfoot Quest 2008 was held over the weekend and produced some very impressive results. A total of 40 Nissan owners joined the competition. Participant cars included 12 Nissan Latio, 6 Nissan Latio Sport, 16 Nissan Grand Livina and 6 Nissan Sylphy.

The record holder for mileage during the competition was a Nissan Grand Livina 1.8 automatic which only used 3.19 litres for the 180.5km journey from Holiday Inn Glenmarie Shah Alam to Impiana Casuarina Hotel Ipoh! That’s 56.5831 km per litre! The second highest mileage was a Latio 1.8 automatic which used 4.787 litres, or 37.7063 km per litre.

Category Model Top-up Fuel KM/Litre
1.6 Manual Grand Livina 5.005 litres 36.0639
1.6 Auto Grand Livina 5.815 litres 31.0404
1.8 Auto Grand Livina 3.190 litres 56.5831
2.0 Auto Sylphy 6.195 litres 26.5636
Best Latio Latio 1.8Ti (A) 4.787 litres 37.7063
Best Grand Livina Grand Livina 1.8 (A) 3.190 litres 56.5831

This shows a few things: Nissan cars can be extremely economical if you drive them a certain way (the participants were educated on how to save fuel through economic driving techniques before embarking on the journey, plus there was a monetary reward for the best fuel economy so the driving situation may not be what any of us would consider driving within reasonably normal situations), and larger engines does not necessarily mean higher fuel consumption. The Nissans equipped with the 1.8 litre MR18DE engine seemed to clock better fuel economy in the competition.

Larger, more powerful engines do not need to work as hard as smaller engines so they can end up having equal or sometimes better fuel economy as smaller engines, but you still retain the larger amount of power reserve on tap.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kingv6 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 11:10 am

Paul, do u have info on of the technique on how the participant should drive economically…

I would love to have that piece of info

• megadisc (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 11:34 am

i would love to see how much fuel is used when driving from
    johor kastam to singapore checkpoint during peak hours at 6.30am.
    that would be lagi syok babe !

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 11:37 am

U sure it’s 56.5831km/liter? This is unbelievable. It’s even far more amazingly out beat the i-DSi City. Wonder what will be their driving type like? Cruising @ 80km/h with rpm < 2k? And why the Latio will cost more than the Livina? I thought Livina should heavier tho.

• armandd (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 11:38 am

i wonder how is that possible?!

• adil2008 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:04 pm

Impressive figure, looking good, but just want to know what speed there drive? below 90km/h? or cruise between 80 to 90 km/h? off air cond or on air cond?

• Paul Tan on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:06 pm

It was not revealed how they drive, plus they changed the scrutineers from MAA to “National Union of Journalists”… whoever that bunch might be.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:09 pm

I find the 56KM/litre for the 1.8L hard to believe. The way of calculation is questionable. There’s a big 20KM/litre gap with the 1.6L model.

It was also shown somewhere that the participants did push the car to the petrol station. I wonder if that is considered cheating. For all we know, they could switch off the car completely and rely on human/gravity power at certain parts of the race.

• LHQ (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:20 pm

If you guys want to know more try to see “hypermilers” on the web and you know
    what’s probably going on in this event.
    P\S:Just use bicycle if you are so obsess with the fuel consumption.

• njsiew (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:24 pm

1) I think they must have adopted the driving technique as depicted in the Hotlink ad recently (turn off engine when going downhill) …. :-)

2) off-topic : the mathematic is atrocious. I am amazed that they are able to measure the “Top-Up Fuel” (which is different from “fuel used” depending on how full you topup the tank) to only 4 significant digits (same as the “distance travelled”). Then magically “KM/Litre” is quoted as 5 significant digits.

• njsiew (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:25 pm

Oops, the “KM/Litre” is actually on 6 significant digits (even worse).

• sudha (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:26 pm

Amazing..I really wonder how that Grand Livina driver drove his way to the top.

I myself drive a 17 year old Nissan Bluebird with a SR20 engine. Till today, that car gives me a mind boggling mileage of almost 600km for every 55 litres of fuel

The best i’ve done is a trip down to JB on full tank, driving almost everywhere and back to KL with mileage of 723km….before the light flashed.

That was roughly 6.9 liters per 100km and my fuel cost is 0.19 / km. But on a daily basis, my fuel consumption is about 8.5l/100km or abt 23sen/km. That is based on 650km average mileage (city driving) for every 55ltr of petrol i pump.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 2:06 pm

I bet the dude driving the 1.8 Livina turned off the engine when going downhill, and drove so slow he took 4 years to reach Ipoh.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 2:24 pm

56KM per L means I only need about 4 L to reach Ipoh …err 3.19L x RM2.70 = RM8.62.

Wow…cannot believe la. Maybe they dropped by Tanjong Malim and fill up RM30 bucks petrol but with the intention to buy Yik Mun paus…..

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 3:05 pm

Even the 7 speed CVT 1.5L iDSi City also cannot get this figure. I doubt how a 1.8L Nissan-Renault engine mated with a 4 speed gearbox can give such figure. This figure can compete with the Hybrid cars. Are they using the Livina 1.8L hybrid on this contest?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 3:18 pm

compete with hybrid cars? no chance at all.. stop all the R&D on hybrids ASAP… hybrid 0 – 1 nissan livina 1.8(A)

toyota prius, possibly the best hybrid on the market currently(2 times the price of this livina).. does about 65MPG, which is about 104.6km per 4.54 litres. on the same amount of fuel, the livina will do 254.6km for 4.54litres of fuel.

the best “eco diesel” on the market in europe today, a 1.4tdi from SEAT does about 70MPG… which is about 112km for 4.54 litres of diesel.

• monkeysam99 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 3:39 pm

Maybe they use hands to push the cars, or use another lorry to pull the cars, that’s how they achieve 56km/l, haha…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 3:54 pm

“Larger, more powerful engines do not need to work as hard as smaller engines so they can end up having equal or sometimes better fuel economy as smaller engines, but you still retain the larger amount of power reserve on tap.Larger, more powerful engines do not need to work as hard as smaller engines so they can end up having equal or sometimes better fuel economy as smaller engines, but you still retain the larger amount of power reserve on tap”

I wholeheartedly agree. Small cars with small engines are not necessarily fuel savers like most people believe or claim, for highway and/or traffic use.

People must learn to grasp the concept of choosing the right car for the right driving purposes. Bigger engines do not necessarily equal heavier petrol consumption. Most of it also depends on a person’s discipline of foot/pedal control.

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 3:59 pm

the general idea to drive economically is purely by looking at engine torque curves… always drive within the peak torque rpm of every gear change (and do not push the car hard on 1st and 2nd gear coz it consumes a lot on standstill pickup)… even if its going uphill, maintain peak torque rpm and do press the accelerator harder even if ur speed slows down… by mathematical terms, peak torque means u get the most torque (power) vs rpm (engine rotations – each rotation consumes a certain amount of fuel)…

having a bigger engine usually means its having a better torque at its peak torque… and also higher speed at the same rpm with the smaller engine… smaller engine might consume less liters per second (good for traffic jams), bigger engines consume more liters per second but make up for it by a higher speed at the peak torque and it means u can reach the destination faster (good for highways generally)…

correct me if i am wrong.. but thats how i train myself to drive economically when i am sane (or fuel warning lamp blinking)… well, when i am insane, then its another story ;)

btw, back to competition topic:
    1. I think they drive within peak torque…
    2. I think they throw the 3rd row seats, spare tyre, off air-cond, close window, fold the side mirrors and remove unnecessary items/accesories like windor visor, , change tyre toolkit, first aid kit etc…
    3. Might have switched off engine (not so sure becoz when u startup the engine again, it will consume more fuel to crank it up)

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 4:00 pm

typo:
    even if its going uphill, maintain peak torque rpm and do NOT press the accelerator harder even if ur speed slows down…

• dzat46 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 4:39 pm

With this kind of FC….why the need for Hybrid/eco diesel…everybody just use a grand livina or Latio….

• blackberrybloke (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 5:45 pm

these results make my fd2 look like a joke.

i thought my 22cents/km of city drive is already admirable, but apparently not!

• Kevin LeePekWei (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 6:27 pm

One important key to the competition is to significantly reduce the rolling resistance: 1) up the tyres’ pressure to the maximum listed on the sidewall. 2) use aging non-stick tyres. Hence, certain degree of safety have to be compromised here.

• ezralimm (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 6:41 pm

56.6km/L?
    = 2.7L/100km

That’s really hard to believe. Even kancils have difficulty getting that figure.

My personal record in a 1.5L CVT Jazz was 4.2L/100km or 23.8km/L … And that was driving on a highway back from the airport at a constant 70km/h @ 1300-1500rpm. No traffic at all as it was 2’ish in the morning. It was autumn so the aircond was off as well.

• kancildriver (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 8:56 pm

SORRY. I don’t believe those numbers.

• highway04 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 10:25 pm

totally bull crap

• csv (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 11:16 pm

yeah, i knew nissan could do it.

i believe all the figures except for the best grand livina.

but, you may not believe it the grand livina weighs about the same as latio. 1.2 tonnes. thats why figures are similar.

but still good proof to dis-believers that claim nissan cars sucks.

better than rip off altis anytime!

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:13 am

It’s very hard to believes the fuel consumption figures here. I doubt they might have tempered the figures to make the figures more appealing. I need proves.

• kasey (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:54 am

Not quite possible, 36.5831KM/L is more believable, further more it is an auto. If I were to translate 56.5831KM/L to MPG, it is closed to 159MPG, whereas typically a normal 1.8L auto would give you approx 35MPG (12.4KM/L) in city driving and approx 45MPG (16KM/L) in highway driving.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 9:07 am

csv, its still not entirely 100% proof. it was solely a nissan event, and we do not even know who are the people who evaluated the results..

besides, its not about which car sux or otherwise. i personally believe nissan cars have good fuel consumption, but the figures shown here are pretty hard to swallow.

be realistic, and try to imagine doing the same thing yourself, then you will understand why the disbelief. 159MPG is crazy numbers. look below please.

Peugeot 308 sets world records for fuel consumption!
    http://motortorque.askaprice.com/news/auto-0805/peugeot-308-sets-world-records-for-fuel-consumption.asp

The Peugeot 308 HDi 110 has secured a place in the 2009 Guinness Book of Records after setting two new world records for fuel consumption.

Husband and wife team John and Helen Taylor drove a completely(sic) Peugeot 308 HDi 110 hatchback on a 25-day, 9,000-mile journey around the coast of Australia, recording 1192 miles on just 60 litres of diesel fuel and an average fuel consumption of 90.75 mpg.

The Peugeot 308 HDi 110 hatchback now holds the world record for both the highest average fuel consumption on a journey, and the record for the furthest distance travelled on a full tank of fuel.

• caminos (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:11 pm

ezralimm: I believe 56.6km/L is equals to 1.766L/100km.

kasey: 56.5831km/L is 133.09mpg
    35mpg is 14.88km/L
    45mpg is 19.13km/L

• peyern (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 1:42 pm

56.6 km/L ? Then i dun mind paying RM 7.20/L for fuel.

• kasey (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 2:12 pm

Caminos,
    I am refering to UK gallon.

If we refer to the conversion table:
    1 UK gallon = 4.54609 Litres
    or 1 Litre = 0.21997 UK gallon
    also,
    1 mile = 1.609344 KM
    or 1 KM = 0.62137 mile

This was how the figures were derived.
    For the fun of it, you could try it yourself.

• kasey (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 2:24 pm

Refering to BMW’s post on the Peugeot 308 HDI, even a diesel engine driven car could not managed to break the 100 MPG or 35 KM/L mark .

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 3:33 pm

Note to Nissan – issue figures in miles/litre – it would make more senseto the majority of guys who read these items.

• ly60 (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 7:15 pm

56.6 km/L = 56.6km/RM2.70

= RM0.0477/km

I can’ believe it. It is total bullshit. Even my car running on NGV can’t get this figure.

• Bob_B78 (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 8:33 am

I believe the winner done some modification on the engine like aftermarket filters, iridium plugs, fuel savers, fuel additives, retuned the A/F ratio and fixed motorbike tyre to reduce rolling resistance. That guy’s foot on the gas must be so light that it cant even crush an ant under it. Perhaps that guy also put a sail to catch wind during the whole competition. HAHAHA

• Reznik J. (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 11:16 am

I’m a GL 1.8 owner. It seems that top up fuel based on my experienced should be 13.190 litre not 3.190 litre as reported. The GL 1.8 run 19 sen/km to 20 sen/km for long distance (RM2.70/litre). May be the report missed “1” digit for every model.

• linusfran (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 12:11 am

reznik guess you figured the smoking gun!!…they did miss out the “1” .I have been checking the FC for my 1.8 too and augurs well at about 13.8kms /liter.
    That also comes close to manufacturers claimed figure of 15kms/litre.
    I believe Nissan published the wrong results on the Nissan adverts in the local media too claming 56kms/litre..how foolish can they be..!

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 3:36 pm

local media cannot be trusted… whoever the hell they might be, they shouldn’t be the one whose marshalling the contest… should be someone from MAA or some bunch of really smart and trustworthy blokes… like automotive engineers… or any other third party marshalls… in my opinion, nissan didn’t organize this contest with honesty… might have bribe those journalist… who knows? should held the drive like those CITY iDSI drive… that’s more convincing that this claim… my MODENAS KRISS100 also cannot beat that grand livina figures for fuel consumption.. rediculous, nonsense, doubtful, crazy and stupid claim… please nissan, if you ever see this comment, be honest… i know nissan cars are very economical.. maybe even better than others… but your claim is nonsense…

• in 2006 a fuel economy event was organised by Shell in Singapore. The winners achieved dizzying heights of fuel economy.. found a blog about it on the web but the best part has been copied here

"…..Then Shell undid everything when they announced the results of the open category. They made a mockery of their own challenge and insulted all participants by allowing the results to stand. The grand prize winner clocked an astonishing and unbelievable 183 km per litre of petrol. For cars under 2 litres, the top three winners managed more than 80 km per litre of petrol. There were angry rumblings amongst the participants. Shell even emailed a letter to all participants the next day trying to pacify teams. But to me, the damage was done. It was a public relations disaster…."

see their very very flawed system of measurement was as such. cars would be filled until the first click of the pump nozzle. then off they go. Then at the end of the rally when they return, they will refill the tank till the first click of the pump nozzle again.. now as all car owners know, the first click does not always mean the tank is full. It just means that the fuel didnt go down so quick and the backflow triggered the stop valve…. but that was it.. that was their measurement of fuel usage….

even those guiness record holders of fuel economy who were present there facetiously went down on their knees and did the i'm not worthy when the results were annouced….

• ONESONONE on Oct 19, 2009 at 6:18 pm

plz double check again..

• I hope other dun be mistaken by the car fuel consumption, this scenario is base on competition. On real life world driving a livina barely can do that high km per litre. I am driving a 1.8 auto livina and i am doing only 350-380km per full tank around rm75-78 so u guys do the maths.