FN Civic Type R to be exported to Japan!

FN Civic Type R

I was just talking with some fellow motoring hacks about the fact that there are only four-door Civic Type Rs in Japan yesterday and today we have this piece of news – the 3-door Civic Type R sold in Europe will soon be sold in Japan next year. The 3-door Civic hatchback with the FN chassis (instead of Japan’s FD Civic 4-door sedan) is built at Honda’s Swindon plant in England and will be exported to Japan from there. It will be called the Honda Civic Type R EURO in Japan. The European FN Civic features a completely different body built on a different chassis that uses a torsion beam at the rear instead of an independent setup. It also uses a different interior design although the general double-decked space ship interior theme is similiar.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Tigertie on Aug 07, 2009 at 3:25 pm

Wow, now we could see how it hold itself against the FD2R, probably in a BM video shootout!

• good! don't just always import car, have to export too….good job England!

• abang faidhi on Aug 07, 2009 at 3:42 pm

hihi

• azrai on Aug 07, 2009 at 3:43 pm

The Japanese imported its own car. :-) We can get Chinese made Proton in a few years to come. Waluweh.

• solarcar on Aug 07, 2009 at 3:43 pm

torsion beam? huh?

• xde tripod daa..

handling some says dull then FD~

• fulamak ganasnyer.. the current civic on malaysian road is getting boring by the days, too many of them already. this 3 doors will be ahead turner.. kalau pasang deep dish rim mesti boleh membunoh punyer..

• xavier lert on Aug 07, 2009 at 5:29 pm

why?? down grade….?? or they wanna drive downgraded car?? this car has been proven as bad "SON" compare to the parent…so if u compare to the big bro FD2R…aihh….its sucks…..bad car that tear CiViC fans heart…..FN sucks

• MARC WARNER on Aug 07, 2009 at 5:32 pm

torsion beam? ? ? ? type r with torsion beam…. WTH

• Wak Rempit on Aug 07, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Not my piece of cake lar this car… the seketul look is not my taste, still prefer our TypeR anytime. But hey thats individual.

Torsion Beam? in a TypeR? That can't be the right spec…Honda you're kidding right?

• theanswer on Aug 07, 2009 at 5:51 pm

yeah..i'm also kinda surpise with the torsion beam set up. chepo configuration for sports car. but this car looks awesome..even tho it use torsion beam, im sure the handling gonna be sweet due to its hatch body.

• pedanglaut on Aug 07, 2009 at 6:05 pm

review by fifth gear show FD CTR 5 secs ahead FN CTR a lap..

upgrade the look but not the performance..

• Kicap on Aug 07, 2009 at 7:34 pm

This version of type-r was fully developed in UK. So, it is not a japan product. If you remember an episode in Topgear sometime ago, they did a test between this UK type-r and JDM type-r and the the JDM wins!

• newbie on Aug 07, 2009 at 8:40 pm

this one sucks, I prefer FD2 or the old EK9. See top gear review if you know what i mean.

• Mojo_IX on Aug 07, 2009 at 9:26 pm

fd type-r clearly faster when fifth gear compared them.

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 07, 2009 at 10:51 pm

Looks is great but it uses "time bomb" from HM.

• lf lm not mistaken, pug 308 turbo also torsion beam. btw l rather prefer multilink suspension in FD.

• mitlanevo on Aug 08, 2009 at 1:14 am

export to here, please!!!

this is the BEST looking Civic Type R :-)

• Chris Chong on Aug 08, 2009 at 1:46 am

Suzuki Swift Sport also uses torsion bar for the rear, but do you hear anyone complaining? No.

In fact, it's one of the best-handling hatchbacks in recent memory,

Doesn't matter what technology is used. If it works, it works.

• Euro Type R a cheap version of the FD2R, not worth your money

• Mercyside on Aug 08, 2009 at 2:50 am

Paul,

Will this car come to M'sia in the future?

• HamannE92 on Aug 08, 2009 at 4:36 am

Multilink suspension is costly and complex. It is also difficult to tune the geometry without a full 3D computer aided design analysis. Compliance under load can have an important effect and must be checked using a multibody simulation software.

• fertittabro2 on Aug 08, 2009 at 4:47 am

will it ever come to malaysia with the price cheaper than fd2r.

• tonton on Aug 08, 2009 at 7:09 am

Chris Chong

no. it is a joke.

the previous EP9 is far more better.

• Mercyside on Aug 08, 2009 at 7:26 am

Paul,

Will this model come to M'sia in the future?

• mitlanevo on Aug 08, 2009 at 7:35 am

export to here, pleaseeeeeeeeee

this is the BEST looking Civic Type R :-)

• mitlanevo on Aug 08, 2009 at 7:36 am

Honda FOREVER!!!

• Cuppy on Aug 08, 2009 at 8:49 pm

lol…jeremy clarkson gave a bad review about this car comparing to its predecessor..

• Azmi Kachak on Aug 09, 2009 at 4:40 pm

yeah finally … it's not about downgrading .. it's about the opportunity … I agree with Chris Chong … Tonton .. how do you know ep9 is far more better .. have tested drive ke or .. are you an engineer? … cite sikit laaa ..

• SexyThang on Aug 10, 2009 at 2:31 am

no need. the fd2 type r is definitely better. in performance and looks.

and yes its not worth the money especially its so close to price to a Gti and the ford. the gti and FD2 have 4 doors and both perform loads better.

i beleive this model will sell in a market that doesnt have the FD2. they also selling a model using the 1.8litre civic engine but about 2000rm cheaper than FN2 type r which is insane. the FN2 would make sense if the pound lost alot of its value. but that isnt going to happen anytime soon.

the person in charge of convincing the honda top brass to market this car in different markets must be very talented.

the benchmark for these cars is still the 3rd generation Integra type r.

• tonton on Aug 10, 2009 at 9:06 am

the review on top gear

drag test, this FN lost with its big brother, euro spec EP9

cornering, also lost. too much understeer.

the rear spoiler spoil the view through the rear glass

suzuki swift use torsion beam and no one complaint. suzuki swift is not a perfomance oriented model. thats why nobody complaint. but this FN, is a Red Badged Honda. which is totally different class with suzuki swift.

about the software stuff, u saying that it is difficult. huhu, this is a childish opinion. how come u expecting a giant company involving in F1 previously, producing too many cars, too many brilliant technology having difficulties in rear civic FN suspension setup?

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:05 am

u were so wrong mate…

swift sport WAS a performance oriented model….especially the limited 1.6 coupe swift….still using the torsion beam setup….even the engine power was quite low…but does the “test driver” complaining about its bad handling???or more to GREAT handling????did they mention torsion beam was bad?

drag test of FN and FD….first…FN was running on EURO ^ emission restriction higher than that FD..thus explaining why the power was lower than FD….

honda proved to you that simple torsion beam also can be a gem in handling dept…

*even japan’s tuner complainin about dificulties to tuned so called advanced geometry in TypeR suspension…(EP3 and DC9 was among the hardest to them)

so shy bother to do it hard way when u can do it the simple way?