The new BMW ActiveHybrid X6 xDrive50i: world’s most powerful hybrid!

BMW ActiveHybrid X6

The BMW ActiveHybrid X6 is truly mind-boggling. It’s an SUV, but the sloping roofline and two seats at the back kind of limit its utility and storage space. And it’s a hybrid which people usually associate with economy, yet its mated to a massive V8 twin turbocharged engine. There is not one but two electric motors, and the vehicle ends up having more torque than the BMW X6 M, a full 100Nm more to be exact.

The V8 motor puts out 407 horses, while the two electric motors make 91 horses and 86 horses respectively. All three propulsion devices running at the same time produces a peak 485 horses, with a massive peak torque of 780Nm.

BMW ActiveHybrid X6

This not only makes the X6 M the most powerful hybrid ever, but its also the most torquey BMW ever, beating the 760Li’s 750Nm by 30Nm. Only the upcoming BMW-built Rolls-Royce Ghost’s 6.6 litre V12 engine equals the ActiveHybrid X6’s 780Nm. 0 to 100km/h takes just 5.6 seconds, the car puts out 231g/km of CO2, while fuel consumption on the EU5 cycle is 9.9 litres per 100km.

Interestingly, BMW says this vehicle uses a 7-speed automatic transmission. Since when does BMW have a 7-speed automatic, other than the DCT and M DCT systems? This is not a conventional gearbox, as BMW says the transmission is “provided by the electric motors”.

BMW ActiveHybrid X6

It is an e-CVT, which is quite similiar to how the Prius’s e-CVT is also not a real transmission but instead is the result of the car’s two electric motors working together with various other components. Like the Prius too, one motor acts mostly as a generator while the other motor actually drives the vehicle. The two motors linked by three planetary gearsets are able to provide 7 different ratios.

The ActiveHybrid X6 can also run on an EV mode, which means on the motors only, at speeds of up to 60km/h for distances of up to 2.5km. Of course for EV mode the car must be driven gently – step on it abit more than the threshold and the V8 springs to life to provide you with the acceleration that the car thinks you need. Of course like any other hybrid it has a auto start-stop feature.

BMW ActiveHybrid X6

Unlike the ActiveHybrid 7-Series which uses lithium ion batteries, the ActiveHybrid X6 uses NiMH batteries and they are positioned beneath the floor of the luggage compartment. The batteries are liquid cooled with a heat exchanger that is cooled via outside air flow and also optionally through the air conditioning cooling circuits, depending on the cooling requirements needed.

Look after the jump for loads of hi-res photos of the new X6 hybrid.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=429]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fadzly on Aug 14, 2009 at 9:18 am

nice, hybrid…

• rexis on Aug 14, 2009 at 10:10 am

Performance hybrid…

Seriously, a hybrid V8 really missed the whole point of hybrid.

Another excuse for rich folks to drive a luxury sport car and say they love the planet.

• Analyzer on Aug 14, 2009 at 10:22 am

Wow, seems like BMW is launching all their hybrid models now.

• mystvearn on Aug 14, 2009 at 1:06 pm

BMW are clever. This will surely go well with the people staying in London and California. Don't have to pay congestion charge and have special perks being a hybrid car. Will sell instantly

• muslimz on Aug 14, 2009 at 2:33 pm

way to expensive when come to Boleh-land..keter org kaya ajer…hihihi

• That's the way hybrids should be… making a car more powerful… not making a car 'geeky' or 'uncle'

And doesn't mean we should stop motorsports or powerful cars just to save the planet… Hybrids are the future of a cleaner and faster motorsports!

Muaxx X6!

• taboogen on Aug 14, 2009 at 3:06 pm

a car thats look like oversize gen2.. hermm just think about that

• Kuku_Nan on Aug 14, 2009 at 4:45 pm

Fantastic, Bombastic, Romantic Mr. X6 Hybrid….

• So I have donated money and I have adopt children through world vision, that makes me eligible to torture more poor and children in the country?

Hybrid monster car!!!! The world is crazy and people are sunk with it.

• i want another car.. on Aug 14, 2009 at 6:32 pm

such is the irony of life. launch a vehicle that will most likely be priced well beyond the reach of the masses, to "save the planet".

one would hope that 5-7 years down the line this technology willl trickle down to vehicles of the "real" people to make a tangible difference to the environment.

hybrid kapchais… hehehe

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC on Aug 14, 2009 at 6:48 pm

Ha, prius already can make more than 30km/liter but this X6 hybrid just only 10km/liter, really not enough to save the planet.

:D

• scanzew on Aug 14, 2009 at 7:07 pm

wow!! powerful KERS

• Black Dog on Aug 14, 2009 at 8:28 pm

Most people miss the point about Hybrids.

For car manufacturers, it's not ONLY about saving the world, but not to depend too much on oil! Remember the previous oil prices shooting sky high? If they don't do something now, the same thing will happen again! This is called planning way ahead. OPEC guys will be F**ked come the next generation!

This X6 I would call 'The REAL ultimate driving machine!'

• molohlaluolang on Aug 14, 2009 at 8:59 pm

y like Gen-2 ? simple oni the answer cause BMW no idea so send ppl come spy at Malaysia and tiru Gen-2 design .. shhh, secret.

look like gen-2 …. mata ada taik ka lu

• I got a better idea, lets use the power of the wind.

Remove the car's engine, instal a mini wind power propeller on the car, when the car moves, creates wind, propeller spins and thus charges the battery.

Done!!! I think i solved the energy crisis for the automotive sector. lol.

• Ya loh, why is just like Gen2 shape from the back of the photo….

• Wak Rempit on Aug 15, 2009 at 1:39 am

Come on people this is BMW we are talking about, they will not make their cars slow… heck they even starts as an aircraft builder and already breaking records at the time and that was 1917. I will never expect them to produce car like Prius or Insight… boringggg

Unless you're gay… no matter how much you worry about your carbon print, deep inside you still crave that surge of power… that is one big ego you can't deny!

• i like this concept ! damn like .

hybrid for toyota is to produce a boring slow car but beemer uses it to enhance more power ! hahahhaa

• wow :o…….guess i have to be an mb in malaysia to afford this….plus moonshine as a dentist n open up a few pharmacies as well…oh well….

• Mohammed on Aug 15, 2009 at 5:27 am

'Ha, prius already can make more than 30km/liter but this X6 hybrid just only 10km/liter, really not enough to save the planet.'

Prius is saving the plante ? LOL!

->Zinc for the batteries is mined in the US

->is send to the UK for preprocessing

->is send to China to produce the batteries

->batteries are send to Japan

->cars with batteries are send to the customer

This is better for the planet ?

10km/liter is not that good btw. A Audi A8 4.2 TDI with a top speed of 250km/h has 10km/liter too… ;)

• molohlaluolang on Aug 15, 2009 at 8:47 am

Ya lo ya lo, looks like Gen-2, u know why ah ? cause ah BMW no idea, so send spy come to Malaysia to tiru Proton design. shh .. its a secret.

Look like Gen-2 … mata ada taik ka ? moloh

• Good…. i hope hybrid car getting more popularity in near future…. :D

• rexis on Aug 15, 2009 at 6:27 pm

Dudes, the best part of X6 is the X drive with sport car like body. Its beyond your eyes, you gotta feel it.

– – – – –

Zinc for the batteries is mined in the US

->is send to the UK for preprocessing

->is send to China to produce the batteries

->batteries are send to Japan

->cars with batteries are send to the customer >

Yes it is, Prius is creating the hybrid economy. It could take more energy to up start the industry, but in the long run, it will bring more benefit.

It take extensive energy to harvest the mineral to produce the batteries, but if the batteries is expired, and it will only take a fraction of the cost and energy to recycle it and turn it into a brand new battery and start serving again.

And not to mention that Prius will passively save carbon emission.

• These jokers really crack me up :D… Beemer look like Gen2?? Muahahahaha

Like a genius would copy the work of an idiot, either the joker got a great sense of humor or he's mistakenly admiring his own Gen2 sreensaver while commenting :D. Great taste by the way.

I can see a hint of design cue on the high waistline and high rear light design from Lexus RX(Toyota Harrier), other than that ,its classy BMW design all the way.I dont care if Mr Clarkson dig it or not, this monster is a rare sight to behold.

• Tiadaid on Aug 21, 2009 at 1:39 am

KO said,

August 16, 2009 @ 9:01 pm

These jokers really crack me up … Beemer look like Gen2?? Muahahahaha

Like a genius would copy the work of an idiot, either the joker got a great sense of humor or he’s mistakenly admiring his own Gen2 sreensaver while commenting . Great taste by the way.

—————————————————

Come on la, there is a slight resemblance to Gen2 if you look carefully coz the raked rear windshield sloped steeply. Haih, it doesn't mean that BMW copy Gen2, but when Proton looks like other car, bash here bash there. Malaysians, no wonder our country's going down the drain. The people, and I'm not referring to the politicians alone, but almost every single Malaysian is responsible due to our actions!