3rd generation Toyota Prius: first impressions

Toyota Prius

It may be different for the enthusiast but say the word hybrid to the layman and he’ll automatically associate it with the Toyota Prius. And now, the third generation is here, and slated to be launched in Malaysia next month. Let’s have a look at the new iconic hybrid Toyota that you’ll be able to buy at showrooms before the end of the year.

Toyota Prius

First of all I think it’s best to define what a hybrid car is, and the various types of hybrid cars available on the market. A hybrid vehicle essentially combines two or more power sources to move the vehicle. It commonly refers to hybrid electric vehicles, which combine a combustion engine with electric motors.

When you implement a hybrid system, there are a few ways to configure the combustion engine and electric motors. With the introduction of the Honda Civic Hybrid, we’ve been introduced to the concept of a mild power assist hybrid system, or a mild parallel hybrid system.

Toyota Prius

In a mild parallel hybrid system, the internal combustion engine is always used as the primary power. A electric motor is installed between the engine and the transmission. It is only used to assist the combustion engine whenever needed, hence Honda calling it an Integrated Motor Assist system. Because the motor steps in whenever the driver demands more power, a smaller and more fuel efficient combustion engine can be used. However with this configuration there is no such thing as a zero emissions full EV mode – the car cannot run solely on the electric motor.

And then you have series hybrid cars, where a combustion engine running at a constant most efficient RPM is used as an electricity generated to power an electric motor, which drives the wheels.

Toyota Prius

The THS Hybrid Synergy Drive system in the Toyota Prius is of the variant called a full hybrid, a power-split hybrid or a series-parallel hybrid. It offers the best of both world, can run on either the combustion engine only, electric motor only, or both, but is heavier as it has more parts, and more complicated in design.

THS consists of an internal combustion engine, two water-cooled motor-generators (electric motor with dynamo functions), a powersplit device, and a battery pack. The first motor-generator functions as a power generator, converting the internal combustion engine’s mechanical power to electric power, which recharges the battery and supplies electricity to power the second motor-generator. The second motor-generator is used to drive the vehicle. It is mounted on the driveshaft. It also serves as a dynamo during brake-energy regeneration.

Toyota Prius

Power from the internal combustion engine is split via the power split device and goes to either the front wheels or the first motor-generator. The Prius combustion engine revs independently of the vehicle speed much like how a car with a CVT transmission would, but there is no CVT transmission in a Prius! Some trickery between the power split device, motor-generators and the combustion engine play around with the engine revs that one would find confusing, but the bottom line is the end result is perceived to us as CVT-like. Toyota calls it an ECVT system.

But the best part of such a system is the EV mode where the car runs on the electric motor only. On one end really fast 0 to 100km/h acceleration times can put a smile on your face but I found out that the other end is also true! Complete silence from the car while you are creeping through a traffic jam or looking for parking in a parking lot can be strangely satisfying, it could be something to do with the fact that your car can do something that most likely no other car in that parking lot can do.

Toyota Prius

The internal combustion engine of the new Prius is the 2ZR-FXE, an Atkinson cycle engine with 1.8 litres of displacement. This is up by 0.3 litres from the previous 2nd gen Prius 1.5 litre engine. The new engine puts out 99 PS compared to 77 PS from the 1.5 litre engine, and 143Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. Now why does a 1.8 litre engine put out so little power you ask? It’s because of the Atkinson cycle – it’s more fuel efficient however has less power density. The engine is now beltless thanks to an electric water pump. The combined output of the motor-generators produce 60kW and 207Nm of torque.

The Prius continues to use a NiMH battery. Some competitors have talked about starting using lithium ion and Toyota says they also have a li-ion battery coming by the end of this year but according to Prius chief engineer Akihiko Otsuka, NiMH and Lithium Ion both have pros and cons. EVs might need the larger capacity of lithium ion batteries, and they can be larger because of the lack of a combustion engine and fuel tank, but in hybrids where the battery can be smaller and of less capacity, NiMH is more suitable as it can sustain a high power output over a shorter period of time. But for plug-in hybrids in the future, they can benefit from lithium ion technology.

Toyota Prius

Something interesting is an optional feature which is a solar panel on the roof. This panel doesn’t recharge the battery but it actually helps keep the car cool while it is parked under the sun. Unfortunately from what I hear, UMW Toyota specifications for the Prius in Malaysia will not carry this solar panel.

There were no city drives as part of the test drive session that I attended at the Tokachi International racetrack in Hokkaido. Instead, Toyota had designed a series of acceleration and braking patterns set by a pace car over a total of 10.2km on the racetrack that’s meant to emulate city driving. While this isn’t really an indicator of real life driving, CBT’s Thomas Huong and I managed to score a nice average 31.6km per litres fuel consumption, which was the most economical figures of the day.

Toyota Prius

We later repeated the same track run at full throttle and managed to score about 9km per litre, which is still pretty decent considering it was pedal to the metal for most of the track. I think the Prius would be able to score a decent 20km+ per litre in real life fuel consumption, which is impressive for largeish (you could call it European D segment) car with a 2,700mm wheelbase. The chassis is a common one called the MC platform shared with some Toyota cars such as the RAV4, Estima, Avensis and Auris.

The model with the 17 inch wheels was actually pretty surprisingly fun to drive on the track thanks to a decent chassis with a compliant suspension coupled with the strong torque of the electric motor assist. Grip levels and the tight handling were far lower on the second gen Prius and third gen models with smaller wheels, with VSA stability control kicking in to reel the car in way too often. Big difference – just shows you how much wheels play a part in the dynamics of a car. But all in all, really very surprising for a car that’s focused on boring old fuel economy. Could be something to do with the fact that the chief engineer drives an Alfa Romeo…

Toyota Prius

The first thing you notice about the interior of the new third generation Prius is the fact that the big Electro Multi Vision touch screen is now gone. Other Prius trademarks are still there such as the tiny shift by wire gearknob and the On button that does nothing but bring some of the dashboard lights up to life. It doesn’t feel like you’re turning a car on but more like an electrical appliance.

The EMV system has been replaced by integrating more displays into the instrumentation panel located at the forward-most end of the dashboard, closest to the windscreen. Stuff like the fuel consumption bar graph history and the real-time display monitoring what sources of power the car is currently powered by are much smaller now but functionality-wise it is much better as they can all be looked at by glancing quickly at the panel instead of looking left at the EMV as per the 2nd generation Prius.

Toyota Prius

This is all in the interest of keeping the driver focused on the road. Another feature that helps in this aspect is the Touch Tracer system. As the vehicle monitoring display is now near the windscreen, there is no longer any touch screen functions. Instead you control the various displays via steering wheel controls.

You may feel like taking your eyes off the road and glancing at what your steering wheel to look at what button your fingers are resting on. With Touch Tracer you don’t have to do that. The steering wheel controls have dual level sensitivity. Touch lightly and a display on the instrumentation panel that mimics the steering wheel control design shows you what button your finger is touching. Then you activate the button only if you press down a little harder.

Toyota Prius

All in all the changes to the new Prius makes it look and feel more like a normal car but with exceptional fuel economy rather than a hybrid. The exterior looks way better, less space-age and more sporty, but the interior is more like a regular car, and somehow while it looks much more modern it feels much less expensive compared to the 2nd gen Prius. It’s not just the dashboard but the instrumentation panel – the graphics look quite pixelated. But the third gen is definitely an improvement over the 2nd gen, and the Hybrid Synergy Drive system trumps the motor assist systems of its competitors both in owner experience and in terms of fuel economy.

However in Malaysia the estimated price is expected to hover around a Camry 2.4’s price. That’s quite a premium and if you’re buying this to save fuel, that’s alot of fuel “prepaid”! The drawing factor will undoubtedly be the whole hybrid lifestyle such as the ability for the EV mode, and making an eco statement.

And we still don’t have any clear answers as to how long the battery lasts and how much it costs to replace, though Toyota claims it will last over 10 years and possibly the lifetime of the car. There needs to be a solid answer and guarantee for this. Perhaps a longer warranty for the battery compared to the rest of the car will give better customer confidence. More details on the Malaysian specifications for the Prius will come when the car is launched next month.

GALLERY: Toyota Prius Product Shots

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• derrick lee on Jul 24, 2009 at 5:26 pm

what's the price in malaysia?

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2009 at 5:30 pm

Yeaayy…it's finally here!! Been waiting this for a while now. Talk to the Toyota sales rep that it might cost closely to 200k!! Is it worth it? Well…got to wait and test drive it. Nonetheless, the record in US stated that not 1 out of their 1,000,000 unit Prius sold ever broke down yet…hmmm….rather impressive…and saw a couple of the 2nd generation here in KL and I must say that it looks rather good. This one for me is good looking too!!

• Jimmy on Jul 24, 2009 at 5:34 pm

Exterior not sporty. Interior not sporty and not luxurious. Likely at RM110-120k.

• peter bro on Jan 13, 2011 at 8:46 pm

The car is not meant to be sporty, bro. Besides that, the interior provides much comfort and practical spaces for the passengers. RM110 to RM120k? I think you have underrated the car….

Regards.

• Paul Tan on Jul 24, 2009 at 5:37 pm

More like 180K.

• Jimmy on Jul 24, 2009 at 5:38 pm

Ugly. Neither sporty nor luxurious. At rm110-120k.

• eezarm on Jul 24, 2009 at 5:42 pm

technology is good…but the design/look is ugly as ever…

• BeemerFreak on Jul 24, 2009 at 5:52 pm

goo morning paul. Hey guys its teh most beautiful prius ever. give the toyota boys some credit. look at the second generation prius and the new honda insight, thats what i call ugly

• Babelon on Jul 24, 2009 at 5:52 pm

it is an ideal car for city driving.

Price could be RM175-180k. Thanks to UMW toyota, high profit making company although gov has slashed 50% import duties for hybrid car.

• nikahmadnazif on Jul 24, 2009 at 5:56 pm

does this state of the art engine needs alot of money to maintain it??????

• cl_qwertyuiop on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:00 pm

I don't care whether or not this car has low resale value. I've definitely got to own one of this piece of technology. Please bring it Malaysia ASAP. I love it.

• greener extended dugongs… more like handsome beluga whale.. rejoice! i like it..!

• kemosabe on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:02 pm

RM180k – a big blow to the environment.

• Paul,

Is this Prius a CBU or CKD unit for Malaysia lancuh? If CBU, is the Prius assembled in Thailand or Japan? Will Malaysia get the 3rd generation or 2nd generation of Prius? Thanks

• Paul Tan on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:03 pm

We'll get the third generation, the car you see above. 15 inch wheels and no solar panel roof. Estimated price about 170k to 180k. CBU of course, from Japan most likely.

• gugusan melur on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:04 pm

suck toyota

• sicilian_defense on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:06 pm

the asking price is high. For that price,… sorry

• kodok on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:18 pm

if u can afford 180k car…fuel consumption is the last thing u need to worry..juz doesnt make sense 4 me..overall a great car to have albeit an expensive one!

• i would trade my civic for this. but thanks to our gover n umw….too pricey…if i could afford a 180k car, would i care about fuel eco…stupid. Think la…

• I don think fuel is for those rich ppl no need to be cared? Fuel is environment material which will end up 1 days. I very disagree you, then why ppl buy Camry Hybird in USA? save the earth la, rich ppl.

• Kuku_Nan on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:54 pm

RM180-RM200k? Better add few more thousand, buy the new VW Golf GTI mark 6. CO2 emission is quite good, environmental friendly. If concern about resell value, the buy Japanese cars (H&T).

• Nicholas on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:55 pm

It is good that government also help to promote all the green cars by lower down the tax. Now everyone is worried about global warming. So the most important is government itself have to play important role on these. Don't just say plant more tree. Plant one tree a day no match with the car on the road a day. I think in the world; a day more than thousand of new car is on the road. Hope that the price will be around 100K to 120K will be reasonable.

• Black Dog on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:57 pm

Owning this car is like experiencing a brand new vehicle technology which of course wouldn't be cheap.

Did you guys remember paying more than RM2K for a Motorola 'Brick Tai Kor Tai' handphone years ago?

If you want it to be affordable, wait another 20 years lah!

I won't wait…..time is more expensive than money to me!

• Looks better, but it's a Toyota, so you're paying more for what you eventually get

• Civic hybrid owner on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:05 pm

Great article on the new Prius. Glad more hybrid tech is coming to Malaysia. This car's technology is really something!

Seen this car on Malaysian road before a few times. Saw one trying to achieve hi mpg by driving < 90km/h on the North South Expressway.

Sadly even after govt tax exempt the price is still exp. Hoping to test drive the car when it is launched to get a feel of the difference compared to Honda's civic hybrid.

• p1basher on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:11 pm

probably some geeks or engineers would only buy this car. if i can afford 180k, sure get a zoom zoom car. the g should promote green tech and give us 100k for this hahaha.

• shoryuken on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:13 pm

destiny to fail UMW. Another Rav-4 project. Sayonara before it starts, people will rather buy a 2.4 Camry, or VW, pre-reg BMW..

• Malaysian people pay 30k over +to T just to use their T brand image.

• K Tan on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:22 pm

I think it is a fallacy that hybrid cars (in their current form and tech) is environmentally friendly. Ok, maybe they are just a more efficient in harnessing and putting the energy to real work, but just Imagine the cost factors in just making and producing the batteries – you have to clear tracts of land to mine the ores (therefore chopping down trees), you have all those tractors, machineries, furnaces, ships that spews tons of fumes etc to make the end product.

So, in the end whatever you think you save for the environment was already negated by the initial cost to get there. Me thinks hybrid cars – in its current form – is just a marketing gimmick for the unthinking, gullible so-called environmental conscious people.

• icecold on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:31 pm

bashers will always be bashers, no matter what. did you guys read and understand the artical, or you just flip to the pics. this car most probably suits the enviromental concius ppl and those who likes to endevour new tech provided you got the RM. for those who can care less for the world this car would probably be awaste of money compare to the so call zoom zoom car they can get for the same amount of money. the tech for this car is way better then of honda.

• zaff1984 on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:40 pm

I lIke it…

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:47 pm

stupid umw, if wan put price above 150k , shud put 17inch rim not 15inch..

• TS.Lim on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:00 pm

i like the front, very nice and looks sporty.

hmmm, if 180k, i really can't afford it, even it achieves 30km/l , it also won't help me save much cost due to high selling price. unless the petrol price rise up to RM10.00 per liter….

• Beautiful…in de sense of both technology n look…

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:03 pm

dUg0nGnesSss said,

July 24, 2009 @ 11:47 am

stupid umw, if wan put price above 150k , shud put 17inch rim not 15inch..

17inch rim? You think this is a performance car meh?

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:05 pm

BeemerFreak said,

July 24, 2009 @ 9:52 am

goo morning paul. Hey guys its teh most beautiful prius ever. give the toyota boys some credit. look at the second generation prius and the new honda insight, thats what i call ugly

Well said my fren!! Insight is not as handsome as this ride over here…

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:09 pm

icecold said,

July 24, 2009 @ 11:31 am

bashers will always be bashers, no matter what. did you guys read and understand the artical, or you just flip to the pics. this car most probably suits the enviromental concius ppl and those who likes to endevour new tech provided you got the RM. for those who can care less for the world this car would probably be awaste of money compare to the so call zoom zoom car they can get for the same amount of money. the tech for this car is way better then of honda.

Yup!! I'm with you on this issue. Those bashers must be some hardcore fan of the Honda. Not that I'm saying Honda sucks or anything but please…compare la wisely. In term of price ka, design ka….WTH, Toyota sucks la, too expensive la, better buy sports car la….what la dei…this is Hybrid not a Fairlady or the RX8 contender…sigh!!! :-(

• diesel please…

• Omanjedi on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:17 pm

quite nice.

if only it was more affordable for the normal guys to buy

• takeo1070 on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:29 pm

this creatures is suitable for those who like to be seen in it……..lifestyle cars maa…

• woozy on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:34 pm

Hmmm…at 180k i would rather get an alfa 159. Its a clever piece of technology, but in uk the prius is priced at £19k…so without taxes it should be about RM120k-150k…180k is just too much. And to justify the amount of 'prepaid fuel' you will have to keep the car for at least 7 years. And we Malaysians change cars like we change clothes. So I think this car is REALLY for the environmentally conscious people only. imho

• errr nice… my colleague is getting one delivered coming Wednesday in Europe which is still very new here… and 2-3 mths delivery time difference with Europe is impressive…

but overpricey…with fuel subsidy structure here, this Prius will be low volume seller…

a better hope would be the Insight coz its the most cheapest and lousy car among the 3 hybrids in Europe… well, considered fitting to be in our City/Vios price category… Honda plz buck up and bring in the Insight…

• Colin on Jul 24, 2009 at 9:01 pm

I am in Australia and I just bought a base model one for about AUD$43k (No deal due to new release). Mind you a base model Toyota Corolla Auto is about AUD$23k with VSC. Personally I think the closest one to compare to should be the top of the range Toyota Corolla Ultima which will set you back around AUD$33k. Hence it cost about AUD$10k more than a Corolla. Is it worth it? Financially – ABSOLUTELY NO. Because I think can buy a top spec Honda Accord Euro with the same amount of money but when the cost of petrol is AUD$1.60 per litre or more (it is about AUD$1.20 at the moment), everything make sense. I bought it because I need a new car and I always buy Toyota, I don't like the look of the current Toyota Corolla and don't want Camry becuase it is too big. Actually it costs more than a Camry in Australia.

• solarcar on Jul 24, 2009 at 9:01 pm

sell the car at lower price lah… together we can save the earth.

• There's a lot of talk about greener environment and all that.. but if you do your research and find out where these batteries, car parts and everything are made and how they are assembled – you'll know to make one hybrid means to destroy the environment a lot before you actually start "saving" it. The making of the NiMH battery alone is very damaging to the environment (the whole process) then there's the shipping. Ships run on chip fat? I don't think so. So if you're really serious about saving the environment, put back those catcons and don't drive often. Buy a Segway or the hopefully soon to come electric Saga which hopefully is 100% Malaysian made.

• alpha999 on Jul 24, 2009 at 10:48 pm

*sigh*……if umw stupid, how come they are doing so well ? re-calibrate ur grey matters first….

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2009 at 10:52 pm

solarcar said,

July 24, 2009 @ 1:01 pm

sell the car at lower price lah… together we can save the earth.

Hahahaha….now that, I agreed!!! :-)

• farghmee on Jul 24, 2009 at 10:55 pm

i like the idea of hybrid engine.

now, we're depending too much of fossil fuel.

too bad since oil reserve is depleting.

hopefully, when this hybrid tech is available for everyone (not somebody only),

i'm gonna have it!

i like the simple interior of this prius.

overall exterior look is satisfying, except the rear light,

seems a carry-over from the 2nd gen? deja vu? ;)

regarding how hybrid works, if reading paul writing is too confusing,

i suggest for those who have PlayStation2, pls play GranTurismo4,

go to toyota, & choose prius.

there, u'll have a clearer view on how hybrid car works.

take note that 2nd gen prius works a little bit diff compared to 1st gen prius :)

civic hybrid dh ada jual, prius pn dh ada.

apa lagi proton? beli 2, reverse-engineering.

implement dlm SAGA EV Green Propulsion Concept 8)

• honda_owners_are_idi on Jul 24, 2009 at 10:56 pm

the prius is a high tech car.. it is the most fuel efficient car in the world..

there will always.. be idiotus like honda owners which will criticize its looks and its bla bla bla.. i know you wife nags you so much that you'd have to come to forum and berate other cars.. come on.. be a man and cleveland steamer some one and just admire others for once..

to each to its own.. philosopher jagger once said; you cant always get what you want.

• Philip J. Fry on Jul 24, 2009 at 11:06 pm

The solar panel powers a ventilation fan, not the air con.

• MycarMylife on Jul 24, 2009 at 11:26 pm

Boils back to NAP again, for a win win thing, our lads up in the ivory tower maybe should consider this:

1) Every 1st Car for any Malaysian must be P1 or P2 make at reasonable

price.

2) Thereafter the 2nd Car purchase will qualify for real RRP of any make

for the region ( ie minus the high duties, taxes and AP crap)

3) Further reduction in terms of incentive rebate for green cars ( hybrids and

Evs) to green the world.

You can say not every one can afford a 2nd Car but neither can you currently.

In this case P1 and P2 will win and so can we.

Don't think of cheatin your 1st car ( by selling off) as a COE thing can apply.

Otherwise we just talk for talk's sake until the cows come home .

• Oil will not run out in the next 10 years, which is the estimated lifespan of this car. For 180k, I'd get one big gas guzzler instead of the Prius.

• tokyogaijin (Member) on Jul 24, 2009 at 11:33 pm

good day all.

RM180k for a Hybrid car is absolutely too expensive.

the new Prius is only selling for Yen2million, which base on current exchange rate is less than RM80k.

if the government wants to encourage Malaysians to switch to Hybrids, reasonable incentives should be given.

here in Japan, Japanese Government is giving out incentive when purchasing hybrid cars (special rebates) as an encouragement to swith to Hybrids as well as to stir the automotive industry.

cheers

• Bawa durian best nii..

• Victor Lee on Jul 25, 2009 at 12:56 am

One word, UGLY, headlamp copy 370z? damn UGLY… PLEASE HIRE BETTER DESIGNER.. ALTIS, VIOS, YARIS & NEW PRIUS damn UGLY.. but yet malaysia loves to buy =.=

• takeo1070 on Jul 25, 2009 at 1:19 am

honda_owners_are_idiots said,

July 24, 2009 @ 2:56 pm

the prius is a high tech car.. it is the most fuel efficient car in the world..

there will always.. be idiotus like honda owners which will criticize its looks and its bla bla bla.. i know you wife nags you so much that you’d have to come to forum and berate other cars.. come on.. be a man and cleveland steamer some one and just admire others for once..

to each to its own.. philosopher jagger once said; you cant always get what you want.

—————————————————————

mate, pls do yr homework before forming an opinion. Not hybrid but FSI, develop by VW. It comes with power and effeciency. and also mind you hybrid engine required you to change the batteries every 7 years and the price currently estimated at >RM7000. in in a way, you safe on petrol for the battery.

• Marcel on Jul 25, 2009 at 1:42 am

Dear Paul, can you work out how much taxes n duties wil be paid to the government being a hybrid? I thought that the govt had announced that there will be a 50% tax break for environmentally friendly cars?

• _xXx_ on Jul 25, 2009 at 1:49 am

180k? Then sorry, Mr Earth, we can't help you from Malaysia.

• Drive a Honda then you realize how not-so-refine driving dynamic Toyota cud be. Perhaps you also realize proton is not bad actually. I'm talking bout Toyota model offeres in Malaysia and I'm not a Honda die hard fan either.

• shchoy on Jul 25, 2009 at 2:03 am

Finally a review on the Prius!

I have been looking forward for this car to come in Malaysian shores.

Now… the price.

I did suspect it's going to be price around the same as Camry.

Also concern on the after-sales market for this.

Especially since changing the battery is quite a huge cost.

Although I love the concept of driving a Hybrid….

it just doesn't make economic sense for most.

I will stick to standard gasoline for now. TQ.

• Annihilated on Jul 25, 2009 at 2:17 am

Great! There's no plan to bring in the solar roof to the land where you can get almost 365 days of bright sun shine! I suggest UMW to bring in the Prius without the battery pack as well.

• mystvearn on Jul 25, 2009 at 2:36 am

Will never sell in Malaysia!

Tax system not based on emmissions. Also, you will never cover that amount of mileage in order to get back whatever you paid for the petrol price. Its like the Honda Accord 2.0 vs 2.4. RM30k difference. Can you get RM30k of fuel mileage with that car over 5 years? Abit daunting is it. Then there is the depreciation value. The more expansive it is, the higher it depreciates.

• Rulered on Jul 25, 2009 at 3:04 am

I guess it's okay for a hybrid car to look kinda boring for the time being, and Toyota seems to be reliable in designing such cars too. But if you guys are really serious on not leaving too much carbon prints on our dear earth and prepare to spent 180k for this, I have a better idea. Spent a small portion of your 180k to get full carbon fibre bicycle with ultra light components which would cost you less. Trust me, you save more and gain a bit more than you would expect in many ways. ; )

• Rulered on Jul 25, 2009 at 3:05 am

I guess it's okay for a hybrid car to look kinda boring for the time being, and Toyota seems to be reliable in designing such cars too. But if you guys are really serious on not leaving too much carbon prints on our dear earth and prepare to spent 180k for this, I have a better idea. Spent a small portion of your 180k to get full carbon fibre bicycle with ultra light components which would cost you less. Trust me, you save more and gain a bit more than you would expect in many ways. ; )

• MBX Boy on Jul 25, 2009 at 3:32 am

Nice.. I will buy IF I earn more than RM15,000 monthly.

• what? 180k! i think alot of malaysians will buy other cars than a hybrid.

truly this is a car for someone who wants to make a statement. a rm180k statement.

• rexis on Jul 25, 2009 at 5:44 am

This is some advanced technology what money has to offer.

• tinin on Jul 25, 2009 at 6:30 am

Family car

• hahakl on Jul 25, 2009 at 6:40 am

too sad, I got a Jap Version Prius Booklets, they are selling around 2-3Million Yen (Depends on Specs) but we need to pay around 4 Million Yen. Almost Double price the Japanese guy is paying……

• Srotong on Jul 25, 2009 at 6:55 am

Yep, K Tan(11.22am) and izso(2.29pm), agree with you guys 101%.

Maybe we should wait for H-cell tech, since we will have no options by the time the blur2 greenies get through to the unwary.

This anthropomorphically caused environmental 'disaster' is due to their God-like thinking. I'll name my H2 'vehicle' AlGoredUp.

This Prius is meant to syiok sendiri – i.e. 'priapism'.

• mb3300 on Jul 25, 2009 at 7:33 am

Wow…looks like an evolved dugong, huge unrealistic rear, this car does look practical, huge space and etc…extremely boring interior…exterior styling that has nothing to shout about. Front looks like Vios, which is nothing short of the word 'fugly', worse is the rear styling.

It is rather expensive. Id rather get a golf gti for that price.

Honda has a hybrid entry in Malaysia which isnt going well among the masses, why should this be any different? At least the civic hybrid looks more practical.

I do support the use of green energy.

• Excuse me UMW…but for an estimated price of 180k, I'll be better off with a VW GTi. With that kind of money (or income to afford a loan by those licensed Ah Long's), who the hell cares for petrol to save costs?? As it is, someday you'll need to replace those batteries too.

This is right, just like electronic gadgets…buyers will be the white mouse; paying for the research.

However guys, let's not solely blame UMW. Our tax structure sucks big time…

Taxi!!! Get me to a VW showroom ASAP!!!

• Obertan on Jul 25, 2009 at 10:36 am

180k price is not saving at all….

better install a proper NGV kit in our standard car can save more $$$…..

• When it comes to hybrid~ think prius. by the way anything from rm180k simply overpriced.

• hazxkh on Jul 25, 2009 at 6:27 pm

1.3 honda -125k

1.8 toyota – 180k

hmmmmmmm………..

• EchoTango23 on Jul 25, 2009 at 6:42 pm

Wau…very impressive…I might think of getting one… Cool!

• umarss on Jul 25, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Ppl buy these cars to reduce CO2 emission..environmental reasons..bla3..

However, Toyota never released the details on how much CO2 is released in order to manufacture this so called "eco" car..Toyota ppl refused to answer when asked by journalists here in Japan…

"ECO"??..think again…

Nevertheless I still think it s a brilliant piece of engineering..

• CocoBear on Jul 26, 2009 at 2:28 am

Good review from Paul. The article is very nicely compiled. Just the photos are messy.

It is a great news to hear that UMW is OFFICIALLY importing Prius into Malaysia. At least, they are making some commitment to bring JDM models.

I hope to see high spec Prius if the price is RM180k. Maybe UMW can introduce the 2nd gen Prius in order to be competitive.

• I understand why u guys are so upset with the price. Please don't just blame UMW, I feel our gov should help by lower futher the tax for all eco cars. This forum shows how frustrated we all are for unable to own this vehicle within our means… Lets pay tribute the Prius creators and engineers!

• Paul Tan on Jul 26, 2009 at 10:40 am

I've moved all the live photos to a separate album page so that loading this page will take a shorter time.

• seen it a many times around shah alam… nice one…

• A TDI / FSI would be more cheaper and comparable FC and more powerful…plus no need to dispose off those very polluting batt…

• Sexythang on Jul 26, 2009 at 10:31 pm

funny…being in the drivers seat of one of these cars….the way i see it is its a 41K aud toyota vios/yaris sedan.

whatever you dont shift the metering or electronic info displays to the middle and replace the area in front of steering wheel with a whole piece of empty plastic.

can save yourself 10k aud and get the civic hybrid. it is made in japan as well. the interest u can earn from the 10k aud can offset the very negligeable slight increased fuel consumption.

• Farhat Haniff on Jul 27, 2009 at 5:23 am

C'mon guys, its a Prius, an all-round hybrid, not a sports car. They use light recyclable plastics and fabric to make the car lighter, so not much leather, heavy screens and more space. Its not a luxury car, nor a sports car. Its for a drive around town/city to MV or a nice drive back to kampung. Its suppose to be for that, not a race car.

Its a nice design, it has to look light, and keep its 2nd Gen Prius look, thats how people know its a Prius. Tuning it will loose its Prius brand and Prius capabilities.. to drive smoothly, quietly and economically from point A to B.

It may be expensive, if its 180K+ but im guessing this is imported, and not all malaysians are keen on Hybrid technology just yet, since all we want is pimped up satrias and diesel powered Golf GTis'.

We're pretty much living in a fantasy world where everywhere you go, there will be tuned cars waiting to compete, and circuit highways.

A prius is to be pure. Its not to be tuned, its not to be luxurious. Its a day to day delivery car, bringing you from A to B and back with less fuel consumption.. or no fuel comsumption.

So i love this new Prius. It brings more style and modernity from the older Prius, but still keeps its capabilities which is the reason why people BUY Prius.

• helmi on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:30 am

One thing I can give credit to UMW this time is they bring the first class latest technology 1st world design car to Malaysian shore at last, not like before which tarnished Toyota name here with 3rd world design like Vios dugong, Innova and the ugly Avanza. But I'm sure this blood sucking UMW will just 'tarok' the price as usual because of T badge. RM180k is just damn expensive! Might as well I get other gasoline 1.8 model with same performance say average price is RM130k. I save RM50k. With RM50k I can enjoy fueling for many many years (maybe up to 7 years, base on average RM600/month). Can I save that amount of fuel with Prius? Bottom line, Prius is not to save fuel anyway and even the environment because of carbon print to manufacture the battery, and UMW sucks as usual. Btw, I like the design especially the metering LCD dispaly.

• rexis on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:04 am

Ahh, photo moved just in time, things faster in my pc.

What happened to the ruling that say green cars will receive tax break? Outdated already?

– – – – –

Btw,

"umarss said,

However, Toyota never released the details on how much CO2 is released in order to manufacture this so called “eco” car.."

The main concern is that how many CO2 released in making the battery. The rest of the car, which I think is pretty much more or less equal to a normal car.

Lets say, mining the mineral and turning it into a battery required to release so and so CO2, that is true, but a NiMH battery can be fully recycled, which consume much less CO2 then mining for it.

So its like a one time payment that keep you away from paying monthly down payment, it is good for the long run.

• jamsbong on Jul 27, 2009 at 3:51 pm

One of the strengths of Toyota cars is that it is comfortable and the other is that it is reliable. Prius is always gonna be quiet and comfy. I think this is the thing that attracts buyers. Who would buy a Prius? People who are rich and like to showcase themselves as an environmentally concious person. Many americans are like that, which is why they sell so well over there.

Diesel may be fuel efficient at long freeway trips but in the traffic jammed city, it is still pumping out smelly exhaust gas continuously. Prius will always have the upper hand in city driving.

• prince yeo (Member) on Jul 27, 2009 at 5:03 pm

will the prius that will launched in malaysia next month support the IPA parking system….???

• oh my on Jul 28, 2009 at 2:10 am

mr takeo1070,

please be informed that prius is the most fuel-efficient mass-produced car in the world. if we are talking bout one-offs then of course you may be right.

• mb3300 on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:51 am

Farhat, golf GTIs arent diesel powered, at least the ones in Malaysia isnt.

• lets say I compare Civic 1.8 with Prius 3rd-gen:

If the price for the Prius is really RM180K, I will save about RM65K if i went for the Civic.

And if I take RM65K and divide by the fuel price RM1.80, I am ''Pre-paying'' for 36,111L of Petrol. If the civic average fuel consumption is about 11km/L, this 36,111L of fuel will allow the Civic to run for about 397222.22KM, almost 400 thousand KM! (Who drive 400,000 KM without changing car?)

To put this into perspective, my friend who opt for a Civic will have driven his car for about 400,000KM, while spending a total of RM180K for all those years of driving. While I would have spent the same RM180K on my Prius with zero KM done. Now that's a premium paid for ECO-friendliness! Not so much for Coolness though. Coz it does not look cool enough for RM180K(My taste personally)

I would consider buying a Honda Hybrid CRZ or Prius Hybrid Coupe for ECO-friendliness, plus Coolness. Eco-friendliness alone? Nah..may be next time.

• the gov and UMW are just milking $ from those who care about making a status conscious statement. Battery tech is NOT new technology. Electric cars have been around as early as the 1900s. Refer to included article:

http://www.popularmechanics.com/automotive/jay_le…

As someone rightly point out, the Prius IS more expensive than a Camry in Australia, and the same for the Hybrid Civic, which costs abt AUD10k more. Therefore, the RM180k hardly surprises.

The bottom line is that Malaysians are simply paying too much for cars, and as long as there are people who buy them, we will be paying more than everyone else in the world for our cars as long as there is demand.

Here in AU, there are actually dealers having car SALES (like the annual Mega Sale, no kidding) in order to clear stock or to match the dealer next door, or to simply get rid of old stock sitting around for too long, so that the consumer actually benefits. It'll be a long time before we see things like that happening back home.

• James on Jul 29, 2009 at 12:21 am

Just another comparison:

Lets say it is at RM 170,000 and Civic 2.0/1.3 Civic Hybrid is about RM 130,000, thus difference is RM 40,000.

Using RM2.00/L (new price in Sept 09), I get 20,000L.

Assuming I use 10 km/L, it would be about 200,000 km for about 5 -10 years perhaps..You decide whether the new Prius is worth it.

Food for thought……….

• Budak IRB said on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:04 am

better buy proton savvy la….save environment more than prius….how to save the earth.just use bicycle…

toyota produce more than 1 million unit just 4 profit.

steel-from earth

plastic materials-from earth

battery-nickel lit the dangerous material for earth.

that statement to save earth just slogan to make the owner rich n rich

if u want save the earth we must develop just total electric car not hybrid which still use petrol/gas.

that is retoric only.

• leslie boon on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:32 am

Good move Umw , Please gave us more like vellfire,bb,IQ or new wish rather than avanza or innova ….

• leslie boon on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:35 am

Please gave us more superior car like iQ , Vellfire or new wish rather than avanza or innova ……

• oh my on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:54 pm

bodo.. bodo… are you saying that using fully electric car we dont use natural resources? oh my how ignorant some people can get..

electricity in malaysia is not from the sun or from the wind hence.. it can be bad for the environment.. malaysia doesnt use re-newable energy for electricity yet..

hybrid is good because it forces you to make the most of starting and stopping and also uses energy wisely. thats why its the best..

• Budak IRB said on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:22 am

one more times I say this car is rhetoric .Just business strategy to help selfish

people to dominate the world.

For Oh my said :Malaysia still use more than 30% using hidroelectric damn…that re-newable ma…If u want solar generator go to SABAH rural areas..u see that solar generator.

That not wise when u focus just to energy efficiency n pretend slogan and bother other aspects involved …Open ur mind friend

Hybrid technology also has disadvantage…..U think and then u know the answer friend!!!!!

SLOGAN TO CONQUER OUR MIND….NOT TO DEVELOP OUR MIND that is PRIUS ……..that why government hard to abolish tax on hightech car because

their come just as rhetoriccccccccccccc…………….

• Hi all,

Please follow this link to read about what some Americans had said about this car. If u like Prius, u will enjoy reading it.
    http://pogue.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/08/29/toyotas…

• i still think the govt tax n price is too high which shows that govt is not serious n also have to look out for local car makers. my concern is the battery, in m'sia, tax on batteries are very high n i agree that toyota should annouce how long the battery will last, this is also a hidden cost factor

• Marvin on Jul 31, 2009 at 8:46 am

Official site: http://www.toyota.com.my/hsd/ and with prizes to be won.

Looking forward to check them out this August :)

• pokleh on Jul 31, 2009 at 9:04 am

Prius looks pretty, but asking for RM180k is damn expensive! UMW please do your social responsibility. RM 130k-150k would be more reasonable. Can't wait Honda bring in Insight…hope it will be cheaper.

Please consider not to buy Prius if the asking price is too muc. Im 100% agree that we actually pay excessively just to own a Toyol car…oops!

• Whats not to like about the prius? I think everybody likes the prius, toyota build great cars, fuel efficient and reliable, no doubt about that. So pls give Toyota some credit and UMW a break, its hardly their fault that the Prius pricing is so damn marvelous, and crazily ''affordable''!

Without spelling it out for you, we all know who we have to ''thank'' for the unusually fair pricing! Thank them for their thoughtfulness to squeeze us dry of-every-pennies for our own well-being and happiness. Just glad to be Malaysian, Malaysia, thoughtful and caring country, Malaysia ''Boleh''!!……

• Alitstar on Aug 01, 2009 at 11:02 pm

Difficult to please everyone. We all have been complaining that the US, UK and Thailand always seem to get the better models. Well its apparent from the public response.

Unlike here in Malaysia, shoot first ask later. UMW deserves a credit for bravely bringing in the Prius Hybrid. The almost 180k may be high but well deserved to multiply the mileage 3 times. The vehicle has been time tested, about 20 years. For such car I would worry much about the electric drive unit or the battery. If they are not maintanance free then Toyota Japan should be daring enough to offer lifetime warranty.

When BMW introduced their RFT tires it cost a bomb. After marking a good sale, the price of RFT tires eventually came down and still dropping. Such will be the case with Hybrids. The European manufacturers have yet to get their Hydrogen, Solar or Compressed air system up and running. At least Toyota is already into mass production.

Face it, the Prius is not a sports car. Its a family car with the concept of economy and for environment concious earthlings, and there plenty of them.

• Richard on Aug 02, 2009 at 2:22 am

Just got back from Toyota Showroom. Price for Prius according to the sales guy, between 170K to 175K. That too much considering Singapore is selling ard 10K difference from the Civic Hybrid in Singapore. 150K would be a fair price and would consider it. Otherwise Civic Hybrid will more feasible.

• kamaruzzaman on Aug 02, 2009 at 10:12 pm

superb and great .. with cutting edge technology ..

• kvicYoman on Aug 04, 2009 at 12:28 am

come n see comparison
    http://www.toyota.com/compare/?modelCode=prius#h_…

mostly prius win dee…

1000km for full tank… so saving fuel.. my car full tank can go 480km – 45L

the price high cause tax by gov so high…

want buy cheap,, just langkawi or labuan la.. stay 5 year at there… aha

• mr868 on Aug 04, 2009 at 6:40 am

3 Aug news. prius price is rm175K include insurance & private reg. mid of august have sale launch….., 3 years warranty & 10 years warranty on battery. 1.8l + battery, they claim acceleration powerful like 2.4l petrol car. fuel consumption can up to 950km with full tanks (45L), Right??? Please chech it out!

• James on Aug 04, 2009 at 3:32 pm

Hey folks.

Do check out the toyota website as it has some info on the estimated price, specs and all.

• Good Future for malaysia.

need to wait for another 1 or 2 years , any brand will have its own hybrid or 3rd gen car,.. so no worries we will still enjoy it … just the matter of time… maybe later our car can fly… the tech is so so advance…

• Toyota Rocks !!!

• DealHunter on Aug 05, 2009 at 10:34 am

180k!!!!… I am going to buy a house near the LRT. Atleast my house price will appreciate and if i use Touch N Go at the LRT station can get discount…

hahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!

180k is just too much… RM 150k is ideal! they'd better have 2nd hand batteries or atleast pirated ones for 1//2 price…

180k is a test market run… they will reduce the prices…

• firefox on Aug 07, 2009 at 2:00 am

if CBU Japan, 180k will be the good price, compare to wish, stream and somemore ron97 will increase price soon, if this car can keep below 15-18 cents/KM, it will be my first choice..

btw anybody know how much is the battery if replace (estimate)..? please advice..

• ya. in near future we will have "PROTON HYBRID", tax waiver will non longer available.

then the "PROTON HYBRID" will be 4 differences, doesnt look like car, animal, toys, or watever, just like the EXORA…. want to copy but end up like SHIT

• We've lots of argument regarding the environment – the icebergs are melting, more people suffering crop deficiency, etc. Talking about "Green Cars", we'll never achieve a 100% of such concept at any cost, so let's talk about second best then…

1) If possible, go for Kei Cars, and leave it original. (With Turbo, it already beats the point)

2) Hybrid cars are good, provided it's not used for racing.

3) Make plans which saves fuel, not otherwise. (Eg. "just nice" time for work may put you in a jam, which will burn excess petrol into the atmosphere)

• Storm47 on Aug 11, 2009 at 6:06 am

Hi Paul,

The car looks great but for RM175K it's a bit pricey. I have once owned a Honda Hybrid. Later found out that it;s not suitable for Malaysia tropical whether..each time the car stops…so does the aircond. Phew…having a hard time for my family each time we are caught in the traffic jam especially when the sun is on top of your roof. What is your comment on hte Toyota Hybrid?

• Pentium 4 on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:58 pm

Really? Ohw my God… Y not the aircond still On even when the car stop?

• Follow this link to read why "A Driving Experience Spurs a Car-Stock Buy"
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970203…

• Jopin on Aug 14, 2009 at 9:50 pm

How long can the engine last for such a price? The replacement is gonna be costly.

• Buggatti on Aug 14, 2009 at 11:44 pm

I'm sure Proton by 2020 can do better than this.

• Captain on Aug 19, 2009 at 9:53 pm

Like the car, the look, the tech..but can't afford one..hope T could propose to our G to low down the taxs even more..for the green sake. c'mon.

• Hi all! If i try get a used one from Japan, can anyone tell me whether those from Jap have japanese language display on their LCD. if yes could it be updated to english language. thynx

• Mawie on Sep 09, 2009 at 8:28 pm

When we talk about fuel, this car is fab! I already drove it in UK. With distance 800miles (tour of south UK), I just paid £40.

• fawwaz on Sep 11, 2009 at 3:41 pm

I think it's better to go for civic hybrid,its much more cheaper,much more beautiful,and looks more sporty..

Toyota? Ewwww….

• i like d concept of tis hybrid engine, seems like humans r getting more and more intelligent to hv invented such engines. In terms of design, the car is not too bad and not too good. Many ppl here blame UMW for setting the price high. In fact, i think the government should help lower down the tax. Y in malaysia we hv to pay such high tax? back in other countries like US,UK,AUS, japan, their car are rather cheap just bcos of their lower tax. Malaysians will never ever afford high tech cars! well, i hvn't test drive it. Undoubtedly, i m assured of d fuel efficiency. But what about the power of the car? bcos of atkinson cycle, the power is rather low for a car of 1.8 litre. I WONDER HOW GOOD IS IT? JUST HOPING TAT IT WILL BE GOOD, COS I LIKE IT AFTER ALL.

• Lim TT on Oct 28, 2009 at 12:41 am

SO Cheap,

• coolgal on Nov 06, 2009 at 7:24 am

Hi Paul,

Any news on Luxus Hybrid to be launched in Malaysia??

Prius a littel pricing based on it's look & engine capcity, a 3 litre Luxus Hybrid

is a good option if it also enjoyed the tax incentive for green eco tag

I heard Singapore has launched Luxus Hybrid…any test reports??

• hondas who on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:46 pm

Prius is the a very very good car.. mind you.. top gear reviews fast (super) cars hence when they compare this with them its a bit different.

this car is comfortable and fuel efficient (do not compare with diesel as they are worlds apart).

i had one in japan, and i can easily records 30km/l in town and approx 20+ on the highways.

it has solar panel which cools the car down automatically, so its a damn good thing for the Malaysian weather.

• alldisc on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:26 pm

i see many strong comments but unfortunately non the wiser.

the prius is not all about fuel consumption but rather the impact it gives on our environment. the C02 it produces is about 2/3 down compare to a similar 1.8 engine car and weight. thats a saving of about 1,000kg CO2 a year (for average drivers). and thats a lot actually considering that more than 1 million cars are commuting KL alone every work day.

and the fact that waiting period for this car now is almost reaching 12 months tells everything. to all those ppl with their 'clever' comments – eat your words!

Prius is all about saving our Earth. Its the passion.

• i was wondering, does anyone know if it is already available in Australia, i rly need to know its for a research assignment.

• nope, no solar for malaysian model, so no cooling down.

about the diesel, depend who makes the diesel car, who dare say VW diesel car are no good?

As for people saying this Prius is No-good, they r merely saying so after doing a price comparison with cars like Civic-hybrid or even base civic wins hands-down when u compare them in Malaysia. But Car to car comparison without the price factor clouding our judgment, Prius wins, No contest.

But who r going to buy this in malaysia? Its just make 'Nuts' sense! U can buy a civic, drive it for 300,000km, 4-years later, trade in the old civic for another latest Civic,it will still be cheaper than a Prius! Thats how insane!

• Richard on Nov 25, 2009 at 3:45 am

Prius ready stock available. First come first serve.

Let me know.

• the 3rd gen. pruis is 22,560 in U.S money ( btw)

• David on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:38 am

Attention to Car Buyer

I agree Honda car is good in terms of look. Other than that, a car buyer must also pay close attention to service and warranty policy. I had shock of my life when I was told Honda cars must be serviced every 3 months or else the 3 years warranty will be void no matter you are using mineral or synthetic oil. Meaning to say, you have got to send your car for service every 3 months even though your car has traveled a short distance since the previous service.

For those who already bought a new Honda car, make sure that you get all the 3 free services promised done within 6 months no matter what your car mileage is or else it will be void.

Recently, I sent my car for the 3rd free service and was denied the privilege. My car at that time was only 8 months old, mileage at 10 100. The problem is that, I was unaware of this policy when I got the car. The sales person did not highlight this policy when delivering the car. To make things worse, it is not mentioned clearly in the service booklet. I called up to the Customer Relationship Department (CRD) but to no avail. They strictly hold on to their policy. They are not helpful at all. No leniency practiced. Customer is not given priority.

As I also own a Toyota, I can say that Toyota is way much better in the area of customer service. Customers are treated with care and concern. For Toyota, customers do not have to follow the service schedule strictly as long as they send their cars for service after the recommended distance. (10 000 Km for full synthetic oil and 5000 Km for mineral oil)

In summary, Toyota cars are cheaper to maintain even though Honda may claim that their charges per car service is lower. My next car would definitely be a TOYOTA, for sure. I regretted buying a Honda indeed. Think twice before buying a Honda!

Sincerely,

Malaysian

• haslah on Mar 02, 2010 at 12:29 am

Interesting but we already missed the train about a decade. I'm a toyota owner and the reason why i choose toyota, honda salesman sucks!!! I wore jeans and t-shirt and hey presto! I was totally invincible by them…..DAmn!!!

Anyway, thanks to them. I got my car, no hassle and yet economical, i presume.

Prius. I've seen the 1st gen in TV and would love to have one.At first, i heard the asking price was129K but 170K???. You gotta be kidding me! Nearly "lari" 50K. *%$^ sucks!..

• aremere on May 09, 2010 at 8:29 pm

cantek ooo

• John Loon on Dec 04, 2011 at 2:19 pm

I just test drove this toyota. I was expecting a car similar to the prius i test drove in Australia.
    Yes it is fuel effcient, yes its groove…. ummmmmm eh but UMW toyota forgot to put some standard stuff in this car. Things like reverse camera…. DUH what they want us to kill todlers and cats?

Where is my GPS???UMW wants me to waste petrol driving around being LOST!!!!!!!!!

I mean come on UMW Toyota, what are thinking? That Malaysian are as studpid as they were 10 years back? Maybe i should tell you this, we have one of the highest broadband internet penetration in the world, Even better than the US!!! Suprised…
    Duh we even know we are paying so much more even after the tax breaks in comparison to US prices, so don’t blame the Malaysian Government!

Unless the Malaysian car buyers get exactly what a US car buyers gets, I don’t think we are going too see any pick on sales for UMW. Much better off going with proton and perdua. At least They are being very honest, they admit they are selling us junk.

• danwat1234 on Apr 09, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Awesome car. I can’t wait for the 4th gen Prius with part time AWD capabilities to deal with snow and ice. Also, it’ll get an MPG boost again like the third gen has from the 2nd gen. The 4th gen with any luck will have a special turbocharged lean burn (leaner that stoichimetric) engine! Pretty awesome. Could be rated as high as 60MPG in the city.