Petronas Dynamic Diesel: first of the new Euro 2M diesel fuel brands in Malaysia

Petronas

Euro 2M diesel is now here in Malaysia ahead of the 1st September 2009 schedule. It is priced at RM1.70 per litre. You will be able to find it at all Petronas stations from the 1st onwards in the form of the new Petronas Dynamic Diesel, that’s sold with an additive Petronas calls SINAR D07. Petronas says the previous additive introduced in 2006 was known as SINAR D05.

The new Petronas Dynamic Diesel meets Euro 2M standards, which means a maximum of 500ppm of sulphur in the fuel. This is a huge improvement over the previous standard which limited sulphur content to 3000ppm. But don’t think all diesels were that high in sulphur all this while – a research by Petronas which I pointed to back in 2007 showed that out of 6 brands of diesel at that time (2004), only one had 2800 ppm of sulphur, with the rest ranging from as low as 200 ppm to 500 ppm.

BMW 320d Badge

The availability of Euro 2M diesel fuel may spark an interest in both the car manufacturers and consumers to offer diesel versions of passenger cars and buy these diesel-powered products respectively. However one problem would be the fact that most modern diesel engines are designed to run on Euro 3 (350ppm), so the new Euro 2 diesel may still not be good enough. Euro 4 requires 50ppm, and Singaporean diesel such as Shell ULSD is already compliant.

Companies that are confident of a big enough volume might be willing to do some modifications to suit our market and it is very likely that this will only happen at the more expensive segments where the margins are larger and easier to justify. For cheaper cars, consumers may not be confident enough in diesel cars and most may still shy away from the benefits of a turbodiesel because of the certain negative characteristics of a diesel engine such as the sound and smell.

The worst part is that even for those who are very eager to try diesel cars for the economy it offers, the norm is for diesel powerplants to cost more than a petrol engine, so this may drive up the prices of diesel-engined models to a level too shocking for the budget-conscious consumers at that level to accept.

Petronas Dynamic Diesel: first of the new Euro 2M diesel fuel brands in Malaysia
The BMW 320d Touring was offered here by BMW Malaysia Sdn Bhd when the E90/E91 3-Series was first launched. This model is now gone when the facelift was introduced as response was low.

In the second hand car market, the new diesel may spark a new interest in second hand diesel-powered luxury cars cars such as the Mercedes-Benz E270 CDI or the BMW 530d as a powerful and fuel efficient alternative.

The E270 CDI can be found priced at a good 15% to 20% cheaper than its petrol-powered siblings of the same year and the massive low-end torque of a turbodiesel suits the kind of relaxed drive that an E-Class buyer typically looks for.

We will see more fuel companies launching their improved Euro 2 diesels over the next few days leading up to the 1st September 2009 deadline for the new standard to be introduced. The fuel companies will definitely take this opportunity to rebrand their fuels.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Uda Salleh on Aug 22, 2009 at 1:33 pm

Great ! What's new and innovative is already 10 years late… what will they think of next ?

• wats the benefit of this fuel btw? i would like to know. duz it ‘jimat’ the distance traveled?

• Better late than never BUT l really can't understand why not leap to at least Euro3 as we're already TOO LATE compare to both countries that sandwich us (l mean Peninsular) Thailand and Singapore.

For me, once we have comparable quality diesel we'll make the diesel smuggling irrelevant.

BTW Paul; is it the Euro2 big enough for us to enjoy 530d? As my friend suggested his M5 look 530d was so economic despite of heavy foot. I love turbodiesel and really look forward for Korean cars if they're first to offer small engine diesel with ISG features as japanese not keen enough to win our heart as their resources only for Europe's diesel market.

• Littlefire on Aug 22, 2009 at 5:13 pm

Diesel cars mostly are big 4X4 and imported cars…. So the price are still high for normal consumer like me… If i want to drive a diesel engine, the most i can afford is 4X4 pick-up around RM70-80k.. But it is big, the insurance and road tax will also kill normal road user like me, except i am doing a business and drive a lot…

• tikus on Aug 22, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Come on lar G, just give us Euro 4 lar !!!! Euro2,people going to Euro 5 soon.Bolehland is so outdate!

• satguy on Aug 22, 2009 at 6:07 pm

just curious to know if the current diesel engine need to be resetting in any way or some mod to be done due to the upgrade of EURO 2M diesel???any diesel sifu here knows the answer???heard that gov hold the plan to upgrade it to Euro 3 due till proton R&D to come up with their new diesel engine range models.is that true???

• Rhys Miller on Aug 22, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Any of the european marques using VGT ?

• Indigo on Aug 22, 2009 at 7:59 pm

This is bolehland, apa pun boleh. Euro 3 la still can consider. Euro 2m…we always get the worst while our country top grade petorleum.

• I'm new to diesel powerplant, and going to purchase Isuzu D-Max 3.0 4×2, which brand of diesel that suit to D-Max?

• The Watcher on Aug 22, 2009 at 8:52 pm

Starting next two months, all new vehicles in European countries must comply with EURO 5. At the same moment EURO VI is being drafted. So think about it, the size of gap between developed and developing countries.

• Black Dog on Aug 22, 2009 at 9:35 pm

Still waiting anxiously for the new Diesel Sorrento. When is it coming?

• bmpower on Aug 23, 2009 at 1:01 am

It's not about too late lah everyone.

It's about 'How many lorry can't run on Euro 3 compliant' diesel? That you know that? We are living still in 'developing' country… not developed country yet.

This is mean, there's thousands lorry (and diesel related engine) gonna DIE if using Euro 3 standard diesel.!

Paul, i wish you can make a research on this matter.

1 – Old merz lorry (most lorry balak)

2 – Old lorry and trailer that transport our goodies from all over the place from volvo F8,F10 – F12. and anykind of nissan UD etc.

3 – Vessel, boats thats fishermans use etc.

4 – Industrial diesels machine.

to all..

If you all think all of this are nothing. And eager begging with your ego but no brainer… Do you know that you can suffer if all goods.. including your Ayam, Daging, Ikan, Sayur and etc will had price increment? Do you willing pay more for it??? Yeah! because they all have to change their old lorry, trailer, boats with the new diesel level engine!!!

• The Watcher on Aug 23, 2009 at 2:33 am

There's another alternative, biodiesel. Hopefully there's a chance it available commercially.

• dude, is thailand a developed nation like australia? their economy not competitive as their diesel is euro4 or even quite advance in biodiesel?

All were hyped and some quarters enjoying our policies at the expense of our beloved country. lf we're serious in combating crime and have mechanism we can manage our resources wiser an BETTER.

• infinity on Aug 23, 2009 at 4:44 am

i dunno much bout diesel..it is obvious that an euro4 complaint engine cannot use our old diesel..but can our old diesel complaint engine use euro4 diesel??

• Littlefire on Aug 23, 2009 at 5:08 am

If i not mistaken old diesel engine can also use better diesel with no problem! The only thing that may happend is more greener and maybe even better fuel consuption!

See this link: http://www.cartalk.com/content/features/dieselfue…

So they have no excuse in hiking up the price! The disadvantage is that the old engine wont get the same performance as the newer engine which design for Euro 2 above…

• well, 1st september onwards will be euro 2 and ron 95 but most stations outside of kl wont be adapting that fast yet. for some reason i dont know why.

so those living outside kl, maybe 1-2 months for euro 2 and ron95 to be at your nearby petrol station.

• WhatTheFuzz on Aug 23, 2009 at 10:48 am

Is this new diesel already available at the Petronas along Federal Highway? Or will it only appear on Sept 1?

• felali on Aug 23, 2009 at 3:12 pm

dear Paul, will a diesel car cost higher? I means in term for the maintenance, monthly expenditure for gas, road tax what ever for an individual private car in Malaysia?

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Aug 23, 2009 at 3:19 pm

Slow…

• Are you stating a fact that these can't use them or are you asking?

This is mean, there’s thousands lorry (and diesel related engine) gonna DIE if using Euro 3 standard diesel.!

Paul, i wish you can make a research on this matter.

1 – Old merz lorry (most lorry balak)

2 – Old lorry and trailer that transport our goodies from all over the place from volvo F8,F10 – F12. and anykind of nissan UD etc.

3 – Vessel, boats thats fishermans use etc.

4 – Industrial diesels machine.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/08/22/petronas-dynamic-di…

• i think euro2,3,4 can be use on new n old. the euro standard is about how much by product cause from burning diesel. bmpower is right, its all about the price(u use the word DIE n not price confusing many ppl la). higher euro will cost higher.

• Kevin on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:36 pm

Hmmm if the Euro 2 diesel engine can last another 10 years, then should we still wait?

Probably depends on whether the air pollution becomes too bad

• Adrian on Sep 09, 2009 at 5:25 pm

Dear 9166

most of the new diesel engine is required to use Euro 2 and higher fuel specification such as

1. Korean brand like Hyundai,Kia and Ssyangyong which their engine call Common rail direct injection

2. For the truck except the old merz, the new Volvo, renault, Scania all is using unit injector or common rail engine which required Euro 2 and higher as well.

3.for Japanese maker like triton,hilux truck like Nissan Diesel for certain model, Hino 300 euro 3 and Hino 700 certain engine is required to use clean diesel too..

for old normal injection pump, some may facing leaking due to reduce of sulphur content but so far in malaysia not sure yet.

the higher the sulphur content in diesel, the harm to new diesel engine willl be great. the higher the Euro specification requiremnet in diesel engine, the price will be higher due to the additional component and cost construction such as after gas treatment system.