V-Power Racing missing from your Shell?

Some of you who occasionally pump Shell V-Power Racing may have suddenly discovered your regular Shell Station has stopped offering it. I know I was surprised to find it gone at the Shell Station after the 50 sen toll in Cheras. The red pump had become the usual RON97 version of Shell Super while the green pump is now RON95.

According to Shell, the official reason for phasing out V-Power Racing for some stations is they need to optimize selected stations in their network and increase capacity for RON95 to meet customer demand. V-Power Racing was never available at all stations in the first place – the Taman Connaught Shell that used to be a Projet had always had RON92 and RON97.

Anyway I found this list of stations where it is still offered on their site. Click the icon at the top right of the document viewer to read the tables in a larger view.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i filled in Red pump at Shell Kg Pandan with RM2.15 this morning.

i oso doubt it was V Power

• v-power no market,i think they pull off from the market.

BTW i have tried on RON 95 from Petronas,Caltex and BHP….so far best performer is BHP,engine still feel the same like using RON 97,the rest abit underpower.

• B33MER on Aug 29, 2009 at 8:23 am

The same list can be found here too :D

http://www.contilovers.com/discussion-lounge/2429…

• valandil on Aug 29, 2009 at 9:46 am

I still remember it used to be Blue-dyed, now, i think its not even Red-dyed? Cost savings too perhaps?

• valandil on Aug 29, 2009 at 9:49 am

if V-power is (really) popular, meaning can sell… they can offer RON95 and V-power only. Small difference between RON 95 and RON 97 only.

• Automotive Jury on Aug 29, 2009 at 9:59 am

hehe..i was almost crazy to find the v-power..they said.."no stock, stock habis, pakai RON95 laa and what ever la"..hehe..in shah alam only 2 station got v-power..it was near by bt3 federal highway toll..huhu..

• akuadi on Aug 29, 2009 at 12:35 pm

i think they must still provided the V-Power to all the station. RON 95, still not compatible with new vehicle i think

• Kamal on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:34 am

Wiemar and Nazi Germany was a special focus of study for me in sochol. so, yeah i’d say i know a thing or two about that subject. I think you’re just another alarmist. you can stifle all the massive conspiracy crap you’re vomiting all over the place. If you really think that government/corporations have that kind of ability to use and dispose of us all, either in cahoots or separately, you’re giving them too much credit. What would killing us all do for them?

• xavier lert on Aug 29, 2009 at 4:46 pm

shell at toll jalan duta (heading north)…they offer ROn 95 and V-power only….shell near my house (rawang)..they sell Ron 95 n 97 only….

• Alifz on Aug 29, 2009 at 6:44 pm

How about East Malaysia?

• adrianclw on Aug 29, 2009 at 7:12 pm

Yup. That day I went to Mont Kiara Shell. Then i noticed the green pump is RON95 and is not the RON97 that we usually pump. As I know previously Shell using Yellow pump for RON95. But luckily the green pump have a tag on it said is RON95. The Mont Kiara don't have regular RON97 therefore I pump V-Power.

Seriously this is confusing for those that usually jump pick the color and pump.

• turtlebusiness on Aug 29, 2009 at 7:34 pm

yesterday i accidentally filled it with the Green Ron 95, though it was the normal Ron 97petrol, saw alot of cars filling it up with 95 too…mayb for consumer they thought that the green is the still the normal Ron 97..kinda disssapointed with Shell to just stick a small notice at the pump to inform customer about the changes..not sure about the rest..anyway when i noticed it, it was already too late..i was half way through filling the tank..anyway would say Ron 95 gives the car a very slow response to acceleration..

• kamilazran on Aug 29, 2009 at 7:36 pm

hey..is that means we've been cheated all this while? i remmber the tag price for V power is rm2.00++ and i did pump it in my car a few times..gosh, it was just RON97 wasn't it?

• NilsoN on Aug 29, 2009 at 8:34 pm

yup,my place Shell station also dont have d~~

• mor0nsUSEv-power on Aug 29, 2009 at 9:33 pm

only morons like u uses v-power.

faggot!

• Automotive Jury on Aug 30, 2009 at 12:09 am

V-Power Racing = RM2.15/L (until 1 Sept)

Shell Super RON97 = RM 1.80/L (until 1 Sept)

Shell Regular RON95 = RM 1.75/L

i wonder how much the price other than RON95 after 1 Sept..it don't have a ceiling price..some station maybe gave the price up like sky rocket..huhu..hey..gov..think again!

for me it was ok if it was a RON100.. (^_^)

• karipap Pusing on Aug 30, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Kamilazran

V power IS Ron 97 with extra addictive….

• anonymous on Sep 01, 2009 at 5:02 am

In my point of view maybe Shell pull out their V-Power Racing product only on stations that are not having satisfactory V-Power sales. Because in the end Shell V-Power Racing is only catered to a niche market.

• alamak on Sep 01, 2009 at 7:24 pm

I just pumped Shell V-Power @ NKVE subang toll exit Shell Station priced at RM 2.25 / litre

• KCivic on Nov 08, 2009 at 1:37 am

Hello. I am driving a Civic 2.0 and has been using Shell V-Power until i thought i tried Ron 97. I must say, the car became less responsive to acceleration and i can feel that it drags every time you put your foot down. I do not want to use Ron 97 anymore and continue with V-Power as it is able to bring out the performance of the engine. Just wondering what additives and formula difference is between the V-Power and Ron 97? By the way, I must compliment Paul Tan for such a nice blog on automobiles, updates, to read, review and comment about. For a young guy your age, you must know a lot about cars. Keep up the good work, Paul! Cheers.

• Michael Lee on Jun 21, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Yah.. Thanks to Paul for such a great website.. keep it up :) ..