Honda develops twin clutch gearbox… for bikes

Honda VFR DCT

The good news – Honda now has a dual-clutch transmission. The bad news (for most of us anyway) is that it’s a transmission for large sport bikes, so you’re not going to see a twin clutch in a Civic for now.

Honda claims this is the first fully automatic motorcycle dual clutch transmission for large-displacement sport bikes in the world. The transmission will make its production debut in a Honda VFR in Europe and North America in 2010, with Japanese sales to start later.

Honda VFR DCT

Like most twin clutch transmission, even gears are on one clutch and the odd gears are on the other. This twin clutch has a total of 6 forward gears, and you can either leave the gearbox in full auto mode (two available – regular D and S for sporty) or change to a 6-speed manual mode.

Honda VFRs are currently in use by our Royal Malaysian Police for some of its big bikes. Perhaps they can upgrade to these sometime in the future so the cops can focus on maneuvering their bikes in a chase and take their minds off clutching and shifting.

Look after the jump for more images of the twin clutch.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=474]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Azman on Sep 08, 2009 at 11:29 pm

for sportbikers, clutching and shifting is part of the fun..

• Elvis on Sep 08, 2009 at 11:32 pm

Paul, can you carry article on motorcycle too? I dont mean those small cc "Mak Rempit" (my neighbour said mom's bike) type. I am talking about higher cc bike like latest Honda Fury, Kawasaki Vulcan etc. Nowadays motorcycles are SO AWESOME especially cruiser type.

• Azman said,

September 8, 2009 @ 3:29 pm

for sportbikers, clutching and shifting is part of the fun..

Yes, I sign that !

Btw, Honda offered an automatic bike already back in 1978 (without dual clutch, but 2-speed with a fluid torque converter.): The CB750A Hondamatic.

After two years the production stalled because nobody in the world wanted to buy an automatic motorbike…

• hmms…automatic motorcycle reminds me of VESPA.

• Yamurah on Sep 09, 2009 at 1:04 am

999 said,

September 8, 2009 @ 4:21 pm

hmms…automatic motorcycle reminds me of VESPA.

No! it is a SCOOTER

• i always wonder, wat would happen if someone transplant a 1000cc bike engine into the kancil with 10k rpm redline…..hmmmm….(dreaming)

• bga jd ank m`sia! on Sep 09, 2009 at 3:01 am

HEHE :-p i also think that 2!

• K’ said,

September 8, 2009 @ 5:13 pm

i always wonder, wat would happen if someone transplant a 1000cc bike engine into the kancil with 10k rpm redline…..hmmmm….(dreaming)

Well, I guess it will look like the Smart car in this video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1Gb4yvpHm8

• WOW..NICE sound…always dream my saga will scream like that..huhuhuhu can somebody tell me what different 1000cc superbike with 1000cc viva ?? both are 1000cc but horse power too much different

• so it be like scooter, no need shift, just turn handle and vroommmm but yeah, like some people said, shifting is part of the fun, the feeling of the gears clicking into place just have some charm in them.

• zafedz on Sep 09, 2009 at 6:26 am

Paul…do you have B full license??..just asking..

• Paul Tan on Sep 09, 2009 at 8:20 am

Unfortunately no but I have featured bike reviews before, done by my friend Mohan.

http://paultan.org/2009/03/17/aprilia-rs125-the-r…

• junbecks on Sep 09, 2009 at 6:00 pm

lmst:

both have same displacement engine. But the viva isnt tuned for high speed, thus giving you better fuel consumption.

A 1000 superbike fits its name, SUPERbike. the engine tuned so that it produces much more power and revs much harder (12000 rpm)

fuel consumption quite high too.

• If paul mentioned about Honda VRF in 2010, then most likely it will be installed in VFR 1200cc. this will or could be replacement for ST1300 pan-european class. While ST will be migrating to ST1500 (1500cc) putting itself in front of Kawasaki GTR1400 Concours, a whole new sport tourer region.

dual clutch system means producing power/speed output faster than single clutch. Hmm this is very interesting. Honda VFR 1200, dual-clutch plus vtech system. hopefully its shaft drive…pergh…we are looking at RM110K region otr.

• Annihilated on Sep 09, 2009 at 8:31 pm

lmst said,

September 8, 2009 @ 8:59 pm

WOW..NICE sound…always dream my saga will scream like that..huhuhuhu can somebody tell me what different 1000cc superbike with 1000cc viva ?? both are 1000cc but horse power too much different

————————————————————-

for the cc i think superbike could generate over 150hp at high rpm but i doubt viva engine could go more than 70hp. anyone know?

superbike engine has lighter parts compare to normal car engine.

thus, making it a 'high-rev'er compare to normal car engine.

the HP is high for but the torque is low.

low torquey engine is OK with motorbikes but not heavy cars (btw, fortwo is light). please correct me if I'm wrong.

in reality, of course la the superbike engine alone will cost bomb compare to ah beng engine mod / upgrade. :p cheers!

• Elvis on Sep 09, 2009 at 9:03 pm

Petty Paul, since done well with cars(seems we can get latest automotive news here before others). Well, we cant ask too much from our sifu Paul. But if you carry motorcycle reviews as well, memang cun bro…

• Paul Tan on Sep 09, 2009 at 9:04 pm

I've been trying to get motorcycles for review… my friend can do it. No response from the manufacturers yet.

• Elvis on Sep 09, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Well their lost Paul. I knew Naza 650 cruiser launched few years back which didnt sell well in Malaysia. What most didnt know is that this cruiser bike is a Harley Davidson Vrod ripoff!! Of course Naza bikes are mostly from rebadge Hyosung a korean company but copypaste from suzuki motors. I can only imagine if Naza allow you to do the review, sells MALATUP! So like i said, they lost…