Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Brabus Ultimate High Voltage Concept: “tuned up” electric smart fortwo

Advertisement

The Brabus Ultimate High Voltage Concept is basically a Brabusified electric smart fortwo, and despite the word concept in its name its actually supposed to be very close to production, though the name might change.

Though they call it “Ultimate”, I think it could probably get better than this because a 0 to 100km/h acceleration time of 9.8 seconds is decent but hardly what you’d call sporty.

The electric motor puts out 82 horsepower and a peak torque 280Nm of torque right from zero revolutions. Such is the characteristics of electric drives that you might as well drop the word peak from the phrase peak torque.

Look after the jump for a full photo gallery of the electric smart.

14 Comments »

1. KS said,

September 20, 2009 @ 2:07 am

I dun like it.

2. TonyZai said,

September 20, 2009 @ 6:02 am

82hp for this small car, i wonder what its consumption like.

3. silver said,

September 20, 2009 @ 6:23 am

??? nice la for electric motor……

4. saki77 said,

September 20, 2009 @ 9:38 am

chomeyy..
    Selamat Hari Raya kepada semua umat Islam di Malaysia…..

5. chuan said,

September 20, 2009 @ 10:34 am

This is cute. But i won’t buy it. Coz too small.

6. Mastergayles said,

September 20, 2009 @ 11:28 am

Tony, it’s an electric car. What do you think?

TonyZai said,

September 20, 2009 @ 6:02 am

82hp for this small car, i wonder what its consumption like.

7. Elvis said,

September 20, 2009 @ 1:00 pm

Wats the hell is the thin aerial doing on this car?

8. Yuan said,

September 20, 2009 @ 1:01 pm

i think the price will be same as the Merz C-class…

9. hasz said,

September 20, 2009 @ 2:41 pm

Yep you re right,mmg mahal punyer,salam raya semua.

10. mystvearn said,

September 20, 2009 @ 5:22 pm

A bit pointless to me. Too high centre of gravity.

11. Elvis said,

September 20, 2009 @ 7:28 pm

Cheaper to get a ciplak version of EV from China…..

12. Annihilated said,

September 20, 2009 @ 8:46 pm

Wow! Brabus! Rebadged! No one will complaint! Let’s praise the genius Caucasians over the rebadging idea! New idea.. wow!!!

*sarcasm in motion*

13. DGA said,

September 21, 2009 @ 12:08 am

I LOVE IT!

14. AC said,

September 21, 2009 @ 9:44 am

Nice but not practical here due to lack of charging stations unless you work indoors.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Chrysler to use Fiat engines, ends GEMA alliance
next post: New updates to hybrid Lexus GS450h