Rally Indonesia: power steering problems for McRae’s Proton Satria Neo S2000

satria-neo-s2000-indonesia

Alister McRae’s debut in the Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 rally car at the Rally Indonesia last weekend did not end too well despite setting some very competitive times at first. He had to retire from the race prematurely thanks to some issues with the car’s power steering system, which is to be expected considering the car is still under development by UK’s Mellors Elliot Motorsport.

Source: YouTube

APRC.tv (watch the video above) seems convinced that the car will pose a real threat to the Subarus used by the current Motor Image team domination and personally I certainly hope so. Watch the video for some nice footage of the car’s performance in Indonesia. The next stop will be China on the 14th to 15th of November 2009.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Cpt Shopalot on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:43 am

Way to go

• God.Of.War on Oct 08, 2009 at 11:19 am

Damn, NA beat TURBO !

Kinda nice u noe… u all have any idea how they do it? NA beat Turbo?

• adrian on Oct 08, 2009 at 11:30 am

NA beat Turbo? Wht is it? Could you further explain? Thx.

• adrian on Oct 08, 2009 at 11:31 am

NA beat Turbo? Wht it is about? Could you further explain? Thx.

• The Reader on Oct 08, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Go satria go…. I hope proton RnD involved in this rally and learn something that can improve ? NOT THE UK’s Mellors Elliot Motorsport… don't let it become mat salleh learn something from our car instead ? Hope proton is not just give the chassis and do nothing by outsource project to other vendor to do it.

• Raixa on Oct 08, 2009 at 4:40 pm

NA are even better than turbo because the torque that the engine have are available from even lower rpm than turbo so actually if mcrae did not have to retire he, i can said to be almost confirm champion!

• audi quatro short wheel base

pug 206 t

focus rs

those car have that type of body no overhangs and shorter WB shoud poise good in rally.

hope neo shines.

• Mohamad Iqbal on Oct 08, 2009 at 4:59 pm

You heard that..

"Neo can be a real freak to subaru domination" correct if i'm wrong..

btw..

now i realize proton jv with those mellors can do better marketing now…

• angie on Oct 08, 2009 at 5:17 pm

nice corner

• Mohamad Iqbal on Oct 08, 2009 at 5:21 pm

correction

paul mentioned it already "real threat to the Subarus"

• theanswer on Oct 08, 2009 at 5:45 pm

awak,

i agree. no wonder new impreza comes in hatchback.

raixa,

NA also means less item..more light.

• gangully on Oct 08, 2009 at 5:58 pm

i am surprised! no bashers yet?

• MADBOY on Oct 08, 2009 at 6:37 pm

adrian said,

October 8, 2009 @ 3:30 am

NA beat Turbo? Wht is it? Could you further explain? Thx.

—————————————————

Raixa said,

October 8, 2009 @ 8:40 am

NA are even better than turbo because the torque that the engine have are available from even lower rpm than turbo so actually if mcrae did not have to retire he, i can said to be almost confirm champion!

——————————————————-

For S2000 class, the engine max performance is limited, as such, even when u have turbo engine, the max hp must not exceed the limit (even when the engine can do more). So the NA engine can match the performance of the force induction engine and without any additional turbo part, the engine should be much lighter & more realiable than turbocharge engine.

What ever saving in engine weight that be use to enhance the car total performance in other area as the total car weight is also limited.

The all this is in theory also la as in any race there are alot of other factors that will contribute to the team performance.

The Neo is a good car to begin with, so I also expect more from this car. Not this year but next year (or with the F1 team from Malaysia, the sponsorship will go to F1 and this project will be abandon due to no money – u know la Malaysian, only think F1 is better than Rally…)

• Tolan on Oct 08, 2009 at 6:54 pm

Proton and reliability issues..

Better test some where else. Here its just advertising the problems with proton. Once ok then only come out and show the real potential.. better for proton's image.

• Kazuhito on Oct 08, 2009 at 7:43 pm

must be the indonesian ppl throwing stones at Neo S2000 :P

• kremer on Oct 08, 2009 at 7:49 pm

my ofismate just bought black neo last 1 and 1/2 month ago n this morning, after sarapan at mamak stall, the alarm system went wrong then cannot start n move ..ayoyo pity her..went authorized workshop, dont know any extra charge or what..

moral of the story hope the S200 don't throw the alarm system away hahhahha(that the 1st thing the mechanic do i think :))

cheears.

• farghmee on Oct 08, 2009 at 7:50 pm

Tolan, this is rally (or other sports). anything can happen :)

• kremer on Oct 08, 2009 at 7:55 pm

moral of the story hope the S200 don’t throw the alarm system away hahhahha(that the 1st thing the mechanic do i think :) )

if they want to lose…

• kremer on Oct 08, 2009 at 7:56 pm

Kazuhito said,

October 8, 2009 @ 11:43 am

must be the indonesian ppl throwing stones at Neo S2000 :P

or being block by buluh runcing….

• theanswer on Oct 08, 2009 at 8:05 pm

no lah..they claim that satria neo came from indonesia.

• Littlefire on Oct 08, 2009 at 8:51 pm

As expected…

Anyway i tot a lot of rally car dont have power steering also… Their setup are simple and lighter the better…

• RAVEN on Oct 08, 2009 at 9:06 pm

NEO S2000 is the only NA car in Indonesian APRC..

Others are EVOLUTIONS & IMPREZAS..

Check out the result for stage 1 & 2 (day 1)
    http://www.rallyindonesia.com/2009/makassar/resul… http://www.rallyindonesia.com/2009/makassar/resul…

Check out the result for stage 9, 10 & 11 (day 2)
    http://www.rallyindonesia.com/2009/makassar/resul… http://www.rallyindonesia.com/2009/makassar/resul… http://www.rallyindonesia.com/2009/makassar/resul…

impressive lar, despite the fact that it is still under development..

• no lah..

they will freak out because "SATRIA" is an indonesian word…

• the fighter on Oct 08, 2009 at 9:46 pm

RT said,

October 8, 2009 @ 1:29 pm

no lah..

they will freak out because “SATRIA” is an indonesian word…

—————————————————————–

'PROTON' also origin from indonesia hahahha

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Its not the car, its the DRIVER……Alistair Mc Rae……..

• bmpower on Oct 08, 2009 at 11:37 pm

FIA and RALLY also from indonesia, they had it all!.. hahhaha lol.

nway.. it's very nice NA engine can side-by-side by all of the wellknownalready one. Next year wish S2000 already complete to race.

This year.. erm.. don't expect any..

• teressap cock on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:09 am

yo..rt

it is a Malay word..used by peoples in Malay Archipellago

• BeRrY on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:27 am

hahaha

pity indonesian

i bet they will accused us stealing neo design too~~~~ =b

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:44 am

The WRC Super 2000 series will only be fully implemented in 2011. Therefore all S2K cars are still in their development stages. Regulations limit the 2.0L normally-aspirated engine revolutions to a maximum 8,500rpms.

The Proton Satria Neo S2K as we all know is built in UK by Mellors Elliot Motorsport, owned by Chris Mellors. Proton bought one unit from them. The car used by Alister McRae at the recently concluded APRC Rally Indonesia is the same one used by Karamjit Singh in the APRC Rally Malaysia.

This rally-prepared car shared only the same chassis as the road-going Satria Neo. Nothing else. Even the platform is redesigned to accommodate the 4WD's propeller shaft running to the rear. As for the engine, only the Renault's engine block of the Waja 1.8 is used.

Now, in a WRC Group N car, which is turbo-charged, torque kicks in at a much lower engine speed whereas in the Neo S2K, it kicks in at a high 6,000rpms. Anything below, it will somewhat be like the infamous Campro engine, tame acceleration, especially out of corners.

Alister did a great job in Indonesia, managing to keep the revs up, and that was why one can hear the engine practically screaming.

As for the misfortunes in Indonesia, it was during a long high-speed stretch, a small jump, and the bottom hit an embedded rock. This damages the sump guard extensively and the oil sump broke, with the steering-rack suffering physical damage. All this happened on the 1st day.

During day 2, steering problem persisted and the team pulled out. It seems that the power-steering fluid pump's solenoid valve (which controls fluid pressure) was the culprit.

Enough for now, hope this answers some questions, come rain or shine! CIAO!

• superookie on Oct 09, 2009 at 4:01 am

CAMPRO and CPS also we steal.

then Evo X oso they claim theirs coz looks like jerung, and jerung is their word. XD

• go go proton!

• rikeys (Member) on Oct 09, 2009 at 5:57 am

why can't NA challenge or beat Turbo? we seen it on Japan tracks before here's a link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUn1rfZYXbQ
    NA Honda Fit vs Turbo Toyota Vitz … this is my hero in Japan man with b@lls of steel!

• Mohamad Iqbal on Oct 09, 2009 at 9:20 am

To NutzeyWagen,

Wishing someday i will achieved driving method like Alister McRae by managing to keep the revs up while hearing the engine screaming..oh la la..

p/s:a lot of thing to learn too for being like him.

• initial R on Oct 09, 2009 at 5:45 pm

the fighter said,

October 8, 2009 @ 1:46 pm

RT said,

October 8, 2009 @ 1:29 pm

no lah..

they will freak out because “SATRIA” is an indonesian word…

—————————————————————–

‘PROTON’ also origin from indonesia hahahha

———————————————————

Ohhh… wait Malaysia also from indonesia… (kita kan serumpun pak !)… :)

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 09, 2009 at 10:37 pm

Mohamad Iqbal: Why don't you go to SIC tomorrow night (10 Oct), there's a RallySprint event there. You might get to learn a thing or two there too, if you bump into the right person. So be there, come rain or shine! CIAO!

• Mohamad Iqbal on Oct 10, 2009 at 12:34 am

NutzeyWagen :

I loved too,but i'm juz an ordinary guy with no big monster in my garage..

can't do nothing when go there, juz sometimes in my past i do a pit walking inside SIC garage while watching all racers n their team working..so nicely when looking at them..

about learning,yup..we have too..

not juz on pit but go to workshop,watching some fellow with their big monster do some setup.(tebalkan la muke tengok2)

while me..enjoying my scenery how they behave when mechanics do something intrestg on their monsters then test the cars..

so..niceee..

and me,

enjoying my street driving everyday with my beloved NA kancil,but sometimes the engines throw it smokes but till now the engine not failing me..

i do my money limited,thats why i can't push the engine roars too much..if not u know what happens rite..

hopefully my kancil can serve me well more longer,and still can bring me to my kampung once a month in 3hours drving but sometimes 2hours and have done 1:** also;) from s.alm to simpg empat then to g***s,N9. but please,drive safely and dun try hurt others on streets ya and plz buckle up;)

NutzeyWagen,thanx for inviting btw who are you ya? reach me up @ yahoo jek5790

• GeramHati on Oct 10, 2009 at 8:15 am

proton forgot fix the steering? or lotus is busy?

• Mohamad Iqbal on Oct 10, 2009 at 3:20 pm

GeramHati:

Equal to ur nick,write with "geram" soul..lol

Dude,this car is under mellor's developement.

PEACE :p

• GTRio on Oct 12, 2009 at 7:21 pm

steering problem?