New 4-cylinder and 6-cylinder engines announced for the BMW X1

BMW has announced new petrol engine options for its X1 compact SUV. First on the list is a 2.0 litre 4-cylinder powerplant for the rear wheel drive X1 sDrive18i model. The 4-pot makes 150hp at 6,400 revs and has a peak torque of 200Nm at 3,600 revs.

This engine can be mated either to a standard 6-speed manual cog box or to an optional 6-speed automatic slush box. With the latter, 0-100 km/h can be achieved in 10.4 seconds (9.7 seconds for the manual) while top speed is rated at 200 km/h (202 km/h for the manual).

Fuel consumption is figured at 8.2 litres per 100 kilometers with the manual transmission and 8.4 litres per 100 kilometers for the automatic. Next on the list is the new all wheel drive X1 xDrive25i that is powered by a 6-cylinder unit. This engine is able to produce 218hp at 6,100 revs and 277Nm of torque at 2,500 revs.

This model comes standard with a 6-speed automatic. 0-100 km/h takes 7.9 seconds and it can deliver a top speed of 223 km/h. Fuel consumption wise, the xDrive25i carries a 9.3 litres per 100 kilometers rating.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• lovesM5 on Jan 15, 2010 at 9:19 pm

pig using lipsticks…yuck

• kuku stim on Jan 15, 2010 at 9:22 pm

ugly

• i hope to see in flesh soon. whats the price like when it arrive here? i hope for it not to be more than 240k for the 2.0

• Any price tag?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 15, 2010 at 10:04 pm

good for us

• balloon on Jan 15, 2010 at 10:05 pm

am i the first ??

oh my god .. this is freaky and ugly .. pleaseeee remove this

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 15, 2010 at 10:19 pm

ugly

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 15, 2010 at 10:19 pm

korean design?

• just me on Jan 15, 2010 at 10:33 pm

hi, what is the meaning and differences of 'manual cog box' and ' automatic slush box" ?

or it is just the same manual and automatic transmission?

• Alpha on Jan 15, 2010 at 11:05 pm

i kinda like this X1~~it's a compact crossover,rite??so,roughly smaller than CR-V,is it??

• I like! Hope the price when (if?) it reaches MY shore will not be absurd.

• its a cross-over model as wht jappy term it.

doesnt work for me …..

• mystvearn on Jan 16, 2010 at 12:53 am

OK La, but not going to turn any heads

• Yawn…….. next…. This is one ugly car…Looks like BMW is taking Korean Design…ha ha ah ha…

• THE UGLIEST BMW IN HISTORY!!!!!!!

• theanswer on Jan 16, 2010 at 2:07 am

i hope to see in flesh soon. whats the price like when it arrive here? i hope for it not to be more than 240k for the 2.0

naah..definitely more expensive than 320i…it's suv for sure.

• dickk on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:26 am

This is BMW ?????? yuek…

• ANTI TOYOTA-HONDA-AN on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:29 am

It will be the replacement model for the ugly x3 ~ trust me!!

• buttercity on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:37 am

Shouldn't not be created in the first place. Look like a cross breed of pig-duck.. Fugly..

• As long is less then 300k for the 2.5.. should be a good buy.

i love its brutel and mean look… never like plain n common design. Neither hate it or love it….I love it!

• Abzaja on Jan 16, 2010 at 4:40 am

sorry bmw…not this time

• WinDMilL on Jan 16, 2010 at 4:58 am

I agree with u … It should be expensive then 3 series 320i… Cuz this is a SUV… i think it at lease around Rm250K…

• mofidz on Jan 16, 2010 at 5:28 am

1 word: FUGLY!! yucks… Even our national car got better looking.. Proud to be Malaysian! Har har

• toycar on Jan 16, 2010 at 5:42 am

just too many wrong things put together in this car….

• albagmane on Jan 16, 2010 at 6:07 am

LOL another car which takes time to like it… guess BMW is walking on the path which Porsche is walking too…

• i quite like it

• volvo xc60 looks alot better lol

• last time bangle butt….now hoydonk pig nose

• theanswer on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:00 am

too me..luxury suv with real 4wd still came from land rover.

• Need a better front look.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:09 am

i think this car is very pretty. better than GLK

• keretakuda on Jan 16, 2010 at 9:10 am

WHAT HAPPEN TO BMW????

• macam kerbau jer….big ugly nose

• kalimantan on Jan 16, 2010 at 12:34 pm

suggest funeral service use it as coffin carrier

• BMW X5 on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Not really KOREAN design..

Its the same case as the 5 Series.. the previous one not the current F-version. when it first came out everyone was dissapointed how the e39 looks so good and don really like its new look.

but after some time alot of ppl starts to love it when they make the M5 again.. everyone started to make widebodykits for it..

its the same here.. when i first saw the design last year in january i did really agree with the design cue.. :P.. but after digesting the 7 series design.. u will realize that the design is actually not bad..

its a mixture of the old BMW design with the large kidney griles.. with the modern and sophisticated look of a modern car :P..

I'm goin to Brunei just to have a look at it..

happy motoring!!

• rearviewed on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Wow I am loving the curves. Really cool!

• The Who.. on Jan 16, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Just bcoz one person hate tis car, the other oso want to hate it? Stupid basher.. Anyway, saw tis baby once at miri.. Of course, brunei car.. It looks marvellous..

• ktas09 on Jan 16, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Like hyundai santa fe. BMW lost the touch of Chris Bangle.

• theanswer on Jan 16, 2010 at 7:15 pm

beauty is in the eyes of beholder..who are u to call ppl stupid? most of us here sed it's ugly..it's majority. so it's u or us that should be called stupid. yeah u..the minority.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:26 pm

i think when proton decides to rebagde and suv. those stupid proton fan club will come here say…our proton suv is greater than this =)

• BMW,u r digging your own grave…

• Gajen on Jan 16, 2010 at 10:04 pm

this is a serious problem with bmw….their designs are so weird!they should keep it simple…the only new model that looks good in myopinion is the z4,the other model all look ugly…

• Abzaja on Jan 16, 2010 at 11:22 pm

The Who..

Most of the bashers comment only on the design. It is a subjective view and no one is blind in expressing their thought about it. You don't gain anything when kissing bmw's ass by flaming others as stupid except showing your narrow thinking.

• subhero on Jan 17, 2010 at 3:56 am

its look like..

7series convert to x1. so this actualy not the x1 but 7series 4×4 type.

proton designer would design better than this..

bmw u should fired the x1 designer..

• squawk on Jan 17, 2010 at 5:21 am

BMW is the king of niches. X1, X3, X5, X6, 5GT….. why even bother? Besides, it kinda hurts the eyes.

• fuyiopo on Jan 17, 2010 at 8:37 am

There is too much people writing bashing comments while looking at the mirror.

Another brilliant design from BMW. Hope the price is affordable.

• suv huh.. it look more like a wagon..

• TazioNuvolari on Jan 18, 2010 at 4:08 am

This is BMW?soo ugly. i don't care how many piston this car have, this car is just so damn ugly..come on BMW.learn from Audi.

• peYno F**K on Jan 18, 2010 at 5:06 pm

this car can join his big brother x3…ugly looking but i bet ppl will buy it because it is bmw…so..they just take advantage from their branding…