Barack Obama wants hybrid limo, Secret Service says NO!

Contrary to what many people think, the President of the United States of America doesn’t always get what he wants. ABC News reports that Barack Obama wants to go green by having hybrid power in his motorcade, but his wish is being denied with a sharp NO by the Secret Service.

The US President said that security reasons was why his presidential limousine could not be a hybrid vehicle. “I asked can we make these cars hybrids,” Obama said at a town hall in Charlotte, North Carolina. “Secret Service said no. Now, the reason is not because Secret Service are bad guys. It’s because the cars that I’m in are like tanks.”

Obama explained that his Cadillac, nicknamed “the beast” for being big and black, is reinforced with armour plating and a host of protection gear, causing it weighs over two times the normal weight of cars. “They just couldn’t get the performance in terms of acceleration using a hybrid engine.”

The US Government recently announced that they have purchased more than 5,000 hybrid cars and trucks. “We are using our purchasing power to help encourage the clean car industry,” the Commander-in-Chief said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jarum on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:32 pm

What’s next, Barack?? Moving out of the White House into the Green House??? :)

• I was wondering, what car does our prme minister uses?

• Alpha on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:44 pm

he uses a perdana exec for public events,but his fave is his cayenne turbo.he has a few others also~

• lanwm on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:39 pm

plate no 13 is it hey..

this beast must weigh like 3-4 tons

• subhero on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:21 pm

last perdana V6 no plate is W** 13 using by our previous prime minister TUN PAKLAH.
        i’ve seen the car before at kajang town without any plate darjah kebesaran at the car.

The cermin still gelap lah. and not sure who drive the car. i know dats is TUN PAK LAH car because i always see the car at masjid putrajaya mostly every friday (Friday Pray) using by Pak Lah.

• RedLine on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:43 pm

Proton Perdana.

• a_ongsy on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:50 pm

pm …perdana
    cm sarawak…roll royce

• Squawk on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:50 pm

How about putting in a big-ass turbo diesel engine? :-)

• alpha0201 on Apr 08, 2010 at 7:57 pm

It does. It’s powered by GM’s 6.6L Duramax turbo-diesel V8 engine.

• Ferruccio on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:11 pm

The electric motors in a hybrid car produce copious amounts of Torque linearly right from the get go. You want plenty of Torque to get a heavy vehicle going and the hybrid can provide it for sure.

Perhaps the Secret Service rejected it because other compromises would need to be made like more weight and space needed for battery storage and they need to protected and reliable for heavy duty use.

Or the Secret Service guys are not engineers and just dumb. Who knows. If George W Bush can become President, anything is possible.

The excuse for lack of performance acceleration doesn’t hold water.

• nabill on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:27 pm

i tink he jus buying votes….hes jus saying it , to gain public suport or gain popularity , he doesnt have to mean it …..!

• rexis on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:39 pm

Dear Obama,

I truly respect your will to go green, and hope that you would always keep that in mind for the better tomorrow.

It is okay for you to ride on a tank to work, because anyway your ride will be guarded by a fleet of fuel guzzler anyway, it makes little point to invest on a hybrid tank.

Rather then making yourself as an example, your job lies on making important decision that can help cut national emission for the most polluting country in the world.

Wind, solar, advanced nuclear, geothermal, you name it, there are endless possibilities then just making a hybrid presidential ride.

And yeah, by the way, a big ass turbo diesel engine would probably give you much better mileage. And it is much easier to convert it into biodiesel compatible.

Regards
    Rexis
    Some anonymous guy

• rexis on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Oh by the way, it is already a 6.5 L diesel engine. 8 MPG.

http://guestofaguest.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/obamas-ride.jpg

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 08, 2010 at 4:23 pm

It says:
        “Driver window: … The only window that opens – just by 3 inches – so the driver can pay toll…”

Then older generation Protons are safer than this Obama monster :-P The driver window won’t open at all :-D

• plasma16 on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:47 pm

Exactly what Ferruccio said.
    Electric motors give better torque from idle.
    Hybrids are used in tandem with combustion engines for extra power.

I believe weight & space constraints would be a better argument.

• sick&tired on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:55 pm

“Obama explained that his Cadillac, nicknamed “the beast” for being big and black”

So big + black=The beast?

• lambov12 on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:55 pm

i think our PM should change its perdana to something more powerful ..

maybe VXR8 Bathurst or Audi RS4 ?

• subhero on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:29 pm

i dont think so our PM will change the car. Even not to CAMRY 2.4V. hehe :P

• drMpower on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:38 pm

if he does, then these people called themselves ‘true petrol heads’ will gone mad.

back to obama.

he is actually ill-advised by secret service.

the fact that he mention about ‘cannot keep up with acceleration bla bla bla’ is not entirely correct.

electric motor has a unique feature. the torque it produces can be in magnificent numbers – 300-400Nm or easily get to 1000Nm. with his ‘job’ as the president of the USA, i believe torque is much needed rather than top speed.

so bhp gone out of window. torque is the name of the game (well, atleast for get away mr president car)

ps- got an idea. why not proton produce electric motor assisted perdanas for the ministers? this going to be a very very good PR service..

• Mysticmind on Apr 08, 2010 at 4:39 pm

then the battery weight? 10 tones ah?

another story…
        Obama = “faster, to the airport”.
        Driver = Sorry, still recharging!

• drMpower on Apr 09, 2010 at 1:23 am

that super sleek Tesla has a motor in it and would do 100mph. of course the battery would seize a big chunk of the area. regenerative technology is in the working for perfection which will keep the car going n be charging at the same time.

yeah, the battery will be the biggest issue in electric cars. up until they can produce small and lighter ones.

• RS Fan on Apr 09, 2010 at 8:26 am

LOL simple truth Mysticmind :D

The idea sounds good, the practicality scores nil.

Me think we should have one PM’s limo powered by our palm oil. then we can say we are proud of our national car that drinks what we produce best…Lol..yes i know its lame.

• bryan.jones on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:25 pm

now no more Perdana exec… now PM in Perdana Limosine.

• subhero on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Our PROTON now are hardworking to built GEN-2 hybrid kan?.. myb if Our Prime Minister ask to change the Official Car to Hybrid car, myb Gen-2 Hybrid could be the Option??? OMG…

• digger on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:37 pm

wondering if PM’s car is shielded. not to worry though as UTKs are aplenty :D

• PLEASE Mr. BARRACK~!!! TALK TO OUR PM, ASK HIM TO TOTALLY REDUCE TAX n WATEVA for HYBRID CAR..

• MoFaz on Apr 09, 2010 at 2:43 am

Japanese gov are paying subsidies to Toyota and Honda for ‘green’ cars, that’s why the hybrids and EVs are cheaper in their market. Do you think Malaysia receive subsidy from Japan to buy their hybrid?

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 08, 2010 at 4:08 pm

Maybe solar panels across the washington monument and ontop of the white house to go green:P

• its ok mr obama….if u cannot use hybrid, then just stop war in afghan n iraq. That consume more oil than your beast does.

• Student on Apr 08, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Barack Obama should sumit that as a project for the Big three as the car for the companies to build as the choice of car for publicity for the company that succeed the Secret sevices armoured expectations

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 08, 2010 at 9:15 pm

i think this car is ugly. really.

• turbonetics on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:27 pm

ugly car it is…but this baby got many secret weapon under its hood…

• JULIAN_LEE on Apr 09, 2010 at 12:22 am

How about Obama wants to have sex, but Michelle said no?

• so what if he’s chilling in a ‘tank’? can it withstand a bazooka?

let us look on the bright side. he’s being modest asking for a ‘green car’. give him a little room will u

• Squawk on Apr 09, 2010 at 12:38 pm

Yes, it’s supposed to withstand anti-tank rocket grenade attacks. Even the underbody is protected from bomb attacks.

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 09, 2010 at 9:00 am

It is cadillac, like merc in US. Btw, just give the Obama the hybric, hahahaah…

I don’t think cadillac has any hybrid yet :(

• Hameed Koyakuti on Apr 09, 2010 at 11:58 am

Sign the Kyoto Protocol 1st, then only talk about going green…..Love the Earth konon…..pooodah…..

Actually, US P cannot say anything, he only read the text given by the Sec. vetted by the Freemasons and The Skulls ( Conspiracy Theory laaa niii…. ).

• wow i didnt know that :-)

• once u go Black you never go back?!