2011 Suzuki Swift exposes uncovered bum in public!

The current Suzuki Swift has been around since 2004, although it still looks cheeky and youthful six years on. A replacement is very near, and test mules have been caught in action in the snow and at Nurburgring. We previously posted up an image which purportedly shows the dashboard of the 2011 Swift, which will be launched at the Paris Motor Show in October according to reports. Now let’s have a first look at the uncovered exterior.

These images of the Swift on a transporter were taken in Hungary, where Suzuki’s European production base is located. If this is indeed the new Swift, we can see that the changes are evolutionary; perhaps Suzuki didn’t want to alter the winning formula too much. The rear lights are now longer and goes deeper into the car’s sides while the license plate location has shifted upwards. Reminds me a little of the previous generation “big booty” Renault Megane. Cars testing at the ‘Ring also give hints of headlights that are more swept back. Do you like what you see?

According to Autocar, insiders have said that the new car is an evolution of the current model – more grown up, but with the same sort of appeal. The 2011 model is also said to sit on an all new platform and will come with new small engines, with turbo being a possibility.

Take a closer look after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1181]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:18 pm

The rear remind me the previous model of Megane..

• ok…not too bad

a bit of Renault-ish taste…..

oso a bit of Pug-ish taste too….

• shokubeni on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:23 pm

fat and sexy bum

• chikno on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:25 pm

wah..but the changes should next year for our CKD at Pekan..

• tokai on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:27 pm

not many difference than previous one..

• 1st!

Too bad, still a hatch. Recently saw Fiesta Sports which comes with lots of goodies. And the Sedan looked awful… Can’t they match all the goodies for Sedan as well?

• Hikaru on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Seems production ready. Should be a classic like Renaults’ Clio of yore but now have become too bloated and sophisticated to be any thing like its past.

Can’t wait!

• TheophilusChin on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Remember that song “baby got back”? Hahahha…

I quite like it, a subtle change from the current design, but different enough. Look forward to see the front.

• TheophilusChin on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:51 pm

I also believe Suzuki will shoe-horn in some VW diesel engines too.

• Alpha on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:58 pm

too similar with the previous one albeit more modern~

• The rear looks like Renault Megane. Lol

• mfahd on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:11 pm

no much different at all

• chk4122 on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:13 pm

Not really exited by the rear of the new Swift. The Suzuki engineers should be more aggresive, give the rear more “hot” looks. However, let’s wait for the front and then we should know better whether the overall Swift will looks better than the current one…

• ceearkay on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:14 pm

first one ?

• Patrich.S. on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:25 pm

innovation on design special on plate no lacation. the light like previous Renault Megane rear light.

• the front uses the almost identical myvi’s headlamp..LoL

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:27 pm

ada turbo in 2011??? wooo.. canggih nya…

• AE86 (Member) on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:28 pm

well i’m more interested for what’s under the hood.. not just some small M16A engine..
    hmm… 1.6 twincharged sounds good :D

• rifaie on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:36 pm

facelift?

• tamaki on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:39 pm

gump,indeed alike previous generation “big booty” Renault Megane but it more refine and balance most important it contemporary design. C.O.O.L

• Tiadaid on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Looks like a Renault Clio

• university student on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Well, Suzuki Swift is always the dream car for university students.

• trav_da_man on Jun 08, 2010 at 6:02 pm

A small fun supermini from Japan but using VW’s twincharge engine will be super yummy!

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 08, 2010 at 6:06 pm

“The current Suzuki Swift has been around since 2004, although it still looks cheeky and youthful six years on. A replacement is very near, and test mules have been caught in action in the snow and at Nurburgring….”

so how many years has our Proton model on the run? Waja? Perdana? Gen2?? wahahahhaahah

• chinz on Jun 08, 2010 at 6:23 pm

for me its look like nissan murano! so this new swift will be mini murano! hahahahahahaha!

• boloq on Jun 08, 2010 at 6:33 pm

ugly as ever, no wonder maskman used it hohohoho

• SwiftMatrix on Jun 09, 2010 at 12:02 am

It may look ugly to your eye,
      But for me… its Yummy (since I can’t afford Mini yet)…
      Its lovely car to drive especially for city drive…
      I love it… and still love it since I bought it 2 years ago…

• mitlanevo on Jun 08, 2010 at 7:02 pm

the current swift is a good compact car, no doubt……

• Rulered on Jun 08, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Is this facelift or new mod?

• i prefer the existing one

• jab strong fierce! on Jun 08, 2010 at 8:34 pm

looks more or less the same with the current gen, now let’s see what toyota can dish out with it’s 3rd gen Yaris

• Samuel on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Looked like facelift to me, hmmmm.

• Aaron on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:03 pm

I am in india now.
    Swift in here only RM20-40K (after convert from rupee).

Thank you very much….

• mati katak on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:08 pm

nice….

but lets get back to reality….

how much will it cost? above 100k now?

• osh_kosh on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:11 pm

next..

• The Branjz on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:26 pm

All wheel drive should add the fun….if only

• protonbasher on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:42 pm

i think i’m gonna change my name to suzukibasher!

• WinterAngeLs on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:47 pm

This could be a hot hatch with a nice butt! Aggressive styling there, Megane-ish. Hope a better engine will reach our shores.

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Jun 09, 2010 at 6:54 am

ugliest car in the country..anybody body who denied it probably has a face as ugly as it too

• azrai on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:43 am

A happy smiling butt for new Swift.

• farghmee on Jun 09, 2010 at 11:01 am

from the exterior look, it does inherit the same lines etc. as its previous gen.
    hehe..some i-really-like-that-old-one feeling is really there :P

pls correct me if i’m wrong :)

but it makes me wonder whether it is ok to use a new platform but
    employ the less-than-new look?
    or is it just merely a “re-skin”?

hmm..

• no much diff

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Jun 09, 2010 at 5:42 pm

or is it better to be named as facelift models???

• bmpower on Jun 09, 2010 at 8:30 pm

mini cooper wannabe

• Swifty on Jun 09, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Most probably it will be here by next year?

• Here is the front-end view.

http://www.bsmotoring.com/news/official-imagesall-new-suzuki-swift/2186/1

• Look like rear of Peugeut 308 :)

• Bius Dogong on Jun 16, 2010 at 5:02 pm

it got a boring design! boring.. boring..

• Thats an all around well written piece..