New Suzuki Swift cabin spied, UK sales to start in Q3

This is the dashboard of the new Suzuki Swift, which was caught on camera and published by Italian website alvolante.it. According to reports, the new Swift will be launched in UK sometime in the third quarter of 2010, riding on a new platform and featuring evolutionary styling from the current car, which has been a hit worldwide. With Volkswagen as Suzuki’s new stakeholder, will the Swift come with Wolfsburg’s TSI and TDI engines? Not unless VW wants to create another “in-house rival” for the VW Polo and Skoda Fabia, but we’ll see.

From the above image, we can see that the new Swift’s dashboard replaces the simple and basic layout of the current car for a more “sophisticated” flowing look normally found in bigger cars – in fact, much of the dash architecture is similar to Suzuki’s D-segment Kizashi sedan.

The current car’s single line stereo display has grown by quite a bit, and the circular side air con vents are replaced with conventional square units. Also seen here are simple VW-style dials with a silver outline flanking a central LCD display. Look lower and you’ll find a start/stop button. Current keyless entry equipped Swifts require you to twist a knob located at where the ignition normally is.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 18, 2010 at 10:40 am

Dashboard reminds me of Gen2 for some reason

• nabil on Mar 18, 2010 at 11:03 am

thrs such a big gap under the aircond panel….

• dukenborg on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:30 pm

Wow, Jap car with German engines? That could be fun!

• hope it got better performance then the current swifupo…

• just visiting on Mar 18, 2010 at 4:05 pm

mcm design proton je..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 18, 2010 at 4:10 pm

mystvearn said,

March 18, 2010 @ 2:40 am

————————-

if i can i feel like taking a hammer and bang this guy's head

• Dashboard design similar to Persona. Maybe VW or Suzuki ran out of ideas?

• Seems to offer MID (Multi Info Display) that the current Swift does not have, correct me if I am wrong ;]

Aircond control seems to be Auto + Dual Zone. But I doubt all of these will make to our borders.

• still it looks better than a proton..

• what's in the middle of the steering wheel?

the square shaped thing. is it a screen of sorts?

• I'mNoTofuSeller on Mar 18, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Nice cabin, much more curvier & classier than the current one. I would like a lcd display on my current swift.

When will it be coming over to Malaysia?

Paul, 1 photo only ? No exterior pictures of the new car?

• Tiadaid on Mar 18, 2010 at 5:54 pm

mystvearn said,

March 18, 2010 @ 2:40 am

—————

Above the glovebox there's an open cubbyhole. That's probably why.

However, I doubt the Swift's gonna be sold here in this spec. But if they do, surely the price's gonna rise.

• d24-rally blogspot on Mar 18, 2010 at 5:54 pm

The current Swift is gorgeous. Superb intertior, although its small. Can't wait to see what it is like outside

• jc said,

March 18, 2010 @ 8:49 am

what’s in the middle of the steering wheel?

the square shaped thing. is it a screen of sorts?

————————————————-

That was a sticker that used to cover the Suzuki badge so it wont easily recognized by others. The cabin of new swift is superb, cant wait for the exterior!

• i like this interior design

• Rudeboi on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Looks like another safe and conventional route to design. Boorring

• Ben X5 on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:27 pm

The current swift is already reasonably look nice..

i mean for this segment of car, price and size.. swift is surely a great bargain..

with the new interior.. and exterior (waitin).. the swift could be one of the best japanese Hot Hatch..

Great!..

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:29 pm

Who want my Swift …. he he

My hands itchi for this new Swift looo…..

• Jaybond on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Should stick to Suzuki Swift with Suzuki's own engine, rather than VW's. Perhaps, for the top of the range version, a powerful high revving unit a la Renault Clio/Honda Civic Type R. Afterall, Suzuki is a world renown superbike manufacturer, they should know a thing or two about making high performance NA engine.

• Keith on Mar 18, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Yes, looks absolutely gorgeous!

• hahah! on Mar 18, 2010 at 8:37 pm

pape pon semue kete dah ikut standart proton

• kimberlycun on Mar 18, 2010 at 9:17 pm

still prefer my round aircon vents on the side and the current flat top dashboard. and still hating on the anti-theft stereo unit.

• pulge on Mar 18, 2010 at 10:03 pm

The Exora should have this dashboard design. Proton please take note.

• shirley on Mar 18, 2010 at 10:24 pm

why there is a black bottle with a silver cap in front of the handbrake lever?

• Suzuki Grand Vitara on Mar 18, 2010 at 10:34 pm

I own a Suzuki Grand Vitara yr 2008 and it give some much problems and lousy service from Mofaz. The aircon release out an abnormal smell once the car accelerate 80Km, Mofaz have change everything form my aircon but smell still there. After removing my aircon my Reverse sensor and my Overdrive Power not working. i make another complain to Mofaz they told me this this device is over warranty. Fxxx them ..

This mail is from Mofaz

Please allow me to just explain a bit in finer detail to you regarding the abnormal smell that you can sense from your Grand Vitara. The Aircond system operates in the Virata operates like this, at certain high RPM (Revs Per Minutes) the Aircond Compressor automatically off’s itself for a few seconds. This allows the engine to gain optimum power for acceleration. In this few seconds there will not be any cold air produced by the Air Cond Compressor and therefore the Blower Motor which is situated inside the Blower Housing tend to blow normal (not cold) air to the ducts.

In the Blower Housing there are 3 main components being the Heater Element at the bottom, Cooling Coil at the middle and Blower Motor being most top.

The design of the blower housing is such that at the most bottom is situated the Heater Elements. In this element, there is hot radiator coolant that cools down the engine and it flows freely from the radiator to the water jackets to the heater elements and back to the radiator itself. Separating this Heater Element from the Cooling Coil is a thin layer of special layer material. And above the Cooling Coil is situated the Blower Motor that sucks the air and pushes it to the air cond ducts.

Now, when the Air Cond Compressor is shut for a few seconds due to high speed and acceleration ( Defensive Driving ), remember that there is hot water in the Heater Element from the radiator . And at this moment the Blower Motor tend to suck in a little hot air that sips pass the special layer material and its blown into the car cabin through the ducts.

That’s why you get the abnormal smell for a while. On our side we are doing as instructed by our Principle Suzuki Malaysia Automobile Sdn Bhd. The last job done at Mofaz, we have already done as per instruction. However, since the problem is not settled and you are still not satisfied, I will try to find some more special material and will try my level best to see and minimise the smell. As for the design of the operation on how the system function as described above, there is nothing that we are able to do.

The report has been highlighted to principle office in Glenmarrie, Shah Alam and they have escalated this issue to their Japanese partners. As per our telecommunication this morning, I will try to get the material asap and update you.

I apologize if I was not able to settle your problem. Please give me e few more days and I will get back to you once I manage to find the material.

Regards,

Mxxxxx Rxxx

Service Manager

Mofaz Otomobil Sdn. Bhd.

If you guys consider buying Suzuki…Good Luck.

• I also got terrible smoke smell in the car everytime i accelerate my Suzuki Swift to RPM3 or 4. Mofaz service center and the suzuki service center at Jalan kuching told me this is a common problem that can’t be fixed and all suzuki swift have this issue. Thats it!! I have to drive with the smoke smell like driving a motorcycle in a car.

Suzuki Grand Vitara 2008, are you able to find a solution to this issue? Did any modification works? I wanted to report it straight to Suzuki Japan but couldn’t find any email address from th

• Suzie on Mar 18, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Apparently the Swift has the same burning smell issue when accelerated hard. My opinion is that it's a minor issue that we can live with. Some are even addicted to the smell, thinking that they've driven the car hard as it should be. The engine and tranny is built to take the beating. Agree that the insulation for the heating plumbing should be improved. Another work-around is to 'chop' and seal off the heating pipes from engine bay, thus disabling the heater which is not a necessity in our tropical country. Anyway, this site should not be used for Suzuki-bashing. There are other proper channels.

• skiborne on Mar 18, 2010 at 11:59 pm

minimalist interior, still looks nice, like current swift. :)

• Tiadaid on Mar 19, 2010 at 12:43 am

Suzuki Grand Vitara 2008 said,

March 18, 2010 @ 2:34 pm

Well, from a customer service point of view, Suzuki's aces. They try to solve the problem instead of passing it on to the other link in their service chain. Can other car makers boast something like that? Especially the other two Japanese makes, since many were arguing on the Kia thread about how T & H are bought because of their customer service.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 19, 2010 at 12:48 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

March 18, 2010 @ 8:10 am

if i can i feel like taking a hammer and bang this guy’s head

I have a right to express my opinion and what kind of response was that for.

• lchan on Mar 19, 2010 at 1:09 am

wtf with the damn fugly steering wheel!

• Philip J. Fry on Mar 19, 2010 at 1:40 am

shirley said,

March 18, 2010 @ 2:24 pm

———

It is a magic bottle with a genie inside that can be commanded to change the gears; provided you know the secret arm (and foot) movements.

• Jimpacey on Mar 19, 2010 at 4:15 am

shirley said,

March 18, 2010 @ 2:24 pm

———-

My honest opinion is that the bottle capacity more than 500ML, i think they put it there to demo how big the cup holder is located in front the handbrake lever. I must say it's a convenient spot for a cup holder. That's the advantage when the brilliant suzuki engineers removed the gear lever and implemented a paddle shifters instead! Bravo! way to go! way to go!!

• keluangman on Mar 19, 2010 at 5:51 am

4 years of driving my Swift… ZERO problem! Starts everytime and never fails me.

Hmm… wonder if I should go for this new swift or get the mini cooper S?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 19, 2010 at 6:36 am

mystvearn said,

March 18, 2010 @ 4:48 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

March 18, 2010 @ 8:10 am

if i can i feel like taking a hammer and bang this guy’s head

I have a right to express my opinion and what kind of response was that for.

——————————–

In similar fashion I also have a right to express my opinion

• olman on Mar 19, 2010 at 6:52 am

sniff sniff, cars that i cant afford.

still stuck with my 10 year old kancil, dammmnn

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:31 am

ok, let me rephrase that:

What has that got to do with the car?

• cecibo on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:52 am

im not sure, but i feel the exterior is not going to look good this time, just look at the current vios & its previous model ughhh….!!!

• Mazda MPS is a stoop on Mar 19, 2010 at 4:57 pm

yeah I agreed..the interior does look like gen2…why currently japs like to imitate proton?

• Oh shirley.. on Mar 19, 2010 at 10:12 pm

philip n jimpacey, u two so harsh….

dear shirley, its actually a souvenir when u buy the swift…..this new swift don have a gear lever….u just hop in n think go…u just press the pedal n it will go…

• keep on bashing on Mar 19, 2010 at 11:34 pm

shirley said,

Philip J. Fry said,

Jimpacey said,

Oh shirley.. said,

=====

i can conclude these 4 idiots are actually same one idoit. just use different name to syok sendiri. idoit.

• lavenderguy on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:03 am

when is this gonna arrive Malaysia?

can;t wait..

• sillymyvi on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:26 am

The new interior is too simple…even worse than the current Swift. I hope there are more storage spaces for smart tag, hand phone, coins, etc. Also more cup/bottle holders please!

I hope the exterior styling is far better than than the spartan interior!

BTW – Suzuki Grand Vitara 2008 – why is your Suzuki serviced by Mofaz and not by an authorized Suzuki service center? They are not known for servicing 4 wheel drives. (Are they?) 2 wheels are their forte.

• SWIFT OWNER SINCE 20 on Mar 24, 2010 at 7:30 pm

I hope it will have more hp. Nice to have an improve engine. About the dashboard, I dont care. I want to have 20 more of that saman laju! hehehehe

• aminali on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:25 pm

checkout this site for the spyshots: http://www.carmagazine.co.uk/Secret-new-cars/Search-Results/Spyshots/Suzuki-Swift-2010-new-spy-photos/

if i am really considering this swift, should i buy the current one or wait? seems like not much difference, wonder how much the price diff gonna be though..

• Aminali it will be take a long time for you to wait New Suzuki Swift.

If in UK come out Q3 2010 then perhaps New Suzuki Swift will lend in Malaysia around May or Jun 2011 with premium price (CBU).

While for now the price seem more relevent though it’s CKD. Unless you are willing to pay extra and you can wait then no hesitate take the New Suzuki Swift.

• Aircon on May 14, 2010 at 4:37 pm

I expect a good performance. Cheers to that!

• I also got terrible smoke smell in the car everytime i accelerate my Suzuki Swift to RPM3 or 4. Mofaz service center and the suzuki service center at Jalan kuching told me this is a common problem that can’t be fixed and all suzuki swift have this issue. Thats it!! I have to drive with the smoke smell like driving a motorcycle in a car.

Suzuki Grand Vitara 2008, are you able to find a solution to this issue? Did any modification works? I wanted to report it straight to Suzuki Japan but couldn’t find any email address from th :(

• shiftSpank on Jun 08, 2010 at 6:39 pm

I think the interior reminds me more of the prev. generation Honda Accord. But that’s just me. I think the shelf thing is nasty. What business case did Suzuki have to go through to warrant something that the driver may not be able to reach when he/she is driving? If it’s meant for the passenger, what’s wrong with the glove box?

• Neonda on Jun 08, 2010 at 7:34 pm

nahhh..seems like more to new-face lift…nasib Suzuki…if P1 tadi..kena bash kaw kaw dah cos come out with new face lift after 6 yrs..hahaaa…

• protonbasher on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:40 pm

i think i’m gonna change my name to suzukibasher!