Proton signs MoU with Nissan Motor Co Ltd on collaboration and platform/powertrain licensing

Proton has announced to Bursa Malaysia that it has entered into a Memorandum of Understanding with Nissan Motor Co Ltd of Japan to conduct feasibility studies on specific areas of cooperation between the two parties, including the potential use of Nissan platforms and powertrains. Feasibility studies will begin today and are expected to end by the 30th of April 2011 – about 2 months time.

This is the first time we’ve heard officially of Proton and the Renault-Nissan Alliance working together since they tied up in a three way relationship of sorts with Genii capital in F1. We’ve heard talks in the past about Proton looking into Nissan platforms and powertrains for its new global compact car, previewed as the Proton EMAS some time ago. Two versions of the Proton EMAS are planned – an everyday car under the Proton badge and another sportier, more powerful and premium version under the Lotus badge.

We also hear that Proton will also be using the Nissan Fuga as a Perdana replacement model for senior government personnel usage only, and the Nissan Fuga has been spotted in the Proton COE carpark in the last few months.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Radz-09 on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:11 am

Tak habis habis mau copy kereta lain untuk replacement model.Dulu ambil mitsubishi lancer untuk inspira,sekarang mau ambil nissan fuga pula untuk perdana replacement.apa la nak jadi dengan protong ni.

• wah! mcm Nissan tu kau punya company pulak. suka hati Proton la nak collaborate dgn sape.

• meet_the_zonan on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:32 pm

pening kepala baca comment proton.. lama-lama bleh muntah.. uuweekkk..

• bayangkan 1 keadaan.. kau kena gunakan duit sebanyak 1000ringgit, bt sejenis gula2 dan jual 5sen 1biji.. yang terjual pulak 1000 biji je.. ada untung? macam jugak perdana dan waja, perdana lebih digunakan oleh pegawai rasmi dan menteri2.. waja pulak kurang laku sebab org lg suka persona, ezora dan Saga BLM.. adakah proton akan buat macam situasi gula2 yg aku sebut td?
      proton better simpan duit dr bazir bangunkan model kurang laku dan gunakan wang yg ada utk bangunkan teknologi2 baru.. bila proton x buat kemajuan, korg kutuk proton jgk..

• Goproton on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:00 am

waja tak laku because of the fail design la…if beautiful n well-spec you think no 1 wanna buy it?

and Nissan fuga not for perdana replacement lo they will replace the perdana but not now…fuga for government use only…another segment bro…
        aiyo even paultan reported some times ago….

• waja laku la wei… but during 2000-2004 only.. after that, the design seems to be outdated…

• alldisc on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:28 am

proton has already assembled and sold more than 300,000 units of waja over the past 10 years. who says waja tak laku? of course malaysians were given the option of either waja or nothing – there was only 1 choice that was Waja (at 60K)

• akinablue on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:47 am

waja fail design..ko buta kot! tell me how many waja on da road since it was launch? if it is a failed design, sure nobody will buy it!

• Goproton on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:07 am

consider less with sales for 10 years already…
            the design don’t last that long compared to other models offered by proton…put inspira at that same price and see if it sell less than waja…since inspira replacing waja…or even the persona will do….
            afterall…waja was the only model ppl can buy at that price of that segment….if don’t sell then really nothing to say lo….

• akinablue on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:11 pm

now u compare bout the price plak..bknke ko kata waja ni fail design..and u never mentioned about the price in the first place.
            it doesn’t matter…yg penting dia laku..so it shows waja is not a failed design as u said.

waja was launched in year 2000..when persona launched? year 2007 right?(if i’m not mistaken). so, of course ppl choose persona rather than waja, its a new design..better handling..new engine..but this is happened only after 6 years after waja was launched! but yet, ppl still buy waja although there is a persona..why????

• he has no issue.. kejap ckp design, pastu ckp pasal harga.. xpe.. aku sokong dia sebab dia designer terbaik malaysia.. aku akan beli sploh bijik kete yg die design sbb dia lg pandai desig dr designer proton.. lg 1, dia blh bg harga murah.! jgn kata 10, seratus pun aku blh beli.!

• Accord on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Looks like you are engineer… So tell us what is the design fail???
            Dont simply talk about design if you are not a Mech. Engineer…

• if talk bout design,then refer to designer,engineer dorang engineered the car,hehe..design is one more thing,talk to engineer bout structuremdesign ,go to automotve designer..waja nyr design yes,quite outdated..but after 6years on sale! of course proton didnt hav the capability to desgn car that last for more than 10ears(like bmw,afla romeo)..but compare to the car level,price its quite okay…btw,waja zaman tengku mahaleel..ak pon xsuke mamat tu,tp skarang da bbeza..proton move 4ward :) design pon da brani n siap pakai giugiaro lg(my fveret alfa 159 designer)

• mohsin on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Ko je lah design! mesti lawa giler lah ko punya design!

• Amin GmbH on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:03 am

P.Waja yr 2000 dah ganti power window board incl. motor jam jugak. QA/QC jgn setakat isu NCR saja, kena bawak factory workers dan tunjuk bukti live apa yg whistleblowing.

• kalau ko design kereta, sure aku beli 10 bijik.!! ko kan pandai design.! designer proton sume sampah, haprak.!! x reti design kete.! ko sorg je pandai design kete kat malaysia.!

• Downs on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:29 am

Jgn risau Radz, kau takkan dapat guna punya Perdana Replacement tu..mentality kuno.

• acerman on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:34 am

An old style of thinking.

• did u see many inspira on road? how many people in malaysia can afford to buy this segments car, if their spend money on r&d on new perdana, surely loss money!!!!!

• org hebat on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:51 am

haih. kenapa la kau ni bodo mcm itik sangat? collaboration ni utk jimatkn kos r&d… production kete pn makin cepat, kos pn kurang, arge kete pn kurang… ini bukan copy2. ini bisness.. kalo smue bende nk buat inhouse, abes la duit… pengalaman pn x dpt kalo buat sendiri2 x blaja dr org luar.. haih. pliss lenkali pikir gune kepala yg kat atas tu… bukan gune kepala yg kt celah kangkang tu

• pomen_gtr on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:13 am

dey tambiii…..

kalau proton guna hardware nissan leaf kat keter E-mas tu salah ke???

sawy rilek jer pakai enjin dgn gearbox renault….gearbox AMT tu….antara pioneer gearbox semi-auto yang mampu memberikan performance lebih baik dari fully manual…

proton guna cara ni nak kurangkan kos dan secara tak langsung kurangkan kerugian…tambah untung pun tak boleh…

tapi nanti bila rugi banyak pun kau bising pulak….dahtu ko nak proton tutup??berape banyak periuk nasi orang ko nak tutup???dari atas sampai ke cleaner tu tambiiii….

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:15 am

This is what we call ‘mentaliti katak bawah tempurung’.

• peYno on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:45 am

yea, platform+power train= a new rebadge car!!!!

ok, they will design a sucky dashboard themselves, and ask brother’s to design the rear lamp for them.

and pay italian to style it, and pay lotus to settle the handling, and their engineer only know how to drive it in their track, cant even improve the process flow.

So much so for a R&D bs. Spend so many time and money, just try to avoid the word rebadge, but only learn how to assemble things without quality.

• its better than u…contribute nothing!!!

• Whatev on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:44 am

Weii PeYno.. Lotus is proton ok.. When you talk about lotus.. you’re actually talk about proton.. vice versa.. Proton even planning to inject some money to help lotus.. read in news…

You guys just trying to find a way to kutuk proton while you guys actually didn’t notice that most powerfull car brand out there actually doing the same way as proton.. It’s car business = to get profit.. if you not sure how to do car business.. i suggest you go to proton and learn from them.. because the local car that you always bash is actually know more than you..

PROTON For The Win!!!

• Razor on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:06 pm

Yeah Rm3 Billion of Tax Payers money for Lotus Arrogant OVERAMBITIOUS CEO

• jemjam on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:49 pm

stupid mentality!! read the news la..

dany bahar ambitious plan not going to kacau ur tax monay (even thou u pay less than 10k tax but bising like pay million tax.. thick face arr?)

they going to finance through loan & internal cash.
            if lazy to read, then don’t comment. ignorant!!!

• raies on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:39 pm

ni bukan peyno sebenar………..

kalo peyno sebenar…..ayat nyer mesti ade perodua………..non jdm……..and yg paling penting prthhhhhhh

• hahaha sayang betul dengan peyno.hahaa
          ya kita memang kenal dia basher proton yang paling banyak mulut macam tin kosong.kesian dia arwah tu baik orangnya.hahahaa

• Hello?? Perodua also rebadge Toyota car.. Why only shoot to proton…. If you so know how to complain, I bet you to start up a car making bussines…

• Kamal on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:15 pm

because some ever said that Proton will only R&D their own car rather than rebagde like Perodua.

oppps MoU is a collaboration not rebadge!!!

• VIGOSS on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:29 pm

produa tak gunakan duit rakyat malaysia.
        proton tiap2 tahun rugi rugi rugi.
        abis tu sape nak kaver,duit cukai rakyat la.

• mivec on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Q3 rugi kata tahun..
          Q1 & Q2 untung senyap plak ye bang..
          Q4 belum tahu lagi report tak kuar lagi.. so cheers..

• harris murad on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:48 pm

pity this fella.
      clearly the ‘ponteng sekolah’ type..

• jl@ipl on Mar 03, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Guys, don’t bother his/her comments. Let him/her be happy with his/her ride, regardless of the brand.

Adios Radz-09!!!!!

• kecohlebih on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:56 am

Told ya…
    Nissan power train is the best in the market …
    Smooth, powerful and fuel efficient….

• DonkeyKong on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:13 am

VQ engine + Extronic CVT = class-leading smoothness and fuel economy that even Honda and Toyota can’t match. Hope these technologies trickle down to Proton!

• peYno on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:37 pm

bad news for perodua salesman..
        selling pointt ” our car use toyota engine” not valid anymore

prrrrtfhhhh

• Razor on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:21 am

and yet extremely boring lol..for uncle ok laa..

• nighttrain on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:07 pm

that’s just a design issue.. can be solved.

• http://www.londoncornish.co.uk/newg.html on Nov 30, 2013 at 5:00 am

Wind credit rating Rely Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback amid Republicans in the most suitable facet of a move to force for extension of a federal windenergy output tax credit rating required to safeguard tens of several thousand jobs from the marketplace. But a few of Brownback fellow GOP conservatives this includes Rep. Tim Huelskamp, RFowler, whose unique district retains outstanding wind possibilities fiercely oppose the tax credit rating. Nearly as good windenergy jobs vanish prior to our eyes, Huelskamp and most people nonetheless see the tax credit rating as wasteful shelling out though the federal govt has subsidized fossil fuelbased power output for more than the usual century.
          http://www.londoncornish.co.uk/newg.html http://www.londoncornish.co.uk/newg.html

• greasemonkey on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Skyline,Silvia…Boring kah?

• Bros..
    this is different than inspira project.. proton REBADGE the mitsu lancer and produce it as an inspira.. but in this case, they use nissan’s PLATFORM for their next model and not gonna rebadge any nissan’s current model.

what they gonna do is, they use nissan platform, and then, make their own upper body.. they design might be similar to EMAS concept.. so.. pls understand the meaning of platform first before comment anything..

• alldisc on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:33 am

many of us could not diferentiate the difference between collaboration and re-badge.

re-badge – take one model, change the badge and pay royalties to the patent owner. GOOD coz it is cheap. but shows that the company itself is cheap.

collaboration – contributed to the design and engineering aspects. BETTER. share R&D cost and reduce selling price to the market.

• Kamal on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:06 pm

But Proton said their Lancer is a result of collaboration, not from rebadged.

guess Proton also mix up by their own

• haha.. before doing anything.. we need to collaborate.. rite? the only question is HOW? re-badge the whole car or only platform sharing?

• no matter what i do not think Proton stupid. I put my trust in Tun.

• mystvearn on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:26 am

Perdana replacement model, then the Renault Clio for the EMAS concept?

2 months is a very short time.

• Zoule HCo on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:44 am

Two month is for feasibility studies.. after finish their studies.. Proton will begin to develop their own car plus platform coming from Nissan.. n hopefully they will add Nissan powertrains also..

• peYno on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:48 am

they already have surplus of proton badge left over from Inspira project. So they only need 2 months to prepare the brochure.

• azrai on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:54 am

Actually Perodua already ‘have’ the Renault Clio design for their not too far Myvi. :-) http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/myvi-se-2011.jpg

• zaff1984 on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:58 am

is that the new Myvi..? the front is nice…

• tunomura on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:26 pm

This sluggish gearbox and poor ride & handling car Myvi SE will sell about RM60K…Perodua boleh, Proton Cannot…Pity cheated Malaysian

• Hm, the Proton EMAS will be based on a Renault/Nissan platform?

Mercedes’ announced on 27th October last year, that the new Smart ‘ForTwo’ will be based on a Renault/Nissan platform too:

http://news.thesmart.co.uk/index.php/article-1247/smart/renault-nissan-alliance-daimler-ag-announce-wide-ranging-strategic-cooperation.html

I guess it was a good choice for Proton to select Renault/Nissan. If they want to sell the EMAS worldwide, they will have less problems concerning spareparts. People in Malaysia don’t like Renault too much, but in Europe (where most EMAS will hopefully be sold) Renault is very popular.

BTW: I like the EMAS more than the ‘ForTwo’… ;)

• PakAbu on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:23 pm

I thought that plan scrapped already?

http://paultan.org/2011/02/16/nissan-derived-four-door-smart-for-usa-plan-scrapped/

• shawal on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:48 am

If the government protectionism and taxes was not there , no way daihatsu would’ve help perodua, and Nissan-Renault & Mitsubishi would’ve given proton a helping hand, its in these japanese companies best interest to make sure that p1 & p2 succeed , at least production will stay in Malaysia and give create job oppurtunities…
    I hope Proton will learn well in this 2 months and produce something spectacular…

• peYno on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:25 am

this is bad news for perodua JAGUH KAMPUNG in boleh land.
    EMAS design with Japanese “engine and powertrain”.. this will knock down their sissy myvi or future New Kenari replacemnet model (Move). Plus bad news DAIHATSU gonna invest in INdonesia for SMALL COMPACT CAR for ASEAN region

• suppose the other way around…myvi in japan is girl car…so that mean tomboy is the proper word for that

• SoMeOnE on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:50 am

looks like my personal choice among my friends on who should be their partner looks like its coming through……i think the Alliance is the best option for them as Carlos Ghosn’s modus operandi largely revolves around letting the companies under him to be independant and think out of the box and only focus on the areas to boost economies of scale…proton on the other hand sort of always wierdly picked renault powertrains and platforms over the years ..i see this as a win win for both if i works out…..

• next project – Proton GTR!!!..hehe kidding ;)
    way to go Proton..hope for better car fr u..and of course cheaper one..

whats wrong with waja design???? can’t understand…
    waja + r3 bodykit + 17′ rim..voila, damn beautiful!!

• PakAbu on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Re: whats wrong with waja design???? can’t understand…

Maybe the “nose” on the front hood. ;-)

• DNA Y on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:16 am

here we go!

• azrai on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:49 am

After this the Tan Chong’s guys will also slap “Smarter Guys Get The Original” photostate sheets on their new car just like those Mitsubishi’s guys have been done in these few weeks time.

• farghmee on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:12 am

somehow, i wonder if the posted ad at the mitsu car dealer is permitted by law.

u c, that statement tends to mislead people, as if the inspira (rebadged lancer) is not original = fake (replica).
      if inspira is a fake, then mitsu of course can sue proton for plagiarism.

however, it is already known that proton & mitsu got collaboration agreement.

so should mitsu mgmt monitor its car dealers behaviour?

• Kicap on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:48 am

dont have to monitor ler…everything are inclusive in their agreement in the do’s and dont’s part.

• Izhar on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:40 am

good collaboration..make it well proton…

• farghmee on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:47 am

i have 1Q:
    does platform sharing = rebadge?

if yes, some of comments here is worthreading.
    if no, damn la you, xfaham maksud lg nk gebang lebat!

:)

• mfahd_88 on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:54 am

OFF TOPIC
    is this the 2011 myvi??
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=149410238454174&set=a.141016459293552.26211.121869227874942

• littlefire on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:55 am

Hahaha.. Already foreseen it.. As P1 is using Renault engine in the past in a few cars.. (Waja 1.8, Savvy & Tiara?) So should not be hard for them to gain access to Nissan (Renault-Nissan).. As if not mistaken NTCM now will be ‘rugi’ a bit as at first they are trying to bring in the Fuga.. But nvm, have seen P1 using ‘cost saving tactic’ to bring in & to be ‘rebadged’ fuga for the G ppl (say opposition buy camry waste but own want to sit ‘rebadged’ fuga & merc e-class) and sell locally.. But i believe EMAS will be share platform as a lot of ppl (hardcore supporters) already loss so much face, so P1 have to get something back to show to them… lol..

• elite on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:59 am

macam la ada orang nak beli saham proton

buying proton shares is like buying the stocks of the too-big-to-fail american companies

• ketelaju on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:05 pm

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2011&dt=0302&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Terkini&pg=bt_07.htm

berhati2 bila kuat statement..baik ko ge bertaubat memburuk2 kan orang…

• littlefire on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:19 pm

The P1 share drop back to 3.54 around 2PM laa… LOL!! But we never know until it is closed today..

• peYno on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:21 pm

saham perodua or naza ada???
      annual financial report ada???

prrrrtfhhhh

• justice on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:22 am

i think,.if it used for govt ONLY..better not need re-badge.
    just buy new nissan fuga. habis cerita..no need anyone to ‘gaduh sini-sana’.
    just evryone will blame the G.

• squawk on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:22 am

This could also be for the Leaf.

• lanku on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:25 am

collaboration Proton-Nissan ini adalah sesuatu yang baik dari banyak segi.. R&D, Costing, Technology dan juga strategy pemasaran tertentu.
    siapa tahu, R3-Nismo juga akan ada collaboration…

• seanlimys on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:26 am

i guess its the matter of getting the right thing to do, right car and the right manufacturer.
    what if proton were to make a model that has endless bashing from ppl? what if proton were to make cars with tsi and dsg? are you ppl going to keep bashing?

what if proton were to make its proton inspira based on the older version of mitsubishi lancer and keeps the current version owner’s mouth shut? it doesnt matter whether first 2000 bookings are CBU units or not, or the later ones are CKD units, it still get good response from the public. speaking of money, why not spare some and get it from mmc?

look at aston itself, toyota iq into cygnet? come on ppl, dun tell me proton hasnt made any changes to the inspira. i would rather have those nissan techs or mitsu techs than having this campro unit.

• Bapak_Hussein on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:30 am

Just as I suspected…Proton, with zero hybrid & electric car tech or patents…..How to build Global Compact Car????
    Well, the answer is here: Borrow from foreign car marker….Why Nissan want to lend Proton their platform to compete with them in the global compact car market???? Why don’t proton just be a Nissan dealer instead for M’sia market LOL…

At the end of day…this EMAS Global Compact Car project will end up as (we all already know) EMAS Juara (no pun intended^^) Kampung Car project….But, they still need to beat the current Juara, Perodua …..

• Accord on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Bro,

Current JUARA Kampung for Jan 2011 is Proton no Perodua..
      What a sceptical basher…..

• anak nak cakap on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:27 pm

bapak oh bapak…..
      anak nak bagi tahu ni….
      actually proton is in progressing their hibrid and electri car….
      if u dont belive me which is younger than u… go and surf the internet…
      or u dont even know what is hybrid….. we in paultan can help u…. nak tak??

• scandal on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:49 am

Like a slut sleeping with one manufacturer after another.
    At the end of the day produce bastards with Mitsu/Renault DNA.!!
    Savvy/Inspira/ Waja1.8 ??? he2x!!

• bezita on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:54 pm

that is just like a bangang person said

• VW has rape to many time..audi, lambo etc all have been rape n get new infant..the latest they raping proton partner….the partner now go with VW but now who is the father of the soon to be born baby father proton? or VW?

• khaix19a on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:44 am

audi q7, porsche Cayenne and volkswagon Touareg share same platform nobody argues about it why nissan share plateform with proton some people think it a bad thing

• I knew these kind of comments will come. Obviously, you missed the point that VW owns both Audi and Porsche, among other brands.

Now you tell me, does Nissan own this protong brand?

• khaix19a on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:13 pm

i aware that VW own audi and porsche, just that nissan only share platform with proton not like they saying they will rebadge a nissan to proton. just like lotus using toyota engine for their model, but the exterior come from lotus and yet lotus produce a great car. toyota doesnt own lotus. correct me if i wrong. that why im just disappoint why people making fuss about it.

• if u don know several car maker who is not related do platform sharing..no need for me to mention which company..u using the internet rite..just goog! or yah! sometime

• khaix19a on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:45 am

BTW go proton

• JoeGTi on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Good move proton!!
    Now you can concentrate more on build up quality and after sales issue.

• MahathirConU on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:23 pm

Didn’t Proton bragged about owning Lotus. Didn’t Lotus got high technology, very canggih and very few in the world can fight? Didn’t Proton bragged about Cam Pro engine? Why would Proton wants Nissan and Three Star’s technology if Lotus is so canggih?

Why wouldn’t Proton just admit Lotus is also crap?

• Kamal on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Crap? No you can’t call it crap

Now there were 2 team in F1 name Lotus, did the whole world are admire on us? Plus the lawsuit between the 2 Lotus is making it looks stupid.

Well you might say it Malaysia Boleh, the whole world is laughing on us.

• Kamal on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:45 pm

And nevertheless Proton can use the Lotus brand to advertise their car
      ‘Rides & Handling by LOTUS Engineering’

• rallyfan00 on Mar 03, 2011 at 11:33 am

the problem with lotus is, although with all their technology, they have no expertise in building lower cost mass produced cars for the masses.

imagine if you asked ferrari to build a low cost mass production car that will have appeal in 20-30 countries..?

• seanlimys on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:49 pm

i tink its a good collaboration rather than having the conventional mmc gearboxes, instead we can have cvt. to me, what matters most is the gearbox. engine is 2nd matter.

i will be grateful to have mr18de for new waja, gen2 with the cvt
    i will be grateful to have mr20de for new perdana.

• It’s an insult for Nissan to be associated with a
    not low tech but NO TECH company like Proton.
    It’s shocking to see Proton still at the drawing board stages
    when so much potential is seen in the Emas.
    Come-on Proton rather than using CUT & PASTE
    technology better get your priorities right – better
    to put the 2.3 bil to revamp Proton rather than to revive Lotus
    which also uses other manufacturers technology.
    Share price dropping even after this announcement
    this calls for some desperate measures !
    This is just a non-binding MOU which is used to buy time/ damage control.

• Kamal on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:12 pm

In before some will say Nissan / Renault will rebadged Persona / Exora / Waja / Saga

• montana on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:40 pm

PROTON SHUD REBADGE R35

• blablabla on Mar 02, 2011 at 6:13 pm

I think it is BETTER to use Nissan tech. Thats because Proton tech is questionable.
    It gives you peace of mind when you buy a car that has a little japanese tech. Your getting a better product in the end. Isnt that why the Myvi is the best selling car in this country?

So dont be mad at Proton. No matter how hard we try to make sense that Proton is now making losses again and they have taken us for a long ride all these years.. the people choose to remain ignorant.

Just be Happy that its better VALUE for you as a Customer to be using Japanese Tech.

• they make loss…not bcoz don buy proton but to fund their project for new generation of car need more money n advert/promo..but their market is small so does the sales….the sales cannot tampung all the project..more operating cost than the profit

• waimak on Mar 02, 2011 at 6:33 pm

some of the comments are really stupid.

• ketelaju says:
    2/3/2011 at 1:05 pm
    http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2011&dt=0302&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Terkini&pg=bt_07.htm
    berhati2 bila kuat statement..baik ko ge bertaubat memburuk2 kan orang…

——————————————————————————————————
    ketelaju,
    Obviously your one track mind is blinded by this
    UMNO spin doctor Utusan online.
    The stock gained a pathetic 2 sen at opening after plunging 12.5%
    the previous day & closed down at 3.51 today -another 52 week low!
    EPF oso dumping the shares!
    Improve your IQ and EQ b4 commenting
    its not memburukkan orang , it’s about knowing the facts.

• and u were blinded by PKR spin doctor malaysiakini….2 sen is big in stock exchange..ask expert..im not expert but now little bit..2sen can mean RM1million, RM100million but not RM1 or RM10..so to if jatuh 2 sen..ask expert i know just until that

• “Proton intends to use Nissan’s A-platform (common platform for Nissan March) for its
    EMAS model. We do not rule out the possibility of Proton paying royalties to Nissan and in return, underwrite up to 100K unit sales volume. The EMAS model is initially targeted for the Malaysian and Indian markets. A target volume of 100K units/annum could lift Proton’s plant utilisation rate to above 70% from 50% currently. Pricing of the model could be brought down to as low as MyVi’s RM38K-52K/unit given tax incentives, localisation and R&D grant provision. MyVi generates sales of close to
    92K/annum. This deal could mark Proton’s turning point in penetrating into Perodua’s key market segment and in regaining its market share domestically. Bear in mind that Nissan has a cross-shareholding with the Renault group of France. We believe Renault’s participation in the deal could come in the form of diesel engine design &
    supply for the EMAS. Co-development should lower costs significantly and accelerate designto-market process. Negotiations involve both product and marketing of models, and both parties are exploring ways to deepen such co-operation”

source: AM Reseach

• peYno on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:04 pm

his is bad news for perodua JAGUH KAMPUNG in boleh land.
    EMAS design with Japanese “engine and powertrain”.. this will knock down their sissy myvi or future New Kenari replacemnet model (Move). Plus bad news DAIHATSU gonna invest in INdonesia for SMALL COMPACT CAR for ASEAN region

• tunomura on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:28 pm

then PERODUA will rebanged this model..taada!! all new ViVA

• peYno on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:51 pm

then perodua salesman with his typical selling point
        ” this car got japanese nissan tech. ooooo… vely good one”
        prrrtrfhhhh

• peYno on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:17 pm

perodua salesman is sweeting now
    no more modal to customer
    ” our car got jepun engine ooooooo.. vely good one”

• peYno on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:55 pm

latest news i heard… EMAS model will be launched in year 2013
    Pls make it earlier

• Faisal on Mar 03, 2011 at 10:33 am

this is a good thing. collaboration / jv / sharing technologies, these r all the way forward. eg. kia n hyundai shared the same engine kan kan..

• kzm says:
    2/3/2011 at 10:37 pm
    and u were blinded by PKR spin doctor malaysiakini….2 sen is big in stock exchange..ask expert..im not expert but now little bit..2sen can mean RM1million, RM100million but not RM1 or RM10..so to if jatuh 2 sen..ask expert i know just until that
    ——————————————————————————————————————
    Obviously your limited knowledge in Bursa Msia and low EQ has made you a scum.
    Proton shares dropped more than 1 ringgit in just 1 month.
    Isn’t that a cause for concern?
    You must be an UMNO goon who thinks that “semua OK” even
    when it is obvious that the ship is leaking (2.3 bil to Lotus plus F1 etc..etc)
    & calls for damage control.
    Instead of arresting this problem. Peyno ( Salesman and Personal ASSistant to DSZ
    and TM) is diverting attention and bashing Perodua instead??

• shareholder of proton 5304 on Mar 03, 2011 at 6:55 pm

Hope to see something positive materialize
    during this 2 month discussion with Nissan.
    Proton needs a renown, reliable and reputable partner and Nissan fits the picture.
    We don’t want to see another fall out like with VW and Mitsu.
    Lets work together for the betterment of Proton and the people
    of Msia. We are all passionate when it comes to cars that we drive
    so I hope and pray that this will be a turning point for Proton. :)
    Theme song for Proton – ‘Make It Happen” – Mariah Carey
    Amen!!

• aduss on Mar 03, 2011 at 10:28 pm

1st kena jujur, jangan ada “cut cost design” kerana ia akan npak hodus.. “jangan nampak macam mahal tp sebenarnya murah, kalau nk design murah biar ia nampak murah sebab ia datang dari hati yg jujur”.. safe and in control.. biar kereta ada quality, menarik dan selamat pasti ada org beli.. ia akan kembalikan kepecayaaan org ramai kepada proton..

• I will never buy another nissan!

I shudder to think one day my dream car will be rebadged as Hang GT-R :(

• Daimler, Renault & Nissan Join to Make Small Car in India

http://www.autoevolution.com/news/daimler-renault-nissan-join-to-make-small-car-in-india-31787.html

So where do Proton stand?

• my sirap on Mar 07, 2011 at 11:50 am

Proton think that Nissan have to kow tow to them and beg Proton to use their engines. Japanese not so stupid lah Tun remember Saga engine after 20 years still have to pay royalty. Its easier said than done. No equity no talk!! Unlike Mitsu who allows you to use their engines but with restrictions. Heard that Inspira havin lots of parts problem cos the local parts are sub std -absorbers , door panels , wind noise !!

• PROTON-LOTUS-NISSAN-MITSUBISHI tech on Mar 05, 2011 at 5:29 pm

source from Japan said Nissan Japan envisions providing its technologies, including those of engines and transmissions to PROTON Malaysia!

http://mdn.mainichi.jp/mdnnews/business/news/20110305p2g00m0bu058000c.html

1500+ horse power Nissan VQ35 engine Dyno Pull video
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26AYKDOfy-4

• nasurudin on Mar 09, 2011 at 7:54 pm

My Nissan sentra of 9 years hardly gave any problem, power window in perfect condition 16 km /liter and over220000 km of driving i dont even hVE to overhaul. If Proton becomes Nissan, how are they to sell more cars when the reliability of Nissan improves. I doubt it if Proton to equal Nissan