Proton EMAS to enter India using Nissan March platform?

Now here’s something interesting. According to Autocar India, Proton is attempting to enter the Indian market with a small car underpinned by Nissan’s V platform. The magazine’s sources spilled that Nissan may license the said platform to Proton, who could use it for the production version of its EMAS concept.

The V platform (V for Versatile) is used by the latest Nissan March (Micra in some markets) that’s being produced in India and Thailand. Nissan’s alliance partner Renault also have plans to use this platform to spin off a range of compact cars due in 2012. This modern platform’s main advantage is its light weight and the reduction of required parts by around 18%, and as the name suggests, it’s easily adaptable.

We reported early last month on Proton looking for suitable partners for the EMAS, which was unveiled at this year’s Geneva show by Italdesign Giugiaro, and that discussions will be concluded by the end of 2010. This latest piece of news sounds like a progression of that. It’s long known that Proton has India in its sights, and the 3,550 mm EMAS could be the ideal debut car – it’s spacious but comfortably ducks under the four-metre long tax barrier.

“There were discussions in terms of technology, platforms and how we can work with others to source engines to us. The current trend is to come up with cars, including those using hybrid technology, that are fuel-efficient and produce low amounts of carbon emission. As Proton is a competitive company, we will take on this concept and make it a reality,” Proton MD Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin was quoted as saying before.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:28 pm

new design DNA, re-badge, platform sharing … P1 is on the right track becoming a more sustainable car maker.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:41 pm

Danny,I think this is just a rumour because many of Indians automotive news are not accurate.
    Imagine how much people will bash Proton here.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Well, I don’t see any reason to.

There’s no shame in platform sharing or OEM collaborations. Proton is a small company in the automotive world and it doesn’t make sense for them to self develop every single thing from scratch in the name of “national pride”.

• tiadaid on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:05 pm

Well, that argument’s sound if you think things rationally.

But sadly bashers don’t think things rationally.

• what about bashers who keep calling Perodua a rebadging car company? cannot have double standards as now proton will be doing the same damn thing too.

• linear_system on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:33 pm

this is not call rebadging..this is platform sharing if u wanna know..or maybe u wouldnt understand at all..

• perodua is rebadge company…wat proton do with emas is platform sharing

• wat proton do with mitsu rite now is rebadge….platform sharing is another thing……take one example mitsubishi GS platform spur model like lancer, lancer evo, Chrysler Sebring, Dodge Caliber hatchback, Dodge Avenger n Citroën C-Crosser/Peugeot 4007 albeit with some modification[1]…that from platform sharing (underbody and suspensions[2])

1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_GS_platform
            2. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automotive_platform

• do people here know wat is automobile platform all bout? before condemning n bashing…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automotive_platform

• If only Bung Mokhtar can understand it. Opsss, he is a law maker who broke the law. Nevermind lah….

• DICKYBIRD on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:30 pm

well proton always sell it with the “national pride” angle, and then fail to live up their words. that is why, most people if tehy can afford would not even bother with proton.

• Whatever on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:11 pm

Sure it doesn’t make sense to develop every single thing from scratch but after 20 years still not able to develop from scratch, that’s not a “Pride” we would be proud of anyway.

• Virosh on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:07 pm

I think its a good move in sharing platforms. Its saves a lot of money and time. And india does sell a lot of small cars. So its also a smart move. Well done proton.(if its true)

• nolan on Nov 01, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Rebadge China made car more save perhaps……?

• Neutral on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:47 pm

come on man, is not sharing but buying it from NISSAN, sharing mean both comp co-develop the platform !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BTW PROTON IS A COMPETITIVE COMPANY, oh my but under heavy gov protection !!!!!!!!!!!!

• littlefire on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Well… Proton did success by rebadging car from Mitsubishi to Citroen/Renault (Tiara). Why not? Those P1 hardcore’s fans will be hiding their face for now… Haha…

• they not rebadging nissan..its platform sharing…

• drMpower on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:42 pm

tak paham

please improvise your sarcasm skills from now on.

• zaff1984 on Nov 01, 2010 at 6:12 pm

mmm…. as far as im concern, re-badging Citroen/Renault (Tiara) not quite a success for P1. Sharing platform is common practice nowadays… nothing to be shame off.

P2 is a good example of successful re-badging car company of all their model range from Kancil to Alza… if P1 hardcore’s fan will be hiding their face, i think P2 hardcore’s fan should commit a suicide since Kancil time…lol

• alf147 on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:13 am

bro..this is not rebadging…come on la…even i am not P1 fan or drive P1..at least give them a room and support la…this is platform sharing..how many car manufacturers have done the same!!so they are also have to hide their face.please study la the different between rebadging and sharing the same platform.

• littlefire on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:25 am

Well sorry, i think some of them during Gen.2, Waja era are so pround that P1 can built their own car and bash P2 so teruk that they rebadge car. Until the inspira came out all turn quiet de..

For me, P2 have been long know to rebadge Daihatsu cars, so i never compare them directly to P1 as they also selling different categories cars.

So if P1 want to be successfull in this market in term of costing, rebadging or sharing platform is the only way to cut cost and earn more profit. I from long time, already mention that P1 can only go back to square 1 as they dont have the capacity to design own cars to sell it profitable compare to other competitors.. If not mistaken the guy which manage P1 now is also from P2 last time. So would not be an issue that he will pick the most profitable way..

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:44 pm

Rebadge or platform sharing doesn’t matter..as long as the car hits the right market target, quality is good and the price is competitive..

• DICKYBIRD on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:35 pm

proton prices competitve against whose? p2? liberalise the car market and see how price competitive they really are. quality wise, well the less said the better.

• pomen_gtr on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:43 pm

yeah…moving foward proton….

(later ppl say going backward coz use nissan chasis)

• Firdaus Abdullah on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Those who think that way are just plain ignorant, they don’t know anything about the automotive industry. Even the big names share platform, common…

• Big names sharing platforms and even more:

“Mercedes Sprinter: Their automobile platform and bodyshell is also used in a joint venture with Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles who made the Volkswagen LT and the Volkswagen Crafter.(…)The VW Crafter is built in the Mercedes-Benz Ludwigsfelde and Düsseldorf plants, the same German factories where the Mercedes-Benz Sprinter is built.!”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercedes-Benz_Sprinter

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volkswagen_Crafter

First generation of Mercedes W638 (Vito): “On the top of the petrol engine was Volkswagen 2.8 VR6 engine. The body chassis came from the Volkswagen Transporter.”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercedes-Benz_Vito

The Volkswagen Crafter not only shares the platform of the Mercedes Sprinter, it uses the same bodyshell too and is even produced in Mercedes factories! And the previous Mercedes Vito was in fact a Volkswagen Transporter…

BTW: VW and Benz are not good friends because both are german. Audi (owned by VW) is a big competitor to Mercedes in the field of luxury cars…

• yea, you joker who bought proton is the smartest car owner driving the smartest car? lol. tak malu. using tongkat.

• drMpower on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:43 pm

well that shows they bash just for the sake of bashing

they dont even know what they are bashing at. or why they are doing that.

• maybe coz they hate the gov and proton is own by gov and that make them hate more bout proton

• linear_system on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:53 pm

not so..i hate gov..but i like proton..they just dont know automotive industries..when they hear PROTON, all in their mine is bash,copy,power window,sucks, without even take a look or read about proton’s car..i hate ppl like these..i dont mind bashing but please study first..not just blindly bashed..

• maybe not u……if u read comment from article in paultan it show that trend…n the smartest suggestion they give is by change Gov

• BadBET on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:35 am

They just hate G tax system, and they blame Proton for that. Some people want to buy car with europe price. I don’t think G will open up the market and losing billions worth of tax. Ironically, German automobile prices are the most expensive in Europe even though it is the home of many manufacturers and designers. A Volkswagon passat price is 40% higher in Germany than it is is Greece.

• scgtimk1 on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:43 am

Not so….

I hate BN but I know auto Industry enough to appreciate what Proton did and it importance to the local Industry.

• Eyesore on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:24 am

well, those r only politician trying to gain popularity in automotive blogs… so.. IGNORE them… well its easy isn’t it? Anything goes wrong blame the govt. never the opposition fault..lol

• MoFaz on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:21 pm

it’s just platform. not the chasis :)

• aduss on Nov 01, 2010 at 7:01 pm

yes platform bahasa pasar yer is underbody= under front+front end+rear floor. total just 40% from the chasis.. R&D cos for the platform is 65% up to 70% from total chasis.. ada setengah compny guna satu (1) platform untuk enam (6) model. sedan, hactback, wagen, mpv, Sportback 2 door and pickup.. contoh granlavina, Sylphy and Latio sharing one platform.. hilux and innova same platform.. waja, gen2, persona and RCR same platform, so no shame for it.. thanks thumd down me.. hehehe

• pretty nice..

• Raixa on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Building your own chassis is damn Expansive and normally would at least need around average of 3 to 4 years to built from scratch so it just normal for them to using and already proven reliability such as Nissan chassis to build a fail prove car.

• saki77 on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:56 pm

wait for it…..wait for it…….

• jolly_idiot on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:02 pm

Why India & not Malaysia? We don’t need small car here? Wanted so much something to beat our current Myvi! It’s dominating the market too much.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:28 pm

The EMAS will of course be sold in Malaysia, most probably in basic form (without fancy hybrid tech) to fight the Myvi.

But domestic volume alone is not enough, which is why Proton is looking to India

• Neutral on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:55 pm

that ways ppl always bash proton and perodua too, double standard !!!!!!!!!!!!! Proton n perodua exported model specs far more better than local, how come ?????????? Looks at korean and jap, their local specs same like export !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Quality wise also the same. We malaysian do not deserve to get good ‘national car’. Then why we must support them any longer !!!!!!!!!!!!!11

• Eyesore on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:34 am

Duh… Paul only said.. ANY CAR PRODUCED BY PROTON WILL BE SOLD IN MALAYSIA… ITS COMMON SENSE… what this article / paul said.. proton target to enter india market by using EMAS as debut model…. is it that hard to understand?? In term or equipment lvl etc…. its depends on the regulation of the market… if it said minimum 2 airbag and ABS then proton have to produce that on order to be able to enter the market. If u dun get that in Malaysia then blame it on the regulation… if there are no regulation abt it then it make sense for them to not giving it… Same as other ppl.. if there r no law about wearing a helmet while riding a bike.. i bet a lot of (or majority) of motorcyclist won’t even give a damn abt wearing it.. even though it could save their life…

• maybe they wan to achieve EOS first so that the car can be produce at lower cost

• fight myvi? lol. the only reason ppl buy proton is becos they cannot afford a better car.

• Prismo on Nov 01, 2010 at 7:16 pm

There are businessman in here have two Proton’s inside their garage beside Merc and BMW… The only reason u speak like this bcoz u cant afford jap car isnt it? and after this, u can start blaming the tax…

• linear_system on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:55 pm

i bought satria neo bcos i luv the design and the driving characteristic..i also have new honda city..what do u wanna say now??

• i also love satria neo, but the steering design like sh1t

• linear_system on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:45 am

its not like shit..but if they can put a better design steering that would be great :D

• Hayden on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:52 am

eh bro..my mummy earns more than rm80k per months, but still she bought for my younger sis a proton savvy, 80k per months income is for a family who couldn’t afford for a proton is it?get a life bro!! owh yeah fyi, we got a new lancer, a honda stream , vios and one mercz at the parking porch…add my fb if u wanna see em. =D no cock talking in here! thx = )

• hey bro, you are funny. Ppl are buying the cheapest car becos they cannot afford a better/more expensive car. so pls wake up.

your theory is very funny. you are certainly not smart at all. not like your mom.

1 person kill mongol girl and did not go to jail , doesnt mean everyone kill mongol girl can get away, get it?

• BadBET on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:40 am

people buy car for various reason. Whats wrong with buying cheap car for your child, maybe that can teach them the value of RM. Or we must buy car according to our pay grade? Your theory is moronic.

• MoFaz on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:09 pm

eh, jolly… i thought u don’t like proton cars…
      erm, maybe they sell to india first because people in Malaysia always complaining and bashing? let the people in India have first experience and give unbiased review :)

• somehow feel that OEM collaboration with other big company should be much better to gain back the mind share lost in this country due to it’s super low quality product. maybe with this, OEM may step in to control the level of quality just like mitshubitshi on Inspira. agree?

• they just want platform not entire car..wat the hell they wan to control quality of proton..

• Fuyo.! Be careful, the news will attarct Kenabatangan comments. ‘Apa ni proton tak tahu bikin keretakah sampai mau pakai paltform Nissan?’

• AripSon on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:14 pm

emmm…
    why always we mesians do not get to use first what we “produced”?

• because we malaysian are very sarcastic.. It’s proton’s strategy to put the car globally first.. If not, Proton cant get Malaysian’s support. Proton has learnt all his failure. shame on Malaysian for the behaviour.

• Neutral on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:58 pm

it is not the malaysian behavior, but the over do of protection to the local car protection and the proton miserable management teams that don’t want to change !!!!!!!!!!!

• kozekx on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:02 am

LOL! Very weak arguments. Everyone who has been reading the local automotive news can see p1’s improvements even since the new boss came in a few years ago.

You better change from N(Neutral) to D. You are waaaaaaaayy behind, mister.

• yea, will you use your hard earned money to support someone with bad record?

go buy one, and tell me. talk is cheap.

everyone has a proton, you cannot fool anyone with your cheap talk.

• i have frens driving persona, do you have any? go ask for their opinion. go . and ask them will them buy again? go ask pls. talk is cheap.

• Prismo on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:50 pm

another fren of fren story… ok, here is my fren story.. once upon a time, my fren bought a Persona.. when i ask his opions about the car, he said he will buy 2 or 3 more if he had an extra money… the end…

• coz malaysian will bash wat ever proton produce. better to giv outside first to show that the car is good

• yea, true, let the outsider bash better..

use our hard earned cheap RM to make money, then let the foreigner enjoy the best thing.

Like all those smart brain that migrated. Raised in msia for 20 years, direct let ppl enjoy the result of their brain. M Boleh!!!!

• read this annual report n searching how many they use ur hard earn money.n how many they loan from bank…..don just follow false news

financial statement

http://www.proton.com/public/media/mediacentre/documents/annualreports/AReport_2009_5.pdf

• Prismo on Nov 01, 2010 at 7:34 pm

“Let’s the foreigner enjoy the best thing” . Do u have any proof to support your statement?

• saki77 on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:13 pm

sokong…cakap tanpa proof…hampeh…hehe

• littlefire on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:44 am

Even previous Waja (Impian) selling in Europe (UK) have side air-bags as tested by EURONCAP.. http://www.euroncap.com/tests/proton_impian_2002/116.aspx

Do you still remember the Saga, Wira UK spec during the 90’s?

• everyone knows the export quality is the best. for proton. and its cheaper. you were born yesterday?

wat proof? do you own google, you all are still malas to use your brain. yes proton is the best. lol.

katak bawah tempurung.

• Prismo on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:56 pm

aa.. littlefire, has an extra airbag doesnt mean it has a better quality when it come with from the same factory.

stg, since everyone know how to use google, i’m sure they can seek for any proofs. Cant find one eh? and since when we said Proton was the best? u just born yesterday?

• kozekx on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:14 am

Comments from both lala and Neutral so far are like tin kosong, just hot air, no substance. Pity them. Truely in the valley of dispair, this couple.

For the sake of the country and the betterment of the people of Malaysia, let us all learn to avoid being like these two as they are good examples of how NOT to be a world class citizen. With people like this, they will pull us back from being a truely international level community.

• Nissan’s platform + Proton/Lotus engine = very good chassis construction + save development costs + cheaper cars maybe?

• Ah Fook on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:58 pm

No need to be so troublesome wan… just re-badge will do.
      Save a lot of R&D money.

• nissan platform + nissan engine = even better option.

• Neutral on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:02 am

plus Proton super proud product – LOTUS ENGINEERING !!!!!!!!!!!!

• Unknown on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:30 am

this will go even worst… basher will bash more and more and more…

• autojohndoe on Nov 02, 2010 at 11:03 am

hahaha… so Pro-Japan… are you so desperate want to buy a non-national car?

• vader on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:23 pm

kana sai…all mix like rojak…… later one by one recall and we suffer

• Camry hater on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:13 pm

cross fingers

• Your equation looks about right, except for the engine part. =/

• what’s wrong with a new Proton/Lotus engine?

belum try, belum tahu :P

• Lotus pun byk guna enjin toyota la..

• Prismo on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:00 pm

pakai enjin sendiri org cakap tak bagus.. pakai enjin luar org kata bila nak maju, bila nak ada enjin sendiri..

• Shaycoat on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:54 pm

I think the reason Proton want to use the existing platform is due to cost cutting. It is a good movement. Being built in India, not mean that the car will not be sold in Malaysia. Nevertheless, vendors from India is more quality from Malaysian (I guess)

• Gajen on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:56 pm

good move from proton,i mean its better to sell in india as a lot of small car buyers there..here the market is dominated with myvis…savvy is a good example why it didnt sell well..i really hope this emas has a good interior..the exterior is really cool..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:08 pm

But I think the Emas chassis concept is kinda good,but I think this the car that will be develop in India,because many manufacturers develop new car in India to cut cost.
    I think this is not the Proton’s global car,maybe this is just another project to enter the Indian market

• emas can or cannot. on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Proton supporters kena played out once again
    – always the bridesmaid and getting 2nd best / scraps.
    And we have so many here still gloryfying this brand.
    “Proton=Rebadge” – P1’s new motto.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Yes Proton,you should only take the platform not the design because March is damn ugly.

• from wat i know auto platform is underbody n suspension..not design

• linear_system on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:59 pm

but a lot of malaysian(proton bashers) said that march is damn cun…lol

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:58 pm

Coz most of them own Myvi which is quite ugly too.haha

• Very nice, hope proton EMAS will produce in malaysia as soon as possible… like it design so much…

• seriousSAM on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:30 pm

using nissan platform?

sure got re-call meh

• trav_da_man on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Sadly, typical unrational ungrateful Mysians will yet again bash bash bash 1st by saying we copycat Nissan and so on.

If u asked me, Proton is doing very smartly by sourcing a different manufacturer for platform. Developing a single platform is very costly and for instance a platform for a supermini might cost up to 1 billion dollars. Provided if you a big manufacturer like Toyota, having a single platform for multiple models makes alot of sense in terms of economics of scale.

I recalled Proton did develop the Gen 2 platform and it was very expensive until they realised it is not worth it. Not so bad when a single gen2 platform can support the persona, the satria neo (slightly modified).

With a proven platform,and the correct engine choice this shows Proton is taking very seriously on making their 1st hybrid. Proton needs to sell it overseas as they know they can’t rely to the Malaysian market only. Provided if this car sells as well as how the Koreans sell their Forte/Picanto well, Proton is on a very positive track to become a successful car manufacturer.

• whitefox on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Wonder how much this platform will effect the current emas design.

I always though emas already have it own platform ><

by the way hope this car can go into production as soon as possible.

• drMpower on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:45 pm

whats the trade off? i mean, nissan isnt going to sign a deal which will challenge its presence in india/ south east asia/ asia..?

or it is exorbitant fees that nissan looking at?

• linear_system on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:05 pm

why need to challenge nissan’s presence??proton just wanna buy their platform for god sake!

• Vincent on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Emas will be the example of creative product from bolehland…

Sharing expertise and focus on core competition is the way of how business move…

No point doing everything by our own and end up selling at high price…we just need to do what we are good at, those people are not able to do… that the 1 step to success.

• rahman hussein on Nov 01, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Never ever dream of cheaper cars cos Proton
    has to feed top guns with fat salaries ie TM/DSZ/DanyBahar and
    his entire Real Madrid team.

• bryan jones on Nov 01, 2010 at 6:53 pm

low IQ.. so u think AirAsia flight is cheap because they pay low salary to their top guns? Then what about Tata?? u think they pay 1 lakh to Ratan Tata?? idiot.

• nolan on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:21 pm

i believe you have IQ over 200…..?
        you should own Air Asia by now dude…….

• drMpower on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:14 pm

err..real madrid are on audi i believe..

• autojohndoe on Nov 02, 2010 at 11:42 am

which MD has salaries which is THIN?

• nolan on Nov 01, 2010 at 6:49 pm

I like to see Proton rebadge Lotus new car……..

• bryan jones on Nov 01, 2010 at 6:56 pm

rebadge Lotus car for what?? if there is a business sense, Fiat already rebadged Ferrari & Volkswagen rebadge Bugatti. low IQ!!!

• nolan on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:17 pm

rebadge Lotus so that poor people like you could afford it…..
        if Proton can rebadge Lancer, why can’t they rebadge Lotus…..?
        somehow Proton owns a bit of Lotus…innit….?

• zimba on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:28 pm

okok… Proton cars ady got Lotus DNA in it… Seriously.. Have u ever drive a Satria Neo CPS or even a simple Persona crazily? U can feel the lotus DNA in it.. As most people only drive slowly and carefully.. how can this force the Lotus DNA to be unveiled?

• frossonice on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:56 pm

I’m sorry but that is the stupidest thing Proton can do; rebadge a Lotus to become Proton. Not only it will devalue Lotus, I won’t exactly fits any ‘affordable sport car’ category. Have you see how tiny a Lotus car is?

But to make a Proton ala Lotus Carlton.. Bring ’em on!

• MoFaz on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:19 pm

i don’t want to layan you at first, but let me help u understand this time, and this time only…
          if proton rebadge lotus, it doesn’t make sense to have lotus at all. nobody will buy lotus because they can get cheaper proton version. nobody will buy ferrari when they can get cheaper fiat version. did u get what i mean?
          think hard before you say another word…

• nolan on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:29 pm

then, whats the point Proton bought shares in Lotus….?
            just to get a simple suspension set-up maybe…?
            common man….if uyou spent so much money into another company, make use of it thoroughly…….show something good for the people who support Proton like you….

• Prismo on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:12 pm

It’s just a business nolan.. it’s all about profits and technologies…

• if rebadge also we cannot buy it will still high n it only benefit rich people coz cheaper for them not for us

• greasemonkey on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:09 pm

if proton sell in India price will b cheap? hope our gov will also let us enjoy the car at lower price or price similar to xchange rate,then rakyat will support p1,let others pay higer price,so we enjoy benefit,this should be the way,not we pay higher price to subsidise others.think of rakyat 1st! Help us,not tekan us.

• Neutral on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:08 am

200% agree to you, thats what the malaysian have suffer ever since the setup of the national car !!!!!!!!!!!

• autojohndoe on Nov 02, 2010 at 11:51 am

if proton are to enter India market… it will be priced 100% higher… this is also to protect their Indian car: Mahindra, Tata…

This is an info i got from an Indian national first hand…

a 2nd hand suzuki maruti priced 2lakh (dont know what year)… that is why Ratan Tata come with idea selling new cars at 1lakh price…

• Prismo on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:13 pm

and thats not include the 7% car loan interest rate…

• mivec on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:37 am

tata nano no longer price at 2 lakh.. it keep hike price latest i read at some website tata nano price at Rs. 3,700 and Rs. 6,894 (based on ex-showroom, Delhi prices)

• Mohan Nair on Nov 08, 2010 at 8:08 am

Let me repeat loud and clear that Indian Government does not own stock or have any interest in Tata or Mahindra. For that matter Mahindra has only Logan in the car segment.

No one gets any protection from the Indian Government what so ever. Every automobile maker has to compete on his own merit.

Tough luck Proton

• it’s ok to enter new market under different brands
    proton is a company , company does buisness and business needs money to run
    then why so much bash when they want to survive
    give them chance let them moving forward faster
    go proton!

• Jimmy on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:30 pm

In this angle with this colour, this Emas is very cantiq.

• goproton on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:49 pm

sorry im blur here…why still need to use nissan platform?i thought the emas already well-developed?
    so maybe it’s another car?

• udasalleh on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:04 pm

hmmm… i’m just waiting for P1 to produce a crossover vehicle. I’m hoping for it to be based on the exora platform… the coutry version of the emas seems to look a bit funny. wishful thinkin here DSZ!

• udasalleh on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:11 pm

ooohhh… ooooohh…. remembered about Lotus’s APX… the electric powered crossover vehicle… could proton bring that in its stable???

• sial county on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:08 pm

how much p1 pay u to back ’em up??

hah.. just shut up p1 cybertroopers!

ur products are realy craps!!!

• Bangalore on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:19 am

Proton will find it difficult penetrating the India market.
    We have better cars here so why choose Proton.
    In India Suzuki / Honda/ Kia/Hyundai and Toyota rules.

• Mohan Nair on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:57 am

Adding on to that Tata, Mahindra, VW, Ford, GM, Fiat, Renault,etc

Thats about 11 brands Proton needs to compete to get hold of a marketshare. So I would say if they 1 or 2% of the market in the first few years, it would be a great achievement.

But once again I don’t expect them to profitable for atleast 5 years or even break even.

• fanofthissite on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Dear Bangalore

any1 entering a new market with a new brand will find it challenging to get a foothold. its a direction a relatively young company like Proton has to take, and larger brands have already taken, i recall Peugeot didnt start off too well. Nothing really to do with the car, but distribution points etc, right. so even if Proton gets into India eventually, they also need to be able to grow and sustain sales & service. Thats the other part of the challenge.

By your argument Hyundai shld have had absolutely no chance in the States and even Singapore when they first started exporting in a big way. Its a long journey and Proton is at the early stage. Let the market judge.

• Mohan Nair on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:31 pm

@fanofthissite,
        Agreed that anyone entering a discerning market as India will find it going tough.

Peugot wound up and left the Indian market and it had to do with the card they introduced and the attitude of the French. They bought in an old 309 which was of the 80s vintage and the Indian consumer rejected them lock, stock and barrel. They ended up closing down after miserable sales.

Renault introduced Logan in India and the story repeats.

Bottom line is the consumer and you have to remember in Malaysia Proton has had it easy with Government protection, which it will not have in India. If Proton thinks that selling cars cheap will work then Renault Logan should be the lesson.

Having lived in the US since the 90s, I very well remember Hyundai Excel which sold like hotcakes but started to fall apart but Hyundai, for that matter Koreans have always taken feedback seriously and have consistently improved their products.

Tough luck !!!

• Sparc on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:49 am

Nice car and city car. We don’t mind the engine capacity by the way for this size, 1.0 is good to run anyway. + turbo is a bonus. price tag below 50k will sell like hot cake. Electric car still not popular in malaysia due to the maintenance of the battery, basically happened in anywhere. Perhaps we can take loan to buy the replacement battery when the car loan finish?

let say 10 years warranty battery for 10 years loan? after that, can take another loan for the replacement battery? Sounds interesting…..

after sales very important….

• Except Proton cars will be cheaper than all the options you mentioned above. :) And Indians are “thrifty” as Russell Peters says.

• Bangalore on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:38 am

India’s economy is booming at a pace
      which is similar to China. Look at where the BSE index is today.
      Atom – Proton cars cannot be priced “cheaper” than all the other makes.
      Proton is taking a great risk going into
      India. That is why they cant even step into China.

• aduss on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:04 pm

alo… cmpny di china sudah rebadge kereta proton.. europestar RCR rebadge from gen2 in CKD,,. thay make some new model use gen2 platform… tp tak der berita terbaru,, paul tlg cari cerita dari china.. tq

• BSE index not important but market capitalization is better eg. index with 10000point but with market capitalization $100billion r not as good as index point 1000 with market capitalization $1trillion.from wat can i understand…true india economy is boom but small percentage of people hav taste it….

• Mohan Nair on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Once again, do not misjudge the Indian consumer, they are very discerning. Peugot and Renault Logan have met their Waterloo in India.

Indian consumers are price conscious but rather value conscious, they look value for money and do have very good taste.

If Proton thinks just by pricing their cars el-cheapo the Indian consumer is going to buy, their bads. Also remember Proton will not have special privileges that they have in Malaysia nor will they have support of the Malaysian Government. They will have to compete with atleast 11 other manufacturers to sell their wares.

• Bangalore on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:44 am

KZM …Where does Msia’s economy stand as compared to India’s?
          On Aug, 2010, the equity market capitalization of the companies listed on the BSE was US$1.39 trillion, making it the 4th largest stock exchange in Asia
          after Nikkei/Shanhai & HK and the 11th largest in the world.
          FYI bursa is only USD$189bil.
          Get your facts right b4 commenting.
          Same goes for your country, how many people can afford a foreign brand
          other than your Proton.

• Tauke on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:13 pm

no doubt, it is nice looking car. if this car can come to market, proton absolutely do another good job.

• bluetravler on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Hi Paul Tan, can you answer some question I have. Does Lotus make small engines? From what I can find out, in older gen lotus, they used an engine by Ford, tuned and named it Lotus-Ford twin cam, then later a Toyota’s Yamaha-designed engine for their small/basic category. And Now the current new target for Lotus is go after Porsche clients, with big beefy engines and shape somewhat like Lamborghini, Maserati. So how will Lotus help Proton cars, which are of small to mid size displacement. I know that they are good at tuning. But, compro?…. leave much more to be desired. They did their best with that engine, I guess.