Rolls-Royce Ghost Extended Wheelbase for China market

Chinese bosses love legroom and want lots of it, which is why we see “L” versions of cars like the BMW 5-Series, Audi A6 and Volvo S80. But a long wheelbase version of the Rolls-Royce Ghost? Yes, it’s been launched at the ongoing Shanghai show with “Extended Wheelbase” as the name extension.

The Rolls-Royce Ghost Extended Wheelbase is the first ever RR to be launched in Asia, and there’s no prizes for predicting that it will be the best selling RR in China, where it will cost 5.118 million RMB, about 20% costlier than the standard Ghost.

For that premium, buyers get a 170 mm longer wheelbase and increased minimum rear kneeroom (distance between the back of the front seat in its rearmost position and the front of the rear seat’s squab) from 160 to 330 mm. In addition, a panoramic sunroof is standard. From the outside, the Ghost EWB has a new forged alloy wheel design.

But if they wanted a larger Rolls, isn’t there the Phantom? Autocar UK asked the same question, and here’s what RR CEO Torsten Muller-Otvos told them:

“For some of our customers, a Phantom is just too much: too big, too ostentatious, too formal, too expensive. The Ghost EWB is a car that’s more usable every day; the sort of car that you can be chauffeured in during the week, and still enjoy as a driver’s car at weekends. And that’s an increasingly popular usage pattern in developing Asian markets.”

More hi-res pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2172]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• comrade on Apr 20, 2011 at 3:16 pm

chauffeur then on weekend driver’s car … really? RR?

• CamPor on Apr 20, 2011 at 3:20 pm

Agong sure will jealous with Chinese people…

• TFazuin on Apr 20, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Agong drives a Maybach, which is sold only based on who you are rather than what you can pay. Its clientele is limited only to the head of state, no newly rich people can buy it unless you get it 2nd hand.

• chuakz on Apr 20, 2011 at 3:45 pm

who told u this shit? anybody can buy a maybach as long as u have the moolah…its not limited to heads of states….simon cowell is not a head of state…neither is mark wahlberg or madonna…

• FYI, i paid for that Maybach with my hard earn money. It’s called income tax!

• Agong doesn’t drive a Maybach, he sits behind in a Phantom.

• YEAH RITE on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:50 pm

He has both la, layman; if u own any car, whether u drive or sits behind it’s totally up to your mood if u have a driver n u can drive.

• I am Agong on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:55 pm

No not the Agong, but your Chairman Mao. Oh forgot he’s dead. No wonder your here.

• anafanas on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:35 am

raja nazrin also have a maybach…buit,agong have maybach and rolls royce phantom

• deftones on Apr 20, 2011 at 3:53 pm

its a matter of time china ppl would put a bed into their longwheelbase car instead of comfy seats..

• Unforgiven on Apr 20, 2011 at 4:31 pm

I thought someone in Sarawak have that? The CM?

• i heard his son got a buggati veryon summore

• Unforgiven on Apr 20, 2011 at 5:55 pm

True, what are millions when you have billions…
        I think they spotted him with a few RR, not just one…

• jamal on Apr 20, 2011 at 7:46 pm

go to polling centre with a RR during election. with ‘young’ wife. only in bolehland.

• mmmmmmm on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:44 am

for the continuation of the dynasty u need ‘young wife’ to produce ‘young ones’ …….. and it’s all the history book of Chinese dynasty…….next step cut off all the trees (already started) and make way for a great wall……..all in the history book my friend hehehe

• mmmmmmm on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:31 am

not ‘someONE’ but someManyMORE’ but they all connected to the ONE………..the CHOSEN one AGAIN!!!!

• confused on Apr 20, 2011 at 4:52 pm

again… LWB for chinese market… sigh…

• Truth teller on Apr 20, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Why? Chinese people are short but cars with extended wheelbases are always popular over there.

So I ask again why? It’s not as if they are tall and need the extended leg room.

• the_fighter on Apr 20, 2011 at 10:32 pm

becoz they have the money!! dats why dude

• mmmmmmm on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:47 am

mmmm i see a potential market for fake extended long wheel base……it look extended but it actually not……..maybe i could just shrink the European size sit……they wont notice right?

• YEAH RITE on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:52 pm

Why, why, why everyone has brain but not all seems no need it? Why can’t we remove part of our brain

• rolls on May 12, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Till now i have just read about the extended wheel base and the leg-room, but the above pic of rear seats make me wonder. That is too spacious more than a word can explain.