Rolls-Royce Ghost previewed in new KL dealership

Rolls-Royce Motor Cars previewed its latest model, the Ghost, at the marque’s brand new showroom in Petaling Jaya this afternoon. Situated along Jalan Semangat, the facility is operated by Quill Motorcars Sdn Bhd, which also owns a BMW dealership in the same building. Rolls-Royce Asia Pacific Regional Director Colin Kelly and Brenda Pek, GM for South & East Asia Pacific pulled off the wraps.

The Ghost is the entry-level and more affordable Rolls-Royce (if there’s such a thing), and at the preview, Rolls-Royce described it as “informal, a car that you can drive every day” while stating that “the Phantom is like a tuxedo, while the Ghost is like a Savile Row business suit”. The Ghost is slightly smaller in size than the Phantom flagship (440mm shorter, to be exact) and features more dynamic styling, which suits its positioning as the most driver-focussed Rolls-Royce yet.

The 2.4-tonne Ghost is also Rolls-Royce’s most powerful car to date, its 6.6-litre twin-turbo V12 delivers 563 bhp and 780 Nm of torque available from 1500 rpm. These figures are about 25% more than the Phantom, which is of course heavier as well. The V12 is paired to a ZF 8-speed auto transmission. 0-100 km/h is done is 4.7 seconds while top speed is electronically limited to 250 km/h. Supreme comfort is a given – the Ghost floats on adjustable height air suspension.

There are plenty of RR signatures on the Ghost, such as the rear coach doors, violin key switches and umbrellas (Teflon coated) integrated within the doors. Other luxuries include lambswool floor mats, a choice of lounge or individual seating (the latter with optional massage function), a 10-channel amp, 16-speaker (including two floor mounted subwoofers) entertainment system.

The Ghost’s first Malaysian customers should get their built-to-order cars in the second quarter of this year. Prices start from RM2.6 million, but can rise with options. Also displayed was the Phantom Drophead Coupe. More pictures of both cars after the jump.

Rolls-Royce Ghost
[zenphotopress number=999 album=799]

Rolls-Royce Phantom Drophead Coupe
[zenphotopress number=999 album=800]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mirror mirror on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:07 pm

hm…would be interesting if they use one of these as the next 007 crash car.

• albagmane on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:10 pm

oh wait… its left hand drive? i thought they will import right hand drives to suit the British driving standard…

• BeemerFreak on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:39 pm

1Malaysian said,
    January 27, 2010 @ 7:53 pm

wooooooo…i wonder what mat rempits will do if they hit at the back of this car….haha

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

If Mat rempit think of hitting one of this, he should first see around him, Chances are people who own one of this has tanks and planes surrounding him and not bodyguards. HAHAHAHAHAHHA…. Lols…..

• Eric G on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:37 am

crap..i will make a tiny scratch and write my name if i see one of these on the roads. haha!

• Please be civilised when you make such comments. Shame on you.
      We don’t need Kindergarten boy mentality. Think before you write.

• Calvin on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:39 am

Wow. Am I the first? Anyway I ain't a fan of RRs but the Ghost looks awesome. I don't think the Phantom Drophead coupe is anywhere close though, I don't like the front.

• xenith (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:49 am

Wow, i love the paint on the Ghost. RM2.6 million for the affordable entry model, what is the retail for Phantom then? Naza selling Phantom for RM2.9 million.

• Neutral on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:50 am

wow,not really like RR till saw this article.tq PT!

so nice classic yet fabulous,must be nice feeling of each element in the interior and exterior.

• 1Malaysian on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:53 am

wooooooo…i wonder what mat rempits will do if they hit at the back of this car….haha

• toyoltak on Jan 28, 2010 at 4:16 am

Like this I have got no choice but dump my girlfriend and tackle the royalty or milionaire's daughter :-P

• No need to do that…
      If you buy this car with your hard earn money, the royalty or millionaire daughter will come to you.

• one word…wow

• Alpha on Jan 28, 2010 at 4:30 am

aww,shucks!!i can only afford a mere Merc S-Class….

• mitlanevo on Jan 28, 2010 at 4:34 am

what is the price of RR Phantom ???

anyone know???

• freeze on Jan 28, 2010 at 4:42 am

How many years warranty?

Can fit evo7 skirting onot?

• skiborne on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:01 am

so now naza has a rival immediately after theyve launched their fleet of Rollers

• shawal on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:05 am

mmm….can't even afford an MX-5

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:11 am

Danny,can we apply loan for this?haha

20 years installment?hehe

Danny Tan says: For you 20 years, for me 50 years!

• BeemerFreak on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:44 am

But why did quill bring in the left hand drive version for display??? arent they thinking of selling it?

• ec (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:47 am

True "big" taukeh can now switching from S or 7 to Ghost…

• naza should assemble this thing locally..haha..wonder much they can slash the price..

• toyoltak on Jan 28, 2010 at 6:18 am

albagmane said,

January 27, 2010 @ 9:10 pm

oh wait… its left hand drive? i thought they will import right hand drives to suit the British driving standard…

the one shown above is for show purposes only… it will be RHD..btw the integrated umbrella is cool..

• nice, very nice…classy as usual…

• i saw once in karak highway and along the road up to genting. Not sure what brand it is since it was misty and dark, but not exclusive as this Rolls-Royce.

• asgard on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:22 am

of all car brand,i never seen RR in real life

• FFIVE.GIVE ME FIVE~G on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:23 am

epol said,

January 27, 2010 @ 11:12 pm

i saw once in karak highway and along the road up to genting. Not sure what brand it is since it was misty and dark, but not exclusive as this Rolls-Royce.

so wat exactly you saw? and wat you wan to tell, bro?

• ordered one!! :)

• hahaha i time after some time u will see it around some famous hotel//

• Gajen on Jan 28, 2010 at 8:03 am

i just dont fancy RR….too exp,too luxurious…prefer xj

• FFIVE.GIVE ME FIVE~GIVE ME FIGHT said,

January 27, 2010 @ 11:23 pm

epol said,
    January 27, 2010 @ 11:12 pm

i saw once in karak highway and along the road up to genting. Not sure what brand it is since it was misty and dark, but not exclusive as this Rolls-Royce.

so wat exactly you saw? and wat you wan to tell, bro?

i saw ghost lar. white color. it moves so fast overtook my car then disappeared. but still manage to see the long hair, women species. she looks poor so must be kalah-judi brand, not rolls-royce.

• azrai on Jan 28, 2010 at 8:11 am

RM2.5million cars? Crazy, if only I’m the man who sell sand to Singapore than I can afford it. :-)

• any idea who is the owners? lets compile a list. i got a feeling few of the owners will have something in common. like working in the same industry and has to do with governing alot of people.

• toycar on Jan 28, 2010 at 8:39 am

a Ghost!!! Can't you have a better name?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 28, 2010 at 8:47 am

this is honestly unexpected

• phas3r on Jan 28, 2010 at 12:29 pm

pretty cheap, i'll order two

the umbrella is neat

• bukitdamansara on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:02 pm

i saw Phantom twice..1st on PLUS highway north bound (black color and escorted)..2nd near Midvalley highway from Cheras (gold color but no escort)..a thing of beauty..but cant beat my neighbour Bentley Conti GT.. superb! :)

• how to translate that to BM? Hantu? Orang halus?

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Such expensive car, such expensive launching and yet… no pretty girl models to fantasized! Instead they put two beautiful aunties beside it, aiyark!~

• Tiadaid on May 06, 2010 at 6:52 pm

The car’s powerful enough that no distractions like pretty models needed…

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Berhantu dan berpuaka punya keta

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:15 pm

2.6M ??? hahahahaha

maybe i will buy other super sportscar….

• from the pic, Rolls-Royce Phantom Drophead Coupe rear seat leg room very small…….or maybe due to front seat pushed 2 the back…..

• kodok on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:20 pm

7 series is a poor man's car compare to this ghost!!

• royal taste !!!

well, if bentley can start selling in Malaysia, y not RRs?

• xavier lert on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:43 pm

RM 3 Mil car ….RM 30 mil house……inilah gaya hidup sebenar…….

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:46 pm

for the very corrupted

• Alanore Chong on Jan 28, 2010 at 6:04 pm

back seat leg room is suprisingly limited

• 2.6 million what a joke…..

• kalo aku jumpa keta ni, aku nak curi payung dia. teflon coated. fuhh. dpt payung pun jadi la. x dpt keta.

• BRAZBUZ on Jan 28, 2010 at 6:48 pm

phantom=RM3.9m++

phantom extended wheelbase=RM4.55m

phantom drophead=RM4.54m

phantom coupe=RM4.11m

naza sell reckon RR if i not mistaken….

• Rolls Royce Puaka.

• Cool umbrella idea! I'm sure it will not cost the Malaysian or Japanese or Korean car makers a lot to ciplak the idea and have it available in their cars. Unless of course if it is patented.

The rest I think is just pretentious.. Sorry!

• squawk on Jan 28, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Only those with hantu bank accounts can afford this Hantu.

• altec on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:15 pm

wonder how much is the roadtax per year…

i know people who can afford doesnt mind with it..

but ppl like me,curious to know how much is it..

• 2.6Million, for 7 year installment it would be around 30k a month after the 10% deposit.

• Alpha on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:58 pm

i've seen a RR Ghost before.black with pitch-black tinted,escorted and the plate is just nice.yellow background with nothing except the jata negara.i believe it's the Yang Dipertuan Agong.

• quartz on Jan 28, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Too expensive!

Too much!

7 series is good enuf..

Rest of the money should give to the poor in Malaysia..

• Buy Geely RR version…la save lots of money, looks almost the same just change the emblems.

• peter32 (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Quill should follow the tradition of Malaysia boleh spirit and rename the car to QUILL Pontianak.

• kopi-man on Jan 28, 2010 at 9:53 pm

I am not surprise if Quill don't have the customer on the order list (the Royals, the Ministers), the wont look after the dealership. This is just the normal sense of business world.

It's similar to as if you think Petronas don't know Schumi is joining Arrow before they sign the sponsorship.

• mohsin on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:18 pm

OMG!

• nighttrain on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:23 pm

A bunch of rusting Rolls at a workshp in Shah Alam. Yall know where this workshop is? It's near a nice restaurant serving masakan kampung.

• Seriously on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:26 pm

The insanity. Imagine the maintainence on that ride. The only cool thing I see about it is the hidden umbrella. It's just so illogical to buy one here, and anyone who has one of those needs his car to be seriously scratched and burned on the spot, cause in no right mind in Malaysia can someone affort this without a black history. Correct me if I'm wrong. minusing sultans maybe.

• nighttrain on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:50 pm

There's a bunch of folks who make over RM100mil a year. Yes they're Malaysians. One lil Rolls is just peanuts. If not people won't sell the car here. Read supply and demand.

• 2.6m can buy 2 shop lot in the taman area in cash. If bank willing to offer base on 10% down deposit , the value of this car will give you to control ten shop lots.

• red_caps (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 11:13 pm

altec said, January 28, 2010 @ 11:15 am

Ghost Engine Displacement is 6592 cc, if registered under private individual, the road tax will cost you 'JUST' RM 18,294.00. It's up to you all to believe that number..

• Arashikage on Jan 28, 2010 at 11:14 pm

toycar said,

January 28, 2010 @ 12:39 am

a Ghost!!! Can’t you have a better name?

—————————————————————

The first RR was called Silver Ghost…. So historically RR were all supernatural beings.

BTW the car looks good, especially if you consider that RR are owned by BMW and BMW's looks boring…..except the E60 5-Series…

• rexis on Jan 28, 2010 at 11:48 pm

+1 to the first post… if i can get thru the convoy of police perdanas, black perdanas of body guards and big police motorbikes of course.

Btw, can I just buy that clock and add as an accessory to my Wira?

• lol..more than half of the price is the tax..

• Maserati on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:38 am

Nah,i rather get myself a Ferrari f430 or a Lambo for that price..

• redxdevil on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:00 am

this is totally crazy!!! with that money u can buy aeroplane where can fly anywhere =.=

• Desmond Law on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:07 am

I think the Sultan of Brunei can afford 'FEW' of this. ^_^

For those that earn RM100 mil a year, this Ghost is just 3% of their whole year income.. Nothing much.. Haha!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 29, 2010 at 2:39 am

i see samy vellu ordering one

• klaka seram on Jan 29, 2010 at 2:39 am

wait till Naza CKDed this Hantu

Naza Hantu, sure cheapo

• MADBOY on Jan 29, 2010 at 2:59 am

red_caps said,

January 28, 2010 @ 3:13 pm

altec said, January 28, 2010 @ 11:15 am

Ghost Engine Displacement is 6592 cc, if registered under private individual, the road tax will cost you ‘JUST’ RM 18,294.00. It’s up to you all to believe that number..

————

Why pay road tax when paying the saman is much cheaper! This is the actual answer from one of the owner of a super car.

• mitlanevo on Jan 29, 2010 at 3:46 am

naza hantu, ROTFLMAO!!!

• phas3r on Jan 29, 2010 at 4:45 am

nighttrain said,

January 28, 2010 @ 2:23 pm

A bunch of rusting Rolls at a workshp in Shah Alam. Yall know where this workshop is? It’s near a nice restaurant serving masakan kampung.

is it in TTDI jaya? loads of classic old cars there.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 29, 2010 at 5:02 am

lol naza hantu…

• altec on Jan 29, 2010 at 5:22 am

MADBOY said,

Why pay road tax when paying the saman is much cheaper! This is the actual answer from one of the owner of a super car.

—————————————————————-

yup..it makes sense..but if involve in an accident..police wont pay for the damage..

sometimes shit happens..

• No need few million million …. get China Geely RR version can liao

http://cache.gawker.com/assets/images/jalopnik/20…

• bukitdamansara on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:18 am

Alpha said,

January 28, 2010 @ 11:58 am

i’ve seen a RR Ghost before.black with pitch-black tinted,escorted and the plate is just nice.yellow background with nothing except the jata negara.i believe it’s the Yang Dipertuan Agong.

—————————————————————

its not Ghost bro…its Phantom.. :)

• BRAZBUZ on Jan 29, 2010 at 6:11 pm

klakar tgok perdana escort phantom in 2008.x padan langsung, ak rse driver perdana kt blakang phantom bleh nmpk no plate phantom je… serius bsr btul phantom yg ak nmpk kler gold sultan kedah pnye…

• Thomas on Jan 30, 2010 at 3:02 am

Walked past the Roller showroom in Sydney earlier. If I'm not mistaken, I spied the price tag of just under A$645,000 for the Ghost. Now that's just under 2 million ringgit.

• just for ppl who fear to death live with no passion

• Desmond Law on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:52 pm

jean said,

January 29, 2010 @ 12:00 am

No need few million million …. get China Geely RR version can liao

http://cache.gawker.com/assets/images/jalopnik/20…

This one 'how many mil'? LOL! Looks good! This China-man really know how to ciplak….

Will RR sue them? ^_^

• Why LHD?

• baru booking 3 bijik.. awal thn depan baru dapat.. lama giler tunggu… pastu aku cencel… tak sanggup aku tunggu lama2… baik kau pakai kancil aku balik… :)

• kalau payung tu hilang, bleh ganti ngan payung pasar tani dak????

• Uweek! on Feb 01, 2010 at 5:15 pm

That Phantom is about Rm4.5m. Commission I heard is about Rm25k if you manage to sell.

One of those AUNTY..is the MD of the company!

3 words..Pretty Ugly Car!

• joshua on Feb 02, 2010 at 10:14 pm

RR…waw

• joshua on Feb 02, 2010 at 10:20 pm

To our Unstoppable Team…..Our new dream car…ha ha ha…..

• Paul, is it possible to enter the RR showroom premises without an appointment to view this majestic piece of machinery? or is the place not open to public?

• Good i love this car but i have no money :( RM2.9 million for this car is not that expensive for rich people and this car much better than Merc S Class and BMW 7 series!some people said this car is too expensive or classic,different people and different class.

• pukezzzzz on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:37 am

pukezzz

macam kereta kebal gergasi….

• 3 million ringgit,,but the seatbelt fastener is just like from another ordinary car.
    why dont they make it bespoke for a RR

• kelvin on May 20, 2011 at 11:07 pm

The car so so only, but the engine, WOW it is stunning.

• If persona come with the same idea of the umbrella…. wonder how much will be the cost. lol

• nighttrain on May 21, 2011 at 3:25 pm

if change status to national car, can reduce price or not… RM1.5 mil or sumthin..