Hyundai Genesis Prada – one very large, stylish bag

Hyundai has introduced the production version of its Genesis Prada in Korea, two years after a special edition was unveiled at the Seoul Motor Show. The limited edition variant is based on the 2012 Genesis sedan, equipped with a 430 PS Tau 5.0 GDi engine.

The company says the the joint project is the result of both companies’ approach to create a highly unique version of the Genesis model, addressed to the most sophisticated clientele.

The edition comes in three special colours, these being Black Nero, Blue Baltico and Brown Moro, and these are applied with a three-layer coat technology with stereoscopic gold pearl.

Dark chrome accents, in a nod to the unique palladium-coated buckles on Prada’s bags, are to be found, with the radiator grille, emblem and door handles wearing the material. The innovations introduced by Prada include also 19-inch alloy wheels and an outer, wedge shaped antenna.

Inside, there’s definitely no shortage of leather – the dashboard and the upholstery in the Genesis Prada get the artisan-crafted treatment in the form of “saffiano” leather, which is Prada’s signature top quality leather. Genesis Prada badging and a GP500 emblem round off things with this one.

Hyundai says the car will be produced by customised personal orders, and that it will work together with Prada to carry out exclusive VIP marketing activities on the vehicle, of which there will only be 1,200 units available for the Korean market. There are plans to offer the car to a limited number of Middle Eastern and Asian countries, including China, at a later point.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jolly_idiot on May 18, 2011 at 11:42 am

Merc wannabe?

• Toyota King on May 19, 2011 at 8:36 am

Don’t compare this to Merc, Merc is Gold, this one is JUNK.

• korean version of s class’ the hyundai always wanna copy design from other car….

• Honda Lover on May 18, 2011 at 11:51 am

When I talk about stylish, Korean and Hyundai is the last thing I think of.

• asamboi on May 18, 2011 at 2:55 pm

Obviously you’ve never been to Korea. Koreans are very stylish people, Malaysian wear rags compared to them.

• Gajen on May 19, 2011 at 10:55 am

Hei Korean wannabe you better don’t look down to we (Malaysian) OK. To me Korean is a stooge for America that all.

• Sorchai on May 18, 2011 at 4:39 pm

When I talk about stylish, Hondas and Japanese is the last thing I think of also.

Don’t talk about about stuff you don’t even know. You probably cannot afford something better. When you can afford a Bentley and don’t have to worry about resale value of your pathetic Honda, then come back and write whatever you want.

Asamboi, you are right! Malaysian’s wear rags compared to them cause no money but still want to buy Honda.

• Toyota King on May 18, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Sorhai, how you know people can not afford Bentley?? and by the way I believe Malaysian is a gentleman if compared to Korean, To me most Korean especially the businessman are cunning, selfish and deceitful.

• asamboi on May 19, 2011 at 1:24 pm

And you are suggesting Malaysian businessmen are honest and truthful.. hahaha
          maybe you should see below… that’s one of so many

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Malaysia/Story/A1Story20110512-278407.html

• Chyan on May 20, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Either way, I’m guessing Toyota King won’t win any debate competitions.
            You’re so biased it’s hilarious.

• Honda Lover on May 18, 2011 at 10:33 pm

At least my Honda is not someone who did shit loads of plastic surgery. Just like this car. Hyundai is just a cheap, souless, hideous, no idendity, no pride, and dull car driven by people who think they are classy but they are not. At least Honda made a well loved, world recognized, and a car full of passion, the NSX. And those superb quality is something that you Korean fanboys will never have. What you will have in the end is a empty and souless metal shell. nuff said. Have you did your plastic surgery yet?

• reply to noob on May 19, 2011 at 12:57 am

ya… u seem like dont knw anything about the global situation nowadays… cant deny the korean is catching up jap ppl… considered hyundai is actually far younger than our proton and perodua , and also your honda… somemore this car had beat the lexus LS460( what the knw as the ultimate luxury machine from jap) hand down in a comparison test carried out by the world famous auto magazine , ‘car and driver’ and also , what u so proud of your honda?? u not the only 1 in malaysia who own it also… somemore its nt engineered by u also… if ya, u should feel ashamed, for it famous ” poor cabin sound insulation, lorry-like ride quality, and also the cheaply assembled interior panel, which will slowly fall apart piece by piece after years” dont ask me how i knw, bcoz i own a CRV .

• Toyota King on May 18, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Stylish?? They are rubbish at best.

• David on May 19, 2011 at 12:29 am

Honda Lover & Toyota King,

Obviously you two are exactly what you described the Koreans. Both of you are absolute rubbish. I mean, what’s so great about the Japs these days? The competition is here, and it shows us that just because they’re Korean, they can’t do such collabarations. In fact, such projects, like this Genesis Prada would show the world how far they’ve come, and it’s not just hogwash, but about making long term gains.

Come on, fight back with your fanboy comments, and watch as the car lovers come down and start smacking you for such absurd and baseless comments. Douchebags.

• Toyota King on May 19, 2011 at 8:39 am

Personal Attack, this is what Korean wannabe do best, look at your language;
          (Both of you are absolute rubbis……Douchebags) Very uneducated.

• Mr Teoh on May 19, 2011 at 2:45 pm

That is because he drives a Hyundai ma. Boh pian lor.

• David on May 20, 2011 at 12:03 am

Toyota King,
            Just because i use these words doesn’t mean i’m uneducated. Please bear in mind that if you think the Koreans are cunning and deceitful, you are one as well, as how the saying goes, siapa yang makan nangka pasti akan dapat getahnya.

Mr. Teoh,

I also have Japanese cars in my home as well, which would be an Accord and a Innova respectively. Mind you, all cars i have at home suits me needs well, with each having its own pros and cons. All good cars, so i’ve got nothing against the Japs, just that they could use better designs, more advanced tech, and most importantly, i could ask for some car democracy where we love cars, and criticise them as and where it should be.

• Toyota King on May 20, 2011 at 12:24 am

I said Korean, Korean as a whole not pin point to any individual, go back to school and study if you don’t understand the meaning of ‘personal attack’.

• Lim Kopi on May 18, 2011 at 11:57 am

FUGLY ….

but still better than a Proton :)

U see, Dr M …. how far those guys have come, how far we are still so behind …. u should just retire la…

• Every project the G does, is to take care of their cronies…. Imagine this, Proton’s network of supplier and distributors are all linked to UMNO…. They sell parts at high price and give lousy quality. So, the G got no choice but to tax other car makers to take care of this people…That is the truth… go check it out! Don’t put me in ISA!!

• lowcar on May 18, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Ayo yo..

if proton give to other suppliers and distributors also suppliers and distributor cannot do anything with design, performance and maybe quality. They just supply and distribute only.

so far i never heard suppliers and distributer contributing to designing the car.

• Murray Walker on May 18, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Do you have any proof? Talk without proof is rubbish!

• Unforgiven on May 18, 2011 at 12:41 pm

Dr M been to the World, he knows very well how other countries are, Korea, China, etc…

He knows China is using VW as taxi, entry level car… VW = Proton Saga in some countries.

I need you guys to buy Proton so that I’m able to sit on a Porsche/Benz, do you understand? Why should I retire when I’m able to get free money? Funny…

• Few years back I went to Hyundai factory and I was so shock!
        You know why?
        For your information Hyundai is one of the biggest company in South Korea, and they have their own city there.
        They have their own hospital and university in the city, all owned by Hyundai.
        When I entered at the Lobby, it was normal to see they hang their president picture on the wall.
        What shock me most is they hang Dr.M picture too.
        When I ask them why, they said they really respect Dr.M and Malaysia.
        I don’t about you guys, but as a Malaysian I was really proud to here that.

• This article about Hyundai..Paul didnt mention about proton.So, dont relate to proton laa bro..

• even prada is diggin hyundai now

• engdau on May 18, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Then, Proton should tight up with Gucci with a new model, i.e. Proton Inspira Gucci (Exceptional Edition). Surely a big news to the world!

• hantu on May 18, 2011 at 10:36 pm

I think PERODUA should collaboration with them to make Super Blink2 Edition for MYvi.
        haha

• ferum on May 18, 2011 at 12:06 pm

wow finishing !!

• vw_fan on May 18, 2011 at 12:07 pm

i would have mistaken the logo for aston martin.

• ilovekoreanmade on May 18, 2011 at 12:18 pm

very lexus L460 look leh…

• last week, i naik ktm train. n terkejut jugak lah sbb dia dh buatkan train untuk ktm malaysia. haha.

• really dunno what u r writing… can u explain more???

• budin pakai gps Papago bukan Gogopal on May 18, 2011 at 4:03 pm

maybe he mean the train coach is made from HYUNDAI…

• Murray Walker on May 18, 2011 at 2:20 pm

Hyundai Group is a diversified company. They not only make cars, they also have other division involve in heavy industries,logistic, construction, securities etc.

• drMpower on May 18, 2011 at 3:12 pm

u pun should tahu
      hyundai pun buat kapal noksss
      haha

but of course its diversified business
      all under hyundai’s branding
      thats why u got that train yg u naik
      then ade massive sea container
      etc etc

• sukasuki on May 18, 2011 at 11:14 pm

and also HYUNDAI have their own shipyard to build a ship, heavy machines such as excavator, tractors, etc etc. diversified business. just like our DRB HICOM before, have shipyard, construction, energy, assembled Pajero (USF), dealer of proton (USPD) and much more.

• look a bit like camry especially the head light

• Speed Racer on May 18, 2011 at 12:58 pm

wah hype car for girls

• Gajen on May 18, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Very lexus-ish

• Wonder if the phone supplied for this car would be the LG Prada? It fits with the GP500!

• Hyundai should sued Mercedes for copying their front grill, Aston Martin for copying their Wing Logo, Toyota Lexus for Copying their front lights, Nissan for copying their dashboard. :-)

Chop Suey Kimchee Ramyun. (Rojak Copycat)

• A lil bit of this A lil bit of that lol
    But I gotta give the slanted H props for its audacity to compete with the big boys

• Prada in Hyundai? very unfortunate.

• keithiswar on May 18, 2011 at 2:37 pm

mistaken the logo for bentley’s

• drMpower on May 18, 2011 at 3:08 pm

it just me or what
    that i see the symbol is akin to bentley’s?
    come on koreans
    its a blardy symbol / logo
    cant u do it properly?

• Maserati on May 18, 2011 at 3:43 pm

rubbish

• Gajen on May 18, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Exactly!!

• David on May 19, 2011 at 12:25 am

People like you are the kind of people that aren’t needed here. Rubbish? Come on, at least they included the new 5.0 Tau engine found in the Genesis R-Spec, so it’s not just all show and no go.

They’ve come a long way, you people, and mind you, i’m a former Hyundai sceptic turned believer. They may look like soul-less cars, but once you live with them, and take good care of them, you’ll realise that all those myths surrounding Hyundai is all but busted.

• Front looks similar as W211 S-Class

• I really would like to see our dear Proton going the same direction as Hyundai/KIA..then i’ll be really proud..We shouldn’t compare Korean car with premium brands..they offer what the average car buyer really wants..good value.

• Mohan Nair on May 19, 2011 at 11:55 am

Honda Lover & Toyota King:
    You guys are either clueless or just want to irritate folks on this board. Do you know here in the United States, its hard to find a Hyundai Sonata or Elantra on the dealer lot ?

They Hyundai plant in Alabama has folks working on three shifts and yet cannot make enough Sonatas and Elantra’s. Hyundai USA is even contemplating importing Elantra’s.

Yesterday Honda and Toyota. Today its Hyundai !!!!

• Beemer freak on May 19, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Because there are too much poor people.

• David on May 20, 2011 at 12:14 am

Thanks for the timely firepower needed Mohan Nair. It seems some fanboys don’t understand, and can never acknowledge that the Japs can’t have the sales crown forever. In a car market, it’s all about healthy compedition, and it’s real good to see as many competitors scrambling for a piece of the sales pie, praises and awards, be it the A, B, C, D or even the large SUV segments.

And i thoroughly agree with you about the lack of Sonata and Elantra supplies in the US. Seems that it’s hard to obtain SE, Limited, and Turbo versions of the Sonata, with only GLS models available in a handful. Same goes to the Elantra as well, where the only models having ready stock would be the bare-bones manual trannys.

Let the haters and bashers be Mohan. We can still continue our merry-making ways of discussing and appreciating all cars. Cheers.

• Toyota King on May 20, 2011 at 12:17 am

Because most of american are poor now, so they only can afford a JUNK like hyundai.

• Chyan on May 20, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Gosh. I think some of you are kids without brains.

It has come a long way since Paultan’s blog have neither of these ‘problems’

• Toyota King on May 24, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Ya, when you have nothing solid to say, then started to accuse others are kids without brains.

• Toyota King on May 23, 2011 at 8:46 pm

To make a statement like that, I think the person really got no brain.