Mazda 2 receives “facelift” at the Indonesian Motor Show

There’s no missing the Mazda booth at IIMS 2011, thanks to the brand’s infectious “Zoom Zoom Zoom” song playing in the background. There weren’t any world debuts, just local launches for the MX-5 and the Mazda 8 MPV, but something caught our eye, and it’s this red hot Mazda 2 with an unusual face.

This isn’t a “new” or “facelifted” Mazda 2, but more likely a local project that souped up the car for promo purposes. We can see the latest 2’s big smiley mouth here, but without the accompanying grille. The foglamp elements have been changed, as are the insides of the headlights, which feature a single projector with BMW style angel eye running lights.

The five-door hatch’s sporty profile is boosted by huge 18in wheels wrapped with Yokohamas, silver painted wing mirrors and thick side skirts. The rear gets LED tail lamps and a grey lower bumper with VW Golf R32 style twin centre exhaust pipes.

Perhaps this can be inspiration for Malaysian Mazda 2 owners. View the rest of the pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2453]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BlackJack on Jul 23, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Droolz!!
    Bring this to msia !!

• arcana on Jul 23, 2011 at 3:11 pm

nice…this is real zoom zoom….
    the angel eyes with a huge grin on the front…..funny car indeed.
    overall the car is nicely kitted up….good job mazda

• mazdaspeed hydrogen re on Jul 23, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Looks like mini-RX-8, just lacked rotary engine.

• Amirul on Jul 23, 2011 at 3:13 pm

It’s a hot hatch.

• BeemerFreak on Jul 23, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Why does the KLIMS not have such beauties? The only ones we receive are by Lotus and NAZA. The rest are just plain and drain… And worse of all it was all the car distributors effort not the car company’s own initiative.

Come on, we ahve a better economy than indonesia, higher GDP, higher earning per capita but we are still left out by the world. Get rid of Proton and Perodua and start getting things right. The have done nothing but suck Malaysian’s pocket dry

• SeriousSam on Jul 23, 2011 at 3:35 pm

wow

indon motor show really have great cars to display unlike our own KLIMS

• Just me on Jul 23, 2011 at 4:03 pm

where is proton, Hyundai and KIA by the way?

• BeemerFreak on Jul 23, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Are u there? How you know they are not there too? Check out the exhibitors list at http://www.indonesianmotorshow.com/2011/index.php. You will find Hyundai and Kia there too. All except Proton i think, cause they make cars that suck too much to be displayed anyway.

• Anyone know what brand is that sport rim??

• malaysia got NAP, still NAPing…

• _xXx_ on Jul 23, 2011 at 4:20 pm

the more I see the more I f…scroll down and take a look at tat apanama FLX …

• Prefer the UK version headlights, any idea where can I get them?

http://www.mazda.co.uk/showroom/mazda2/overview/

• Everything is perfect but i don’t like the Mazdas smiling front bumpers!we Mazda fan prefer : ( front bumpers pls!

• Mentari-o-korea on Jul 23, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Nice clean design!

• vansgoh on Jul 23, 2011 at 7:58 pm

it look nicer than the previous version…

• Cowabunga! on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:36 pm

ugly facelift there to me.
    just doesn’t look worse becoz of a bigger wheel, but that’s not practical to have as well.

• dude wtf on Jul 24, 2011 at 10:23 am

its just a concept la.at least the indonesian carshow is more exciting than in kl

• led rear light like after market gen-2’s

• Rosmah on Jul 24, 2011 at 2:01 am

Now that we are not going to italy for holiday, i might just use the savings to get this for my college kid.

• Hocep on Jul 25, 2011 at 7:19 pm

So if this Mazda 2 enter in Malaysia, it will be doomed for Fiesta.

• samposmen on Oct 07, 2011 at 2:05 am

i think m’sia spacelift spec stil awesome than this

• GengProton on Nov 29, 2011 at 3:50 pm

Please bring in to Malaysia, I want to buy it..!!