Daihatsu Mira e:S launched in Japan – 30km/l on this one

Daihatsu has thrown its latest Kei car contender into the fray, with the introduction of the Mira e:S in Japan. The minicar, which reinterpretates the three-door e:S Concept of two years ago into a five-door form, is available in both two- and four-wheel drive guise domestically, with four level variants (G, X, L and D) for the former and two (Gf and Xf) for the latter.

All versions wear the same KF transverse three-cylinder twin-cam 658 cc mill, offering 52 PS at 6,800 rpm and 60 Nm at 5,200 rpm, mated to a CVT transmission. The company is touting the car’s fuel economy as its biggest selling point – claimed figures for the 2WD version on the new JC08 mode test cycle is a healthy 30km per litre (and on the older 10-15 mode, 32 km per litre), close to hybrid territory.

Features on the 730 kg vehicle (790 kg for the 4WD versions), which is 60 kg lighter than the old Mira, include a pre-stop idle reduction system, and all the models wear 14-inch wheels and 155/65 profile rubbers; there are optional Sporty and Premium interior/exterior dress-up packs available for the car, as well as what is tagged an “earth colour interior.”

Domestically, Daihatsu is ambitiously aiming at moving 10,000 units of the Mira e:S per month in the first year, according to reports, and says that it will apply the technology used for the e:S to other models and vehicles produced overseas, including that in Indonesia, which was where the Daihatsu A-Concept was introduced in July, at the IIMS.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:18 pm

this car is the bomb!

• Prismo on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:18 pm

The next P2 vavi… no doubt

• Its like our Viva, but i notice the Daihatsu have 2 airbags as standard, while our Viva has none, and even if there is, its available only for the Premium version…. Maklumlah, our manufacturers never rated our lives as a high priority, so, lets cut down to the bare bone necessity, and out goes the ABS, airbags etc.

• now already standardize for all model
      gov new requirement and policy, isnt it?

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:56 pm

but taking own sweet time.

Other people are enjoying the peace of mind of 6 standard airbags. The government is making a fuss over just one….especially silly is the recent statement that airbags saves lives. Airbags have been around since the late 70s. Takes MIROS 33 years to acknowledge that it works.

If Peugeot and Naza can have cars with 6 airbags in price ranges of 95-118k, its a embarrassment for our local P1 and P2 to not up the airbag count for their cars. Its not like the Inspira is that much more cheaper than the equivalent Forte 2.0. Why only 2 airbags. Shame on you P1.

That said, P2 seems to be hell bent on offering extra cost items (body kits, upgraded interior trim, GPSs….and such) instead of offering extra airbags or even some cheap and useful safety gear like ISOFix/LATCH mounts without having to also pay for useless accessories that come with higher trim lines.

Sorry to have derailed this but this hits a sore nerve with me.

• Well said, 4G63T DSM, but there is a strategy behind Naza/Peugeot’s 95-118k pricing yet 6 airbags…. if not because of the strategy, you reckon they want to put 6 airbags? impossible lah….

• Well 4G63T DSM, Naza & Inokom can offer 6 airbags becoz they need not to have local contain, stick bagdes screw door minimum investment, walla national car tax rebate, strangely 2.0 Forte can’t sale well, people reluctant to pay 95 k for a Korean C Seg, don’t forget Sonata, Cruze which is more expensive come with only 2 air bags as well.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 23, 2011 at 9:15 am

Like this also can say that Honda and Toyota is equally guilty.

The point is, if the local manufacturers don’t improve, there is little incentive for other more “premium” marques to improve. Why give you more than what you can get from P1 or P2?

For me I would choose the Forte 2.0 over the Inspira 2.0P just for the airbags. Both cars are the same class, more or less same price (the proton is only 2-3k less) and have the same GEMA engine. The Forte just has more kit.

local content is supposed to make cars more affordable on top of creating jobs. If a car with local content is more expensive, what is the point then? My guess is there are too many leaches in the system.

• Payne on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:38 pm

I agree with you 4G63T DSM. Apart from that, our P1 and P2 fooling us around-model after model in term of pricing. this P1 also dont admit it that they are the major cause why import car sold almost double the original price. I see it myself. I see a form from Custom Department. The nissan navara actually only sale at about rm50k to rm54k. but after custom clearance and the package reach our market, it sale around rm90k to rm105k. this is one of the many examples. can u imagine if the gov tax for the car stand at the range of 15 to 20 % of the original pricing. thats mean if an import car, lets say price is about rm50k (MPV), after 15% tax the new price is only rm57.5k. plus hidden cost (means komisen to yb, broker, sales rep, etc) lets say the new price only rm60k, will u buy an exora or alza premium or SE/LE or whatsoever which cost u almost the same? If u consider its quality and endurance/robustness, u surely choose the imported MPV. But their main excuse is “belilah barangan tempatan” or made in malaysia. they never consider our right as consumer. all they know are to pass the tax and other hidden cost to us.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:14 am

There is such a thing called choice, buy Naza and Peugeot laa…no one force you to buy P1 or P2, right?

• kitty lion on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:20 pm

30KM/L !! I WANT ONE drive to work place!!! Perodua pls rebadge it !!

• lonelyobserve on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Forget it. The FC can only be done through CVT. Here still using old 4AT.

• Chris on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:16 pm

I notice that our P2 Kancil/Viva is always 1 generation behind the current Mira.. so if this new Mira is out, does that mean we’ll get the “last” generation 24.5km/l cvt mira soon?

• Cucukman on Sep 22, 2011 at 4:05 pm

Still cannot beat MODENAS…

modenas scooter elegan if i’m not mistaken 46km/L…
      parking oso free…or RM1 at certain places.. this VAVI still need to pay same parking rate as others big car ..

VAVI still VAVI..not more ore less..

• OMG…The front view look like Myvi – This is “Baby Myvi”…who copy who designs?Interior concept also same…..

• So Daihatsu copied from P2.. lmao..

• yup, awesome observation!

• Wake up on Sep 22, 2011 at 10:11 pm

Hello, P2 is from Daihatsu lah, don’t know y we alwiz said ppl copy our car design. Pls wake up ok…

• viva soon-to-be..

• Gladiator on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:53 pm

The new viva….

• haha ! so wat ? all the features won’t be inside the new viva if perodua ever rebadge it.. hahahahha… malaysia boleh hidup malaysia 1 malaysia

• DarkAvenger on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:03 pm

The next VIVA?? But even current VIVA cannot claim 30km/l even @ costant 90km/h…..Real world city drive maybe 15km/l will be more realistic.

• Chris on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:25 pm

I wonder how is everyone’s 660cc viva’s fuel consumption. Indeed I averaged 15km/l in the city, and 13++km/l if I’m heavy on the throttle. Last weekend Malaysia Day I clocked some 1860km in 3 days and averaged 20.8km/l driving long distance (with aircond, passenger, luggage etc). And the viva is advertised at some 18.6km/l right?

I record my every fuel pump and mileage since I got my viva :P

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:13 pm

factory fuel consumption numbers are usually way off.

Even my Satria 1.8 would hit 18Km/L if I drive only at 90kmh constant. Given that my car is some 300kg heavier, fat tyres and has an engine 3 times the displacement, little wonder that some might claim such fuel numbers.
      But the point is, no one ever drives like this so much of it is moot.

Only cars that can really realistically see those sort of numbers are new eco minded mini/superminis with small diesels.

• PakAbu on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:06 pm

I hope Perodua won’t rebadge this…. but rebadge the Trevis instead … to replace kelisa: http://paultan.org/2006/08/24/european-daihatsu-trevis-daihatsu-mira-gino/

:mrgreen:

• kuncisudu on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:10 pm

all hail the new viva!

• the look is just so-japanese!

• komenturg on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:16 pm

great, 30km/l… nice for driving to work. being small car, parking will b a breeze. bring it in to bolehland, but maintain all the safety features ah, dun scrap it off. will consider buying this just for work. even if the petrol hits 3.00 / l , the fc is only RM0.10 / km, at current level RM1.90/l , fc will be RM0.063 / km. well P2, what is ur next move?

• Just me on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:24 pm

Where goes the proton supporter? Hello say something… senyap sunyi sahaja ….

• Just me,

so U describe yourself as P2 supporter?

• say what??..this only daihatsu model..not perodua… perodua still cannot put cvt in thier rebadge car..so shame

• Jst me on Sep 22, 2011 at 9:58 pm

I don’t owned any P2, and for the metter of fact I did owned 2 p1 models in the past, wire and BLM. Its a completely crap car. Proton is just like a typical malaysian University final year student trying to completed the final project, as long as it is enough to give them a passed they are satisfied. Irregardless of quality, performance, etc. Try to lower the import tax of imported car and see how well proton did on sa,e level battle field. that’s the real test. Don’t talk cock, just look the the malaysia proton taxi condition! Peace of crap.

• TFazuin on Sep 24, 2011 at 12:32 pm

Dude, so how much do you make now as a non local uni grad? Have you breached the 500K/annum yet so that you can pay your mum, dad, study loan? If you still make below RM20K at the age of 30 doing technical – enginnering etc, you’re a failed overseas grad. If you’re non tech making over 10K would be a realistic milestone. Now that’s to put your education in a prespective.

• Aaron Lim on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Say what? Proton already capable to produce its own car while Perodua still with rebadge.

• i love MIRA!!! :D and my Viva

30km/l with CVT… yeah probably not…

but having 20km/l with a normal auto seems good enough for me

• sutheshkumar on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:04 pm

wait a minute, deja vu here. Why the interior resembles the new Myvi’s one? I thought ours was designed in home?

• same happen in p1 last time.. dashboard wira and lancer almost same… don’t know who copy who…i bet japanese copy malaysia design…

• proton supporter on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:10 pm

safety rating?
    good fc = light body = less metal = x strong = if accident higher possibility to die

but 30km/liter is what more important right?

• albag on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:22 pm

simple yet elegant Viva.. all it needs is to find a couple of holes at the bumper there and squeeze in 2 DRLs…

• nobody on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:35 pm

lame design…….i dunno who copy who…is it p2 copy them or they copy p2…..EMAS seems better than this one…..

• Julian Lee on Sep 22, 2011 at 4:04 pm

BMW more efisient

• William on Sep 22, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Look at the legroom is HUGE!!!

• Unforgiven on Sep 22, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Wow, mostly digital…

• l3ryan on Sep 22, 2011 at 5:27 pm

new kancil?

• wat is tis, so ugly…whre is the japanese once brilliant…such ugly car..its look like the new myvi…

• autojohndoe on Sep 22, 2011 at 6:29 pm

when i was in japan… for short business visit…

i found that, some japanese vehicle which we consider ugly here suits with the japan scenery and surrounding…

• MoFaz on Sep 22, 2011 at 10:10 pm

japan people not so handsome too. it suits them :)
      but girls are kawaiii

• Japanese cars’ design was tsunamized by ugly designs. They simply depend on brand power rather than look. Facelift from previous generation l guess.

• they build for practicality due to less spaces and tight parking…design is not a WOW factor for Japanese…

• nebula87 on Sep 22, 2011 at 7:12 pm

does it’s butt kena langgar??

• look like bread toaster… haha.. Brand new Japanese Bread Toaster. Lucky Malaysia don’t have such model

• Viva style wor.. only change stupid on board gear knob.. front ugly.. back ugly. haha

• sfssd on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Hmm, never thought the Japanese could design such an ugly.UGLY looking car, I’m shocked….well not really LOL..!

• Japanese taste are so weird now maybe they watch too much porn! i10 2012 look better and way better!!!

• nazreen on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:57 am

wow… front-cut=fugly!

• fuel cell phone on Sep 23, 2011 at 7:34 am

i would consider getting this the new mira / next ‘p2-rebadged’ if the 30km/l fc is for city driving with minor cosmetic on the front & back

then again this type of car is like highly efficient ‘milo tin’ and requires ‘uncle-like’ driving style <– but seeing how malaysians speeding in current viva, hmmm!!???

• Kipas_Susah_Mati_Proton on Sep 23, 2011 at 7:51 am

P2 will rebadge this int0 VIVA….

• akinablue on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:42 pm

yes but surely with an old engine and old transmission. p2 will never give us an updated version one, same goes to myvi 1.5. if i’m not mistaken in japan they’re using dual vvti. here what we get? the old alza engine..n i heard that is the same engine uses in avanza.

• Daihatsu CEO on Sep 23, 2011 at 8:25 am

Not to worry. This car is purposely done like a lunch box and we intend to have them manufactured in Thailand. We want to give the local car accessories industry to make money so that all the “AH BENG” can upgrade with spoiler, skirting, big exhaust pipe, hello kitty stickers, big crome wheels, etc…. If we put a perfert looking car, there is no room for facelifts version also mah……

• scgtimk1 on Sep 23, 2011 at 3:50 pm

Dahatsu CEO says like this actually

Not to worry neh.. This car is purposely done rike a runch box and we intend to have them manufactured in Thairand.
      Ano.. We orso want to give the rocal car accessories industry to make money so that all the “AH BENG” can upgrade with spoiler, skirting, big exhaust pipe, hello kitty stickers, big crome wheels, etc neh.…. If we put a perfect rooking car, there is no room for facelifts version also neh.……wakarimashita?

;)

• The A-concept look more better.

• turbo rite???660cc 52ps…mmmm…no wonder fc so good…p2 will bring turbo ka???