2012 Toyota Avanza launched – RM64,590 to RM79,590

UPDATE: Hi res gallery of studio images added

UMW Toyota officially launched the new Toyota Avanza hours ago. This is the second generation Avanza introduced in Indonesia late last year, and our Avanzas now come from that neighbouring country, no longer assembled by Perodua in Rawang. You should know plenty about it already – we covered the Indonesia-spec car and also posted up a scan of the official UMWT brochure in December.

Here’s a recap. This full model change Avanza comes after 140,000 units of the first gen MPV have been sold in Malaysia since October 2004. The Avanza was a pioneer in the affordable MPV segment, and was once the best selling non national vehicle in Malaysia, outselling passenger cars. This new one wears more sculptured styling for a more dynamic outlook relative to the original. More 3D, car companies like to say.

The profile is also less upright, and the lights at both ends wrap around the body. Current Avanza owners will also notice that the door handles have changed from the lift up type to the grip type, which looks and works better. The wing mirrors have a more streamlined look and incorporate turn signals. The windscreen washer nozzles have been relocated to below the glass for a smooth bonnet.

It’s not just a facelift as some believe. The new Avanza is 20 mm longer and 30 mm wider than before, while front and rear tracks are up by 20 mm. The platform has been carried over, and the RWD layout remains. Toyota says that RWD gives better maneuverability via a better turning circle, which is best in class at 4.7m. The range topping 1.5S has a different grille and bumper (larger intake) than the G and E specs.

Under the hood lies the familiar 3SZ-VE 1.5-litre VVTi engine. It puts out 103 PS and 136 Nm, which is less than before because this engine adheres to Euro4 standards, according to UMWT. In case you didn’t know, Malaysia is one of the few markets that are still on Euro2; our neighbours and markets like China and India have progressed.

So perhaps it’s too much of a hassle to “customise” a Euro2 engine for us – the official line is that UMWT is not sure when the Govt will jump from Euro2 to Euro4, so they decided it’s better to bring in the latter.

The 1.3L model, which can only be had with a 5-speed manual gearbox, makes 91 PS and 117 Nm of torque. This K3-VE VVTi powered variant is the lightest, naturally, at 1,070 kg. The range topping 1.5S weighs 1,105 kg. There’s no manual option for the 1.5L engine – a four-speed auto is mandatory.

Despite the slightly lower figures, acceleration is improved and fuel economy is better than before, so it’s win-win for the consumer. FC wise, the new Avanza 1.5 is rated at 12 km/l (7% better) while the 1.3 model does 12.6 km/l, which is 9% better than before. Toyota attributes this to lower rolling resistance tyres (by 10%), improved aerodynamics, lower weight (15-20 kg depending on variant) and the adoption of Electric Power Steering (EPS).

UMWT further tells us that noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) has been improved over the old car, and the suspension has been retuned to offer better ride comfort, including for the last row. For NVH, Toyota has added a resonator to the air cleaner hose to reduce engine boom at high rpms. The 1.5L gets a revised exhaust pipe design to further lower noise.

Kit wise, the 1.5S and 1.5G comes with 15-inch alloys (185/65 tyres), fog lamps, multi info display, tilt steering with audio buttons and a 2-DIN head unit with AUX, USB and six speakers. ABS, EBD and dual airbags are also included.

New features across the board include a one-touch tumble down function for the middle row seats, which now can be slid fore and aft. The top of the centre stack has an additional air vent; this one blows re-cooled air to the rear blower for better cooling performance. The interior theme is black for all variants and there’s a new meter design. Look at the brochure scan for the full spec break down.

Click to enlarge spec sheet

Price wise, the Avanza 1.3 is priced at RM64,590, the 1.5E at RM72,590, the 1.5G at RM77,290 and the 1.5S at RM79,590. These are on the road prices including insurance, for metallic colours. The options list has two items – Toyota Standard Solar Flim and an Aerokit.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• skiborne on Jan 11, 2012 at 3:45 pm

boleh lagi jual kereta camni. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • kimi_ on Jan 11, 2012 at 8:11 pm

Danny, please upload more photos of the GIRL IN BLUE SHIRT….PLEASE
      She is so hawt !!!

I had rather spend 70k to buy that girl rather than this junk!!!!!!

• BlueShirt Supporter on Jan 11, 2012 at 11:28 pm

I open this page because of the Blue shirt…I dun care what 1.3 or 1.5 E i just want to know blue shirt spec and hand phone number….

• mohadmadAlibaba on Jan 12, 2012 at 12:36 am

oh yea the girl in white tight pants and blueT super HOT!!

this avanza surely the ugliest car in toyota lineup lol…yuckz…

• Black dog on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:45 am

A lot of WHS (wai hai sei) around. Ha ha!

Seriously, I attended the the first launch of Avanza in bkt kiara, huge crowd. It was the most affordable MPV back then, Rm60k, so immediately placed booking. No budget but with big family, what to do? It serves me alright for a few years. Of course it the ride was bumpy & i hate the leg space (they have improved on this model). Anyway, it’s right on target on what people want, when proton was still dreaming.

• kimi_ on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Danny, please don’t keep all the pictures of the Blue Shirt Girl to yourself.. I sure you’ve shot more than 1 picture of her..

Come on bro, Sharing is caring!!!

• my pers.commment after testdrive & i own one avanza vvti. A.2007..OUTLOOK.. much better but the aircond vent look ugly and lau-z than china made…HANDLING…still feelin like pick-up truck not MPV..they should totally dismantle the old mac pherson struct even though they claimed now improve with stabilizer bar..it’s was used during world war two…honestly…Exora is far far much better in term of handling and confortable ride to passenger seating back..

• apexg2 on Jan 12, 2012 at 7:59 am

bumper so good, ops i mean the girl,not the car..

• sugizo on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:06 am

just wanna to know..it is the new avanza too bumpy same like the old avanza… and how about the GIRL IN BLUE SHIRT…it is bumpy too….she is too hot…

• kimi_ on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:02 pm

I think she wear push up bra, thats why it looks huge !!!

In reality, hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Ah Jib Gor 2.0 on Jan 20, 2012 at 1:28 am

Who cares? Even without any push-up, they shld look as good!

• rapidshifter on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:35 am

p1 should hire the blue shirt girl during Bold launching… more people will come…

• Exora Bold and this one both are crap ! 1 is better performance but the brand i have nothing to say ! 1 is very old tech and lousy performance but the brand is good !

• kadajawi on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:36 am

If the car is lousy and uses old tech, why is the brand good then? (And is there a modern T except for the Prius? Even the Camry looks quite outdated to me, when comparing with the contis)

• Ok the brand is good coz of the quality,country made,performance,tech,handling ‘ since without any one helping ( Lotus ) high resale value and respect i mean ‘ if compared to very cheap P1 brand ! Avanza is not a good car but does not mean every T models are bad ! yes Camry looks outdated to you ‘ only you ‘ the roads r still full of Camry !

• That bcoz a lot of OUTDATED uncle in here,haha

• kadajawi on Jan 13, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Compare the tech found on a Toyota vs. that found on a VW… let alone BMW or Mercedes. Look at the engines. Look at the options. Yes, in Japan there are a few modern models, and in Europe they are not that far behind the competition. But modern? No. Only exception are the hybrids and the LF-A.

What do you expect in a country where a 4 speed auto box is a selling point? Where people actually demand that, instead of something modern such as DSG or CVT… or even a regular 6-8 speed auto box like BMW uses it?

• Steve Chiew on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:51 am

i waiting so long time le………..

• PakAbu on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:37 am

I don’t think it will sell as it used to.

The first gen was relatively cheap, lots of space and reliable. People who bought the first gen, will either have sold it because of its harsh ride or still keep it because it is not giving them any problem…. and to “upgrade” to a new car will cost more money.

New buyers will have more choices nowadays. Even within the Toyota-Daihatsu-Perodua group they have Alza already. Then there’s Rondo, Exora, Livina, Eastar etc…

Unless for somebody who’s a Toyota die-hard fan (kipas mati keras?) of course.

:mrgreen:

• kadajawi on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:40 am

Back then for little more you could buy a Renault Kangoo. It strikes a decent balance between stiffness and comfort, it’s very practical and was made to be easy to repair. The noise inside is acceptable, quality is decent, I’ve had few problems. Also it looks better, less boring and dreadful.

• cheng on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:20 pm

BORED MPV….WEKSS..!!

• I hate the old AVANZAs ~ but i have to SAY, GOSH this is one very good looking thing ! Look at the CURVES and the dashboards !! HOPE it wont ride like a boat

• rosdi on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:34 pm

I hope you are being sarcastic..

• BadBET on Jan 11, 2012 at 7:57 pm

I hate the old AVANZAs ~ but i have to SAY, GOSH this “girl in blue shirt” is one very good looking thing ! Look at the CURVES and the dashboards !! HOPE it ride like a boat “or horse even better”.

look so sweet

• apexg2 on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:01 am

even persona got this view of dashboard la bro….dun b too exited…

• rapidshifter on Jan 11, 2012 at 3:54 pm

interior wise looks better than exo…

• GT-R fanboy on Jan 12, 2012 at 6:58 pm

you really need a glasses… For me,exora is batter than this,why pay 79k for this,if i have 79k right now i will buy the exora bold premium instead,peace.

• ericT on Jan 11, 2012 at 3:54 pm

interior looks Myvi-ish?

• taboogen on Jan 11, 2012 at 3:55 pm

i want to buy 1.. i want i want… but fortunately I have ordered inspira.. hehe

• ya..ya..whatever..better get the exora CFE then

• Gobert on Jan 11, 2012 at 3:57 pm

Hmmmph…for me Exora more better than Avanza in every aspects. Proton BOLEH

• All Proton & Pero Dua cars are poorly “made” or badly put together re-badged, slightly modified models of other countries’ cars. The cars has no quality control. The brakes in most cars
      fail many times in new cars. The electric front windows do not work even when the cars are taken back and reworked. The hatchback rear doors were not properly aligned when delivered to customers and are difficult to open & shut. When taken back to Proton the staff there just lied & say there is nothing wrong & advised to just put some oil on it. Proton boleh???
      Avanza is a Toyota. Any car with the Toyota badge behind it will sell, because Toyota = quality.

• kadajawi on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:03 pm

The Avanza was meant as a very cheap taxi/transport for Indonesia, developed in Indonesia. It’s not really a Toyota. Where does Toyota sell it? That says what this thing really is.

• blownturbo on Jan 12, 2012 at 2:38 pm

The return of Uwekk……..

• If you haven’t traveled the world, don’t make silly comments. Its not just sold in Malaysia and Indonesia.

Really guys, if you are not the target market, why bother making comments. Get the cars that are in your target.

• kadajawi on Jan 13, 2012 at 3:42 pm

I am in the target market and bought the Kangoo instead. ;)

“In addition to Indonesia and Malaysia, the Avanza is sold in Brunei, Bangladesh, Egypt, Lebanon, Pakistan, Philippines, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Thailand. A rebadged version of the car is sold in China under the FAW badge.”
            (Wikipedia)

I haven’t seen it anywhere in Europe, and that list of countries… wow, impressive. What a car.

• kivatt0024 on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:48 am

just a lousy toyolta-fan….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • harris murad on Jan 12, 2012 at 7:33 pm

avanza vs exora..
        yup no doubt that toyotas are of great quality but please lah, have a second look at it (avanza) again; its damn ugly bros!
        not that i can afford any of those 2, but seriously, which one would you prefer looking at when you wake up in the morning?

a beautiful but ‘not so high quality’ lady or a ‘high quality’ fugly?

im sure as hell wont choose the latter!

• SorChai on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:00 pm

No need to write such a long review of the car.

Just mention Toyota only, you will get a long queue outside for booking.

• No Airbag on 1.3 model?

• kadajawi on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Isn’t that illegal now?

I doubt this tin box would even need airbags, the thing would probably simply collapse when you crash it into anything.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Jan 11, 2012 at 10:46 pm

You need to look under the back seat… there’s plenty of it…uuueeekkkk

• apexg2 on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:05 am

even ford fiesta 1.4 stoped their selling coz only have 1 airbag, legally is 2 right? but this model have none….how could this happen? how they pass JP*???

• AlCapone on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:02 pm

cheap plastic..

• Soo puny torque & hp figures, the Exora turbo is more value for money than this truck based ppl mover

• raceman on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:10 pm

the bouncy mpv is back!

• The rear design look weird…

• goldfries on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Looks a lot nicer that before! Now actually worth considering. :D Exora and Alza can step aside a bit. :P

• kivatt0024 on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:51 am

why dont buy alpahrd or vellfire lor…this mpv looks stupid…even the step brother alza is better…..but exora the best value for money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • kadajawi on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:45 am

Alphard and Vellfire are even worse. The Vellfire is so low with it’s silly bodykit (what is this? A van or a race car?!) it probably crashes into each and every speedbump or pothole. They both don’t have space for luggage… it’s meant for comfort. But what if you have luggage? I mean, that does happen sometimes. Send a driver to escort you with another car.

For that sort of money you could easily buy a Touran, S-Max etc.

• F1 Driver wannabe on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:49 am

in terms of space, avanza can only be compared to p2 alza … exora is in a different league already …

in terms of performance, neither avanza nor innova can match exora cfe’s performance …

shame on you toyota !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
  • gabla on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Why should I pay more for less? I can get Exora Bold with a better interior quality, bigger space and higher power output.

• p1’s bold and the new avanza….performance and money value, bold for the win..space wise, avanza kot..design, both car nothing much to say.

• cheng on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:13 pm

ugly already!!,,

• 4 speed auto box.. fuiyoo..

• love the new face, new dash but hate the overall shape…

• Area51LE on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:16 pm

The interior looks very much of the new Myvi

• Okay.... on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Time to get a new engine for the Avanza, eh Toyota? By the looks of it, the Exora Bold will be more worth it.

• Mat Mitsu on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Dia datang….. dengan model barunya…. Hope this could be the theme song for this Av – anje…

• just change bumper, dashboard, lamp + new sticker … wallaaa ..they call all new avanza! toyota make me sick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 40
    • noname on Jan 11, 2012 at 8:27 pm

all new lah.. the chasis are different.. but the ugly is still the same.. hahaha

• putra_rider on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:22 pm

who’s dont like exora, have another new option now..

but these will not beat the list of exora could offer..

• Exora needs to replace timing belt every time, Avanza is using timing chain which means less time need to spend in the garage.

• And yeah, you need to change the timing belt every week? Duh!

• khonglo2n on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:11 am

Exora needs to replace timing belt every year perhaps depends how you drive, Avanza needs to replace tyres every quarter in TSC advised by their so call advisor.

• i think you need to change you brain every month. timing belt change done only once in 3-5 yrs.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Blue, Pink, Green & Yellow all very beautiful.

As for the Black & White OK OK loh ! Not bad consider facelift from a very boxy van.

• sucre on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:25 pm

ugly…

• Why it doesn’t look like new to me?

• Better buy Exora Bold

• kadajawi on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Still an ugly and probably not very good car (and people bought THIS over the Kangoo?!). At least the price is on the lower end of things (but why would anyone buy this over an Alza or Exora?)

• confused on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Alza on high heels..

• kadajawi on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:08 pm

Naw, Alza is the young and (comparatively) hot daughter, the Avanza the old mother with cheap makeup and high heels. :)

• foxis on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:16 pm

Don’t ever compare the Alza with this fugly floating UFO. Alza much more sexy and sporty over this “brick”.

• Cikgu Borneo on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:36 pm

still bumping a lot??

• kawan on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:39 pm

enjin Alza dengan Avanza..adik beradik..belakang side seperti tak berapa menarik.

• Cikgu Borneo on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:39 pm

still a bumpy ride?

• forget about the car. the girl with blue shirt who stand right side of the avanza. u are so hot. nice body with big boobs. wanna squezze it.

• Kesper on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:42 pm

I can’t be the only one who noticed the girl in blue first, then the car.

• WTH ? No abs and airbag for the lowest spec ? I thought the gov said car launch in 2012 should have that safety features. Go die la toyota. Malaysian deserve more!!!

• kadajawi on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:11 pm

And even 2 airbags is really not much. Look at Europe… most cars have at least 4 (the small and cheap ones) or 6 airbags… or more. Many also have ESC. ABS they don’t even have to mention… and that is all in the base version, higher ones may be better equipped.

But here Toyota can’t even be bothered to give the Camry more than 2 airbags.

• alldisc on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:36 am

2012 camry will have 4 airbags. the problem is not because of toyota, but many accident workshop have low expertise in airbag’s electronics after accident repair.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Jan 11, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Heiii I found a lot of bags at the back seat….. and it fills with….uuueeekkkk

• ken dan on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Nothing special…………………but the model wear blue shirt one is more intresting

than the car…………..

• looking-good on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:49 pm

ar….ah……av……..

• forget about the car. look at the model with blue shirt. she is so adorable, and nice boobs.

• look at the blue shirt model. she is so pretty. and gorgeous.

• New Avanza??? Better go for Exora Turbo..

• The Enthusiast on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Finally, EPS for the Avanza. I am curious as to how improved is the NVH level. Myvi Lagi Best advertised the same thing–improved NVH–but really, the truth is it’s not.

• geekfiredog on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:54 pm

No airbag on 1.3, and 1 airbag for lower 1.5 trim. Is there an official change in direction or Toyota already got the 6 months grace period?

http://paultan.org/2011/07/26/airbags-a-must-in-new-vehicles-by-jan-1-2012/
    http://paultan.org/2011/01/21/airbags-to-be-made-compulsory-for-passenger-cars-except-4wds-in-malaysia-from-2012/

• confused on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:42 am

Only applicable for vehicles assembled and manufactured here. This Avanza follow Indo’s standard.

• oligopoli on Jan 12, 2012 at 3:58 pm

nope, it mentioned in the 21st January posting ‘local car manufacturers such as Proton and Perodua’, but in http://paultan.org/2011/07/26/airbags-a-must-in-new-vehicles-by-jan-1-2012/, it mentioned “All new cars sold”, so i suppose this avanza must have airbag. smell fishy la, what happen here?

• littlefire on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:03 am

Undertable $$$, everything “kau tim” in boleh land…

• F1 Driver wannabe on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:57 am

piss off littlefire !! are you accusing toyota give out bribery ??!!

• Not accusing, but the fact is UMW is now owned by BN(UMNO)

• oligopoli on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:16 am

UMW is GLC, just in case if you don’t know. so it belong to the G, so to speak

• OilChange on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:54 pm

remains ugly as ever…..

• overshadowed by alza… not interested at all…

• Nice…better looking than last model.

• I think Exora looks better.

• OMG….but the sales of this car expect will better than P1 Exora….

• DewaSemut on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Wow! Still looks a lot like old Avanza, so facelift is a more proper term… not new. and the price… my gosh… UMW has to categorize this van as MPV to justify its high price (same thing with Innova)… :)

• rosdi on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Exora Turbo ada buat apa beli ini??

• Azli Lazim on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:06 pm

good mpv!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • WOOH! LOOKS SO HOT MAN! EVEN BETTER THAN THE VELOSTER! this is what Masked Ryder or Maserati will say later when they saw this posts. I could suggest you for a eye check.

• alvinhlh on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Rubbish.

• the white model on the stage is the 1.5G while the other darker coloured ones are the Sports version?

• Wisdom on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:11 pm

The bumpy rear end of Avanza can never be forgiven…

• alvinhlh on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:12 pm

UMWT rocks! All the way!
    GOOD JOB!

• RON97 on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:15 pm

too bad exora..new avanza is here
    who need exora when u can buy a toyota brand
    but both are ugly…under 100k u can’t ask for more. both target for lower income family
    and only lower income people buy proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 36
    • Gabla on Jan 11, 2012 at 7:26 pm

Yeah, right. The Toyota brand alone is worth RM20k.

People should buy this over Exora Bold. Instead of getting a better product with far more features, it would be wiser to spend the same amount of money to get the precious Toyota brand.

Heck, even when the interior of Exora Bold looks more premium than this Avanza, people should buy this Avanza because it comes with the Toyota brand…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
    • people who are brand-minded is a slave to capitalists. look at specs, car itself. not brand.

• bro… just wait and see… next market review…. what ranking it will be…

• Bongcs on Jan 11, 2012 at 11:45 pm

Im so poor, i only drive proton wira.

• GT-R fanboy on Jan 12, 2012 at 7:41 pm

buy this because it toyota? You are one shallow minded people! And exora is ugly? I think you have a problem with your eye,go see a doctor and dont forgot to check your brain too.

• littlefire on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Boring… If choose between Alza & this Toyota Avanza, which 1 will prevail? I will put my money on P. Alza if compare sales…

• pathfinder on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:20 pm

…and why should I choose this over exora?

• pathfinder on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:22 pm

exora much better n laaagiii besttt….(i cant believe i’m saying this)

• ultrajo on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Waiting for Avanza 1.5J hehehe!

• whysoserious on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:25 pm

giler buruk..cantik lg exora bold..

• Sharvind Varma on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:28 pm

I dont feel its an all new avanza…its just an updated facelift as the body seems similar and engine has been tuned up for better milage..should be more appealing as the earlier one had been in the market for quite some time

• My eyes can’t stop looking at the blue t-shirt girl

• fadhli on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:30 pm

waa..suprise no comment yet

• peeps on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:31 pm

thumbs up if you like the blue shirt girl =D

• ” This new one wears more sculptured styling for a more dynamic outlook relative to the original. More 3D, car companies like to say.”

I guess the previous gen was in 2D. >_>

• mr5zal on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:41 pm

ugly.

• interesting small mpv indeed. Just curious on 10% improvement on fc claim by toyota using low rolling resistance tyre while tyre manufacturers only claim 4-5% indeed n perodua claim new myvi fc improved by 10% from eps alone.

• alhhin on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:41 pm

the girl pretty then the car

• RedBeanBun on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:42 pm

70K day light robbing for such a lousy spec car!

• kadajawi on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:51 am

What do you expect from Toyota? They always do that, look at the Vios.

• But still a bunch of idiot treat Vios like god. Some even said the NVH is damn good, oh my god, poor M’sian. o these People know what is a GOOD car??

• The Malaysian bought a car because of brand ma and not by a spec given by car manufacturer.

• BLAH!

• khylie555 on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:46 pm

4 speed auto?Yes!!!!!so advanced.

• kuriang on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:47 pm

uwekkk…

• tarliebun on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:47 pm

exora lagi best……..

• ops sorry, after reading back, 10% from 9% improvements mean 0.9% out of 10%,my bad. So others 8.1% contribute by lower weight,aerodynamic n eps.
    Good work. But just now toyota mentioned the low figure for 1.5 is due to euro 4 compliant, while alza, share the same engine,if not mistaken has the same output, in cbt(cars,bikes n trucks), perodua engineer mentioned the lower figure is due to alza using front wheel drive, n this lower figure will contribute better fc coz old avanza is using rear wheel drive.

But why it is contradict between toyota n perodua engineers answer? This puzzle me a lot

• littlefire on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Rear wheel drive cars have 1 advantage is the pulling power or torque implement is better compare to front wheel drives & also more turning radius for the power steering..

While Front wheel drive cars have more space in the car due to no space needed for the axle & long shaft..

But for FC, i believe that P. Alza should be better.. Thanks to low weight and less mechanical moving parts compare to T. Avanza..

• khylie555 on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:47 pm

$ speed auto?Yes!!!!exactly like my 11 years old proton waja.so proud.

• mizzuddin945 on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:48 pm

no comment

• Merc=Real Euro on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:48 pm

aaah 3rd world car for the masses….64K…no thanks better consider Alza…

• pacifictuna on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:49 pm

now’s that’s a proper and competitive Avanva. We used to label the back row as ‘economy class’ due to the poor ride.

• khylie555 on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Exora turbo CVT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Supertram on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:52 pm

that rims looks like some “tak laku” design. clear stock? totally destroy the overall look!!

• kimi_ on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Hey Danny, you should capture more photos of the GIRL IN BLUE SHIRT instead of this piece of junk!!!!!!!!

• Glee power on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:13 pm

Anyone know who the girl in the blue shirt is ? I would love to treat her well :-)

• love the gt 86-like intake. dont like the bumper shape, macam mulut penuh kunyah makanan

• noNickNAme on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Another daylight robber on the road

• The girl in the blue shirt looks like Yui Hatano.

• blabla on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:38 pm

please change the name to Toyota Rubbish

• teelim on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:47 pm

I seriously wonder who would get this over an alza.

The alza is not just cheaper, it also look alot nicer IMO

• xcalibur on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:47 pm

that girl in blue shirt looks like a jap. damn she’s hot!!

• sawi cool on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:48 pm

Few minor change and call it all new?

Haih.

Hmm, Danny, now we have Exora Bold, this ‘new’ Avanza and Alza, may be it’s time for head to head comparison…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 12, 2012 at 5:42 pm

Good idea, we’ll keep in mind :)

• jajabobo on Jan 13, 2012 at 12:23 pm

remember invite the blue shirt gal to join your comparison test…ask her sit in every cabin, hold hold the steering take pic in it, tat’s all u need to do seriously….coz this mpv range ppl dun really care how it compare lol…toyota fan will still go for toyota lol…

• xcalibur on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:50 pm

that girl in blue shirt looks like a jap. damn she’s hot!!!

• A van za on Jan 11, 2012 at 7:19 pm

Avanza 1.5S have leather seats like exora…fuiiyoooo

• A van za on Jan 11, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Avanza 1.5S have a leather seats like exora…fuiiyoooo

• Jolly_idiot on Jan 11, 2012 at 7:22 pm

No longer an affordable mpv. 62k price tag is not for low income people tho. They should offer it lower

• What?complete new car?look at it…it still has d shadow of old avanza.I dun c any difference.further more,interior s so basic…very dry

• actually this is the same old junk. If new car need to fit in airbags already. UMW trying to scam ppl as usual. always saying their old junks are new.

it works on 95% of the ppl.

• altimi on Jan 11, 2012 at 8:51 pm

Rear live axle is so 1900s…….
    Toyota why you no use torsion beam like Exora………?

• little fire,u dont understand my question. Why contradict statement about the engine by perodua n toyota???

Previously perodua engineers mentioned that the lower power figure at alza compare with old avanza is due to front wheel setup compare to avanza rear wheel setup, n bcoz of lower figure,it give alza better pickup n fc???meaning that if used same setup as old avanza, bad fc n less pickup.

And then what the hell toyota come out this new avanza, with lower power figure than the old one, n yet claiming the new detune engine get better fc n avanza still rear wheel drive???

Isnt that contradict? Toyota mentioned the lower power figure due to emmision cntrl euro 4.

N perodua engineers say differently as the reason i mentioned above.

My question, why contradict statement? Why perodua engineers didnt mention about emmision cntrl causing the power reduce n saying the setup is good only for front wheel setup,not good for avanza rear wheel,but now why toyota used it at avanza???

Haiya,is it hard to understand my sarcastic questions??? :-), he..he..

• and i know about front @ rear wheel setup diff,pros n cons. But remember,passo sette n daihatsu luminas using the same engine as alza, but power figure as old avanza.

Why it twin,alza has diff power figure before??? If the reason as per p2 engineer said, why not luminas n sette dont used the same tuning n figure but using old avanza figure???

The reason, may be due to restrict power,of course,cannot give the powerful one to alza, or avanza xleh cr makan, or, due to euro 4, but perodua never mentioned about euro 4, or the engineers actually dont know what happened to the engine, just create some stupid answers, and some malaysian buy it, maybe,including u :-)

• krs189 on Jan 12, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Passo sette and boon luminas use different engine la… the JDM one using aluminum alloy engine.

This crap third world country cast iron engine is offered to people here

• alza share the same powertrain as old avanza, daihatsu luminas n toyota passo sette that is 3sz-ve 1.5 litter engine despite alza has lower power output n it is the same die cast iron block. The alluminium is only available in vios in malaysia in 1nz fe engine.

Thats why i raised the questions on contradict statement by perodua oppose to toyota on the same terrain as alza n new avanza has the same power output as in alza.

• and one more thing,it seems that toyota already confess that previously their cars in malaysia are only euro 2 except for new altis dual vvti. No wonder their engine seem powerful, now when they comply with euro 4,they have to reduce weight, n saga flx is as heavy as 7 seater mpv???i wonder how the shove the weight from old platform n put better insulation n bodykit.

N how old platform weight the same as saga(5 seater small sedan car)?

Prtn atleast already euro4 compliant since 2004. So it seems we have been played by them for long time n also by perodua.

• and one more thing,it seems that toyota already confess that previously their cars in malaysia are only euro 2 except for new altis dual vvti. No wonder their engine seem powerful, now when they comply with euro 4,they have to reduce weight, n saga flx is as heavy as 7 seater mpv???i wonder how the shove the weight from old platform n put better insulation n bodykit.

N how old platform weight the same as saga(5 seater small sedan car)?

Prtn atleast already euro4 compliant since 2004. So it seems we have been played by them for long time n also by perodua..

• it is absolutely stupid for those who choose the s spec avanza over the exora bold!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 47
  • Blue shirt on Jan 11, 2012 at 10:19 pm

OMG… The girl in blue shirt, so hot…. She overshadowed the avanza… So pretty…

• go saga on Jan 11, 2012 at 10:19 pm

van type…………………..good for for commercial only

• old avanza on Jan 11, 2012 at 10:26 pm

I had one, the old avanza. If toyota still do not solve the problem of rear suspension, I could say that second and third row seats are useless, bumping like s**t. I sold my car due to that reason.

• Avanza MPV- mahal punya van

• theanswer on Jan 11, 2012 at 11:45 pm

i’d take alza..or else bigger exora.

• eattoyotaforlife on Jan 12, 2012 at 12:59 am

i will take exora them. Much easier to smoke this a van ja dan overhype alza. Both avan ja and alza look slow and dated compared to much newer cvt gearbox and light turbo Exora. Smoke them all exora.

the boucing part is a free gift comes this purchase of this van. come to think of this, i think buyer of this new so called a van za should be happy with the advance and unique features of bouncing vomit type ride.

bravo toyota.

• jonathan on Jan 12, 2012 at 2:03 am

peeps ! respect the women !!! they have rights !!! treat them as in treat ur mum !!! u dont want old uncle said it to ur mum.. ” u r sexy, can i squeeze ur boobs”? would u feel like punch that pervert uncle!?? RESPECT!

• jonathan on Jan 12, 2012 at 2:08 am

hey come on ! respect d woman !!!!!

• jonathan on Jan 12, 2012 at 2:13 am

hey peeps, respect the woman. they have rights! treat this woman as like treat ur mum, u dont want uncle said to ur mum, ” hey pretty, can i squeeze ur boobs” would u feel like punching them!? same goes to them !

• sexyandiknowit on Jan 12, 2012 at 2:44 am

She gets paid to look cute beside a car. I think she can expect all of this when she choose to earn money this way.

• jonathan on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:03 am

yes, she got paid by working in this job, yet still have to respect. u guys can praise them, but not in this kind of way as in squeeze ur boobs, 70k to buy a girl? what u were expecting?

• ayahjannah on Jan 12, 2012 at 7:59 am

Better buy Exora Bold. nothing special. old fashion, old technology.

• titan on Jan 15, 2012 at 3:15 pm

yeah right,better get EB.good handling,good fc (better then 2.0cc), nice inside and out, spacious, more torque..

u can carry 7psg to cameron but not with avanza

• khonglo2n on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:14 am

row, row, row your boat, gently down the stream….

• wow! this is what i have waiting for so loooong from toyota!

1. very nice curve
    2. modern look
    3. 2 tone color

errr… i am talking about the girl in blue+while.

• Both Avanza and Exora RM79K similar price range but:
    – after 3 yrs Avanza will get 15 pct depreciation but Exora 35 pct woohh!
    – Avanza easily get 14km/L mileage while Exora ughhh only 10km/L
    – only RM98 difference in monthly repayments
    – banks give Avanza much lower loan rate than Exora higher rate
    – Avanza timing chain servicing advantage over Exora timing belt crap

In the end, your choice shows how blind idiotic Fool or Smart you are HA HA HA

• kadajawi on Jan 12, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Who cares about all of that when you get an awful car? Or even just die because the Avanza is probably not safe at all. And I wonder how good the resale value will be when people realize what a horrible thing that Avanza is.

• ultrajo on Jan 12, 2012 at 12:12 pm

and after 3 month your Avanza other rear passenger have to fork out more money to align their backbone and butt-bone hehehe!

• sawi cool on Jan 12, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Just graduated from T training centre?
      Your comment shows how blind idiotic Fool or Smart you are HA HA HA.

If the depreciation counts that much, just find a 2nd hand Avanza.
      With exception of few things, others are pretty much the same!

• after 3 years ..

– Exora will received extended warranty 2 years from Proton
      – Avanza warranty expired and SA from Toyota said your gear box ‘kaput’ ..the cost RM25K ..then u will FINISHED!

• i) What cause a Fool or Smart buy a car which will sell after 3 years? Better don’t buy if you are knowing you selling the car after 3 years.
      ii)11 adults to go GENTING with Avanza and Exora from Johor. How do you arrange the seatt? Or you prefer to sit in which car?
      iii)i don’t get you… what is “RM98 difference in monthly repayments”
      iv) Avanza got much lower loan rate and Exora got much high loan rate? Please give us the rate you get.
      v) Anaza is free of servicing? crap.

• sepucps on Jan 12, 2012 at 2:02 pm

u sure a cheapskate person..
      spending money on better engineered car is normal today..
      you got better driving experiance, more comfort eventhough u need to spent more than others..if all people like u, then no one would love to buy contis oledi..they should settle with camry or accord rather than spending high on 5 series or E class..

• wow ajaw, ko nih betul2 diehard fan toyota yang buta hati, bacalah dulu kat atas, toyota pun x ckp mcm ko “Despite the slightly lower figures, acceleration is improved and fuel economy is better than before, so it’s win-win for the consumer. FC wise, the new Avanza 1.5 is rated at 12 km/l (7% better) while the 1.3 model does 12.6 km/l, which is 9% better than before.”

toyota pun claim 12km/L, itupun 7% lebih baik dr yang lama, maksudnya yg lama lg teruk.

camne plak ko bleh bg figure 14km/L???

jelas2 buta hati ko nih. klu yer pun fan club,xkisah,tp jgnlah sampai buta hati n buta mata ok.

• GT-R fanboy on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Dont be stupid,blind and shallow minded person please.

• Loneranger on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:18 pm

bcoz its T rite? thts y think all bout it is the best….

if 1 day T produce a car like Flintstone era..u also will say it is the best compared to other car……:)

• andrew on Jan 15, 2012 at 11:47 am

after reading ur post, i did some brief research on mudah.my. since u mentioned ‘after 3 yrs’, so i search for 2009 used models for both cars. result as follows:

new price*:
      2009 avanza 1.5S = 78500
      2009 exora h-line = 75998
      *both r range-topping at that time

used price @ 2011/12 based on mudah.my ads:
      avanza 1.5S = 60k, 61k, 59.8k
      exora h-line = 58k, 60k, 61k, 56k

after 3 yrs, exora seems to have the same or maybe even BETTER resell value compare to avanza

so much for ur 15% & 35% depreciation huh?

• effa owona on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:04 am

i like the yellow one… :)

• compare between the blue shirt girl and the mpv (?) .. THE PRETTY AND THE UGLY!

• Nizam80 on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:41 am

In Malaysia, Toyota can still sell this sampan handling car at RM65K without ABS and not even a single airbag… and still get away with it.

• Edward on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:33 am

my dear UMW.. if i buy this glorified commercial van TRD version spec…. will the blue shirt girl come along?

• Kaiyo on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:36 am

Danny, please don’t keep all the pictures of the Blue Shirt Girl to yourself.. I know you’ve shot more than 1 picture of her.. Come on.. Sharing is caring..

• JebatV6 on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:37 am

Blue 1 my 4th wife..

• Edward on Jan 12, 2012 at 5:43 pm

to waste to be ur 4th…. be my official.. every ferry u with this avanza

• The Titan on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:37 am

aiyoo really ugly look this Indon made, Indon hate M’sia product then why we buy their product?

But honestly this look too ugly and expensive better buy EB RM80k with high torque&bhp, styling, good handling, reverse camera, all leather, Dvd monitor, spacious, good NVH, nice looking inside n out, safety bla bla bla..

• michael on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:49 am

they should have some milf as models since the majority customers will be uncles?

• ayahjannah on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:49 am

Please compare both avanza and ezora bold.

Engine: 1,495cc 4-cylinder 3SZ-VE (Avanza) / 1.6 CFE
    Max Power: 102hp / 138 hp
    Max Torque: 136Nm / 205 Nm
    Transmission: 4-speed automatic / CVT
    Brake: disc and drum / Disc and disk
    Safety Features: Dual airbags, ABS with EBD/ same features.

sure better ezora bold.

• oligopoli on Jan 12, 2012 at 3:36 pm

lost in every department!!

• alldisc on Jan 12, 2012 at 5:03 pm

throw away govt protection @ price control/adjustments.. and avanza and vios will be selling at 40-50K only.

camry 2.4 without taxes alone is 89K.

talk is cheap.

• exora m-line auto omv price(without tax n protection) when convert to rm is rm32k. Talk is cheap isnt it :-)

dont talk about langkawi price if dunno about tax rules n regulations and acts. Read it at customs about free trade area acts as apply in langkawi before comment. The easiest way is to fork out info outside to nearest neighbour to get omv price.

Just blame toyota for the price. Even 1.3 avanza is having less tax than exora, but the price is not that lower though. Check back mpv under 1500 cc tax n compare with mpv over 1500cc tax percentage at maa.org.my.

• oligopoli on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:23 am

u sure about your fact, mister? ;-)
          if u say u can buy car directly from factory, process all ur document yourself with the government agency, bank and all, may be u can get camry for 89k, then it’s good for you.
          type in blog is cheap. googling and reading are cheap too.

• how about fuel consumption………road tax…..tyre cost………and resale value?for 5 adults,,,,which do u think better utility.

• JuggPeeps on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:59 am

hello !!!!!!!!

• NEW AVANZA 2012 on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:19 am

hye im a NEW TOYOTA AVANZA 2012.

Thumb Up me if u like ..

Thumb Down if u DIslike..

Im Counting, and ill give all your Thumb to my BOSS.

TQ

• The existing FUGLY and bad design just got FUGLIER…….. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Eye sore.

• i) Why cause a Fool or Smart buy a car which will sell after 3 years? Better don’t buy if you are knowing you selling the car after 3 years.
    ii)11 adults to go GENTING with Avanza and Exora from Johor. How do you arrange the sit? Or you prefer to sit in which car?
    iii)i don’t get you… what is “RM98 difference in monthly repayments”
    iv) Avanza got much lower loan rate and Exora got much high loan rate? Please give us the rate you get.
    v) Anaza is free of servicing? crap.

• rosdi on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Mana Expatriate VN… kenapa dia tak kutuk pulak kereta ni??… Such double standard..

• draftboy on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:31 pm

center row seat split 50:50… Is it comfortable for center passenger? Looks like proton more brilliant with exora split 60:40…

• dannyl77 on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:56 pm

me too dont quite understand why Avanza 2nd row split 50:50……… but even with 60:40 split for Exora also i dont think it is comfortable …….

Nowadays A lot Center Passenger for the 2nd row Not comfortable one… the Center Part of the 2nd Row seat is Bulging out abit one… Doesn’t matter if its Exora ke , Innova ke , Altis ke , Camry ke , Prius ke , & a lot of other cars ……

Dont quite understand why it has to Bulge out a bit …. i understand that the center part can be lower down to become a armrest la …… But why have to bulge out la , not comfortable la for the person who sits at the center……….

• Masked Ryder on Jan 12, 2012 at 2:24 pm

What with the body sticker ? come on this is 2012 !

Get rid of the fellow who decide put on this sticker !

Toyota had done a good job by changing the from portion, but the moment you see the back is back to the future, maybe they should hire Proton Exora Bold exterior designer.

Still i believe Avanza will outsell Rondo & Citra by a huge margin.

• Funnydidi on Jan 12, 2012 at 2:50 pm

The rear looks more like Toyota Landcruiser now.. not bad.

• since 2004 till today, 8 yrs on, and the engine and gear box still same???
    4 speed auto, why not put a 5th gear for auto? try drive avanza 1.5 auto at 90km and look at the rev counter….. engine can improve abit in consumption….

hope the car wont be so bouncy at the rear and taking corner will not be like a bus…

• Comparing this with Exora Turbo, I will go for the Exora Turbo. Pricing similar, Exora Turbo better specs. My opinion.

• Nizam80 on Jan 12, 2012 at 4:59 pm

The font-type used in the speedometer numbering looks familiar. It looks like the one in the Perodua Viva!

• Edward on Jan 12, 2012 at 5:53 pm

My dear Danny,

Everytime i come in to this post hopefully you will update more of the shots of blue shirt model… She is the only subject that is the prettiest during the Ad Van Ja luanched…

dun simpan simpan ss.. sharing is caring…

thumbs up for me if all of us wan danny to upload more pics of the girl :)

• Danny ..plz, fulfill his wish. i thought Edward now is going really crazy about her .. hahaha

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 13, 2012 at 4:12 pm

This could be the most requested lady pic ever in the history of this site! Miss Blue is gorgeous, isn’t she? :)

Unfortunately….. I REALLY don’t have any more girly pics from the launch. Guys, segala kesulitan amat dikesali, harap maaf!

• xcalibur on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:44 pm

don’t worry guys…google avanza launch..you can see many pics of her

• hmmm….. 1.5 again…..
    facelift………facelift…facelift….
    boringgg….
    better exora than this…

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Jan 12, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Hei.. Did anybody noticed the TURNING RADIUS figure… ???

7 METER…. Wow….. Its even higher than all those 4 girls put togather….

• dannyl77 on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:45 pm

the Turning radius is 4.7m …not 7m …….. the small picture u see is cropped , Try clicking on it & u will see the Turning radius is 4.7m … :D

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Opps…. Sorry…. Those 4girls really blinded me to read the exact figure….

• For the benefit of all existing Avanza owners…….just buy the wrap around rubber bush on the rear coil springs.

I did it for my FL seems to work.

Cheap…..and easy to install but don’t get the translucent ones. PU rubber tend to crack easier.

Agree, this thing is expensive and the winning thing for it is…the FC only.

• Nic Cheong on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Thank you for bringing affordable people carrier to Malaysia. We don’t need you anymore. We have Livina/Alza/Exora already. They drive way more comfortable than you. Maybe someone who want horse riding experience will need you.

• ….exora better

• exora better

• Glenn on Jan 13, 2012 at 12:46 am

WOWW!! got new feature !!! Tilt steering !!!

(poor Toyota)

• xcalibur on Jan 13, 2012 at 7:55 am

hmm….where’s my post with link to the blue shirt girl pic?

nvmind….if you guys want to see more of that gal go google image avanza launch:-)

• Seriously on Jan 13, 2012 at 9:44 am

thumbs up if you came back here to view the girl in blue… AGAIN :P

• Estimosis on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:11 am

I had a teacher who just look the girl in blue. It was in the eighties. Maybe that her daughter. The car, I just say its a no-no and stick to Exora Bold.

• dont care about the car. i want that blue shirt girl too. that girl is hot wanna suck it.

• ezracopters on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:11 pm

stop talking bout that blue shirt lady.. she is my mom..

• titan on Jan 15, 2012 at 3:00 pm

what? she is your mom? ok what ever.. hey you all out there plz stop talk about that blue shirt girl,not good to be like that.we’re here talking about new avanza ok. mmm yeah sure really cute and beauty sorry’,.’

• De Marco on Feb 14, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Is it? so let me be your dad please..

• UMW – United Making Wang

• titan on Jan 15, 2012 at 3:25 pm

EB turning radius just 5.4m, Avanza 7m? it’s a big prob also,it’ll sweating a lot when u park in the crowd and much more excercise u must doing kehkehkeh..

• Curtain Blind on Jan 17, 2012 at 11:44 pm

Hmmm just read above post….4.7m only leh.

They should have given 5 speed auto….better upgrades….like this, it looks a bit pricey.

Will only get to appreciate the resale value 5 yrs later.

Will find it hard to counter the Bold like this.

• KRISHNA POKHREL on Jan 18, 2012 at 6:47 pm

i like it…

• adoii on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:22 pm

aiiseyyyy…same story for every new car launched…..proton vs perodua vs toyota vs honda vs kia vs bla bla bla…..never ending story…..

• cheng on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:18 pm

SH*T MPV EVER..!!

• kebin on Jan 25, 2012 at 8:18 pm

So strange, the EB blog got soooo many people test drive or pretended to test drive perhaps, here ….. zero……wOw.

Haven’t test but soooo many deep comments.

To me, it is really worth considering becos not the type of with lots of money to waste.

Yes, the Alza is compromised, the EB has a funny tech engine that needs a turbo (for those who think it is advanced tech, pls look at the 1.4 VW or 1.6 Volvo figures for comparison)…….the Avanza is not perfect but for part-time pasar malam duty, balik kg,this thing is far from perfect but it will do, just fine.

• Trinity on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:34 am

Exo is a local brand car..they don’t have reselling value compared to Toyota. I was once told, car loan interest for local car is higher? Is this true? Individual has their own preference of cars,I believed. So, buy whichever suits your budget.

• Yup, P1 cars interest a bit higher….dont know why…but it is like that.

This is an ok car and the price should remain lower…..but that is not happening today.

Otherwise, this is a really Ok buy….soooo many on the road.

• i prefer Avanza New Zealand model design!
    http://www.toyota.co.za/VehicleRange.aspx?vehicleRangeId=9

• thomas on Feb 19, 2012 at 9:33 pm

the link you quote if for south africa, they don’t sell Avanza in new zealand…

• Design lack of diamond / Crystal cut & 3D cut like Honda City!

• Avanza is probably made for third world countries. The real toyota mpv is estima.

• Owwwwyeahhh..TOP GEAR sure luv this car!!!!

• The FC for Avanza 1.5 is 12 km/l (8.3 L/100km) while Exora Bold is 7.8 L/100km. Based on this, can I conclude that Exora is more fuel economic than Avanza?

• NITIN on Aug 16, 2012 at 10:44 pm

I WANT PARCHES TOYOTA AVANZA DIESEL CAR .WHEN ITS LAUNCHINGIN INDIA ? PLEASE TELL ME .

• anagoh on Nov 19, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Am jst gonna plan to buy the avanza, but after i read all d comments here….wow…am getting confuse…so..plz…help me,should i go on or i better looking for the other car….

• Turboman on Nov 19, 2012 at 5:51 pm

It depends. But before u sign on the dotted lines, let me tell u what u are getting for your money.

1) VEry old technology. The 4 speeder and that engine probably hasnt change for the past 8-10years.

2) A very basic car. Reliability might be good, but be prepared to hate driving after u have bought it.

So my question to u is, how much u enjoy driving? If u hate driving, buying this will make u hate it more as its underpowered, doesnt handle well, but it gets the job done if u have 6-7 adults that u want to ferry around. But Alza can do the same thing at a lower price.

If u are the type who enjoys driving, well, my suggestion is to look elsewhere as most toyotas are pretty uninspiring to drive. Those who think their vios is fun has obviously never driven anything else, besides their dad’s old 1.3l manual saga.

• the greed toyolta on Nov 19, 2012 at 10:09 pm

anything is better than avanza the junk. use your brain!

• avanza owner on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Ive sold my avanza 1.3M 2006 for 33k last july..bought it in 2006 for 60k..mileage 250k….driving the kids to school and office..and sometimes outstation to kl or penang..no trouble..the only major repair was getting the ac serviced for Rm700..the rest is just changing lube oil and bulbs..even the front brake pad change once only at 180k..the engine was very loyal and reliable until the day we sold it..never fail us once..all the electronics..hydraulics..working fine..even the toyota sc was surprised..the car is very low in maintainance which is essential for a budget makan gaji malaysian like us..looks or technology is not important..as long as we can get from point a to b cheap…thats what quality really means for us ..reliability..no need to worry if the engine will fail when we need it d most..so we decided and proudly received the same model last august..its purely quality and reliability at cheap price..and fyi the price w/out tax from indonesia is 29k..the balance is the tax that we have to pay to support the company that r building the high tech local mpv…

• My Avanza is the best. No complaint. No problem.

• Sy slh sorg owner avanza baru.. why i’ bought this car 1. Kualiti 2. Ruang brg 3. Pickup 4. Jimat minyak 5. Air kon. Oleh krn ia mpv no hal jika heavy load.

• I think this the most best MPV everbuild, no engine problem, no dashboard problem and the problem at all

• I think this the most best MPV everbuild, no engine problem, no dashboard problem and the end problem at all

• I think this the most best MPV everbuild, no engine problem, no dashboard problem and the end is no problem at all

• Johan on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:21 pm

sy dh pakai 2 bulan. memang terbaik. dh xde bumpy2 mcm avanza lama. rasa smooth je. pickup mmg terbaik, speaker dia punya bunyi mmg terbaik. bunyi enjin senyap. byk improvement. syabas toyota!! (nasib baik tak beli exora atau grand livina sebab selalu terserempak dgn org bw exora,dia punye bunyik enjin mcm helikopter pastu grand livina plak kecik mcm alza,peh xpadan langsung dgn harga!)

• Bulan 5 nie, cukup setahun saya guna avanza baru. km sudah 46,000. tiap-tiap minggu serdang selangor – kemaman. sehingga sekarang tiada masalah. yg paling penting jimat segala-galanya.

• koochai on Feb 01, 2013 at 4:03 pm

1 of my relative bought previous gen avanza 1.3 manual in 2007. sometime in 2009 engine kong & have to be towed to toyota sc. they spend ard 2 weeks investigating & another 2 weeks to repair the car. total cost is a whopping rm10k! luckily it is still under warranty so he only need to pay for lube & filter. when asked what causing the failure, explanation given is there’s a small metal chip in 1 of the engine cylinder, causing the whole mechanism to fail. so be careful with your ride guys…

• koochai on Feb 01, 2013 at 4:04 pm

forgot 1 point : mileage when engine failed is ard 50,000 km…

• avanza owner on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:16 am

Koochai..Luckily it is Toyota SC..I wonder what will be the response of Our National Car SC if the same thing happen to their brand of vehicle..thats another reason why I chose Toyota..no such thing as perfect vehicle even a continental brand has its defect…but the Proton brand is the worst

• izat76 on May 28, 2013 at 10:08 am

Saya tengah tunggu Avanza 1.5S baru saya keluar, mungkin dalam minggu depan. Sebelum ni saya memiliki Vios, tapi sekarang ingin ambil kereta yang lebih banyak kegunaannya. Dalam penilitian dari pelbagai segi aspek saya lebih memilih avanza daripada mpv yang seangkatan dengannya. Mungkin kerana telah berpuas hati dengan kualiti produk yang telah Toyota keluarkan sebelum ni. Khidmat servis yang mesra pelanggan membuatkan hati saya tertarik ingin terus bersama Toyota….

• elias on Jun 10, 2013 at 3:17 pm

nak trade in kereta honda city 1.5 dgn awanza…siapa boleh saya hubungi

• Helson Aksesoris Mobil on Aug 08, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Good car. I think this is the cheap MPV one.

• lerato veronicca mabe on Sep 13, 2015 at 2:43 am

Type your comment here..I love avanza so because you can make big business with it

• lerato veronicca mabe on Sep 13, 2015 at 2:45 am

Type your comment here..I love avanza so much because you can make big business with it