Toyota Avanza – brochure’s out on the upcoming facelift

Click to enlarge.

The facelifted Toyota Avanza should be in the showrooms soon enough – the UMW Toyota website already teases that it’s “coming soon,” with pricing and all, which we ran a story on earlier in the week.

Now, the brochure on the seven-seater is out; reader Ray picked up a copy in a Penang showroom and has duly scanned the front overview and specs list, offering a view of the MPV with the . Nothing much that our previous story hasn’t covered, but here’s the recap.

Click to enlarge.

Four versions will be available, three 103 PS 1.5 litre auto variants (the S, G and E) and a single 91 PS 1.3 litre manual E grade version. The top-of-the-line S gets a “sports” front/rear bumpers and side skirts as well as a unique radiator grille, and all the 1.5 litre models feature a 2-DIN, six-speaker audio system, while the 1.3 has a four-speaker, single-DIN one.

There’s ABS and EBD on the S and G versions, which also get dual front airbags – the 1.5 E makes do with one (driver’s), while the 1.3 E has none. Pricing, as mentioned in our earlier piece, start from RM63,864 for the 1.3E right up to the RM78,864 for the range-topping 1.5 S.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Overhead kick on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Another junk car will be in Malaysia…Pity to Malaysian who bought it paying for high price to get junk.

• gunigugu on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:09 pm

4 speed automatic?? really?? come on toyota!! enough with those already!!

• Avanza is a good car but the Engina and the performance is very lousy and out of date ! pls improve !

• Avanza?
    *yawn*

• altimi on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:28 pm

Toyota why u no make monocoque chassis…….?Solid rear axle is so 1900

• just noticed that the rear is almost the same with new CRV

cheap and junk car though, hate u avanza.

Masked Ryder gonna say :”you hate is useless, because it will stills sales well than the K & H, because sales is everything for him, he’s a hardworking salesman!”

• Masked Ryder on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:20 pm

Ah Hah ! U read my mind.

Why do u think car mfg produce car ? to hang up the wall for deco ? to sale lah !

Anyway back to Avanza i would say not bad, at least Toyota can make a refresh look out of the old frame.

Do forget this is the No. 1 seller in Indonesia, it is still a very practical low cost people carrier.

• khylie555 on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:30 pm

1.6 CVT is the best!!!no more 4 speeds auto.

• Veloz on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Alza still the better choice!

• kadajawi on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:38 pm

How are they going to sell cars without 2 airbags in Malaysia?

• Toyota, stop milking from the old Avanza platform already..time for a complete change…

• gtmaniac on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:46 pm

All-new or facelift?

If this is facelift, then it must cost the manufacturer a lot, since most of the panels/glass/body stampings are very different from the current one.

• “all-new” like the Myvi it seems :D
      same old platform, same old engine, just a tweak here and there and then put up “all-new” in their marketing campaigns

• alldisc on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:32 pm

the avanza is all new, apart from the engine and transmission.

headlamp, bonnet, doors, dashboard, seat, wheel design, bumpers, fenders, windows, all new. avanza was designed to meet demand in indonesia, complicates cars are not appreciated there because the nearest service centre can be a thousand km away.

is someone wants high tech toyota MPVSs, there are many on offer like Wish, Estima, Alphard/Veilfire apart from Bb, Noah, Ipsum, Verso and Sienta. to name a few.

• Yeah…new design. No wonder i can see a ‘lot’ of difference from old myvi…..go myvi go….

• bersih on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:53 pm

1.3 litre manual E grade version, start from RM63,864 with no air bags??? better get a 1.5L alza Premium…. Sad…

• No choice,bcos of P1 and P2, T need to sell this car at higher price with different spec.
      Imagine if this car same price&same spec with Alza,who going to buy Alza…

• farghmee on Dec 12, 2011 at 1:15 pm

ala…T nk untung lebih, tu yg diorg xletak airbag tuh.
        rege malaysia mahal kunun,
        cuba compare market toyota, bape luas?
        jgn diperdaya..

• khylie555 on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Proton owner of the recent models like1.3 CVT,1.6CVT,1.6 MPV or soon to come 1.6 Turbo CVT midsize sedan/MPV or even the 1.6 4 speed mid size sedan should thank toyota,because toyota just proven that they have made the brighter choice by choosing Proton…1.6 CVT Turbo will rule the world of MPV in msia and the T fanboy will cry their arse out!!!

• Loneranger on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:29 pm

but trust me dude ppl will still go for T brand coz its from Japan……

no air bag also no prob, coz its from Japan…

no CVT also no prob, coz its from Japan….

poor RnH also no prob, coz its from Japan……

• lol you made me laughing dude
        yeah i’ve got your point , jap cars are overrated here even with lesser feature than local or korean cars

• crazy sky on Dec 10, 2011 at 9:47 am

even my parents had asked me to go for japanese T & H, until I bought a korea car lately and they start changing their mind of accepting brand other than T & H.

why should we pay such amount of money but in fact we getting lesser feature and simply not worth it. I will not go back to japanese T & H until they have made a significant changes in reasonable price. It is intense market and they must offer a competitive products. Cheers.

• carlover on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:04 pm

From next year onwards need minimum 2 airbags for new car,isn’t it ?

Why still can sell the car without 2 airbags ???

• Clement on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Yes…. This is sad to hear. But never mind. We wiill pressure the Govt to make it compulsory and then all manufacturers have to adhere the ruling to it and we get it install for FREE without adding into the car price itself like thesafety belt ruling for all cars. Isnt it life more beautiful later? :P

• the front is nice tough…haha

• no airbag for avanza 1.3
    what about the compulsory dual airbag ruling that’s supposed to be implemented next year?
    is the ruling dead?

• squawk on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:19 pm

Wouldn’t this look nice as a Perodua? :-)

• Cikgu Kamil on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:20 pm

if they are going to sell the spec particularly without airbag, that carry out the meaning this is really a ‘facelift’ because the new rule is applied only for completely new car.. That’s why MyVi lagi best lagi mahal got dual airbag even for the cheapest variant.. do they doing something about their ride and handling which the major down factor for this model?

• Expatriate VN on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:22 pm

What kind of ride and handling? This is low cost people’s mover!

• Ongtk on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Anthony, I am confused. You consistently referred to the model as a “Facelift”. But Toyota claimed it’s “all new!” So what is?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Well, sounds like all-new is stretching it a bit far. New would work, and I suppose you could also safely call it a next-generation Avanza, if you prefer.

• peter_pj on Dec 10, 2011 at 8:01 pm

We should introduce advertising law that prohibits companies from falsely marketing their products like this….something like the Australian Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (specifically Section 52)

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 11, 2011 at 11:38 pm

Pls read Akta 87 Perihal dagangan Part II from Section 3 till 8. Its there

• What?The transmission still 4 speed?common toyota wake up lah! Also the aircond still cannot for ‘kaki’?

• avansuck on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:51 pm

it looks like a mutated bull/cow/pig wtv. Hmmm. the road will be flooded by these :( If I were to buy a MPV in this segment, I would definitely go for the Exora. it’s sad that Toyota are treating us ASEAN with stupid cars like this and few others.

• Who cares !!! Such a shit car!!! I really hope umwt can see our comment here.

• this is totally new next generation avanza, not the face-lifted one..

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:27 pm

It’s not totally new. Just new. Next generation, sure. :)

• kerelbort on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Marketing Tagline for new Avanza

A new way to Bounce

Bouncelicious

Bouncey Hunter

wait.. that’s not fair.. I’ve not ridden the new avanza.. maybe they improvise it already..

• AWESOME ! Me, not Avanza on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Hold on, wait! where are those “STICKERS” :D UMW models arent complete without “sporty” stickers :)

• rosdi on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:19 pm

Why would people buy this when there is Proton Exora Turbo that not only more powerful, but looks much nicer than this hideous monster.

• LFA LOVER on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:25 pm

wait! i hear 91ps, haha2. Btw where ajaw huh?

• jay8393 on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:41 pm

In my opinion, the current Avanza looks better. This one looks a bit like an alien.

• abukazuto on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:01 pm

people want wish..umw give u avanza
    people want dual vvti valvematic with cvt 7 speed..umw give you vvti with 4 at speed…
    umw..up todate la skit…serius..agak gampang

• abukazuto on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:01 pm

people want wish..umw give u avanza
    people want dual vvti valvematic with cvt 7 speed..umw give you vvti with 4 at speed…
    umw..up todate la skit…serius..umw gampang

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Perodua Alza looks nicer than this ‘alien’ looking car and it’s cheaper too.

• FACTS on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Got money buy high end MPV lah why complain so much?

Not enough budget then stick with p1 & p2 as simple as that no point to complain…

The tech is old but is reliable as compared to to p1 and p2 so called new tech…

By the way, i own a MYVI 1.5.

• jamjam on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:47 pm

I think the specs sheet is wrong…… S grade without aerokit and the others WITH!

• ==” read again, it’s the optional bodykit. Bodykit comes as standard for S grade, hence no optional bodykit.

• mangata on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:00 pm

oh please guys no matter wat u say….tis car will sell well in malaysia. the sales might reach 1000 monthly and people will continue 2 buy it….they dont care about the specs they only care about the badge and probably proton should start to promote their latest turbo so tat people aware about it and didnt lose their potential customer to toyota

• Goodness, why both air-bags and those safety features such as ABS and EBD are not fitted as standard with sky high prices? Seriously.

• taboogen on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:53 pm

a very good way to con malaysia buying a car w/out airbag…. in other words.. those who really really really really want to drive japs car only can make do with but NO Airbag.. and UMW dont care if they die faster.. common lah.,

If cannot put an airbag on a 60k car.. then put lah inflatable raft ker.. at least the driver got 1% chances to survive

• syntium5000 on Dec 10, 2011 at 3:20 am

SOME PEOPLE DONT CARE BOUT AIRBAG ABS EBD TCS ESP ABC DEF GHI JKL BLA BLA BLA…
      AS LONG ITS MADE BY TOYOTA…ITS SAFE..THTS ALL..

PITY…

• Brian Jong on Dec 10, 2011 at 2:24 am

this is the ugliest car i ever seen…its look like a frog…seriously..

• syntium5000 on Dec 10, 2011 at 3:22 am

SOME PEOPLE DONT CARE BOUT AIRBAG, ABS, EBD, TCS, ESP, VCS, ABC, DEF, GHI, JKL, PQR, BLA BLA BLA…

AS LONG ITS MADE BY TOYOTA…ITS SAFE…

PITY….

• BanyakMakanWang on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:56 am

Well, that’s very common actually.

The majority of the people is stupid and can be conned easily.

T understand this very well.
      So do P2.

• Both Avanza and Exora same price range, old ancient engine but only major difference in fuel mileage:
    Avanza got 14km/Liter
    Exora got 10km/Liter

Those with higher IQ brain pick smart choice surely will save lots of money in long-term fuel costs….betol tak???

• farghmee on Dec 12, 2011 at 1:32 pm

aiseh bro..

kalu bli kete tgk jimat myk je, mmg susah la.
      tgk overall pakej la:
      FC
      Ride & Handling
      Sparepart etc.

kalu aku diberi jumlah $ yg sama, aku amik yg selesa sket..haha

• crazy sky on Dec 10, 2011 at 9:42 am

OMG… another product of toyxto to con our money. Same engine and same obsolete 4-speedo AT with cosmetic make over interior and exterior. This is absolutely a junk car to me.

I have totally no idea why they can’t learn from hyundxi, come out with one 6-speed AT and apply to all range in hyundai and kia models. it will definitely save the cost of production. 4-speed AT is absolutely not acceptable in current market.

• Ruihao on Dec 10, 2011 at 11:55 am

Lowest range model of Toyota.

No matter how much you hate it, there’ll still be tonnes of people lining up to make a booking.

Toyota -mah!

• _xXx_ on Dec 10, 2011 at 1:24 pm

again, MT buyers’ life is treated like animals’. NO airbags, NO ABS…and OMG, reverse sensor IS an safety item.

• fangalica on Dec 11, 2011 at 11:37 am

the new avanza the spec still same…..why umw toyota not bringing 1.5 manual tranny , even our jiran country thailand also have….come on umw at least bring in 1.5 manual still give a customers more choice rite?

• Mostly UMW offer manual tranny for basic spec only. Should be offer for high spec.

• Annecy on Jan 02, 2012 at 11:57 pm

My God, fugly as hell. The previous gen was a whole lot better looking.