‘WWW’ registration numbers open for booking on April 30

The three-alphabet Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur number plate series is nearing an end, and those longing for a ‘WWW’ registration number have just a short wait before a bidding war starts. Besides the nice triple alphabet arrangement, ‘WWW’ also stands for the World Wide Web.

Interested parties can place their bookings with the Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory Road Transport Department (JPJ) beginning April 30. Minister of Transport Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha said order books will be open for 14 days, from 8 am till noon daily till May 14, adding that huge interest could see the ‘WWW’ series record the highest booking price in the country.

He said the value of a premium number from digit 1 to 10 will open with a minimum selling price of RM10,000, while “attractive numbers” would be sold at a minimum of RM2,000. The “popular numbers” category and running numbers open at a minimum of RM300. Booking forms can be downloaded from the JPJ website.

The highest bid for a number plate so far is MCA1, which sold for RM300,100 in 2010. The Melaka reg no surpassed the previous record of RM242,000 for TAY1, issued by JPJ Terengganu. What is your dream registration number, and how much are you willing to pay to secure it?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• clutch basah on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Malaysians are always very good at wasting money. sigh..

• Oblong on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Still better than some country where you have to bid for plate number before owning a car.

• clutch basah on Mar 02, 2012 at 8:53 am

Still better!? Didn’t you even think before talking (posting in this case). Nothing is better than wasting money you dolt.

• COE_dude on Mar 02, 2012 at 7:39 pm

the only avenue where graft is legit

• Sharvind Varma on Mar 03, 2012 at 7:22 am

you want to see more awesome cars with cool number plates?..visit www.facebook.com/NiceNoPlate

• Nissan on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:24 pm

esp. MCA1 …better put your $$ in the right place & donate to the ppl who really need help.

• Semut Biru on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:47 pm

actually I think in UK they also sell number plates.
      information courtesy of Top Gear :D

• clutch basah on Mar 02, 2012 at 8:45 am

If others are idiots, do we have to be idiots as well?

• Anyway all go to JPJ….and they will be laughing…

• Springtide on Mar 01, 2012 at 5:27 pm

hope the MCA $ is not the peoples money if you get my drift?

• Black Dog on Mar 02, 2012 at 12:18 am

It’s just a transfer of money from buyer to seller. Nothing wasted. The buyer willing pay so much also didn’t complain. Just treat it as collecting extra revenue from the wealthy to others. No harm what. WWW99 wonder how much?

• rally_fan on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:58 pm

nice E36 ;)

• Paul Tan on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:30 pm

The most highly sought after E36 in Malaysia…

• RON97 on Mar 02, 2012 at 12:40 pm

Wonder when the vehicle stolen together with this premium plates….
        then number belongs to insurance co??

• BoLiao on Mar 03, 2012 at 1:00 am

I think the E36 in the picture belongs to Paul la, the no. plate is for illustration purpose only…

• Chilavert on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:00 pm

WWW 333.
    woooooo nice.

• oligopoli on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:11 pm

if possible, i wont pay a single RM. buying plate number is for a people who got extra money to waste

• sembang-automobil on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:14 pm

selepas ni abjad apa? i realy want to know.. backward letter and number??

• Ah Soo on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:26 pm

watch out for PKR 1

• MoFaz on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:00 pm

UMN 0 ..? impossible, kenot have only “0” in number
      PAS 1 .. maybe nik aziz want but too little too late.
      AHL 06 .. maybe Ahlong want but kenot have “0” as the first number

now, the bad words:
      PEN 15.. already registered
      CIB 41, PUK 1 .. same meaning diff language only… haha.. sapa mau beli?

• sukasuki on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:51 pm

anwar ibrahim should get PKR 1. azmin will be PKR 2.

• huiyoo on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:33 pm

TAY1 sounds like TAH*

• just because the alphabet is repeating 3 times can be consider nice?

i don’t consider WWW nice in any way besides its association to the ‘world wide web’. last time got pahang plate CCC, normal only to me.

plate like PEE, CAR, PAS, MCA, BBQ, etc can consider nice to me.

• mustafa on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:46 pm

wonder what maney people pay for MAT1?….or nobody dares take the number….

• skyer on Mar 01, 2012 at 5:32 pm

It was on a previous generation Honda CRV.

• sleepwalkerz on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Yup….I saw the car once…got the picture of the plate number in my mobile.

• alldisc on Mar 01, 2012 at 8:40 pm

yeah, ex-CM for melaka – rahim tamby chik bought it for 40K. used on his CRV. (he has a collection of no.1 plates thoughh… during his days as chief minister.

• squawk on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:06 am

There’s an E or S class with TAX1 plate. :-)

• I did saw CRV with plate no MAT 1.

• lizzam on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:51 pm

I wonder if WWW 404 is available or missing?

• thunder cats on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:58 pm

what jpj does with all this money?

• Abuya on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:55 pm

Isi perut pengarah JPJ… Oppsss…. isi perut PM… Oppsss…. Isi perut ko la. Tepuk air kat dulang kena muka sendiri. Ko jugak yg menjerit2 minta subsidi petrol la, gula la, tepung la…..

• nawawi123 on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:07 pm

JPJ Wilayah trying to make a mountain out of a molehill.
    Just to stir up emotions in order to collect more $$ !!
    No big deal – did Johoreans get any richer with JJJ ?
    Better use the $$ to pay off your 9 year loan :(

• Abuya on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Takde duit cakaplah takde duit….. Org lain ramai lagi nak booking

• Dato Seri on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:17 pm

After this running number ends, whats next?
    Is it WAAA XXXX or W XXXX A?

• alldisc on Mar 01, 2012 at 8:41 pm

when all completed, JPJ wilayah will close shop. no more registration.

car buyers have to register at other states. ha ha ha

• i’m waiting for Perlis plate number..RM 1..hopefully can buy it for rm1…LOL

• Gabla on Mar 01, 2012 at 7:27 pm

Unfortunately big mama would already have booked the number and she won’t pay even RM1 for it…

• Imaging driving a BMW with WWW 888 …..nice…

• harris murad on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Ive seen a W220 s-class (if i’m not mistaken) with plate number TAH11..
    wonder how much that fella paid for it hihihihi!

• thunder cats on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:37 pm

MY car rim dented n MY tyre cracked n pancit after went in a pot hole,,,does anyone know if it can be claimed from dbkl? BecoZ this thing is really frustrating,pay hightoad tax n car tax n so on yet road quality is like third world country,,,so this time around I want to make the claim,,,

• WWW 1111 maybe can be “susun” like this? WWW \ / \ / hahaha

• carnoisseur on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:49 pm

wonder who will buy PUK 1 or 11, 111, 1111

• Simon Ng on Mar 01, 2012 at 5:01 pm

All these “lucky” or “special” number thing are rich man’s game. Seriously, why only limit to car plate, phone number and house number? Where do we draw the line? It is all about showing off and letting people see.

If this number game is that important, maybe should check out the serial number at the back of the handphone or even your TV.

I do think these license plates are interesting. As long as the buyers are using their own hard earn money to buy, it is not a problem. But not at the cost of rakyat’s money or other people’s money.

The only numbers that I really check and watch out is my health report and bank account. Watch out these first.

• Ninja on Mar 01, 2012 at 5:27 pm

I would pay a hefty sum for a number plate that reads ‘LMFAO 88’ for my new M3
    beammer….:-) . Can JPJ come-up with one?

• Hmm – these days , all the runners at JPJ buy up any vaguely decent numbers and flog them off for lots of money – I got my last plate 811 at RM210 – no chance in hell of getting that now! I went to JPJ to choose number and nothing with decent numbers was available. I was given a runners list of numbers available and they were all above RM2k

• affey on Mar 01, 2012 at 5:38 pm

jpj sells reg number very untung bersih….what a waste but rich people think the different way

• buduk on Mar 01, 2012 at 5:46 pm

PAUL ! Brunei launched New Civic already. why malaysia always so sloww :/ http://www.bruneicarzine.com/2012/02/new-honda-civic-in-town-sleeker-and.html

• skiborne on Mar 01, 2012 at 5:47 pm

i saw a black 2nd gen CRV MAT 1. but “1” is placed below “MAT”. haha

• skiborne on Mar 01, 2012 at 5:55 pm

MAT4 is for illuminati freaks

• www stands for wa … waa … waaaaaaa

• treblecase on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:20 pm

The only sequence I am looking forward to is Selangor’s BMW…it would look odd on other cars beside the obvious.

• Zharfan on Mar 01, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Yeah, so many BLM’s on EX5, Lorries, MyVis, Vioses and Hiaces. BLM on Proton Saga BLM can only seen in Shah Alam and Klang rather than near KL area such as Petaling, Gombak and Ampang. I believe that WWW still can’t beat BMW highest price bid and I believe for example BMW 730, BMW 7301, BMW 740, BMW 7401, BMW 750, BMW 7501, BMW 760, BMW 7601. It will reach more than RM 600K even reaching RM 2 million. My prediction that BMW 1 will bought by Auto Bavaria director. BMW will have very nice combination because suitable both BMW cars (example car model BMW 320 from BMW 320i or BMW 320d, model series such as BMW 39 from BMW E39) and BMW motorcycles (example BMW 1300 from BMW K1300S motorcycle)

WWW number plates will very popular among computer geeks (like me) or W number plate fans.

• Farabi on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:30 pm

E dirty six!

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:30 pm

another stupid fascination which JPJ take advantage…

• Gabla on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:50 pm

My dream number would be RM1 then I’ll buy a Bugatti Veyron to use that number…

• FFFortezen on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:21 pm

Just waste of money..
    RM200K can buy a house or another car.
    Wonder if really jpj take an advantage on this?

• DArkerMarker on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:32 pm

yah, bid high-high…

but when selling of the car, nobody is gonna compensate for the money spent on the plate previously.

Anyway, business can can do it…..their money, their own syok-syok….

Be careful oso, when driving cars with single digit or special plate no. A lot of criminals target such ppl that could afford cars with special no.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 02, 2012 at 7:28 am

ah you say that, but you forgot that plates are transferable.

• Tall Pan on Mar 02, 2012 at 11:13 am

agreed. Obviously talking out of his arse…

Hardly anyone sells of their old car before first transfering the prized number plate to their spanking new car :)

btw some kickass number plates I HAVE SEEN (not necessarily my favourites to own):

PEN 15
        BAB 1
        JED 1

• kadajawi on Mar 02, 2012 at 11:55 am

Nah… I think with a good plate people will buy the car just for the plate. Viva also worth a lot then…

• optimum5 on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:20 am

www77 will cost more than 50k minimum bid. already got info

• squawk on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:04 am

Nothing beats a Merc I saw once – DAD 69. :-P

• samsam on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:31 am

this is so wrong hehe

• Jeremy Clarkson on Mar 02, 2012 at 1:10 pm

only idiot will buy MCA1 plate

• Jeremy Clarkson on Mar 02, 2012 at 3:28 pm

MCA 4444 is the best number :D

• BoLiao on Mar 03, 2012 at 1:02 am

The Sultan of Johor has the coolest no. plate ever with only a $ sign, which stands foe sultan iskandar if i am not mistaken.

• incognito on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:18 am

I wonder which vehicle will have WWW 666 plate number.

• squall_shinoda on May 25, 2012 at 8:45 pm

BoLiao, that’s actually the two letters SJ (acronym of Sultan Johor) being stylized to look like a dollar sign.

• SIVAHMUHAN on Mar 13, 2014 at 1:55 pm

I WONDER IF THE NUMBER PLATE COMES WITH ALL THE STARS

CANCER 9999
    VIRGO 1234
    LEO 7777
    Aquarius 5555
    GEMINI 3333
    THIS WILL BE MORE INTERESTING