Mitsubishi Triton VGT launched in Kuching – we drive it!

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia officially launched the Triton VGT last Friday evening in Kuching. Held at the Spring shopping centre in Sarawak’s capital, the event was a great combo of lights and action, and the truck was put through some impressive live demos for mall-goers. How about the truck towing our 11,700 kg media bus with 10 hacks inside as a party trick, eh?

We’ve already posted up full details of the latest Triton variant, but here’s a recap. The Triton has been strengthened with a Variable Geometry Turbo (VGT) engine and a five-speed automatic gearbox with Sports Mode. There’s also some new equipment and exterior enhancements to fortify the package.

With 178 PS, Mitsubishi is claiming the “most powerful in its class” title for now, but a main selling point is that the improved 350 Nm of torque is now available over a broad range – 1,800 to 3,500 rpm, to be exact. This, plus the extra ratio and manual gear selection, significantly improves the RM106k Triton’s case, as we found out driving it around Kuching.

Continue reading after the jump.

We started from Kuching’s Four Points Hotel and made a big 220 km loop before ending up in Damai. The route was a good mix of on and off-road sections. In fact, I’ve never been to a test drive event with such a big emphasis on off-road driving, short of being a dedicated off-road event. Not complaining though!

Let’s get the less important things out of the way first. The Triton was a revolutionary design when it debuted five years ago, and it still looks modern today, even if some “wow” has been lost due to familiarity. A VGT-powered example can be spotted via the chrome “fangs” on the bumper extender, larger 17-inch alloys and matte black roll bars. I personally don’t dig the shiny stuff up front, but as a whole, the VGT looks bolder and sportier.

There’s some useful new equipment to be had, too. Inside, you’ll find a new Kenwood head-unit with Bluetooth, iPod and USB connectivity. The single-DIN player looks good with blue and white illumination.

The RV multi info meter panel (shows average FC, range, barometer, compass, altimeter, temperature, etc) adds some gadgetry cool to an otherwise simple dashboard. Front parking sensors join the regular rear ones, and there’s a visual display at the base of the windscreen. There’s an on/off switch for the front sensors.

The Triton’s dashboard is attractive for a truck, and is actually more boldly styled than MMC’s own Lancer series, in my opinion. Nothing great material-wise; this is a truck, so the panels feel more robust than plush. Less shine on the main dash moulding and a more attractive texture (pinstripes now) would be good, but it’s not a deal breaker.

Another point on the wish list is more thigh support for the front seats, which are rather flat bottomed. At the back, it’s as good as it gets for a truck. If you want a pick-up truck, but regularly fetch people you love, the Triton is currently the best option.

However, the most important point here is that the VGT improvements really make a difference in the drive. Snail-like Lite aside, the Triton has never been accused for being underpowered, but this VGT engine is significantly stronger in pull.

Give the gas pedal a bootful and you’ll notice that lag isn’t an issue, and the “flat torque” Mitsubishi is so proud of makes a difference – instead of easing off to the next gear ASAP, it’s worthwhile extending the engine here.

The Triton VGT is a big upgrade – besides the engine, MMC has thrown in a new gearbox as well. The old four-speed auto makes way for a five-speeder with Sports Mode.

Usually, this stick-shift driver rarely uses manual selection on good automatic vehicles (if I’m forced to take matters into my own hands, it’s not doing a good job), but the manual override function on the Triton VGT is a valuable addition.

In our off-road stint, which included some steep slopes and declines, the power to choose your gear and utilise engine braking was very welcome. First gear, foot off the gas and rolling down a slope may be the poor man’s Hill Descent Control, but it works.

Engine braking is good to minimise braking on loose ground, and storming through the estate was made more fun. Speaking of that, the Triton is no mere pretty boy, it’s a tough lad that can follow the Hilux anywhere off the beaten path. MMC has more Dakar Rally wins than any other manufacturer, and I’m sure that counts for something!

Back on tarmac, the transmission’s extra ratio benefits cruising economy; MMM says that the Triton VGT does 14.4 km/l at a 90 km/h cruise, which is just 0.1 km/l poorer than the standard 2.5L AT variant, despite the extra firepower. The engine ticks at a subdued 2,100 rpm at 110 km/h.

The pick-up truck market isn’t a cushy place to be in, and it’s about to get more crowded. Good thing then that the improvements introduced in the Triton VGT brings it, to me at least, above every truck on sale now. The combination of stylish looks and great space with more power and more gears will ensure that the Triton will not sink when the big waves come.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Diesel monster on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:12 pm

the engine roaring sound is stronger than nissan navara…
    the seat not so good…
    but i like the AT sport mode..

• fazron80 on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Wah bling bling rims. Really ah MMC? Finally something from MMC that can probably reignite the its Pajero era. When every 4wd was called pajero.

• Huiyoo on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Nope. As i remember all the car in the same class as pajero i called it ‘jeep’.

• New gen pickup trucks have evolved significantly, as far as things goes, the most comfortable pick up truck were Volkswagen Amorak and all new Ford Ranger

• fazron80 on Mar 08, 2012 at 10:02 pm

My 1st experience with a 4wd was driving suzuki JIMNY. What a legend. The little Jimny that could.

• theanswer on Mar 07, 2012 at 11:23 pm

back then the real pajero cost around rm100k..now even ‘pajero’ sports cost 150k.

• Neuron on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Agree. And yet thai model is not the ‘real’ pajero. Now the original pajero Japan model is RM298,998.45.

• Darren on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:29 pm

is it comfortable for the driver and the passengers at the backseat? normally seating at the backseat of a pickup truck is really a pain in the neck especially on a bumpy road

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Pick-up trucks are designed to carry one-tonne on the bed, so there’s bound to be some sacrifice in passenger comfort due to the robust leaf spring rear suspension. That’s the nature of this type of vehicle.

That said, the Triton fares better than most in this regard.

• Darren on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:23 pm

well said, thanks for the info.

• clutch basah on Mar 08, 2012 at 7:50 am

Danny my man,
        Help me out here dude. Not interested in the car but that nicely trimmed female model is kinda cute and sexy of course. Any contact? PM me will ya.
        Cheers

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 08, 2012 at 11:07 am

Can I help myself first? :) If Emma Watson was Malaysian…

• biggbro on Mar 08, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Those legs looks delicious, reminds me of mee kolok taken with the famous 3 layer tea…i’m salivating now

• The Enthusiast on Mar 08, 2012 at 6:12 pm

She looks familiar… Oh wait.

• hmmm how much does it cost? I thought the new Ford Ranger Wildtrack will be the most powerful pickup with 200hp when it goes on sale.

Btw, after testing almost all the other pickups, which one will you choose?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:47 pm

RM105,997.10 OTR including insurance. The Ranger is not yet officially on sale, and MMC will say that the Wildtrak (3.2L five-cylinder) belongs to a different engine class.

• Why manual transmission not offered?

• TritonForMe on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:46 pm

I missed to drive the beast, my dad choose and bought the Hilux 3.0 over the Triton VGT because of the multimedia gadget solution :( he cant afford losing the GPS multimedia TV like he used to ;(

• Agree with your dad, db and gadget panel looks messy n useless too

• Onemorething on Mar 08, 2012 at 7:47 am

You can opt for the Kenwood/Garmin 2-DIN used in the Pajero VGT, add leather, add full pup tonneau cover and your GOLDEN!

• No offence here, but I think the specs on the new Ford Ranger is even more awesome, cruise controls, dude! Finally someone heard!

• Onemorething on Mar 08, 2012 at 7:44 am

Its still a FORD! Found On Road Daily or Found On Road Ditch!

• auto cruise is best for highway….this type of g.box suitable for all around…. specially when driving on off-road…..

• Abuya on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:57 pm

The vehicle is very huge. The girl are small and thin. And also ‘thin’.

Hahaha….

• Dr Mamak on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:57 pm

If Mitsu is desperate for sales, then ask Potong to rebadge it la.

• Apalalu on Mar 07, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Why cant the authority made it compulsory for a truck to be fitted with at lt least a manual headlight level adjuster? Its a nuisance to other road users when we carry heavy loads.

Tritons in aust have way more equipment fitted, and headlight adjuster is one of it.

• isuzuki on Mar 08, 2012 at 8:50 am

Even the Renault Kangoo 1.4 AT by Tan Chong comes with a switch to adjust the headlight. (I used to drive one).

• DArkerMarker on Mar 07, 2012 at 11:28 pm

who would imagine that a workhorse pickup truck can cost 100k now??

Seems like the prices of trucks, cars, bikes are all increasing by the day….
    God knows what happened after 10 years from now……with little increment of salary of most malaysian makes it worst…

3 years loan?
    5 years loan?
    7 years?
    9 years?

perhaps 15 years loan in the future??

• downsys on Mar 08, 2012 at 12:31 am

FYI, the Triton is cheaper here than in Australia (when you convert the exchange rate). People always complain cars are so expensive here compared to overseas without realising this fact (as far as pick-ups are concerned).

• isuzuki on Mar 08, 2012 at 8:53 am

Made in Thailand and shipped to Australia as compared to shipped (road transport) to Malaysia. Freight charges difference?

• downsys on Mar 08, 2012 at 8:55 pm

I dun think that’s the case. Because it is, the 3 series or c class should be much much cheaper since they’re made in malaysia. It’s just the tax structure. Also, there are cheaper options out there, like the triton lite. This is more for lifestyle i suppose.

• sukasuki on Mar 08, 2012 at 12:49 am

yes, although pickup trucks were excluded from heavy import tax and exercise duty, but yet still expensive. last time we can get isuzu rodeo and ford courier within RM70k.

• isuzuki on Mar 08, 2012 at 8:58 am

To increase price, you just need to increase the engine’s HP/Torq or the engine capacity.

Example is Nissan Navara – 2.5
      now Mitsubishi Triton – 2.5
      Ford would say: I have one extra cylinder and the engine capacity is 3.2 (for the justification);
      Mazda BT-50.. fill follow suit (as Ford since they share engine);
      Toyota – 3 litre engine ma…..
      Isuzu…… not sure.

Cheers,

• Black Dog on Mar 07, 2012 at 11:28 pm

Danny, shouldn’t it be ‘we drove it’? Anyway, small matter, manglish mah!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 07, 2012 at 11:49 pm

It’s not Manglish. Headlines are best written in present tense

• Leseid Obrut on Mar 07, 2012 at 11:42 pm

there’s something about the rear overhang that’s been bothering me since the triton was facelifted…

• Leseid Obrut on Mar 07, 2012 at 11:45 pm

nice legs btw…

• i’ve been driving my dad’s 1st gen triton all around borneo….best offroad experience rather than it’s competitor….

• downsys on Mar 08, 2012 at 12:33 am

Danny, I went to see the VGT in Empire Subang two days ago. That one was fitted with full leather seats. How come this one isn’t?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 08, 2012 at 1:06 am

Different batch, the one you saw was from an older batch

• Onemorething on Mar 08, 2012 at 7:42 am

Yes be careful, old batch is year end 2011 and special offer of leather. Go for 2012 and do leather aftermarket.

• Leather fitted units r of d 2011 batch as there is no diffrence in price n warranty.

Tats wat i was told by MMC staff.

• some tree people will buy tis but never use it off road..

ppffffttt!

• pelams on Mar 11, 2012 at 2:47 pm

this is suitable to cruise flood-prone area.. e.g. KL

• Some pajero sport vgt have problem with its turbo. hopefully triton VGT will not have the same problem.

• some pajero sport VGT encountered turbo problem that i believe still unsolved. hopefully triton vgt will not have the same problem

• dave can tell us what with the pajero sport Vgt turbo problem please.

• Darius on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:49 am

“First gear, foot off the gas and rolling down a slope may be the poor man’s Hill Descent Control, but it works. ”

Well, poor man or not, still the best way in my experience – full driver control using compression braking, no reliance on brakes. The correct way to drive offroad.

Prefer that at to all the electronic BS nowadays!

• Clivland on Mar 25, 2012 at 8:56 am

I tot vgt has leader seat?

• YoungLeaves on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:57 pm

hi all im very new in this thing..but i like 4wd since i was small..so my question here is..is triton vgt have manual type..tq

• BOYRACER on Jul 16, 2012 at 2:12 pm

Recently test drive the new Ranger 3.2,Chevy Colorado 2.8 Auto & Triton VGT.Among these 3 pick-ups, good and there is feedback from the steering which I like very much.And also interior quality is better than the other 2 models.

For me the summary would be:
    New Ranger = nice exterior n interior design, but very bumpy ride and slightly poorer throttle response.Engine is slightly noisy though.
    Chevy Colorado = Good NVH,quiet engine but a little plain in design both ext & int.Power is ok but slight lag & response evident.
    Triton VGT = the best drivability due to crisper throttle response,wider power band.The engine can be revved until about 3800rpm and doesn’t sound too intrusive.Ride is good and there is feedback from the steering which I like very much.And also interior quality than the other 2 models.downside looks maybe a bit dated and less kits inside.

Sorry for being commenting too long.
    Cheers.

• BOYRACER on Jul 16, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Recently test drive the new Ranger 3.2,Chevy Colorado 2.8 Auto & Triton VGT.

For me the summary would be:
    New Ranger = nice exterior n interior design, but very bumpy ride and slightly poorer throttle response.Engine is slightly noisy though.
    Chevy Colorado = Good NVH,quiet engine but a little plain in design both ext & int.Power is ok but slight lag & response evident.
    Triton VGT = the best drivability due to crisper throttle response,wider power band.The engine can be revved until about 3800rpm and doesn’t sound too intrusive.Ride is good and there is feedback from the steering which I like very much.And also interior quality than the other 2 models.downside looks maybe a bit dated and less kits inside.
    Sorry for being commenting too long.

• PLEASE DO NOT BUY!!!!!!
    I bought a new VGT in early 2012 from PACIFICA AUTO PUCHONG. MALAYSIA
    1) Black smoke (Workshop said is normal. What the F#@K. is this what Misubitshi would say???
    2) Alignment run (Takes 2 months to arrange and fixed)
    3) Hand brake light is on even is realease. (Workshop say didn’t notice when checking the car)
    4) No spare parts (Already 2 months for checking bumber parts, still no news)

I have ask around, all face the same problems with Misubitshi— LOUSY AFTER SALES SERVICE !!!!!!!

I REGRETED BUYING TRITON SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT HILUX INSTED!!!!!!

• lanfear on Aug 21, 2012 at 1:34 am

my Triton 1st gen is now 5.5years old, hitting 200km. only problem i have, and recently solved is an aircon issue. other than that, i have no issue with my truck at all. i drive my truck like a car, pushing it hard and taking corners with some tires screeching as well, and the truck takes it all in.

truck no issue, just that some service centres cannot cope with demand. Mitsubishi Malaysia should add more service centres to cope with the demand.

• Hi there. Nowadays, diesel engines has 4 generations of common rail era which use to command the engine fuel systems. usually manufacturer are using old engines and then tune up high output to satisfy customers. Mitsubishi’s 4D56 2.5L and 4M41 3.2L, Toyota 1KD-FTV 3.0L and 2KD-FTV 2.5L are using 2nd gen common rail system which is actually older using solenoid for their injectors control timing. Try to buy truck with diesel engine which using 3rd gen piezo injectors and 1,800 bar common rail. They are much more fuel efficient and longer engine lifespan. Injection timing is more accurate and less black smoke. Those are Isuzu Dmax 4JJ1 3.0L and 4JK1 2.5L, Ford ZSD-422 2.2L with Mazda, chevrolet colorado duramax 2.8L and 2.2L, and most cars like BMW, Mers, Mondeo and ect. Toyota in fact did produce 3rd gen 1AD-FTV 2.0L, 2AD-FTV 2.2L 136HP to 150HP unfortunately they are not coming. Mitsubishi’s 4N13 1.8L for lancer also available.
      In Spain, some toyota 1kd-ftv 3.0L change the injectors within the first 7 seven years after bought.

• gotcha!! on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:47 pm

sounds like Hilux salesman here haha…

• hai danny.. im looking to but a new truck.. need your opinoin.. which one would you pick.. new ford ranger or mitsubishi triton vgt?

• apeng on Nov 06, 2012 at 4:23 pm

any other comment regarding this VGT ? pls share…
    Im quite interested on it.

• SK LIU on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:52 pm

is it available in other country such as Indonesia?

• SK.WONG on Apr 23, 2013 at 11:18 am

I bought a Mistusbishi triton vgt about six months ago, everything is ok, except for the seat(not leather) and the doors are quite heavy, needs to bang it. otherwise it’ll be okay.

• Ban Ploka on Jul 27, 2013 at 11:49 pm

Own a 2.5 auto for 5 months.No issues except squeaking bar springs that had been resolved after servicing. The pick up is good- being a moderate driver, I had to restrain myself stepping on the gas pedal. No regret. Really, my choices prior to getting a pick-up was Hilux or Triton.Of course, Triton wins.

• I have some experience like to share. Triton after 3 years usually having black smoke problem.First would like to say, the air filter and engine oil grade has be check always. Air filter change 30,000km & blow with air blower. This is to ensure the air fuel ratio are correct. Engine oil grade make sure use API CI4 as minimum as triton 4d56 DiD engine made between 2003. API CJ4 is best. Don’t listen to mechanics who ask you to buy any fully synthetic oil because there are many synthetic oil for gasoline engines. Gasoline engine synthetic oil will not serve purposes for diesel engine. Usually synthetic oil for gasoline is latest API SN grade which serve only API CD to CF grade for diesel engine. Buy fully synthetic diesel if you want extra protection.

Second, if your triton produce black smoke all along hard acceleration, check intercooler piping. Make sure no leaking. Little leak will really harm the engine so much. Treat injector cleaner as well for extra protections. I myself use motobike 2T JASO FC for clean and lubrication.

• This made my 3.2 XLT Rangerlooked way better in specs and fuel efficiency. lol

• Ban Ploka on Dec 13, 2013 at 7:22 am

I know this may be off-topic, but I’ll share anyway. My first-year Triton car insurance,rather default by EON Automart, is Uni-Asia General Insurance.I have not cared about the choice of insurance companies before but now I do. If there is any Mitsu agent reading this comment, can Mitsu give option on which car insurance the buyer wanted to use?

• Kinda dull…why all car review focus on premium type cars and not on standard type? I bet ppl out there would also want to know on how the standard issue car perfomed.