New Porsche 911 prices released – RM800k and RM900k

Last month, Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP, the most delicious sounding acronym in the business) unveiled the seventh-generation Porsche 911 at Sepang, but didn’t give any Semenanjung prices, only the duty-free price list that read RM430k for the Carrera and RM490k for the Carrera S.

Now, SDAP has released the price rich boys and girls outside of Langkawi have to pay to take one home – RM800k for the Carrera and RM900k for the Carrera S, inclusive of duties and taxes, but without registration fee, road tax and insurance. What’s included are a four-year factory warranty and four-year complimentary service and maintenance package.

This latest 991 Series made its debut in Frankfurt last year. The Carrera is powered by a 3.4 litre flat-six (downsized from the previous 3.6 litre unit) with 350 hp and 390 Nm. It can do 0–100 km/h in just 4.4 seconds before reaching a 287 km/h top speed.

The Carrera S retains a 3.8 litre engine, and its 400 hp/440 Nm output is 15 hp and 20 Nm more than before. This one does the century sprint in 4.1 seconds and tops out at 302 km/h. Both variants are equipped with a seven-speed dual-clutch PDK transmission.

Click here for our launch report and gallery of the new 911.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nebula87 on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:53 pm

i would like to buy it in Langkawi…xD

• Porsche C2S fan on Mar 18, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Better to buy a 2nd hand. A good 2007 C2S cost about RM300,000 now. And the best part, its truly a Porsche. Its when Volkswagen did not own Porsche. This new Porsche, though nice, its really full of Volkswagen technology. Its like buying a glorified Beetle. Why pay RM900,000 for a Volkswagen in disguise?

• So what part is VW technology?

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:55 pm

no…911 is pure porsche. the vw is the awful cayenne and the disgusting panamera. get your facts right.

• Porsche C2S fan on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:49 pm

The new 911 is loaded VW technology. Any parent company will always use and share parts across the board. If they do that with the Cayenne, Audi Q7 and Toureg, surely the same parts are used in the 991.

• FactsPls on May 11, 2012 at 11:08 am

In other words, you DON’T know for certain if they use VW technology in this one.

• Nai Kong on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Wow! after conversion, our duty free price still more expensive than many countries………..Nice car btw :)

• Rajesh Koothrappali on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Langkawi car prices are the real world car prices.

Langkawi versus Peninsula

Porsche 911 3.4
    RM 490k versus RM 900k.

Honda City 1.5
    RM 62 versus RM 90K

Toyota Camry 2.0
    RM 145,871 versus RM 88,855

Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT (Japan CBU)
    RM 125,995 versus RM 73,815

Proton Inspira 2.0 (Re-badged Lancer)
    RM 94,445

Malaysia has one of the most ridiculous car prices in the world. I am sure everyone here have a dream of owning a car such like a Porsche.

Let’s vote BN out for cheaper quality cars!

• Rajesh Koothrappali on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Langkawi car prices are the real world car prices.

Langkawi versus Peninsula

Porsche 911 3.4
    RM 490k versus RM 900k.

Honda City 1.5
    RM 62 versus RM 90K

Toyota Camry 2.0
    RM 145,871 versus RM 88,855

Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT (Japan CBU)
    RM 125,995 versus RM 73,815

Proton Inspira 2.0 (Re-badged Lancer)
    RM 94,445

Malaysia has one of the most ridiculous car prices in the world. I am sure everyone here have a dream of owning a car such like a Porsche.

Elections is coming, you know what to do

• I am strongly agree with you.. Ridiculous tax..

• hway de Cruz on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:45 am

ya, totally insane taxes n duties the gomen treat us. since they treat us so “nice”, i also will be so “nice” to them when GE comes… u wait n c lah

• nebula87 on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:25 am

i agree with you too!
      if one afford to buy one with tax…means he/she is rich!

i hate this country with so much taxes…hate it!

• piease work harder ok, gain good job and salary..:))

• Do u think SOME of our stupid shit politians or corrupted government servants make their billions by working hard diligently and honestly like you…..?

• why must u follow the corrupted one? why dont u take the example of the one that start from the beginning, that really put their effort to be rich as they are now? not all the rich are for sure involve in corruption. it is up to u and me, make it as a jumping stone to improve our quality of life:)

• please read carefully, i said “SOME’ of our stupid shit politions…..not all..

• ops, not jumping stone, “stepping stone”..:)

• Bob Vettel on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:35 am

No taxes – no cheap petrol. Then everything else will be expensive.

Which do you want?

• Shiang on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:41 am

Cheap cars TQ

• maybe everything will be expensive, then we don’t have to pay exorbitant monthly installment of some cheapish toyolta cars, wouldn’t we?

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 18, 2012 at 12:36 am

do a simple primary school kid calculation. you need a decade or more for the benefits of cheap fuel to be material. plus, our petrol isn’t cheap at all.

• whocare on Mar 18, 2012 at 10:08 am

we have hybrid solution now ,even electric car soon.

• blackbox on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:41 am

Vote BN down or join UMNO to buy this car.

• paohyean on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:41 am

If the bog standard 911 Carerra is already RM800k, imagine the price of the 911 Turbo or the GT3 RS..
      Will definitely be out of reach for all..
      Sad country that we live in..
      =(

• ‘Will definitely be out of reach for all..
        Sad country that we live in..’

Sir, even in it’s homeland the Porsche 911 is out of reach for 98% of the population. This has nothing to do with Malaysia… ;)

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:57 pm

the way we malaysians become slave to our cars (buying cars we cannot afford with 9 year loans) seriously causes fainting to other countries.

• Ding Dong on Nov 15, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Doubt it.

• armandd on Mar 17, 2012 at 4:22 pm

But, vote for PKR or PAS sure can get cheaper quality cars ke? BN, PKR or PAS, all of them are the same to me..

• Jesse James on Mar 17, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Agree.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 18, 2012 at 12:40 am

it’s worth a shot. considering its been decades under the same guy and we already know our fate under this certain party.

• shawal on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:30 pm

:'(

• lonelyobserve on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:45 pm

Is this Malaysia package for new 911?

• Seriously, all it takes is just for us to see the car prices in Langkawi to realize how totally ridiculously heavily, cruelly, stupendously taxed imported cars are outside Langkawi.

I mean, RM430k all of a sudden becomes freaking RM900k for just a base 911. We are literally buying another 911 for the government :(

• Yup…and where does the money go? Oh wait, its already gone…faster than the 911 acceleration….

• In fact you can imagine the money being sucked by the most powerful vacuum machine with horse power probably like 1,000,000,000,000HP ?

• eagleeye on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:08 am

i wonder whose pocket these car taxes goes to…hmmm

• Couldn’t agree more, although u can’t see the CARS inside their house bcoz the gates are always huge and tall, but if you know their sons/daughters or family members, u can see they can pop up with new porshe or Lambo every now and then..

• Anand on Mar 17, 2012 at 2:51 am

To be fair, living in the UK/Germany/Japan & owning a car like this, it’s not as easy. Oil price (1.92UK vs 0.46MY ..Germany, Japan Not far off with the UK, unless you’re comparing with US 0.76), insurance, tax & parking fees alone, could make even the rich, cringe. It’s not always ‘only’ about the tax on vehicles. You win some, you lose some. Just depends the way you look at it.

• johnjenin on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:41 am

if UK/Germany/Japan a member of OPEC *that would be an argue..

• sensible citizen on Mar 17, 2012 at 7:41 am

if one can afford to buy with tax….means he/she is stupid!

• child.of.eden on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:45 pm

nope. that means that person is bloody rich. and please don’t call others stupid because they can afford what you can’t. obviously it’s their money. and preferences are subjective. which country do not impose tax on goods? live with it or live somewhere else. not so sensible now are you?

• sensible citizen on Mar 17, 2012 at 7:28 pm

Plenty of bloody rich people around. Some are sensible and spend wisely. Some dont mind splurging tons of money for their crave and needs.

Being in the former group, paying half a million of tax for a car does not make sense.

Affordability is subjective and you will be surprised with the number of millionaires living well below their means.

Probably stupid was too a strong word to some but one is entitled to his own opinion.

Please dont get personal.

Cheers…

• child.of.eden on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Porsche are never meant to be affordable. They’re performance cars thus the price tag makes sense. I can accept the whines if this is about normal everyday cars. Still a tax is a tax. But these are Porsche which are expensive when new regardless of where you buy it. People have to pay a price to be behind the wheels of a car that is obviously not intended for the masses.

• Any Porsche buyer voluntarily give a copy of their purchase to MACC should be given 10 percent discount.

Just to ensure none of the buyers are using illegal rasuah money to buy it…

BTW, I’m thinking of one good business plan in Langkawi

How about set up a car company that purchase cars in Langkawi for buyers and keep it on behalf for 3 years

Isn’t it after 3 years the car is cleared of duty tax and can be transfered to buyer from other states in Malaysia? (pls correct this)

Sounds good? Lets open two branch each in Langkawi and Labuan:
    Ajaw Car Escape Plan (Langkawi) Sdn. Bhd.
    Ajaw Car Escape Plan (Labuan) Sdn. Bhd.

This package offer (for 3 years until the duty tax period lapsed):
    – car joint-ownership under binding legal agreement for added assurance (buyer and company)
    – cars kept indoor big warehouse with 24hrs security
    – cars maintained, oiled, cleaned, washed, polished regularly
    – car engine-runned once a week (using mobile dyno platform)
    – car buyers can view remotely outside Langkawi via online CCTV live video feeds
    – discount 5 percent given for any new client introduced (friends, relatives etc)

Now anyone have cheap empty lands be it near dumpsite or cemetry in Langkawi and Labuan lets the ball rolling in…

• KL Stray Cat on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:43 am

Damn…even hotwheels.com did not have a porsche I could afford to buy :-(

• Rules on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:09 am

What would you do if you have RM 900k to spend?

• iqtidar on Mar 17, 2012 at 5:40 pm

get a 2012 gtr instead and then send ams

• _xXx_ on Mar 18, 2012 at 3:11 pm

remember to carry with u 5 big fire extinguishers if u manage to drive one…

• kodomocat on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:15 pm

i would buy a bitch house near the seaside at langkawi island, with my 911 facing the marina…

• ncorp on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:08 pm

“bitch house”? I wouldn’t go near your house then because it’ll definitely be under surveillance. LOL.

• ignoramus on Mar 17, 2012 at 5:52 pm

It’s funny how the ones complaining about the tax and duties on this car are not at all the target market. You can’t afford it even if it was cheaper and we haven’t even considered the ownership costs – insurance, road tax, consumables – tyres, fuel, service etc

• fed up... on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:23 pm

yes, car prices are more expensive here in malaysia, but total cost of ownership when you consider petrol, roadtax, insurance etc is still lower…stop b*tch*ng about prices…if can afford, buy the porsche/ferrari/lambo…if you cant, stick to the myvi and viva….

• mentolated on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:20 pm

when it comes to expensive cars, there are less offensive/ridiculous comments.

that’s a good thing…it clearly shows who has it and who doesn’t.

• john f kennedy on Mar 18, 2012 at 3:02 am

kamon malaysia!!!!maybe another 50 years i guess?when the world has run out of oil.hehe.peace :)

• Bayang Putih on Mar 18, 2012 at 7:07 am

ape yg korang minat kt Porsche ni? rupe die same je dr dulu sampai skrg.

• Tazio on Mar 18, 2012 at 8:23 am

Some people here thinks they can get a Porsche with RM100k. And some goes far to vote for ‘cheaper car price’ than the ‘future of the country’. Such a pathetic thinking.

• Rajesh Koothrappali on Mar 18, 2012 at 5:56 pm

You must be stupid to pay a Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT for RM 125,995 or RM 94,445 for a Proton Inspira 2.0 (Re-badged Lancer) where in the real world it costs less than RM 73,815? Grow up and it is time for you to face reality.

• Stop bitching about car tax. Even without tax i bet ppl can still buy this car. Even filthy rich ppl in overseas oso havinghardtime maintaning this car. If u can afford, good for u. If u cant, then go for the mass market, aka merc, bimmer, audi, or veedubs.

• Rajesh Koothrappali on Mar 18, 2012 at 5:58 pm

With your current mindset and your positive views on the government’s ridiculous car taxes gives me an impression you will only drive a national car. You can do better than that.

• Mister Potato on Mar 18, 2012 at 8:35 pm

when people say it is okay to double the car price and the proof is right in front of their eyes (langkawi 430k and semenanjung 800k), the brainwash has worked.

congratulations!

• ctlim1 on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:27 pm

It is a lots good looking car out there nowadays……nothing special…..Same boring look by Porsche for many generations……it is those rich LAME peoples for showing off purposes & claimed themselves so call “Car Enthusiast”

• You all should listen to Jessie J – “Forget About The Price Tag” and enjoy with money….”tutup mata” for taxes….u got money just buy….cheap or expensive just buy for who got plenty lots of money and for those who only have few then use perodua viva….