Proton P3-21A specs leaked: dimensions compared!

funtasticko has uploaded a scanned copy of what seems to be the P3-21A’s spec sheets. It’s too bad the spec sheet seems conveniently cropped at the top where I suspect the P3-21A’s name would be written, otherwise we’d know by now what the new sedan is called and wouldn’t have to keep referring to it by its codename.

Based on the price range revealed by Proton managing director Datuk Sri Syed Zainal earlier this week at the Proton Power of 1 event, it appears the P3-21A is actually a Waja replacement instead of a Persona replacement.

The Waja H-Line is currently priced about RM62k for the H-Line manual, which is the lowest indicative price mentioned by Syed Zainal. In the leaked spec sheet above, this reflects directly with the P3-21A Executive 5 M/T model. The Waja H-Line auto is priced at about RM64k, so we expect a similiar price gap for the P3-21A Executive CVT model over the most affordable model. The Executive model is powered by a normally- aspirated Campro IAFM+ engine, making 107 hp and 150 Nm of torque.

The higher end of the indicative price band is RM75k, which in the leaked spec sheets indicates the Premium CVT model. This model adds all sorts of goodies such as the more powerful 1.6 litre Campro CFE engine, which is turbocharged to make 138 hp and 205 Nm of torque from as low as 2,000 rpm to 4,000 rpm. The CVT gearbox is also a different model – the seven-speed VT3 with a ProTronic paddle shifter function, while the Executive CVT does with a VT2 six-speed CVT with no paddle shifters.

Other spec upgrades on the Premium over the Executive include four airbags instead of two, ESC stability control, push start button, auto climate control, auto cruise, auto wipers, and window tint. All the models have minimum safety features of ABS brakes and two airbags, which is good, though I wish ESC could be standard as well. Both the Executive and Premium models get the YES 4G in-car WiFi hotspot function, and all models use fabric seats. I’m expecting an SE model with leather seats to be launched later.

Below, you’ll find a comparison between the new P3-21A dimensions as stated by the leaked spec sheet, compared to the other mid-sized sedans in Proton’s stables, the Persona and the Waja. The P3-21A’s wheelbase has grown 50 mm over the Persona and Waja’s wheelbase, to 2,650 mm.

The kerb weight I used for the table are for the most expensive variants for each car, so given the extra features and more advanced engine in the P3-21A, it’s no surprise to see a big difference in kerb weight – more than 100 kg compared to the Waja. It’s bigger than its two predecessors in every way, in terms of length, width, weight, track, and boot space.

P3-21A Waja Persona
Length 4,543mm 4,470mm 4,477mm
Width 1,785mm 1,740mm 1,725mm
Height 1,524mm 1,420mm 1,438mm
Wheelbase 2,650mm 2,600mm 2,600mm
Front Track 1,542m 1,475mm 1,475mm
Rear Track 1,542mm 1,470mm 1,470mm
Luggage 506L 408L 430L
Kerb Weight 1,340kg 1,235kg 1,245kg

What about comparing it with other C-segment sedans, including its own Mitsubishi-derived stablemate, the Proton Inspira? Have a look at the table below. Once again, I used the models with the biggest engines and specs (and thus the heaviest) as the basis of comparison.

I haven’t been able to find the boot space capacity for the Inspira anywhere online, so if anyone has any clue, please help us out in the comments. It’s not the same as the Lancer, since the boot floor is raised to fit a full-sized spare.

P3-21A Inspira Altis 2012 Civic Jetta Forte 2012 Elantra
Length 4,543 4,570 4,540 4,525 4,644 4,530 4,530
Width 1,785 1,760 1,760 1,755 1,778 1,775 1,775
Height 1,524 1,490 1,465 1,435 1,482 1,460 1,445
Wheelbase 2,650 2,635 2,600 2,670 2,651 2,650 2,700
Luggage 506 475 464 510 495 485
Weight 1,340 1,335 1,315 1,295 1,417 1,359 1,269

But of course, the entire contents of this post are based on the leaked spec sheet, which might not be 100% accurate. We’ll only know the full – and confirmed – details at launch time, which we expect to happen very soon, so stay tuned for more updates.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• letitgrow on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:07 pm

Is 2012 Civic refering to current model? The current model (06 ~ 12) wheelbase is 2700mm.

• Paul Tan on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:15 pm

I’m using the latest 9th gen Civic dimensions, since it will be replacing the 8th gen soon this year. Honda shortened the wheelbase from 2700mm to the one stated above. Even for Elantra, I used the soon to be launched car’s specs.

• ss427 on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:23 pm

The Gen 9 Civic is a 101% total disaster…:( A total disgrace to the Civic nameplate and to Honda itself. It must be worst model ever to wear the Civic nameplate in its entire history…

Dash looks like it was designed by someone on drugs, using Gen 5 Camry tailights asembly, cheap looking parts everywhere, severe cost cutting in EVERY inch of the car… even the floor hinged gas pedal is gone!

Parked against the FD, most non car buffs will think the FD is the newer model.

Its sold in SG now… so far <5 were sold…
        www.honda.com.sg/cars

Paultan, look here if you want the full accurate Elantra specs….

http://www.hyundai.com/sg/en/wcm/groups/webcontent/@hmc/documents/webvehiclecontent/308593.pdf

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Too bad for you 9th Generation Civic Sold like Super HOT HOT HOT CAKE in Canada & USA, No1 in Canada & No 2 in USA (Compact Car).

Cry, Jump, take a hike or what ever you want, It even outsold Elantra by 1 fold in USA. :-P

• hatesalesmen! on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:46 pm

oh pls… honda salesman… teh civic sold well becuase of heavy discounts

A Reuters report cites TrueCar data that suggests Honda Civic incentives have “more than quintupled” since the car went on sale in April 2011, to almost $1900 per car in January, indicating that the car’s sales surge may have partly been driven by good deals.

Read more: http://wot.motortrend.com/2012-honda-civic-dominates-compact-pack-in-february-sales-175203.html#ixzz1pGejnkl6

• PetrolLeg on Mar 16, 2012 at 6:57 pm

I’m done with Honda, they are still sticking to their 5000 km service interval. Even Nissan has the option to go up to 10000 km or 6 months providing you use fully synthetic, fair enough. Honda though you use fully synthetic you still gotta go back every 5000 km if not warranty void. Go high nose some more, no offense but they have forgotten who they are and they should start to remember who they were once. Their cars do not have the flair or the quality anymore.

• bongek on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:11 am

guys,,proton story guys,,,

• yh Inc. on Mar 18, 2012 at 9:50 pm

Friend, not only 9th generation, the 8th generation also a disaster as well. Those people who said it sells well is just looking at the local market. C’mon people, look outside the world market. Corolla still the best selling C segment world wide.

• thanks paul, good effort from you

• When this car going to launch?

• ss427 on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:12 pm

These exterior dimension doesn’t tell much. We need to know the exact USABLE interior space…where it matters. A big bodyshell doesn’t = to big interior room

Also, the P321 seems too tall in proportion to the rest of the body.. Still can’t shake off that ‘head bigger than body’ Proton Saga look?? :D The current trend is to have a low, sleek roofline while still offering very decent headroom in the cabin.

The P321 towers over the competition in this case, and that’s not neccessary a good thing. :(

Also, at over 1.34tons, its one of the heaviest compact I’ve ever seen. Again, weighing a ton doesn’t mean the car is going to be super safe. The current trend is to try to reduce kerb weight while still able to meet the toughest international crash standards… And that NVH refinement shouldn’t be compromised with reduced kerb weight.

The P321 actualy weigh more than the FD1 and FD2!… did they put lead shots inside the car to make it an illusion its a safe car?

The Campro engine is going to have a hard time pulling this car ard, esp with that CVT box…CFE may not help much either.

I gotta see the boot opening to see if that 506L trunk volume is going to be useful. As I’ve said b4, the fugly new Nissan Almera (Sunny) offered 500L of boot space too. But the trunk opening is so small and restrictive that one will be hard press to find any cargo that is small enough to go through the opening.

Its damn frustrating if if you have to crawl into the boot just to retrieve items at the far end of it… :( @#$% Of cos la, its not a problem if you’re a pretty girl wearing a short miniskirt…

You’ll make men ard you very happy for the rest of the day :D:D

• kiakia on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:16 pm

forte even heavier!

• CFE has hard time pulling this car? lol 0-100km/h in 9 secs not fast enough? 205Nm from 2k-4k rpm not enough? it’s faster than most NA-engined C-segments out there.

P3-21A’s chassis is actually lighter (but has same strength, as P3-21A’s HPF steel is stronger) compared to Lancer/Inspira. maybe the interior/soundproofing material is heavy.

• HirumaKecil on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Ur comment so negative.. First time red also people can aredi guess that ur comment is based on “I hate Proton” feeling inside u… My suggestion to you… Go buy Toyota Hiace.. Then u’ll got no prob with ‘trunk opening’… For horse power, that is not everything u know… My 405 only got 119hp(last year dyno test) yet it can easily climb genting and cameron at 5th gear , Top speed still can get 210kmh.. And it is a heavy car…..

• ss427 on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Climb Genting and Cameron Highlands in 5th gear? With your car in tow right? :D

Come on bro, we ain’t born yesterday, for Genting the incline angles are so steep that I doubt a Lambo or Porsche 911 RS can go up in 4th gear…much less an overdrive gear eg the 5th

And for top speed, it doesn’t mean anything if you took > 20 mins to reach 210 km/h while you do pedal to the metal….strangling your engine all the way to terminal velocity. LOL

• HirumaKecil on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Not 5th gear all the times lah.. Haih… but still can use 5th gear… U mean ur car cant do it? oh… Ur car auto got 4 gear only… Demmm… And for the top speed, who need >20 mins to get 210??? Ur car? Nowadays got 1.6 cars without turbo also can get 200 in 1 or 2 mins… Dont tell me u try that in KL… Of coz >20 mins… Jalan jem maa…

• Vader on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Climb genting with 5th gear? Dont bluff!!!

• alldisc on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:58 pm

i think what it meant it was most probably karak highway – on the way to genting also what?

• krs189 on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:42 pm

This is what I think why the car is heavy the the competitor.

1. Cast iron engine block
      2. usage of traditional sound proofing material

last but i think more importantly
      3. heavier car more safety and more solid maa! the mindset of proton…..

• inderaloka on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Belum cuba belum tahu.

• longest bash i read so far on paultan.

• OMG…dont talk about the weight…let test drive all these C segment cars and make summary of pros and cons better lah…

• Wei, bodo la ko ss247,
      1.34ton is normal weight for modern cars. i bet you drive a nissan sunny which weighs 800kg.

the spec is impressive IMO. for those who cant see that, go play far far la. better go comment on basikal forum lar. ptuih.

• wow! its a C segment and what will happened to Inspira?

• OMG…pls see how bad the sales for inspira. That why got the P3-21A come out.So when this P3-21A launched, u can see lagi bad sales for inspira.

• rally_fan on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:31 pm

i believe the inspira was always a ‘stop-gap’ model for proton, due to the long wait for the P3. if they didnt have the inspira.. it will have been a long empty void before the launch of P3. this is also clear when you see that the inspira is a rebadge, and only sold in malaysia. no exports allowed. so no big deal really.

• bongek on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:23 am

my guess, inspira sales will stop for proton edar, production will continue but for mitsu dealer only…huh…so inspira owner bole jual balk harga mahal oooo

after that proton will increase p3-21A price like hell … so first batch buyer untung,,bole jual balk harga mahal jugakk…. malaysian new car price never go down, but it give more value , more safety feature,more accessory,more warranty etc … new car that reduce their price after reduce safety and accessory ..

• i say Proton must create affordable upgrade kits for existing Inspira owners.

example:

-interior trim upgrade + better NVH suppression
        -upgrade to 4/6 airbags (like latest Lancer)
        -Mitsubishi’s power brake booster + emergency BA
        -Mitsubishi’s ASC and ATC (P3-21A’s ESC and TCS pun boleh lah lol)
        -4 speakers + 4 tweeters like Lancer (chap Clarion is enough)
        -new coloured Multi Info display (current one cannot display much at one time, and because P3-21A’s are superior lol)

-2 DIN HU from Satria Neo R3

-CFE upgrade for 4B10/11 + new exhaust sys. (lol MIVEC+CFE would be awesome shit, can tapau Lancer 2.4 + no need rev high, save overall FC)

but, uhhhh maybe i can only have those in my dreams. why did i buy Inspira and not wait for P3-21A :(

• sorry for laughing on you.. “ORANG TAMAK SELALU RUGI”.. haahahahaha

• jonet on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:17 pm

NAH BIGGER THAN CIVIC,

0-100/KMH:1.6CFE 9.6SECOND VS FORTE 2.0 9.8SECOND

• Manufacturers claim for Forte 2.0, 0-100 is 9.3 s

• Sharvind Varma on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Either way..proton is still better coz 1.6(9.6s) vs 2.0(9.8s)…lol….in terms of figure

• Aren’t you reading? It’s 9.3 secs for Forte 2.0 . Yes it’s close because you’re talking about a 1.6 engine with forced induction..but it still loses on paper.

• go n drive ur car on paper! idiot basher!

• I think you are the idiot here. No one is bashing, we are merely stating a claim on paper made by both manufacturers stupid! Oh perhaps your one of those who never went to school. Go back then idiot.

• bongek on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:06 pm

so should we ask KIA to put turbo in forte?
            or ask proton to use forte engine?

• Levis on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Would rather ask Kia to turbocharge the 2L Theta II…in fact I think it’s already used in the Optima in the US

• jonet on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:37 pm

FORTE 2.0 MANUAL 9.3

FORTE 9.8 AUTO
        P3-21A CFE 9.6 AUTO !!!!!<<<<<<<<<<<<<

P3-21A MANUAL N/A

• ntah.. on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:19 pm

hydraulic power steering!! Yeay!! (no stupid EPS)

• ANTI-KRONI COMPANY on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Electric Power Steering is better than Hydraulic Power steering. Hope this helps you decide when you look into the features of the car you are going to buy.

• ss427 on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:07 pm

EPS is NOT an improvement over the good old hydraulic setup.

It’s good only becos it is not driven by the acc belt hence there’s no power loss at the pulleys. And EPS is simpler to build

But EPS simply can’t offer the kind of feedback a conventional hydraulic setup could

• hydraulic gives more feedback eventhough some systems are a bit heavier. most EPS makes you feel numb.

• loveit on Mar 16, 2012 at 6:02 pm

it’s better until it’s FAIL u unnoticed and u r in trouble (It happened to earlier few batch honda city 2003 model )

• ko malu saje... on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:31 pm

EPS better? Another armchair critic spotted!

Frankly speaking, the EPS system is more sensitive than the hydraulic ones, more sensitive = cepat rosak; The hydraulic ones are tough as nut and gives you more feedback.

• Akina on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:00 am

see what happend to toyota in past few years..a lot of trouble with their eps..

• non power steering even better….low maintenance..lol

• Mr Wancer on Mar 17, 2012 at 2:34 am

EPS are for pussies.

Even TG guys bashed Porche’s latest EPS equipped models. We need better road feedback and not lighter steering for girls.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:37 pm

If the EPS is very good then Merc and BMW wouldn’t be using the hydraulic power steering. EPS is only good for minimizing parasitic power loss from the power steering pump (as there is no such pump in EPS). But in overall, hydraulic power steering is much better because it handles better, as the power steering pressure is proportional with the engine speed.

• JeremyNg on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:42 pm

I also prefer hydarulic too because it provide better feedback ….. I love my current Saga SE Steering feedback =)

• looks like interior space would be wonderful. and fuel consumption of the turbo is only slightly more than 5 speed manual. wow!

• Jerry Tan on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:23 pm

anyone who has an Inspira here? may i know where do they put the signal indicator stick, is it on the left or on the right?

• Any other car that is 1.5m tall as this P3-21A?

• Can’t help you but good job on doing the comparison. Makes it clean clear that this car replaces the Waja.

• It is clear now that inspira is actually a stop gap between this and waja. With this in place, saga could grow a bit more and be a full B segment it should had been.

• Medic on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Leaking news from time to time,trying to bait customers..just launch the damn car..

• Denfire on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:45 pm

Paul, I did try on their virtual machine at the show, apparently there is 1 model called Proton Espire and the style of the model looks like the model P3-21A. I believe it might be the name of this car.

• Paul Tan on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:00 pm

The Espire was the original name of the concept car before it was renamed to “Tuah”.

• rosdi on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:40 pm

A little bird told me it will be called Proton Preve.

• Someone told me it’s gonna be called Proton Rosdi.

• i think is proton tua.. it uses aifm engine and with such a heavy body, it wil move like orang tua… tat s where the name comes from

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:58 pm

doesn’t matter whats it called. they can call it anything but it still lousy compared to the mighty vios!!!

• Boolah on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:45 am

I think it will be THE ALL NEW PROTON WAJA !

• Obama on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:46 pm

I would wait for the second and third batch or the SE version. Let others be lab rat first. LOL!

• C~two on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Paul, How about engine output and torque comparison among c-segment? thanks!

• driver on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Yeah Paul, power-to-weight ratio comparison would be highly appreciated.. please…
      Also, the coefficient of drag, if possible..

• Vincent Tan on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:52 pm

so big ya this car.. 6.6ltr / 100km.. sure ke?.. anyway i’ll buy for sure..

• Vincent Tan on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:55 pm

so big ya this car.. 6.6ltr / 100km.. sure ke?.. anyway i’ll buy it for sure..

• buyunghensem on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Go for the turbo. Definitely

• HirumaKecil on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:12 pm

This car is undoubtedly BIG… Altis and Jetta is big and this car is bigger… And for sure this is the Waja replacement… The real Waja replacement.. Inspira is more to ‘kacau’ Vios and City market by offering C segment car at the price of B segment car… So this mean that there will be the Persona replacement later…

• Sharvind Varma on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:49 pm

i think the same coz waja had been around for quite some time(10 years +)..but persona only like 5 years..so its the adequate time to replace the old mighty Waja…haha

• so many preview for this model, i think the name would be preview or something like preve hehehehe

• pak jagos on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:20 pm

how to say the word “preve” ? pre-vi? pre-ve? pra-vy?

• Doubtful on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Pray-we that the car will be launched soon. Proton seem to be playing some kind of game with the launching of this car. As it is, their sales service is bad, some more wanna play games like this.

• littlefire on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:13 pm

ESC & 4 air-bags should be put as standard in all line of Proton cars.. If not, the only car might can get 5-star safety is the full spec CFE engine and not the lower spec.. The buyer may mislead thinking that the lower spec can also achieve 5-star safety?

• alldisc on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:31 pm

dont you know Waja already has 4 airbags? but err, in overseas market laa.. UK has been enjoying 4 airbags Impian since the mid-90s.

• pak jagos on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:14 pm

p3-21a have used the Exora platform, then the overall size p3 chassis is almost like the Exora chassis. 2nd row floor p3-21a is also low as Exora, to give comfortable to rear passengers.

• With 1524mm height, when followed behind, it will give a midi-mpv stance like nissan livina/latio sedan. It will surely solve one of proton infamous headroom problem, but how it’s going to look sporty?.. Just a little concern for a lotus dna…

• If this is gonna be a true global car, european might actually love this 1… they like little length and width but big interior…

• Told you before they don’t have capability to make anything larger than 1.6l

• how u know? just because proton doesnt make a 2.0 engine doesnt mean they cant.

Ferrari has no 9 liter w16 engine. U think they dont have the capability? as expected from an idiot

• If they do, they would have put it to all their underpowered car.
        When you don’t built something you really need, it means you don’t have the capability.

• Anak Malaysia on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:26 pm

it all about cost & demand…..

• UntitleD on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:27 pm

1.6 light Turbo with 200nm is definitely suffice,its light Turbo,means if u want more u have to chance to tune it provided u have proper gb. Tested exora bold?I can say its enough for 7ppl filled up bold,it will b suffice for 5seater salon.

• autojohndoe on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:29 pm

if make 2.0L… road tax more expensive… so, will lose the mass market target…

better to focus on 80% average malaysian that can afford 1.6l road tax… bigger pie..

• haha, but the problem is that the 80% malaysian doesn’t want to buy this car.

• HirumaKecil on Mar 16, 2012 at 6:09 pm

20% of Malaysian is big enough… And why need 2.0 if 1.6 turbo also can do the same… Btw even new M5 and Golf R got smaller engine than before… Dulu buat Waja 1.8 pon orang x beli.. ambik 1.6 jugak.. Semua pon nak pakai engine besar, tapi bila beli ambil engine kecik jugak…

• autojohndoe on Mar 16, 2012 at 6:27 pm

so, where does come the 30% current market share?

proton staff may only 20~ 30k ppl only nationwide… that is not even 1% of malaysian population

speak with intelligent la bhai… susah saya mau ckp dgn orang yang pakai emosi ni…

• car no even launched but you know people don’t want this car? hypocrite.

• punai on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:48 am

If amoi don’t like this model, pls do not assume 80% m’sian also have same point of view

• alldisc on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:58 pm

for all of you not knowing, proton did have a 2.0 engine plan during tengku mahaleel era.. known as BENG or Big Engine. It was scrapped off along with MENG due to high cost of R&D.

only the SENG managed to go through and later what we know as Campro and CPS engines.

• the BENG/MENG NA 2.2 V6 w/ VVT prototype was able to produce 210hp + shitload of torque.

shame it was scrapped.

• OMG…mau P1 2.0 car…belilah 2nd hand P.perdana.

• ckk125 on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Paul, inspira’s boot capacity 350 litres, it is in the proton inspira promotional video.

• Proton11111 on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:18 pm

wateva it is, will c the outcome… previous models all failure… can this survive? not in the “test tube”, but in the outside world!!!

• gelugorian on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Paul, it would be helpful if you could put the power output comparison from all the cars so people can make comparison. Thanks.

• supersona on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:21 pm

It is called Proton PREVE

• tetek on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Wow this car seems huge… I like!!

• ismail saad on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:30 pm

d name is proton pierre

• Taguchi, Masayuki on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:35 pm

quoting from the article…

“This model adds all sorts of goodies such as the more powerful 1.6 liter Campro CFE engine, which is turbocharged to make 138 horsepower and 205Nm of torque from as low as 2,000rpm to 4,000rpm.”

i’m sorry but anyone can tell if you have a 1.6L with TURBOCHARGED engine is NOT suppose to make 138HP the most! it should be making MORE! common sense…HEAVY CAR + LOW HP(even at low torque.reminds anyone about EXORA?) = INEFFICIENT FUEL CONSUMPTION/SLOW CAR!

giving a constructive criticism here, so good attempt proton but after all these years, from the way i see it there is nothing special with this car despite all the commotion on the extras. most car companies started with that long time ago. the only reason proton is selling cars because malaysian are discriminated from a fair and free choice in buying cars at their true value. at least make a good powerful engine for once!

• sorry on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:19 pm

what? r u going to unleash 138hp driving to work? u think those ppl buying ferrari lamborghini aventador uses all 700 bhp all the time?

• sorry sorry your very sorry on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Dear Sorry,i think you must be slightly illiterate. hp is defined as “The power of an engine measured in terms of this.” which means, if you need to go up a hill of to overtake a slow and big lorry infront of you, this is when HP is important. it is not all about speeding but EFFICIENCY. its like your laptop la. if you’re using windows 98 with current internet/game now, of cz your laptop slow like hell. so think. or better, go google the importance of weight to power ratio in a car. duh!

• autojohndoe on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:14 pm

bro… torque is for upstart + climbing…

hp is for top speed….

the bigger the torque, more responsive it is…

the bigger the hp, higher speed it can go…

this is based on my understanding on power-torque curve

• first, ur analogy doesn’t make sense. An engine built in 2000 can still outperforms some newer engine in terms of power n torque.

2ndly, u said “overtake slow lorry going up a hill”. Have u driven the Exora REEV before? it makes 84 hp only. U think it has problem overtaking cars going up a hill like genting or PICC ? i suggest u go test drive those cars first n come back

and lastly, a better power-to-weight ratio doesnt mean a car can accelerate faster. and horsepower are related to torque. A shelby series 1 with 0.121 PW ratio needs 4.4 s 0 to 100 while a lotus esprit with 0.115 takes the same time. It’s small difference, but still a difference.

And horsepower isnt everything, there’s also aerodynamics, traction, etc. A car is a package of everything. Not just the engine. So your arguement is invalid. Now GTFO

And horsepower isnt everything

• loveit on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:49 pm

I thought torque is what push u n when overtaking that actually matter.

what u said is kinda old totok thinking that HP is everything..so I think u must be from 1960s

since P3-21A CVT is paddle-shift equipped, I think it will do fine

• biasa la

nak tunjuk pandai. last2 ludah kat muka sendiri

• pacifictuna on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:31 pm

dude. do your homework……
          it’s TORQUE that plays magic during acceleration. and the worst part is you are a computer noob. who says win 98 is slow. it’s your hardware la. slightly illiterate….

• Martin on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:07 pm

I really appreciate Proton using the mild turbo 1.6 engine, torque is the most important thing in everyday life. Mind that highway only allow us traveling 110km/h – 120km/h by law. I always appreciate Proton’s effort in engineering department, building world class chassis, handling, and better engine. Please remember that this car retain multilink suspension for its rear suspension, even Peugeot 308 only uses torsion beam, also upcoming Hyundai Elantra.

This car is a serious contender to Peugeot 308 turbo, and it’s more than 20k cheaper. One reason is that due to tax, but we can c the effort put in by Proton. One thing i dislike alot is how Proton management treat rakyat’s life. 6 airbags and isofix is so difficult for them. Damn….almost perfect

• JeremyNg on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Look like you had a serious misleading perception on Turbo !!!! hahahaha …….

First of all Turbo engine doesnt mean need to be extremely powerful or High HP, 10 years ago manufacturer put turbo just for performance in mind but now 21st century d , manufacturer used turbo to archieve better FC, emissions, minimize down shift. If you wan a turbo engine with high power, you looking at the wrong car ….

CFE is design to provide high torque at low rpm and fuel efficient la , it nt design to produce 200bhp so if you wan a 200bhp trubo engine car, go look for other manufacturer products…… Just please don come here to gv some weird comment

• Faizul on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:36 pm

the specs seems promising. what determines if this will be a global car or just local standard is the nvh.. if the nvh is at par with other continentals or better, it will sell like hot cakes in foreign markets becoz its cheaper than other car in similar class.

• supersona on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:39 pm

It is called Proton PREVE..

• Spec wise looks good..

finally a safe specced proton car.

after 25 years, this should be the Saga.

reliability wise, looks sketchy.

but this car is the same price as a Golf in the UK. so i dont think it is a world car yet.

good malaysian car? yes
    good world car? no,not even close
    good asian car? no, the koreans and japanese are still leading the way.

but a good effort from Proton nonetheless.

• hippo on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:41 pm

wow, this car is really huge, at big as Jetta. It’s the tallest car also and very heavy.
    I’m wondering whether the campro can do justice here. It could look weird though. However if it’s cheap, then it could sell.

• GTR 2.0 on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:00 pm

Any idea how to lower the height?

• 2010 LANCER 328.5L BOOT SPACE.

• wondering what will R3 do with this model..hmmm

• ISOFIX seat mountings is only for the Premium Variant. Apparently somebody only half-listened to your rant, Paul. :P This is not exactly a people mover so it might be a bit forgivable (although a large percentage of the buyers will probably have an infant or toddler in the family).

Color: Still using the “Genetic Silver” name? I tot that name was crap before and it still is. Whoever suggested that name the first time should have his head dipped in a bucket full of silver paint.

However, the yellow that we saw in your Tun Dr M review article is not listed. I tot it looks quite OK. Sporty even.

• That was a picture (or a series of pictures) took by someone during proton’s crash test of this model.

p.s. probably stole it from 1.5 lagi best..hahaha

• ATR52 on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:27 pm

I am not worry about CFE seamless power with 1340 kg..
    But I am a bit worry when IAFM+CVT pull 1325 kg of load..engine power almost same like current persona but extra almost 100kg..better go for CFE model.

• underpower on Mar 16, 2012 at 6:10 pm

same wif me. i cannot afford premium cfe price. do you guys think that 1.6 iafm+ can move the heavy load of this car? will it have diffculty to maintain 120 km/h at highway? i think it will become underpower car like exora cps. i need input plzz….

• the best way to find out is to go have a test drive

• HirumaKecil on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:04 pm

i don’t think maintain 120km/h ++ in highway.. 0-100km/h it more likely will be the problem… Btw, if talking about that also i think its still acceptable because cars from 90s got lower hp than iafm but still acceptable.. Not fast but more than enough… If a family guy drive this to go shopping with family, working or balik kampung, then it should be ok.. Only if you race with other cars or feeling like want to layang corner then u will fill it not fast enough..

• 0-100 just 12.5 sec,same like vios maaaaaaa

• are you sure vios is 12.5s? sound you lowering the figure. anyway saga 1.6 se is 12s.

• underpower on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:59 am

i have check one review on net. vios get 0 – 100 km/h just a little under 12 secs. faster than executive preve which takes 12.5 secs. and vios top speed managed to get 180 km/h yet executive cvt preeve 170 km/h only. hmmmmm

that makes me wonder…..

• vios after 140km/h feel like to fly already, persona still stable at 170km/h, not to mention very good in tackling corners

want to compare with p3? no need lah

• outsider say on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:52 pm

That y i really don understand y proton still putting this old engine 1.6 iafm into this new model and yet they know it will be more heavier then before ..really disappointed .y cant they standardize this new engine across new p31-21a and option out all the accessories according to the base line.i think most of the potential buyer would be keen to know what under the hood then follow by all the accessories can offer .think global and move forward

• Wow! The spec still not show LifeTime Warranty whole car (plus free lifetime service parts labour)…

Not worth waste the money on this Global car lah…

• jonet on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:07 pm

do i care?

• does any brand offer lifetime warranty?
      dont be stupid la….
      nampak sangat 3rd class mentality

• alldisc on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:13 pm

aiyoh… bro. lifetime in car terms is not about we use the car until we get old and die. its a bout how long an average person uses a car. that is known as ‘life time’

in malaysia it can be between 5 years to 12 years. nowadays many manufacturers are using lifetime automatic transmission fluid – example is the current Vios. or VW’s famous DSG. or even Jaguar’s 6 speed full automatic tranny.

lifetime does not necessarily means 40 years. or even 25 years.

• rally_fan on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:40 pm

bmw had lifetime transmission fluid since the 90’s.. all it did was give their auto-trans short lifetimes..

• u’ve been bashing proton and yet u had a look at the specs? why did u care in the first place? what an idiot

• How about table showing power & especially torque comparison wt the rest of the Japs & same class cars….hehehe, the turbo P1 will trounce those NA Japs…hehehehehe

• oomph on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:58 pm

..and show comparison between CFE and Japs Turbo… PWNED.

• where got japs turbo b/c segment in here..
        caldina? airtrek?
        p3 is the only one available..pug 408 with more expensive price and vw jetta/passat
        p3 will be the king

• Will there be a CFE+6MT?

• David on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:56 pm

As I estimated, all the great features given only to CFE model, not the IAFM….come-on la PROTON, IAFM tak de side airbag, auto sensor wiper & Lighting….takkan ini pun tak blh kasi sekali……semua pulun kat CFE jer….at least, bagilah engin CPS…IAFM lagi….!

• Supa Hero on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:59 pm

I read a lot of in-correct information posted by reader. One particular comment by Taguchi Masayuki said is rubbish. He stated the below:

“I’m sorry but anyone can tell if you have a 1.6L with TURBOCHARGED engine is NOT suppose to make 138HP the most! it should be making MORE! common sense…HEAVY CAR + LOW HP(even at low torque.reminds anyone about EXORA?) = INEFFICIENT FUEL CONSUMPTION/SLOW CAR!”

Below is my expert opinion:
    You cannot have more that 140 horsepower for a front wheel drive vehicle. This will cause the car to have ‘torque steer’. It will be difficult to control the car at high speed. If you want more horsepower in your car, say 150 – 220 horsepower, you should get a rear-wheel drive car like BMW, Mercz, etc.

Fuel consumption for this 1.6 CFE will is really good and frugal, 6.6L/100km if you compare Audi A4 1.8 = 7.2, Golf 1.4 = 6, Jetta 1.4 = 6, Passat 1.8 = 7, BMW 2.0 320d = 5.3. I don’t have the figure for the Jappos cars and don’t want to waste my time to quote Krappos fuel consumption (as I know it eats fuel just like it eat your money when you buy the car).

Therefore TagaPUKI MasaPUKI, get your facts right Jap.

Peace!!

• Vincent Ang on Mar 16, 2012 at 6:07 pm

‘You cannot have more that 140 horsepower for a front wheel drive vehicle. This will cause the car to have ‘torque steer’. It will be difficult to control the car at high speed. If you want more horsepower in your car, say 150 – 220 horsepower, you should get a rear-wheel drive car like BMW, Mercz, etc.’ My FWD 150 hp Honda Civic 2.0 can beat a RWD BMW 320 anytime anywhere without torque steer problem. My friend’s FWD Passat cc kills most two litre European cars. Even MB is going FWD. You need to read a bit more.

• oomph on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:45 pm

yep…he need to read more, there are alot of FWD cars that have more than 140hp.

• burung on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:33 am

Yep. How come my X-Trail 2.5 can handle 180hp when only on FRONT WD setting, while cruising at 170km/h without vibration, can maintain straight-line without any ‘force’ induced? Some more it’s a truck! Not a car.

• littlefire on Mar 17, 2012 at 7:04 pm

LOL!! I am driving a 4A-GE 20V Toyota and have at least 165hp, does my car always torque steer?!? ppl driving VTEC, MIVEC engine already long time have more then 160hp above engine..

Besides that, VW Golf, Sirocco GTi, Ford Focus ST also FWD also, does that mean that their car will over steer kau kau?!?

Bro, there is technology thing call ESC or mechanical LSD to reduce torque steer…

The only best explanation for the turbo engine use by Proton is a LOW-PRESSURE turbo which only benefits low end torque for better fuel efficient… Which i still puzzle why dont want to use direct injection system?!? Since the engine name is Charge Fuel Efficient?!? Scare of EURO2 fuel? Find better quality injector loo? Cut cost?

• Below is my expert opinion on your expert opinion:
      Torque steer is not due to horsepower. Go figure :)

Tip: Otherwise it would have been know as horsepowersteer.. hahahahhaa

Note: Most of your “logical” debate is half as terrible as Taguchi Masayuki. Need more study bro..

• PetrolLeg on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:08 pm

Wonder who is your expert? Most cars now are over 140 hp and front wheel. You mean cars like gti is not meant to be front wheel? You gotta learn more of the difference of torque and horsepower! No offense but load of crap!

• Supahero, you claim to be an expert, but your first para already contradicts your claim. You mean to say FWD cars shud have less than 140 bhp to be safe? So I guess no one shud buy a VW Golf or Passat as they are not safe cars..not forgetting all the other C segment and D segment FWD cars with more than 140 bhp.

I think the focus here by Proton is to provide an engine which is comfortable for town use and economical as well. The use of a cvt gearbox also points in that direction. I think a regular 6 speeder would extract better performance from the engine however, as I said, the focus is to provide an economical ride for use on our roads. Hence, torque is more important than hp here. Its different if we had long freeways like some developed countries.

• muskada on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:12 pm

what a stupid expert opinion. lots other car 1.6L more than 150hp front drive la i.e. civic, corolla with 4age engine, no under steer problem. get your fact right. Proton have a big problem with deep torque on campro at low RPM. thats why the keep trying on IAFM, CPF & CFE just to kill this problem.

Fuel consumption??? don’t ever agree with OEM figure, especially proton

• HONDAcity12 on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:04 pm

wow, butthurt!!!

torque is damn abundant. seen the graph and some more its cheap.

• junjun on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:06 pm

HEY PLODON BILA MAU BUKA JUAL INI KLETA LAH?SAYA LAH…..APELAH

• Johnny on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Looks damn promising. Hopefully it lives up to the hype. Gotta have to wait for a test drive before making a decision..hehe..

• civicEK on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:13 pm

premium model dont hv leather seat wtf!

• koozold on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Paul, one question. how is the 4G work? Build in and we need to pay monthly commitment? Or pay as what you use? Any info for this?

• I just booked and the SA told me Yes 4G is free for a year, then only you need to pay monthly..

One more thing he told me the revised hp is 140 instead of 138.. maybe true maybe not..

• shawal on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:30 pm

wokey, at least we know its 10 second car (0-100 time , nt 1/4 mile, u need more cash fer dat)

• nissan datsun on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:43 pm

why no comparison on Sentra ? still thinking to upgrade..but not mention Sentra dimension & boot space . Doubtful if the p3 more superior ride than current ride !

• LULIAN JEE on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:51 pm

brother…sentra is ancient la

• Docno on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Agree,

I use Sentra. It is a very reliable car but cannot compare it to this new Proton. It is not fair considering the age and technology back in 2006

• JeremyNg on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:49 pm

If they able to make it lighter yet stiffer …… than Proton will have a close fight with many manufacturer !! Lighter improve handling, Fc , acceleration ……. But most of the previous Proton really too heavy But this model is soso ……. still have room for improvement !! Keep pushing Proton

• the premium is really worth it.. but proton should fit in 17″ rim instead…
    some of the specs are better than my 130K car.. haihhhh…

be prepare for a long waiting list..

• PetrolLeg on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:00 pm

Cost of tires ain’t cheap now, going to 17′ onc you reach the time to change tires, many will jaw drop and seek all sort of tires that suit their household income. If it’s not needed why overspec your tires. Think of the majority.

• furthermore, Proton already knew typical Malaysians would change the wheels, lol.

• I think majority will change the rim to 17″ just as what you can see to many persona, waja and even myvi.. hahaha

• paul ogawa on Mar 16, 2012 at 6:58 pm

amoi says:
    16/3/2012 at 5:45 pm
    haha, but the problem is that the 80% malaysian doesn’t want to buy this car.

Dont show your stupidity here. Waste your time and other people time.

• only stupid people will buy …. how to rely on aifm engine
    to move this heavy monster

• paul ogawa on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:09 pm

krs189 says:
    16/3/2012 at 3:42 pm
    This is what I think why the car is heavy the the competitor.

1. Cast iron engine block
    2. usage of traditional sound proofing material

last but i think more importantly
    3. heavier car more safety and more solid maa! the mindset of proton…..

Another stupid comment. Dont waste your time and people time. Go and comment other cars.

• krs189 on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:44 am

why u say stupid comment? Justify?

Typical blind supporter. Talk like umno.

For 1.6na this car should be around 1250kg. If more that that this car will struggle

For CFE variant the weight is ok.

Do you really want to argue with me?

• paul ogawa on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:21 pm

Anak Malaysia says:
    16/3/2012 at 5:26 pm
    it all about cost & demand…..

You are right.
    Amoi heart and mind is anti proton.Anti……Anti……….
    I hope people understand this person called Amoi.

• PVDHCM on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:51 pm

I wonder how much less cost if they didnt include the stupid 4G YES internet WIFI thing =.=… one of the useless things most people dont want in their car!!!!

• rosdi on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Furthermore.. what happen to customers in Sabah and Sarawak? They don’t have YES coverage there… will they get discount when buying Proton car?

• Hope the P3-21A’s reported width is excliding the mirror. From the photo and video, the size almost same with Persona

• waja2007 on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:14 pm

Kedekut punya Proton.

At this kind of price range, this latest Proton model can’t have CPS engine for the Executive and leather seat for the Premium. Should it be the true ‘Waja replacement’ it should have those two.

Or Proton want to play the Facelift game again? Wait for the 2nd batch or the SE version or whatever..

• CPS engines uses the old 2 stage valve-lift tech, plus they are high-rev engines. gotta rev high to get some power/torque. not suitable for fuel-efficiency purposes.

the upgraded IAFM+ in this P3-21A has same 150Nm torque like the CPS, but has better torque spread compared to the CPS.

torque is more important + i don’t think you guys use 110hp most of the time lol.

• since its going to be a globar car CPS is not suiltable.. CPS only EURO 3.. IAFM+ & CFE GOT EURO 5..

*korang dah pegi ke Proton Power of 1tu?? yg mana x puas hati tny kt staff sne nape x letak ini nape x letak tu…

* some of people still arguing why proton does not use leather seat.. got fabric with water repellent, I think its much more suitable with our country and others.. leather seat need a lot maintenance lor..

• F Fiesta on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:04 pm

The 4G in P3 Proton is totally useless, what P3 should include is Voice Command Control just like my beloved Ford Fiesta…

Oh well Ford Fiesta already beat P3 Proton…hands down for FIESTA!!!

• HirumaKecil on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:26 am

hahaha… Fiesta???? U cant be serious la weyh… Diff class lah… Fiesta compared to Vios sudah la.. Vios and City don’t have those thing why u did’t complain… And you complain about this car.. Then went put that think, people who name F Falcon XR8 will come and complain why this car got no 5.4 v8 like his Falcon XR8???

• more like thumbs down lor~

• KELETAKUEI on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:38 pm

They say compare apple with apple ………but then you guys compare rubbish apple. Proton only fit to be in the dumpyard.

• RedBeanBun on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:41 pm

any petrol consumption number???

replacement waja is good, but waja drinking petrol like water is one of the only issue i have…beside the power…win….

• waja2007 on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Proton Exora on fire bcoz of wiring issue?
    http://www.hmetro.com.my/myMetro/articles/ADOrentungdalamMPV/Article/index_html

Proton should make totall recall of the Exora. I test drive this MPV twice (CPS and CFE) but still can’t convince me to upgrade. Why should I upgrade to Exora which its dashboard and steering uglier than my older Waja?

I drive it, but I don’t believe it :P

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:04 pm

my vios TRD is still better than this crap!

• Akina on Mar 17, 2012 at 7:49 am

hekelehhhh…tak mampu pakai meserati, beli bios. Konon2 bios tu meserati la gamaknya.x sedar diri…

• LOL, VIOS!!!! you no shame face! try saying that in public.

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:21 pm

what so shameful about that? i feel proud man, definitely no shame!

• who i am? on Apr 05, 2012 at 11:07 pm

VIOS is totally crap! u pay 80k for a cheap plastic interior car??? better buy persona B-LINE compared to crappy VIOS!

• sorry but i think Persona is better than your crap.

• krs189 on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Nope I have to disagree with you

Persona maybe better interm of NVH,Handling and looks but and a this is a BIG BUT.

“Persona SUCKS in terms of ergonomics”

A person with more than 172cm tall will not be able to get the correct driving position in the Persona.
        The VIOS seat adjustment is so wide that it will cater to large range of people. the same cannot be said to Persona, and a matter of fact all Proton’s.

This are the things that Proton should look into. There is no point that a car can boast all the other prowess but in the end of the day an incorrect driving position and bad car ergonomics will certainly tire a driver after a long journey.

PS: the correct driving position is the position you learn in defensive driving course not std JPJ sekolah memandu crap and thos ah-beng drvg position crap.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:52 am

I am 177 cm tall and yet I can sit comfortably in a Persona without feeling cramped at all. What are you going to say now, Toyota salesman?

• jonet on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:54 pm

sorry my VW is better than your vios…pity you

• HirumaKecil on Mar 18, 2012 at 7:39 am

Try old 405 … Its better than ur TRD…

• Statistician on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:27 pm

I am a Proton basher.

But I still need to say that I have seen a lot of in depth and fruitful technical discussion over here which will benefit the readers. This is the best tread for P321A so far.

• bongek on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:10 am

no no,we don’t want technical discussion, we are malaysian,,,we want talk like shit,,,close story…haha

• abzaja on Mar 18, 2012 at 7:34 pm

looks like our Malaysian doesn’t know what sarcasm really is judging by your thumbs down

• BENSON11 on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Bro,Voice Command Control also useless lah. My sister also had a fiesta. u only use when the 1st time u get the car because u excited. then later u use button rather than the voice command. The system is time consuming, u have to said RADIO then FM then ur channel. If the system wrongly heard what u said ur gonna do it again. touch the stereo button work done without any hassle. It good to show ur friend but wasting in real life. I rather prefer in car internet much more useful. u can check email and in jam can read paultan page lerr, more fun

• Blackcat444 on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:22 pm

BENSON11- the internet in car 4G is dangerous… what is difference reading email and website in car vs read sms and talking in handphone?… should ban the internet in car idea la

• don’t be stupid. the one that’s supposed to use the in-car 4G is the passenger. not the driver.

the driver may use it with their tablets/phone/laptops in hentian sebelah/R&R/roadside/anywhere safe.

• Teejay on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:11 am

Can you imagine this car without a turbo charger? It’s going to be just horrible…the engine requires forced induction for decent performance. Look at the Exora…turbocharging was the logical choice to address it’s lack of power..

• Just launch it…afterall these are all not a fresh marketing idea to capture the attention of others!

• Just wait and see lor. I hope Proton will be succesful this time or otherwise, people will never believe Proton forever.

• peYno on Mar 17, 2012 at 7:44 am

people??= other brand salesman and ppl who cant afford import car and blaming NAP as a cause….

• hway de Cruz on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:19 am

waiting to see whole car in metal, anyway good promo n teaser so far. will take the test drive when available, then comment. now is not the right time to do so. wasn’t able to get to bkt jalil, too jam… guess lots of excited consumers there.

• thebugbud on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:43 pm

P3-21A is definitely interesting. I was in search for a E90 BMW 320i and had done quite a bit of digging around the specs and all.

One of the reason that I keen on BMW, is the good driver feedback and wonderful steering response. Though I had not done much driving on other euro made cars but Proton cars such as BLM, Waja, Persona do give me similar feel.

I’m not trying to compare between both cars but somehow, P3-21A has pretty good specs for average car driver. Branding aside and if you are not pro driver that had very strong urge for RWD car, P3-21A is definitely fits most of this 2.0 liter driver profile.

My wife owned a Saga BLM and happy with the driving experience (but a little disappointed with the quality) and was telling my wife if I would change my car, I would go for Proton or BMW.

If the specs turn out to be what is shown, then it will do good. :) Good effort from Proton (though it looks tall). :)

• thebugbud says …..

You are looking for E90 320i …. you mean the 2nd hand ones, the very first batch year 2005, which may fit your profile or budget. Your wife driving BLM Saga ….. are you sure you can afford even the early model of E90 ? E46 will be your range that you should look at ……… Think about the maintainence if you have ever owned one, it may seem affordable for the early batch of 320i E90 at around RM120k ……

Proton gives you similar feel as in BMW ? Are you high on ganja ?

• thebugbud on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:01 pm

well, juz my opinion. one thing for sure, proton drives better than average japs car though. most of japs car, steering are light and lack of feedback.

• The CAMPRO CFE is juicy. Really hope it would be a reliable model.

• The era is developing and changing, immutable things do not exist, something new will be to replace old things.

• bongek on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:15 pm

next facelift , they should put reverse camera…bontot nampak tinggi madam persona …

• testdulu... on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:22 pm

Must feel & test drive 1st baru get the feel…

Tapi proton salesman pon boleh tahan kedekut…

I still remember when i want to test drive inspira @ Proton showroom bangi next to petronas to pay n make booking 1st then baru boleh test drive! ;p

• driver on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:57 pm

We (i.e. customers & potential customers) should protest on this. Why the hell do we have to pay the booking fee first before testing it?

Paul, I have a suggestion. Perhaps you can setup a rating of P1’s showroom & service centre based on certain criteria. For instance, waiting time, courtesy, politeness, informative, extras, etc.

Let the readers give the rating, and we’ll see about that. After all, most of the readers are very interested of P1’s car.

• KELETAKUEI says:
    16/3/2012 at 10:38 pm

They say compare apple with apple ………but then you guys compare rubbish apple. Proton only fit to be in the dumpyard.

You are also fit to be in the jungle live with animal

• This is car spec is good.. But, the quality?????

• Nick.C on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:30 am

Now all they need to do is to take all this kit, especially the 1.6 turbo, the 7 Speed CVT w/ flappy Pedel, the ABS w/ EBD, TC, ESC and put it into a Satria.

• very pity. executive variant not offer cfe engine. it use traditional iafm with + sign. only premium. very expensive to me la

if got basic variant with cfe, definitely i’ll go for it. but i guess proton no giving that kind of offerings. takpa la. i buy saga la like that. what to do :(

• squall_shinoda on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Agreed. Even if Proton puts a CPS engine for the lower-spec models, it’s still decently-powered. But not an IAFM+ engine, because it’s not powerful enough to haul a car that is heavier than a Persona or Waja. In fact, the IAFM+ engine actually loses several horses compared to the old IAFM engine.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:31 pm

The Campro CFE 1.6L engine for the top-spec model is a very wise choice for a car that is now heavier than a Persona or Waja. However, the Campro IAFM+ engine for lower-spec models truly disappoints me, because the IAFM+ engine actually drops 3 bhp from the original IAFM engine. Of course the Nissan Latio 1.6 engine only churns out 107 bhp, but it is still forgiveable as the Latio is a B-segment car. Therefore, the IAFM+ engines (both 1.3 and 1.6) are good enough for the Saga because it is a B-segment car, but not for a heavy C-segment car like this P3-21A. Look at the power difference between the top-spec and lower-spec, it’s like heaven and hell. In other words, expect sluggish run for the lower-spec models, as the IAFM+ engine will struggle a lot to haul the heavier body.

A more decent choice for lower-spec models should be the Campro CPS engine, because the power difference between the CPS engine and the CFE engine is not much. That’s why the engine options for the Exora Bold are relevant and acceptable. If those Proton engineers claim that the CPS engine is not suitable to be mated with CVT, then they should tweak the CPS engines like how they do in the IAFM engine – redesign the cam profiles with higher lift profile for high-lift cams, trigger the CPS mechanism earlier at 3,500 rpm as opposed to the present 3,800 rpm, and then limit the rpm to 6,000 rpm. That’s all. In the end, they’ll get a new CPS engine which is cleaner and more efficient without sacrificing the power output. That’s the engine that should be put in lower-spec P3-21A models.

• Kamehamehaa on Mar 21, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Anyone who have compared this car with Perdana v6?

• fraz006 on Mar 22, 2012 at 2:19 am

hancur hatiku bila melihat keter ni kat bukit jalil weekend lepas.

boleh katakan sumer tiptop: engine kuat, handling superb, features banyak gila, spacious, safety features mantap.

satu je…. why oh why oh why u designed this into a super tall vehicle with super small wheel arches (like saga blm) .. i had enough eyesore with my BLM, and this makes me sad, i really3 love p321a but the ratio of height, wheel arches size, width makes me heartbroken….

with one passenger inside still super tall. yes, it is with esc,abs ebd bagai, but the body roll really turns me off during the demo. body roll is shit if u are a normal driver, jadi phobia nak lipat corner when actually u are still far from the limit.

itulah yang saya kecewa. tapi tgklah dulu time kuar nanti…..

• makeitmine on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:44 pm

I really love P3-21 H-Line specs.

Hope people will start buying P3-21a and then complain to Paul how sucks the car really is.

Proton should not have wasted resources and put IAFM+ engine into P3-21a. It will spoil the P3-21a market very fast. Moreover, IAFM+ will EOL soon. Proton should have used/developed an improved CPS engine and then licensed back to VW/Porsche.

Proton must wake up, seriously if you want to build a global car, don’t ruin the brand in your own home market!!