Hyundai Elantra MD arrives – 4 variants, RM87k to RM112k

The much-awaited fifth-generation Hyundai Elantra has finally arrived, well, almost. Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors officially introduced the MD Elantra – which wears Inokom badging – earlier today at a media preview, though the car will only be available in showrooms from April 6 onwards.

The arrival of the 4.53 metre-long C-segment sedan has definitely been long awaited; after all, it’s almost two years since the Avante version of the car made its debut in Korea. The locally-assembled vehicle will be available in four variants and two engine configurations here, these being three 1.6 litre models and a range-topping 1.8 litre version.

The range is made up of the 1.6 MT Standard and 1.6 AT Standard baseline models, a better specified 1.6 AT High Spec variant, all three powered by a Gamma 1.6 litre MPI D-CVVT mill, and the single 1.8 litre job is known as the AT Premium, which wears a Nu D-VVT 1.8 litre MPI D-VVT engine.

In terms of output numbers, the 1.8 litre – which features an offset crankshaft design – offers 150 PS at 6,500 rpm and 178 Nm at 4,700 rpm, while the 1.6 Gamma (MPI) is good for 130 PS at 6,300 rpm and 157 Nm at 4,850 rpm. As for the transmissions, both the manual and automatic gearboxes are six-speeders, with the auto equipped with Shiftronic manual control.

Standard kit across the range includes headlamp auto light control, fog lamps, dual airbags, ABS and steering wheel audio controls. There’s also Vehicle Stability Management and ESP, but these are only to be found in the 1.8 AT Premium and the 1.6 AT High Spec.

Leather seats feature throughout the entire 1.6 range, with the 1.8 litre model getting Nappa leather as well as environmentally friendly foam for its construction material; supposedly, it offers passengers greater comfort when travelling on rough roads.

Steering wheel tilt adjustment is offered with both 1.6 Standard models, with the 1.6 AT High Spec and 1.8 Premium getting a tilt and telescopic wheel. Elsewhere, with the exception of the manual variant, the range gets full keyless entry and a start/stop ignition button.

The 1.8 features an array of additional features, as befits its premium tag and added asking price – the list includes automatic rain sensing wipers, a full auto climate control system with an auto defogging system and cluster ionizer system as well as an audio visual navigation (AVN) system, with a reverse camera visual display.

It’s also the only variant to be fitted with a sunroof, a 10-way adjustable driver power seat as well as auto cruise control.

As for wheels, the three 1.6 models come with 16-inch alloys wrapped with 205/55 series tyres, and the 1.8 wears 17-inch units and 215/45 profile tyres. Seven colours are available for the MD, namely Ceramic White, Sleek Silver, Hyper Silver, Clean Blue, Tomato Red, Santorini Blue and Phantom Black.

Pricing for the MD Elantra range starts from RM86,888 for the 1.6 MT Standard, followed by RM91,888 for the 1.6 AT Standard. The 1.6 AT High Spec rolls in at RM96,888, while the top-of-the-range 1.8 AT Premium goes for RM111,888, all prices on-the-road, with insurance.

While you won’t be able to walk in and view the MD in the showrooms just yet, you can get up and close with the car at a test drive event this weekend, which is March 30 to April 1, at Citta Mall, Ara Damansara, from 10 am to 6 pm daily.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mmouse on Mar 28, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Wow!! nice… but the dick logo spoils it all….

• Vader on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:37 am

the car is nice, but the price is not!
      and Hyundai-SD just missed the right timing to launch this car..

• Wisdom on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:43 pm

The price is attractive. It attracts people to go to Toyota, Honda, Kia, Proton or even Perodua.

Buying this really challenge your level of intelligence. Yeah u like the design rite?

• Cynic on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:28 pm

right, because taste is objective and you’re the arbiter of it

• Peter on Mar 29, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Everything is satisfying until I see the inokom logo. So the deal breaker is this logo. I will not buy if they don offer to replace with an original Hyundai logo. Say I’m vain if you like but inokom means nothing.

• without that logo, u might not even be able to buy this car..(could be more expensive)

• Hyundai Elantra with Old Engine on Mar 30, 2012 at 2:17 pm

I just test drove the car at Citta Mall. The car feels cheap. Has absolutely no luxury feel to it. If it was RM70,000 I would say its okey but spending close to RM100,000 for the car, I expect something more luxurious. And for all intents and purposes, its a Malaysian Made car. Its not even a CBU Korean car. The car feels exactly like a Toyota Vios and does not even have the luxury feel of an Altis nor Civic. Infact, I go one step further by saying, my Proton Waja feels more luxurious. I know its a sad statement to praise our low down Proton but its what I truly feel. The car feels so light and flimsy.

During the presentation, their claim to fame was the fact that it was the North American Car of the Year. But they failed to inform the test drivers that the engine in the US is Totally different from the outdated nonsense 1.6 we are getting here. Infact, in the US, they won the award based on the superiority of the engine.

I had earlier placed an order, now I am definitely cancelling it. I rather buy a CBU Japan made Honda Insight for the same price!. Can’t imagine paying RM100,000 for an Inokom, a company that used to make lorries and trucks.

Actually, I think its a conjob. For it to carry the Inokom badge, it should be priced the same as any other Malaysian car.

• Dont buy elantra or camry on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:58 am

Insight is good. Much much better. 20+km/liter some more.

• =-='' on May 20, 2012 at 2:57 pm

The car is available with a Hyundai Logo juz ask to chg it…..my parents bought one and they aso hate the badge…..lucky can chg xD

• Wallstreet on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:52 am

Nice?? Way way over done with so many lines everywhere. I feel like looking at a Chinese Opera singer face…

• rapidshifter on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:10 am

agreed!.. nice and have MT as well… time to start saving….

• Obama on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:01 am

In conclusion: nice car, bad pricing. Shit u SD!!

• Paul58 on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:13 am

So by paying more than RM100K, I get a locally assembled with a local car badge? How much longer does Malaysian car makers intend to rip us off??

CKD car should at least be RM30,000 cheaper! What more when it’s rebadged to local brand!

• Wise vote on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:26 pm

so u want indo made toyota or thailand made honda?

• 4Potbanger on Apr 01, 2012 at 8:03 pm

So just how much are the Yankees (American) paying to bring home the 1.8 version?
        http://www.truecar.com/prices-new/hyundai/elantra-pricing/

USD16K – 21K

Always sakit hati one if you do the currency exchange rate…..
        Sure, some might say; cost of ownership is expensive there; yada yada yada

Malaysians are not fools, they know a plain ripoff is a ripoff!

• I can just pay RM100K for a fully imported CBU German turbo-charged car (Polo 1.2 TSI) and still save RM12,000 for myself.

Shame on you Sime Darby

Shame on you Hyundai Malaysia

Shame on you AP holders

Shame on you BN cronies

• so u already booked the 1.2 tsi ? if not shut your pie hole la…
        banyak cakap saje…

• nn7 are you one of those dicks who cannot live without government handouts? Sure sounds like it.

I drives a Passat CC but what’s your point? DUH!

• Everybody have the right to comment~ Who do you think you are to ask people shut up~ fark you and go to suck your mama pie hole~~ Dare you to reveal your real identity~ Arss hole~~~!!!!

• Wise vote on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:33 pm

after proton rebadge then congrats to you again.

• Peter on Mar 29, 2012 at 3:11 pm

At least chg other stuff besides logo.

• Proton = POTONG

Tak main lagi~~ Selalu kasi sampah kepada pembeli~~ Always give under power car~ Fuel consumption damn high~ High maintenance cost~~ Spare part low quality selling high price~~ example : Oil Absorber Pisona at EO_N RM2xx~ out side can get good quality Gas Absorber at only RM1xx only~ Curi Curi Wang RAKYAT~~!!! TIPU HELAH~~!!! FARK PROTON~~!!!

• yourMoMmy on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:20 am

out of 6 of my friends who bought a korean car recently, 8 regretted. the one who bought it first was pregnant by then, now having a pair of identical twin.

• out of 6 friend, 8 regretted. your maths got problem ? 8 out of 6 ???

dont drink too much bro. later u get twin baby w another girl baru tau….

• Easyrider on Oct 12, 2012 at 9:19 am

6 people and a pair of twins. That makes it 8. Bonehead!!

• kimberlycun on Mar 29, 2012 at 3:52 pm

this comment cracked me up lol

• What the hell is Inokom??

• Inspira on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Why want to buy a re-badged Inokom 1.8cc car at RM112K when I can buy a re-badged Proton Inspira 2.0cc at RM92K? Saves a cool RM20K for a Japanese car as well.

At least Proton get the re-badged price right.

• pergghh..Marvelous… Book already..

• alamak on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:01 pm

head to head to forte? this win design, but ugly logo
    i keen to 1.6AT bty ahhhh

• In the article on top about Hyundai NU 1.8 engine, there is an mistake about the power~ In the sentence they wrote 150ps~ It is not 150ps~ the actual figure is 148ps~ although 2ps is not big in figure~ in term of power it makes different~

Elantra seller keep saying the power equivalent to this car and that car~ If the Elantra ps same with other brand car~ the fuel efficiency is not 40mpg anymore, will be less. My advise go for test drive and consider worth for the money you spent or not.

Base on my research, NU 1.8 engine is a bit noisy when you press in the fuel. When you going for the test drive~ please drive and test it to confirm whether it is true or not.

Conclusion~ Car is good but retail price is over high than the exact value of this car~ To buyers who concern about the second value of this car, you may facing a high depreciation value in this car~ Better think twice before you buy it.

Have A Nice Day ^_^

• CKD car with higher price tag? sigh..
    Sime Darby, how much u mark up the profit margin?

• biggbro on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:00 am

It’s really unfortunate for Msians that SD is the distributor of Hyundai and they’re doing a lousy job @ that too…could not bear the ugly emblem, terrible service centre and no care attitude! Hyundai line up of vehicles should be a real winner here if only… I just hope they wont messed up with the new Santa Fe expected later this year, that should kick the ass out of the other junkyard SUV’s.

• lonelyobserve on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Basically SD was forced to mark up the profit margin by JPJ because of national cars. Let’s say the price of Elantra was to be below RM80K for 1.6L variants, this definitely, undoubtedly and absolutely will threat national cars, especially Proton Inspira that is on the same segment.

Not only SD, other foreign car distributors also facing same problem with the pricing (except some exploit it to potong people).

• alldisc on Mar 29, 2012 at 3:42 pm

and dont forget, not only inspira but also the soon-to-be-launched Proton Preve (owh my, what a name). some delays i think due to engine noise problem from inside the engine (related to oil supply for VVT,but must take out engine to rectify)

• i heard the same for the chery eastar before the exora came out..dont know true or not..but how can the chery eastar price suddenly went up?..coincidence?

• fadzil on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:03 pm

Is the car relaible? Anyone know how much the parts are shared with kia forte? I had very bad experience with koren car old and new models. Think before you buy

• toyoda on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:55 am

the car just launch here, how to know if its reliable ? guna la otak sikit

• Wisdom on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:58 pm

The car has been on sale 2 years worldwide.
        And there’s somewhere out there with matching climate.
        And there’s foreigners out there reading Paultan.
        Your post is not helping.

I knew some of this car happen to have problems with their steering column.

• Car is good~~ Price is bad~~ Suppose the big winner in C segment~~ now destroy by government~~ Not democracy at all~~ Fark them~~~ G.E Bring them down~~!!!

• shawal on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:04 pm

expensive!

• Unforgiven on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Thanks for the price and badge, no go for me if I really need to go the Korean way.
    Kia Forte 2.0 much cheaper.

• kpopcars on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Is the car relaible? Anyone know how much the parts are shared with kia forte? I had a very bad experience with korean ( car old and new model). Think before you buy.

• Vader on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:29 am

obviously, fadzil and kpopcars is a same person.. and your intention just to bash korean car, right?

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:30 am

Ok. Why don’t you share your “bad experience” with us.

Facts and figures. We are listening.

• Even ppl sharing 100 stories you wont believe also la….proton or toyota 1 bad story then you’ll bash like hell

• Contemporary styling..but the INOKOM logo puts me off and ltoo many curves. Still prefer Forte…

• i’ve waited for this car for such a long time only to be disappointed by the price..

• Gan TY on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:47 pm

not dissapointed by honda city price?? they are nearly the same..

• Its really sad that Sime-Darby motors are bringing in Hyundai…Such a mockery to a good brand! TWO Airbags??? Wat is this the ice age?? and they’re charging so much!

• not to mention dated engine even in hyundai’s line up!

• Whynot on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:33 pm

As they said, knowingly that this car design don’t go outdated even after some many years in Korea. They bash it up the price so that they can slice part of your fresh away and also wanted you to go for cheaper local ones like the crony P1. This is not a good news to all 1Malaysian who wish to get one. This car by rights should not be more that RM65K so to speaks to be fair and honest to all 1Malaysian!

• henry on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:09 pm

expensive!

• OMG….T & H also EXPENSIVE here.

• Amriji on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:02 am

But resale value for T & H higher and guaranteed.

• lokpi on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:22 am

typical malaysian: to buy and sell

• Amriji on Apr 12, 2012 at 1:46 am

Of courselah… many Malaysians cannot keep more than one car unlike U. So we need to resell lah to upgrade (or sometimes downgrade) to get a new car. The better the resale value… the lower chance we have to downgrade to a new ride.

If can maintain jee…. but cars are mechanical devices. More things will breakdown as they get older. For normal Malaysians… it might not be cost effective to keep an old car. Parts also have to be kept in mind…. the rarer… the pricier.

• 10% to 15% reduce price even tht T & H, that is the fact, more exspensive car u buy, will be more you loose ur money

• deftones on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:09 pm

i feel like the centre aircond vent is a bit too low for the driver…may not functioning well during out hot heaty weather..overall..nice car but not nice for the price..

• KIA SA on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Not too bad. Anyways it’s a Korean make. Forte seems to have more value for money.

• clutch basah on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Looks like Hyundai-Sime Darby is making full use of Elantra’s 2012 North American Car of the Year award. Although I must say its quite pricey for a car that bears Inokom badges.
    But believe it or not it edged out the Focus and Passat!!

• TANKADO on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:02 am

compare basket to basket bro, even when you did compare with Focus & Passat, it still loses.

• clutch basah on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:22 am

You can’t read well didn’t you.
        Let me re-phrase, During Detroit Auto-Show (in the US if you didn’t know) they did compare the Elantra with Focus, Passat and several other models and guess what? the Elantra won.. capisce?

• not with mpi it doesn’t… it doesn’t even deserve any north amaerica award branding coz in us, they got the gdi!

• clutch basah on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:27 am

MPI GDI it is still called Elantra

• ss427 on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:32 am

Sorry bro, US market Elantra DOESN’T have GDI engines either.

They’re using the same 1.8L Nu MPI like what you guys is going to have in Bolehland.

Hyundai is choosing not to fit the GDI engine in export markets Elantra just yet. Prob they’re prep the 201hp 1.6L Gamma Turbo GDI as found in the Veloster to be used in the Elantra in a yr or so.

• I want to sell my Avante! Any takers? Bought in 2010

• Satisfied with your ride?

• of course..new generation of Hyundai is reliable and proven based on my experience with the Avante! but once this new Elantra came out, i feel so outdated as this new model is far beautiful than Avante….

• Gan TY on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:50 pm

rm1K? ok?

• why is it selling at such a high price? Expecting from 75k – 90k. Local assembly somemore.
    Sime Darby will eventually loose out to T & H. Just when I thought Hyundai have a good global car here for sale. Sadly Sime Darby shame on you .

• alpha999 on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:03 pm

eventually loose out to T&H ? Hello, they have been loosing badly to T&H all years and will always, especially in Malaysia

• Whynot on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Join forces and get an AP’s. Start selling it cheaper then. I am sure you will earn rich as those selling T & H. This car will continue to be upgrade from time to time, especially the design and improvement to the interior. This is the only car I will admire because of its low price internationally and by far the most reliable exterior design ever build so far without going outdated easily! If not because of the high price Inokom is selling. I am confident that it will kill H & T easily!

• Carlos on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Two things made me think that SD already believe they’re already in Japanese carmakers league;

1- Downgrade from 2.0 to 1.6 and 1.8 engine- BUT pricier
    2- Downgrade the badge BUT still make the car dearer despite “uglier” emblem. Look at the iNOKOM badge. :-)

• This simply better than T & H. The Inokom badge can be change easily, just like Kia badge to replace the “Naza” badge….not a big problem…

• biggbro on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:23 am

SD is doing major damage to Hyundai brand in malaysia…even the website sucks and not updated for ages. It seems they are not serious enough to promote the brand, Hyundai please take note if you really want to increase the sales here.

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:48 am

Haha. I agree with you. Perhaps the G wanted this kind of pricing to prevent direct competition with the new Proton.

However you don’t really need a 2.0 on a B segment car. Most B segment cars in Msia are fitted with 1.5 engine only. ( Vios, City, Mazda 2 sedan, etc ) and you already have ppl claiming their 1.5 vios TRD can smoke all cars on the road.

Hence, a 1.8 B segment car is more than powerful enough. The manual version can sprint from 0-100 in less than 8 sec G-teched in one of the car mag in Philippines.

This Elantra 1.8 is tuned for 150hp. For those of you not in the know, a civic 2.0 produces around 153hp. Paper spec aside, would love to test drive this Elantra when i have the chance.

• Gimbab on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:51 pm

You sound like a fake “Turbo Man” wannabe.

Elantra is a C segment car like Forte, Altis, Civic.

B segment car are like Vios, City, Saga, Rio, Accent

• Welty on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:06 pm

According to auto world, elantra is B segment.

• Gimbab on Mar 30, 2012 at 11:35 am

Prove it !

Do you have eye sight problem ? how can Elantra consider same size like Vios, City or Saga ?

• Jaggy on Mar 30, 2012 at 11:23 pm

why r u reading rubbish like autoworld? elantra is c segment, accent is b segment, i10 is a segment

• Elantra is C-segment.

• Who is running the show behind SD on this hyundai car.
      I don’t think is done by Malaysian,looks like bangla or Indon,how can he be so brainless to price this way.
      Now you see bangla and indon start dominating even in GLC, BN now taste the fruit they planted.
      Hyundai should get another dealer,total waste for such a brilliant product to be handled by bangla!

• They downgraded the rear suspension system also from multilink to cheap and bumpy torsion beam suspension system

• Nice

• Leave it to Sime Darby to overprice their cars even with the Inokom badge. Seriously?? Inokom??

With this price, one might as well buy the full spec Kia Forte 2.0 for less than RM100,000. At least that is a car more worth the money.

• Naza forte 2.0?

• BN=barang naik on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:08 am

kia forte – NO dual vvti,smaller cabin space

elantra – dual vvti,bigger cabin space

for 1.6 i think its worth it…but for 1.8 i think its a bit overpriced!

• They have automatic rain sensing wipers but no xenon lights? Even for highest specifications? I would rather go with the xenon lights.

Rain-sensing wipers (operate through the sensors in the windscreen) cost a bomb to replace compare to normal windscreen.

• gegala on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Cun..got manual some more..but at bolehland..most people still sceptical at korean car…must cabut inokom emblem…and scout for hyundai emblem.. :) overall ngam..threat for T & H….

• expecting to cost $79 to $95 but not .
    Sime Darby has let us down just when I think this global car will wrestle from the T & H dominant in market. Shame on you SD.

• crazee on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:25 am

Well the initial tabled price to MITI was that but thanks to our motor industry policy + Proton launching the new Perv! price for MD Elantra were push up to make way for our beloved Proton

• ahmad loy on Jun 21, 2012 at 4:11 pm

..the meaning is every non proton car must add another RM20K-RM30K, it is true..poor malaysian!

• mat rempitz on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:01 am

since when sime darby didn’t let us down. All the time man. Right from their plantation group, to their overpriced housing projects, and car assembly.

• fuel cell phone on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:23 pm

imho, good pricing strategy that can lure future buyers from from jap brands

• Hyundai4ever on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:25 pm

What a pity, this car would have sell well if the 1.8 AT Premium is prices at RM89,888 instead of RM111,888.

Now it’s priced head to head with the Honda Civic and Toyota Altis. No need to guess which car anyone will be buying now.

• ahmad loy on Jun 21, 2012 at 4:24 pm

..do agreed. In this country Toyota/Honda always forever as benchmarking price for others..that why VW Polo Sedan CBU made in India for local market goes for RM100K/above..nobody know VW Polo Sedan in technical figures wise is cheaper than 2012 Altis 1.8G..just FYI.

• notagain on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:29 pm

LMAO, so who’s going to pay close to RM90,000 for a 1.6 cc, manual-driven Korean car?

• littlefire on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:14 am

Bro, it is a 6-speed manual gearbox.. Which proven to be more fun & economical to drive compare to your boring 5-speed manual.. Most sport car & even Euro cars also using 6-speed manual as it is proven to be more eco friendly in-term of emission & FC compare to conventional Auto.

Anyway kudos for bringing in officially 6-speed manual gearbox, except others only bringing in Auto or 5-speed manual only..

• alpha999 on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:09 pm

sadly, only sales statistics will prove if those tech features are attractive to Malaysian buyers

• ahmad loy on Jun 21, 2012 at 4:32 pm

..answer for alpha999..most malaysian buyers far behind from “celik” technical features..that’s why Toyota/Honda gains much in this country..poor malaysian!

• sadly no gdi on offer… when will we get the good stuffs from auto industries?

• JeremyNg on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:30 pm

The 1.8 engine will put mazda 2.0 engine to shame ………. !!! Tats some brilliant engineering in term of power & FC

• it is not brilliant engineering… mpi is a generation behind… where is the gdi already???

• ss427 on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:41 am

Well it won’t happen until Bolehland fuel can be at least Euro 4 compliant…

The high sulphur content will foul the direct injectors very quickly… ensuring costly repairs.

Don’t blame Hyundai/Kia for not offering top grade, state of the art engines in this part of the world.. Your country’s fuel quality can’t make it at all.

Even in SG, Hyundai is restricting GDI engine availabilty to the Veloster and the Euro designed i40 only. These will be small volume sellers to test the long term effects of their GDI engines using high sulphur content fuel in this part of the world.

In SG, only fuel sold by Caltex, and Shell are Euro 4 compliant. Esso 95 is not, you need 98 octane. Our in house SPC brand failed completely. LOL :)

Our gov has yet to mandate the need to go Euro 4 or 5 for petrol, hence fuel companies are free to formulate the fuel quality for their needs. They just need to be Euro 2….

• Jesse James on Apr 01, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Carbon buildup is a common, serious problem for GDI engine, Euro 4 / 5 or not.

• dude despite having lower power figures, mazda engine is far more responsive and their cars are known for almost conti car like driving dynamics.

Mazda also have their new skyactiv technology which is getting good reviews all over the world.

Its easy to compare from spec sheet but there is something called real world driving,where the koreans still have much to learn.

• Phillip Zak on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Oddly .. there is only One Japanese which the Korean has yet to over take .. but there are easily five japanese which has yet to over take the korean ..

• Why there are still so many idiot out there who only look at figure on paper. It’s the overall package that tell the performance of the car. Hyundai uses many Mitsubishi engines and the fuel consumption are alway higher than Mitsubishi. Why? Transmission, chassis, drive shaft, etc..

• tell me which hyundai car uses a mitsu engine?

• G-O-O-G-L-E. Beside just going to Paultan, lift few fingers and read other sites too..

• Phillip Zak on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:57 pm

sorry .. mitsubishi uses hyundai engine .. its the other way around ..the Thetha engine was licensed to Mitsubishi for USD 53 Million dollars .. so the inspira, lancer and ASX engines are all using Hyundai engines … GEMA engine ..

• Another idiot talking nonsense. Gema – Global Engine Manufacturing Alliance. Earlier Hyundais are all Mitsu just like earlier Proton days. Some rebadged just like Proton. It’s only now that Hyundai participated in Global engine. Yet with same engine their cars always, yes always return higher fuel consumption. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Engine_Manufacturing_Alliance

• Phillip Zak on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:03 am

Ahem “The initial design of the engine block was handled by Hyundai” Shot yourself in the foot ..

• Amriji on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:18 am

Pitt did not shoot himself in the foot. Yes, INITIAL DESIGN of ENGINE BLOCK is by Hyundai. But Engines has other parts too. Those are contributed by the other participating manufacturers.

Then Each Manufacturers can customize the Engine according to their design. So if Hyundai takes more fuel consumption… its probably due to their technical customization work ( the Actual Trade Secret of the other participants).

• pretty high spec especially for the 1.8 version. Nappa leather on a budget Hyundai!

• Kalist0 on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Hot interest among car forums members drop to dead cold once the price is release. I think that pretty much sums up what people think about their Hyundai’s pricing

• beesbond on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:37 pm

what i observe is majority of the Elantra fans are actually potential B-segment buyer. they are aiming/expecting for B-segment price.

however the price is in c-seg range. and those potential C-segment buyer (willing to pay for >110k) are not a big fans of korean car, they rather spend on T&H. and those who willing to give a try on korean car will choose Forte as it is reli worth it.

So…im abid worried the Elantra sales…

• Hackerz on Mar 29, 2012 at 6:21 am

It’s within the price range of b-segment vios and city

• vtec200k on Mar 29, 2012 at 3:11 pm

i wont worry at all, i dont think this MD is expensive, compare to civic CKD and corolla altis CKD this one is cheaper already by at least 10k, except to cruze and forte, but this one still has the best spec out there, best design, more importantly WHEELBASE 2700mm, where to find??

although this MD need to compete with hybrid entry-level cars, due to the close price range . . .

• mikey on May 23, 2012 at 2:49 am

In Malaysia market, Korean cars are expected to be significantly cheaper than T & H.
        If the price is too near to T & H, people just wont buy

• Sunroof on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Malaysian doesn’t need sunroof as the weather is already very hot!

Might as well replace it with Xenon light instead since Malaysian roads are poorly lit.

Isn’t that common sense?

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:39 pm

i rather take my vios TRD !! still can smoke this car anytime!!

• inokom the dick logo on Mar 29, 2012 at 3:29 am

your dugong cannot catch up lar,
      only can catch up in FC , lalalala~~~~

• arvind on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:37 am

adoi can sumone shoot this guy?he is seriuosly damn annoying with his TRD dugong

• ss427 on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:29 am

Ohhh… our Maserati Bro is here.. :D

You mean your Vios will go up in smoke when you try to race it against the new Elantra is it? :D

• Price really competative
    Nobody gonna buy Japs car anymore.
    Yet, Proton Preve still beat em all with it’s spec, safety and price

• What are you talking about?? Nobody going to buy Jap cars?? Wait till the sales chart comes out and you will see Jap cars topping all over your head…

• Inokom on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Inokom brand is probably the lowest among all local brands in Malaysia yet Hyundai is selling these cars at this price. Are they trying to kill potential sales?

Stop with the rebadging!

• Anti_Fuel_Price on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Seriously damn good FC, I drove in Australia “rent car” & this “workhorse” never thirsty!!!! Highly recommended for those drivers spending almost day in car.

• car driver on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:37 am

you drove the one with the new generation engine or the one with previous generation engine? like the one SD is selling here

• Anti_Fuel_Price on Mar 29, 2012 at 3:36 pm

New one bro, exactly the same but auto llllaaaaa :( they don’t offer manual but if got lagi jimat petrol. Respect this Korean engine!!

• nice car. I will remove that inokom badge to make it nicer.

• too ambitious pricing in bolehland which is full of jap car worshippers!

The forte’s pricing was much better!

• Sorry, out of topic..

Today i went t o Toyota Service Center to send my car for service.. I ask my friend (Toyota staff) about the Camry. He shows me the specs sheet.

The new Camry will be launch either this June or July. It’s a 2.5 cc. It got Start-stop button, 4 airbags (rear) and 2 airbags (front). Price is still unknown.

• Honda De La Junk on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:58 am

Go see toyota Thailand website, it has been launched there. 2.0L still using single VVT-i engine with 4 speed auto.

http://www.toyota.co.th/en/product-detail.php?model=camry&opt=spec

• clutch basah on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:10 am

Dude, the potential buyers are just Ah peks anyway, they can’t tell the difference. :P

• vee_duble_vey on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:39 am

not Hyundai De La Junk?

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:01 pm

1.) Elantra is not sister car of Forte, Elantra is 1 generation ahead of Forte, just look at the side profile you can see obviously the A,B, C pillar & door frame look totally different, Forte sister car are the current Avante.

2.) What’s the brouhaha about expensive price tag ? Didn’t most of you said Korean car is at par if not better than japanese car ? so now when Korean car charge similar price as Japanese car, what are there to complain ?

3.) That why i said most of you would never walk the talk & put you money where your mouth is, i would said those who complain it expensive can’t afford it even if it cost 10-15K less.

4.) Now Paul ! did i prove my point ?

• Jtype on Mar 30, 2012 at 3:19 am

“Daddy, what’s is push-start button?”
            “let’s go to test drive Camry, Teana, K5, Mondeo, I will show you the push-start button”
            “Daddy, what is a car key?”
            “let’s go to Honda Showroom & test drive the Accord, Hyundai De La Junk sale person will show you what’s a car key….” :-)

• jtype on Mar 30, 2012 at 8:41 am

Paul, I will answer this one for u.
            Dear Mr. De La Junk, this is our malaysian’s perception,the Korean should sell at a lower price tag than the Jap. Some goes to Jap, should sell at lower price tag than the continental. Let’s say your c-seg civic is selling at just 10-15k lower than the Volvo s40, do u think your civic will do well? Aren’t your civic is on par with the entry level volvo? Try price your Honda in the conti price range and see what will happen….

• BeemerFreak on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:51 am

Damn well said…..It is happening in singapore btw, since their coe prices are so high, the best sellers are all the german marques due to price similarity with japanese stuff..

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/lta/Corporate/doc/M03-Car%20Regn%20by%20make.pdf

• Jesse James on Apr 01, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Well, we have Ford Focus and a couple of Peugeots in Civic’s price range. Apart it’s business as usual for Civic, I didn’t see anything else.

• Hyundai De La Junk, your brain must be retarded. I dare you~ if you bare the 10k – 15k of the Elantra~ I buy 10 units Elantra NU 1.8. Dont pie hole talking at here~~ prove to us you have the guts otherwise shut the fark up~ Balik Makan Pisang~!!!

• proton do not sell lotus on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:48 pm

nice but why do not get international sport rim

• wow 6-speed MT in a Korean car..i’m impressed

• ahmadjohnson on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:51 am

Me too, finally there is an option for 6-speed MT, but the price of about RM87k for 1.6l engine standard and not high spec is way too overprice. I rather choose inspira 1.8M which have better performance

• sotong on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:50 pm

should I or shouldn’t I???? Is the price worth to get a Korean car??? :S

• wow finally, 6-speed MT in a Korean car..i’m impressed

• P3-21A @ Proton Preve speculated to launch on 6th Apr..trying to get potential buyers from Proton huh!

• bystander on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:01 am

i think it’s the other way around, proton has been holding Elantra’s launch which suppose to be November last year, n the actual price announced now is more than 10k higher than what estimated, where MT version was supposed to be around 72k, think about tt!

• armandd on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:18 am

“….proton has been holding Elantra’s launch which suppose to be November last year”.

Mind sharing where did you get this info from?

• bystander on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:11 am

Ask Paul who’s his SD informant. Also from Hyundai Salesman.

• bystander on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:16 am

i meant the launching date only, i figure the rest by myself, u absolutely have the right to question my judgement and disagree. Tt’s why i used “I THINK” to start the sentence.

• Wisdom on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:34 pm

As usual. Pick from tree.

• MoFaz on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:26 am

elantra already out 2 years ago.. worldwide. proton is holding hyundai here?

• oblong on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:46 am

What holding Elantra launch was the decision which emblem will fit the car best and in the end that ‘dXXk’ emblem seem more macho hahaha!

• snaz1 go on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:15 am

CIA Is holding Hyundai malaysia from launching the car.

• kantoi on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:25 am

Actually he mean the government, the reason they are unable to launch is due to incoming Proton P3-21A, this is the strategy to make people choose Proton instead of this Kimchi. people will rather wait for Proton since it is just one or two months away which is under the same segment and with “better pricing”!!

• bystander on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:42 am

from end of last year, my dear~

• jamal on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:55 pm

i prefer car design like this. lots of curves. not like proton design sharp edges like box. fogive my english.

• the Inokom emblem is ugly. other than that beautiful car. price is on the high side for korean makes.

• KOREAK on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:03 pm

Beautiful.
    If you planning to migrate to US, buy this car, only usd15,594 in california for the 1.8l model.That’s about rm47,870.
    But if you planning to stay in m’sia, pls pay rm112,000. Remember , a good citizen is one who works hard and pays his taxes. Salam 1Malaysia.

• anbaDSP on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:03 pm

Looks ugly with the silly logo INOKOM

• OMG, the price is on the very high side… wrong move by SM by placing the wrong price

• Fongozic on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Finally…

• semut on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:16 pm

wagon version tak ada ? Waaah so many goodies included !!!

• paultan on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:25 pm

seriously paul, need more pic from the rear
    a HUGE selling point imho

• yes, boot pix also

• ss427 on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:44 am

haha I’m here to help..

Click here please :) This is the Singapore market brochure :)

http://www.hyundai.com/sg/en/wcm/groups/webcontent/@hmc/documents/webvehiclecontent/308593.pdf

• hayden on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:30 pm

damn.. it makes me horny!!

• hway de Cruz on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:31 pm

yes…consumers r really spoilt for choices, power train from 1.6 n 1.8 is very respectable, generous amount of torque too. wonder wats the FC is like? blend in leather is great, this would close some sales. well, let’s see by year end how this model fares. for those considering to buy this car, do take the test drive when available. cheers

• confirm same case as forte…most of the buyer buy the lowest spec and tell everyone they are driving the best model out there

• Rsbter on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Which one Elantra or Forte?

• OMG…nice pricing. will go for test drive….

• this is a looker compared to New Civic

• spark on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:44 pm

very competitive..

• Yet the technology is 10yrs above compared euro brand, thats y the look is modern.
    Don’t know which year when date Japanese n Korea car have that kind of quality.

• Technology is 10 Years above <– Have you do research before you come out with this statement? Proton and Produa next year will be selling Hybrid car~~ If you say Elantra Technology is 10 years above this car suppose in hybrid technology~ Do research and Think before you make statement~ DUH~~~~

• Huiyoo on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:48 pm

A bit pricey

• Huiyoo on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:49 pm

No paddle shift?

• sp3d2 on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:51 pm

very very nice car. but due to price, malaysian will choose proton preve instead….

• Aroma on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Is this car under the tag of National car (inokom) or Asian car ?
    The price tag does not feel like ‘national’ at all

• indomee on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:55 pm

I think they think too highly of their products lor? Giving the price is only a few k difference from the japs. Somemore its carrying inokom name. Though the design looks refreshing, but i dun think the engineering still on par with the other players in the market. LOL

• Costwise on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Local badge, locally assembled, but not at Proton/Perodua price. Cost more than Inspira. To Hyundai and Sime Darby, what is the point you are making? Exploiting the NAP and the people?

• i have waited so long for this car only to be disappointed by the price…

• Wallstreet on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Wah…what an ambitious pricing for a Korean car..112K for a 1.8 Korean car??

• nice car..pricing shud have been lower for a 1.6 ..could have done better..shame on u hyundai…

• Statistician on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Looking at it’s performance,design and specs,it is clear that Proton can only compete with government protection ! The reason is this car is only priced at RM 45 k in the States!

• Accent Owner on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Finally, G given green light for the car price….. Why local assembler car still so costly ?

• These cars will only sell really well if there are 10k cheaper… Inokom badge.. hmm..

• coolG on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Indeed it’s another attractive yet competitive choice in the segment (dislike the badge personally, though…, but with extra 100 bucks++, that can be resolved)
    With the design and spec sheet that will make the Japs feel like buying one for their own… They are going to steal a big piece of cake of the segment over the aging Civic and Altis.
    Well done again… Hyundai (oops, Inokom?)

• no one on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:11 pm

I’ll say better than civic and city :):)

• nice…

• theanswer on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:15 pm

ckd..but still expensive. but its a nice car. ;)

• bugger on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:15 pm

very nice interior! Proton should learn from this, exora interior design is outdated & boring!!!

• anti-vios on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:18 pm

from wikipedia— Total US sales for the Elantra in 2011 reached 186,361 units, up 41 percent from 2010[15]. The Elantra was crowned North American Car of the Year at the 2012 Detroit Auto Show over the Ford Focus and Volkswagen Passat.

I repeat… OVER VW PASSAT

• ss427 on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:24 am

Yup yup… we can offer plenty of doc proof (written and online) and evidence that this Elantra is a true blue Japs and even Euro cars killer but many still thinks the Vios and Altis is the best out there… sigh…

And that with Honda going the Toyota way these days, they’re just courting their own death these days..

The new Gen 9 Civic is a total POS! :( A big and I mean BIG step backwards as compared to the wonderful FD…. There’s nothing the FD can’t offer that you have to look for them in the new Gen9 Civic…. however there’s plenty of engineering and equipment deletion (plus awful styling) in the new CIvic that will make existing FD owners hug their cars even more…

The new CRV is another boo boo too…although its not as bad as the new Civic.

I don’t know la, Jap doesn’t seems to have a creditable competitor against the Koreans these days. Please don’t use their halo sports cars to compare, for just how many can afford the 370z, GTR and the Toyota GT 86? And none of these cars are practical enough for a family of 4.

The Japs have no creditable B&B cars to compete with the Koreans lo…LOL :)

• mikey on May 23, 2012 at 2:53 am

yeah, many Korean cars have very good technology nowadays…

but somehow in Malaysia, Korean cars have very low resale value. Since we live in Malaysia, these things affect the desirability of a Korean car

• Inokom on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:09 am

Well duh, Elantra is much cheaper than Passat overseas.

• hello bro, being the car of the year doesnt mean its a better car in every area..it might have won because its cheaper..meaning value for money..but that does not mean its a better car..are you saying that the elantra is also better that the BMW M5 or new Porsche 911 just because those cars didnt win? duhh..

• gagger on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:20 pm

does 1.6 AT standard provides start/stop ignition button?

• Yes. Only the manual variant doesn’t.

• Joni Joni on Jun 16, 2012 at 1:54 pm

RK, just to clarify the AT std dont come with keyless system… I am one of the engineer working at SD Motors. True it was a shame when MIDA declaring the price. It way much more than we propose.

• OilChange on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:21 pm

this car will put vios and altis owner to shame….

why u boring people bought those lame toyotas?

get a life, throw away those toyotas and start enjoying your life. don’t be a boring a lame toyota’s owner….

• hippo on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:06 am

I beg to differ. I’m the proud owner of the new Altis dual vvti. I feel that it has good mature looks, great comfortable driving experience as well as very good fuel consumptions. From KL -> Jb -> KL only need 1 full tank and it’s still not empty when i’m back in KL. However I do agree this Elantra looks good.

• ahmad loy on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:28 pm

..you are not technical features wise and not enough experience driving toyotas when you say that.

• Ppl spending their own money buying what they like…any problem?you need to see a doctor……their money even they burn it i dont think they need to ask for your permission…you like this then you buy la…..toyota isn’t that bad afterall….just that the styling doesnt suit you thats all…and about boring…..you see your car most on the interior….n i dont think japanese dashboard are that boring…..hmm driving experience boring?get a life….you want good driving experience you buy proton la…..other make with good driving experience arent in your pocket range

• OilChange on Mar 30, 2012 at 10:10 am

toyota, and japanese cars, have lame dashboard comparing to conti….

when u step in,,, u have the feeling of emptiness…

i’m driving a brand new conti car… give me your emel so that i can post my car’s pix to prove my story…

in the mean time…. go have terrible life driving toyotas…..

4 speed GB is so ancient that car makers in the put that GB in viking’s museum oledi…. sad to see people wasting money on stupid toyota.

• Sean Lim on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:22 pm

very bad to the logo

• ss427 on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Well my bolehland frens, seems like you’ve been kinda shortchanged yet again by all these silly CKD Innocom thingy.

All Elantras should come standard with 6 airbags. It was standard in North America, Aussie, Taiwan, Thailand and even Singapore! :)

Although we only got the 1.6L Elantra in SG, the high spec GLS ‘Elite’ version we have over here offers virtually the same equipment levels as your 1.8L Premium… and it comes standard with a sunroof too:) And our Elite model came with a factory fitted reverse camera that projects an image in the rear view mirror… :) Yes it is the same part as the Sonata 2.4L

The only thing we don’t have is that integrated LCD screen… for it has no meaning if there’s not going to have any GPS option to go with the car.

See the SG market Elantra specs here.. http://www.hyundai.com/sg/en/wcm/groups/webcontent/@hmc/documents/webvehiclecontent/308593.pdf

Anyway, other than the lack of safety equipments in your Elantra, you still get to enjoy this magnificant car finally in Bolehland.

To all Korean car haters and Proton defenders, I dare you to do test drives in this new Elantra and then tell me its as crap as you guys claimed and that the Potong P321 is still the ‘best’ out there…. LOL :)

• clutch basah on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:45 am

Bro, I live in Korea and have this car (1.6 GDI) as my daily ride for almost a year now and guess what? it has started to rattle here and there.. sounds familiar?

• Bolehland? Potong? Typical tactless Singaporean

• ss427 on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Evidently you have not been to SG often enough and you’ve not surf our local car forums…

Its a common slang used to describe Malaysia bro… sigh… just like we used the words eg sinkies and sillyporeans on ourselves… since we’re constantly being ripped off both financially and mentally by our gov…:(

It was your gov who kept using words eg Malaysia Boleh some yrs ago that made us think along that way mah… :D No offence to anyone :)

• didot on Sep 21, 2012 at 10:27 pm

pusing pusing pulau…

• Finally it has arrived or has it ? after all it is only media preview and will have to wait till April 6 to reach the showrooms.

Well, the pricing isn’t as attractive as the car ……. since it is wearing the Inokom badge why can’t they price it closer to Naza Forte ?? Hmm …profiteering or because they have better service centers and aftersales unlike Naza cheaper cars but higher maintainence …..

Let’s see how well it fares against the other cars in their range …. this Elantra seems better than the previous generations which sells in small numbers.

• touch screen avn?

• wowwww loved what im seeing. so damn bloody beautiful & gorgeous. bye2 T & H sorry you guys are no where near this beast be it its looks, interior, specs & features…

• beruk33 on Mar 28, 2012 at 11:50 pm

i was told by hsdm that prices are 98k and 108k respectively for 1.6 and 1.8 high specs. but now out by 1k+ and 3k+…..

btw where is de la junk?

• Me too~~ was told the price range is 80k – 110k~~ Now totally out of range~~ Good car but price control by government selling too high price~~ G.E bring them down~~~ Hijau + Bersih 3.0~~~!!!!!!

• awimbawe on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:03 am

I’ll wait for Ford focus.But hey…it is still the bloodsucking Sime Darby who are going to bring it here!!!

• MrPoppyplants on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:05 am

Pricing is AT LEAST RM10,000 more than it’s worth. Sime darby needs to learn how to price their Hyundai vehicles if they actually want to have the same success as KIA’s Forte.

• jolly_idiot on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:09 am

Ow… Proton still don’t want to launch their beloved P321A? They’re losing potential buyer. Price is attractive where very close to Proton.

At least Hyundai is a 100% CBU with Korean Technology (Copied from Japanese). Who cares on the 2nd hand value? Proton vs Korean. Both same same.

Don’t give us joke of the year when Proton launch their P321A end up no good sales.

• inokom the dick logo on Mar 29, 2012 at 3:35 am

proton want to test your patience,,
      well,, patience is a virtue

• clutch basah on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:47 am

Err Mr. idiot,

This car is CKD not CBU, maybe you should read the article first.

• snaz1 go on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:18 am

wow…..

you mean this car is better than 2.0 cvt Inspira( lancer copy)?

lol. 1.6 standard spec is better than 2.0P inspira? wahahahahahahhahahaha.

resale value?

proton/perodua and all T&H has the best resale value. Korean (old model, new not sure)? good luck.

• DewaSemut on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:16 am

Errrmm.. this one is 100% CKD :P

• Supertram on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:12 am

this car is the best looking currently in its class, best features/ eqquipt to.. instead of destroying H n T ( civic n altis ) with low prices, they decided to do it with full blown price! That pricing is like a head on b1tch slap for H n T , saying ” bring it! ”

wow.

• bystander on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:29 am

Initially i really love this car 2 years ago, can’t wait to see it launching in Malaysia, but after getting used to the look n seeing a Red n a White Singapore Elantra cruising at highway in flesh n bones, it actually looks quite weird n overdone. I think the only colour tt i really like is the sky blue. I still find the interior very impressive unless the material fall below expectation when checking it out in showroom, like Tucson. The pricing is ridiculous, more than 10k higher to what was given to us in so call estimated. I guess it’s proton 321 keep holding up its launch which supposed to be November last year, n now rocket the price sky high to protect their upcoming model, dun treat Malaysian like 3-year-old, we know what is going on.

One last advice to potential buyers, if you really have 100k budget for new car n dun care about second hand value at all, why not go for 308T instead? They offer RM108,888 OTR now, if you forgo the 3-year free service n 1.88 rate, to get this 10k rebate. Just ask their sales rep.

• don’t blame proton for the pricing…if kia can price their forte cheap so does this hyundai…

• bystander on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:59 am

Kia’s price is exactly the reason i said the price is ridiculous, same platform, slightly higher output but rough engine, identical gear box, 2 airbags only? It’s like shouting “go buy jazz hybrid, it’s slightly less space but earn u more respect n privilege, n their presence is limited on the road!”
        At the time Kia price is approved, Inspira not even out yet. I dun blame proton, i blame the G!

• Now KIA also belong to Lee Hyundai~ In Korea they call Lee KIA. Why KIA can be so cheap price compare with Hyundai Elantra~ It is because KIA is belong to some minister not belong to Sime Darby~~ Thats why government being tricky protecting KIA and destroy Hyundai market in order to maintain KIA revenue~~

• 2 air bags?????? no esp , reverse camera, paddle shifts besides 1.8L??? I mean are u serious sime darby…just go back to plant oil palm pls

• shawal on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:40 am

Naza forte 2.0 seems like you’re getting more car for the money…
    Hope Proton P3-21A doesn’t disappoints

• rafieldo on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:43 am

When will they gonna introduce MPV version of this wonderful car?

• unknown on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:44 am

Well it seems like everyone complain about the price, but hey, are you guys looking at a B-seg price for a C-Seg car? Elantra is a C-seg car, if you guys are looking for Hyundai car lower than 80K, hey there is still 1 model call Accent….Dont you guy forget?

• ONE WORD, SUPERB!

• Kimchi on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:55 am

no power retractable side mirror for all range??WTF is this??even other small segment car also got this..and the pricing is horrible..expecting to be few K more that the forte…and the spec and gadget also no as much as forte..

• eX Hyundai on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:32 am

Design wise is kind of ok…
    On paper yes all is super with 1.6 deliver 130ps/hp and 1.8 deliver 150ps/hp..
    But again power delivery on road; that have to try out (paper vs real road drive)..

Nevertheless the first 2 years u wont find issue with the car..
    Just when u think all is well; wait till 3rd or 4th year..
    Its like a time bomb…

Coming from fanatic with Hyundai and owning several models both CKD and CBU: lots have I learn about the brand..
    Sadly the support in Malaysia is still so so..
    And the spare parts is yet so so so so (waiting time to get your part/parts arrive)..

But then again its hard to get car option with safety/ESP all at around RM100K..
    Go figure..

• aeh8417 on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:09 am

After read all the coments, i find out that ppl only will go for korean car when the price is 20-30k cheaper than japan car in same segment. Even the korean cars giving higher spec.
    lol.

Thumb up if you feel the same
    if not thumb down :D

• Grandpa Trucker on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:19 am

those thumb downs are from the Korean car dealers or owners for sure…kah3!! Jangan marah fren…mmg betul pun.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:52 am

I personally agree with u and feel that infact these days korean cars are superior to the main stream japanese cars regardless in any aspect. i personally own one for 3 years already(forte) and find no reason to pay extra for what is notably similar

• OMG…if this the case happened here…then T vios & H city sales will be greatly affected.

• We are used to and bored of hearing how much better a Korean car can be compared to Japs. Better spec la, nicer design la, more advanced technology, etc etc. Now, when the Elantra is priced closer to C-Segment Japs, people start to bising. You can’t blame SD though, with such huge amount of “good comments” posted by Kimchi-preachers on the net, it might be the partial factor why SD has the guts to price the Elantra this way. I wonder how many of the complainants in this section has actually been preaching about Korean cars all along. Ironic isn’t it?

• papa rich mama shop on Mar 29, 2012 at 3:26 am

BOOOOOOO for the price and dated spec n the rubbish LOGO
    the design is not bad though as from side look like ford mondeo (front)
    dislike
    -no paddle shift
    -dual airbag ?
    -still got the camel hump at the rear middle legroom
    -interior , not that appealing
    -too low air-cond vent + ugly metal between the LCD screen
    -ugly front seat , like a tortoise shell …
    -sunroof
    -dual zone

better get the new proton P3-21A ,, ;D

• the inokom logo really spoils things huh..such a pity

• inokom the dick logo on Mar 29, 2012 at 3:45 am

if this car about the same price as forte ,
    its a bomb as the forte …
    specs are toooooo lame ,,
    rubbbish seat design ,
    air-cond vent too small and low, bad for rear passenger ,, very badd….
    but, the exterior + some bodykit , its Superb of all those lines n curves…
    Mondeo’s front , lexus’s rear

• Hyundai SD somewhat “big head” with this pricing and if they themselves in prospect buyers’ shoes, no way they can sell at this price. You can get 2.4 (almost two and half) Hyundai 1.8 Elantra in US with better specs, better equipped, better and widely available service centers.

Many people after this car but will put them off to other more sensible choice. A big no no to DICK logo half Korean-half Malaysian car. Change the name from iNokom to weNokom: W look nicer than bullet shape emblem.

If the pricing is another plot to protect p3-21A then we’re shortchanged and we make loan before we purchase much much inflated car. Pity to us Malaysian government. We’ll pay higher for gasoline after election.

This car with RM90,000 still a good choice if it’s turbodiesel. Greedy SD?

• somehow i cant really “connect” with this design.seems like there is too much going on with curves and fluidic….something.

prefer the clean cut looks of current KIAs.those are nice.

• civicEK on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:49 am

same here, really disappointed. d price is 10k higher than expected.. :(

• Someday come out Inokom Sonata with much competetive price

• Chilavert on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:14 am

i was expecting the price to be from 79K for 1.6 MT and 83K for 1.6 AT. the highest spec to be around RM99,999. i waited for this car for almost 2 years. well now im really dissappointed. damn u sime darby. not have to consider forte back.

• fadzilkpopcars on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:20 am

Is the car relaible? Anyone know how much the parts are shared with kia forte? I had very bad experience with koren car old and new models. Think before you buy

• Bukan Melayu aaaa on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:35 am

Malaysian always want everything cheap!!! Want cheap cak beli kereta sorongla!!!

• Amriji on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Of courselah… our inflation also very high. Household debt is 76% of monthly income. Some more buy car got high tax. Look at car price in Europe and US… cheaper than here. Some more their average earning is higher.

Of course people complain… you “towkay besar” no problem. Ferarri also can buy like buying fruits.

• Costwise on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Car in Malaysia is anything but CHEAP!

• maman on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:39 am

nice car, but their pricing will affect the sales. just wait until the end of the year. they will offer more goodies and discount the clear up their stock.
    :)

• 4g63tdsm on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:39 am

Whoa….getting a little greedy here arn’t you?

112k for the 1.8?

It’s a whopping nearly 20k more than the forte 2.0 which has more equipment and almost as much as the 308 turbo which also has more equipment.

I smell plenty of discounts and rebates to come.

Bad move sime Darby. Good car ruined by greed.

• wendy on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:50 am

2 airbags? inokom badge? cmon!

• Car Driver on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:56 am

The Elantra had been delayed since Oct 2011. I heard it is being delayed by pricing.
    Recently most Foreign make car launches the pricing are way above expectations.
    Probably to protect a certain price range 70k to 90k reserved for the national make and Inspira. Kia Forte price launched much earlier probably escape this.
    118K for Hyundai Elantra 1.8 is too expensive.
    Expect it to be same region as Inspira and Forte 90K for the 1.8 without the leather.
    This car will not take any cake from Altis and Civic with this price.
    Elantra won the Notrh American Car of the Year because they have GDI and much better accesories and better sales and service and their price is cheap compare to Focus and Passat at a time when the economy is down.
    If they price it 118K(USD 30K ) compare to 15K in US it will never win any North American Car of the Year award.
    So dont fool us Sime Darby another Govt Cronies.

• bystander on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:17 pm

i totally agree with you! It’s clear that Elantra is a good car, no doubt about that, but v should always maintain calm n sanity, n look at facts. Afterall there will always be newer n better models keep introduced, it’s call evolution (something the Japs has somehow forgotten) WE ARE JUST REGULAR CONSUMERS, i dun bash proton nor do i support hyundai or T or H, v r simply expressing our opinion n comment in the car-slave point of view.

• hebat on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:03 am

1. Inokom/Hyundai Elantra is as good looking as Daewoo/Chevrolet Optra 5 is good looking back in 2005.

2. Pick any spare parts shop at random and ask about Hyundai parts, and chances are the answer will be either “no stock” or “need to order”. Screwed. True story.

3. In 5 years time, a 2nd hand Inokom Elantra will be on sale (not sold) for around RM30k only, just like Daewoo Optra 5.

4. A 20-years old Honda Civic still sells for the same price: RM30k. Or more. True story.

So to all the Hyundai SALESMEN around here trying too hard to up the hype for the new Elantra by pretending to be customers, I pity you.

Your job is LOUSY.

• Phillip Zak on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:31 pm

Can I sell a 20 year old civic to you for RM 25k .. you go sell it to open market for 30k .. let you make 5k …

• hebat on Mar 30, 2012 at 11:55 am

I have a better idea: Why don’t you sell this to a ‘Hyundai enthusiast’, if such person ever exist, and see if he kisses you or spit on your face:

5 year old Inokom Elantra – RM30.9k
      http://www.mudah.my/Hyundai+Elantra+1+8+auto+HI+spec+GLS+rm380+FULLOAN-10899325.htm

20 year old Honda Civic – RM35k
      http://www.mudah.my/Honda+Civic+Ferio-14368528.htm

Hyundai SALESMEN must live in dreamland and mislead others to buy their crap and find makan. What a LOUSY job.

• Unforgiven on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:09 am

Probably 308 turbo FL should come out too complete with this car too.

• quottro on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:13 am

Minus the fact that they are CKD, everything else bout the car is well spec-ed especially for the price that they are being offered…

A CBU unit with the specs like the 1.8 AT Premium would probably set one back at RM140k/150k at least…. and how many out there is willing to pay that kinda money for an Hyundai when they have plenty of other options…

So i guess the SD, plans to fill the car in slightly lower slot in the market to ensure it sells…

The price is fair *again* considering the specs, and ppl can’t be expecting a foreign branded vehicle CKD or not to be priced like a vios (different class) or even an Exora… :)

Thumbs up to Sime Darby for finally bringing the Elantra MD in…

• I wonder when will they bring in the Veloster? Hope that the price is not sky high with the manual variant.

• New Elantra a big dissapointment thru and thru….. Expensive and not good value for money. A word of advise to Sime Draby, don’t over estimate your product and underestimate local consumer’s mentality.

• snaz1 go on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:20 am

front seat are so thin…..to free up more interior space? lol

• azman on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:41 am

pricing is above my initial expected range

• Moron on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:44 am

looks like i need to stick with my old gen2…

• Getting one soon =)

• Caruser on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:57 am

Bold looks but even bolder pricing strategy. Sorry folks, my next car will still not be a Korean make.

• Centre console looks a bit too Ultraman for my liking. Would have preferred something more understated, but I guess this is what most folks want these days.

• I wonder the yankies are really grabbing this hot cake like no tomorrow just because of GDI or what ever is inside the engine bay. My observation is, in developed countries, they buy cars based on outstanding design (design that pleases their eyes) inside out, safety, fuel economy and value for money (doesnt mean it’s just cheap). This is what this car is all about in US/Europe. And that’s why for eg. Evoque (it’s just a LAND ROVER folks), is selling like crazy! Who are not feeling great hanging out everywhere with beautiful girlfriend? Now, let us wait Paul to do a shootout soon after P3-21A is out!

• ong chin aun on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:25 am

Ya, much waiting for the New Elentra ( suppose to be launched in 2011 ) but disappointed with with 2 Things;
    1, The ugly inokom badge
    2, Overprice.

The Hyundai badge is much nicer. As for the2 nd. Disappointment , 1.6 Litre Manual
    with no stop/start keyless button, cost nearly rm90k ( Rm 86.888 + other fee)
    Much expensive than Kia Forte rm85k AT with paddle shift and other facilities in 1.8 premier elentra. Sale well, if down by 10k. more reasonable. and I am sure more buyers and can count me in . How about warranty ? no mention !!

• Is the car relaible? Anyone know how much the parts are shared with kia forte? I had a very bad experience with korean ( car old and new model). Think before you buy.

• those that cannot afford this car dont make so much noise la. Cannot afford 2nd value or parts then just go stick with local cars or your t and h. Let the rest that can afford play with conti/korean/american cars. no money go play far far…

• Err no money only ppl buy korean la bro….you no money dont make so much noise la…ppl buy korean coz value for money…..not becoz it’s a premium brand

• Agreed!!!

• demio121 on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:51 am

Hyundai is position Kia as a more youth orientated car and sell cheaper den Hyundai itself. The price shows SD is pretty confident with the Hyundai brand, not to mention the Sonata is selling well.

Given car price is ridiculously expensive here, this Elantra look to be better value den most Japs offering. I was expecting the top range to be less than 110k… something like 5-8k more than Forte.

The badging is just a joke. I dun mind the badge as we all know its a Hyundai and i can change anytime but its just plain stupid.

• demio121 on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:51 am

Hyundai position Kia as a more youth orientated car and sell cheaper den Hyundai itself. The price shows SD is pretty confident with the Hyundai brand, not to mention the Sonata is selling well.

Given car price is ridiculously expensive here, this Elantra look to be better value den most Japs offering. I was expecting the top range to be less than 110k… something like 5-8k more than Forte.

The badging is just a joke. I dun mind the badge as we all know its a Hyundai and i can change anytime but its just plain stupid.

• Supa Hiro on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:53 am

I just can’t understand why all you loser still want to consider this Koreak junk. It’ a no brainer – P321A is the best value for money, ride and handling and precision engineering. Why don’t you guys just buy a P1 car rather than a local assembled Koreak car? Just drive to believe it.

As I said before, I have given my expert opinion in my previous posting. Please go and read it to educate yourselves. I have owned numerous cars and Japs/Koreak cars has never impressed me.

I just wanted to share with you a funny story. The other day when I was driving on my way back from Ipoh a choontoi who was driving a Forte and a rempit for was driving a MyVi was trying to overtake my Ford Focus TDCI. The choontoi changed lane abruptly and tried to overtake me. At the back, the rempit was tail gating me. I was patience for sometime, but could no longer. I just tekan minyak and speeded away, left the 2 to do catching-up. The choontoi and the rempit tried to catch-up with me but couldn’t. While trying to do so the rempit’s MyVi hit the choontois Forte from the back….:-)

• OMG….very funny story.

• Wow… u expert as a Proton sales man ke?

• WALAUWEI!!! U THE MAN BRO BENG!
      btw p321a is not here yet, how to test drive? my ah beng vios has way better quality than protok junk

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Mar 30, 2012 at 10:44 am

Macam pernah ku dengar ayat tu….. owner of THAT RENAULT MEGANE RS250 surely have said it earlier….

http://paultan.org/2012/03/23/renault-megane-rs-250-cup-special-edition-launched-only-10-units-in-a-limited-run-rm245k/#respond

[[ Speedy Gonzalaes says:

23/3/2012 at 12:11 pm

I just wanted to share a funny story with all you readers. I own a Megane. Last month when I was driving back from Ipoh to Mont Kiara, a pelesit aka rempit driving a Myvi and a choontoi driving a Forte tried to be road bullies with me. They were tail gating and tried to overtake me abruptly. I was patience for sometime but could not no more. I ‘tekan minyak’ and left the pelesit and chootoi in dust. Damn I was fast. Both of them tried to keep up with me but they couldn’t. The Forte choontoi lost control of his crappy car and hit the pelesit’s MyVi. LOL! ]]

Thats to think about….

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 30, 2012 at 11:49 am

while doing all that you didn’t notice me smoking you on the left lane in my vios TRD!!! i guess i was too fast for you to see!

• waliband on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:06 pm

1. Wrong Pricing & Reduced Specifications
    2. CKD, not CBU
    3. Wrong Distributor with HSDM

In short: Please don’t buy this car ; HSDM intends to be the next T&H.
    Conning people’s $ all the way, with sub-par offerings.
    I you must, wait till end of the year to get rebates/discounts.

• Damn, everything is nice except the pricing sucks …………. i was anticipating the launch………….

What can I say….. too bad we are staying in malaysia and the government set all the car selling price……… I guess one of the big reason why this kind of price is due to poor sales of proton inspira………. and their new launch…………

• Dont forget Sime Darby hand also have Ford and Mazda~~ They trying to rescue the Mazda and Ford~~ This is so NOOB~~ Korean Car selling cheaper in whole world~~ Only MALAYSIA sell it high price~~~ A potential car letting not potential farker selling~~ wasted~ wasted~~ really wasted~~ SIME DARBY destroying hyundai future in Malaysia~ Wait after GE (Pru 13), maybe have changes ^_^ kekekekeke

• Honda Power on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:15 pm

What a rip off. Too expensive for CKD Elantra with lousy I badge. The car is nice but the price is definitely not nice especially with the I badge. Better book facelifted Honda City Grade S at RM85,500 now and get the car in May. With this price, you get to drive a CKD Honda; not the lousy CKD I brand. Facelifted Honda City looks nicer and more sporty than my City. Facelifted City is going to beat this I brand rebadged Elantra kow kow!

• Amriji on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:40 pm

You are comparing B class car (City) and C class car (Elantra)? It makes more sense if you compare Forte to Elantra, Civic to Elantra or even Waja to Elantra.

• ppl comparing a cheaper car to this elantra…not like most comparing higher segment car with vios/city…i think he’s more fair…..

• @8250rpm on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Anthony – any photos of the 6MT stick?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:35 pm

I don’t remember seeing a stick shifter variant, but didn’t really poke my nose into every single cabin unfortunately, so apologies for not being able to provide a shot of the stick.

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:27 pm

lexus malaysia is nuts! how can it be priced 10% higher than bmw 5 / merc E ? good luck to your poor sales! you will end up feeding the grey importers!

• Me Again on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:08 pm

ya its overpriced….if im looking for a manual…id rather go for the inspira n save more than 10k and knowing i have a beter resale value n cheaper spare parts…!
    one thing its going for it though its very very good looking!

• Maserati on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:28 pm

This has always been a lousy car to begin with. Enough with all those best car in north america bullcrap awards. America has never been famous for making good cars in the first place.

Even if sd priced this lousy hyundai 10k off whatever prices they are selling now, i find it hard to understand who would buy a cheapo looking car at tht price.

Look at sd launching of this elantra, so cheapskate n low class. Looked like it was held in some cheapo hall…

Now compare that with lexus new gs range and u will see how good umw are at doing launches… Korean junk will forever be korean junk

• BeemerFreak on Mar 29, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Wow thought you wouldnt appear after so many post…. finally you did, this korean car section will never be interesting without your input.

to compare this car with honda and toyota was logical

Fker like u compare with Lexus………….ah i pity your mother, the son’s brain dont know go where d, ask him buy apple, he buy watermelon………

• optimus on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:30 pm

hope they dont rebadge veloster into inokom (if they ever decide to bring in veloster)

• This is insane~ 1.8 Price same with Toyota altis~~ Smart user definately will go for Altis rather than this totally new Elantra~~ At least Altis second value is guaranteed and elantra still new~~ nobody now the second value for this car~~ Such a disappointment~~ We waited since February and they delay until 6th April 2012 Oficially Launch~~ This is how Sime Darby treated royal customers~~ Disappointed~!!!

• Anti Inokom badge on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Living with suck GOV is very suck life because them self if money eater and Hyundai try to give better pricing but at the end also control by suck GOV. Let we anti this car and it will slowly come down the pricing.

• NOW STOP BUYING THIS CAR~ WAIT AFTER ELECTION~~ MAY HAVE SURPRISE ^_^

• So, comparing to the Kia Forte,

Elantra has bigger interior size. Same wheelbase as Civic at 2700mm. Forte no.

Elantra has better equipment specs overall compared to Forte. Highest spec has the same thing as Forte plus sunroof, 10-way adjust driver’s seat, built-in GPS, rain sensor windscreen

Elantra is classified as bigger size car compared to Civic & Altis in the USA by EPA. Forte not so based on smaller wheelbase of 2650mm.

FC for both 1.6L variants of Elantra and Forte are similar. No point in comparing the high spec variant as it won’t be an apple to apple comparison.

Elantra has maintenance free timing chain system and transmission. Forte no. This means a saving of some RM 300 – 400 per 60K km, so long term running cost is lower.

Both have slick and up-to-date looks comparable to offerings from others.

Both are CKD with funny badges.

High spec Forte has unrivalled value for money equipment and safety list. Forte has 6 airbags. Elantra only 2.

Face-lift of Forte is due 2013 or earlier. Possibly better equipment specs at lower and high trims with possibly slightly higher prices.

Both offer 5 years / 300K km warranty.

Pricing for Elantra at the lowest spec AT is disappointingly higher with not much equipment offered to offset it. Pricing for MT is still slightly higher, unless unofficial discounts to 80K can be obtained.

Overall IMHO, expect Elantra to be moved at lower than expected numbers by SD. Fear the AT variants will face the same low numbers as the ill-priced but brilliantly equipped i30, especially the 1.8L variant.

Love and wanting to be proven wrong.

Good luck to you SD.

• You’re wrong Forte 1.6 & 2.0 running on timing chain. get your fact right!

• Hyundai Fan on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:33 pm

The 1.8 spec is much better than Civic,Altis & Sylphy. So, 112K for 1.8 is still worth it.
    1.6 spec is also better than Forte & Altis. It is a bit pricy but still worth it.
    It is time to switch to Korean brand now. I believe the Korean cars will beat Japanese cars just like Samsung beats Panasonic & Sony in TV market and beats Nokia & Sony Erricson in handphone market. When Samsung handphone & TV just started in the market, a lot of people also anti it and said it was not good but now who dares to say it is not good unless he/she still like to carry i-phone(heavy & pricy) & buy Sony/Panasonic TV(old technology & screen not very clear).
    Go & test drive Elantra this weekend to find out whether it worth the price.

• sony/panasonic old tech?the problem is you are too poor….
      advantage of korean make is that they can offer the same stuff at cheaper price…
      what the hell…the world is turning upside down because of ppl like you…
      selling a lot doesn’t mean it’s a good product…it’s because it’s cheap….ppl go for cheap and reliable…that’s what korean is doing now…but when you are hardcore ones and insist to compare….you’ll see the differences.
      anyhow got to admit samsung display is very very good….other product aren’t that good though…sony display is on par and some even high end display shows better…..you no money to explore the good things then don’t say others not good…really….go see a doctor….
      iphone is pricy?so don’t buy..is other pp.’s money…and IOS is good…simple…you should use iPhone coz you aren’t anywhere near hardcore gadget mind….
      you insist on spec list…then proton peeve is your solution…..cheap and full list of spec…well you worried ppl saying you poor so you choose a cheaper foreign brand….i know you…majority of ppl are like you…refuse to admit you are poor and do everything stupid to tell ppl you are on par with the richer one…

• Jtype on Mar 30, 2012 at 3:38 am

Well, I am in electronic field…. FYI, Sony & iPhone display are no where near Samsung’s, both Sony & Apple use Samsung display for their TV & iPhone respectively… I bought Panasonic thou, at least they develop their own display….

• totti on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Disappointed with the pricing and expected to be around 78K to 92K to trade in my Serena.

Has owned T, N and H. The Korean still not able to convince me to buy a korean product till todate.

Hope Hunydai salesman can give me a call if the 1.6 auto price below 80K. (10K discount)

• So, comparing to the Kia Forte,

Elantra has bigger interior size. Same wheelbase as Civic at 2700mm. Forte no.

Elantra has better equipment specs overall compared to Forte. Highest spec has the same thing as Forte plus sunroof, 10-way adjust driver’s seat, built-in GPS, rain sensor windscreen

Elantra is classified as bigger size car compared to Civic & Altis in the USA by EPA. Forte not so based on smaller wheelbase of 2650mm.

FC for both 1.6L variants of Elantra and Forte are similar. No point in comparing the high spec variant as it won’t be an apple to apple comparison.

Elantra has maintenance free timing chain system and transmission. Forte no. This means a saving of some RM 300 – 400 per 60K km, so long term running cost is lower.

Both have slick and up-to-date looks comparable to offerings from others.

Both are CKD with funny badges.

High spec Forte has unrivalled value for money equipment and safety list. Forte has 6 airbags. Elantra only 2.

Face-lift of Forte is due 2013 or earlier. Possibly better equipment specs at lower and high trims with possibly slightly higher prices.

Both offer 5 years / 300K km warranty.

Pricing for Elantra at the lowest spec AT is disappointingly higher with not much equipment offered to offset it. Pricing for MT is still slightly higher, unless unofficial discounts to 80K can be obtained.

Overall IMHO, expect Elantra to be moved at lower than expected numbers by SD. Fear the AT variants will face the same low numbers as the ill-priced but brilliantly equipped i30, especially the 1.8L variant.

Love and wanting to be proven wrong.

Good luck to you, SD.

• vincent on Mar 29, 2012 at 3:46 pm

It is ok if Hyundai SD want to priced it in that price, but I only have one request, you will have to give the consumers a full spec car. Something that comes with 6 airbags, or else it will only make yourself like a blood suckers like T&H.

• tarak on Mar 29, 2012 at 4:11 pm

As long as Mahathir alive, korean cars will be highly priced……in fact all cars will be highly priced. Mahathir thinks proton screwed-up because of competition from low priced korean cars. Mahathir smart guy….he knows how to manouver himself……now he put his shiny bald son Mukhriz in MITI. Mukhriz will do as mahathir wishes. That’s why this fucked up Elantarak is above 100k.
    Mahathir is emulating what mother-India did 30 yrs ago, only 2 models were allowed, Wolseley (60’s car) and Maruti (suzuki). Now India learnt it’s mistake, they liberated their market and people now drive Audi and VW. We…..going backwards …..back to Proton and Kancil. God save malaysia fom these MFs

• Maynard James Keenan on Mar 29, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Guys, better buy a Chevy Cruze. Elantra is an excellent car, but if it is priced at RM93k for a 1.6, then it’s not worth buying. I’ve been anticipating this car, but owning it is a grandiose dream because of it’s illogical price. Elantra is categorized as “economy car” outside of the country (due to it’s price), so why spend something which is labeled as a “luxury car” here when it is actually not!

• inderaloka on Mar 29, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Hot compact sedan!!

• Other countries got 1.6 Gamma GDI engine and yet Malaysian will get only 1.6 Gamma MPI engine. Only silly Malaysian will buy this backdated engine technology kind of car. The 1.8 NU engine on the other hand is very good engine but alas….is too pricey. I would say that this is SimeDarby agenda for Malaysians.

• mindfaucet on Mar 29, 2012 at 5:38 pm

**Sigh** is the right expression for this news..

• spyshotX on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:04 pm

a C-segment car with a B-segment price?..

the marketing strategy sounds “locally” familiar.. hmmm..

just wondering why is it tt hyundai always place their cars more expensive than their brother kia..

• Have to ask Malaysia NOOB government~ Mouth say democracy ~ Say competitive market~ but they do it in communist style, controlling around~~ What they doing now is protecting other brand car which is belong to certain Minister~~ This is what we call Curi Curi Wang RAKYAT~~~ Coming G.E (Pru 13) Bring them down to prevent your WANG KENA CURI~~~~!!!!!

• I couldn’t find a reason why SD to rebadge the Elantra. So, SD, tell us a good reason why?

• paultan fan on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:34 pm

maybe the new accent is coming out?

• According to friend who work in Sime Darby, new Accent in short period will be not in Malaysia~~ Meaning that by the time bringing into Malaysia, it is already old version old technology car~~ Those who aiming for new accent better dont wait for it~ go for other option~~

• fauzi on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:02 pm

Come on la Sime Darby…..80k for 1.6….who the hell is doing the marketing for this car… he/she thinks we Malaysian are suckers.

• japfans on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:44 pm

Malaysia foreign car prices are too high, this is because due to greediness of the distributors and high tax imposed.The rakyat/car buyers are contributing their hard earn money to many cronies like distributors and banks. It is so sad seeing majority of average and below income earners spending too much money on their modes of transport and their living standard have to be down graded.
    If we are talking about the average GNP in this country, our car prices should be lower than USA and even HK, unfortunately, this is totally opposite.
    For conclusion, PROTON is the source of the problem for higher car prices in this country.

• Let me add in few more~~ also PRODUA~ NAZA~ KIA~INOKOM~ PROTON These lame companies is the cause of other brand car price so bladdy high~ They only know use other people butt skin stick on their face~~~

PRODUA~ NAZA~ KIA~INOKOM~ PROTON <— If dont know make car just CLOSE IT~~ RAKYAT without these NOOB companies wont die and will live HAPPIER~~~

• taurus on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Anyone care to explain why certain models in Hyundai lineups e.g. Elantra, Santa Fe are given Innokom honorary badge while the rest are not so lucky to keep the Hyundai badge as it is :}

• Others with Hyundai badge are CBU from Korea while those with stupid Inokom badge are CKD from BN cronies blood sucking co.

• inderaloka on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:34 am

Overprice.

• Keyboard Warrior on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:58 am

wah so many people here say and bash and some love..
    mmmm
    but still; comment2 write2 bash2 love2..
    but are u buying it??????????
    or just for the sake of putting more and more unworthy comment..?

yeah this car still king on spec (paper)..
    but just go for a spin..
    take it on real world real road
    if it suit u; then buy..
    if not walk away; seek other automotive..

in business there’s offer and acceptance..
    even if the offer price is high and still have people to accept so whats the issue?

support/after sales?
    yes most likely not among the best…
    coz from experienced; u have to have cable/connection then your parts will arrive on the spot or in 1 week..
    if not trust me have to wait till months or 1/2 year like their normal claim process..

anyway; just go figure :)

• Amriji on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:41 am

Of course must comment la bro. Manufacturers need feedback. We are very generous to give feedback so that they can improve. This is for their own good too.

A lot of the comments is about the high price… if Sime Darby can lower down the price… that’ll be good for our pockets… if not… SD can expect losses in their Auto arm of their conglomerate (but not as high losses as the ones suffered by Sime Darby Engineering laaa).

• moron on Mar 30, 2012 at 10:05 am

i thought they hv learned the hard lesson with i30 (personally i drove the car before, wonderful experience).. dejavu around the corner???

• Don’ t blame Sime Darby, blame our stupid goverrment and proton.

• Daniel on Mar 30, 2012 at 11:09 am

BUYING HYUNDAI IN MALAYSIA?? THINK AGAIN!!!

Bought the HYUNDAI ACCENT MC 1.6 2008 in July 2008 with 3 yrs. warranty. Sime introduce the 5 yrs. warranty in August 2008. Now car down with ECU fault which the Hyundai service in Seremban could not handle. Sime HQ offer me only 10% discount after pleading with them. No customer good-will and brand royalty. Only interested in milking RAKYAT for the benefit of cronies. Just take a look at car choices and prices in Indo. Thai and Indian markets.

• I have booked the 1.8 spec.. i got lots of freebies like vkool, full tank, umbrella. the most important is, i got 8k cash discount.. haha :)
    i talked to the SA and keep asking for discount :)
    Cool, right?

• berkq on Mar 30, 2012 at 2:03 pm

are you sure beside goodies? you get 8k discount exclude ncb?

• berkq on Mar 30, 2012 at 2:13 pm

which branch?

• hebat on Mar 30, 2012 at 3:39 pm

NOT COOL when you are a Hyundai SALESMAN pretending to be an excited customer.

• Never mind if Mong is an excited customer or Hyundai Salesman, I’ll buy from him if he can give me those freebies !!

• curious on Mar 30, 2012 at 3:42 pm

may I know which branch did you go to?

• curious on Mar 30, 2012 at 3:43 pm

may i know which brunch did you go to? :)

• Hi Mong, sure or not, your SA can give some much freebies ? I oso want ! I have booked the 1.8 since Oct 2011 and will test drive the car this weekend. Maybe I should buy from your SA if you can give me his/her contact. Thanks !

• Buy2011 on Mar 30, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Dude; u get 8K only?
      no need brag la..

I managed to get 10K discount ooo
      but I did the booking before launching la; few months back..

• INOKOM and NAZA <— Money cheater~~

If want to replace the KIA and HYUNDAI logo must have 2 condition,

Condition 1 – Sell in cheaper price to benefit buyers.

Condition 2 – Provide more items and accessories (Do like Brabus and Lexus) to maintain same price with KIA and HYUNDAI~

To me I prefer condition 1 because I can remove the NOOB logo by myself ^_^ Ha Ha

• Kelvin on Mar 30, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Hi please share the 8k discount? u keep asking, how much u got not.

• Kelvin on Mar 30, 2012 at 2:31 pm

please share on the 8k discount.

• gmorque on Mar 30, 2012 at 4:42 pm

expensive.. forte will beat this elantra

• I love ur name!!! Rock on TOOL~~!!!!

• demio121 on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:49 pm

Hyundai and SD get a point for the preview arrangement. Look to me, Hyundai and SD is trying to move out of the budget mindset.

The car look nicer in the metal. The DVN look to me like a localized spec. GPS is Papago M3 i think. The reverse camera looks like its attached with double side tape.

Some missing item from the top range are retractable side mirror and door illumination when opened (those red light on door to tell people there is an object in the dark). small matter but i expect these in a car that carry the word “premium” spec.

if SD can knock off few thousand, Its a nice nice car.

• DKBOSS on Mar 30, 2012 at 8:05 pm

RM 122k for a 1.8 CKD car with an ugly badge…. rather save up a bit more and get the suzuki kizashi which is RM 148k and get a 2.4 CBU full spec with six airbags, traction control, ESP, leather seats (from Japan, not locally fitted), electric seats (10-way for driver with three memory settings), auto cruise, keyless entry and push start, ABS, EBD, BA and Hill Assist and even more Stereo with steering controls and USB, front/rear parking sensors, auto folding side mirrors, auto dimming rear view mirror, auto leveling HID headlamps with washer and 17-inch alloys.

Sure it’s not the same segment as the Elantra but same wheel base 2700mm and suzuki are much more reliable brand compared to Hyundai and I rather to spend RM 26k more for the Kizashi as I get a much more premium car with a nicer badge :)

• Premium on Mar 30, 2012 at 11:58 pm

dude; if u want premium go for conti..
      trust me; once u take it for a spin u wont want others
      even if u take a 10 year old conti be it e46 3 series w203 compressor.. etc u wont want others..
      the feel.. the soul.. the passion…
      go for a spin…

• Amriji on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Service also kaw-kaw “kena”….

• Pro 2 Power on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:18 pm

That is becoz u pay for passion; quality; performance.
          U pay what u get.
          Drive happily and confidently.

• I think you need to put on your reading glasses old man. It says the price for OTR is RM 111,888. Ok la, round it up to 112K. So if you minus 148 from 112, you get 36. So your figure of 26K is off by 10K.

But hey, at least I corrected you in time, so that you can allocate the correct time frame to buy the Suzuki before you shame yourself in front of your friends when you told them the car will be in your hand 1 year earlier than actual.

Oh, sorry. Did you not understand what I just typed above as well ?

• fauzi on Mar 31, 2012 at 2:22 am

Hope Sime Darby would read all these comments and make them realize that Malaysians are not fools….
    Just because a car is selling like hot cakes somewhere else that you can forced your way here at any cost is absolutely idiotic..

• Coupetron on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:22 pm

U attached to Hyundai Sime?
      printed these comment and bring to next group meeting :)

• Honestly, I own a 2011 Sonata (standard spec – 132k) and I am happy with it. If I had a lower budget, I would have bought this Elantra :)

• Pro 2 Power on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:20 pm

why didnt you go for iVtec Honda or Camry..
      their 2 L even with 4 speed yet yield performance and FC…

the ride is superior then sonata (camry 2L)..
      the engine is superior then camry/sonata (accord 2L)

also dont forget value when you want to let go

• Spec different between 1.6 Auto Std and HS are only the ESP and steering?
    worth the 5k diff??

• KL Stray Cat on Apr 01, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Checked out the car at Citta Mall. It is a good looking car. Not the best looking, mind you. It failed the back seat test as a cat over 6′ tall – there was no headroom.

• moron on Apr 01, 2012 at 3:14 pm

LOL.. same like my old gen2 in terms of rear seat headroom..

• Seem like there is a Low Rear Head Room problem in this car~

Will personally go for test drive to this Elantra before putting any further comment about this car.

• Went to a hyundai showroom near jln baru (prai, penang) yesterday. They have a unit of the elantra. Nice exterior. But the interior is not as luxury looking in comparison to those sold in the US. The unit is the 1.8 premium. Not able to test drive. The unit is for see see look look only.

• Went to Citta mall earlier the eve..
    went to sneak at the Hyundai fair..

Yes no doubt the car design is ok..
    but as u enter the car; OMG the cheap plastic being sold for over RM110K?

Due to curiosity; went for a test drive of both 1.6 and 1.8..
    OMG you got to be kidding me..

Engine sucks; roar but its a no go; car still there..
    Aiiyooo what happen to all the HP/nm/6 speeder..
    Looks like yes on paper seems kewl; but on wheel/road not so with sure claim of HP/Torque figures for both cars..

To put even worst; the suspension suck…
    Corner all roll around..
    On un even surface is a nightmare; car shake/rock all over feels like driving older version/cheaper version of hyundai..

the funny part they let you drive a Honda civic as comparative..
    WOW; what a shame action..
    yes design wise the elantra is better; but in terms of engine/ride smoothness and power band the Honda Civic is way go..

Mmmm…
    what a waste of time/effort to go there..
    ask around some other driver(s) who tested; said the same thing..
    mmmm too much expectation for such price..

like that; better still alot of other cars around with such price range as option…

• One man’s poison, is another man’s meat.

I was there, tested the 1.6A, and whatever you said, did not happen to me. If the HP/torque numbers are fake and it is advertised as such in Australia, without getting into trouble with the consumers watch group there, who made you the expert in saying the numbers are bogus ?

If you went there with low expectations in the first place, why bother wasting your time to find out if it is true, because it will be true to you. The car will sucks in your mind from the beginning.

However, I do agree with you that the price is too high in comparisons to other offerings in the market.

• No way to on Apr 01, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Wah smells and sounds like a hyundai sales man.

I came there earlier and correct like what others say here very cheap feel/poor performance.
        Dont lie to your self.
        Once buy stuck with it.
        Better regret now get other like what earlier people said here.

I dont think you know what is a 1.6 performance.

WAJA 1.6 Mitsubishi engine is also faster power/feel.
        What else if compare with Civic or Altis or Lancer.
        Or throw a Conti 308 in the leg.

• And how do you know that I am a Hyundai sales man, just by my postings. I can also say that you smell like a Proton sales man too, boy.

It was my opinion of how it felt like. I have never driven a Waja, Conti, or any other T n H offerings, and that’s why I didn’t say this is that, and that and that, and blah, blah, blah, compared to X car.

If you want to insult me, learn to write better in English. Didn’t pass your SPM English ah ?

Read the opening sentence boy. One man’s meat, is another man’s poison.

• spycam on Apr 02, 2012 at 11:41 pm

omg..smells like honda SA..affraid of losing potential customers for upcoming all new fugly boring and stereotype
          civic

• Lately Honda Car exterior looks like piece of sheeeeet~~ New Honda Civic is damn ugly~~ Before launch in Malaysia already not in consider list at all~~~

• huthut on May 26, 2012 at 8:53 pm

Don’t know what are you cooking here. You are obviously Honda fanboy. Sitting in both car, I can tell immediately the NVH of Elantra is at least 1 notch above Civic, below 3k rpm, its dead quiet, maybe just some tyre noise. Engine wise, maybe Civic “sounds” nicer, but I don’t find Elantra especially 1.8 any slower if not faster. It is such a huge improvement over the previous gen. How about Honda? Using the same old engine, same old 5 speed auto tranny and so much cost cutting for interior in 9th gen Civic. You just can’t recognize Korean is moving forward faster and faster.

• Sam Loo on Jun 09, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Smart decision. Say no to inferior quality Korean Cars (which is 100% of all Korean Cars in Bolehland)

• MLCM24 on Apr 02, 2012 at 6:24 pm

I just wondering
    CBU Cruze 1.8 with less than 100K compare
    CKD Elantra 1.8 with over 114K
    wer the 14k goes?? BN Cronies pocket again???
    These 2 car are compete toe by toe in US

• Before they launch the car in Malaysia~ I decided to buy the car~ Now I know about the car spec. and the retail price~

Conclusion is :

Car engine good~ Fuel Efficiency is good and Low~ but Sime Darby Malaysia spec. is SHEEEET~ This car definitely not worth for the price selling~ Pay RM112k only get 2 airbags really cheating our money~~ Frankly said, if Rm112k for oversea Limited model~ I will not think twice direct buy~~

This is definitely B.N noobs cheating citizens money~~ Know what~~ Wait for another 2 months after general election to see any surprise from Sime Darby or not~~ money is in our hand~~ While waiting who knows maybe other brand launch gorgeous car~~

BE A WISE CONSUMER~~

• Keyboard Warrior on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Wow so many bash2…
    So many car / brand sales man/rep here..
    Wow..

Anyway; simple;

Willing selling (sells stuff at low/hi or etc spec) and willing buyer (buy stuff even its low/hi or etc spec) then should not be a problem…

No fight2 one..
    ONE MALAYSIA what…

Not interested; dont insult; so dont buy.
    If like; so buy and live with it…

Be good; behave and play safe :)

• Just complained to Hyundai Korea regarding SD destroying Hyundai sales by cheating consumers money~ It works or not~ no idea~ At least let them know what is happening in Malaysia~

Just wait and see whether there is effect or not~

• jerry tan on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:58 pm

price purposely raise in order to give P. Preve a chance to survived. Cant even match K.Forte, how to match the new Elantra?

• I just went for the test drive~~ This car everything good except the rear seat~~ my height 175cm sit at rear seat~ head hit car roof and cannot lay on the seat~~

Lucky did not make booking otherwise will be very regret~~ Sorry to be honest~ Elantra not suitable For me~~

Will look for other car~~~ any good car around Rm110k??

• huthut on May 26, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Is your sitting position got problem or what? Seldom see American complain about this despite they are typically taller than Asian. Sometimes it’s give and take, have to sacrifice some headroom for a Coupe like shape. You want headroom can always take a Preve anyway, turbo somemore.

• Sam Loo on Jun 09, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Smart move, you would have regretted buying a Korean.

I made that mistake. So glad that you did not

• Test driven the car yesterday, 1.8 spec. I feel this car is over-rated. I also test driven Forte 2.0 a couple days ago and it feels much more nicer than MD especially going through uneven road and bumps… and also the smooth power delivery on Forte. I think the only things that Forte lost out to MD are its tyre (silverstone-noisy) and its look. I will put my money down on Forte… in terms of its look, can mod a bit to make it looks nicer and tyre can be changed to quiet ones… all this will be a lot less than 115,888…. and don’t say i’m trying to sell Forte here as I’m a 2007 H City owner… peaceeee…

• Forteowner on Apr 27, 2012 at 11:56 am

The latest came with Silverstone and you can upgarde to better rubber
      my first batch came with Kumho and being using for 2.5 years ,mileage @ approx 120K everything still intact and bar far the most value for money purchase..
      welcome fortezen

• huthut on May 26, 2012 at 8:17 pm

No point comparing 2.0 with 1.8. Elantra 1.8 is meant for fuel efficiency and smooth drive. Go to FB elantra club you will be surprised some 1.8 owner can score as low as 5-6L/100km during highway drive.

• bongeks on Apr 11, 2012 at 9:44 pm

stupid pricing!! Ingat jual kereta mcm jual minyak sawit ke?

• jaraju on Apr 20, 2012 at 5:22 pm

I think the price is high because of 5 year/300,000KM warranty.

• Sam Loo on Jun 09, 2012 at 1:54 pm

KImchi Warranty is as good as none.

My Kia’s catalytic converter died and Naza said not included. Costs more than RM3K to change.

So I went to a tepi sungai exhaust shop where the uncle replaced the cat with a straight thru. Lucky the kia only had 1 NOx sensor, so the check engine light did not light up.

• Better buy this elantra rather than buying those stupid Dugong TRD almost rm100k FOR JUST stupid accessories.

• back to the facts on May 05, 2012 at 1:00 pm

i dont know why people want to be so personal in comments
    abit of disagreements u start saying people’s brain stupid, kuku and start to blame and pity their parents
    im sure all who has reach to IT and knows how to assess the internet are all educated
    so talk nicely lah
    my point of view of this car …. definitely looks nice
    haven’t test drive it yet, 1 look you cannot determine whether its fair or overpriced
    i really like sunroof ….. too bad only the premium variant has sunroof
    they should have it in all the variants… it’s definitely a selling point there
    there is no point discussing the AP, cronies, politics when buying a car …you have the catalogs on the table and the specs and choices on hand, after a big round of complaints and argument, the price is the same the nex day u go into the showroom.
    to make changes to all these, you should go register as a voter and make your changes with action.
    back to the show room, we should test drive and give all the brand an equal chance, look at the specs and the price you pay, then decide which one to buy
    all and all… i think its a nice car. gotta test drive to know. .

• mikey on May 23, 2012 at 2:39 am

I think Sime Darby will have much greater success if it is priced a little lower.
    Not saying it is a bad car. It looks nice but… at 92-97k for a 1.6L INOKOM car!

you have many other contenders…. Mazda 3, VW Polo Sedan, Toyota Altis 1.6, Kia Forte

i suggest that people should just be patient and wait….

SD may throw in some good discounts soon when they realize their stylish car is under-performing in sales numbers

• Sam Loo on Jun 09, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Because all Korean Cars have poor resale value.

I was a Kia Owner before. The car fell apart to condemn state after 150,000kms

• huthut on May 26, 2012 at 8:14 pm

Wow, so many negative comments ! If you think nobody gonna buy the elantra then you are completely wrong. I booked mine before launch and my queue no is 1051. Haters gonna hate anyway :)

• Sam Loo on Jun 09, 2012 at 1:49 pm

These numbers are artificially inflated to give the public a false sense of demand

• NazMin on May 31, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Dear civilize people, please think positive and comment nicely, there’s no perfect things in this world especially when its created by a non-perfect beings like human, even the finest car in the world would never get everybody interest in it…the rule is quite simple, hensome purse + you feel proud when sitting in it = just get the fucking car out of showroom!!!, haiz sometimes I just don’t understand poeple, maybe they want a car from heaven or what…if you like you buy, if not get your ass moving, simple logic…

• spongy on Jun 04, 2012 at 11:05 am

its useless to talk about the price before tax because its fact we cant avoid. no matter how cheap a korean or jap in other countries, but this is bolehland. so lets face it.

owning a civic 2010 and i felt the rattle from day one I took the car. funny, dont remember hearing that in my test drive. until now, it cant be fixed after numerous attempts. crap accessories? my civic got 0 accessories, and engine noise and road noise are loud. i sometimes feel cheated because of the rave reviews on this car before i bought it. are these people not telling the truth? or maybe im just unlucky.. well.

my dad owned a passat 2012 and talking about cheap plastic, it squeaks when you gently press on the dashboard and rattles from day one. went to the SC and claimed its like that, its just some cars took longer to hear these rattles. its a CBU. the rear seat is not high too and I have to becareful to crawl in everytime. its almost the same with beemer 3 series. judging the car by the rear seat height? maybe its just not suitable for some, there is nothing wrong with the car. I never sit the back seat anyway, so it doesnt really concern me.

maybe you guys expected too much from a korean, or are just anti-korean cars. my sister just got her 1.6 high spec elantra 2 weeks ago, and there are no squeaks or rattles and its reasonably quiet to-date. performance is average. what else would i expect? luxury from a 100k car? my civic is not luxury either, passat is another league altogether. its not perfect, but its definitely a decent car. at least its not boring.

• Dick-Shaped-Inokom-Logo on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:05 pm

In Apa-Pun-Bolehland:
    Korean cars > Naza or Inokom
    Japanese cars > Toyota Indon, Honda Melaka/ Thailand, Potong Inspira
    1Malaysia boleh!…. Boleh blah!

• Sam Loo on Jun 09, 2012 at 1:48 pm

But these Korean Cars have so poor RV that one is almost forced to use to for 10 years.

I will stay away from Kimchis at all cost

• Because of that ugly logo, I have decided not to buy it. If it was the Hyundai logo then yes. Sorry to say.

• Gan TY on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:55 pm

All cars in this website got negative comments i guess. no matter it is honda toyota p1 etc.. none of the cars is worth of buying if u read all the comments!

• huthut, regarding the rear headroom~ Many western directly admited low~~ After I did some survey with other brand of cars~~ currently many cars have such issue due to achieve stylish look~

Honestly, The price for the Inokom lame logo is not worth~~ Anyway I booked the car~ once I get it~ I will replace it with Hyundai Logo :) Kekekekekeke

• i don’t think there’s any car which is worth buying…no perfect car..for me…im gonna go with either mazda 3 or elantra….resale value??? my 2 cents is any car will also drop in its resale value…and my point is im gonna use that car for more than 5 years…if u guys are arguing about resale value…pls advise me which car won’t drop in its resale value? i wanna know …car below 100k..

• When talk about second value of this car~~ Base on my perspective~ I believe this car have high second value~ This engine is very advance and fuel efficient~

At the moment fuel efficient car only Toyota Altis is the competitor~

Altis – Good Gear Box 7 speed, higher price and car launched quite some time, buyer may face big lost due to new model may launch soon.

Elantra – Gear Box 6 speed~ new model~ interior and safety features is more than Altis. Newly launch not facing new model launch threat.

Any cars you plan to use more than 5 years second value is low because threat from own company launch new models.

I am not Hyundai Seller or Workers~ This is my own perspective~ Correct me if there is incorrect.

Thanks.

• I’m the last person to comment abt my precious ELANTRA 6 SPEED MANUAL VROOOOOOOOOOOOM

• Hyundai really have great cars. I own a Avante, great car.

However HSDM pitch of 3years or 500,000km warranty is not real.

My Avante develop noise in engine a few months from new. HSDM did their best. Today it is still making noise.

HSDM refuse to rectify the problem stating the warranty expired at 60,000km and the extended waranty is not granted because I missed a scheduled service.

This is despite having made all the required service except for the 5,000km service.

I felt cheated by HDSM.

• i saw hyundai elantra (white one and clear blue one)few days ago.. and i was totally fell over it. the car was damn nice! especially the clear blue one. so i did search it to see the price.. reading all the comments, now i think i’m not going to buy this car.. i better just stick with my toyota… =)

• Naturize on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:02 am

All bros, dont bring car issue to politic issue. Myself think that this car is pretty, but price abit expensive, under power as well. Badge for car can change, not an issue, but CKD, price should mark down, like Mazda. Correct me if i’m wrong. TQ.

• Ben Anthony on Oct 21, 2013 at 11:07 pm

I own Elantra but I so proud of it. I hate Proton. They r cheap!

• Buster on Dec 26, 2013 at 11:31 pm

Well, well ,well. Conclude so many comment here and I got one statement now. There is , if This Hyundai Elantra MD was placed at T & H logo, I am sure the comment here are more positive than negative, believe me? Unfortunately, same H but italic H, I wonder why different luck although from same H alphabet.

Secondly, Resell value. I think you never know that, when government want to implement to scrap more than 12 years old car, who is the one against this government idea? You know, I know. Because, if this system implemented, I am sure you not need border about 2nd hand value. Even if not, you think you can sell exactly what you see the 2nd hand price in the second hand car dealer page? Don’t dream too much my friend, you think second hand card dealer not need to eat meh? Hence, when you see your Vios, Civic what ever price in second hand car dealer page, don’t think you got the same price when you sell your car. For example, a 2009 Vios price at RM55k, when you sell to dealer you got only RM45k. This is how second hand dealer earn money when they sell 2009 vios in the higher price, understand? Only you can sell same price if you directly sell to other owner la…make sure he won’t drive your car away without paying anything, because is so called “famous ” car. Don’t you find that, Vios, Civic , Camry those you guy think famous cars are easily get stolen?

Same thing on Korean Car, sell you a cheaper price, of course with poor second hand value. You pay RM80k buy a 1.6L forte, drive about 3- 4 years, of course car depreciate about RM50k compare with same price range with Vios, while Vios at least RM60k or above. But problem is, Forte is justifying with “local make” car hence got a tax exemption as well. Otherwise, you already pay RM110k above to buy Forte, then your car depreciation value will be same as Nissan Sylphy.

Some people mention the car maintenance is higher than T, H, N. While, I use to own T &H and myself drive a new Honda City. Still I pay average maintenance around RM300-RM400 compare my brother who own Elantra X20 but average maintenance only RM150-RM280. Can I say New Honda City maintenance is higher than Elantra X20? If you really take care your car, you car will less problem, of course you not need spend big money to repair your car lo. Sorry to say, I willing to make my car in well condition, hence I spend more money for every service, although I complains some time. So don’t make those miss leading conclusion on a car maintenance, because Malaysian ppl have a very good fortunate, got service center to serve your car not like Australia, USA ppl use to DIY their car. But still Malaysian ppl lazy to send their car for normal service, when car got problem, just blame the car la..easy than you spend money.

But I can’t understand, when their T&H got problem, they just keep quite and pretend to dunno. Then they sell the car and buy new one lo (wah! I doubt Malaysian actually got a lot of rich ppl one, otherwise why no one complain for a hike price). No wonder, I find all 2nd hand T&H are koya one but selling at higher price leh. And some more, those sell car also willing to lose some money. That’s why I say, T&H logo will make your car different. I need to propose to Naza, Sime Darby Hyundai next time put T&H logo in the car, sure your selling will be a top at a month. Between that, I do see ppl complain to T&H, guess what? recall your car, check here check that, and problem still exists. And recall and recall, still got problem. Some even quarrel with HQ, also no use what..you tot only happen in Proton show room, but it do happen in those foreigner car show room, even are T & H. some HQ not even border your complain, you buy a defect car, is your own fault. This is what I can only say. Lucky I am not buying a defect car, otherwise, I will disconnect any future car with H except an italic H.

Lastly, talking about fuel saving. Some ppl still think Hyundai use old engine than last time hence fuel efficient is high. I do see ppl comment about FB club record can hit 5.6L/100km. Before I come to this, let me ask you, you try to hard accelerate your Toyota Wish every day, see whether you still can meet your expect fuel efficiency ? If yes, I prefer Paul Tan next time just introduce Wish should be enough, because people want high performance and low fuel efficient. But this only happen in your dream, and if you don’t believe, do a same thing with DVVTI Altis 1.8L, but of course, your CVT gearbox will “kong” first before you see your fuel efficient record. Hence, if you understand this theory, you will not simply blame your car fuel efficient problem. I tell people I can make it my last wira fuel efficient record same as my Honda City, a lot of also dun believe me, but I make it!!! Well, come back to why Hyundai MD Elantra can make it 5.6L/100km? Because it is DCVVT engine, same theory like DVVTI engine, this engine design for environment friendly and good fuel efficient. Bear in mind, the latest Mazda3 with Skyactive, new Nissan Sylphy will also come with DCVCT similar to DVVT technology. You will have more option in future.

Alright, whether you like it or not, I leave it to you. But please don’t score me bad word la, I know a lot of bad heart ppl here, because he always hope ppl car break down on the road. I think I really need to send him to check a brain whether he got mentally problem or what, otherwise, send him to Buddhist school become short term monk is another option.

And before I quit this war, let me say another comment you may not like it but please accept it: When you guy praise or criticize a car, don’t forget this, after this, you still need to pay an expensive installment for your car loan, take your car for “medical check out” and let your car drink petrol and you find half of your salary is gone…no matter what car you drive.