Hyundai launches all new Avante in South Korea!

Just days after launching the brand new Accent in Beijing Hyundai has now unveiled the latest generation Avante or Elantra at the Busan International Motor Show in Korea. Just like other latest offerings from Hyundai the Avante has received the company’s “fluidic sculpture” design language and it looks very good! Definitely much better than the outgoing one.

Among others the new Avante comes with features such as HID headlights, LED taillights along with a TFT LCD information display screen in the instrument panel. It even has heated rear seats.

According to the rather short press release power comes from the company’s latest 1.6 litre Gamma gasoline engine with direct injection. Power output is figured at 138hp while offering 166Nm of torque. This engine also features Dual Continuously Variable Valve Timing and a Variable Induction System.

It is mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission which makes this Hyundai’s first GDI engine that is paired with a 6-speeder on a compact sedan. Continue reading to check out some launch photos. Unfortunately there are no images of the interior at the moment.

There is also a short preview animation of the new Avante.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1090]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• _xXx_ on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:48 am

Fugly! Sawi looks way nicer!

• endre on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:29 pm

Sour Grape tasty, Right?

• Felix on May 09, 2010 at 1:02 pm

heater in rear seat? malaysia is hot enough d, should come with water cooling system integrated in all the seats

• _yYy_ on May 01, 2010 at 3:51 pm

poor chap, work harder, you may be able to afford one in the future, far far away…

• exlive3 on May 02, 2010 at 12:56 am

i like the design…two thumbs up,,,really nice curve, better then women i bet…lol

• Eamat on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:45 am

I have looked the all new Avante 2011 at KLIM. NICE design. Hope the price is less than RM100K

• LiEpaiH on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:52 am

Wow!!

• Bye..bye…H & T…

• Not just Honda, Toyota, Ford, Mazda, Mitsubishi & our bolehland Proton, sure all da pao.

• _yYy_ on May 01, 2010 at 3:52 pm

KIA as well

• alldisc on May 01, 2010 at 7:21 pm

why kia, when they basically share models with parent hyundai.

example is

tucson = sportage

sonata = optima

i30 = ceed

• _yYy_ on May 02, 2010 at 11:29 am

at similar price range, avante is going to eat up forte’s market. Seriously, you want a naza forte? or a hyundai avante?
            Jap car supporters will still have their head strong, sub 60k buyer will stick to P1 and P2, the first impact will definitely hit KIA in Malaysia.

• CocoBear on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:58 am

This is one of the few moments when cars look more attractive than women. Thumbs up for our future Elantra!

• xenogearz on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:58 am

nice design…melikes!

• subhero on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:02 am

oklah.. not bad.. not bad also give to the “white” seksis standing beside the car

• But the jean gal and nerd guy very terrible.. i need eye bleach…

• Cantik….. and powerful. 1.6 @ 138hp!!!

The Koreans really move forward, fast.

• Habib on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:43 am

Sadly… We won’t get this GDI Engine in Malaysia due to our fuel grade (Euro2)… Maybe our grand grand children will get the taste of Euro5 (Maybe when that time comes, the rest of the world is already Euro 20)…. Many thanks to the government!!! … peace be upon you

• seat-belt on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:22 am

if gov upgrade the fuel to euro5, are u willing to pay the price?
        maybe u can, but how about the others? the majority will wins.

• Habib on Apr 30, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Upgrading the fuel is a small price to pay, considering the huge impact on the environment (It’ll effect to our grand grand children generation). Many of us, especially government don’t consider this as a priority if compared to the rest of the world. Just food for though… save more money OR save the earth… which is more important?

• profiler on Apr 30, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Yo Habib… agree with you that we need to play our role to save the earth but whats the point if you spend most of your income for fuel and let your family starving?
            please be minded we are not high income nation….. we might have numbers of high income companies but not high income people

• cari makan susah la…

• Tezza on May 01, 2010 at 11:10 am

Seat belt Profiler:

It’s seems that u both totally absurd on how much more frugal for using the diesel powered engine…the inferior grade of our diesel here is the true blemish that repressed us to achieve better economical fuel effiency as well as the greener enviroment…If u dont know anything much,please do keep updated urself with the outside world..Time to break the mold…

• DenFire on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:58 am

Hi there, GDI engine — > Gasoline Direct Injection engine, it used petrol instead of diesel.

• Squawk on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Our petrol quality also not so suitable for GDI engines.

• DenFire on Apr 30, 2010 at 2:47 pm

Hohoho, by the way, Theta II engine in this baby I’m also love it, just the car price matters for me the most..:D

• autojohndoe (Member) on Apr 30, 2010 at 3:14 pm

the, who’s petrol suitable for GDI?

if petrol cannot be used for Gasoline Direct injection, why the hell ppl invent Gasoline Engine?

is there PDI? Petrol Direct Injection? haha…

• hawking on May 01, 2010 at 3:09 am

Hyundai just needs to detune there GDI engines to adapt Malaysia’s low quality Euro2.5 petrol.
            Similar to detuned Alfa Romeo JTS engine, Volkswagen/Audi FSI engine runs on local petrol with slightly lower power output.

• alldisc on May 01, 2010 at 7:26 pm

some grey examples of Camry D4 and Wish D4 were brought into Malaysia but engine performance suffered due to low quality of petrol grade. its likely proven direct injection petrol engines are not suitable in malaysia. i am not sure about VW’s Fuel Stratified Injecton, which is also direct injection and how VW overcome the problem.

• kazos on May 02, 2010 at 10:21 am

wahai orang-orang proton& perodua R&D. tak rasa tercabar ke ? sahut cabaran tu… jangan tak sahut… belajarlah daripada Hyundai & KIA.

• perodua is doing ok, rebatching and learning from toyota.

ask proton how’s the mitsu lancer they are rebatching? done already?

• wow…nice curvy lines…good design…

• omahabojan on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:03 am

Nice!!

• Ronaldo on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:07 am

wow nice car and nice gal……..

• lowprofile on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:09 am

looks pretty good. in comparison to its clost relative, this is more curvy while the forte displays more chiseled lines. both are pretty good efforts to me though.

• koreankia on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:10 am

this is very nice…….. wow, dual CVVT, same as Sonata thn…. when it gonna launch in msia?

• its gdi bole la…

• Walao.. Nice Exterior Design and Powerful 1.6 Engine!!!

• sph-utm on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:19 am

very impressive.. i like this car.. but sure the price is expensive. hehe… cannot afford lor..
    if below than 70k maybe i’ll grab one .. n maybe for next 3 year..

• mystvearn on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:22 am

FIrst time I wanted a Korean car. LOL

Damm beautiful

• Eh? Normally I would respond to any Korean models with much hatred but I am feeling for this Elantra. Looks even propotionate than Sonata YF.

And the GDI engine is cool!

• meteoraniac on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:28 am

the back has lexus us350 written all over it ..

• normal_user on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:33 am

It looks like a concept car… and I cant believe its production ready.
    Well done Hyundai!

• Neo.S on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:48 am

Nice design indeed and good power too …….but hmmm wonder how the handling ? find one day to go test drive

• wow … i want one!!!

• kopi-man on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:53 am

now this is serious shxt to challenge City/Vios or even Civi/Altis.

They should price lower than 100K to stand a fight or else…bye bye. waste time also.

• budin on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:55 am

i m having a 2nd thoughts rite now.. either upgrade my ride to kia forte or this new avante/elantra…but dunno when this avante/elantra launch in Malaysia..

• JULIAN LOO on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:18 am

avante! avante! avante! avante! avante!

• avante…avante…wait for a while bro….at least hyundai SD had better after sales compared to NAZA….and the 5 years warranty/300,000km ..worry free motoring

• kimi_ on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:19 am

This ELANTRA will priced higher than Forte bcoz it is compete with civic and altis…

Get a ACCENT/VERNA instead of the STUPID NAZA…. ACCENT may be priced lower than

Forte too…..KEEP WAITING and dont buy IDIOT NAZA forte first !!!!!

• geekfiredog on Apr 30, 2010 at 2:39 pm

Elantra / Avante and Forte are same class with Civic & Altis – all these cars are in C-segment. In fact Avante and Forte are build on the same platform.

BTW, you shouldn’t compare 2011 Avante with current the Forte currently available in Malaysia – 2011 Avante is the one generation newer than the current Forte.

• why “stupid naza, idiot naza” ?

• ahmad on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:26 pm

king, normal lahh..this is one kind of stupid and idiot comment from half past six person..typical un-educated reader who act like a smart guy.

• selekohboi on May 01, 2010 at 10:44 am

grow up la, it’s free country (atlis in paultan.org) ppl can komen wat they think is appropriate, maybe it’s their true feelings & experiences. as a matter of fact, tats y ur ready this posting anyway rite. cheerio !!!

• Mad Cat on May 02, 2010 at 6:04 am

He’s trying to get sued for defamation.

• J@CK LIM on Nov 09, 2010 at 2:53 pm

then u should get Proton inspira… for smart guys
          huh!!?
          Dun compare older korean vehicle to now… Much more different in term exterior and interior …
          Kia Hyundai way to go =)

• barry on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:57 am

T & H are probably shitting bricks now. The Forte is creeping up behind Civic, in terms of sales, and now we the Avante. Just hope that SD guys are not that stupid as to price it out of the market, just like what they are doing now with the Tucson and Sonata.

• Rambo Ramsey on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:51 am

I second you! My interest in Tucson died down knowing the price is a little steep on the lowest spec range (TCO doesnt give good remarks). Hope this new Elantra with 6 speeder and 138 hp can do the damage towards the Jap C segment and I’ll be able to contribute to its sales!

• I agree! I was eying on Tucson and anticipate the prices to be more attractive, but what a disappointment after the soft launch in the showroom 2 days ago. If only the price of 2.0L High Spec is a RM10K lower and come equipped with auto cruise control, I would have placed my booking right away that day.

Alternatively, looks like this new Avante will be my next choice, and hope not be priced out of what I prepared to pay, same price or slightly higher than Naza Forte is acceptable.

SD, please don’t screw up in your pricing this time. Go for volume and not just large profit. By lowering the prices, the brand name will be established and volume will go up, hence profit will too.

• ahmad on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:35 pm

SD never learnt from their past mistake and keep repeating “pasar malam” business style..just like i10, i30 and so on..they thought their models are so popular and they just simply hantam the price..quick rich mentality. but at the end, they lelong their cars by lowering the price like selling near expiry date goods.

Anyway, Hyundai on par now with H,T and N. Please SD, be reasonable..

• selekohboi on May 01, 2010 at 10:52 am

T-H have nothing to fear my fren. Hw much is Forte selling anyway? Time will tell. Believe me I’m a true lover of open market & competetiveness. But as the mentioned what they did Tucson, i’series = overwhelming komen make SD felt theircar do worth the price, rather than conquering the market 1st. so it’s gonna be another sad waiting, as i think it definately wont be any cheaper than ~rm110k = what would ppl chose then !?

• Scuddie on May 02, 2010 at 1:28 am

Muahahhha….another T or H eye washing salesman founded at here…What a neccesary good responding of u…got milk? What would people choose then?! phew….

• kimi_ on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:58 am

The rear looks like a LEXUS….

• Peter on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:00 am

Wow, new 1.6l engine mated to 138hp and its a 6-speed auto transmission?

Very very good…

Expect this to flood the cities of the Malaysia if the pricing is right…

Also, have i also forgot to mention that the previous generation of the Avante is voted the best selling car in Singapore last year?

Hope it will be the same for Singapore and Malaysia this year……

Not sure when this will arrive….

Maybe it will arrive next year or so…..

• DenFire on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:01 am

A nice car indeed, much more better looking then the current 1, hopefully it can enter to our shore with good pricing and great spec, just like the forte<– My current favourite..
    Good job for the Kimchi…

• I though the current elantra was only lauched like 3 years ago, why so fast another new elantra coming out?

• Ronaldo on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:28 am

elentra was introduce in singapore almost 2 years b4 it came to Malaysia.so 2+3 = 5 years lol………….

• trav_da_man on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:08 am

This is the Korean car that i actually wants!!!!!

• kimi_ on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:15 am

The side view of the car especialy FRONT like Mazda which is roundish and bulky…….

I will buy the new ACCENT/VERNA anyway which is cheaper, and prefer the front design of it than this one!!!

Overall i prefer this CURVY design of Hyundai than KIA which are more straight line and outdated ery fast compared to curvy hyundai….AND NO NEED CARRIED STUPID AWFUL UGLY IDIOTIC NAZA badge

• didnt expect this at all! My God, its beautiful!

• klguy on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:26 am

car looks big. do you guys think the 1.6L will be a bit underpowered for this car?

• _xXx_ on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:50 am

didn’t u notice high power output from the engine? This is what ppl want

• klguy on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:35 pm

yea i noticed tat. the power output is taken with the engine stand alone or as a whole car? take the mini cooper and pug 308 for e.g. both uses same engine. i mayb wrong.

• xenogearz on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:29 am

could have come up with better rim design I guess…

• akupunya on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:31 am

why no interior shots?
    is that a concept car or launching the car?

the glasses were blacked cover.
    tak siap ka kereta ni?

• eisyam on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:31 am

damn………it nicer than forte……….if the price around rm75k for the same basic spec like forte…i’ll choose this one

• odi862 on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:34 am

Very nice looking…..If the Forte 1.6 priced at around 80k, this one maybe around 90k. It depends on the specs offered…..the more the better the sales will be.

• The should rename as i35 sedan come with turbodiesel and no Japs manufacturer can react. Don’t repeat i30/ix35 Tucson pricing- don’t pretend Korean on par with the Japs yet. The after sales is not up to the Japs standard yet, at least for now.

Bring diesel SD (or SD just reserved turbodiesel for Ford lineups?).

• selekohboi on May 01, 2010 at 11:09 am

check out for picture hyundai 145 (sedan), in Singapore. It’s another WOW !!!

• dexter on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:41 am

nice, cun, beauty,

• Honda and Toyota had to better improve themselves , else they would be overtaken by Kia’s and Hyundai’s. H and T could actually do it, if they really put effort into making they automotive industry a success like the Korean’s

• I must say, this is far better looking than the Forte. Forte was so overrated for it looks.

• Scuddie on May 02, 2010 at 1:19 am

Oh yes,for what i’m thinking the forte looks is just rather ordinary…nothing so much to be highlighted and shout about in fact… To be fair enough,it’s no greater than lancer gt,sylphy,mazda 3,needless to say the current honda civic…

• kabalotak on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:55 am

Korean Kozilla!!
    Pls don’t compare Sawi with this. Sawi is in a class of it’s own…The Malaysian 2nd All-time Fugly Car Hell Of Frame^^
    Note: The No.1 All-time Fugly Car Hell Of Frame is Potong Juara hehe^^

• lkf0512 on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:55 am

Two thumbs up for the hot models…;)

• HONDAN on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:56 am

Beautiful car with advance tech.
    But come to SD hand, the price will be………..mmmm.
    Greedy SD priced the Tucson, I30 way above Kia Forte

• Damn… i just pissed in my pants :].. love at first sight.. i would love to see this in metal

• mazda mps is a stoopid guy on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:09 am

now I torn between this or fiesta…both have uncanny spec!

• Btw.. where are the interior shoots? nothing like seeing the inside when i have been drooling on the beauty of this sexy machine.

• I’m speecheless. The exterior design is indeed excellent. Beautifully strong lines and unsubtle but in a friendly sort of way. Similar kind of “wow” effect that it had on me when the current Hond Civic (Asian/US market) was firstly introduced…But perhaps this could be Hyundai’s response to the new Honda Civic to be launched by year end..I’m expecting a more “wow” design fromHonda too.

• xenogearz on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:27 pm

new Honda Civic to be launched by year end?

• Habib on Apr 30, 2010 at 3:03 pm

Nope, not by this year. The new Honda Civic (code name 2HC) will be mass produced (CKD) by Honda Malaysia Nov’11 tentatively

• paultan fan on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:21 am

nice look. like it dam much. bila mau masuk ini bolehland

• g-spot on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:23 am

ok-ok lah….

• g-spot on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:24 am

the body looks like city.

• Mazda3 2010 on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:24 am

is it jus me or is this car had a lot of other car brand design cues writtten all over it? front ‘braces’ from a honda insight, front lower grille from honda city, front fog light and flair arch from a peugeot 308. Even then the hood in front connecting to the A-pillar resembles those found in a mazda3 2010. The back end of the car does carries a slight of lexus design cues tho. haha.

• Alanore Chong on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:30 am

Very nice exterior.
    Again it all depends on the price, If SD is not stupied & greedy, then it is time-up for the Japanese in our bolehland…

• vbkcheng on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:31 am

Well, Hyundai has the best exterior look in all B, C & D segment. Even the SUV also taupau the jaapanese make…

Next, I will wait for Sonata to test the hadnling and engine respond before I could 100% sure that kimchi will hit Sushi…

• Oh my god, finally seen it… just got my avante last year… change it after 5yrs..!! :-)

• izit same platform with kia forte? impress!!

• I think the new Accent will come in with 1.6 engine and priced around RM60-70k. Current Elantra is sold at RM93k so that means Avante will come in as 2.0 spec within the range of, what, RM90-100k?

• inderaloka on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:42 am

Gorgeous! I want one!!

• inderaloka on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:46 am

I want this car! I really meant it! Korean car is making their way!! Congratulations!!

• KaiMun on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:47 am

Wow!!! The design is much better than Forte!!! but again, Korean’s Product…
    Forte = Korean Audi ;
    Avante = Korean Honda Accord (Front) + Honda Civic (Rear)
    = Korean Accivic
    But no doubt the design is nice…
    138hp/16.6 for 1.6 is sweet tough…
    Wondering how much they wanna make up in malaysian market…

• ye aung moe on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:40 pm

No,if you look at the car clearly,it shares nothing with Honda civic and accord. please don”t accuse Hyundai of copying just because hyundai is relatively young and a new player. Hyundai clearly knows that they need to differentiate themselves in oder to overtkae Toyota and Honda. They are not foolish enough to copy. in fact,their designs are so unique and attractive that I wonder why toyota and honda cannot do the same. i would go to the extent of saying that Hyundai has brutally beaten toyota and honda in design race.Please give more thought to how Hyundai became so popular without first saying that hyundai cars are copycats.

• Scuddie on May 02, 2010 at 1:10 am

Lol….the km that above u seems very grape-taste sour alike T or H salesman…talking incoherently here..what a pitty cat ..

• sonata, accent and now avante. great job in designs although very similar. well done senget H. straight H and T better come out with better designs b4 its too late. dun try to impress ppl with funny designs. eg. freed

• pablopabla on Apr 30, 2010 at 12:17 pm

That’s it. Based on the recent launches from Korea, I’d say they have overtaken the Japs on car aesthethics! Now, if only our importers would flood the market with them at competitive prices, that’s give the Japanese cars a good run for their market share.

• Squawk on Apr 30, 2010 at 12:59 pm

My perception to Korean cars changed when I test drove the Elantra 2.0 that’s selling now. Great value. Except for the light electric power steering, it rode better than the Altis and is in the Vios price range.

• redwings on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:00 pm

With superb specs and affortable price.. i still don’t know why this can’t sell well…
    Hope Sime will still give 5yrs warranty on this babe..

• dudenye on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:03 pm

really like the rear headlights…looks like sexy eyes staring at your face…=9

• c14man on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:25 pm

Handsome!

• shawal on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Its a tough niche to compete in , with corolla and civic being highly desirable cars , but im sure dis car got whut it takes to compete…

• If based on the current avante, its pricing would be in between City/Vios to Civic/Altis….say around 95k-100k would be a good alternative

• DenFire on Apr 30, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Frankly speaking, Civic is desirable for me. But for corolla altis, to me it is just an ugly overpriced car. Not desirable at all.

• Lawrence Lim on Apr 30, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Stunning design! Inspired by Korean’s spirit “Never Say Die”!

• tokmoh on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Never Say Die…? Where did that come from?

IMHO, it comes from Koreans’ favourite game.

En Taro Tassadar!!

• wah.. the red one looks evil! Nice lol.. bila mao masuk Malaysia.. cepat3.. ;)

• mat korea on Apr 30, 2010 at 2:41 pm

just cancel off my forte booking. i’ll wait for this avante. Hope can be launched as earlly as next year. 1.6 with 166 Nm torque… WOW!!! Plus six-speed auto mmmmyummie. Bravo Hyundai.

So Proton…how your Waja replacement… can makan this ahh???

• tokmoh on May 01, 2010 at 12:10 pm

Of cuz can, if and only if Proton leveraged its origin of being Lancer rebadge a lot. Msians are suckers for Jap cars.

• Martin on May 01, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Any idea when the Waja replacement will be available?

• alldisc on May 01, 2010 at 7:37 pm

new Waja Q4 2010. 1.6 and 1.8 price expected around 70-85K

or search in this website for more info.

• Scuddie on May 02, 2010 at 12:58 am

Hahah…yea bro..Gen 2 ady tapau Civic and lancer gt kaw kaw lah by any standard of the world e-coty…It’s a “prominently global car” …Fuyoh…

• Scuddie on May 02, 2010 at 1:01 am

Hahah…yea bro tokmoh..Gen 2 ady tapau Civic and lancer gt kaw kaw lah by any standard of the world e-coty…It’s a “prominently global car” …Fuyoh…

• DKBOSS on Apr 30, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Really nice design, car looks awesome, front has some similarities to a Civic and the back has a little Camry/Lexus look going on. But overall, engine specifications looks really good and hopefully the car will be available in Malaysia soon with good and sensible pricing. Can’t wait to see the interior, hopefully Paul will be able to get some shots of the interior later on and some reviews on the car itself.

• Samsom on Apr 30, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Fuyoh!!! pretty babe!!!

• hyundai used to be a bad car years ago. now look what they have done! Proton will always be the same. No matter how many decades.

• Gajen on Apr 30, 2010 at 3:32 pm

i just cant wait for the next generation of toyotas and hondas…i want to see if they can be better than this because the koreans are seriously improving…verynice design

• World top 5 automakers is indeed not coincident without Hyundai-Kia strong credentials. Only INTERIOR (beside brand of course) can’t match European or Japanese.

Give the RM90K+- this car will rocks provided SD-Hyundai add more 3S in major cities in Peninsular. Its mind boggling to see government agencies using a lot of T Fortuner brand when more modern and more economical, advance engine as well as reasonable pricing Santa Fe ignored by these agencies. They should be more sensible when it come to purchase as 2.7V old engine is gas guzzler.

MORAL: Immoral to banking on the brand per se when the product not on par with less fancy Hyundai brand. Thus, really perception made the difference.

• luvMazda3 on Apr 30, 2010 at 3:38 pm

huhh…. shud i cancel my mazda3 booking and wait for this???
    does anyone know when this car will be here?

• mufasa on Apr 30, 2010 at 6:20 pm

no body know.. if u keep waiting…then endup u will buy nothing babe… new car keep coming and they become more and more attractive… but why mazda3? hehe…kasi panas skit

• luvMazda3 on May 01, 2010 at 11:47 am

you’re rite bro. but at least if i know the price and launching date if not too long from now, I would rather wait..

why Mazda3?? coz I personally think it’s better than too common and boring civic,,, and honda don’t have the hatchback.. Mazda3 hatchback is really cool.. but not the price…
        just waiting for the delivery end of june but dun mind to forfeit the 1K booking deposit if this car really worth the price..

• alldisc on May 01, 2010 at 7:40 pm

all honda civic models (SH4, SO4, S5A, FD) have their equivalent 3dr and 5 dr hatchback models. hatches are very popular in UK but not here when sedans are more preferred.

• cyc3488 on Apr 30, 2010 at 3:54 pm

it’s this concept car or real deal?.. it’s look very stylish!

• Maserati on Apr 30, 2010 at 4:00 pm

Wow , do the Koreans hv some spys in jap company? This elantra looks mindblowingly cun! If the pricing is right , this is gonna sell like hot cakes.

• alldisc on May 01, 2010 at 7:52 pm

they dont need to have spies to have the upper hand agains the japs. passion and inspirations will do. combined with technologies knowhow and voila – the new hyundai line-ups. sonata, tuscon, avante and elantra

• Ghost on Apr 30, 2010 at 4:04 pm

I dont understand why hyundai malaysia refuse to bring this new hyundai car to malaysia. Even in vietnam where i lived now the hyundai distributor imported new genesis coupe with 2.0liter turbo engine and the fuel grade in vietnam its either ron92 or ron 95 and no issue here. Not to mentioned the new cayenne just launched month ago and theres even few bentlys and supercar ie ferrari & lambo as well.
    So how come hyundai malaysia refuse to import the new model with powerful engines to Malaysia?????

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 30, 2010 at 4:05 pm

overall better than forte…engine,gearbox already tapau forte kaw kaw

• geekfiredog on Apr 30, 2010 at 6:21 pm

Of course it has to be better than Forte since there are from different generation. Forte and current Avanta/Elantra X20 are from the same platform, while this Avante is the newer generation (and it’s Kia sibling – next generation Forte is not rolled-up yet).

• Awesome. But i think the butt is a little bit too high.

• Budzer on Apr 30, 2010 at 4:40 pm

I hope there will be a Avante Wagon so that I don’t have to look at Caldina.

• Ip Man on Apr 30, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Wonder what’s its pricing here, if it priced around RM80k-90k, I might cancel my City and get this car instead.

• fadhlan on Apr 30, 2010 at 5:17 pm

definitely would buy it if this car reach msia market
    yeah~

• jolly_idiot on Apr 30, 2010 at 5:39 pm

No interior shot? Doubt it’s interior is as good as exterior.

• moriz on Apr 30, 2010 at 5:43 pm

faaking hell…nice giler beb..i tot forte was immaculate but this?

breathless..

:D

• _xXx_ on Apr 30, 2010 at 6:11 pm

with so many praises and wows here u think SD will price it cheap/reasonable?

• Squawk on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:29 pm

If I like Rolex but can’t afford it, I’ll still like it. I just won’t buy. :-)

So, up to SD whether to price it like a Rolex or Seiko.

• alldisc on May 01, 2010 at 8:01 pm

with the current trend of SD doing on Alfa Romeo cars and Ford, i dont think so. Just like Corolla/Civic trend

in late 80s 50K, early 90s 80K mid 90s 100K and latest gen 120-130K.

• Ash Menon on Apr 30, 2010 at 6:19 pm

The back and sides look stunning, I really love the flow that the Koreans put into their car designs nowadays. Even though we can argue that it’s borrowed bits of design, let’s all remember that not all borrowed designs work well.

The front….to me it looks like they tried too many things, so it ends up being a bit messy. And also, I think the curvature of the hood shouldn’t be so rounded….Loses a bit of that sleekness that’s so sexy around the rest of the car.

Then again, I’m not the intended target market, so :P Fantastic overall car, but how’s the interior? Hehe, can’t wait to find out!

• alpha999 on Apr 30, 2010 at 6:33 pm

damn…cun…tot kia forte was impressive…..but this is WOW…@_@….muscularly solid from every angle…….the real deal….if price is right..

• coupe lover on Apr 30, 2010 at 7:04 pm

too many confusing curves..must c this in flesh to judge.
    Kia design is cleaner and well accepted!

• scuddie on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Gosh..cut crap..the forte will instantly looks super duper dull when comparing with this…be mindful pls…tq..

• marsaila on Apr 30, 2010 at 7:24 pm

I will go to Korea just to see this car real life.

• james on Apr 30, 2010 at 7:40 pm

uhhhh ?? wth ? looks like the the PRM design developed based on a friend photo from italy…

• think on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:10 pm

ultimate geogeous design..anyway will it be coming t omeet us…any plans to launch a affordable mpv in malaysia ??????????/////////////???????????

• wow.the koreans have REALLY improved on their designs.no more awkward proportions.definitely one of the nicest c segment designs around.bravo.beats the forte which was already a leap ahead compared to other rivals.makes you wonder why vios is still selling so well.

• toyota_salesTeam on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:14 pm

Toyota Altis looks better than this, simple and elegant.

• u need glasses

• Totally Disagree!!!
      The Altis looks especially ugly at the back, even front side not good enough as his big brother camry, so how can you say Altis has the better looking??
      Sorry, i love car especially a good car, this Avante just so superb from inside the engine power till the exterior design.
      Altis?! Sorry probably some ppl still go for it due to the stability or ride comfort, & yes, it was just too simple but not elegant at all, it was just a basic family car….
      & Definitely Avante beat Altis badly wif this one…!

• hihihi…. i know u are kidding…

this car look better then forte

• rodimus on May 01, 2010 at 12:21 am

No way Toyota Altis can beat this car in term of design!!! This car totally ROCK!!! Keep up the good work Hyundai

• Denfire on May 01, 2010 at 11:51 am

Hahah… beauty is different in the eye on different people. For me I dun think can match any of the C segment car in our country intern of design. It looks just simple wierd… Sales did tell every thing. If the design is good, then our road will float with altis instead of civic.. :D cheers…

• libralcl on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:43 pm

This car might sell 80K~90K in high possibility as the current Avante is selling RM93K and it is 2.0CC. This comes with 1.6CC engine and the specs are yummy :)

• current avante 2.0 is selling at 85k. i got 1 last month. it’s nice. if they launch this latest design, yes, it may be somewhere around 75k – 85k for 1.6. forte 1.6 is 75k right?

just launch in korea, think it will take 1 to 2 years to launch here.

• google king on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Go KOREAN!! Go KOREAN!!

KIMCHI beat SUSHI !!!

look at the facelift Vois!! shitlift i would say!!!~~~!!!

• E Bear on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Wow big jump in design and moving forward.

Avante is a bit bigger than Forte and a better built.

• R.I.P T&H

• this car side profile reminder me when proton first launch gen2…

paul/danny, what the interior dimension for the rear seat?

look cramped to me with minimal head room (whit that sloping roof)

• ilmondo on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:15 pm

nice. but its so much like the yet to be launched ford focus.

• Beautiful curves & bulges, i meant the car. I just the rear end. Resembles the lexus IS and the kia forte a bit. Thette II, cool.

• Both the car and the girls have nice curves!
    Anyone know how reliable is Hyundai aftersales services in Malaysia? good or not?
    Parts expensive or not?

cheers

• harry19 on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:46 pm

it looks like a toy car…

• Tezza on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:16 pm

Ultimately beauttiful machine….i think its exterior looks is comparable to the is250…the sport cues is second to none for the car segment…wat a magnificent job,hyundai…i was greatly amazed!!!

• ye aung moe on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:33 pm

This is simply the best.with this new elentra.it is like honda and toyota are 100 years behind Hyundai. I am just wondering how hyundai achieved astonishing improvements over the past 5years.they did a lot of things that shook up the automobile industry. Hyundai rise is definitely the most awesome so far.When i look at this car,i get a sense of confidence and strength. it is truly dynamic. DYNAMIC KOREA!

• belalai on May 01, 2010 at 1:31 am

It not H + T but the crappy -pro engine and the dinosaurs age models
      like satria,savvy and perdana’s roaming the streets.
      Forte owners now sweating cos a better car has emerged
      get ready for poor 2nd hand value for your now ordinary looking Forte.
      probably this is the time where Naza has to up the ente and offer better
      after sales service and offer 5yr/100k warranty instead.

• minnow on May 01, 2010 at 2:43 am

hyundai always overprice their cars….KIA sales are much better than Hyundai in Malaysia..better pricing…Forte will still remain the best value for money in its price range…Avante would not fall in this category, definitely above 100K…and i doubt the superb specs elaborated above will be carried over to here…sure will be stripped down…Hyundai has 5 yrs/300000km warranty yes but u r stuck with them fro tht 5 yrs and they suck u up dry…..New KIA models have different strategy in their mind…they r goin after continental designs(AUDIsh looks)…Hyundai still trying to fight with Sushis….

• geekfiredog on May 01, 2010 at 2:10 pm

do you own a Hyundai? I did and I think their service cost is quite reasonable. Ask those Hyundai car owners and compare with T, H, N, P & P, and judge your self.

My regular service charge : 4L castrol Magnatec @ RM82.5, oil filer @ RM18, labour charge of RM10. Is that expensive?

• estima778 on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:44 pm

T & H very danger ,,HYUNDAI AVANTE is ga,,…..& SONOTA lagi GARANGG……is coming ..

• zamani on May 01, 2010 at 12:19 am

salute to hyundai….proton shouldnt felt down with all good comments given to hyundai…but proton should make hyundai as a good example>>>>

• wow…
    super handsum….hopefully dun launch so soon…haha…i just bought the elantra last month…mine will look like antique if this launch.

• isean on May 01, 2010 at 2:43 am

Hmm.. So many ANTI-HYUNDAI & ENVY-HYUNDAI kaki right here huh!!!
    THis Avante can kill the JAPs
    Bravo Hyundai

• Ferum Man on May 01, 2010 at 3:18 am

If you do not wish to destroy your GDI engines fuel injectors, DO NOT ever use RON95 fuel!

• A330-300 on May 01, 2010 at 4:03 am

Well done Hyundai.

As a owner of two Japanese cars before, I have faith in this Korean automaker to reach new heights with their vehicles from now on. Bravo.

• reuben how on May 01, 2010 at 5:07 am

Hyundai keeps getting better, with the North American Car of the year award and the Australia’s best cars (NRMA) award for the I 30 Hyundai is going places. Also their commitment to safety is top notch. I wouldn’t be suprised to see it surpass toyota in North America and Australia in a couple of years.

• If price lower than current Avante 2.0 c.RM93k and R&H trailing Mazda3 character, FRANKLY this Hyundai C-segment will say good bye to VIOS. I guess this Avante’s dimensions based on existing car (like current and outgoing Mazda3 and Altis and maybe next Civic post-FD) and SD-Hyundai have no problem to price it competitively against the japs and fellow sibling by Malaysian parent Naza-Kia.

Even slap it with inokom i35 also okay if price below RM80k. The problem is: Government won’t allow as new Waja Lancer probably in RM70k+.

Kudos for Korean but wonder why no interior photo?

• idlebrain on May 01, 2010 at 9:55 am

Hyundai doesn’t want to show the interior because this will be on the sale in the second half of this year. So if you look at the picture, the film on the window is not the normal one that you can’t see the inside.

I don’t know what’s their point while they already showed the car to the public.

• husien on May 01, 2010 at 7:48 am

I bet it won’t look as nice in real life. Like some other korean car e.g. Sonanta, tuscon kyron..all are a overkilled design line. Bet proton is still better. Less is more!

• minyak & angin on May 01, 2010 at 8:37 am

Takyah komen banyak-banyak. Orang Malaysia memang macam ni, kalau CANTIK dan MURAH (ini yang maha penting) mesti sesuatu tu dipuji, dipilh dan disanjung setinggi yang boleh. Kesian Proton, aku setuju kalau ditutup atau dijual saja.

• Scuddie on May 02, 2010 at 1:49 am

Hahah…aiya bang..setuju lu lah..tu bagus kaseh jual saja lah…extremely tiny export market saje selama dkat 30 tahun ni( masih mau kaseh alasan masih muda lah blah blah lagi..malu betul)…ade lotus di dalam tangan pun x pandai guna betul2…hanye mampu jual n competitive kat local market saje due to the protective baju hujan-policy of gov…hopeless…

• GT27 (Member) on May 01, 2010 at 9:59 am

Wooo, this is really really nice, plus 6 speed auto, it is way different oKorean car nowaday, after Forte, another Korean magic…

• sleek and beautiful…

• Foi...... on May 01, 2010 at 10:52 am

I always support Korea car but their 2nd value ready sucks in Malaysia.. i hope the 2nd car dealer increase the 2nd value of korean Car.. if not as a buyer we will loose $$ like hell

• albagmane on May 01, 2010 at 12:01 pm

yummy… very aerodynamic looking ride… but im kinda worry of Korean politics these days… :(

• Ipron man on May 01, 2010 at 12:34 pm

First, Forte came out. Everybody liked it but still got doubts here and there so wait for Waja Lancer Evo.

But now after seeing this, m thinking twice of getting the Wajalution and will wait for this Avante aka Elantra. Noway this can beat the Wajalution. This Hyundai looks way better and modern.

After Avante launched, then new Forte based on this Avante’s platform. Like this dunnit buy car already. LOL

• Ipron man on May 01, 2010 at 12:45 pm

*Error checked. Error is regretted.”

“Noway this can beat the Wajalution.”

It should be the other way round.

Btw, checked this out
    Sizzling hot in red, try to compare this with the current evo in red.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DuHQ2r02db0&feature=related

• juice on May 01, 2010 at 1:22 pm

if u observe carefully.. the front looks somewhat like an evil smiling old bad guy! haha

• Ascension on May 01, 2010 at 1:42 pm

Front seem to bear some resemblance to mazda 3/6. Looks pretty decent. Kudos to the koreans for putting effort into lifting their image.

• Wow! NIcE car!

• mufasa on May 01, 2010 at 5:19 pm

i love my volvo 240

• prestigious25 on May 01, 2010 at 8:21 pm

woow what a superb car..and believe will
    have a huge demand in local market!

• jessica on May 01, 2010 at 10:13 pm

i jus bot Forte, mayb later tradein for this avante if i really like it more, simple.

• mufasa on May 02, 2010 at 12:23 am

if more then 90k,,then im not buying

• wahaha on May 02, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Oh u’re considering!? Don’t worry..u can keep your volvo because this car is not available in Msia.

• A330-300 on May 02, 2010 at 6:08 am

I’m thoroughly impressed with the stride & progress the Koreans have made in such a short time. And the fact remains that more Americans buy these vehicles now. Statistics show clearly if you do some research. Also there has been less reliability problems & poor fuel consumption is a thing of the past.

This Avante is one of the better looking mid-size sedans. It definitely seems like it is in direct competition to the Altis and Civic. Only time will tell whether the product actually delivers. This I am certain, we are all only too eager…

• Ash Menon on May 02, 2010 at 10:00 am

Why is it, Korean automakers are improving like mad within the space of a few years, but Proton seems like it’s stuck? Or in fact, getting worse sometimes. I drive a 11-year old Wira, my friend bought a new Persona…mine so far no problem, his within two days, the windows had problems.

Malaysia should change “Dasar Pandang Timur” to “Dasar Makan Kimchi”

• HID Headlamp, good engine, good transmission (6 speed), good fuel mileage, very nice looking appearance…and hopefully durable… Wow, it’s my dream car, Hope it will be not that expensive, I’ll be waiting for u to come to Malaysia, My Dream Car!!!

• Superfavor on May 02, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Check out the Transformer-inspired dash of the 2011 Avante here:

http://www.clinicamisericordia.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/hyundai-md-interior-1.jpg

• petrol head on May 02, 2010 at 11:52 pm

I just finished watching the Driven and saw the review of Kia Forte… the car was great but the lady reviewer — dunno her name but not interested anyway

If I could suggest to improve, pls speak proper English and stop using the word “la…”, expand the vocab (stop using multiple “good enough” in one sentence) and be able to review the car not reading the spec sheet. And worst, she’s comparing the Forte against Silvia or something unless I overheard it wrongly…

You can clearly see a difference between the Shah-something and Harvinder. They’re cool… and real!!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on May 05, 2010 at 6:24 pm

its really beautiful. god i hate to admit this but i think it looks better than a mazda 3

• no more 2.0L? 1.6 GDI is that possible launch in malaysia in future?

• When will be launch in Malaysia?

• it will launch 2012 in M’sia

• singasong on May 20, 2010 at 10:17 am

bye2 forte and city, vios, waja & others…i’ll be sure to buy one if come to boleh land. come here avante 1.6 GDi with 6 speed..i need u..btw is hyundai sonata 2011 is the same bodyworks? i dont need 2.0 & 2.4

• minnow on May 21, 2010 at 2:16 pm

just dream on theyr gonna release the same specs here…its goin to b a stripped version with rocket price…not gonna sell…no hyundais in Malaysia does anyways…Kia is doin much better….

• Nigel on Jun 18, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Saw a truck with full load of white avante in kesas this afternoon..means going to launch in m’sia soon?

• cybermaster98 on Jun 24, 2010 at 1:50 pm

Any idea of the launch date for the new Avante? Estimated pricing?

• Maybe launch at august..
    Bcos the guy ask me call back on tat time…

• cybermaster98 on Jul 06, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Can somebody actually be sure of a possible launch date for the Avante (Elantra) in Malaysia? What about estimated pricing?

• Heard from SA, estimated launching time is end of this year or early next year.
    No idea on the price yet.

• Juz called Hyundai SD up, they say they have no plans to bring in the car this year or next year yet but definitely not this year….darn

• mufasa on Jul 26, 2010 at 5:32 pm

alaa…lambat aa….

• inderaloka on Aug 02, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Still got time to work hard and kumpul duit.

• Paul Ong on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:41 pm

Don’t care two hood about the low resale value in Malaysia, I have owned one Elantra since year 2004 till today and have done almost 200 Km and still admire the quality and the reliability. Will definitely looking forward to own the latest model, perhaps next year.

• any update when this car is coming to malaysia?

• YesNo on Nov 10, 2010 at 12:51 pm

I hope Accent 2011 coming in soon … with 6 spds AT … Else have to grab Fiesta 1.6AT … Any1 have any idea will Hyundai Accent 2011 coming to M’sia ?

• Seanlim79 on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:31 am

Don’t know true o not, coming car fair maybe can c this car..

• Johnny on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Available in bolehland, I will get one. My dream car.