Renault Clio R.S “Ange & Démon” rolls in – RM199k

Last October, Renault announced the Clio Renault Sport “Ange & Démon,” which was a limited 666-unit run global version of the 50-unit Clio R.S 200 Raider that was announced for the UK market.

The underpinnings for both are identical to the ‘standard’ Clio R.S 200 Cup, which was the launch car when TC Euro Cars introduced the facelifted Clio III R.S in the country, back in February, but the plan was to get the “Ange & Démon” (or Angel & Demon, if you prefer) in.

It’s here now. The car was unveiled last night along with the facelifted Koleos crossover, and is mechanically similar to the R.S. 200 Cup, the normally-aspirated F4R RS 2.0 litre mill offering 203 hp and 215 Nm, mated to a six-speed manual gearbox. The Cup chassis brings stiffer dampers, a lower ride height and Brembo four-pot brake calipers – painted in red – along for the ride.

A mistake in the press release had the Clio priced at RM223k, but it turns out there’s no price premium over the base Clio R.S 200, with the asking price being RM199,426, just a shade over the R.S 200‘s RM199,000, on the road excluding insurance. Each car will come with a numbered plaque signifying the unit number in the production, and there’s of course the differentiation bits to help distinguish it from its base Cup sibling.

Specific to the Angel & Demon are a raft of items done in a gloss black finish, these being the roof, upper tailgate, rear spoiler, rear diffuser, F1-style blade in the front bumper, door handles and door mirrors. There’s pearly white and a matte paint finish called ‘Matt Hologram Grey,’ which looks quite the dish in the metal. Black 17-inch Speedline alloy wheels complete the exterior work.

The interior gets specific equipment such as leather wrapped Recaro seats and a metal gear shift lever, and the introduction of the R.S Monitor on-board telemetry system. Strangely, there’s no “Ange & Démon” logo on the left hand side of the rear quarter window pillar, which is supposed to identify the variant.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bloody Hell Price on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:18 pm

Price expensive like hell..with this price for me better buy Golf GTI…better hp better torque..better resale value.

• Just me on Jun 09, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Saw in youtube this car smoked GTI and Scirocco! Anyway The dashboard design and material quality looks cheap!! doesn’t matched the price. More like for Perodua or Proton!!

• Too expensive ! don’t compared with Golf GTI,even the Polo GTI is so so much better than this thing ! 98k for this ok lah…

• teelim on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:48 pm

Seriously overpriced. Just when I thought the normal Clio RS was already expensive…

Come on, when someone walks into the Renault showroom and see this and the Megane RS250. I seriously cannot imagine any idiot who will go for this, regardless how rare this may be.

The price difference is soooooo little compared the the extra power you get in the Megane RS250.

This is a real facepalm moment

• Josh Ling on Jun 09, 2012 at 12:03 pm

i think there’s a reason behind the skyrocketing price of this little baby. i think tc euro knew they can’t price this car too low (maybe due to renault’s strategy or their own or some other reasons), so they went another direction, price it higher than many can afford, hence their plan of bringing in the Ange & Demon limited edition initially and not the standard ones, so they can still have a substantial margin and they get to retain the exclusivity of the model, which will only increase the desirability of the model and thus push up the resale value of the model.

i think they knew oledi they can only depend on megane rs to increase their sales volume, and not this baby, because their position is too close and megane is sort of like iconic car in the country already when it comes to hot hatch and renault, and let’s face it, the market for this kind of hot hatch is definitely not as big as D-segment sedans for example. so there’s another reason for the higher-than-usual price – so that the sales of megane rs will not be hampered by the introduction of clio rs. i think there’s still market for clio rs, especially the Ange & Demon edition. afterall, there are only 666 units in the entire world. that’s some serious exclusivity factor going on this car. and i think the sales of this car is the last thing tc euro is concerning about, after all the praises and credits that this car has earned internationally and locally.

• Josh Ling on Jun 09, 2012 at 12:08 pm

and btw, i don’t think hot hatch buyers are really the most logical persons you can find on earth. if they are that logical, they would’ve gone for some D-segment sedans or even SUV’s for some greater money-to-metal and money-to-spec ratios.

• teelim on Jun 09, 2012 at 2:36 pm

If they think they cannot make money from the Clio RS, might as well not bring it in and make them selves look stupid.

Seriously, I don’t know how the salemen can actually convince a buyer to buy this over the Megane RS 250

Anyway, just incase you don’t understand hothatch buyers, let me explain it to you. There are people who rather have a big (powerful) engine in a small car than a small (or just adequate) engine in a big car. To them, Performance > Space.

Look at it this way, if you already have a relatively big car sufficient for ferrying the whole family around during the weekend, and you are looking to purchase another car at say around RM130k-150k as your daily drive and you will be travelling alone nearly all the time. It makes sense to spend it on a Polo GTi instead of a Honda Accord 2.0 where you get a huge car with an adequate engine. With a smaller car, parking is also much easier and most of the time, it would also be more fuel efficient especially in traffic jams.

• Josh Ling on Jun 10, 2012 at 11:51 pm

they don’t bring in Clio if it won’t do anything good to them, period. they are a huge corporation, and the bottomline of any corporation is to earn money and make profit. I don’t think the guys in TC Euro will be stupid enough to bring in the car without any prior investigation and market research. so by putting Clio at a slightly cheaper price tag, for me at least, will not only make more people gain access to the hot hatches from renault, it will increase the desirability of megane rs250 cup as well. if it goes too cheap, it will create few problems. 1) people will start to buy clio rather than megane, which might not seem to be a good idea, especially in terms of margin wise. and maybe it will contradict the overall strategy of renault as well (who knows?) 2)clio r.s. will become such a normal scene that it doesn’t generate that much desirability and exclusivity. not to mention, i don’t think tc euro right now has enough trained mechanics / service centres to handle the maintenance of renaultsport hot hatches. once you sell too many cars and you don’t have enough people to do the maintenance, it is going to harm you and haunt you greatly coz your reputation will be so terrible that people will start to back off from the brand. trust me, it happened before.

• armandd on Jun 09, 2012 at 12:33 am

definitely not worth the extra RM25k…

• gila

• oh god why

• the price is ok la..
    dont worry; many stupid idiots in our country will buy..
    who cares about re-sale..
    if problem just sell off and get new ride..

• seriousdude on Jun 09, 2012 at 9:13 am

why not buy a megane rs?
    btw do malaysia get the 666th number? no point getting other number and call it “Ange & Démon”

• Works on Jun 09, 2012 at 9:57 am

only for the hardcore renault purist….

• celicazzt231 on Jun 09, 2012 at 2:08 pm

i think the reason the angel and demon name can’t be used in malaysia is because our religious authorities will foam at their mouths if you allow such a logo/emblem on the car. even the name angel and demon had to be “tweaked” slightly before they allowed the car to be sold in Malaysia. anyway, this car is pointless, Megane RS250 all the way!

• Its a real surprise how renault’s naturally aspirated 2.0 liter engine could already produce a whooping 203hp when most 2.0 liter sedans out there could now only produce between 140 to 160hp. What’s their secret?

• Ketinggalan Zaman on Jun 10, 2012 at 1:03 am

Oh ye ke Ben,
      Begitu hebatnya rahsia 2.0 Renault bagi anda…kesian…anda terlepas bas haha

• market forces on Jun 10, 2012 at 9:10 am

If you are so up-to-date, why dont you tell ben how it was achieved instead of belittling him? sheesh!

• Hotel on Jun 11, 2012 at 11:13 am

ahhh angel and demon indeed..but the demon definitely bagged the winning prize in the pricing category

• I like the car. but theres issues with the gearbox on 2010 models, renault says they have fix it. but i cant get any confirmation from 2012 clio rs 200 cup owners. its reluability issues that is at stakes,