Renault Clio RS 200 Cup – Angel & Demon edition, RM199k

TC Euro Cars, guardian of the Renault brand in Malaysia, gave the new Clio RS a media preview at Bangsar Shopping Centre this afternoon. The Clio Renault Sport 200 Cup, to give it its full name, is the younger brother of the Megane RS 250 Cup that we love, and the hottest version of Renault’s B-segment supermini. It’s not the first of its kind to be sold here – TCEC brought in the previous “197” model without the Cup chassis.

The Clio RS 200 Cup is essentially the same car as before, but with a new front end design and tweaks here and there to improve the car. The car comes with F1 inspired aero bits, including front-wing air-extractors, a rear diffuser and a front splitter.

Often hailed as the most fun supermini to drive by the UK press, the Clio RS comes with an independent steering axis front suspension layout, said to be segment exclusive.

The Cup chassis brings a ride height lowered by 7 mm, uprated damper calibration (+27% front, +30% rear), increased torsional rigidity (+10%) and a closer ratio steering (7.5% quicker). All these combine for more feel and more grip. Oh and those brakes are four-pot Brembos.

Under the hood is the familiar F4R RS 2.0-litre engine, probably one of the final few high revving NA engines one can buy before the world gets taken over by forced induction.

Over the one in the old Clio RS, it gets slightly more power (203 hp) and 20% more low-end torque (below 3,000 rpm) thanks to a new cylinder head, continuously variable intake valve timing and engine mapping tweaks. Max torque is 215 Nm at 5,400 rpm. Both max power and torque are made 150 rpm lower than before.

To further improve drivability, the first, second and third gear ratios of the six-speed manual gearbox (sorry, no auto) have all been shortened for better acceleration. 0-100 km/h is done in 6.9 seconds, while the top speed of 225 km/h is 10 km/h higher than before. Rounding things off, combined fuel consumption of 8.2 litres/100 km is 0.7L better than before.

TCEC has elected to bring in the “Ange & Démon” limited 666-unit run version, which means every unit sold here will be a numbered limited edition.

Unlike the standard Clio RS Cup seen in our pics, the Angel & Demon car comes with black wheels, red painted Brembos, leather wrapped Recaros (like those on the Megane RS GT pack) and a choice of pearly white (pretty much like the car here) or “Matt Hologramme Grey” paint. This means that the Clio RS is the only car sold in Malaysia with factory matte paint. Also, the Clio will come with the cool R.S. Monitor, as found in the Megane RS.

The Clio RS 200 Cup retails for RM199,000 OTR without insurance. Order one now and your Angel or Devil will arrive in April. You can head over to BSC for a closer look.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tmsoo on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:02 pm

when i see the price, my jaw drop…

• kimi_ on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:19 pm

when i see the price, my “little brother” drop…

• Green Bull on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Yep. Looks like a badly done souped up Myvi. VW is laughing their heads off now.

• Dafuc? this is way better than the myivi expect for the interior where you could say myivi is better. For that price you would expect it to come with gps, etc…..

• SO EXPENSIVE !

This car is total fail ! 199k?i can add more 10k to buy the Golf GTI,or VW Scirocco 1.4 even the Polo GTI ! better look,better performance and bigger space ! if ppl who wants the manual transmission i think most of them will go for the second hand Subaru or brand new Type R !

• JeremyNg on Feb 17, 2012 at 12:08 am

I thought Honda stop produce Type R d ??

• i cannot find a reason to buy this car over my fav Mazda3 MPS which is more powerful, better interior, and cheaper..
        can’t wait to see how many they can sell at this price..

• when i see the price, my jaw drop

• along666 on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:12 pm

when i see the price my pants drop too

might as well go for megane rs cup

• kimi_ on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:20 pm

sigh, the interior (fugly and cheap like potong) are not matching with the price 200k standard !!!

• albag on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:06 pm

crazy car with crazy interior with crazy price!

• ProfessorAmerica on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:09 pm

from the picture, it’s really hard to believe the dashboard cabin design belongs to a 200k car…reminds me of the decades old kancil/mira dashboard omg…

• madman on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:57 pm

coz its built for race interior not so important….you can go n check lotus interior its also simple design like this

• SparC on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:11 pm

This car small and packed with high performance stuff.

With the price RM 199K, it is out of my reach.

Even, in Malaysia, I have better options.

• Glee power on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Car porn at it’s very best

• 'Thom'LEe on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:16 pm

RM199k for this? In my personal opinion, it’s kinda overpriced. I would rather add another RM10k and get Golf GTI with larger space and comfort.

• kimi_ on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:22 pm

i had rather get a Lexus CT260h for 168k only.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 17, 2012 at 11:54 am

For the same car i would only need to pay 140k….. It is called the toyota Prius. We are talking about performace hatches here, not something that does 0-100 slower than a Myvi 1.5 extreme.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 17, 2012 at 9:12 pm

yea right a polo gti. that car is nothing compared to this. you pay for what you get. it’s the same logic as the golf gti vs renaultsport megane. people often question why buy the renault over the golf? you really need to getbehind the wheel to understand why the renault is so much superior to the vw. however, tan chong, why la so expensive? you got brain or not.

• 'Thom'LEe on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:16 pm

RM199k for this? In my personal opinion, it’s kinda overpriced. I would rather add another RM10k and get Golf GTI with larger space and better comfort.

• why can’t they design a nicer dash………

• For this price tag, isnt getting a Megane is more worth while ?

• altec on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Finally an exciting car released onto the Malaysian market. :)

I love how renault sport only offers the car in manual only. That’s right guys, this car is for enthusiast only.. average joes can apply elsewhere.

• first

• CrabStick on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:44 pm

Numbers look awesome, design and interior not so!

• artworks on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:53 pm

polo GTi or this? i take GTi

• droll on Feb 17, 2012 at 12:56 pm

problem is – can you buy a Polo GTI now??

• artworks on Feb 17, 2012 at 3:52 pm

dude, dun look down other! i currently own a full payment satria mivec with plenty of mod and a ford fiesta with simply mod that cost rm10k. visit my car at Ford Fiesta Fans Club Malaysia, fb link, www.facebook.com/groups/276264929080062/

• Gebang on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:55 pm

Proto saga flx lagi cantik interior drpd kete nie…..harga mcm ni beli GOLF GTi laaa…

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 16, 2012 at 8:02 pm

I rather want a Camry with that price LOL

• drMpower on Feb 16, 2012 at 8:22 pm

Angel and Demon?
    that means profesor Langdon will fit in this very well
    driving beside Agent Provocateur Dr Vetra
    chasing the evil Carmelengo around Vatican

• @8250rpm on Feb 16, 2012 at 8:25 pm

The only things i like abt this car are the Brembos n Recaros..all else sucks….i can tahan the looks but that darned dash omg….steering oso omg….paling beh tahan wan is the price…same price as FD2R sumore…200k man….i’d go for fd2r, gti or add little bit more for megane….

• Or lotus Elise ????

• fahlahlee on Feb 17, 2012 at 1:37 am

elise S ( 1.8na 5mt ) is 240k….i tink 2-3 last units left….new elise SC (1.8 Supercharged 6mt 190ps) launching mid this yr but price is >270k….if got dough, of coz get this rather than clio….lotus is raw n real supercar performance at fraction of supercar the price….

• tan sari on Feb 16, 2012 at 8:49 pm

walao, inside looks so cheapo for this crazy bolehland price,lol

• nabill on Feb 16, 2012 at 8:57 pm

that price ur basically getting the engine,gearbox,chasis and those recaros and brembos…bcos the interior looks so bland and basic…

• or Lotus Elise :P

• dozy888 on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:36 pm

I don’t think any units will be sold.. Just like how many Renaults do we see on the road?

• driver on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:44 pm

hideous interior.. and skyrocket price..
    this is too much..

• subcon p2 on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:53 pm

BAD VALUE for MONEY.

• AhBeng on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:17 pm

very not sincere lor the interior..

• ahmadjohnson on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:20 pm

I rather choose megane or mazda mps over this one

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:29 pm

They should had just brought in the normal edition ones. I guess they justify selling it at RM200k cause it’s a limited edition car with only 666 units worldwide, which coincidentally is a devil’s number. If i were to buy one i would get the 88/666 car. Also at 200k I could get a Polo GTi and easily reach 200hp with money to spare

• F Fiesta on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:33 pm

I rather end up buying Fiesta

• intermilan on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:47 pm

This car is not about plush creature comfort or beautiful interior design.
    Its about handling handling handling and packed power.
    If want those, go and get yourself a Citroen (yes.. and not Vios or Camry).

Come with a 2.0L NA engine producing 197bhp (200 metric horsepower).
    Torque is a high 215Nm (159lb ft).

This is among the most powerful 2.0L NA engine you can ever get in a production car.

Clio is a B-segment car (supermini), same like Polo, Myvi, 206, Swift, Yaris, Jazz, Fiesta.

Very very few B-segment cars have an excellent combination of this much power and great handling.

Price is a bit stiff, but TC Euro has poor record when it came to pricing.

• blackbox on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:47 pm

If compare to cooper S, I will pick this one.
    Price wise they are about the same. But this Clio come with the RS monitor, brembo, recaro, cup chassis, limited edition and etc.

The fun of driving a high revving NA engine is very different from FI engine and now a day, there are not much choice of high rev NA .

• Megane is overpriced as this one, they are good and fun cars. ? price simply not worth..plus typical renault reliability issues and resale..toys for the rich maybe

• blackbox on Feb 17, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Megane over price? Depends you compare with what car. If compare with Mazda 3 MPS, then maybe it is more expensive but the handling of Megane is much better. If compare with Sirrocco, the Megane price is great.

Not many manufacturer will honor the warranty if you trash the car on track. Renault is confident enough to do that, means they are confident on their quality.

I know a guy who is the first batch of Megane RS 250 owner, after 2 sets of brake pad and on his 3nd sets of tyre, except wear and tear he have no problem at all.

• hearse driver on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:55 pm

we wanna ask TM of P1
    can we have this car rebadged to savvy neo or maybe satria neo markII okay?

• gilaaa…199k…its a long awaited car..ingatkan 90k je..skali 199k laa…huhu

• Jimmy on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:09 pm

RM119,999 OTR is a better price.

• tmsoo on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:18 pm

if this car set the price close with polo gti, then might change the consumers mind..

• intermilan on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:26 pm

one more info about the price, the previous Clio RS was sold for RM210K OTR without insurance.

from this angle, this new Clio RS is lower by about ~5% / RM11K.
    Not that much, but still a reduction.

• Ok, tapi berapa buah Clio RS on the road?

• intermilan on Feb 17, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Some guy asked how many previous-generation Clio RS TC Euro managed to sell.

Why the number so important? To compare it with Golf GTI sale, perhaps? If that’s the case, obviously the difference is so huge. In general, the VW brand is just too strong compared to Renault.

This is a niche product from a brand that most M’sian don’t even care about.
        99 out of 100 will probably choose VW over Renault.
        Back to Golf GTI, it isn’t a niche product. As far as Golf is concerned, the R32 is the niche product. And there were not many around (in Msia).

To be fair, the Clio RS Cup should be compared to VW Polo rather than Golf, as both are supermini (B-segment car).
        The nearest Polo (in term of on paper performance) is the 3-door Polo GTI (180hp/250Nm) selling for RM132,888 (net selling price). Immediately the huge different in price is apparent. Which point to the notion that the Clio RS Cup is hugely overprice.There are reasons for that. Just search around and you shall find it.

Obviously not many Clio RS were brought in back then.
        What we know is that all the previous Clio RS were sold out, even at that exorbitant price. Clearly, there were people who know about it potential, capabilities and were willing to spent that much for such a small, ‘unknown’ car.

The hard fact about Renault is TC Euro will price it a lot more than what we see as the fair price. As mentioned before, do search around and you shall understand the situation. There is nothing we can do about that. A pity really.

The only consolation over this whole ‘over-priced’ scenario is that all the Renault Sport models that they brought in are an excellent example of hot hatches. It was widely acclaimed that both Clio RS and Megane RS are among the best hot hatches around.

And best don’t mean highest hp or torque. Far from it.
        To be the best, its all about how fun it to ‘drive’, feeling ‘alive’ and ‘energetic’.
        Put simply, these Renaults better defined the essence of what hot hatches should be.

And people who compared hot hatch with performance saloon, like tyre-r, evo etc just don’t know / irresponsible on what are they are talking about. Same goes to those who keep bringing up the dashboard. Why be extra fussy about how the dash look like when the car are able to tackle corners after corners with aplomb and ultimately bring big grin to your face?

These Renault Sport machines is simply about delivery the true satisfaction of fast driving, in a small car.

• hanhan on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:27 pm

i would rather go for a golf gti for that kind of price.

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:31 pm

200K for this….. i dont know….looks very cheap…
    engine output….comparable to 14 year old jap performance cars….
    1998 Toyota 3SGE 210hp
    2001 Nissan SR20VE 204hp
    2001 Honda K20A 220hp

so…dont see the point in this…. might as well go turbo like the megane RS…

• Harrier on Feb 17, 2012 at 1:30 am

bro is different lah…. pls go test drive u know it… (Pls refer mr. intermilan above comment with GTI Logo) very well say… is different categories
      1 thing i didnt agree is the pricing ..

• JeremyNg on Feb 17, 2012 at 12:10 am

Why that TC always sell their car so expensive ??!! Do this car hv high trade in budget like all the Toyota car ???

• blackbox on Feb 17, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Did Supra and Celica have high trade in value? Please don’t compare this with Camry, Altis and Vios there are different.

• dashboard not so good

• niuhje on Feb 17, 2012 at 4:43 pm

200K for that dash?? come on laaa… Proton makes better dash than that laaa… n why is the START/STOP button so jauh one??

• Andrew on Feb 17, 2012 at 2:18 am

Gosh, first I tot they are rival of Polo, but at that price?… look at the interior and exterior design! I doubt it will do it well at all!

• Anti turbo on Feb 17, 2012 at 7:44 am

small car with HUGE price tag… my oh my…..

• Seriously on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:01 am

why does Renault almost always produce such low-desiring interiors..

• want new car on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:37 am

aka BLM speedo set up…too basic. Indeed you pay for the engine.

• albag on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:05 am

look at the guys who launched the car, they dont look confident and happy as well… LOL!

• so many stpid comments…y expansive?simple,its sports tuned 200hp n limited edition, under stand?LIMITED EDITION…even golf gti,polo gti not on sme level as u can see from picture above,its comple with brembo brake,racing seat,bla bla bla…n LMITED EDITION..anything produce on limited edition surely pricey,wanna cheap cheeful n fast car?go buy 2nd hand kancil n put L2 turbo on it,hahaha~

• are u saying protong can also launch a new car labelled as LIMITED EDITION and sell for 120k ?? LOL

• BeemerFreak on Feb 17, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Hmm seems like you are agreeing with it. The telling question is will you buy one given the budget?

I definitely won’t. Too impractical, if I want a high revving monster I’ll get a civic type r

• OK LET’S STOP POSTING HERE lol

Out of 10 comments, 9 is about its price & disgracefully interior…

So, yes, THERE IS NO SELLING POINT in this car, hence NO POINT talking about this car too LOL.

• TC always want to sell high price for all cars. Not enough making profit for all these years a? Sometimes just throw something to the public la

• BeemerFreak on Feb 17, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Tc has no interest in making Renault a mass market brand like in sg. There they have the fluence and latitude that are priced similarly to Altis and Camry.

• autojohndoe on Feb 17, 2012 at 3:11 pm

angel and demon…

Exterior beautiful like an angel… interior so ugly like a demon…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Feb 17, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Well, at least the car is here. It’s an emotional purchase and no one is forcing anyone to part with money. Why people buy expensive handbag when a plastic bag also can carry stuff? If you can’t afford it, buy a Lotus-tuned Gen 2 laa…

• teelim on Feb 17, 2012 at 6:11 pm

I seriously want to see who would actually buy this car.

If anyone who can afford this car (definitely someone who is into its performance) will also definitely be able to fork out another RM30k or so for the Megane RS Cup.

Come one TCEC, RM200k for this car… seriously? I would Imagine RM170k would be stretching it to the limit already

• The interior looks like few class below a Perodua Myvi. Must be sucker to buy this car!

• spoiler pun tak da….prize almost 200k….OMG,OMG,OMG

• adrian on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Just test drove this exact car in the post earlier, nice ride but on Malaysia’s bumpy roads, it’s a lil too stiff, tempted to buy but at 199k, totally NOT value for money!

• Overpriced! with that interior that even myivi can beat, how is this going to sell? Golf Gti is a better option in the price.

• Maserati on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Ugliest piece of junk i have seen…and for 200k? No thanks

• Matt A on Mar 04, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Agreed price is on heavy side however I bet most of the people leaving negative comments have never driven one.

• Im from Langkawi, the ange & demon limited edition comes in matte grey, and priced at Rm102k, price is affordable, here at least. I have joined clio sport forum online, and many had problems with their gearbox especially Clio Rs 200 from year 2010. some 2011 models also have this problem

• Renault claimed that they have solve this issue with the 2012 models, but i cant get any reviews n opinions from 2012 Clio RS owners yet. Gearbox problems from models 2010 occur at one week old clio rs 200, most not even reach 30,000km. this problems have got me re-thinking of buying this clio rs. but keep in mind that this problem are from 2010 clio rs models, i hope that its true that renault hv solve this. because IM IN LOVE WITH THE CAR, for RM102, recaro, brembo, track tuned car, isofix, matte grey, speelines rim, front and rear diffuser, ange & demon limited, its a bargain. at least in langkawi. Type-R is priced at RM123K. just let u guys know why i cant choose the honda over this.

• I would definitely get a polo gti in a heartbeat if its available here, but i have to wait longer it seems, i believe polo gti will come with better price tag in langkawi.

anyone can confirm wheter renault have improve the syncro on the gearbox?

hope to hear from you guys!

• don’t like the price tag.

there car is a good one for week end & track days fun drive!