Subaru WRX STI launched – from RM249k OTR

Take your mind off the BRZ for a second and focus on the car that put Subaru on the motorsport map. This is the WRX STI (note the absence of the ‘Impreza’ moniker) and it is no longer a hatchback. We’ve posted about it two years ago, here is the link.

This new Subaru now comes in a sedan body-style, so most of the changes are cosmetic. As far as I can remember, the bumper on the WRX STI has been redesigned compared to its hatchback sibling. This one also comes with the inappropriately massive rear wing, which gives this car some serious street cred like in the good old days. I approve.

The rest is the same. The car is still powered by a 2.5 litre boxer engine, which produces 300 PS and 407 Nm. You can have the engine mated to a five speed automatic or a six-speed manual.

Also in this AWD car are the Multi-Mode Vehicle Dynamics Control System (VDC) that allows you play around with your traction control, and the SI-Drive that tuned the behavior of the engine and throttle response.

The Subaru WRX STI comes at a price from RM249,000 on-the-road. A test drive session is being lined up, although to definite time has been given yet. Hopefully, soon.

One last thing to chew on, Subaru will be launching a CKD model later this year. It is the XV, and you can read all about it here.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Hundai De La Junk on Jun 11, 2012 at 5:03 pm

Nice Specs but look outdated !

• nice… now let see how many ppl will talk about the tax, and government and politics..bla3

come on, discuss abt automotivelah

anyway, nice looking car

• In my opinion it is definitely worth it to buy this over the similarly priced BRZ.

I know the BRZ is a great car but at almost the same price, this WRX STI has room for four and most importantly, a whooping 300ps engine! Yea it’s ugly though.

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jun 11, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Yes it is ugly but that is what makes the WRX STI look so attractive. :)

• theanswer on Jun 11, 2012 at 5:58 pm

legendary name in rally world.

• kington on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:05 pm

Agree. even the neutrals, some are willing to part that much money for it and more so now since the Evo is gonna end.

• Alpha on Jun 11, 2012 at 6:08 pm

I think for some,it might look a bit ugly,but in my opinion,the car looks fierce!!It does look really compact in real life,in fact i feels that it looks smaller than the Evo X,but damn,it looks fierce.Among the 4-door sports car that people should really consider.

• John Player Special on Jun 11, 2012 at 10:33 pm

I wouldnt called ugly. It’s a macho car.

• dozy888 on Jun 11, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Thumbs up Subaru! You have the BEST models in whole of Malaysia’s motoring industry!

• heeman on Jun 11, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Ok price for a 300hp car. Still unsure of their after sale service though.

• theanswer on Jun 11, 2012 at 5:59 pm

lol..if buying car like this..u wont expect to think that the sc is like honda or toyota.

• Respect it as one of the legendary rally champion, miss those good old days where EVO VS STI, from one gen to another gen…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aoVzaHTRGMM

• It’s lacking a wow factor.

• koochai on Jun 11, 2012 at 5:36 pm

then who’s buying evo x @ 300k++???

• finally, it is back to being a sedan. it started as a sedan and is finally back. somehow, the hatch didn’t quite do justice imho in the looks department to the wrx name.

• DArkerMarker on Jun 11, 2012 at 5:49 pm

WRC breed in subaru definitely not there anymore…….sigh…

• TatakHelan on Jun 11, 2012 at 5:50 pm

In Japan:

Toyota 86 GT 6MT: 2,790,000 Yen
    Subaru WRX STI: 3,276,000 Yen
    PRICE DIFFERENCE = 486,000 Yen (RM19k)

In Malaysia:

Toyota 86 6MT: RM 243k
    Subaru WRX STI: RM 249k
    PRICE DIFFERENCE = RM6k

• but T86 spec is worse wif this price , ppls will go for STI !!!
      Useless 86 !

• Chris on Jun 11, 2012 at 10:24 pm

You made me remember how Bunta tapao Takumi’s 86 in a scooby…

• i think i missed the car part…eyes on girls..

• seancorr on Jun 11, 2012 at 5:55 pm

They want to CKD this model? Is there even a market large enough for them to justify it?

• Massive on Jun 11, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Japanese cars look outdated compared to Korean car. The KIA, Hyundai designers did a very outstanding job in terms of the look of their cars.
    Proton really need to revise their design. Preve is good looking, but there is no WOW factor in it.
    Hope Proton Designers read my message.

• Redrules on Jun 11, 2012 at 7:06 pm

This Subaru is a high performance car, similar to Mitsubishi Evo and Nissan GTR, usually they’re not that attractive in the ‘looks’ department. They have their own niche market and followers. No point comparing the exteriors of these cars to another day to day car either from Japan or Korea.

• Shook on Jun 11, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Even here also we have this Korean shit again…

• yanes on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:02 pm

This car got no wow factor? Kidding me? The return of the sedan shape is a wow itself for me. Great job by subaru for realizing that it will never work as a hatchback. See. Korean are bold enough to design those curves on their car (I mean elantra or forte). Yes they look good. Preve design is a safe one. Since it will become a first global car, proton needs to consider their market upon designing the car and not taking any risk. They need to have a long lasting design. So simple but nice design is the answer. Take a look at old BMW. If you ain’t a true Beemer enthusiast (which is me myself), you won’t be able to tell what year it is made. And I think proton wants to achieve exactly that. So far it works for me. Without mentioning the awesomeness of the spec sheet, the more I see the preve on the road, the more I like it. Let’s see if next year I’m gonna still like elantra, forte, preve, old beemers it or not. Only time will tell.. :)

• Then can you find me a Korean car that offers similar performance like the Lancer Evolution and Impreza WRX STI? Any 4 door Korean sedan car that has a 300bhp turbocharged engine with 4WD that can outrun many traditional looking coupe styled sports car such as the base Porsche Cayman, Audi TT (1.8 or 2.0 model with no Quattro), Mercedes Benz SLK200?

• Steve on Jun 13, 2012 at 1:29 pm

cars like these dont have to be a looker. their performance alone can eat other competitors already la bro :)

• preve? you no syok the design go bash the designers lah! got nothing to do Scooby STI! preve is not worthy to polish rims of Scooby!

• Don’t Judge a Book By Its Cover. Monster Inside

• B33MER on Jun 11, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Sure 249k on the road? When i check the price sheet it’s 257k on the road …

A very good buy … I would definitely buy it just for the performance alone plus STI really hold their value.

• Lionel on Jun 11, 2012 at 6:48 pm

Actually 257K OTR is promotion price till this end of JUNE only,
    Orginal price is still around 290k OTR. SA from Motor Image said.

• lkhoe on Jun 11, 2012 at 6:48 pm

A long overdue release in Malaysia. Interested in the CKD price.

• John Player Special on Jun 11, 2012 at 10:41 pm

There wont be a CKD WRX STi. Tan Chong already announced they are going to assemble Subaru XV. A new SUV.

• ah seng on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:01 pm

prefer the hatchback anytime

• yanes on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:11 pm

I missed the sedan-style. I missed the big spoiler. If can I want the rally style spoiler which is more fierce. But I don’t think so since rear view will be compromised. Haha. Well done Subaru. Definitely gonna choose this over the 86 (for the price tag). With Mitsubishi evo going out of production, Subaru will conquer all the way! And one more thing. Please let the brz to be ckd lol. The reason is: there are scion fr-s and Toyota 86 to compete with. If ckd, sure can win the competition. Now I can’t wait to see this impreza, ops.. Wrx go rally again!

• CrabStick on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:15 pm

Suddenly Toyota86 pricing looks stupid, if Subaru sell this for 249k, will BRZ be lower? it has to be..

• 2.5 L boxter. TURBO or not ?

• casio-edifice on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:35 pm

with bigger 2.5L engine, max torque should be at lower rpm and less turbo lag than old 2.0 version. Nice…

• racotua on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:56 pm

i think it is the subaru xv that will be ckd. not the impreza.

• JeremyNg on Jun 11, 2012 at 10:11 pm

2 more doors + 100 PS more + AWD + advance traction control + well equip. Now this the car will make the Toyota GT-86 look extremely expensive…… EvoX cost around RM300k

• shawal on Jun 11, 2012 at 11:10 pm

girls dunt like boys girls like cars and money~~! sing it

• Azydy on Jun 11, 2012 at 11:12 pm

superb car.. but too expensive.. not suitable for malaysian to afford.. but the ladies superb body hehe

• transformer on Jun 11, 2012 at 11:27 pm

i don’t see it as a new model… cut its boot and everyone can find at least 80% similarities to its predecessor…

• teelim on Jun 12, 2012 at 12:17 am

THANK YOU GLEN TAN!!!

With this, I can forgive you for bringing in the BRZ with auto gearbox only

• beatnik on Jun 12, 2012 at 8:07 am

New bodykit styling for BLM !! lol..

joking aside, this sedan is more garang looking than the hatch.. the rear lights are a bit turn off.. and probably could do with a smaller spoiler.

a better buy than the 86.

• seriousdude on Jun 12, 2012 at 9:16 am

a little too late.

• you want the EJ207 engine…not the EJ257

• junjun on Jun 12, 2012 at 10:15 am

hye yaaaaa..the tail lamp look like toyolda corolla

• Dato Seri on Jun 12, 2012 at 10:25 am

Motor Image please launch the BRZ!!!

• i wonder the fuel consumption

• I am looking forward for the BRZ…not WRX!

• apishz on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:33 am

i think 250k sti quite cheap .. instead of evo x.. with non special editioin.. 300k first time out.. damn.. thiz gonna be boomb

• Subaru will never be a boom in Malaysia. Not many can afford a rm250k car.

• GlenTanKhaiGorGlansTan on Jun 19, 2012 at 7:50 pm

All hail the STI!!!!!!!!Korean car is for gay and evox is for tranny aqua or any proton evowannbe.

• Embun on Jul 04, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Wow now with Getz taillamp.. Hehe

• Vslee on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:29 am

Cheapest 300ps car in Malaysia, I think… Even the VW Golf R with only 255ps cost 20k more! New BMW 328 cost close to 300k with performance similar to the Golf R… Closest river in term of price n performance will be the Mazda MPS but only in manual… The Renault Megane 250 cup cost almost the same but only 250ps and only in manual too… Just my opinion.

• subaruking on Aug 26, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Goodjob motorimage my.With this attractive price,there will hard time for the recons sti ver 10 at 200 k

• straightguy on Jun 19, 2013 at 12:01 pm

It maybe too late,but the wrx sti gal is so much hotter than the brz gal.MI skimp on hot model?