Peugeot 208 XY – going the luxurious route

Peugeot has introduced another derivative of its new 208 hatch, with the 208 XY entering the scene as the range-topping act. The production version of the car follows on the 208 XY Concept that premiered in Geneva earlier in the year.

Luxury and themed colours are the name of the game with this one. A new colour, purple, joins the five other shades available for the car. There’s a choice of five variants for the XY, from a 1.6 litre diesel e-HDi 92 FAP with a five-speed manual gearbox right up to a 1.6 litre THP 156 six-speed stick shifter.

Plenty of bright chrome bits to be found – the mirror casings, fog lamp trims, window trims and the rear skirt bead are dressed in the stuff. To provide contrast, the quarter panel trim and the centre pillar get touches of gloss black. Newly-designed 17-inch diamond-Anthra Mercure multi-spoke wheels and a XY logo on the tailgate round off the exterior elements.

Inside, the passenger compartment is a perfect reflection of the exterior – the materials and appearance are ‘tied’ together with purple over-stitching, and more chrome garnish is to be found, on the door trims, the vents and the side decorations of the screen.

As for the seats, they’re trimmed in cloth and Alcantara. Aluminium pedals and footrest, along with floor mats edged with bronze cord over-stitched in purple, add more allure. There’s plenty of personalisation options with the XY – outside, there are roof decals to go about making it unique, while Nappa leather, in black or bronze, can be had for the seats.

Standard-fit kit includes a large 7-inch touchscreen head unit with extended connectivity (jack socket, USB and Bluetooth) and a six-speaker system and a panoramic glass roof with ambience backlighting.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• do they have other colour options?? cause purple is not rly ‘XY’-ish~~

• kingston on Sep 10, 2012 at 8:44 pm

French really know how to design cars with style!

• ezracopters on Sep 11, 2012 at 10:42 am

r u kidding. look like ah beng car la.. in Europe, only sport cars [ except the german (both saloon & sport) ] can be consider well design.

the rest, look weird, dull & ah beng esp. French.

• veezo on Sep 11, 2012 at 11:30 am

Germans are known for build quality & handling.
        The Italians on the other hand are known for their styling. The French has a bit of both.. You gotta throw your “re-sale value ” meter out the door when you make a comment on styling..

• acerscarlettfan on Sep 11, 2012 at 12:34 pm

r YOU kidding? your comment sounds utterly stupid on so many levels. and just where in “Europe” do you live now?

pls don’t drink & drive..or do drugs..

• Yup, french really know how to design a car, so cute as french female, anyway a conti always better than a jap.

• Your comment sounds too childish la. If you think everything European (in this case conti car) is superior, you better be a slave to them or smell their fart la!. You mention Japanese cars are inferior to Conti? It depends which segment market and brand positioning the marques go for. Eg. Is a Lexus LFA really that bad compared to a Lamborghini Murcielago? Is a Volkswagen Passat really superior compared to Mazda 6? Hmmm…

P/S: I’m not jap car fanboy. :peace:

• mu77, you childish too. comparing Lexus with ramborghini?? Haha. You better compare with same specification car.

• I meant the quality and technology in the Lexus LFA (not just an ordinary Lexus) is really that bad compared to say a Murcielago? U know how much the LFA cost and how advanced its structure is? The problem is that brand perception tend to overrule everything. Thats the inferior thinking that an Italian supercar will always be better than a Japanese supercar. I think not necessary. U get my point?

• Aaron Isaac on Sep 10, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Oh God I want to drive this

• zaff1984 on Sep 10, 2012 at 9:44 pm

love this car… wonder which class this beauty Pug fit..? is it a premium compact..?

• I like the minimalist interior.

• beng chan on Sep 10, 2012 at 10:23 pm

yaris is more beautiful than this anytime…plus u get great resale value!

• Davincci on Sep 11, 2012 at 12:15 am

Yaris? Out of match. Totally..

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 7:49 am

Yaris will be worth more than this lemon 1 year later, coz the Pug will depreciate more than 50% within the 1st year

• Idaho on Sep 11, 2012 at 10:48 am

I’ll bet you are also as ‘good looking’ (read ugly) as the Yaris.

• Retro on Apr 16, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Yaris is a failure and is dead in the market… no point talking about a zombie car.

• Carzee on Sep 11, 2012 at 8:10 am

Yaris? seriously? the car really doesn’t suit ur old thinking philosophy. For sure ur not any of the X nor Y Gen.

• Beng Chan, wake up d.. it’s no more year 1990.

• beng chan on Sep 11, 2012 at 1:10 pm

see who will laugh when after 5 yrs my yaris can still sell for 70k. while the pug is worth less than a kapcai and still no one will buy it.

• tungguuu on Sep 11, 2012 at 4:01 pm

of course..in malaysia only..u go try europe la…your yaris is ptuiii

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Off course it no more the 90’s. Pugs are no longer the so called solid cars that is perceived to be tougher than the 3 tonne lorry.

Buyers now are even more afraid to buy pre-owned european cars, coz they are prone to breakdowns, parts are scarce and expensive. That’s why Pugs resale value sux, alongside kimchis

• Yaris looks so stupid.

• Alpha on Sep 11, 2012 at 12:36 am

I wonder what powers the 1.6 litre diesel e-HDi 92 FAP engine. *ifyouknowwhatimean*

• beautiful car and have a modern look

• polo saga on Sep 11, 2012 at 8:59 am

nice

• CKD MASTER on Sep 11, 2012 at 9:11 am

Wooo…why MYVI cant do the same…..million ringgit has been spend for R&D but only we get cheap plastic and basic interior…so cheap….see PEUGOT and Hyundai has gone far away….

• slick shifts on Sep 11, 2012 at 12:34 pm

on the other hand, the myvi does not cost the same as the peugeot either. i guess it is different cars for different pocket sizes?

• Looking good. Well designed at the outside and also the inside

• OilChange on Sep 11, 2012 at 12:20 pm

tired of waiting this car comes to malaysian shore.
    ended up buying stupid gas guzzler suzuki swift.

stupid nasim

• peugeot 308 2009 new 111k now resale value average 75k.

honda civic 2009 (1.8) new 115k now resale value average 85k. 2009 altis also around the same value i guess.

no VW in the same category to compare.

gap for euro and japanese cars is getting smaller. gone are the days where japanese car are bullet proof. gone are the days where euro cars refuse to start and leaking fluids every other day.

Malaysian buyers OTOH are getting knowledgable. Know what they want instead of “my uncle says that car no good one”.

Healthy improvement. Now we need more options with good after sale service. Neighbour downsouth can be a good example. Maybe we’ll get there in 5-10 years time.

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Pugs can ask for this amount but will be stuck in the yard for more than a year before anyone calls

• Winmac80 on Sep 11, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Will it ever hit Malaysian shores? I mean, I’ve been waiting for the 208 since last year! No news of it coming to Malaysia at all. Best I heard are speculations saying it’ll come next year.

Don’t even mention the XY. Just bring the normal 208 variant and I’ll be a happy dude.

• Davincci on Sep 11, 2012 at 3:23 pm

When come to conti or Korean vehicle, Japan basher will come out and shout RV… Yes it is one of the factor to buy car, but it’s not total factor

If The car is so incompatible with other brand, sooner people will drop it, you expect the high value on second hand in the next few years? Now they have higher RV, but they are begin to lose it.

To buy a car with high price, empty spec, ugly look, when friend see your new car and ask: why you buy this car???

I better go ride a bicycle

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 8:52 pm

On the contrary, RV for contis and kimchis have never been worse before, especially within the 1st year

• Davincci on Sep 12, 2012 at 12:46 am

Hardly see people trade for first year car. Except proton preve. LOL

• messe on Sep 12, 2012 at 8:44 pm

you must be living in cave, it’s not that difficult to find one year old car for sale

• David D on Sep 12, 2012 at 8:18 am

Bullshit. Old Koreans, yes, the value is not as good as the new ones. But look at the new generations. Take the Forte for example. A typical car market would offer a 1.6, year 2010 for approx 65k, before negotiations. Mudah.my has all the proof there.

Still wanna cock around with your resale value? Well, again, i’m warning you, bring out your stupid talk, and we’ll beat up your comments like no other. Talk with your brain, not your bloody backside. My goodness.

• bmwuser on Sep 12, 2012 at 8:50 pm

sam loo last time claimed can get only 30k for forte 1.6 lol

• beng chan on Sep 11, 2012 at 11:18 pm

yes…better buy a vios TRD ! you ride in style and still get to keep your money.

• Davincci on Sep 12, 2012 at 12:48 am

Toyota spec G is more than enough. TRD is just waste of time. No thanks bro

• Golf Mk7 is better than this, just look at the interior.

• lobservateur on Sep 12, 2012 at 6:07 pm

clearly, sam loo and beng chan are proud to be T salesmen. but they are very, very afraid of their downward sales projection in the coming months.

word has it that the 208 (don’t know what variant) may be here next year. and these T salesmen, or better yet, these T jokers think that ‘thing’ they sell are even close to what the 208 has to offer….like, seriously? pffffttttt!

and also, it seems to be T’s SOP to ruthlessly shove down the RV factor to buyers. why would you want to buy a product from a company or salesmen which has simply nothing to offer competitively, i repeat, nothing to offer competitively at the moment; other than to scare you with the RV factor?

the answer is, unless you’re a T salesman, hope these guys live, breathe and die with that RV factor in their tiny cubicles since buyers have better offerings in Peugeot and other brands today!

• no more argu, try to drive a peugeot and any japanese at same segment, u will know it. life short, i don’t want to live with a car with good resales value, i want driving pleasure